Report Review
26 Reviews


Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
A Naive Short-tempered Girl
October 17, 2016
Status: --
Oh my god. Why is there no zero star option.

This is the most incredibly rapey novel that I have ever read. Like, how is this flying with ANYONE. It takes the whole mafia mysterious smouldering archetype of a romantic interest too far until he becomes this disgustingly controlling monster who would probably prefer she was chained up in his dungeon (which would be masterfully disguised as a classy bedroom... with locks on all doors and no windows btw).

And aside from the actual questionable story, the translation is actually quite... more>> tragic. And I seriously apologise to the translator because I mean no offence by this. It's wonderful that they're taking time to translate and honestly I could never do it so I have no stones to throw. But the writing style and translation is quite incoherent which, thankfully so, because it probably masks how dodgy this story is.

Overall, don't read. You can find some seriously hot, overbearing male alpha love interests who ARENT rapey outside of this novel. And in fact, there's is a WHOLE genre (though not chinese novels) of this-- erotic romance, paranormal romance anybody? I will happily give recommendations away from this novel for anyone cares to care. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Love Late
July 4, 2017
Status: v2c20 part2
It's hard to describe this novel. I know a lot of people may have avoided it due to the relatively low rating--and to be honest it's very justified-- but I feel like it doesn't really capture the novel's essence but the reader's feelings. The MC is weak, cowardly, self destructive and all in all quite unlikeable. And those very qualities are what make him an incredibly relatable human because let's face it we're all a little ugly inside.

This novel is a wild ride about complex relationships, complex feelings and ultimately,... more>> self growth on the MC's behalf (and us readers thank freaking God for it). Because of the ugly reality of the MC's personality this may be unpleasant to read at times, but it will always be engaging and powerful even in those moments. I love the MC because he is human and I feel like others should give this a chance. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Villain Days
June 6, 2017
Status: c31
The translator is doing an absolutely lovely job but unfortunately the novel itself is just a terribly executed cliche of misunderstandings, childish school, politics, and Mary Sues. On the other hand, if you want something quick, dirty and mindless to read this is the perfect novel for your consumption.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Dare ga Otome Geemu Dato Itta!
June 23, 2017
Status: c12.1
This is a strangely addictive novel. It isn't anything special but it's so fun and SO smutty... well... it's something like a guilty pleasure I suppose. I'm grateful towards the translator's efforts.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
June 2, 2017
Status: --
You can tell just from the 11 released chapters that this is a fantastic novel. It's humorous, the romance is developing so naturally and the plot and world building is absolutely amazing. If anything, people who aren't a fan of gay romance can be as equally engaged in this. I'm so eager for someone to commit to translating this and release regular chapters. From what I've heard around from people who can read Chinese, the novel has excellent reviews so I know I'm in for a great ride.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Spirit Hotel
November 28, 2017
Status: c34
I’ve never met such a shameless MC in my life.... so naturally he’s now one of my favourite characters. The characters are all so well developed and unique and I’m dying for the romance to unfold. Right now it’s pretty much nonstop, hilarious drama with sudden doses of feels which makes for an engaging and fun read.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Mei Gongqing
October 17, 2016
Status: --
Seriously decently well written, engaging and well developed world building with within a complex context of values and politics which make zero sense and are as frustrating to me, as they are to the protagonist. The plot is well paced and refined in comparison to many other novels I've read recently (which are hmmm, I think the term is 'wuxia' omg I'm far too noob to these online novels).

The only bone I have to pick are to do with the romance. I mean, I adore many of the... more>> male characters but... I seriously don't get the main romantic interest. Like. He's some ethereal, universally praised, cultured guy.. who the protagonist has barely interacted with.. and much of the romance is delivered through these strange cultural nuances and silences which I probably miss half the time. And as if the most recent chapter, her turn of behaviour has puzzled me even more!

Overall however, the characters are well drawn out, the protagonist is realistic and endearing, and the plot is complex, engaging and actually somewhat worrying because in its realism I'm very unassured of my happily ever after for these characters. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
God of Cooking
October 24, 2016
Status: c112
A refreshing and wonderfully written web novel -- honestly my favourite as of this moment. Starting off quite gently, the novel incorporates a trope combination of reincarnation, from 30 to 21 again, and game characteristics with a much higher degree of realism and development than any other I've seen currently. The story, up to the latest translation, is framed through a cooking show (though it's about to extend beyond that) and the subtle incorporation of game elements. Just think: all the drama of Masterchef, sprinkled with clever use of media... more>> and seriously great characterisation.

The MC uses his knowledge of he future quite sparingly, and doesn't have a ridiculously omniscient understanding of the future, until it's quite easy to even forget that he was sent back in time.

The character development is genuinely fabulous. None of the side characters, especially the female characters don't fall to the wayside with ridiculous caricatures of personalities, and I'm left with a deep appreciation, understanding and love of every single one of them.

And characterisation of the MC frankly outstanding. Maybe it's because I've been on the wrong side of the internet, but my experience with translated Asian novels so far has been pretty much towards the wuxia side. Which as I'm sure you know, seems to be characteristic of the typical revenge tragedy plot, rags to riches (if riches were random spehsul power ups) with absurdly bizarre priorities, values and emotional reactions. But for once, I've found a MC that has genuine, realistic emotions that actually touch me. Actually.
Spoiler

When he cried that teensy bit as he surpassed his own expectations and skill level, I felt SO proud of him. A fictional character. Fark.

[collapse]
I appreciate the entire cast SO much, honestly.

So if you want something that is so fabulously engaging, with three dimensional characters, realistic challenges and strife that the MC overcomes, and a fabulous touch of humour and drama all in one.... I would definitely recommend this.

Like infinitely.

P.S. There is romance and while I'm not a huge fan, it has been developed very very well and I'm semi rooting for them (though I root for celibacy more, lol). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
The Antelope and Night Wolf
March 1, 2019
Status: c87
- unreliable narrator; you basically don't know what's going on in his head and hence in the overarching story and it is rather glorious and mystifying

- BDSM element may seem weird but like everything else in this novel, it is cleverly explored and integrated through the use of forum dialogue between netizens and with humour and taste. And also f*kn hot if you like bdsm so *shrug*

- incredibly flawed and colourful characters; memorable, well-fleshed out and honestly portayed e.g. The author has no issues roasting the ML's personality, and the... more>> MC is unashamedly a compulsive liar and darling simultaneously

summary: dead ass funny, interesting narration and medium choices, really strong characters, wonderfully clear and reliable translations, very light and breezy to read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Light Beyond (LN)
January 9, 2017
Status: c6
I'm sure everyone's encountered this constantly rehashed premise of transmigration. However, one particular promising feature of this novel is actually the translation. The language is seriously far more mature and masterful than the average translation-- even more so than incredibly popular and well sponsored translations (such as some Chinese wuxia novels). The English is smooth as butter. But idk maybe I'm just too hyped up about the fact there's a translation that doesn't hurt to read.

Apart from the translation, this well-wrung trope is intriguely executed through solid character development.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
I Was Reincarnated
December 1, 2017
Status: c27
Hmmm this can be summed up as being simply average. It’s not heartwarming enough to be enjoyed as a simple slice of life novel and not climatic enough to be enjoyed as an adventure novel. Very little emotional investment and yet not fun enough to make up for that.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Heavy Sweetness Ash-Like Frost
November 4, 2016
Status: c7 part2
Well written and beautifully poetic at times-- and much of that is owed to an incredibly gifted and thoughtful translator. However it was let down, particularly towards the angsty middle, by abrupt pacing and strangely executed and underdeveloped 'plot twists' that seemed, well, unearned (perhaps lost in translation). Also, the treatment of s*x and love was a little dubious at time- the protagonist is completely naive and misguided about such concepts... and nobody thought to correct this??

Overall I think the novel presents some very poignant ideas, and the development of... more>> their relationship is really quite gripping and addictive. However I believe some of the nuances when it comes to foreshadowing perhaps the huge twists were lost or not as developed in translation, so some of the developments just felt rather messy and uncalled for. The story certainly plays with yours feels, and in the beginning your sympathies fluctuate wildly (often not towards the actual protagonist) and sometimes I enjoyed that and sometimes it was simply annoying and manipulative for no reason. Overall I enjoyed the ending most just because it was simplistic, fluffy angst and everything actually made sense for once. And the epilogues are supremely cute.

P.S. The translator for this series is wonderful, and her commentary at the end of each chapter is honestly something I look forward to as much as the chapter itself. It's very thoughtful and intelligent and provides a lot of nuanced insights into the original text and certain underlying meaning. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
The New Gate
October 17, 2016
Status: v5c3
Seriously one of the few of its kind ('kind' being an umbrella term for idk, web novels of this genre and the ever popular wuxia kind) that isn't substantiated with pointless OP trinkets serving to deus ex machina through bad situations, strange cringe worthy relationships or plots, and badly developed protagonists with zero common sense but all the OP in the world.

Instead you have a, yes admittedly OP, protagonist who is actually relatable-- he's down to earth, not functioning on some contrived revenge plot tragedy, has his priorities straight, and... more>> actually seems to be at a point in his life where he just wants to enjoy life after the whole 'death game' plot. Most of his actions are in reaction to the events unfolding around him, but we do get a sense of a greater plot governing this events. The character development was a bit late in the happening, but in the latest chapters the author has really explored both his and the female lead, Schnee's, character. Surprisingly the story is actually well written enough to lend a sense of poignancy-- seriously, in the scene of
Spoiler

the beast king's death

[collapse]
I may or may not have shed a tear or two.

So overall, this is a rather unassuming story that manages to be incredibly engaging, empty of terribly executed cliches (though cliches may still be present) and well written (and I credit half of that to the wonderful translators).

P.S. The manga is terrible. I mean, it tries, but the art is terribly unsophisticated which really detracts from the experience. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
What begins and perhaps progresses as a relatively average but enjoyable novel becomes incredibly powerful because of the surprising themes and observations which come through at times within Lycoris’ relationship with others. The last volume, almost perceived as an ‘extra’, provides a strong sense of thematic closure and growth that strangely ties the whole novel together despite being quite estranged from it,

The novel was overall really fun, fruity, and easy but left me feeling contemplative which I think is the best feeling of all.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Started off a a guilty pleasure and ended up being my most awaited update of the week. There is very much an unreliable narrator, or rather just a very silly skewed MC; seeing everything through his blurry vision is a joy... especially when the one aspect of the novel that the readers can perceive with the greatest clarity allowed is the deep obsessive love of the ML.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
July 5, 2017
Status: c121
The novel isn't particularly flawed like so many of the genre but it doesn't have much depth. Which is, of course, fine considering the nature of the novel but after bingeing 120 chapters in one sitting it still leaves me disinterested. I enjoyed it while I read it and I may come back to it when I have nothing else to read. It had some unique elements but the execution was bland overall.

Frankly speaking the scathing 1 stars make far less sense to me than the 5 stars-- how could... more>> you feel that much negative emotion for something that is pretty much mediocre and easily consumed when many highly rated novels have far more problematic issues (their fondness for rape and ridiculous portrayal of women being a recurring motif).

A weak 3 stars (maybe 2.5) : nothing to call home about. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
The Unicorn Legion
July 3, 2017
Status: v2c17
With a fantastically endearing crew of characters we are placed within an adventure plot with a healthy dose of mystery about our MC's past. The tone is very charming and light hearted but provides some depth through meaningful character studies (I may or may not have teared up in Shelly's arc........). The MC is very warm and noble and his nostalgia can be a little sad but the little moments of childish cheekiness really make the MC and his relationship with the love interest shine. Honestly I'm really keen for... more>> more people to become interested in this to hopefully encourage the translator. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
The King’s Avatar
October 17, 2016
Status: --
A very clever protagonist within a typical gaming plot-- the downtrodden and betrayed genius Gamer rising to reclaim his throne. And considering the novel's title 'King's Avatar' this throne is actually somewhat literal now.

What makes this such a wonderful read are the fleshed out characters-- no skimping even to the female characters who are actually wonderfully plentiful-- and the seriously kickass, hilarious, deadpan, conniving, and somewhat mysterious protagonist. Seriously, he is a bae. Ridiculously intelligent and gifted at gaming (with a bizarre backstory that was unfolded quite randomly and I... more>> am still puzzled at), the protagonist's characterisation has a biting sense of deadpan humour and absolutely self serving motives. Almost an anti hero to be honest. He isn't on some righteous tragic crusade to avenge himself: he's climbing back from the bottom to reclaim his throne because he loves what he does and he's good at it. It's a great read, and a stand out one because the protagonist actually, god forbid, has character. The OP moments are also nothing to scoff at. The recent chapters have been lagging a bit though, so I'll have to see what happens next. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
A seriously fun, ridiculously contrived novel with so many OP tools and deus ex machina moments-- usually in the form of her dragon and all the special tools she 'coincidentally' manages to find. But in the dry barren void that is the pool of light novels with vaguely strong female leads, I'll take what I can get. Even when it still contains (sometimes sometimes not) rapey perspectives of women.

All in all, it's hard to find something more hilarious, ridiculous or endearing as this.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gluttony
Gluttony rated it
15P 7H 6SM
November 30, 2017
Status: c28
To be concise: this is a truly romantic novel.

There isn't much in the way of a storyline or plot; instead, what makes it such a powerful story is the deeply introspective and confessional first person narration from both characters. Just think of it as little hand written letter vignettes about their every day life and moments of devotion to each other.

For a Chinese translated novel, this style of narration and execution is very unique and fresh and it's lovely that the translator recreated the depth of feeling so wholesomely. Seriously,... more>> kudos all round. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report