Report Review
44 Reviews


Ginko
Ginko rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
December 17, 2017
Status: c381
This novel had so much going for it.

It starts off quite well, but around chapter 250 the author just loses it.
... more>>
Spoiler

1. Worst - Classic tropes about pride for the sake of pride cause everyone to act. Character plot holes galore
Even worst - Example - an MC able to detect all poisons is (as usual) somehow given an aphrodisiac in which he can't restrain himself from ravaging a woman who likes him... Can these authors be any less original?

2. He is able to deal with every complicated situation with ease except in regards to 16-22 yr old women?? His real age is 40+ But, these women come and constantly tell him what to do halfway in the story, and he is "hopeless"... yet he manages to kill hundreds of the most powerful men in ease. - *get real*

3. The characters throw away their original personalities and start doing things for the sake of the plot.
Example - Character is the peak assassin from another world, cold and ruthless, and doesn't do anything unless it's for profit. Yet, by 200c he is taking on enemies that could destroy him, family, and friends for the sake of pride/woman without logical reason.
Not only does this destroy the characters original personality, but is just dumb. *sigh* classic Xuanhuan bs

[collapse]

I regret clicking 3 stars, but in retrospection wish I had rated 2. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
December 9, 2017
Status: c170
This is rated way too high!

I enjoyed the beginning chapters; this novel has a slow and steady start. However, it later becomes a mess. This romantic-comedy tries to blend reality with a tinge of fantasy, and falls short of any reality.
... more>>
Spoiler

1. The strong MC falls, faints, gets pricked, and stumbles every other chapter with just about every weak association attached. She is suppose to be a strong willed woman of the 21 century with our values.
2. Yet, this 20-something woman in a 15 yr old body later acts like a nervous 13 yr-old in regards to anything sexual. (60c-100c)

3. This world has killing, rape, constant kidnapping and attempted murder, but male characters just fight once to a draw, and go about their business after... as if attempting to murder me and rape my gf without a grudge is normal?? This happens over and over. Fiances cheating over and over, but let's turn a blind eye (even though I have the power erase people in the night)... *sigh* get real -

4. I'm not even mad about this point. --> Male characters are one dimensional, thinking and acting in one direction, only caring about pride and sex. Too many novels do a disservice to women... so. what... But, it's to a point that makes you cringe. - As best friends (or every guy for that matter) fight over women. I'd just prefer a novel where everyone has at least a puddle of depth.

[collapse]

I LOVE strong women protagonist in all my novels, movies, comics and anime. However, the way women use intelligence and charm in exchange for power (in subsequent chapters) is unrealistic :* (

My biggest qualm is that this novel pretends to be in our historical reality, but ignores how we as human would actually respond to a situation. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Martial King’s Retired Life
November 7, 2017
Status: v2c38
I'm picky about which novels I pick up.

So, I thought this would be great based on the reviews. This is story is amusing at times.

However, it lacks depth and a goal/resolution to drive the story forward. There is nothing that attaches you to the MC or story. Lack of tension as well.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Rise of Humanity
April 13, 2018
Status: c128
Cool title but really just poorly written.

The MC goes from weak to strong, without any clear explanation or real training. <-- This happens frequently. Furthermore, of course he constantly has to do something over-the-top that gets him marked as a target. I won't mention the convenient, "only run into a foe 1 level above you" plot device as usual.

The fight scenes are so boring (later just move titles are spammed)... A positive is that the pace is good, but then again a little disjointed.

... more>> It's "meh."

- Side note - I don't understand why the "arrogant young masters" are so prevalent in this genre of Chinese novels?? Like, is this a real problem in China or something?¿ So many authors give this to their fans to lick up. Like, do the poor really view the upper-class in this light, or this disparity w/ attitude a real thing? - like can someone explain. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko
Sovereign of Judgment
February 14, 2018
Status: --
☆☆☆
People saying the MC is weak or doesn't like to kill obviously didn't read past chapter 5

As it turns out, this MC enjoys nothing but killing (as you quickly find out).

However, it's because of this 'only kill' attitude that makes this novel drop a star in itself.
... more>>
Spoiler

A book about a psychopath obsessed with revenge... pulled off in a very simple way... It's this simplicity that doesn't allow it rise past 3 stars. - there is a lack of depth in pysche / emotion of characters.

Furthermore, there are so many plot holes in this novel... just too many...
For example - this story later involves thousands of alien species in an alliance with technology beyond telepathy, many advance AI, interdimensional travel, etc.
AND Yet, this very alliance the MC joins and whom he also wants to take revenge on can't/never decides to read his mind, rather, they just continue to promote and just give him power?? KNOWING they themselves caused the destruction of most of humanity. - Not even a BG check....
Additionally, after seeing humans who they themselves deemed as expendables (in just a few years are) capable of fighting toe to toe with creatures who have lived millions of years with the the highest rank, yet no alarm bells ring out?... red flag... alarming potential!!

So many more plot holes as well...
However, I will say though, there is a sweet moment of revenge that makes you smile.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
February 6, 2018
Status: c200
Not as bad as some review trolls say.

Positives:
Another interesting take on magic
An MC who knows how to stay low but not deathly low

Negatives include:
... more>>
Spoiler

Rants about "music" being this and that, in a world filled with MAGIC!
MC is given so many spells but doesn't use half of them... so why even write about them??
Another transmigration without explanation... while I'm used to it by now, still would be nice to know why...

[collapse]

Warning: If you pick up this novel, don't hesitate to just skip large sections of filler or half a chapter at a time.

If you do that, you'll fly through on a enjoyable ride. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage
October 12, 2017
Status: c93
Score: 4.7

DO NOT cross Shen Miao!! I've read a number of novels where characters are ruthless, but these women are VICIOUS. There are so many positives that I will just say, it's worth your time to read this. The cons that made this into a 4.7 were : the initial overwhelming introduction of names and descriptions. I don't care about the tint of her skin, nor brightness of every other characters' eyes. Once you get into to the story, it's got you hooked. I knew the day I... more>> would be waiting for translations would arrive, but I'm still irritated. Definitely worth a read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
When A Mage Revolts
March 13, 2018
Status: c458
I didn't read this for a long time because of reviews about A.I. + my own conceptions. The A.I. the MC has isn't like any modern A.I. in that it isn't connected to anything other than the host, so obviously it won't evolve like a traditional Sci-Fi A.I. - Which is good. Unlike what the other reviews say, the A.I. does NOT actually do all that much, nor make any choices, it's simply a tool with perks and consciousness. I will say though, the A.I. is SO annoying in the... more>> beginning, but becomes much more silent later.

This novel starts off really slow but does pick up. I really enjoyed the atmosphere it created. If you can ignore plot holes (and there are many later in the story), then you'll eventually end up liking this novel. The MC is a little bit of psychopath for a modern day human, but not a serial killer. There is no harem so far which is nice. It's definitely about a mage that causes revolts.

All in all, not the best nor the worst... just around a 4.0 for my taste. Not as good as Warlock of the Magus World imo. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko
Night Ranger
February 6, 2018
Status: c232
☆☆☆☆ - Score 4.4

Another surprisingly addicting novel!!

Don't get me wrong, far from a masterpiece. However, it's hard to say what makes this addicting for the average male reader... but it is. It's a mix of many novels that picks up like a giant snowball.

Just read it and you'll find out for yourself. ... more>>
Spoiler

You'll know by c15 if it's for you or not. And it gets progressively better. The only flaw is the introduction to guns / sha clan later... for obvious reasons.

[collapse]
It's worth a read if you like martial arts, magic, comedy, game transmigration, fantasy, and semi-decent logic.

It's not Reverend Insanity, A Will Eternal, Reincarnator, Rebirth of the Malicious... good
- but would still recommend for consideration <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Gate of Revelation
January 24, 2018
Status: c172
Reactions are unrealistic on so many levels.

Trust a guy who you just met with a dead body in his bathtub, but doubt the girl with crazy 6 senses after she tells you he is a bad guy, even though the girl constantly saves you!!
... more>>
Spoiler

OR - Lines like "I'll do anything to save my little sister"... Or situations such as, you escape a magical fantasy world and then continuously try to run from an omnipresent being.

[collapse]

Coincidences are everywhere-
1. Blood just happens to fall on spherical metal balls activating powers on 3+ separate occasions with different people in the knick of time.
2. You run into a person you saved the previous day in a city the size LA... This seems to happen all the time.
3. Super powerful being takes over your body but you have just enough power to resist. The MC is smart one moment, but absolutely dumb the next. etc.

Lastly, something that I usually don't care enough to point out but there are too many plot holes galore. I can't even list them all. I'm all for just enjoying the ride, but this novel is a wooden raft on a stormy ocean. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
November 12, 2017
Status: c336
Pros: Starts off with real promise and fresh ideas. The author also does a decent job with character depth.

Cons: The author constantly writes long pointless narrations and descriptions (after c70) . He'll write a few paragraphs about a city or character in a chapter, just to never mention or kill off what he wrote two chapters down. Additionally, his ultra long descriptions of world mechanics will drive you crazy making you have to skip half the chapter. -Annoying! Move the plot! Later as you read, the fights become incomprehensible and... more>> uninteresting. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko
King of Gods
February 12, 2018
Status: c450
☆☆☆ - 3.7
Literally Sharingan + Byakugan = this

I kid you not, EVERY POWER the Sharingan and Byakugan has this MC's eye has.
... more>>
Spoiler

Ability to see flaws & slower sense of motion
Ability to trap people in time dimension and torture them
Ability to see power flowing within
Ability to shoot flame from eye
Spacial transport ability into eye
Ability to copy*
Jesus, need I go on?

[collapse]
Reviewer above me is in denial!

Positives & Negatives
+ Becomes far more interesting later after 300 chapters
- Starts slow and has repetitive tournaments.
- Character always manages to find an opponent just one realm above his own... yeah okay...
Everything is not bad though, however, not super innovative.
If you are bored and have nothing left to read, and want to read a different tale about a guy with a sharingan, then this is for you. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
November 21, 2017
Status: c150
I'm ashamed I even read till c150.

Because of the picture & title it's rated so high.

1. Starts off well, then quickly turns into very bad generic xianxia - (pulling out co*ks over nonsensical matters)
2. The fights are lame, using horrid over exemplifications to describe. You eventually have no real gauge.
3. The MC constantly finds an opponent just one step above his own every other chapter.... really?
4. The authors rambles on-and-on-and-on about the politics of this world. - Like we care, Move the plot!!

... more>>
Spoiler

If you read my review, you have been warned that this novel is a waste of time.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Ze Tian Ji
November 7, 2017
Status: c652
4.2- (Real score)

*sigh*
It's too bad many of the of the reviewers here are impatient. I generally don't care about writing style, as I always only care about a solid plot. However, I truly admire the writer and (his/her writing).
... more>>
Spoiler

HOWEVER Minus points for :
-.2 for pacing - move the plot author!
-.2 every detail is narrated as if the readers are dumb or as if they should care
-.2 for constantly giving the MC a load of sh*t one after another.
-.2 Author rambles in later chapters on and on about his characters philosophy
Good side - I also usually hate romance in my novels but this is one is actually believable.
Additionally, you watch the MC slowly begin to change as a result of the people he comes into contact with.

[collapse]
Both characters develop love through days of life and death struggle. Additionally, interesting fights and MC growth.

Compelling story <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Release that Witch
October 30, 2017
Status: --
Oddly Addicting

Pro's:
Interesting world building and plot
Writing style is easy to read
Characters become likable

However, there is one huge Con I can't ignore.
Cons:
Roland is suppose to be your average BA or Masters level engineer from our world. BUT this mother **** apparently has an IQ and comprehension that exceeds the combined smartest 6 people I have ever met (including those with PhDs). If the author would have taken the time to do a proper setup for him in the beginning of the novel, this could have been... more>> believed. - The rest of the Cons you can find in other reviews -

If you can overlook this, it becomes a fun read regardless <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
Reincarnator
October 8, 2017
Status: c307
My only score of 5 to date
READ IT!! READ IT!! READ IT!!

Don't let the other reviews dissuade you like they did me for a while.

I'm not going to summarize because you can read that in the dozen of other reviews. Rather, I'll disbunk a huge falsehood that some reviewers who barely managed to get into the story are saying:

"Main character is heartless / not caring " - Not true. First off, the characters actions prove this to be incorrect, as he constantly endures a load of **** and a... more>> harsh path to save humanity and pave a way for their future. Secondly, his personality is one from a future in which a handful of humans barely managed to survive after decades in the cruelest of worlds that promoted slaughtering each other, and erasing trust. Lastly,
Spoiler

there is a plot twist around chapter 300 in which you find out why his personality is so dead-set on saving humanity and why he tries so hard... it's even more interesting moving forward...

[collapse]

"Side Charecters are dropped "- Not at all. Side characters exist, they are just constantly ahead of the "current" MC and their actions affect him as he climbs the zones. Furthermore, the people he entered this world with have to be left behind (as he progresses at a rate none of them can match). He was selected by his peers from the FUTURE because of his special traits, and then given the collective knowledge of humanity on the means to grow while saving as many as possible... it's obvious why he has to climb these worlds faster than everyone else and doesn't have time to play

Con's:
-The story hasn't been fully translated and is on hiatus... which will annoy you once you are addicted
- A particular character ahead of the MC is hell bent on f**king everyone else over to the point it's frustrating beyond belief and makes you wonder "why is she so hellbent on screwing over fellow humans?"

Beautiful plot, amazing story world, an interesting break from your traditional wuxia trope. It's my favorite novel to date.

Take my advice and read it for yourself <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
The Ultimate Evolution
April 13, 2018
Status: c700
Let me tell you, getting past those first 30 chapters was a struggle. While boring- semi-relevant in establishing a foundation later

This is a brighter & more realistic version of Terror Infinity.

Pretty much a story about dead contestants shuttled between present and fantasy worlds.

... more>>
Spoiler

The laws / rules of these worlds are fair and give contestants a chance to survive. It's possible to survive utilizing intelligence over brawn. The author designs scenarios for the MC to display his wits. The assumptions the MC makes are quite a stretch at times. But, it's better than the way many other authors try to say, rather prove their MC's intelligence.

I'll never understand why the MC's melee path can be considered a smart one... when by all means it's easy to die before ever even getting close targets. Like someone shooting you while backing up, or using force powers, etc. Anyways, if you can accept small kinks easily, this story might be acceptable for you.
If you can get over that first hump, it might turn into a fantasy you like later.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
The Gate Of Good Fortune
April 1, 2018
Status: c395
Read all in one go or don't at all.

There are two substantial things that make this novel drop a star each.

- The MC is without a doubt a genius transferred to another world. BUT HE MAKES HORRENDOUSLY STUPID choices the further you read. He never bows his head, which ends up with him killing young masters, becoming wanted, and always on the run. Why? Because his pride is as high as the heavens... but he's a genius right? Rather then smile and get revenge later, he'll just kill if he... more>> can win and deal with consequences later. Real smart...

- HOW does their society even function if it's legal to walk up and kill / rape someone just because you are stronger? Almost EVERYONE in this world robs, steals, and kills if they are stronger. I can't even explain the quantity to which this happens every other chapter. A small example - the MC literally walks into a normal city, and two rich young masters try to make him a slave... just because... Of course, he kills one of them shortly after and goes on the run. How can you have cities of 500, 000+ if this allowed everywhere?? And I mean everywhere...

Another downer is that sometimes an entire chapter will be devoted to breaking through the next cultivation barrier alone. Mildly entertaining novel with vivid world building, creatures, and characters. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko rated it
The Strongest Gene
March 27, 2018
Status: c153
First 100 chapters; interesting concept and direction.

However, this novel is soon riddled with problems!
Plot holes! Plot holes! Plot holes! -
... more>>
Spoiler

For example - People dying left and right in broad daylight in a world filled with video recorders, mastery of genetics, and investigational powers... but no one is ever caught or investigated!! This is an occuring theme. How does this society even function?
Second - MC pretty much creates miracles for millions to see, yet no government nor organization ever steps in to recruit, kidnap, nor even question...??

I read this due to another respected reviewer... but I don't know what she was smoking for this one.

[collapse]
1-Dimensional characters galore - Big brothers revenge is everywhere.
Everyone is constantly in a state of shock at the MC's awesomeness, and the author makes sure we as readers know this. This is like a mutated form of Library of Heaven's Path.

I just can't anymore...I really can't... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ginko
Ginko
Arena
December 13, 2017
Status: --
This should be rated higher.

4.3

It is GANTZ in nature at first with fantasy elements. However, quickly deviates and is much brighter.

Try to ignore the stupid baby angel intro just once, and I'm sure one can find slight plot holes if they look. But the world is creative and draws you in. It's a Life Mission + Master Hunter K sort of mix. Personally, I enjoy this novel over the two.

Not a masterpiece but definitely a good time.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3