Report Review
31 Reviews


GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Evil Emperor’s Wild Consort
December 31, 2017
Status: --
The title is all wrong. This should have been called "Everyone is too dumb to live: the web novel"

Seriously, there are many webnovels out there that are filled with arrogant young masters picking fights for no reason and old masters who would rather see their entire sects destroyed instead of apologizing for being assholes, but this was the first time I found 90% of the antagonists genuinely suicidal.

As in, this is a story where the MC walks into a restaurant, the local bitch notices her, concludes that she should not... more>> be anyone important and tries to heckle her, only to get punched across the room. Then her father shows up and starts complaining, and it turns out that the strongest local clan (who are so powerful they are literally electing the emperor) backs the MC. Then, instead of backing the f**k down, they start coming up with increasingly ludicrous plans to frame her because, and let me paraphrase, "she is not an arrogant asshole like us, therefore she probably doesn't have a strong background, so it's okay to kill her". Then it finally dawns on them that the MC is not only a VIP doctor and alchemist, but she has connections across the continent, she is the master of a doctor who is so influential that a single word from her would be enough to get hundreds of OP cultivators jump at her beck and call, and she is rumored to possess two legendary spiritual beasts... and instead of backing down, they decided to still try and kill her, except be sneaky about it.

Seriously, the only reason I keep reading this is because of sheer, unmitigated bile fascination with just how amazingly stupid all the side characters can be in this story. That amounts to something, I suppose. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
March 12, 2017
Status: c144
Not bad. An enjoyable read, though it very quickly falls prey of the same tropes it sets out to satirize.

The protagonist is supposed to be the stereotypical "arrogant young master" the "main character" was supposed to go up against? Sounds like a nice subversion, until you realize the protagonist also faces two such "arrogant young masters" in just the first couple of chapters.

There are antagonistic "clichéd xianxia MCs" who were originally weak but plot-devices made them OP? Once again sounds like a nice subversion, until you consider that the protagonist... more>> is actually a double-reincarnator and is even more broken than them.

The "clichéd xianxia MCs" are very lucky and stumble upon very powerful artifacts and techniques left and right? So does the protagonist, not to mention technically he had already stumbled upon on ALL the techniques in his previous life, and he doesn't even have to do most of the legwork, as he has retainers who collect materials and artifacts for him.

The first "clichéd xianxia MC" is a chick magnet who keeps improbably bumping into gorgeous female cultivators and have "perfect meetings" with them where he helps them out and earns their trust and love? Could have been a nice bit of satire, except the protagonist does the exact same thing beat for beat just a couple of chapters later.

So yeah, I don't know if it's intentional, but directly hanging a lampshade on xianxia clichés and then following them to the letter anyway is a little weird in my opinion. There are also some weird inconsistencies in the story, like characters seemingly teleporting around, and the pacing and time-scale is all over the place too.

Those nagging issues aside it is a pretty good read. Not as biting in terms of satire as History's Number One Founder or as hilarious as Library of Heaven's Path, but it is a pretty nice, tongue-in-cheek xianxia series all the same.

Edit: After reading all the currently TLd chapters, I have to say this story completely lost the satirical bend it had at the beginning and turned into a fairly bog-standard xianxia story. The "clichéd xianxia MCs" are still there, and they still cause some interesting situations, but other than that the protagonist completely fell into the role of a "clichéd xianxia MC" himself. It's still worth a read, but if you came here expecting a solid deconstruction of xianxia tropes, look elsewhere and read this one for what it is: a pretty good, entertaining xianxia story with a few lampshades hanging around the place. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
May 7, 2017
Status: c70
When I started reading this, I honestly thought this was the best written isekai story I have read in recent memory. Then the third arc started, and I had to re-evaluate that. But I am getting ahead of myself.

First, here's the premise in a nutshell: The protagonist is an average university student who is a huge fan of a certain video game. The nature of the game is never really described, but it is likely some kind of single player, Tales-type JRPG with active combat. Anyways, one day he wakes... more>> up in the body of one of the characters from the game, except it's not the protagonist but the ten year old version one of those easily hateable returning midboss villains. Not only that, but while he is in full control of his actions, he cannot properly control what he says, meaning even the most amicable words turn into vicious insults and haughty scoffs by the time they leave his mouth. He figures that if he wants to save his skin, along with everyone else's in the worlds, he has to try and preserve as much of the original story of the game as possible so that the protagonist and his party could defeat the big bad as they should. Naturally, things don't go as planned...

The first two arcs of the story were great. The first one mostly focused on the protagonist finding his place in the world and using his knowledge of the future of the setting to maneuver into an advantageous position. The second arc, in turn, focused more on personal combat and warfare. While that wasn't as engaging as the first arc, it wasn't bad; far from it.

Then the third arc began, and oh boy...

First let's look into the good parts of the story and ease into the problems of the third part. First off, the premise was interesting, and the way the other characters started to change their attitude towards the protagonist was fun to read. The comedy was also mostly good. It had shades of some classic misunderstanding-comedy tropes (for example, the main love interest walks up to the protagonist just as he cries because of a bout of homesickness, and she conveniently interprets it in a way that makes her fall for him even harder), but the misunderstandings are never outrageous enough to make one cringe, so it's all good. The romance is slow, but it works really well, thought the way the female lead falls for him and then immediately gets 200% devoted to him was a little contrived. There were also some very basic economic and political maneuverings in there, which weren't particularly deep, but still entertaining.

However, there are problems with this story, and serious ones at that, that were only minor annoyances until they exploded into the forefront in the 3rd arc. For reference, the 2nd arc ends on a literal life-or-death cliffhanger, and then the first chapter of the next arc not only skips five years, it also ditches all the side-cast it built up in the 2nd arc, puts the protagonist into a contrived situation where he has to work for the big bad of the series and then it tries to simultaneously explain what happened during the time-skip, introduce a bunch of new characters and concepts and then also advance the plot at the same time. In short, it doesn't work and it's downright abysmal compared to the promise the first arc held.

Still, it's not bad, and maybe with time the author can salvage the series, but the horrible transition between the 2nd and 3rd arcs really dented my opinion on this otherwise really promising work. Sad. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
December 20, 2016
Status: c57
This series has potential that, while it might sound harsh considering how there are less than thirty chapters out at the writing of this, it completely squanders. The reason? The protagonist, or rather the way he is written when he is "under-cover". But I am getting ahead of myself, here is a quick rundown of this series this far:

Protagonist was the hero of another story and defeated the demon lord. However, he lost too many friends and allies on the journey to get there, so he became traumatized by the... more>> experience and doesn't want to take up the sword ever again (even though he is reincarnated into a family where even the maids are swordmasters). After said reincarnation he cultivates a lazy persona so that people would leave him alone, but when trouble befalls his new mother, he decides to start acting behind the scenes to get rid of the culprits using his OP abilities he inherited from his previous life.

Now where is the problem? It is the protagonist's public persona, which actually causes so many problems for him it baffles me why this otherwise cunning character would ever bother maintaining it. Simply put, he wants to avoid people recognizing his power and getting him involved in world-saving shenanigans again, so he pretends he is completely worthless, lazy and with zero common sense bordering on having a developmental disability. Instead of showing just a little bit of skill (which was shown he was capable of, as he is in complete control of his abilities) and hiding in his talented brothers' shadow, he becomes such an incredibly apathetic and dumb bastard that it actually draws even more attention to him, and his actions while "in cover" really reminded me of a not particularly bright twelve years old... even though he was supposed to be physically eighteen and mentally in his thirties. Even worse, people around him somehow only consider his balls-to-the-walls-stupid behavior mildly peculiar at most, which drove me nuts. Seriously, if a noble family had a son that was behaving like that, people wouldn't be calling him "Lazy Blade" but "Retarded Blade". And that was *before* he decided to blow his painstakingly maintained cover just so that he could get to the capital and drink coke a little bit sooner...

So yeah, while the whole "traumatized veteran trying to avoid becoming a hero again" angle was interesting, unfortunately it was multi-buggered by the protagonist and the setting not reacting properly to his apparent mental issues like it should. It's still an okay read for a lazy afternoon, but I don't think I will be following it in the future.

Edit: Contrary to my previous statement I proceeded to read 30 more chapters. Honestly, while the WN gets better, it is still not good enough to alter my score. While some of the over-the-top power-displays of the protagonist are cool, he is still an annoying and oftentimes borderline psychopathic manchild and certain scenes, such as the time when he seriously contemplated killing an entire square full of innocent bystanders just to maintain his secret (that wasn't even really threatened on the first place) make him a borderline sociopath.

Another big problem that really started coming up after ch30 was the abysmal pacing. Sometimes a single fight would take several chapters, while other times characters would do things or move to other locations with minimal rhyme or reason.
Spoiler

(e.g.: After the fight on the square the protagonist somehow ends up in the mage tower's secret basement on top of a pile of narcotics, which is also the place that just happens to be on top of the evil laboratory where the unconscious girl he also carried in there for some reason was experimented on, and afterwards he just happens to have an emblem of a different noble house on him he could leave behind to mislead the owner, all of that without any foreshadowing.)

[collapse]

So yeah, to sum it up: It got better, but it's still not good. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Emperor’s Domination
July 23, 2017
Status: c310
Let me sum this novel up for you in just four words: Great premise, bad writing.

First off, the description here on NU is horrible and barely reflects on the actual story. Here's the premise in a nutshell: The protagonist used to be a common shepherd boy who died in accident. His soul was then enslaved by an evil force and transplanted into an immortal crow. As the crow his job was to go into the world and gather cultivation techniques and treasures for his masters. Over literally millions of... more>> years he slowly put together a plan to rebel against his masters, train the most powerful experts the world has ever known, and with their help he finally freed himself, only to be reborn into his original, completely unremarkable body.

In even simpler terms: You know the xianxia cliché where the scorned MC stumbles upon a "grandpa", a great expert sealed in an object or otherwise under duress, who sets him on his way to greatness? Well, this time around our protagonist is the grandpa who had already trained his fair share of legendary experts and finally sets out to write his own legend.

However, while the basic premise sounds really interesting, this story is full of problems:

-The cultivation system is over-complicated and hazy. There are different cultivation levels for Physique (read: body) Life Wheel (read: the amount of chi/power/mana the character has) and Fate Palace (read: cultivation power level), but then there are the different levels of cultivation techniques (that are often four-to-six words long and get repeated ad nauseum) that follow a different naming scheme, and then the treasures that also follow a different naming scheme, and then there are the merit laws, and then there are sub-tiers for the three big attributes, one of which even creates compound names for the cultivation levels (as in, there is a character whose cultivation level was referred to as a "five fate palace minor completion saint physique heaven rebelling noble level royal noble"), and then there are attributes that don't even fit in this system (just what the hell is an Immortal Dao Bone?) After a while you just get a headache from all the damn long-winded and jumbled terminology.

-The MC is arrogant the wrong way. The thing is, his arrogance is well-deserved, as he is literally one of the oldest living beings in the setting with near-infinite knowledge. The problem is that instead of being above-it-all, he is a childish, long-winded prick who keeps posturing all the time and picks a fight with every traditional arrogant genius he meets for no reason whatsoever. Not only that, he is constantly signaling his true origins left and right, an extremely stupid thing to do especially early on when he is fairly weak, and yet gets away with it because all the other characters are even stupider. Speaking of which...

-The other characters are Stupid with a capital S. This is mostly so to make the MC looks smarter in comparison, which is already bad enough, but then there is just being too dumb to live, such as the copy-paste antagonists. However, the most painful part is how clueless everyone seems to be about the protagonist's danger level. I mean, come on! Around ch100 the MC has already single-handedly killed a bunch of powerful students and masters after cultivating for less than two years, yet everyone keeps insisting that he is insignificant because he has trash cultivation potential. Seriously? That's like looking at a car going past you on the highway and still accelerating ahead of you, and then scoffing at it for having a weak engine and never being able to get ahead of you, while it already is! I was hoping this problem would solve itself with time once the MC became incredibly famous for stomping a bunch of OP sects and their elders, but then the author pulled a fast one on me and had him move to another part of the world where no one heard of him before so that the cycle of underestimation could start anew.

-Repetition, repetition, repetition. This is a problem I noticed with a lot of CN works, but this is one of the worst cases I have ever seen. We are talking about repeating information withing the same chapter, sometimes in the very same paragraph, multiple times even! Now granted, this repetition can be somewhat justified when it comes to the aforementioned obnoxious cultivation system, but when the author starts describing the characters and their background the fiftieth time using the exact same words, it can get more than grating. I swear, if I hear the term "heaven's proud daughter" one more time, I will flip right out... [Edit: I found a worse one. The author repeated the phrase "Refining dan pills like roasting beans." about twenty times in three chapters, and I am not counting the titles, which were exactly the same. Seriously author? Seriously? ಠ_ಠ ]

Overall I still give this work 3*, because as a light read it is fairly entertaining, and the world-building is actually pretty great, with some nice and even innovative ideas here and there. Too bad the overall writing is so bad, otherwise this would be an outright classic. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
June 13, 2017
Status: c222
This is a deceptive series. At first glance it has no business getting 5 stars. The beginning is slow and grating, the ever-present comedy is hit-or-miss and the story doesn't seem to go anywhere... And then Realmspirit appears and suddenly everything snaps together to form a single, interconnected, incredibly well-detailed picture. But I am getting ahead of myself.

The story in a nutshell: The protagonist is a female debugger from modern times who gets transferred to a xianxia world as a peasant. She gets accepted to a very prestigious cultivation sect,... more>> becomes the young, handsome grandmaster's personal succeeding disciple... and then she dies. Then she reincarnates as a little girl. Then she dies again and reincarnates as a guy. Then she dies again and reincarnates as a freakin dragon, and it only gets weirder with each reincarnation.

Not only that, while most of the story is about the comical misadventures of our female lead, there is actually an unusual yet fairly compelling main plotline here: She is being reincarnated by "Realmspirit", an enigmatic entity that designates "bugs" in the world that she has to fix. These bugs are usually classic xianxia clihés, such as OP harem seeker protagonist types, cheat items, powerful beings that have no business on the lower planes, etc. However, these bugs are not always evident, and there is often a lot of mystery-solving involved, with even bigger mysteries that connect the reincarnations (read: arcs). Because of this the story manages to achieve a rare feet: being consistently entertaining each chapter, building interesting worlds, telling compelling stories each arc and having the entire work have actual layers due to the over-arching, inter-connected nature of said arcs, which even dabble with some non-linear storytelling as well.

Granted, the author doesn't always manage to pull things off flawlessly, and there are a few plot-holes here and there, but I just can't help but applaud the effort. In short, this is a really solid comedic adventure story that takes itself just seriously enough to be compelling but never becomes too serious for its own good either. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
July 16, 2018
Status: c249
This is a very deceptive and weird novel, but let me try to sum up the premise: The protagonist, Roland, is a lich in an underground city-state. He was a reincarnator from modern earth with a system that issued him heroic quests for great rewards, but because of betrayals he lost his country, which led him into a nihilistic spiral that had him end up where he is at the beginning of the story: a weakened undead caster surrounded by crazy characters and even his system became a snarky ass... more>> that revels in his suffering. However, once the plot kicks in, it turns out this is but a small setback on his grand plan to reincarnate once again and fix the world before it starts its descent towards destruction via an apocalyptic war between the forces of Order and Chaos.

Now, what I wrote there is mildly spoilerous, but I had to say it because the actual story has an absolutely horrible pacing, and so I have to reassure you that yes, there is an actual plot here. Hell, it is actually one of the best written, most detailed and well-thought-out plots I have read outside of some western doorstopper fantasy classics. The characters are all interesting, the protagonist's plans are truly ingenious and make sense in context, the action is nail-biting and the world-building is positively suberb. So, why am I only giving it 3 stars?

Well, first off, the comedy is god awful. It is the worst kind of screeching, low-brow otaku humor you would see in some bottom-of-the-barrel isekai stories that fail to take themselves seriously in any way. However, what makes these parts truly inexcusable is just how much they wreck the pacing and the tone of the story. We have truly powerfully written moments, like Roland invoking The Infallible Diffindor for the first time, or him returning to his ruined country hundreds of years after his first death and the people cheering for the heroes that are his undead companions, or hell, even just a simple chapter that does nothing but quietly explains the tragic backstory of the batsh*t crazy witch Amelia and suddenly turns her from an annoying one-note extra to an actually interesting potential love interest... and then these amazing well-written chapters are often followed by the town security chasing down a bunch of naked druids, or Roland getting verbally and physically abused by his love interests, or a omnis*xual half-dragon f**king a sand-worm from Dune, or a bunch of horndog characters trying to gather porno magazines, and so on and so forth. Most egregious are the chapters that are dedicated to the female characters casually abusing Roland to the point of cold-blooded torture, but more often than not it is entirely played off as funny, a double-standard in comedy that really needs to die.

So yeah, is this story good? Well, half of it is bloody genius, while the other half is some of the most grating low-brow crap I have read in a while. Add those together, and it kinda adds up to "okay". Overall I recommend reading it just for those truly breathtaking moments, and skimming all the bad comedy parts. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Demon Girl ~Tale of a Lax Demon~
June 9, 2017
Status: v4c11
This was a really surprising read. First of all, I found this series by random, while looking for the original title of another story I have found here. As such, my expectations were mild at best, but the story quickly managed to win me over.

As the synopsis already says, this is a story about a reincarnator from modern day Japan. However, the nameless girl quickly fades into memory as she becomes the "Golden Beast", an absurdly powerful demon in the demon realm... except she looks like an incredibly cute golden... more>> cat with tiny little bat wings and the disposition of an overly playful one.

After an indeterminate amount of time she, due to various circumstances, gets reincarnation again, but this time as a human baby born into a noble family, so she ends up as an ex-human who became human again and loves people, but with the peculiar mind-set and abnormal power of an inhuman, god-tier demon. Then comedy ensues.

Yes, most of this story is about the protagonist's misadventures, the people around her bumbling around after being charmed by her natural cuteness and beauty and just a lot of fluffy, comedic situations sweet enough to give you diabetes. And then horror ensues.

Yes, you read that right. Be warned, contrary to what you might think from reading the first dozen or so chapters, this is not a story for the faint-hearted. When sh*t hits the fan in this series, it hits hard. We are talking about "kids being torn apart by monster dogs in graphic detail" levels. Thankfully, the protagonist and company are still the 'good guys', monstrous as they are, so when she lets loose, there are little to no collateral damage, but most of the bad guys that earn her ire usually end up deader than dead, and those are the lucky ones.

Overall this was a surprisingly entertaining series, however I have to knock off one star due to the fairly boring worldbuilding and weak characterizations, the latter of which is further compounded by just how many fairly pointless secondary and tertiary characters the reader has to keep in mind. So yeah, good read, but be warned of the genre-shift at the end of each volume. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
April 2, 2017
Status: c377
A very entertaining, if ultimately formulaic comedy set in a fairly cliched xianxia world filled to the brim with arrogant cultivators and haughty beautiful women just waiting to get egg on their face. But I am getting ahead of myself.

The protagonist, Zhang Xuan, is a reincarnate from modern times. He used to be a librarian in his previous life, so when he reincarnates in the body of the least accomplished teacher at a cultivation academy, his "reincarnation bonus" is the titular Library of Heaven's Path. Said virtual library exists in... more>> his head, and it does two things: by observing people or objects, he can gain a detailed description of them (with emphasis on their weaknesses and flaws), and by opening any books the Library creates a copy in his head which he can freely access and commit to memory. Not only that, the Library can also compile and even correct books on cultivation if there are enough samples, allowing him to create insanely advanced techniques in a matter of seconds.

However, not all is right, as he is not only the youngest, least-respected teachers in the academy he works at, he has no students either, and according to the rules a teacher without students would be fired. As such Zhang Xuan enters into a mad race against time to collect promising students while also trying to understand the powers of the Library and survive as his efforts lead him to more and more outrageous encounters against students, their relatives, criminals and even the very faculty of the academy he works at.

In terms of writing, this is a comedy all the way to the bone. While there are a lot of classic xianxia tropes in play, they all exist either as backdrops or things to be lampshaded. The characters are also suitably simple, though still enjoyable. This far the story doesn't have any "villains" per se, only antagonists that oppose the protagonist until they realize their folly. Even the "main antagonists" of the first arc, the teachers and leaders of the academy, aren't evil, only misguided and way too stubborn to let sleeping lions lie even after it becomes blindingly obvious that the protagonist is not the trash they thought he was.

Overall I really liked this WN. The only two flaws I can think of are the fairly weak beginning (in the first few chapters the protagonist is unaware of the Library, so his actions and thought-processes are not really in line with his later behavior) and the somewhat formulaic rhythm the plot fell into after a while. Protagonist enters the scene -> People underestimate him -> Protagonist uses the library to dwarf them -> People are in awe of the protagonist -> He doesn't really understand just how outrageous the thing he just did was and feels bashful for all the praise. Rinse and repeat.

That said, this is still a really, really good, entertaining comedy that I would heartily recommend to everyone who read at least a few xianxia works in the past. Only time will tell whether the formula will get old with time, but right now this WN is still golden.

Edit3 [17-11-01]: After bumping the score up and down a bunch, I finally settled on 4 stars. The reason is thus: while this WN is repetitive, the MC has zero common sense even though he is the most knowledgeable person in any room, and the comedy is hit-or-miss, when all the buildup in an arc comes together and the comedy starts hitting home in rapid fire, it is a sight to behold, and justifies reading through the otherwise often meandering story. That said, if you have little tolerance for repetitiveness, I am not sure I can recommend it. Maybe just skim past the filler and the onlookers and experts. It will be just this:

"He cannot do it! I should know, I am the number one expert in regards to X here! -&Gt; Oh no, he did it! -&Gt; Oh no, he did it so well the ancient sages are crying rainbow tears over the horizon! -&Gt; Oh no, he went one step further and doesn't even realize how amazing the thing he did was! -&Gt; Brother, why didn't you tell me you were an expert of X before I made an ass of myself?!"

There, now you don't need to read the same lines when he does this to the beast masters, the apothecaries, the poison masters, the master painters, the master teachers, the apothecaries (again), the formation masters and so on, and instead you can focus on the actual good stuff. You are welcome.

P.S.: Yeah, I kinda realize that the last three paragraphs were pretty much damning with faint praise, but trust me, I can make fun of this story like this because I actually like it all the same and I think it's worth reading even with these flaws in mind. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
I Reincarnated For Nothing
August 23, 2018
Status: c99
A very entertaining adventure story with surprisingly few flaws.

The premise: The protagonist, Artpe, was the weakest of the four generals of the demon king, more of an intelligence officer than an actual fighter, as his unique Innate Ability allowed him to read stats, decipher magic, auto-scout dungeons and all sorts of other perception-related stuff. Unfortunately for him, the Hero showed up at the gates of the demon king's castle, and in line with the sorting algorithm of evil, he sent Artpe out to fight her. However, as he was dying,... more>> his innate ability evolved and instead of reading reality, it rewrote it so that he is reborn as the childhood friend of the hero, Maetel. Even though at this point all he wanted was to retire and become a dairy farmer, he realizes that the demon king wants to eradicate all humans, he is a human, and therefore it is in his best interest to get rid of the demon king first. Because of this he sets out to use his innate ability and knowledge of the future to guide Maetel's path... except it soon turns out that he has received the Hero class as well, so the two of them set out on a journey to gather party members, grind levels and acquire artifacts while foiling the plans of the demons, even if by accident.

Pros:

    • Decent comedy.
    • Maetel is adorable in a dumb puppy kind of way.
    • The protagonist is very proactive and he is not entirely dense either.
    • The writing plays with the tropes of the genre in a tongue-in-cheek manner, but it's never so overt it would disappear up its own anus.
    • The pacing is pretty good.
Neutrals:

    • There is a harem forming around the MC, and while all the girls are likable, they kinda pale in comparison to the absolute love of Maetel and thus feel unnecessary.
    • Related to the previous point, the heroines seem to come out of nowhere and they are immediately smitten with the protagonist at first glance.
    • There is a lot of cool power-fantasy themes here, but if you have read a lot of that genre, it becomes a little samey after a while.
Cons:

    • The Heroes' plot armor and the Demon Kind using the sorting algorithm of evil are actually plot-points in the story, but it still doesn't help with the lack of tension.
    • The many small time-skips help with the pacing, but they also emphasize how the characters stay mostly static over time.
    • Way too much focus on looting and the MC scamming people just because he can.
Overall this is a really good, entertaining light read. It follows a similar power-up cycle as Toika's previous work, Everyone Else is a Returnee, and it has most of the same strengths as that story, but with its flaws greatly lessened. All things considered, I would recommend it to anyone not allergic to smug OP MCs and unnecessary harems. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Shinka no Mi
March 31, 2017
Status: c42
This would be pretty funny, if not for a number of nagging issues, such as the absolutely worthless main character. It's not just that he is a coward (though after living in a jungle for five months, one would expect at least some development in that regard), but he is so absolutely rock-stupid that it makes it incredibly hard to sympathize with him. But I am getting ahead of myself.

This is our premise: As per the standard isekai formula, the protagonist and his schoolmates get transferred into a magical word... more>> by a "god". The twist is that it is an "idol school", however much sense that makes, where everyone besides the protagonist is ridiculously pretty/handsome. On the contrary, he is a fat otaku-stereotype (without actually being an otaku) and smells horrible, so he gets bullied a lot, and upon transfer the others cast him out. The god takes pity on him, and grants him an extra bonus skill, which allows him to get full drops from any monster he slays, all their skills and even parts of their stats and life experiences. Then he gets thrown into a jungle where he eats a bunch of "evolution seeds" that make him "evolve" upon receiving XP, so he gets OP in short order, then he meets a talking gorilla who then transforms into a hot chick and she becomes his girlfriend and if you are not already yawning thinking "Aside of that gorilla bit, this is soo clichéd!", you must not have read many isekai stories yet.

Still, the premise is salvageable. Too bad no other element does so. The game elements are all over the place, with ridiculously high stat-numbers that don't seem to make much of a difference. As in, the protagoist with single-digit stats could evade the attacks of a monster with stats in the thousands (albeit barely). Skills are also advancing randomly. During his five months long timeskip/stay in the jungle, he only gained a couple of resistances, and then in rapid succession he gains thousands of stats and dozens of skills in a couple of chapters.

The writing doesn't help much either. Apparently the author thinks that the protagonist screeching from the top of his lungs and yelling random english words is the funniest thing ever. Aside of him we have the deredere monster gorilla girlfriend, whose only character trait is that she is madly in love with the protagonist and wants to have his babies, and a friggin talking sheep in a tuxedo who showed up just to infodump while trolling the protagonist in the most annoying way possible. On top of all that, there are tons of fairly repetitive writing here. Protagonist doesn't realize how strong he is and defeats monster -> protagonist thinks the monster must be weak -> protagonist finds skill cards -> he learns the skills -> he observes the skills and screeches about how amazing they are -> he finds items and screeches about how amazing they are -> he finds a small fortune in gold, and complains about how it is useless to him in he jungle. Rinse and repeat.

Also, there are a number of times I felt that the author introduced things only to realize they didn't work and then sweep them under the rug, but none of them were as blatantly dumb as the helmet.

Spoiler

The aforementioned sheep gives the protagonist a helmet to hide his face, because due to the Disguise skill his charisma plummeted. The scene where it was introduced went into great details about when it can be removed and by whom and so on for pages, and then two chapters later the author apparently figured out it was silly, so the protagonist levels up, the Disguise skill powers up, and so the helmet is no longer needed and gets discarded. Again, this wasn't just some random headwear; it was introduced and explained in meticulous detail only to be discarded two chapters later.

[collapse]

Finally, and with this we are back to the first paragraph, the protagonist is astoundingly stupid. As in, he can see his own stats and he can see the stats of his opponents (albeit only after he beat them), and yet he still has absolutely no idea about his own strength. Furthermore, he does things that make me beat my head against a wall, like trying to figure out if the skill that hides his stats actually lowers them from 100k+ to 10, even though it is directly written in the skill description that it doesn't, and then he screeches and complains when he accidentally destroys a field by swinging his weapon. Or he complains about not being able to use the two legendary swords the dungeon boss dropped because he lacks the skills, even though he just learned the relevant sword technique from the same boss and he had been using a dual-wielding counter-skill already! And then he screeches and complains about leveling up raising his stats! It's moments like those that make me think that either the protagonist or the author has the mental capacity of a particularly retarded goldfish.

Overall I would say this is not an entirely bad series, but if you have no tolerance for low-brow humor, cringe-worthy protagonists or a general lack of sense for the worldbuilding, I would not recommend it. Oh, and the translation swings between decent and unintelligible word-salad, so be warned.

[Edit]: Since I felt that writing a negative review only after twenty odd chapters was a little unfair, I forced my way through two dozen more chapters. To put it bluntly, the story is still incredibly dumb, but the protagonist actually got a little bit better, there are now semi-interesting side characters and the humor is slightly less aneurysm-inducingly bad. In short, it got better, but it's still not great. Let's go with "readable" and "mostly enternatining". <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Evil God Average
December 8, 2016
Status: v2
A simple, straightforward story. Pretty Japanese high school girl with scary eyes piques the interest of a trickster god from a higher plane of existence and gets thrown into a magical world. At first it looks like your run-of-the-mill isekai story, with the heroine even trying her hand at adventuring, but due to her circumstances (namely that the aforementioned trickster god made her have the aura and glare of an "average" god of evil), she has to leave town and start anew as a dungeon master. Then things get weirder... more>> and weirder.

First off, as I said above, the story is incredibly straightforward. While the side-stories done from different POVs add some fluff to the story at the end of each volume, the main plotline is streamlined to the extreme. It sets out to tell a story, and it does so without any added fat. In some ways I respect the author for that attitude in the age of never-ending ligh- and webnovels that keep piling up the padding for years.

Overall this was a nice, fluffy read. The characters are not particularly deep, but they were entertaining, and since there were not a lot of them, they all got just enough screen time to not be completely one-note.

The plot, thin as it is, actually follows a logical escalation pattern and it's written well, with the protagonist's personality actually reflecting in the narration (which should be a given, but a lot of light-novel authors seem not to get this and have their MCs narrate like a robot).

In the end this was sort of the literary equivalent of comfort-food. The reason why I knocked one star down was the shallow worldbuilding and, more importantly, the lame ending.
Spoiler

So, in the end the Evil God shows up and presents the protagonist with the opportunity to become a human again, and she chooses to accept it, dividing herself to be a "Divine" and a "Human" version existing at the same time, so that the divine version could stay in her temple and do nothing while her human version could go out into the world and... oh, wait... I mean, so her human version could live in her mansion a few hundred meters from the temple and do nothing. How riveting.

[collapse]

So yeah, in the end this was an enjoyable read. It did a bit of deconstruction, it did a bit of comedy, it did a bit of combat and suspense, but overall it was a pretty mellow novel I could recommend for reading under the blankets during a long winter night. It won't floor you or change the way you look at fiction, but not all stories have to do that. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Slave Harem in the Labyrinth of the Other World
November 27, 2016
Status: c216
[Edit]: Score lowered to 2 stars after reading http://www. novelupdates. com/series/ive-became-able-to-do-anything-with-my-growth-cheat-but-i-cant-seem-to-get-out-of-being-jobless/

It's pretty much the same premise with the same job/class juggling and power-leveling with a harem of slave girls stuff, except actually good.

[Original Review]: This story had potential, but is was completely killed by the absolutely dreadful, repetitive writing. How bad is it, you might ask? I would go as far as to say that 50% of the story reads like a system log in a CRPG.

"We entered Dungeon A. We fought goblins. A group of three goblins took... more>> three fireballs to defeat. I switched my skills. The next group of goblins only took two fireballs to defeat. We received a random ingredient. I switched back my skills and took out my sword. I beat the next goblin with my sword. It recharged my mana. I put away my sword. The next group of goblins were defeated by three fireballs again. Then I switched our formation. The next group of goblins were..."

Now imagine that for entire chapters, with nothing else in-between. It's just the narration dryly and matter-of-factly describing every little mind-numbing detail of the dungeon-grinding experience. In a better written work all if this would have been done with a single line saying "We went into the dungeon and grinded until the girls took a level and we collected a fair number of ingredients." Not here though.

Then comes the second most dreadful part of the story: the food discussions. Seriously, the number of times the author repeatedly describes what the characters are eating, how they are eating, about food-preparation and consumption is absolutely mind-numbing.

Combine all of the above with a snail-paced plot and a fairly weak slice-of-life structure, and you can understand the number of low scores this story received.

But then why do I give it three stars if it's so dreadful? Well, because it is not all bad. This story could be best described as an ocean of boring crap littered with islands of actually interesting and sometimes even compelling chapters. Practically any chapter that doesn't focus on either dungeon-grinding, food or the action-house is surprisingly interesting.

However, if I wanted to point at the one saving grace of this story, it would be the protagonist and his unique approach to the setting and its gamey mechanics. I also loved that while he is slightly OP, it's not due to high stats or overwhelming power, just that due to his ability to reset his skill points and re-allocate them he has access to opportunities and skill-combinations normal people in this setting can only dream of. That, combined with his meticulous analysis of the effects of his abilities often leads of surprising and even subversive moments, which I greatly appreciated.

I also liked how some of the gamey elements, like skills and the dungeons themselves, were integrated into the setting. For example, I really loved how the protagonist's haggling skills were actually only working on people who were using the Arithmetic skill by practically hacking into their built-in calculator, and these merchants were so used to relying on the skill that they trust it even when it is blatantly obvious they are being ripped off. I like that sort of creativity in my fiction.

In conclusion I would say this story is worth a skim through for those islands. Here's a tip though: If a chapter starts with the protagonist and his harem in the dungeon, eating or preparing to eat, you can safely skip that chapter. 90% of the time you won't miss anything, an in the remaining 10% you will know if something important happened right away and you can backtrack to see what it was. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Ultimate Scheming System
October 28, 2017
Status: c46
I am not really comfortable with writing a review after only 34 chapters, but I felt the need to counter-balance a little.

The premise is as follows: the protagonist is a reincarnator taking over the body of a discarded prince consort after the his wife absorbed his cultivation. He gets a system that rapidly raises his power level, and its main currency is "acting tough" points. He gains those by acting boisterous in front of others or by displaying domineering abilities. In other words, it is a system that rewards him... more>> for playing the role of your typical sociopathic xianxia MC. Emphasis on the "acting" part, as while he is unscrupulous, he is nowhere as bad as some of the natural examples.

Aside of the system, there isn't much else that makes this work stick out of the competition, but contrary of the other reviews here, I don't think it's particularly bad. Nor is it a comedic series, as by ch 34 the protagonist is on a completely serious roaring rampage of revenge, he has a goal for which he has to raise his cultivation ASAP, and in general he is becoming a more relatable character contrasting the indifferent haughtiness of the local cultivators.

That said, there are also a lot of issues on the writing front, such as the annoying trope of these systems handing out the techniques of MCs of other works, which this story takes to its extreme by having the people protagonist learn Xiao Yan's entire early skillset, complete with his sword and clothes.

That said, it is still early to judge this WN, but personally I will stick to it for a while, as I see a lot of potential in it.

Edit: After reading a couple more chapters, I have to make a slight correction: I was wrong when I said this was not a comedic series. I was so, so wrong. Once the first big *wham* episode that leads to the alluded roaring rampage of revenge, the story mellowed out a bit and it became one of the most hilarious things I have ever read. It's practically the best parts of the comedy of Library of Heaven's Path and History's Number One Founder rolled together with the some of the over-the-top destructive face-slapping seen in Emperor's Domination sprinkled on top. I really, really hope the rest of the WN is going to keep up this quality, as it might actually become my new favorite

Edit2: Nope, the quality didn't keep up. It went downhill. Hard. Now I feel silly for trying to defend this novel... <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Tilea’s Worries
March 29, 2017
Status: v2c32
This is a good, if tiresome, misunderstanding comedy.

It's good, because it is mostly funny. The misunderstandings and the MCs antics are usually hilarious, especially when viewed through the eyes of secondary characters, such as Timu or Nielsen. In fact, I could only honestly recommend the parts of the story that are not told for Tilia's POV.

And with that said, we come to the "tiresome" part. As much as the misunderstandings are hilarious, they are suffering from a serious problems: Tilea is retarded. I don't mean that as a... more>> derogative, she is literally, near-brain-dead levels of retarded. Now don't take me wrong, a comedic story of this kind requires the protagonist to be a bit of an idiot for the misunderstandings to begin, but they are usually an endearing kind of idiot, like Kitano from Angel Densetsu, who is so good-natured that he cannot even wrap his head around other people challenging him to a fight, so he tries to rationalize their taunts resulting in wacky hi-jinks.

Tilea is different. She is a reincarnated chuuny NEET who is convinced that her little sister's sudden declaration of being a demon general is just her being chuuny too. That is a funny premise. Tilea turning out to be super-powerful without her being aware of it is also funny. And then it all goes downhill from there as the conflicts keep escalating along with Tilea's rationalizations to a point where event a five year old child would figure out something was up... and then it gets even more outrageous than that, and yet she is still in the dark. In short, any chapter with Tilea as the POV becomes less and less funny as the story goes on and more and more face-meltingly irritating.

Thankfully the other POVs, while still kind of annoying at times, never get as bad as hers, and later on the author even introduces Jessica, a character who is fully aware of just how broken (and retarded) Tilea can be and actually saves her city just by tricking her into fighting the bad guys, which I appreciated a lot.

Overall this is a fun, if sometimes irritating, series (even more so than any other misunderstanding-comedy I have read), but there is one thing you have to keep in mind if you wish to give it a go: this work might look cute and funny on the surface, but later parts (especially the second arc) contains some absolutely disturbing "fridge horror" moments. For example, as it is written in the description, Tilea's little sister becomes a demon general. That is quite literal, and even though the protagonist is in serious denial about it, the little girl she grew up with and adores is literally dead and her body is taken over by Camilla, the True Ancestor of all vampires and a psychopath who would massacre all of humanity in a heartbeat with her very own hands if left to her own devices. And that's just chapter one.

So yeah, I would actually recommend reading this series in small doses, only skimming most of Tilea's POV chapters from the second volume onward and just not thinking too deeply about how all of the quirky side characters are monstrous mass-murderers who are presumably killing innocent people off-screen all the time while the MC is not around. Like that, this is a fairly fun series. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
This is another entry of the "dungeon master subversion" genre (I can't believe that is a thing either, but it is)

Premise:

The MC is born (or maybe reborn, it's not clear) as a demon lord who is supposed to rule over his own dungeon where he would harvest residue of the strong emotions human adventurers leave behind. After being shown the ropes by a veteran demon lord, he decides that, instead of making it a maze with monsters, he would create a dungeon town to generate DP, the generic dungeon... more>> master currency.
He can safely do that because of his unique power, Creation, allows him to replicate items from modern Earth, from food to firearms, which gives him such a technological leg-up he doesn't really have to fear other demon lords. Said demon lords pose a threat because each of them possesses a single unique skill, and once a month they can create a magical medal representing that skill. Using that medal in a fusion with another one, they can create high-ranking monsters, but the actual monster is random. The MCs medal not only allows him to morph it into any other medal he knows during synthesis, it also allows him to raise the rank of the monster and pick which one he specifically wants as the end results, which means that while other demon lords are happy if they can get an A rank monster, the MC creates S-ranks one after the other. Naturally all of those monsters are cute lolies, who are madly in love with the MC, but he refuses to touch them because they are his daughters. Oh, and his mentor is also in love with him, but he refuses to touch her because he considers her his mother. Oh, and he also has a rival tsundere demon lord who is obviously crushing on him, but he refuses to touch her because they are... friends?... Yeah, it's one of those MCs.

Anyways, while the story flirts with the idea of kingdom building, in reality it spends little time on that, mostly focusing on the power-fantasy aspect where the MC uses modern technology and out of the box thinking to curb-stomp the invasions of other dungeon masters while also collecting more harem members all the time.

Pros:

-The love interests are decently likable

-The system, with the monster fusion and the medals, is well thought out and makes the conflict between the dungeon masters/demon lords make sense.

-Enjoyable as a power fantasy.

Neutral:

-Lots of gushing over firearms. If you are into gun-porn, you can count this as a pro, but otherwise it is fairly annoying.

Cons:

-The MC is aware of the fact the girls want him, everyone around him knows the girls want him, he also accepts the fact he wants the girls as well... and yet there is still practically zero romantic development.

-There is zero tension during the battles due to the protagonist possessing not only overwhelmingly powerful monsters, but then those monsters are also armed with full-auto shotguns and anti-materiel rifles.

-The kingdom-building, which was built up from the beginning, ended up being a little lackluster, as everything worked out way too conveniently for the MC.

Conclusion:

This is a fun light read, but nothing really amazing. While there is practically zero tension, and the harem is being as much of a tired cliché as ever, the world-building and the characters keep it from being forgettable. Still, I would only recommend this if one really likes the kind of curb-stomp battles where the MCs side completely trample the opposition every single time, with no losses whatsoever. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
A surprisingly decent isekai reincarnation story with some RPG reverse-abstraction.

-Premise: The protagonist is a young japanese man who cannot get a job because he dropped out of high school in order to take care of his little sister after their parents died (even though the little sister is a genius billionaire). He dies and gets reincarnated in a fantasy world with a JRPG framework focused on skills and an extensive job system. Because of a booking error, he receives two boons from two different goddesses that add up to a... more>> 400x XP gain rate. On top of that, due to his quick leveling he unlocks the seemingly hidden potential in the default "jobless" starting job that allows his to stack other jobs and skills, setting him on a road to become truly OP. Like that he sets out to have a fun and fulfilling life in this new world.

-Characters: We have our protagonist, Ichinojo, a simple, straightforward male lead. He ends up as a harem protagonist, but since he is older that your average light novel protagonist, his interactions with the harem are a bit less awkward and embarrassing than usual. Otherwise he doesn't really have any other defining characteristic. The harem member this far include Haru, a kemomimi slave girl he purchases in order to save her from being purchased by an obsessed noble, Carol, a legal loli who looks young because she is half dwarf (or mini-human or whatever) and whose original job makes her a monster magnet, and Marina, a fellow reincarnator who is normally incredibly shy, but when she puts on a mask she adopts and over-the-top chuunibyo character even though she is just a Street Performer. There are a lot of other important characters, but these four appear to be our main ones, with the protagonist slowly recruiting more harem members at roughly the rate of on girl every two arcs.

-Writing: Not bad. The comedy is very hit-or-miss, and the misses can range from unintentional (eg.: japanese puns) to cringe-worthy (eg.: pretty much anything related to the camp-gay muscular tailor dude called Margaret, the BL fujoshi girl or the idiot couple and their OP donkey). That said, while the story has a rocky start, after around 30 chapters it slowly finds its sea-legs and it actually does a lot of clever subversions based on stereotypical characters and situations. The romantic (or rather, erotic) relationships between the protagonist and his harem are fairly bad, but thankfully the author never really dwells on it and the off-screen s*x is mostly used as a punchline in the comedic scenes.

-Translation: Very good when it comes to prose or general dialog, but some of the specific terminology is just head-scratching. For example, why did they translate "Cleric" as "Practicioner"? Or "Scribe" as "Magical Journalist"? These kinds of gripes aside, the rest seems good.

-Summary: If you want to read a light, straightforward isekai story with decent characters and writing, this will scratch that itch for you. There is a decent amount of foreshadowing here and there to keep the reader interested, as well as some nice power fantasy elements, but the comedy often feels too overwrought, which drags it down a little. Fortunately thought most of the worst of said comedy gets compressed into separate chapters following the idiot couple and their equally one-note companions, which you can mostly skim through without losing much. Overall I would recommend it if you like these kinds of stories, though it probably won't show you anything new. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
May 27, 2017
Status: c178
This is a dumb yet immensely enjoyable series.

The premise is as follows: Yu IlHan, a Korean university student, gets left behind when everyone else gets "raptured" into different worlds. To make up to him, Heaven (or rather, an organization of transcendent beings calling themselves Heaven's Army) dispatches an angel to help him out. As she explains, there are countless worlds in the multiverse that "level up" by going through cataclysms. During a cataclysm, native animals mutate into monsters, people get to use mana, and they also get access to the... more>> Akashic Records, manifesting in RPG style status panels, jobs and skills. Since Earth was about to go through its first cataclysm, the God of Heaven's Army transports humans onto other worlds for 10 years to learn how to use mana, but since the protagonist is left behind, he decides to learn martial arts and train in his own way until humanity returns. Unfortunately, because of a strange case of time-dilatation that no one can explain, the 10 years turn into 1000, during which the protagonist keeps compulsively learning martial arts, crafting, dismantling and everything else he can in order to keep his sanity, so when humanity finally returns, he starts out with a ridiculous stat- and skill-advantage that just gets more and more insane as the story goes on.

Now then, what is the main draw of this work?

Is it the plot? No, not really. There isn't much of a plot to speak of, to be honest. Instead the story proceeds through separate arcs, with a cold war between the transcendent beings serving as a loose thread that connects all the crazy events the protagonist gets involved in.

Is it the characters? No, not really. The protagonist is not particularly well-written (he is over 1000 years old, yet he still acts like a teenager and he is so dense that he is unable to even recognize that multiple women are pursuing him, even though he knew one of them for the aforementioned 1000 years, aware of the second being a tsundere, and the third going through the entire gamut of awkward novel romance tropes even though he uses the same tropes to "predict the future" all the time). The side-characters are also lukewarm at most. We have the lovestruck angel who is signaling harder than an air-control tower yet gets ignored all the time, the tsundere angel who usually serves as the straight-woman complaining about the protagonist's weirdness, the super-beautiful and super-talented human girl (who was supposed to be the main love-interest, but got overtaken by the popularity of the angels) and... honestly, that's about it. There are a couple of other characters, but they are mostly just simple ones with one or two traits who only exist to pad out the cast.

Is it the writing? No, not really. The comedy is very peculiar and full of random fourth-wall breaking meta-humor (such as the angels reading the protagonist's thoughts by reading the actual lines, or him predicting the future by pinpointing foreshadowings, such as that him gaining a spear that is designed against dragons meaning he would have to soon fight one), and at best I would say it is tolerable. At least I have never found myself smiling, let alone laughing. The character-interactions are also mostly subordinated to the classic tsukkomi-routine, and the entire works becomes fairly repetitive in this regard from very early on.

Is it the fight-scenes? Well, sorta, but not quite. The combat is definitely not bad, but not in a "sitting-on-the-edge-of-your-seat", "you-are-worried-for-the-survivial-of-the-characters" kind of way. In fact, most of the enjoyment in the fight scenes comes from the creative ways the protagonist combines various powers and artifacts for insane results, such as using a magical bag-of-holding, jumping high into the air with a skill, using an atlatl to fire his spear at a dragon below, transfer the weight of his bag onto the spear with a skill mid-flight, hit the dragon, then recall the spear with a different skill, transfer the weight to his boots instead, stomp on the dragon on landing, and then stab it again with the freshly retrieved spear. And with that we actually reached the actual reason I liked reading this work:

The power-up cycle. In fact, you might as well call this "Power-up-cycle, the story." Each arc works like this: Protagonist gets a lot of materials -> He uses his amazing crafting skills to make/upgrade his equipment -> He fights enemies that are way out of his league using his OP equipment -> He gets really powerful skills/combinations/jobs/titles -> He beats even stronger enemies -> He gets even better materials -> Back to step 1

Now, if you are annoyed by this kind of repetitiveness, then this is really not a story for you. However, if you enjoy watching a main character getting better at a steady (if breakneck) pace while also reading some entertaining (if shallow) character interactions and consistent (if not particularly deep) metaphysics, this will scratch that itch for you. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
July 28, 2018
Status: c160
The reviews under this novel remind me why I made a rule for myself that I should never review any kind of content until seeing a good chunk of it. The amount of people being angry about being "tricked" by the lack of revenge plot (which is freakin there, and it's one of the biggest motivation and character flaw of the MC) while not giving the rest of the work a fair shake is simply depressing. But I am getting ahead of myself.

The premise is as follows: The protagonist, along... more>> with 100 other people from Earth, die at the same time. The god responsible for the system of reincarnation, as part of a plan to develop an "inferior" planet, reincarnates them into a third world to gain experience and acclimate to the idea of magic, so that they can fulfill the job he has for them on their next reincarnation. However, due to said god being incredibly incompetent (plus some other circumstances), our protagonist not only doesn't receive a destiny and a special power like the others, he gets captured by scientists, tortured, turned into a guinea pig, and ultimately killed off by his fellow reincarnators. When he chews out the god for this, he gets offended and, while he cannot stop his next reincarnation (as he already put the gears into motion), he puts three curses onto the protagonist that were supposed to make him commit suicide out of despair so he would not affect his plans. So, he gets reincarnated as Vandalieu, a dhampir. Before his first birthday, his father is killed by other vampires, while his mother is burned at the stake by religious fanatics, but due to his enormous mana pool (granted to him by the lack of blessings) and a unique form of magic, he survives and escapes into the wilderness, where he stumbles upon a tribe of Ghouls, which sets him off on a path of revenge, conquest and kingdom-building.

Now, while the previous paragraph kinda spoiled the first nine or so chapters, I did so intentionally; for you see, the tone of the first half a dozen chapters and the rest is very, very different. While the first couple of chapters paint a story of revenge against all the cartoonishly evil people who have wronged the protagonist, it is merely a small part of the overall story more focused on kingdom building, intrigue and some slice-of-life. As for claims of the protagonist becoming a typical isekai MC, considering that he is not above cold-blooded torture, and that he is willing to pursue and try to destroy even the souls of people who wronged him, even if those people have actually turned a new leaf and became champions of kindness because of their regrets over what they have done to him, I'd say he is anything but your generic MC.

That said, the story is far from perfect, and while I do think the protagonist's slow descent into being an eldritch horror is well done, and the world with its systems, reincarnations and history is well thought out, the actual writing unfortunately still suffers from isekai-itis. There are several chapters dedicated to bringing modern technology and food into a world in medieval stasis, plus it even uses clichés of the constantly growing unwanted harem of one note characters and the introduction of mayonnaise blowing everyone's minds and making them worship the ground the MC walks on. The villains are also either incredibly incompetent to the point where they pose little threat aside of their obvious power levels, or they are so cartoonisly evil they are impossible to take seriously, the latter of which is something the writer seems to have a problem with, as he tends to make the "bad guys" so over the top it kind of becomes silly. Case in point, later we learn that the protagonist was raised by his cruel uncle... who denied him all kinds of luxuries to the point he freaked out when he bought instant ramen with any sort of special flavors, as those are "luxury". It's kinda hard to take the tragic backstory seriously after bits like that.

Also, while this might sound nitpicky, I consider it a flaw when the reader pretty much has to take notes to remember the names of the hundreds of significant and not so significant side characters, with each arc adding a dozen or so more on top. I have seen so many works do this, to the point where even the originally interesting characters lose all their depth as they get flanderized over time.

That said, while it suffers for such issues, the actual story is surprisingly engaging read, with decent, mostly absurd comedy. In some ways, it remind me of Slime Tensei, except with better power scaling and time-scale but with less memorable side-cast. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GabeZhul
GabeZhul rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
November 29, 2017
Status: v6c39 part3
Let me cut the chase: This story is about 50% comedy, 20% combat and 30% infodumping, and the main thing that decides whether you would like this story is how much you like (or at least can tolerate) the protagonist's scoundrel personality.

The premise: Our young protagonist lives the typical xianxia protagonist life. He is the son of the most powerful general of a not-so-powerful empire, but he has trash potential and thus he is unable to cultivate. He is also unwillingly betrothed to the local princess, but after some complications... more>> he runs away and joins the army, where he immediately gets on the nerves (and later woos) the most beautiful and talented young female genius of the country. Then it turns out that, due to the combination of not one, but two "fortuitous encounters", he suddenly gains insane talent and a unique and super-powerful cultivation method. If you were playing the "xianxia cliché drinking game just now", please contact a hospital right now, as I am afraid you are about to get alcohol poisoning...

The basic plot also follows Tang Jia San Shao's other works to a T. We have a young genius with a similarly young genius girl, them training during a time-skip, then they enroll in an academy where the protagonist immediately makes a name for himself with his talent and they meet an eclectic bunch of characters who I presume would become returning characters. Same old, same old.

The main difference here is the that our protagonist, Zhou Weiqing, is a scoundrel, and not in a cute way. He is a conniving, lustful bastard who can swear eternal loyalty to his "wife" and then an hour later fondle another woman's ass without missing a beat. He is also manipulative, messing with the heads of not only his enemies, but also his supposed friends and allies, sometimes for nothing more than the lolz.

And here is the crux of this series: If you find this guy amusing (and if you can overlook him raping his future girlfriend early on while he was unconscious... it makes sense in context), then you are going to enjoy this series. If you hate his guts, then nothing can salvage this series for you.

That said, it's not like there is much else to this work. The cultivation system is fairly interesting at first glance, but on second glance it is just a slightly reworked version of the one in DD; when people reach an early bottleneck in cultivation, they form magical jewels that show up around their wrists. They can be either physical (they boost a certain attribute, plus later the gems can transform into weapons or armor) or they can be elemental (they can store skills from monsters, which you might recall was how people gained skills in DD). However, aside of this, the cultivation system is fairly typical: you gather heavenly energy, you break through bottlenecks, you become stronger, you get more jewels to turn into equipment/store skills, rinse and repeat.

As for the setting, as far as I could see it follows the same mold as most other xianxia/xuanhuan works I have read, as in completely failing to account to just what kind of a huge difference these OP cultivators running around would mean to warfare and politics. So instead we have the classic "protagonist starts in weak empire -> there is a stronger empire -> there is a stronger empire -> there is a stronger empire -> repeat ad infinitum" crap we see in so many other works.

So, in conclusion, while I kinda like this series, I guess I would have liked it a lot more if I have read it earlier. As it stands now, just paining a new coat over the same tired old tropes is just not working for me anymore. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report