Report Review
12 Reviews


Fossil
Fossil rated it
Martial God Conqueror
October 5, 2016
Status: c7
TL;DR This is a great novel so far and I would recommend reading at least the first chapter. It also starts off with clichés, but who cares. It's the content that counts!

Now I'll be honest here, I shouldn't be writing a review this early, but I'm going to in case there's people who are indecisive about reading this novel until there are reviews.

First, see that rating? Ignore it, as it won't mean anything in a few days as that's how quickly a novel can change.

Next, there will be spoilers from... more>> here on, but I'm not going to spoil any plot events. Probably. I'm basically spoiling the "features" of the MC and what he acquires in strength in these few chapters. I'll also be spoiling a bit of Against the Gods, Spirit Realm, Thunder Martial, and Stellar Transformations, so turn away now if you plan on reading them already.

Spoiler

ATG: Both MCs start off with crippled profound veins. Or, in this case, martial veins,
SR: Both MCs have a past as a fool.
TM: This one is the closest that I could find in the form of having something teach you martial techniques. Yes, there WDQK and probably MW (I haven't read enough to know.) but they don't seem to fit right. Also, I'm not even sure if the MC even has this. Basically, it's allowing you to comprehend the strength and weaknesses in the martial art or spirit art.
ST: Seems to have the same cultivation rankings.

So what makes this novel different? Well, aside from starting you off thinking that you're MC is going to be black for about half a chapter, this:

ATG: Uses blood to fix profound veins. MGR: Uses a profound art to heal martial veins. (Terminology may be wrong.)
SR: MC was unconsciously being a fool? MGR: MC welcomed being a fool, and was fully conscious during the period.
TM: Similar to WDQK with the sparring partner, but he can (?) find out that there are flaws by seeing a skill. MGR: Sees weakness without relying on an amulet, fortuitous event, etc. And instead uses his profound art.
ST: No difference, they just have the same ranking system. Well, at least they do so far.

Over all, the novel seems to be fairly good so far and keeps me wanting more. Yes, I said "me" and not "you." Why? Well, maybe it's not going to be like that to you.

Anyway, that's all of the facts that I can give right now, so I'll just say what I hope to not see in this novel:
-s*xual cultivation technique (I see the ecchi and mature tag, and I don't care if there is s*x, I just don't want the novel to only be about that if it does involve it.)
-Rape (Again, I won't mind the s*x, just make sure that it's consensual!)
-ATG Harem Syndrome (No, I don't hate harems. I just don't want to go fifty or more chapters while only hearing about one female lead!)

I probably won't edit this for newer chapter releases unless my view of the novel has changed from good to bad. My reasoning is so that new readers can have the barest of information needed to want to read the novel. So, if this stays here, then I still like it.

And that's all that I have to say!

[collapse]
<<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
August 10, 2016
Status: c9
The main character's presence is so thin that he wasn't on the list of people to temporarily leave the planet. This list was made by god. So, due to the mistake, he's left on Earth.

If that doesn't make you interested, then just think about what you can accomplish while everyone's gone. That's what the MC did, and it definitely paid off.

Now read the novel. You will not regret it, and even if you do... erm, at least you didn't suffer as much as the MC did?
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
Knights & Magic
September 14, 2016
Status: v2c14
This is a great novel! It's main emphasis is on mechs, building mechs, fighting with mechs, etc.

Well, no, but it's close enough.

My one complaint: You see that cover image? That's supposed to be a heroine, right? She looks quite feminine as well.... Wait, let me correct myself. He looks quite feminine as well.

Yes, the MC is a trap. No, I don't like it. Do I care? Yes. Will I still read the story? Of course! It'll still bug me, though.

Now read the story already!
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
In terms of comedy, this novel is one of the best. It also doesn't focus too much on the MC, instead choosing to drift around so that you have a better understanding of the story.... Granted, I still don't know what the over all plot is. If anything, this a happy slice of life comedy with sporadic action and adventure. There's technically no harem, and the MC is loyal to his wife.

I highly recommend this novel.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
The Bathroom Goddess
August 20, 2016
Status: Completed
A short comedy that was totally worth staying up until three in the morning to binge read. I regret nothing, especially those supposedly wasted fours hours of reading. That being said, I wish that the bonus chapters were all translated already, but it gives me something to look forward to.

As for what to expect, it's basically about a naked woman who spontaneously pops up in another world via bathroom window and solves all of your problems... or causes them, but that's fine too.

Now go and read it!
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
July 24, 2016
Status: c96
Basically you start off with a weak MC that's very kind and does whatever he can to be useful.

Then stuff happens, and Hajime, the main character, changes drastically. The rest of the story is mostly action, adventure, comedy, and harem. However, the part that sets it above other novels, in my opinion, is that it also depicts the protagonist slowly regaining what he's lost.

Spoiler

Namely his emotions and humanity.

[collapse]

Meanwhile you can see how he has changed while also stayed the same.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil
Half-Dragon Slave Life
September 1, 2016
Status: c3
OK, currently I'm at chapter three, but I'm planning to read until chapter seven today.

Anyway, I will just give a brief overview of the story.

The main character is basically an odd mixture, in terms of personality, of Shiba Tatsuya and Naguma Hajime. Reasons would be that she doesn't seem to show much emotion, enjoys messing with people, and is ruthless towards her enemies.

... more>> She was also purchased as a bodyguard for the hero (?) (male equivalent of heroine) during his journey to a magic school.

There's more, but that's probably spoiling more than I already did, so I'll leave it here. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei
August 17, 2016
Status: v16
I'm currently rereading the series as an unneeded refresher now that volume seventeen is out.

That being said, this novel sticks out to me and remains my favorite because it's a merging of science and magic, and a beautiful one at that. It's not your "traditional" magic with elements... well, if you include ... more>>
Spoiler

ancient magic

[collapse]
then it does have that.

However, most magic is not categorized by what we deem "normal." Because of that, the author goes into extensive detail that is needed to understand the theory, but that only makes the novel even more worth it. Heck, it goes into so, inch detail that first arc had to be split into two volumes!

Now, in terms of character development, plot, and pacing, this novel would get a five out of five. Why? That's fairly simple.

Character development: All characters that you see serve a purpose, and once they lose their relevance, they tend to fade away, but not all of them. You also slowly learn more about each character as you go on, including the side characters and ones that are introduced later.

Plot: The story is pretty much told from a third person's point of view objectively observing the situation, as in scientifically observing an experiment. This fits the theme of the novel so much, and is not lost in the translations at all.

Pacing: The novel concludes various arcs, but it still leaves a questions remained unanswered that are generally answered in the next volume, along with adding even more. What does this have to do with pacing? Time visibly moves in the novel, and you can see objectives accomplished. However, events don't happen every single day, so Tatsuya and Miyuki are generally just average students with a normal lifestyle.

Conclusion: If you still haven't made a decision, watch the anime a bit, and if you decide you like it IMMEDIATELY switch to the novel. The reason being that while the anime is praiseworthy, you don't get that POV that makes the novel so good. You also end up missing the much needed explanations and the occasional humor. Not to mention it skips over a whole novel.... Then once you've finished the Yokohama Disturbance arc, go back and watch the anime to see everything from that viewpoint yourself. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
Zhan Long
August 2, 2016
Status: c60
As of now, the novel is pretty much like LMS without the reason for playing the game and the special class.

... That seems to accurately represent the current place I'm at. I'll edit this with more detail later, namely once I've at least gotten to chapter 150 or so.

Though going off of the ratings, the story seems to be one that won't be one of your favorites but it's not one that you'll hate. Of course there will be some people who love this novel more than others, and others... more>> who hate it.

I'd just say read up until about where I'm at as the novel seems like it's about to get more interesting, but at the very least wait until chapter ten or fifteen. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
I'd have to say that the images that the TL puts in makes the novel that much better, but sadly they're not as frequent as you progress....

Even so, this is a great novel in terms of comedy, but not much else.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Do you like overpowered protagonists?
Do you like lolis?
Do you like harems?
Do you like slice of life?
Do you like food?
Do you like cute moments?

If your answer is a yes to most of these questions, then you'll enjoy this novel. Though as a warning, though you do get action, it is very rare. This novel could probably be best described as the travels of Satou and his harem as they discover the wonders of food. Though as a slice of life novel, it is an amazing read,... more>> and the fights are quite well done as well. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fossil
Fossil rated it
Coder Lee Yongho
June 20, 2016
Status: c35
You don't need to know how to code, or enjoy coding, do like this novel. It has a simple plot: the MC can debug codes thanks to a debug window. He goes to a company, and he tries to use his power while trying to seem normal and not get in trouble.

There is no distracting romance, slice of life, or anything like that. It's pure problem solving action!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report