Report Review
Report Reason:
41 Reviews


Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
November 27, 2016
Status: c18
This is just poorly conceived.

Characters: Male characters hate the protagonist, often without even meeting him. Female characters like him for no reason, except when they hate him for no reason. Main character is a high school japanese boy who's apparently perfect, but he gets reincarnated into a commoner child and he's still perfect.

Setting: The world is messed up. It's a bit hard to explain, but the situation really seems custom-made to be hard on the protagonist. I mean, it almost works, but the author forces the situation too far for... more>> me to take it seriously
Spoiler

like after the duke pins the blame on the commoner, it's revealed that he made a beastgirl daughter with a slave, and he enslaved the daughter, and all for the sole purpose of using her as an assassin. And then he uses this assassin to track down and kill a commoner whose death doesn't make a difference to the duke...

[collapse]

Story: For eighteen chapters, it's about a boy being bullied, framed, attacked, and hated wherever he goes, no matter what he does, no matter how he looks, no matter how he acts. At the same time, he looks down on everyone and is apparently stronger than elite soldiers with his background of... being a high-schooler who did martial arts. And the body of a child who never trained martial arts.

Conclusion: If the foundation is rotten, you can't expect what's built on it to stand very well. Even if someone says "but it gets better" or "chapter 100 is amazing!!!"... it would have to undo all the worldbuilding and character development so far, and at that point it should just be tossed into the garbage and rewritten. <<less
43 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Legend
March 12, 2017
Status: c85
For the most part this novel is white bread. What keeps it from being a 3 or even 4 is it just doesn't have any jam or butter or anything at all to go with it, so it's hard to enjoy and kind of feels like a chore to read after a while.

Interactions? There are 5 characters. The Teacher (explains formally and in great detail), the Student (asks questions formally and interjects during explanations with further formal questions), the Delinquent (there just to be beaten up), the Cheerleader (there to... more>> squeal over how great someone is), and the Gryphon (guru~). Only one character is consistent throughout the series (guess which one). The speech is so stilted and formal that you don't get any real feeling of personality.

Combat? It's okay, nothing special. Reiji's too OP for the combat to have any suspense, but not OP enough to get any guilty pleasure out of him steamrolling everyone. He never lets loose the way the protagonists of Death March and Moon-led Journey do, so there's no real feeling of being OP, just bullying weaklings.

Setting? Generic. Plot? None. Harem?! Off to the side, ladies, Reiji's awkward enough as it is. I assume he would answer "Will you go out with me?" with a three-page MLA format essay on the nature of relationships. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Perfect Sex
September 10, 2016
Status: --
So I read some of this on nocturne in the past. It's basically a series of one-night-stands that a traveling salesman enjoys with the help of his magic wristwatch. There's no real story, just scenarios that lead to s*x, so read this if you enjoy porn involving aphrodisiacs and performance-enhancing drugs and s*x with strangers.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Glory to Earth Magic
December 5, 2016
Status: c19
I'm actually getting kind of tired of all these "everyone looks down on one of the elements" novels. Not that it's a specific gripe about this story, but all the elements have specific strengths and weaknesses, and moreover they can strengthen or weaken each other. This is common to all "real-life" elemental systems, even if sometimes they disagree about how the specific elements work.

The only place this kind of "prejudice" could happen is in a poorly balanced video game. And that's only because you can't use elemental magic for anything... more>> but combat. Just for crafting and building purposes, earth magic (for example) should be essential, and every major castle should have a powerful earth mage as part of the defense force. Then you have all of the landshaping that can be done. Is it not flashy to be able to raise a mountain if you want?

But I felt bad judging the story based on my prejudices, so I read up to the latest chapter. Standard reincarnation into a fantasy world stuff. No special cheat, but the character has everything he needs handed to him (so far). As expected, the prejudice against earth magic has no real basis. There's even a city of smiths who honor the earth goddess, but the book doesn't go into much detail about that. Also, there's no "mission" or anything, and as expected of a japanese webnovel, after the "childhood" arc introducing the world, the story goes right on to a magic high-school with strangely japanese-style uniforms.

tl;dr it's nothing special and way too proud of itself for what it is, but it's not too offensive if what I griped about at the beginning doesn't bother you. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Inma no Hado
September 4, 2016
Status: --
So I've read this on syosetsu (nocturne, of course) up to close to the latest chapter. How do I put it... there's a story there, but don't expect it to move fast. In fact, you might forget that a character is significant to the plot because she gets introduced, there are about a dozen new girls the protagonist preys upon, and then oh yeah, he also preys on the major girl in the same way. The story itself is actually decent for what it's worth - an excuse for him... more>> to go and enjoy all the R18 content with all kinds of women from mature (~30s-40s) down to lolis (iirc early middle school). In fact, the way the story unfolds is actually pretty interesting (for a porn novel!).

So I rate 2 stars not for the story, but for how messy the s*x is written. Seriously, each girl says exactly the same things in the same ways during their scenes, so despite the variety of settings and "heroines" it gets repetitive as soon as he brings out his disciplinary rod. The frequent shifts in POV without warning also give a lot of difficulty to the reader. There's only one thing that should be hard while reading a s*x scene, and it shouldn't be figuring out who's thinking what. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Praise the Orc!
June 30, 2017
Status: c30
I wanted to like this. The concept is nice - the main character taking the side of the NPCs vs other players - but there are too many suspicious things about the game itself that I wonder why the hell the publishers actually released it for sale when they can't even check game logs (for example). Main character prefers being a loner despite women throwing themselves at him (and guys also wanting to be friends!), which is annoying, and the recurring theme of "people are awful" is something I already... more>> know. I don't need to read a novel about it.

Obviously, my problems with it are subjective. The writing and translation are decent so give it a shot if you read my complaints and thought "that doesn't sound so bad". <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
If you want a MMO story, don't read this. If you want cute girls doing cute things... eh, you might be able to read it.

The heaviest focus is on the game mechanics, but as a reader you'll find one mechanic more ridiculous than the next. Just from the start, you have to wonder what kind of game not only allows a player to put ALL her points into one stat with 0 points in all the rest, but also she gets free stat points on top of that stat so... more>> she can use her starting equipment. What follows is one ridiculous mechanic explanation after another, with very little rhyme or reason.

If you're hoping for Kaede and her friend to play together, as of chapter 20 they've mostly just stood around talking to each other about the ridiculous mechanics, then split up to do stuff. They're both tolerably cute, but the game mechanics and weird, obviously OP items just get in the way. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Awakening
October 18, 2016
Status: c200
Typical power-trip reincarnation story: an all-powerful person takes over for a weak teenager and resolves all his problems with a few handwaves, leaving everyone in awe.

Story: The part introducing the side characters is pretty good, but after that there's just a series of abrupt transitions reminiscent of a whack-a-mole game: the main character just spends time with his toy - I mean, wife - and then some girl says "please help me" and he resolves her problems in less time than it usually takes for the author to describe... more>> her appearance.

Characters: The main character is a mess: the only constant is his condescension toward literally everyone else in the story. Every other aspect is whatever the author thinks is convenient at the moment. This includes everything related to his reincarnation as well as his personality. Other characters are just cardboard cutouts: The men are inept, the villains are cartoonishly evil (also men, therefore incompetent), the women are all beauties who fall in love with the protagonist, etc. Main character being loyal to his love interest in spite of beauties throwing themselves at him every arc would be more touching if his reason wasn't "they're all kids" and if he didn't treat his wife as a toy he could leave at home to play with whenever he got bored.

Setting: This is the part that's most messy. Way too many things are going on in this setting. You have werewolves, espers, intelligence organizations using drugs to control people, also random serial killers... but because of the whack-a-mole plot, none of these things have a real impact on the story past the arc involving them. You can have aliens or gods descend to Earth and as soon as a damsel in distress appears, the protagonist will whack them and everything will be instantly resolved.

In short, this is fine if all you want is an all-powerful main character, but if you care about anything else in a story you should probably skip it. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Infinite Competitive Dungeon Society
November 2, 2017
Status: --
I liked this early on. I could even say I loved it while the protagonist was an orc. It's when the main character interacted with... well... anyone, that my opinion of the story started dropping. The absolute arrogance of this guy, except it turns to indecisive wussiness in front of his harem. The harem members who seem like they might be interesting until they get added to the harem, at which point their traits turn into just "I love the main character and will do whatever he wants!" The people... more>> who aren't harem or family members... barely show up. I think most of them just exist to help push harem members to the main character, actually.

If it was just this much, I'd still read it because the system was fairly interesting, but then the 12yo blind girl in a wheelchair shows up. The way the main character treats her is inexcusable and inexplicable to me, and the way the author treats her character the second time she shows up made me drop the series entirely.

Spoiler

a 12 year old girl from a wealthy family is let out of the house wearing a see-through dress (she's blind and in a wheelchair, so you can't just say "well, it's her choice" no, she also has bodyguards following her so they all accompany this little girl in a wheelchair wearing this see-through dress and it's just creepy) and then she's left alone in a room with an adult man on top of that.

[collapse]

There was no reason to treat her like that, author. It was 100% unnecessary and just made everything creepy. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Skyfire Avenue
September 29, 2016
Status: c91
I'll start with the conclusion: Read it if you like fancy special effects and want to read about uncommon gourmet feasts. Don't read it if constant minor inconsistencies and pseudoscience bother you.

Good: This book has cool action, fun character interaction, and lots of quality, detailed descriptions of various types of food and wine. The main character and supporting cast are likeable.

Bad: The unrealism extends beyond superpowers and sci-fi elements: The beautiful women all are attracted to the main character (well, okay, he's just that manly and cool; maybe I'd be... more>> attracted too), but the main character is... extremely unmanly when it comes to women. For a non-virgin guy to get jumpy at the slightest s*xual tension with a woman he's been close to for years is strange to a point where it can't be considered "faithfulness to his dead wife", especially when it happens repeatedly. If it was just that, you could say he was afraid bad things would happen to them if he got close to them, but he keeps emphasizing that he'll keep them close to protect them. So it gets weirder and weirder as the story progresses and you meet new "female acquaintances" of his.

... And for me, it just bothers me that someone with the title and abilities of "Zeus" is being faithful to his wife "Hera". There are enough inconsistencies in the mythological references (abilities and titles changing from one section to another, various relationships like the ones between angels being incorrect) that it hurts my enjoyment. And while I liked the meals, anyone who doesn't care about fine wine or food might find that part to be overly detailed. Oh, and the science part is really... tenuous. For the amount of explaining, it's very unrealistic. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Single Player Only
January 4, 2017
Status: c25
Interesting idea, not-so-interesting characters. I guess maybe that's keeping with the theme of old-school single-player games that are just about grinding to reach the top, but those were always really boring to watch other people play, especially when the other person has the personality of a doorknob.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Dimensional Sovereign
December 4, 2016
Status: c25
Well, the story concept is fairly unique compared to other novels you'd be able to find here. But does that make it good? Not really. The character interactions are terrible and the plot doesn't make any sense if you stop to think about it. The game mechanics are iffy, too, but if you turn your brain off and skip to the fights, those are pretty good.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
World of Cultivation
December 1, 2016
Status: c445
I normally dislike slow-starting stories, and I don't like any of the author's other works. This one, though. This one's amazing.

The main character loves money, but it isn't the only thing he cares about. He's cunning, but he's not infallible. He's courageous, but not reckless. He has a a cheat, but doesn't rely on it, and he has a "old teacher that follows him around but no one else can see" but the 'teacher' is more of a... well, you'll see. In short, World of Cultivation avoids most of the... more>> pitfalls of xianxia stories.

It has character development, world-building, action, schemes, military confrontations, and some slice-of-life. There's something to like for pretty much anyone, so give it a try. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
There's nothing exceptional about this story either way. It's kind of a mediocre story but inoffensive enough if you like isekai novels and game mechanics in your fantasy. It hits all the main tropes without having the main character be too pathetic or edgy, compared to other japanese novels.

Where it lost me was one point where the main character should have investigated something, and would have based on his personality and actions so far, but the author very obviously made him not investigate it while hitting the reader over the... more>> head with 'foreshadowing'. Don't make your character OP and intelligent and proactive, and then make him act out of character just for dramatic tension. There are better ways to achieve the same effects. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
November 13, 2017
Status: c1540
Spoiler

My conclusion: If you like xianxia, read this novel. If you don't like xianxia, read this novel.

I want to start by appreciating the main character of this story. He's an honest-to-goodness good person and he treats other people like they're also good. That's such a rarity for xianxia that this novel is worth reading for that alone.

What else sets this novel apart? A cast of memorable characters, for one. Cultivators in this world have obsessions, confidence, and shamelessness (because you don't say "I'm gonna be immortal!" if you don't have those things). So everyone Song Shuhang meets is interesting. Song Shuhang himself, aside from being a Nice Guy, has the great habit of speaking/acting before thinking no matter who or what he's dealing with... With actual consequences.

Another thing the novel does well is humor. I highly recommend reading other xianxia before reading this because a lot of the jokes are based on the difference between what you'd expect from xianxia and what actually happens. It's not totally necessary because the author's pretty good at setting up jokes though.

The story itself is just the main character's path to immortality, like any xianxia. However, it's not driven by revenge and arrogant young masters and face slapping and saving beauties. If anything I'd say it's driven by adventure and exploring the mysteries of heaven. The pacing is excellent, too. It seems really fast, mainly because one thing happens right after another, but it's not skipping anything. The explanations don't feel overdone. The world is interesting enough that both Shuhang and I feel like exploring it more.

Finally, the harem. Just kidding, there's no harem. Shuhang's a bit too busy to think about that sort of thing and the women who are interested in him... are also busy because they're not the kind of characters who stop having their own lives after they fall in love. Cultivators live a long time so there's no need for them to rush into a relationship with someone they've only known for a few months, after all. It's not completely devoid of romance, and at least one fairy maiden will go on the attack (again, something extremely rare in xianxia).

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
The Six Immortals
November 10, 2016
Status: --
The main character is trash. Not his cultivation or combat skills, but his personality. He's overly clingy, he'll randomly declare someone he meets best friends instantly, or not, with no actual reasons given either way... He's not only willing to take advantage of people in trouble, he's also willing to go out of his way to rob and kill strangers for no reason other than they're rivals of some guy he just met. In any other story, he'd be the character who tries to kill the protagonist for accidentally touching... more>> hands with the sect's most beautiful woman, or because the protagonist didn't worship the ground his friend steps on. There don't really seem to be any redeeming qualities.

As for the other characters, well, they also tend to pick their friends and enemies at random too. And for the story, it's very much the same way, the protagonist decides to do something and does it. Then he decides to do something else and does that, very abruptly. It doesn't feel like there's any long-term goal or motivation; the bit about bullying was resolved almost instantly, and from there he just acted like a puppet. Go here, do this, go there, do that. And there's not enough world-building early on to justify giving it more time. The pace of the story is fast enough, but it's just too disjointed to be a good story.

The translation is decent enough, so there's no reason not to read it if you're bored and don't have anything else on your reading list, but don't expect to especially enjoy it either. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
The Simple Life of Killing Demons
October 26, 2016
Status: v2c6
I wanted to like this novel. I really did. The concept of a world under attack by demons, the main character seemed strong and confident, the female character he brought home was a cute elemental, I would have been ready to give it a 5/5 if it continued like that.

Unfortunately, MC couldn't decide if he was cool, a pervert, or just retarded - his reaction to a direct confession from the girl he likes is "Nah, there's no way she likes me". And that's his reaction to every female character,... more>> since they all fall in love with him. Even then, he's lecherous, but unable to do anything. It's like the author wanted to write porn but was a virgin so he couldn't figure out what would happen.

This would be easily forgivable if the main focus of the story was on the killing demons, but no, the main focus is on the main character meeting new women to add to his harem while he stares at their boobs and refuses to notice that they're in love with him.

So I guess if you like the cliche parts of japanese harem slice-of-life novels, this is for you. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Spirit Vessel
December 10, 2016
Status: c84
Entirely too random. Pretty much everything that happens after the birthday party scene was just... Eh.

Every character overreacts to everything in every way possible. The main character keeps saying he's ruthless and won't go easy on women, but he constantly leaves people with deep grudges against him alive, and he constantly goes easy on women (because they're women, and no other reason). In fact, every interaction the main character has with women will likely leave you wanting to stab something.

The plot is extremely inconsistent, as well. It moves fast,... more>> but at the cost of being extremely luck-driven. While most xianxia characters can't take a stroll down the street without tripping over priceless treasures, stunning beauties, or some kind of cartoonish villain... This story is just one long string of random events happening one after another. MC just HAPPENS to be in the right place at the right time, or the wrong place at the right time, time and again. While I criticize a lot of novels for being too slow, this one could stand to slow down and build up the characters a little along the way.

So far, it feels like the author is trying to introduce all the plot threads one by one, then send them off somewhere to wait their turn to be developed. It's the same for characters. Unfortunately, there's no real guarantee after 83 chapters that any of the plot threads or character will ever show up again, and since the bad stuff that happens to MC is mostly directly or indirectly his fault, it's hard to feel anything for him, except maybe disgust. Maybe it gets good "eventually", but it's up to you if you want to wait 150 chapters or so for that to happen. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Stranger’s Handbook
October 30, 2016
Status: c71
I don't often give five stars in a review, but this one deserves it.

Good characters, decent setting, cute romance, amusing humor. The treatment toward the summoned people seems to bother some people, but consider that:
... more>>
Spoiler

The ones who were killed were attempting rape at the time. The killers were honorable knights who acted after hearing an old woman scream and seeing two young men approaching a bunch of women with bad intentions. It serves as a notice to the reader that life isn't valued in the setting, and the people they killed weren't the target of the summons, after all.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
I know there are people who wait for reviews before reading, so here goes.

The chapters are short. Skill names are weird. There's not much of interesting description but also not much filler. I can't really rate this because I feel like it's still introducing the world as of chapter 10, but I think it will be better for people who have really good imagination and can come up with mental images of what's going on from the bare description. I feel bad for the translator but I'd recommend waiting until... more>> a lot are translated because it doesn't feel like much happens each chapter.

So far it's not bad, not great, not really a time waster, but there's no reason not to read it if you like fantasy. That kind of feeling. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3