Report Review
65 Reviews


Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
November 27, 2016
Status: c18
This is just poorly conceived.

Characters: Male characters hate the protagonist, often without even meeting him. Female characters like him for no reason, except when they hate him for no reason. Main character is a high school japanese boy who's apparently perfect, but he gets reincarnated into a commoner child and he's still perfect.

Setting: The world is messed up. It's a bit hard to explain, but the situation really seems custom-made to be hard on the protagonist. I mean, it almost works, but the author forces the situation too far for... more>> me to take it seriously
Spoiler

like after the duke pins the blame on the commoner, it's revealed that he made a beastgirl daughter with a slave, and he enslaved the daughter, and all for the sole purpose of using her as an assassin. And then he uses this assassin to track down and kill a commoner whose death doesn't make a difference to the duke...

[collapse]

Story: For eighteen chapters, it's about a boy being bullied, framed, attacked, and hated wherever he goes, no matter what he does, no matter how he looks, no matter how he acts. At the same time, he looks down on everyone and is apparently stronger than elite soldiers with his background of... being a high-schooler who did martial arts. And the body of a child who never trained martial arts.

Conclusion: If the foundation is rotten, you can't expect what's built on it to stand very well. Even if someone says "but it gets better" or "chapter 100 is amazing!!!"... it would have to undo all the worldbuilding and character development so far, and at that point it should just be tossed into the garbage and rewritten. <<less
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Legend
March 12, 2017
Status: c85
For the most part this novel is white bread. What keeps it from being a 3 or even 4 is it just doesn't have any jam or butter or anything at all to go with it, so it's hard to enjoy and kind of feels like a chore to read after a while.

Interactions? There are 5 characters. The Teacher (explains formally and in great detail), the Student (asks questions formally and interjects during explanations with further formal questions), the Delinquent (there just to be beaten up), the Cheerleader (there to... more>> squeal over how great someone is), and the Gryphon (guru~). Only one character is consistent throughout the series (guess which one). The speech is so stilted and formal that you don't get any real feeling of personality.

Combat? It's okay, nothing special. Reiji's too OP for the combat to have any suspense, but not OP enough to get any guilty pleasure out of him steamrolling everyone. He never lets loose the way the protagonists of Death March and Moon-led Journey do, so there's no real feeling of being OP, just bullying weaklings.

Setting? Generic. Plot? None. Harem?! Off to the side, ladies, Reiji's awkward enough as it is. I assume he would answer "Will you go out with me?" with a three-page MLA format essay on the nature of relationships. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
HP9999999999
December 31, 2017
Status: c5
OP stats, useless personality. The usual. Main character has three beauties who say they've lived for the moment they could give him their virginity. He thinks "There's no way I can do anything to them!"

Okay, so you look at the start and think "This could be fun. He wants to be a hero, but instead became the last boss." But there's nothing boss-like about this character at all. If he had any self-assertion whatsoever he could just go off and be a superhero and protect people. If he had a... more>> sense of responsibility he could work towards reconciling humans and demons. If he had any desires whatsoever, he could have them fulfilled. But he has nothing but his sense of shame and lots of power.

This is a warning for people like me who can't stand hetare (useless personality) protagonists. No, it was fine up to the end of chapter 4, and if there aren't a lot of similar situations I guess it would be fine overall, but *glances at the cover art* yeah, there'll be a ton of similar situations. Dropped without regret. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Perfect Sex
September 10, 2016
Status: --
So I read some of this on nocturne in the past. It's basically a series of one-night-stands that a traveling salesman enjoys with the help of his magic wristwatch. There's no real story, just scenarios that lead to s*x, so read this if you enjoy porn involving aphrodisiacs and performance-enhancing drugs and s*x with strangers.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Inma no Hado
September 4, 2016
Status: --
So I've read this on syosetsu (nocturne, of course) up to close to the latest chapter. How do I put it... there's a story there, but don't expect it to move fast. In fact, you might forget that a character is significant to the plot because she gets introduced, there are about a dozen new girls the protagonist preys upon, and then oh yeah, he also preys on the major girl in the same way. The story itself is actually decent for what it's worth - an excuse for him... more>> to go and enjoy all the R18 content with all kinds of women from mature (~30s-40s) down to lolis (iirc early middle school). In fact, the way the story unfolds is actually pretty interesting (for a porn novel!).

So I rate 2 stars not for the story, but for how messy the s*x is written. Seriously, each girl says exactly the same things in the same ways during their scenes, so despite the variety of settings and "heroines" it gets repetitive as soon as he brings out his disciplinary rod. The frequent shifts in POV without warning also give a lot of difficulty to the reader. There's only one thing that should be hard while reading a s*x scene, and it shouldn't be figuring out who's thinking what. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Glory to Earth Magic
December 5, 2016
Status: c19
I'm actually getting kind of tired of all these "everyone looks down on one of the elements" novels. Not that it's a specific gripe about this story, but all the elements have specific strengths and weaknesses, and moreover they can strengthen or weaken each other. This is common to all "real-life" elemental systems, even if sometimes they disagree about how the specific elements work.

The only place this kind of "prejudice" could happen is in a poorly balanced video game. And that's only because you can't use elemental magic for anything... more>> but combat. Just for crafting and building purposes, earth magic (for example) should be essential, and every major castle should have a powerful earth mage as part of the defense force. Then you have all of the landshaping that can be done. Is it not flashy to be able to raise a mountain if you want?

But I felt bad judging the story based on my prejudices, so I read up to the latest chapter. Standard reincarnation into a fantasy world stuff. No special cheat, but the character has everything he needs handed to him (so far). As expected, the prejudice against earth magic has no real basis. There's even a city of smiths who honor the earth goddess, but the book doesn't go into much detail about that. Also, there's no "mission" or anything, and as expected of a japanese webnovel, after the "childhood" arc introducing the world, the story goes right on to a magic high-school with strangely japanese-style uniforms.

tl;dr it's nothing special and way too proud of itself for what it is, but it's not too offensive if what I griped about at the beginning doesn't bother you. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
If you want a MMO story, don't read this. If you want cute girls doing cute things... eh, you might be able to read it.

The heaviest focus is on the game mechanics, but as a reader you'll find one mechanic more ridiculous than the next. Just from the start, you have to wonder what kind of game not only allows a player to put ALL her points into one stat with 0 points in all the rest, but also she gets free stat points on top of that stat so... more>> she can use her starting equipment. What follows is one ridiculous mechanic explanation after another, with very little rhyme or reason.

If you're hoping for Kaede and her friend to play together, as of chapter 20 they've mostly just stood around talking to each other about the ridiculous mechanics, then split up to do stuff. They're both tolerably cute, but the game mechanics and weird, obviously OP items just get in the way. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Kaettekite mo Fantasy!?
January 15, 2018
Status: --
Are the people who gave this five stars reading the same novel as me?

They call the protagonist realistic, but I don't consider it realistic to think "I don't want to stand out" and then not pay attention to other people at all? The protagonist has a ridiculous amount of arrogance you wouldn't expect from someone who's been through several tragedies (as suggested by the prologue). It's also really weird to think "I'm here to investigate" and not show any interest in anything beyond randomly going "whoa" at technology or hairstyles.

It... more>> comes off as a chuunibyou trying to be Tatsuya from The Irregular At Magic High School without the smarts, the looks, the family connections, the business connections, the military connections, a reason for acting apathetic, or the little sister. Oh, and he's probably not as talented as Tatsuya either; I haven't read to any fights yet because after the prologue there's at least 10 chapters of "I'm trying to fit in by acting literally the opposite way everyone else reacts to everything and not noticing because I only ever look at people's hair, and I'm so bored even though everything here is new and amazing to me."

The only reason I gave 2 stars is that the opening was decent and there's an expectation they'll return to that, but... Well, the author kinda glazed over the adventure and tragedy and dived headfirst into "high school is so boring, sigh..." so it's hard to say if it's worthwhile trudging through that at all. Maybe there'll just be another school arc. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums
Ee, Teni Shippai? Seikou?
December 19, 2017
Status: --
This story has a lot of fun ideas with (IMO) somewhat subpar execution - I think it could be potentially amazing if polished (I think there's a LN out now?) but the WN is more of a rough gem. It's a practical but good-natured protagonist, and very easy women in the harem.

(spoilers don't appear to be working so I removed them)

The translator would benefit from spending time at the Translator's Corner and getting an editor.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
November 13, 2017
Status: c1540
Spoiler

My conclusion: If you like xianxia, read this novel. If you don't like xianxia, read this novel.

I want to start by appreciating the main character of this story. He's an honest-to-goodness good person and he treats other people like they're also good. That's such a rarity for xianxia that this novel is worth reading for that alone.

What else sets this novel apart? A cast of memorable characters, for one. Cultivators in this world have obsessions, confidence, and shamelessness (because you don't say "I'm gonna be immortal!" if you don't have those things). So everyone Song Shuhang meets is interesting. Song Shuhang himself, aside from being a Nice Guy, has the great habit of speaking/acting before thinking no matter who or what he's dealing with... With actual consequences.

Another thing the novel does well is humor. I highly recommend reading other xianxia before reading this because a lot of the jokes are based on the difference between what you'd expect from xianxia and what actually happens. It's not totally necessary because the author's pretty good at setting up jokes though.

The story itself is just the main character's path to immortality, like any xianxia. However, it's not driven by revenge and arrogant young masters and face slapping and saving beauties. If anything I'd say it's driven by adventure and exploring the mysteries of heaven. The pacing is excellent, too. It seems really fast, mainly because one thing happens right after another, but it's not skipping anything. The explanations don't feel overdone. The world is interesting enough that both Shuhang and I feel like exploring it more.

Finally, the harem. Just kidding, there's no harem. Shuhang's a bit too busy to think about that sort of thing and the women who are interested in him... are also busy because they're not the kind of characters who stop having their own lives after they fall in love. Cultivators live a long time so there's no need for them to rush into a relationship with someone they've only known for a few months, after all. It's not completely devoid of romance, and at least one fairy maiden will go on the attack (again, something extremely rare in xianxia).

[collapse]
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Praise the Orc!
June 30, 2017
Status: c30
I wanted to like this. The concept is nice - the main character taking the side of the NPCs vs other players - but there are too many suspicious things about the game itself that I wonder why the hell the publishers actually released it for sale when they can't even check game logs (for example). Main character prefers being a loner despite women throwing themselves at him (and guys also wanting to be friends!), which is annoying, and the recurring theme of "people are awful" is something I already... more>> know. I don't need to read a novel about it.

Obviously, my problems with it are subjective. The writing and translation are decent so give it a shot if you read my complaints and thought "that doesn't sound so bad". <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
There's nothing exceptional about this story either way. It's kind of a mediocre story but inoffensive enough if you like isekai novels and game mechanics in your fantasy. It hits all the main tropes without having the main character be too pathetic or edgy, compared to other japanese novels.

Where it lost me was one point where the main character should have investigated something, and would have based on his personality and actions so far, but the author very obviously made him not investigate it while hitting the reader over the... more>> head with 'foreshadowing'. Don't make your character OP and intelligent and proactive, and then make him act out of character just for dramatic tension. There are better ways to achieve the same effects. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Infinite Competitive Dungeon Society
November 2, 2017
Status: --
I liked this early on. I could even say I loved it while the protagonist was an orc. It's when the main character interacted with... well... anyone, that my opinion of the story started dropping. The absolute arrogance of this guy, except it turns to indecisive wussiness in front of his harem. The harem members who seem like they might be interesting until they get added to the harem, at which point their traits turn into just "I love the main character and will do whatever he wants!" The people... more>> who aren't harem or family members... barely show up. I think most of them just exist to help push harem members to the main character, actually.

If it was just this much, I'd still read it because the system was fairly interesting, but then the 12yo blind girl in a wheelchair shows up. The way the main character treats her is inexcusable and inexplicable to me, and the way the author treats her character the second time she shows up made me drop the series entirely.

Spoiler

a 12 year old girl from a wealthy family is let out of the house wearing a see-through dress (she's blind and in a wheelchair, so you can't just say "well, it's her choice" no, she also has bodyguards following her so they all accompany this little girl in a wheelchair wearing this see-through dress and it's just creepy) and then she's left alone in a room with an adult man on top of that.

[collapse]

There was no reason to treat her like that, author. It was 100% unnecessary and just made everything creepy. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Awakening
October 18, 2016
Status: c200
Typical power-trip reincarnation story: an all-powerful person takes over for a weak teenager and resolves all his problems with a few handwaves, leaving everyone in awe.

Story: The part introducing the side characters is pretty good, but after that there's just a series of abrupt transitions reminiscent of a whack-a-mole game: the main character just spends time with his toy - I mean, wife - and then some girl says "please help me" and he resolves her problems in less time than it usually takes for the author to describe... more>> her appearance.

Characters: The main character is a mess: the only constant is his condescension toward literally everyone else in the story. Every other aspect is whatever the author thinks is convenient at the moment. This includes everything related to his reincarnation as well as his personality. Other characters are just cardboard cutouts: The men are inept, the villains are cartoonishly evil (also men, therefore incompetent), the women are all beauties who fall in love with the protagonist, etc. Main character being loyal to his love interest in spite of beauties throwing themselves at him every arc would be more touching if his reason wasn't "they're all kids" and if he didn't treat his wife as a toy he could leave at home to play with whenever he got bored.

Setting: This is the part that's most messy. Way too many things are going on in this setting. You have werewolves, espers, intelligence organizations using drugs to control people, also random serial killers... but because of the whack-a-mole plot, none of these things have a real impact on the story past the arc involving them. You can have aliens or gods descend to Earth and as soon as a damsel in distress appears, the protagonist will whack them and everything will be instantly resolved.

In short, this is fine if all you want is an all-powerful main character, but if you care about anything else in a story you should probably skip it. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Conclusion: It's just poorly written.

I actually didn't expect much going into reading it, but I figured it could at least maybe be decent smut. However, it was worse in every way than I imagined, and unless it hits your fetishes squarely in the strike zone you probably won't get much mileage out of it.

So, there's no real plot, just a premise to have a woman become a s*x slave to two men. Except the premise is extremely weak and relies on the woman being functionally retarded. Well, it's smut, so... more>> that can be forgiven. Except the smut is poorly written. The dialogue, the actions, even the basic grammar are subpar at best. If this was a comic, animation, or Adult Video, it could be forgiven again. It's just a shame that this is a novel without any pictures at all, so the words need to help make an. So both plot and PLOT get a resounding 1/5 (PLOT exists).

And what about the characters? Like I mentioned before, the woman is functionally retarded. In order for the story to begin, she signed a contract she couldn't understand without asking for an explanation of any kind when all she was told is "she would become a s*x slave" (being groped before even looking at the contract, she should know what that means) and "it would save the company" (somehow). Honestly, she could be replaced by a love doll programmed to say "Iya" or "Dame" and nothing would be lost. Her husband is also pathetically helpless and you would wonder why she's married to him except her parents probably sold her to him in the first place. Of the two men involved in the smut so far, one is basically a monkey who only exists to molest, and the other is doing this just to be evil. And that's it. Characters: 1/5 (characters exist).

There's nothing special about the setting, so I can't give it bonus points for creativity. It's not my fetish, so I can't give it bonus points for that either. The Psychological genre tag looks misleading (because the main character doesn't seem to have any use for her mind to begin with) so I would give it negative points for that if I could rate lower than 1/5.

The review might sound negative, but someone who gets turned on by the title, summary, and tags will probably enjoy it to some extent. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Single Player Only
January 4, 2017
Status: c25
Interesting idea, not-so-interesting characters. I guess maybe that's keeping with the theme of old-school single-player games that are just about grinding to reach the top, but those were always really boring to watch other people play, especially when the other person has the personality of a doorknob.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Skyfire Avenue
September 29, 2016
Status: c91
I'll start with the conclusion: Read it if you like fancy special effects and want to read about uncommon gourmet feasts. Don't read it if constant minor inconsistencies and pseudoscience bother you.

Good: This book has cool action, fun character interaction, and lots of quality, detailed descriptions of various types of food and wine. The main character and supporting cast are likeable.

Bad: The unrealism extends beyond superpowers and sci-fi elements: The beautiful women all are attracted to the main character (well, okay, he's just that manly and cool; maybe I'd be... more>> attracted too), but the main character is... extremely unmanly when it comes to women. For a non-virgin guy to get jumpy at the slightest s*xual tension with a woman he's been close to for years is strange to a point where it can't be considered "faithfulness to his dead wife", especially when it happens repeatedly. If it was just that, you could say he was afraid bad things would happen to them if he got close to them, but he keeps emphasizing that he'll keep them close to protect them. So it gets weirder and weirder as the story progresses and you meet new "female acquaintances" of his.

... And for me, it just bothers me that someone with the title and abilities of "Zeus" is being faithful to his wife "Hera". There are enough inconsistencies in the mythological references (abilities and titles changing from one section to another, various relationships like the ones between angels being incorrect) that it hurts my enjoyment. And while I liked the meals, anyone who doesn't care about fine wine or food might find that part to be overly detailed. Oh, and the science part is really... tenuous. For the amount of explaining, it's very unrealistic. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Dimensional Sovereign
December 4, 2016
Status: c25
Well, the story concept is fairly unique compared to other novels you'd be able to find here. But does that make it good? Not really. The character interactions are terrible and the plot doesn't make any sense if you stop to think about it. The game mechanics are iffy, too, but if you turn your brain off and skip to the fights, those are pretty good.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
World of Cultivation
December 1, 2016
Status: c445
I normally dislike slow-starting stories, and I don't like any of the author's other works. This one, though. This one's amazing.

The main character loves money, but it isn't the only thing he cares about. He's cunning, but he's not infallible. He's courageous, but not reckless. He has a a cheat, but doesn't rely on it, and he has a "old teacher that follows him around but no one else can see" but the 'teacher' is more of a... well, you'll see. In short, World of Cultivation avoids most of the... more>> pitfalls of xianxia stories.

It has character development, world-building, action, schemes, military confrontations, and some slice-of-life. There's something to like for pretty much anyone, so give it a try. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fluffums
Fluffums rated it
Tondemo Skill de Isekai Hourou Meshi
January 30, 2018
Status: c62
Laid-back slice-of-life story about the travels of a Fenrir and his personal chef.

Seriously, though, the protagonist is a normal person in every way - the only talent he seems to have is above average but not professional cooking ability. His personality, strength, intelligence, and common sense are actually normal. And people react well to his cooking mainly because he uses great ingredients.

... more>>
Spoiler

Even the food from the "real world" that he brings over is mostly good because it gives stat boosts to people eating it. It gives the kind of rush people describe when they dope up on stimulants, so of course adventurers and battle maniacs like Fel would like it.

[collapse]

And while the protagonist doesn't have the motivation to carry an action/adventure storyline, he at least reacts like the adult he is and thinks things through. He also shows interest in the world around him, so he doesn't need other people to force him to act. I really get the "innocent bystander" feeling from this guy more than any other "accidental" summonings of people who just so happened to have really eccentric personalities and adapt extremely well to the new world. Yeah, this protagonist can't carry the novel by himself. But he doesn't have to - he'll gain fun and quirky pets and acquaintances.

And the characters become more interesting and likeable as the story goes on. The setting gets more interesting the more you learn, too, and there are action scenes here and there, but the heart of the story is still basically watching a dog owner spend time with his (very) large, (way too) energetic dog. As a slice of life, 5/5 would mofu mofu the Fenrir again recommend. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4