Report Review
15 Reviews


Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
This MC Is Kickass
October 4, 2017
Status: c61
I thought this would be a fun comedy at first, and while I did derive some enjoyment from the story, it is on the fast track to joining the dropped pile.

This is a little VR story that makes it quickly obvious that the actual game will only ever play second fiddle to the shoujo elements which aren't that good either.

My gripes being:

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC is a complete Mary Sue. She may be ugly in game but she's extremely hot in real life, a brilliant martial artist and comes from a well off family.

Everything is also given to her. I understand it's an integral part of the 'comedy' but seriously. From gear to pets to guys, everything falls into her lap just cause. Hell she's barely played the game for two weeks and now she's already a lower upper class player? Also coupled with her amazing martial arts skills, she can piss off the rank 2 player when she herself is still a noob. I think that's pretty telling for how all future conflicts will go.

Next. The game itself sucks. Actually I can't judge since they glossed over most of it in favor of the siblings visit to grandpapas, and other real life things. I understand she has to be relevant to the #1 guild, but the worldbuilding is suffering because of it.

The humor is also falling flat, and though there is some character development. It's by the side characters. Q&S remains the enigmatic dude who's every girls fantasy and the MC the teenage girl who enjoys such fantasies. Like there was a part where they each exchanged a server wide downpour of roses for 10 minutes. Was it trying to be funny? Well it may have attracted a giggle or two, but there is a severe lack of comedy aside from people reacting to the Mc' S face or the rngesus events which feel forced as fuggles

There was a great amount of potential in the story, but it's execution was poor as well as its plot progression events.

[collapse]
<<less
35 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter
The Sword and The Shadow
February 5, 2018
Status: c13
Saw a mass release. Thought: Why not, I'll try it.

Dropping it at c13.

Mainly due to this,

... more>> Its dry AF. Ignoring the story completely, there is no style to the prose. It is rigid with large amounts of info dump and detail (and not the good kind that actually tell you anything.)

The dialogue is awkward too. Seriously people dont talk like that... but seeing as how its a translated CN, that might just be due to the losses in translation. It seems like the characters are talking from a script rather than actually conversing.

Actually, dont take my word for it and read it for yourself. Regardless of the plot, the execution is terrible and almost as basic as can be. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter
Bijo to Kenja to Majin no Ken
January 9, 2018
Status: --
The only reason I'm reading this is because theres a redhead on the cover.

...10 chapters later

Its not worth it. Its a very typical isekai novel with nothing that makes it stand out.

Not to say that its bad, but after reading quite a few of these, the entire story so far seems to be sticking to the general formula.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
The setting piqued my interest.

The execution fell flat.

It's like those really bad H-games where you say three lines of dialogue to a girl, then you start boning. The characters don't exactly act human either

... more>>
Spoiler

First reaction upon meeting a hot girl in a new world: let's kiss her! Like really? And she's all down for it. Since when do people do that?

[collapse]

I understand this is very much a wish fulfillment story, and I went into it fully knowing that, but there was so much potential wasted. It takes more than an 'and then they boned' scene to hook me into a story. I don't know anything about the author, but I bet five bucks it was written by some lonely teenager. (Don't quote me on that)

Will the story get better in later chapters? Maybe, but from how the first few chapters were written, I wouldn't count on it.

Yes, it might appeal to some people. It might appeal to a lot of people actually, but if I wanted to read bad smut, I'd just go to wattpad. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Dungeon Defense
August 24, 2016
Status: v2c3
This review may be a tad disorganised.

People who like the usual OP genius MC who facerolls all his enemies will probably dislike this story. This piece is possibly the closest thing to an actual western novel in terms of character development here in novel updates, and which appeals to the majority of us who're sick of the usual translated worked.

From the way the story is going, I can guess that the MC probably won't ever be the strongest, or the smartest, nor will he bang all the girls. (I might... more>> be wrong about the last thing), and that's ok. We have an over saturation of those kinds of stories anyways. The "cheat" that he receives early on might be a good tool for harem building, but it doesn't appear to be that kind of story (thank god) as it focuses alot on relationship building.

The MC also feels like a real person. Although he has a stupid amount of eloquence in his speech which doesn't match his background, that is what makes it so much more enjoyable. There have been quite a few who judge the characters based on first impressions from the first chapter. Please don't. The characters aren't one dimensional, and they don't follow too many tropes. You need to give the story a chance to let you explore each character. You have to ask yourself why does each character act the way they do? Instead of expecting it to be laid out on a plate for you.

Personally my favourite part so far about the story is that the antagonists aren't stupid people with powers that are fuelled by rage all the time. (Besides the first one who was essentially cannon fodder #1). Definitely recommended to anyone experiencing light novel burnout. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter
Maou Gakuin No Futekigousha
December 26, 2018
Status: --
I think its safe to give this story the hot garbage label.

Its the kind of story where you have to turn your brain off lest you become disgusted with it. Ignoring how the whole reincarnation schtick is just an overly complicated way of saying time travel (cuz he spends all of a few seconds as a baby), alot of his decisions are nonsensical and lack self awareness.

Constantly killing and reviving people, turning people into zombies with wuxia mob like cannon fodder in a school setting? The protagonist also comes off... more>> as a mild sociopath, like that one friend who lords over how much better he is at this one thing. Like when you play smash ultimate and he combos you as a beginner to infinity while guffawing, "why cant you do this? Its so easy!"

My rating: 10/10 Definitely recommended for the NU readerbase <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
The Other World Dining Hall (WN)
June 10, 2016
Status: c15
This story is excellent it's true. There is copious amounts of food porn, actually it's all just food porn, but I'm pretty sure youshuko translations already got up to chapter 15.
It's a 5/5 if you're looking for a short light hearted mini shorts about people eating.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
God of Cooking
July 29, 2016
Status: --
Masterchef in lightnovel form. The pacing is fast, the characters aren't entirely one dimensional, and the pseudo-romantic tension just brings a smile to my face. It doesn't go overboard with food descriptions like the other worldly dining hall, but is enough to make you salivate... if a little.

The reincarnation bit and the MC's little cheat ability is quite crucial to the story too. (Never thought I'd ever type that out) It lets the author dumb down alot of the more technical cooking parts, to give us a more enjoyable story.... more>> The story would be much more complicated and take more time to set up otherwise.

Overall a fun and excellent read. 5/5 if only because I can't find much to critique about it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Return of The 8th Class Mage
February 8, 2017
Status: c44 part2
It's typical as you'd expect from the synopsis, not to mention the MC is powering up by leaps and bounds.
He easily gains powerful artefacts, and is the centre of attention in the entire story. So it seems as if there are red flags all around, but here's why I like it.
... more>>
Spoiler

1. The side characters aren't pieces of cardboard! Ok, maybe cannon fodder #1 is, and maybe his mother (a little). Everyone has little secrets, flaws, and plans which really add to the story. The crown prince comes off as a dumb dog, but ends up growing on you as he goes through his own "mini" character development, becoming more confident and less arrogant. You actually wonder how the side characters will further contribute to the story, and (hopefully) aren't just chucked away after making an appearance in one part of the story.
2. The story revolves around the main character... Wait, shouldn't stories normally do that? Well yeah, but rather than being given an OP plot device that pushes the MC along on a set path, instead the MC is guiding the story, and the events happening are heavily influenced by his prior actions. Not gonna name any names, but this MC actually has a goal in mind (even though its a rather basic one).
3. Familial Love! It seems to be a recurring theme here. You can tell the MC loves his mom, and it shows. (Unlike other stories...*cough* Coiling Dragon *cough* Alchemy dude loves his kid, Emperor dude loves his first son. I really found it heartwarming, and you can see how it plays into the decision making in the story.
4. There's no harem! At least not yet. No girls having fallen for the MC (yet). No useless pandering to the readers to try to make the MC seem more masculine and alpha, not that I would mind that all too much. But I'm ok with not having a "best girl" immediately shoved into my face with every story.
5. We're still in the beginning stages of the story! There's still so much to happen, and I'm already enjoying it immensely. There's already a setup for a war arc, and those are always fun... unless the writer gets sloppy and just has him nuking everything to oblivion. Ragnar is already being set up as a smart, capable individual, and he's the enemy! I'll put my money on this story being more than just a fight-> train -> fight some more type novel.
6. Oliver. No real explanation. He just seems cool, and it feels like he's gonna have some badass moments in the story to come. Again, redirect back to point 1.

Is it a masterpiece? No. But it's very good considering the overall quality of the novels here.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Praise the Orc!
August 21, 2017
Status: c125
It heavily satisfies my honor boner.

As a VR story, it is certainly better than most (with a fun twist about the system later on)

The biggest draw for me is that the NPCs are real. They are far more real than the "players" personality wise.

... more>> There are some complaints that the players are all one dimensional douchebags, but seriously have you ever played an mmo? It's pretty accurate.

Don't go into this story thinking it'll be all stat points and mad lootz, because there's none of that. It's a story about an actual hero who follows a warriors code. Something in short supply among the novels in NU.

Some people might find it stupid but I say they've probably never had an honorable thought in their life. The story is manly and will not resonate well with fans of edgelord super sociopath type stories.

(Ps. The complaints about the sister are pretty much negligible since she's almost never in the story) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
August 3, 2016
Status: --
The story alone is well thought out and isn't like the usual popular stories where the protagonist wows everyone with his heaven defying skills and abilities. He takes the time to grow like everyone else, and he only has one layer of plot armour. Major female characters don't immediately swoon over him, the antagonists aren't arrogant bigots that only serve as cannon fodder (well some of them are), and the protagonist actually seems to have some interpersonal skills.

Other characters are built to be smart and cunning as well (with the... more>> exception of 90% of the dugu family) and it's refreshing to not be able to predict the direction of the story. While I do appreciate the low amount of common xianxia tropes, I appreciate the closeness of the Jun family the most. It really reinforces the idea of having a harmonious family where everyone respects and cares for each other. No matter what each character's motivation is, I can relate to every family member's love and respect for the other. I'd like to see this more in xianxia novels instead of the protagonist going into a bloodthirsty rage after he learns a family member has been killed/wronged even though there might've been 2 lines of family interaction in the entire story. (Looking at you CD)

Overall, the story just seems more... real, each character's personality is believable (even the dugu family). The character's described are all different (maybe not the latest sons of the dugu family), and aren't just cookie cutter repeats of the angry irrational antagonist, the wowed and ass kissing spectator or the swooning damsel in distress. Don't get me wrong, it's alright to have some in every story, but when all your characters fall under the same category, it gets annoying. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Daddy Fantasy World Restaurant
April 15, 2018
Status: c51
Now that a few chapters have piled up, I'm confident in giving this an accurate review.

This novel is fluff. Pure fluff. For all ye who wish to be good father's one day, this story will feed that urge. The daughter is quite cute, but I can see why this story would be rated so poorly.

The first reason being the premise. The reason for his transmigration is quite weak, and the MC just accepts that he has a cute daughter now rather easily. The reason for his 'system' coming into existence... more>> is pretty lame as well, but it could just pass for a dull joke.

The second is the system itself. Yes, we have stories where the MC is given everything at the beginning, and thats what seems to be the case here. So long as the MC has the gold, he can buy anything and I mean anything. Apparently, you can buy instant knowledge for trivial things like hair tying as well.

The third is probably what is the deal breaker for a lot of people. The food. I would imagine that most people would click on this story looking for some delicious food porn, but the descriptions are merely average while the pace of new dishes comes out real slowly. It is only at chapter 50 that the second dish comes out. Now don't get me wrong, the pacing is fine as is for a slice of life story, but I don't think most readers came here for a slice of life story.

Despite all that, the MC does have more of a personality compared to normal MC's and his interactions with his daughter and system are enjoyable to read about. Although there are many things that I wish to be improved, that won't stop me from following this story in the near future. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Master Summoner Online
August 21, 2017
Status: c12
So I've noticed a lack of reviews for this story so I bit the bullet and finally decided to give this novel a shot.

And it can be summed up in one word:basic.

World building? Minimal

... more>> Stat system? Minimal

Mc? Forgettable.

Am I being harsh? Maybe but from the beginning, I knew this was going to be a wishfulfillment fic so a bland MC was expected.

But then comes the VR world. It's poorly thought out. Numbers are thrown in without any references for scale. The MC fights bosses like normal mobs and the exp system is shite.

Even one of those cookie cutter rrl novels is more fleshed out than this story. That's how basic everything was. There is like almost no detail, poor character interaction, no hook aside from the promise of op summons later on.

Will it improve in the future? Maybe but I wouldn't hold my breath <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter
Gourmet of Another World
April 11, 2017
Status: --
Was this written by the same author as gourmet food supplier? Because so far its literally the same story just in a xianxia type world.

Of the two im more inclined towards gourmet food supplier. Its more relatable and less ridiculous
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flufflebutter
Flufflebutter rated it
Galactic Dark Net
August 5, 2016
Status: --
I really dislike sci-fi novels. They try to blast you with a bunch of jargon and fake science and try to use it to push the plot.

This novel has an overwhelming amount of votes for it, which was what prodded me to check it out, and man it is turning out to be one of the best novels I've found on this site. The OPness isn't much of an issue (yet) and if you read the novel, you'll see why. It also has very few tropes that chinese novels usually... more>> have which is a major plus in my book. Props to the noodle crew for their fast translation speed and easy to read website design. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report