Report Review
17 Reviews


Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Douluo Dalu
November 19, 2016
Status: c247
While I hate a lot of it (specially the plot), it truly is a masterpiece. Here is why:
1) All the characters, even the villains, have incredible depth to their personality and manner of thinking. Each one is unique (even the unimportant ones), and the MC along with his companion and teachers even more so.
2) The character in the story tend to stick out till the end of the story which is rare for even the more famous authors.
3) The story is not solely about the MC,... more>> the other primary character posses a background and story behind them. Think one piece. This stories are also very interesting.
4) The MC is op, but not without reason, each factor of his strength is thoroughly explained and earned through his hardworking. Furthermore, there are other characters which are as, or more op than him.
5) The cultivation and power system as well as the society which surrounds its, is utterly amazing. It is both creative and fascinating and it is througly explained to the smallest detail. It is probably the best power system of all CN. It truly is enjoyable.
6) The writing and char dialogue are really good. The are at another level Compared to the majority of authors. (Still lower than Er Gen's level, and lacks IET talent for cliffhangers). In addition to a good quality translation.
7) No Harem (not really a plus for me, or minus, but it is to ALOT of people)
8) The last and and probably the most important aspect: the combat. Oh God the combat. It is otherworldly and interesting. I often skip combat when reading fantasy and Xianxia novels since they are boring most of the time. But in this series it is a big no-no. The combat is probably the best I seen. It is comprehensive, detailed, and interesting.
DO NOT SKIP IT!, TRUST ME.

CON:
This is a huge con. The plot sucks. It's not bad, but it definitely sucks. The antagonist is too hateful and annoying. There is way TOO much tragedy in the story. Specially in the middle. And the novel will leave you with a pretty shifty feeling

Conclusion.
Read it, it will change your world when it comes to novel reading. But other than that, hate the plot with all you got. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
The Dungeon Seeker
October 25, 2016
Status: c10
Honestly it's pretty good compared to other novels out there. I always liked good revenge after betrayal novel so I am a little biased. It's worth a read since it considerably different to other jp novelz. Without to much basis I would give it 4.2/5 rating. The chapters are pretty long so don't be to discourage by the short amount of chapters.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
The Book Eating Magician
August 17, 2017
Status: c100
It lacks substance. There really isnt a lot personality to go around here, the MC did in the beginning I guess, but even that is gradually disappearing. All other character feel rather flat and the world building is less than satisfactory. The Writing is not that bad I guess, but there really is no excitement. The battles are also very bland with almost nothing special to them.

Other Cons

*There is no plot, no purpose, no real motive to keep reading the story

* Way to much talking about his special power, and... more>> the MC doesn't really develop himself all that much outside that power.

The novel is not terrible is just not that good. Some people might like it and if you are not really looking for quality and instead searching for "something readable" then by all means read it.

Verdict 3.2/5 <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Law of the Devil
August 13, 2016
Status: c200
Well... it's weird. It started great, even though I hate novels where the main purpose of the characters is to go back, it's very Japanese, but then the author simply gets out of hand. After meeting with the devil, he gets really crazy specially with the pirate sh*t. It is not funny to do border plagiarism with well known works. It even destroys the immersion experience. The characters also become very
stoic and boring later on the novel. It is a terrible... just terrible novel in my opinion. If... more>> you are into xianxia and dislike Japanese LN you probably won't like this. If you do like the generic Japanese novels you MIGHT like this, but mabye not. Honestly I found minecraft less of a waste of time than this. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
December 13, 2017
Status: c250
4.5

Its good, every arc is different but enjoyable. The book is driven by plot and its world building is simply too impressive. The cultivation systems is also quite unique. My only problem is the third arc as well as the author's transition to it.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
The Legend of the Dragon King
November 13, 2016
Status: Completed
Well there is a lot of things I hate about this author. His plot choices I often dislike. But his characters are always 4 dimensional. They are more like people than some people.

Now DD3 I think is the lesser of all his novels. Power levels are no longer respected and the protagonist growth is pretty linear. I personally dislike the heroine, but that is more of an opinion.

If you love DD1 and 2 and miss it, read it, but do not expect the same quality. If you did not like... more>> those, you might like this one as it is quite different. If you are expecting a master piece like the previous ones. I would not read it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Long Live Summons!
June 15, 2016
Status: c250
It is simply unique and refreshing, the MC is unlike other and the characters are quite funny. Some plot fluctuations are questionable, and at times quite inadequate. But in the end the novel is one of the best ones out there.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Age of Adepts
January 22, 2018
Status: c350
Its good, way better than average, but not the best either. There are a lot of similarities to the Warlock of the Magus world especially in the beginning. But as the novel progresses, though, you will see that there are a lot of differences and they eventually become clear and distinctive.

Characters

-The MC is not cruel or completely pragmatic, as he cares a lot about the people close to him, but he is not naive and can be pretty cold-hearted and calculating when needed.

-All character have depth and not 1-dimensional, they... more>> also are used quite thoroughly. A lot of them will last at least 100 chapter and some times more. Those especial to the MC will remain in the story so far.

Plot

- It is pretty good, there is a reasonable amount of intrigue and the tension of conflicts is there

Setting

-Similar to WoWM but not identical <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Pursuit of the Truth
April 7, 2017
Status: c117
Honestly, I like it more than most Er Gen novels. The cultivation is super interesting and the main character is unique and you can actually see his growth throughout the story.

its really good and has some really good and emotional moments. If you like Er Gen work you will love this.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
True Martial World
June 25, 2016
Status: c578
4.5 The beginning is extremely slow but super enjoyable as it gives the feeling of an actual world and environment. There are some scenes where they just bash on the MC, it's good but frustrating. Definitely worth the read.

If there is a problem is that the author simply loves to lengthen the chapter. I know it takes some time to build the setting, character, and plot, but not nearly as much as he does though. If he needs to take a long break to write new chapter, think of new... more>> plots and characters, go ahead take it, but do not worsen the novel. It is a super good novel but it just feels that its progress it too slow.

Edit: 3.2 as of ch 578 The chapters are getting increasingly shorter, so much that is probably a third of a DE chapter. Not only that it is getting extremely redundant. The author constitutes 70% of the chapter with info already previously presented, and just finds thousands of ways to say the same thing. One more annoying thing is that he is not focusing on. The MC anymore. Around the ch 400's it is more and more how the surroundings perceive the MC. It is getting absolutely annoying and repetitive. Do not read. Read it after its finished if not the author will drive you insane. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Martial World
June 15, 2016
Status: c800
It is a great story, not because the character, but because the plot, setting, and cultivation system.
... more>>
Spoiler

Pros
*No reincarnation, just a hardworking MC
*Plot is great and is just a little redundant (which is amazing for novels nowadays)
*cultivation system is new and fresh
*World building is great and so are the mc's powers

Cons
*Characterizations are weak. Not as bad as in MGA and slight better than in BTTH. Still weak though you can't really get attached to the chars all that much.
*MC find heavenly item and becomes TOO OP in certain areas (such as secondary jobs) It does not affect combat all that much though.
*Retainabiliy: It simply cannot retain other characters throughout the whole novel which is kinda sad.

Conclusion:
I recommend it. Although it is not a heavenly quality novel like those written by IET and Er Gen (may he be long lived) it is just below them. It is of both excellent and enjoyable.

[collapse]

Don't be fooled. While I find the story excellent, the only reasons this novel is currently rank #1 is because of the amazing translation speed and quality. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Great Demon King
December 4, 2016
Status: c320
5.0 This could be a 5 or a 1 depending on personal preferences. I liked it so its a 5. If you like Heavenly Jewel Change this is most definitely a 5. If you like WMW you will like this too. If you did not like them well let this novel is most likely a 1 for you. Here is a few words to describe the novel. There is one complaint, however. The MC become way too OP and there is not enough recall of his power to remember any... more>> of it. Also there is almost no power division. We do not know how strong he is at any point so far.

All in all, its a great novel (at least for me). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
The Second Coming of Gluttony
February 9, 2019
Status: c63
The Summary is bad. It is basically about an addict given a second chance by fighting in a different world while being able to come back. Unlike what most reviews say here, the MC is nice but not naive and he has interesting power. There is character growth, and while people say there is harem, it feels more like friendship (The MC has not even returned any feelings at all).

... more>>
Spoiler

At some point it is seen that people in the other world become very liberal about 'relations' so that could contribute to the confusion.

[collapse]

A heads up, the novel starts with a scene from the future so it could get very confusing. Also writing/translation (I dunno) is kinda bad at beginning, but it gets better quickly. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Pivot of the Sky
January 2, 2018
Status: c52
I like it so far, its way better than most and the writing is at a pretty good level. There is depth to every character and action and, thus, immersion is easy. I wish radiant wasn't the one translating as they have been quite Eccentric lately and started become worth of of bad rep. Besides that, enjoy the ride.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
August 19, 2017
Status: c63
Its good, for a Japanese Novel is quite above average. The beginning is pretty dark and ghastly, it becomes lighter but still retains a considerably dark atmosphere. The later parts of the navel is a lot like the Slime novel where there is a lot of kingdom building, but besides that everything else is pretty cliched. The cliche, however, is done quite well and it remains interesting, kinda like Tsuki..

If you are having doubts about reading it, read it till chapter 20 and if you do not like it after... more>> that you prob wont like it at all. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
Flores520 rated it
Otherworld Nation Founding Chronicles
January 28, 2019
Status: v1c2
One of the better novels here, the begining is kind of annoying, the MC does some pretty annoying stuff, but still character are more 3dimensional than usual. Enemeies are quite crafty, and so are allies. Better than any kingdom building novel out there, I think.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Flores520
I think what piss people of is the squandered potential of the novel...

When you start and give the impression of a dark novel the turned it into something else entirely, its bound to piss people off.

The author seemed to write the dark theme pretty well but went on and started focusing on things he wasnt good at. The novel didnt even have too be a revenge plot to be good, but its kinda ridiculus that the MC is helping the people that almost killed him. its not charcter growth, its... more>> simply just stupid.

2/5 for it could have been. Would be 3
5/5 if he started as a romcom and a 4.2/5 if he. remained with the dark troupe. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report