Report Review
91 Reviews


Fathom
Fathom rated it
Feng Yin Tian Xia
December 31, 2016
Status: c196
Spoiler

If you're looking for a fluffy romance, this should certainly not be on your radar of must reads. From beginning to end, it's nothing but an angry read. In fact, I really didn't feel much romance until practically the end of the story.

The lead MC is betrayed, poisoned, divorced, tortured, sent to be an army prostitute, given aphrosiasiciacs, raped, has a miscarriage, shot at, imprisoned, has her martial arts sealed many times, and etc.
Although she is only been with one man throughout the story, every type of generic plot device revolving around misunderstanding is used.

It wasn't until towards the end that I stopped rooting for all the male leads to die. This is only when most of the misunderstandings have been resolved and the MC has been, has been through some depressing plot devices.

I can't quite say I liked the MC that much. Supposedly she's been trained to be good in the arts, martial arts, and military strategies. However, I felt that in military matters she may have been good at planning but her personal life was a mess which could have been avoided with her skills. For living in the army for most of her life, she also should have been smarter instead of being so easily manipulated in politics. For all her, harsh experiences, I also felt like she was too gentle and easily forgave others.

Overall, it's a happy ending with a monogamous relationship after countless chapters of angst until the end. The romance itself is also puzzling. There are the typical male obsessed leads but the MC herself doesn't feel love until much later making the reader feel extremely confused who she will end up with.

[collapse]
56 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Beloved Empress
December 22, 2016
Status: c169
I quite enjoyed this one. It's a romantic story that is a bit more unique than the standard romantic stories I've read so far.

The MC heroine is indeed a soul that has been transmigrated from modern times into the historical period and into the body of the reigning Queen. What's unique about this MC is that she's not the ultimate strategist or has any real skills whatsoever. She was an archaeologist in her former life who somehow transmigrated over from a toilet. From the time she's migrated over, her ultimate... more>> plan is only to research the palace toilets to find her way back. Even going so far as to modernize the entire toilet flushing system in the palace. Even getting dubbed the Toilet Queen. She's really not that smart, and her harem political knowledge is mostly based off of historical dramas she's watched. She also has a weakness for jades (easily bribed LOL) and formal attire, which is why she was an archaeologist. The first half of the story is quite comedic and hilarious as the Queen tries to find all sorts of ways to send beautiful women and men to try to occupy her husband. The romantic parts of the story is a bit more dramatic as the MC truly doesn't love her husband until much later. Even though there is an initial rape scene, it nicely builds the characters and the plot of the story. It's nice to have a heroine who doesn't fall in love immediately and shows why she doesn't. This makes it a more believable love story.

The second half of the story gets into more political plots and explains all the factions and mystery of the characters. All the plot holes get explained in the end and all the various couples have all found their one true love and eventually get their happily ever after. I would have liked a better epilogue, but overall the extra chapters neatly gave closure to all the remaining couples including the next crown prince.

If you're looking for a different type of romantic story, this one should be up your alley. <<less
47 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Poison Genius Consort
January 24, 2017
Status: c1368
Spoiler

I enjoyed this enough to read from beginning to end twice while suffering through MTL. One of the few series where the MC is not OP in everything and the romance is not instant.

Despite being married, the romance isn't finalized until many years. It's more like dating during those years. While her poison treatment skills are excellent, she still has to go through a slow level up process. In fact, all her skills have a nice slow level up. Because of her weaker skills, she makes a good pairing with her husband. All the characters have full fledged personalities, even the villains. The plot is also well fleshed out and all the mysteries are solved by the end.

Because poison is the highlight of the story, once the main poison villain is removed, the rest of the story stagnates a bit. At chapter 1368, the story ends on a cliff hanger, so I'm dying to see if there will be be a second volume. I also hope poison will come back as the main focus.

[collapse]
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Cute transmigration of a 20 year old college girl whose soul enters into a 9 year old girl. Unlike most other female lead transmigration stories, the heroine here has no mad skills or real ambition. She just wants a nice warm environment and has no ambition for class, martial arts, and etc.

... more>>
Spoiler

At 9 years old she becomes a child bride to the first prince who is 19 years old, and is the most infamous of all the princes. Rumored to have killed all his previous engaged fiancés. Through a lot of political infighting the prince is forced to take his bride early and raise her to adulthood before the actual marriage.

It's interesting that the male lead here is the typical strong, drop dead handsome, smart, and skillful stereotypical lead, however, he greatly differs from other stories in several ways that make this story unique in its own way. Although, he's good looking, he hides his face with a mask all the way to the end of the story even. Even though he is first born and of the Queen's son, has never lost any battles and is filial to his father, he's actually completely hated by his family. Not to mention, his own mother doesn't care fig for him either. Despite his royal status, he has no desire for the throne, even without all the evil intentions his own father has on him. I have to say this is the first time I have seen such wickedly absurd parents in a story.

Thankfully, the heroine comes in and gives him a sense of what a real family is like. The cutest character in the story is her father who was once a great general but now suffers from mental issues causing him to be like a child.

Unlike other love stories, the love here is very gradual and doesn't happen until she almost reaches 15 years old, which is marriageable age. I like that from 9-15 year olds she grew up and instead wanted to learn skills so that she wouldn't drag down the prince. But her skills were via slow and grueling training to level up that isn't magical or anything. The heroine's past life doesn't contribute too much to her current life other than knowledge of cosmetics, comic book drawing and her attitude in life.

The last couple of hundred chapters were more focused on other characters getting their happily ever after. So it suffered some dryness towards the end. Overall, it was a satisfying read, and one of the most amusing things is that no one in the story coveted the throne. Instead it's treated as a hot potato and the emperor is constantly changing hands through bets, trickery, bribes and etc to their siblings.

[collapse]
<<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Divine Doctor: Daughter of the First Wife
March 29, 2018
Status: Completed
In terms of soul transmigration comparisons, I have to say that this series really tops out the extreme of OP skills and cheats. A female soldier who is well versed in Chinese and Western medical skills from future times gets soul transmigrated to ancient China. However, she carries a storage space inside her. In the space, it has her surgery room, pharmacy, small living space, and even an artillery room. Of course, anything she removes, gets automatically replenished by her space. Not only that, if she moves in the space,... more>> she can move her position in reality as well. Makes me wonder, if she exits between walls, would she die? But that scenario never happens.

Spoiler

Suspending disbelief is quite normal in these novels, but when it's too over the top ridiculous, it kind of stops being enjoyable to read. The FL is too powerful in everything, and then she can pull out everything from land minds, grenades, assault rifles, bullet proof vests, endless bullets, food, cloaking abilities, and ready made drugs; winning a war is simply a no brainer.

Despite the ultimate cheat skills, there were some other annoying details that kept repeating ad nausea. For instance, villains and evil intentioned family members that kept using the same skills to try to kill or harm the FL. The puppy love of her 3rd sister to the 7th prince, while ignoring the love of 4th prince. The annoying shrewish 4th sister who was extremely physically and mentally cruel to everyone. The biological mother who refused to recognize her own daughter. And the fact that the FL isn't the only one who soul transmigrated.

The romance would have been better as well if the FL wasn't so ambiguous in her feelings for a 3rd party. For most of the series, she kept going on how great the second ML was and how she would have fallen in love with him if she didn't meet the 9th prince first. Ultimately, this kind of cheapens the romance between the FL and the ML. Don't we as readers like to read about how strong leading couples are? Why keep harping about that if not the ML, there would have been just as strong as a romance between the FL and the alternative love interest. This ambiguity just really turned me off towards the end. Kind of ruined that special happily ever after flair.

The ending was a happy ending if a bit on the boring side.

[collapse]

Overall, for the various stated reasons, it's not on my favorites as a series. Read it and soon to be forgotten. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
The Two-Faced Venerate Emperor
January 15, 2018
Status: Completed
The beginning of this novel was quite entertaining and comedic with a female lead that was originally fat and a narcissist. She's also hilariously thick sick and can't control her urges in eating or molesting the male lead.

... more>>
Spoiler

However, after the lead couple hook up, the female lead becomes the typical strong female character, and the story changes in every which way to break up the romance between the couple. In addition, the magical food/medical/farming/cultivating bowl that she had been using since the beginning started to become more or less forgotten and only occasionally mentioned.

From the middle to the end of the story is probably where my interest seem to wane because of the horrible plotting where the male lead's character seemed to change and the female lead became too thin skinned and emotional.

It isn't until the end that all the plot points of reincarnation and the how the female's soul ended up where it did. Overall, I felt all the explanations were a mess, and how the lead couple's was dealt with so sloppily unsatisfactorily.

I really wanted to like this story, but after the mid 500 chapters, it really goes down hill. It's too bad that the lead female didn't retain her shameless thick skinned calculative demeanor.

[collapse]
<<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
¥1 Trillion Wife, Buy One Get One Free
March 3, 2017
Status: c891
There's actually multiple main couples in this story, if there weren't I would have rated this story a bit higher.

... more>>
Spoiler

The first main story is about a one night stand that resulted in a child without either knowing each other's background or name. 7 years later, the female lead returns to China with her "genius" 7 year old child. With some underhanded manipulation from said genius child, the couple meet up again.
The original story line of this first main couple was quite amusing and interesting, however, it started to get darker and a bit more unbelievable. From involvement of terrorists, mafia, assassins, pedophiles, torture, and etc. Despite all the super action packed ridiculousness of the plot, both male and female lead were quite amusing. The male lead being super narcissistic and the female lead being super independent and sarcastic.

Probably my main gripe is that I wish there were more smut between the first couple, except that was reserved for the shorter stories in the other couples instead. My other gripe is that all the female leads in this story get tortured in some way or another that is really cruel and heart breaking.
After the first couple gets their happy ending, there are only minor cameos from them later on in the second half of the novel.
The second couple is between the first male lead's long lost sister and stone cold killer/hacker from the mafia. At first this couple was amusing because it had that "Mr. &Amp; Mrs. Smith" vibe where they were constantly physically beating each other up every time they saw each other. But then it got darker when the male lead takes the female lead and brain washes her. After this point, I lost interest in this couple because the female lead was too laid back to care, and the male lead was still insanely possessive in a not cute way. Because of this, I didn't particually like this couple, which accounts for the lower overall rating. Seriously, if you know the girl you like has a BFF that is getting tortured to death and don't do anything about it, how can you face your love interest. Along with the rest of the "suspend disbelief" plot, one of the stranger ones is the male lead's ability to do a complete personality overhaul with alcohol.
The third couple is the 2nd female leads BFF and partner. Due to some misunderstanding, she gets tortured near death by none other than the 3rd male lead. Despite all the misunderstanding, I ended up liking this couple more than the second couple, but I still don't think too highly of the male lead who is twin brother of the second couple's male lead. This couple truly went to the ringer of tragedy, and did get my teary eyed at many points. This couple's story line was more romantic and enjoyable than the second couple.

There are also some minor romantic story lines that get their own focus as well. A BL between to male characters in the terrorist organization that is quite cute. Another one is about the terrorist's leader, and the last side character couple is the parents of the twins from the second & third male leads getting their happy ending in the end.

The last main couple of the story is about the genius son from the first couple. Swearing eternal love to a girl he met briefly when he was 7 years old and sacrificed her life for him, he's on a mission to find her reincarnated soul. I have to say that this story is worst plot of the entire novel. It's got too many ridiculous elements that you can't even suspend disbelief. You just have to consider it pure fantasy. From a newborn speaking completely fluent after 7 days, goddesses, teleportation, and etc, it's just bad writing into a contemporary story line. This story completely sank my rating of the entire novel.

Well, if you're looking for romance, there's certainly a ton of romance in this novel. With lots of villains, action, and a multitude of characters that are not similar. Some couple's story lines are better than others, and some really stank. Other than some torture, none of the female leads were raped, and everyone ended up happily ever after. There are some details that should have been a bit more etched out, but like I said, you really have to suspend your disbelief that it's a contemporary novel, and pretty much assume everyone is talking the same language even if they're in the Middle East, China, Russia, Italy, and etc.

[collapse]
<<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
If you like hentai type of smut, this is like a series of short stories with basically the same FL and ML in various worlds and settings. The FL gets sucked into a weird unpopular/abandoned system with a cute AI that is quite manipulative of the low IQ FL.

... more>>
Spoiler

Basically, she has to become the FL of each world and fulfill the current character's last desires and wishes before they died. She takes over their character. The strange thing is that every FL character has the same exact name. Whereas each ML has the potential to become Armageddon if her mission fails. While completing her mission, she must also get enough of the ML's essence to get out of the current world she's in.

In the end, if she doesn't finish reliving a set number of missions, she won't be able to go home. So she has to figure out how to basically fix the mess left by the former characters in each world. The stories are always of 1 ML and 1 FL, so it's not as if she's with multiple men.

Arc 1: A young princess that's been abandoned falls into a incestuous relationship with her emperor brother by accident. This story is the typical hentai smut story, where most of the story is smut and the actual plot is kind of weak. It does set the precedent that not all stories will end happily. So far this is the shortest arc and ends relatively quickly. 39 chapters

Arc 2: Another drug related plot line where the ML hooks up with the FL. It's about 2 classmates who never have any intersection normally. The interesting thing about this arc is that the FL actually stays in this world until a natural death age. 66 chapters

Arc 3: A princess with a bad reputation is in love with a medical god type of ML. The longer the chapters get, the less smut and more plot is developed. 118 chapters

Arc 4: The FL has been in love with the ML since she was young, However, the ML has extremely low emotional intelligence and is interested in someone else. The plot actually becomes a bit more convoluted and a lot more dark as certain past events that happened in the original story line are remembered. It was actually kind of heartbreaking at times. 102 chapters

Arc 5: Kind of an odd arc in my opinion. A female demon that is married to an immortal god like figure. Every time that FL is reborn, the ML will kill her. So the mission is for the FL to get her freedom from the rebirth cycle. I found this kind of painful to read as we're not sure if we should be sympathetic or not to such a jerk of a ML. 106 chapters

Arc 6: Survivor Island kind of plot. After an arranged marriage ends in divorce, the FL still wants to chase after the ML to show her real tears. Strangely enough, I really liked the empathy in this story. Although, both lead characters are movie stars, they are stranded on an island with some truly vicious people. 125 chapters

Arc 7: This arc is still ongoing. A female emperor has to find a way to seduce her husband who only wants to kill her. Probably my least favorite arc. Much less smut in this arc, and what they do is really repetitive.

After each mission accomplishment, FL gets some weird awards like milk spraying and etc. The basic hentai stuff. Overall, if you like reading similar stories with smut, you'll like this series. All the arcs are reasonably short. Waiting for updates on the RAWs is kind of long though. Although, the system makes the FL feel empathy to the original FL characters, I don't really feel like the FL truly loves the ML. There's a feel of indifference as she just tries to complete her mission. The smut also gets really repetitive in details, possibly because the ML have such similar characteristics and the FL still acts the same with half hearted refusals and innocent behavior.

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Wife, I Am the Baby’s Father
November 17, 2016
Status: c121
First 50 chapters are like reading a bad Harelequin novel. Characters are 1 dimensional with no depth. The plot is also not any better, with typical shoujo elements of misunderstandings, evil third wheels, reverse harem building, amnesia, and etc. All that being said, it was a short but tolerable read. However, by the 80s-90s chapters, I predict most readers will not like to read further.
... more>>
Spoiler

The heroine gets into an adulterous relationship after marriage that isn't only a one time deal, but last multiple years. Keep in mind that she was only with her husband for 1 month, and 1 night of consummation. However, with her second guy she's with him for 4 years. So if adultery bothers you-- especially when it's from the main female lead. Don't read this series!

In addition, this is not a happily ever after story. Definitely not a feel a good story, nor is it comedic as one would assume from the title.

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Broken-Winged Angel
October 10, 2017
Status: Completed
I suppose it's an easy read, but not really a comfortable one. I was expecting a smexy smutty romance story. This one isn't really it. There's not much consensual smut going on. And the smut going on isn't particularly romantic or sexy either. The deeds get done without too much fanfare on emotions or feelings. Kind of reminds me of those anime hentai one shots. It's got several stereotype kinks, with twins, an older female tutor, bondage, some violence, and some aphrodisiac drug usage. At no point did I feel... more>> there is any love in any characters. The twins have a massive obsessive complex and don't seem to care about the main character's feeling at all. Instead of trying to romantically pursue her, they would rather just imprison her and rape every day. Really the only escape method is to suicide, which is such a cop out method.

Overall, it's a boring read, if at short one at least. Not a good story even as a smut one and definitely not a romantic one. It feels very amateurish and not descriptive on any details. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
The Legend of Chu Qiao: Division 11’s Princess Agent
October 14, 2016
Status: c22
Read up to Ch 22, and I have to say I'm utterly baffled by the story. While the story line is interesting, the execution is just plain confusing. MC's early life is was nicely done, except it wasn't quite clear how she first died. The abruptness of her new child body in a different world/time was a bit abrupt as well. The viciousness of her new world where nobilities prey on slave children and where might is right is sad and tragic. However, from where the new life begins, the... more>> storyline gets really choppy and just plain confusing. From a group of slave children where she is now the last one, and then suddenly becoming a favored slave of 4th Prince, scheming with some other noble Yan Xun, I really don't understand what's going on. Not much is explained about the MC's personality or goals. It's assumed that she's sticking around for revenge purposes, but not quite clear. With her skills, she could have really just slit everyone's throats in the middle of the night. So why is she sticking around? In addition, maybe reading the summary here has thrown me off because it makes it seems there are 2 love interests? Both guys don't quite to seem have much redeeming qualities. Zhuge Yue, seems like a spoiled vicious noble capable of killing children for sport, and while Yun Xun participates in similar fashion publically--he may be hiding ulterior motives. Both don't seem very romantic or even redeemable characters thus far. Not sure if I can recommend this novel. Maybe I'll return and marathon it once more if there are more chapters, but too much of this story was off putting. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
CEO Above, Me Below
April 21, 2017
Status: c1110
If you're a fan of "Beauty and the Beast", you might enjoy this novel. The male lead has a mental illness, everything from paranoid schizophrenia, OCD, and anger management issues. Like Belle from the "Beauty and the Beast", the heroine is only one to see through the beastly behavior and see the positives of the male lead and eventually falls in love. Despite that, his behavior doesn't really change or go away, instead, the heroine just adapts and learns to manipulate the male lead on a bit more controllable path.

There... more>> is some forced copulation in the beginning, but nothing detailed. Maybe it's Stockholm syndrome, where the captive falls in love with the captor, but she really does end up choosing the male lead.

The first part of the story so far is amusing and a bit light hearted how the male lead pursues and entraps the heroine. The heroine of course tries to cater to his insane impulses to think of ways to escape.

The second part of the story is a bit more depressing and heavier. The male lead's mental issues get more oppressive and scary. It gets a bit more realistic to see how such mental issues becomes uncontrollable and everyone around the heroine has to deal with male lead's hair line trigger anger. Of course, through some very heavy consequences, the male lead does indeed learn to grasp a tiny bit of control eventually. It's never completely resolved because the story wouldn't be that interesting if all the quirky things the male lead does goes away. Once the male lead starts to be able to adapt a bit more, the story lightens up again similar to the first part of the story.

The third part of the story is the violence and revenge plot lines. I honestly think the heroine is quite pitiful. She's constantly being kidnapped and the male lead is always going berserk trying to find her. I would think that by the 3rd or 4th time of being kidnapped, he would have surgically installed a locator chip inside her body. It seems illogical for a tech genius to not have thought of that.

Despite all the violence, the characters in this story seem to all have their own military power to some extent. I don't remember reading about any police or law enforcement even appearing in the story even when there were heavy death tolls on all sides.

Overall, it's an interesting story that's romantically much different from other stories. I do think the male lead is what makes this story so interesting. The heroine doesn't really have much strength, other than her ability to control the Beast, and getting tricked by villains. She does certainly suffer a lot, from her adopted parents, adopted sister, jealous women, and other vengeful characters. Her character probably resembles Cinderella the most as she had to suffer bullying from everyone around her when her adopted parents were finally able to conceive their own blood related child. This starts a chain reaction effect that ultimately builds the heroine's character and makes her a little more realistic. Sadly enough, even her eldest 2 twin children have their own psychological issues from seeing the violence in front of their eyes and their own constant kidnapping dramas. Unfortunately, the children were also drawn in all the revenge drama and have their own suffering.

As of chapter 1110, the story still hasn't ended, but I'm hoping it will draw to a close soon as their last remaining villain has been dealt with. There's been a lot of emotional roller coaster feelings throughout this story, and I do wish that the happily every after ending is finally coming soon. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Unrepentant
January 29, 2017
Status: c27
Still working through the tears.... Ahhh, the angst.

I have to say this was beautifully written. It's a tragic ending, but everything is resolved and fully explained in the end.

One of the most unique romance stories I've read so far. Most of the Chinese female characters in romance stories fall in several cookie cutter stereotypes. The all encompassing OP character that every man falls over, the beautiful heroine that the male lead is head in loves over, or the villain where the female is obsessed into evil ways.

For the most part,... more>> the lead female here can be categorized as the villain type, except everything she does is for the Prince despite her one sided feelings. Rather than agree to be a harem concubine where she knows she would go psycho and knock out any potential competition, she chooses instead to help the Prince in other ways. If she can't be beside the one she loves romantically, she can still be his right hand man.

From scheming, murder, and even war, she will do all for him. Even knowing he doesn't love her and may even hate her, she's still willing to dirty her hands and help him in any way she can. The truly sad part is that despite her sacrifices she can't even die in peace. After death she is sent back to the Emperor and cannot leave him.

The story is written in flashbacks and you see everything from the POV of an orphan girl abandoned by her family, then slave trafficked and sold into the Palace. Her background and torment is just as bad as the Prince that she later serves. All the flashbacks creates a subtle tension for the reader. You wonder when the Emperor will find out the main female lead died, and you can see that some of the characters are truly on pin and needles with some premonition that something bad has happened but not knowing what.

Twenty years together, but both went through so many misunderstandings that only resolved in death and tragedy. A truly sad but beautiful romance story. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Grasping Evil
October 4, 2016
Status: c27
I was quite surprised on how different this was from the typical xianxia novel where the MC gets bullied and ends up getting an OP cheat skill, then starts bullying his enemies.

In this series, the MC is quite pitiful. A slave that was sold to a sexual cultivating female cult to be raped by it's 100 cult members for his yang spirit. Of course, like most xianxia, he ends up getting his own OP cheat skills. However, what makes this different is that he's definitely no hero. This marks his... more>> path towards evil. But is he really evil? He wants revenge, to save his brother, and do what he's free to do without rules. That is his path towards evil. It's an interesting concept.

What is slightly uncomfortable in the beginning is his dual cultivation with a 13 year old. He's 17, but she's quite young. Although, it started out as a bit of an accident, it's still a bit uncomfortable. If you can get past that, the story is quite good thus far. On a side note, his evil master is quite cute. His methods of robbing, his jealousy of his own disciples skills, and his fear of his disciple becoming his brother-in-law keep the story quite light hearted despite the darkness of the plot. I look forward to reading much more. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Flash Marriage
November 8, 2015
Status: --
Absolutely hilarious! I love the MC and her snarky relationships with everyone. Up to ch 19 there isn't any romantic feelings from the MC, instead it's all about the MC trying to one up her husband, mother, BFF, and gaming friend. Instead she always fails miserably. It's a great comedic day in the life of a 28 year old virgin with a low IQ.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
September 28, 2017
Status: Completed
Spoiler

Kind of an oddball mix of stereotypes. One of the original themes in this series involves not just a transmigration, but also multiple reincarnated characters. The MC is transmigrated, but there are also about 3 other main characters that are also reincarnated. Which makes a strange twist, because many of the characters have some future knowledge about the future. So each in their own way try to manipulate politics to their benefits. Even the transmigrated MC is also aware of the characters and story lines because she had previously read the novel, even though she never finished reading story.

It is kind of amusing to find that the male lead is also a reincarnated soul and out for revenge on who other than his transmigrated wife for her past digressions. The rest of the story is an easy read, with a very modern women being completely blasé about politics, how to deal with her temperamental husband, and truly going after what she wants to have a nice stable and happy lifestyle.

Unlike many other heroines where they can do anything, this heroine is an absolute foodie. Anything related to food, makes her practically the top dog in cooking skills. If you like calm and stable heroines, and like all the mention of the gourmet type of food in each chapter, you'll like this series. Where the heroine is calm and stable, the male lead on the other hand comes off as childishly petulant and cute in his revenge on his wife. Things like stealing her food, starving her by eating her portion, or eating the best dishes so she can't have any, all become very cute in it's own ways.

Overall, another cute romantic story.

[collapse]
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Black Bellied President Dotes on Wife
September 2, 2017
Status: Completed
It took about 3 days to finish reading all the MTL of this series. The entire story spans multiple couples mostly focusing on Jing Yichen's family line, his close family and friends, and then his children with some random side characters.
... more>>
Spoiler

The first main couple were quite interesting and featured a male lead with a deep dark and gloomy past, whereas the heroine was the typical family bullied Cinderella type. How they hook up and get married is quite fast, but the romance and action was quite entertaining. As for the other couples of this generation, the romantic couples provide a nice variety of stereotypes. From a genius doctor chasing his ex-girlfriend over a decade long, to a brother and adopted sister love, and a narcissistic bastard and a cold blooded assassin. There's a lot of intrigue and mystery regarding Jing Yichen's past and even the heroine's mother's death. Everything gets resolved and all the couples get their happy endings in this generation.

The next generation romance focuses mostly on Jing Yichen's family line of his 2 children and their cousin, along with some random couples. The romance here was a varied as the previous generation, however, they didn't really have the same emotional intensity. All the romance was a bit on the mediocre side.

Overall, all the romance was just a bit on the mediocre side. Some potential romances for some side characters weren't fully given a conclusion so sometimes the story seemed a bit on the choppy side. The romance was often times very abrupt as well. The story lines were sometimes to unbelievable even for a contemporary fiction. Some parts had their moments and for the most part it kept me interested enough to finish reading all the way to the end.

The finale was a bit haphazard, I would have thought the author would write a sweeter and more heartfelt ending, but it seemed like the author just wanted to complete all the couples and end the story as soon as possible.

All the main couples end in happy ending and all the mysteries get resolved.

[collapse]
<<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
One of the more amusing plots of transmigration that uses all the same types of tropes as other stories but still makes it unique in it's own way.

... more>>
Spoiler

After reading his favorite online xianxia novel's conclusion, the MC curses at the story and author for such a horrific ending of the villain pretty much destroying the world. He curses the main characters to be gay. Low and behold, he ends up transmigrating into a minor cannon fodder character in the story that never had a complete background. He ends up meeting both the protagonist and the villain when they are kids and sort of becomes their nanny to try to re-educate the villain into law abiding person. However, his "education" ended up changing both the protagonist and villain in misunderstood and hilarious ways.

The villain's black belly ways are reminiscent of the seme in "Legendary Master's Wife", however, he still retains his respect for the MC. As for the MC, he's similar to "My Disciple Died Yet Again", where he dies multiple times. Each time he dies, he goes back to modern times. The only difference is that when he goes back into the story, a time skip happens, even though he retains his original body. It's a good coping mechanism for the age gaps and the potential shotacon.

[collapse]

Overall, a cute and amusing twist on the same old transmigration into a story plot. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Dragons Flies Phoenix Dances
August 26, 2016
Status: c23
Sad to see this hasn't been picked up again.

Interesting story where the MC is an amnesic who has lost all memories, and learns she is an abandoned wife who may have done some criminal acts against her husband's family in the past. All the way up to ch 23, it's more of a mystery as the reader tries to figure out what is the truth. Is she really married to that family? Her whole personality is completely different.

If there wasn't a transmigration tag on this series, I would have originally... more>> assumed it was one of those soul swap series. From what we have learned of the clues thus far and the MC's current personality, there is absolutely no resemblance. Even if a person looses their memories, they should still have the same characteristics of the past to some degree. But in this case, the MC is completely at the other end of the personality spectrum. What's puzzling is that everyone recognizes her to be the 3rd young master's wife. In any case, I'm not sure if it's a mere mistaken identity of 2 people looking exactly alike, or whether she was a planted spy to begin with, or maybe she is really the guy's wife. I would have liked to known the truth, so it's a bit of a bummer no one has continued the translations.

What prevented me from giving a higher rating was the heroine's clingy personality. After her loss of memory, she's has sudden mad martial art skills, a bottomless eating stomach, and absolute clinginess in her ideals of marriage. Given that she has trauma from how she got injured, it's quite understandable. But she comes off as too much of a unscrupulous brat for me to personally like her. She clings to her husband because she thinks of him as responsible husband behavior and is deserving of his friendship. However, despite her independent outlook on life, and bemoaning of not having any other friends; she doesn't go out and try to make new friends. Not to mention, even though she agrees about getting a divorce, she's a super enraged jealous girl of any woman that gets near to her husband. This is in even in the beginning of their relationship. I hate to see such strong heroine be in the mind frame of such strong internal dependencies on her spouse. The ultimate clingy woman who can't do without her man. Urgh I'd rather see her fight off bands of assassins, then read about her in such a clingy dither because her husband may abandon her.

Overall, interesting take on a romantic story where the mystery is a lot more intriguing than the romance that is happening. Can't quite say I like either main characters though. The male character's attitude is really blasé and cruel about his wife of 3 years. Even after he comes to care for her, his attitude still doesn't seem to come across as sincere at this point. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fathom
Fathom rated it
Cold King’s Dominating Love, Genius Medical Consort
September 28, 2017
Status: c572
Spoiler

I completed reading the RAWs which ended around chapter 572, and I have to say that it seemed like the author dropped the series around chapter 563. From chapter 564-572 it skipped possibly hundreds of chapters of plots and jumped directly to a confusing finale. I can only assume the author wanted to drop the series but still wanted to stick some chapters in for a happy ending at least. As a result, none of the plot twists were resolved really. You can assume they got resolved by the end, but not how or why.

The mystery involving the heroine's birthmark, how she was born, who her real parents are, how she finds out about her brother, whether she resolved her own poisoned body, what happened to her evil step sister, and etc. Nothing got resolved. It was a big let down. It's like reading a series to the middle, and then reading the last page of the series. We are completely left in the dark about what happened from the middle to before the end.

It's an incomplete story as far as I'm concerned. I don't believe it's ongoing, because I haven't seen any new chapters, and it already has the finale chapters, so I doubt any more chapters will come.

I'm sorry to say, I wouldn't recommend this story at all. It was ok up to chapter 563, but since the author didn't elaborate more on what happened, it's simply not worth reading or spending any amount of time on reading either RAWs or translations. If the story was complete or at least maybe ongoing, I'd rate it about 3 star rank story. The characters are a bit flat and one dimensional with the heroine able to do everything and have the best luck. While her enemies continue to increase in quantity from one reason or another. The male lead is also a similar stereotype. Cold at first, then falls in love relatively fast.

Probably the best part of the story was really the beginning where her brother in law plays the prank of having the bride marry a pig. Overall, an ok if forgettable read, only markedly worse when you find out the story is missing plot points from middle to the end.

[collapse]
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5