Report Review
21 Reviews


Fanya
Fanya rated it
Rebirth of The Heavenly Demon
April 5, 2017
Status: c64
This is a story about a 70yr old martial world leader who reincarnates (in the same time/world) into the body of a 20yr old scoundrel. It is interesting because the MC was not a 20/30yr old from another world and he didn't inherit the memory of the kid when he reincarnated, so the difference in mentality between this MC and other reincarnation MC is what made this novel interesting to me. The reincarnation is not something used to explain his fortuitous encounter then thrown away later, he himself is OP... more>> due to his life experience (not just high cultivation level and talking treasures).

I can literally hear him going *tsk tsk* and grumble to himself the more he finds out about the 20yr old's past. Because he's a 70yr old expert, he knows what he wants to do and how to get here (fortuitous encounters due to life experience rather than ancient treasure). There's no harem and he's not oblivious to women, he acts appropriately to women his (now 20some) age and none of that "hero rescues beauty, beauty falls for hero regardless of age" thing. There's no paragraphs of world building, just a little explanation here and there when needed. There seems to be a conspiracy behind his death with hints sprinkled here and there but no grand reveals yet.

The events are similar to every other novel, the fun is in how he deals with them. He's clever and ruthless when needs to be, but reasonable and fair. He's not perverted and gives a lot of thoughts to what he's lacking. He also cares for his subordinates/family a lot, people that are not just side-characters that get thrown away after 20 chapters but we get to know bit by bit on a human level. It is well written, well translated with a good plot (that I hope will continue) and going at a steady pace. If I change my mind, I'll update this review. <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
The Human Emperor
March 23, 2017
Status: c121
Into another world AND back to the past! If this keeps up, then definitely a 5 star.

1. Yes they do martial arts/cultivate but the focus seems to be how he can keep his clan out of trouble between the struggle for the throne (instead of flying off to random cultivation/saint realms and stuff with no mention of his parents/clan after 20 chapters). There are paragraphs of cultivation explanation later and I find his 'destiny struggler' thing quite corny, but so far it haven't really played a big part yet so... more>> I'll pass.

2. OMG his family loves him! It's more realistic than the ones where the MC is an orphan that gets blindly hated/bullied by everyone. His parents are strict but not unreasonable and loves him, and his little sister is childish but treats him like a big bro. Other people also have complex feelings instead of it just being loyalty or kill.

3. He's a normal person! He's not an assasin/secret agent/poison genius that adopts to the situation and pwns everyone within 2 days. The first time he reincarnated he acted like a normal person would, don't feel like the family is his real family, not really adjusting to the different culture. But now that he's back to the past, he tries to use his knowledge to rise up. He is smart (with a good memory) but he still needs to think in order to convince people and find possible fortuitous encounters, no instant trust from random people or blind love/hate.

It's well written, well translated with a good MC and plot. It's got lots of potentials. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
What kind of story has such a long name and even with an emoji in the title???? Lol. That's what I thought and I started reading this out of pure curiosity.

Basically the stupid king took an interest and forced himself on a pretty maid, who wants to stay away from the pervert. The queen asked her friend, a kind noble whose wife passed away and is living with his daughter, if he's willing to marry the pretty girl to keep her away from the bad king. He and his daughter... more>> agreed.

And that's the story so far. We don't know about the personality of the MC yet, but the husband/daughter seems like the optimistic, laidback and carefree type while the rest of the people are normal. There will be places where you think "wait, what? Lol" as you are reading. It's amusing for a casual fluffy read.

There's no world building, amazing conflict/romance/revenge/OP MC or such if that's what you are looking for. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
World Controlling God
December 20, 2016
Status: c40
Ok, so I read a dozen other cultivation/martial art novels on here and this appeared in the Recommendations a few times. I ignored it the first few times since there's no review and has a 3.9 rating, but I couldn't resist and there's only 28 chapters translated so I read it all in one setting.

Yes, it follows the usual reincarnation and fast cultivation pattern, but I enjoy it because it does a good job between balancing everything. Yes it focus on cultivation but it doesn't spend paragraphs every chapter talking... more>> about it or how amazing MC's progress is. Yes there are harem candidate but it wasn't too perverted and didn't spend chapters describing how jade like everything is. Instead of everyone is an idiot and loathe MC, there is a mixture of people who love/hate/respect/look down on him. It avoided most of my pet peeves about cultivation novels, but it might also be what prevents it from becoming unique. It didn't go into super detail about cultivation, nor did it go deep with violence/pervertedness/scheming, so if you like those aspect then you will find this boring. It is pretty well written/translated, so there's that.

... actually now that I'm up to ch40, I'd say it's a 4 star instead of 5 but I don't know how to change the rating. It gets a little bland sometimes if you read these types of novel a lot due to cliche. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
The Grandmaster Strategist
December 20, 2016
Status: v4c29
I love this! If you like strategy or politics of royal court and war, then this is a fantastic read!

If you want action/cultivation/harem, this is not it. It does not follow the formula of MC reincarnates -> Everybody diss MC -> MC trains and OP -> repeat. There are no flat 2D characters here (the ones that, after reading 5 lines, you can clearly tell is a generic antagonist/follower/harem member etc). Everyone has their good points and bad points, goals they work towards and times that they are clear headed... more>> as well as hot headed.

Yes, the MC here is quite a genius and his sidekick's an awesome martial artist, but those are mentioned in passing and written to support the main plot, which focuses on strategy and politics as MC navigates around the court/battlefield and schemes here and there. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
October 7, 2017
Status: c9.12
I didn't read it for the yaoi, read it for the wonderful plot.

  1. Each chapter is an arc with a typical plot (imperial power struggle in ancient China, zombie apocalyse, drama in the entertainment industry etc) and the MC randomly comes into the body of a side character trying to derail the main character. The arcs are consistent in quality in terms of setting/plot/characters, concise with no chapters of fillers.
  2. The different point of view bought to light how some generic MCs that we kind of accept as righteous also have plenty of personality flaws. Our MC reincarnates into people with personality flaws and never at beginning of the plotline, so it's interesting to see how he gets out of the cannon fodder situations and remedies past bad actions (if he reincarnated into a bad person) to live mostly righteously while stay in line with character.
  3. There is an overall plot so it's not just a series of disjointed short stories with no relation to each other. With every story arc, he discovers/gains something and gets closer to his goal.
And lastly the translation is good. There are minor typos but it's a smooth read and I appreciate the translator doing one arc at a time so no weeks of waiting for random cliffhangers. The yaoi element is strong, but if that's not your... more>> type of tea, just skip the 3-4 paragraph where they get deep into it every arc and you'd still get a good story out of it. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
July 5, 2017
Status: --
Just another female transmigration story, is what I thought when I saw the summary. It's true, you've got your usual storyline, the ancient traditions, the extraordinarily beautiful MC trying to get out of things but somehow blunders here and there and always end up getting tangled with the cold male lead as well as a talking magical treasure.

What is different from other similar female-lead-in-ancient-orient story is that she's kind of normal. She likes gardening and doing woodworks, but she isn't one of those cold, ruthless female that's a genius at... more>> assasination/medicine/politics. She's rather timid and misses clues sometimes, trying to think of what other MC would do and trying to recall any poems or plotlines that would help her.

So if you like the female lead in ancient time stories, this is a nice read (well written and well translated). If you like the genius, headstrong female MC and get annoyed at the clueless/timid type, then try other stories. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
January 12, 2017
Status: c65
I usually check reviews before reading, but the reviews for this was either "everything is terrible" or "everything is amazing" so I decided to give it a try.

There's barely any mention of the life before reincarnation. Aside from a martial art technique and some clothing designs, there was nothing else from his previous life that was mentioned or bought over as of now. So the reincarnation part is vague and not well written. If you like knowing details of logistics of battle and stuff, you will enjoy this. If you... more>> don't care about how many slaves/horses they gain from each war and how they restructured the army, there are paragraphs and paragraphs that you can skip and miss nothing. Seriously, there were some chapters where I skipped the background, only reading 10% of it and didn't miss anything in the plot.

And onto the good stuff. Yes the MC is kind of OP sometimes, but I'm happy there's a progression of plot and strategies involved instead of the 500 variation of the same "jerk hate MC, MC fights and OPs then leaves, jerk from new place hate MC, repeat". The MC is not a cultivation maniac or 1000 year virgin blockhead. There are cultivation and there are women, but nothing perverted or paragraphs of description of women/how OP the MC is. The story starts with how MC accumulates money and friends while growing stronger, then slightly shift into war strategies as he travel to homeland with friends. This is where I'm at right now, I expect to see some juicy politics and more strategies later.

Aside from the first 10-20 chapters being a bit vague/loose in explanation and paragraphs of verbose description that can be skipped, it is a good story. Good plot line with interesting MC and well translated. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Top Management
December 31, 2016
Status: c75
I'm liking this, alot. I would say I love it but I need to read more chapters before that.

The glimpse into the future are fuzzy sometimes and does provide opportune moments for the MC. But MC is still a normal person that has to struggle, think and make decisions. He's not OP and not one of those that is confident everything will go his way since he knows everything, so it actually make you curious how the information will be used and how everything connects together. I'm also happy that... more>> the novel actually focuses on the plot with no excessively flowery description of the idol members or attempt at harem/relationship lines. I'm tired of novels where all female characters have jade like skin, starry obsidian eyes and are secretly in love with a clueless (or perverted) MC. He's just an office worker who's sincere about his work and doesn't sneer then ruin/embarrass every person he dislikes. It's not AMAZING but somehow you end up not only caring about the MC but also the people he cares about as well. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya
Our Second Master
February 24, 2017
Status: --
Read it. Just read it.

At 7 chapters, it's the shortest thing I've seen on this site and I thought how could something with only 7 chapters get 4.8 stars? It was cute, it was lovely, it won't cost you that much time but it will bring a tear to your eyes and a smile to your lips. It's a short story, so no long explanation about the world, back story or side characters. It's just a cute romance/transformation between two people who cares for each other. Just read it.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
The Wife is First
December 16, 2018
Status: c5 part2
So far enjoying it. The overall plot is similar to many others. Prince was betrayed, then realized his male wife that was neglected is the only royal one, goes back in time to correct his wrongs and chase his love. What I like about it is that the Prince is not all-powerful with everything in the palm of his hand, he's a good general but he knows he's a musclehead and needs the wife's brain/help. And secondly, he's not controlling/secretive/manipulative and is open with his wife, so there's not much... more>> dragged out misunderstanding or implicit understanding at one glance despite being strangers or something. It's rather refreshing so far and I look forward to seeing them working together to navigate the complicated/hidden political scene. :) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
I Said Make My Abilities Average!
July 5, 2017
Status: --
It's about a girl's adventure as she tries not to stand out despite her OP knowledge and skills/talent. The plot/characters are nicely developed, not too boring but certainly not innovative either. The only exasperating thing for me is the MC, who is your typical clueless/airhead. She wants to be average but people find out fast she's not cuz of OP skills she accidentally let out, then she ends up surprised about it. Here's the thing, it's mentioned she loves reading, then how come she never read any books about common... more>> sense things? She aced her magic/theoretical tests and loves reading, but doesn't know the magic she casually used is rare or what type of magic are commonly used.

So if you like fluffy adventure stories, this is a fun light read. If you hate the typical clueless/airheaded MC in fluffy Japanese stories, or OP MC trying to keep low profile, uh, maybe try something else. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Dominion’s End
March 5, 2017
Status: v2c10
An office lady that lived in post-apocalypse world for 10 years ended up in the body of a handsome man in a parallel world days before apocalypse happened. It is an interesting premise and good balance of action and humor. I'm not big on zombies/apocalypse but I like action/reincarnation/transmigration and this is a well written story.

Unlike some novel, it didn't just use reincarnation/transmigration as a starting point and completely ignores it after 3 chapters. While it does reference future events, the original/before MC was an ordinary women that only hides... more>> so she had limited knowledge and the plot doesn't become overly reliant on it or tries to follow it exactly (since she's in a different body/situation/location). Because you are looking through MC's point of view, the information is limited and there's no giant paragraphs of explanation of the world/leveling that makes your eyes glaze over.

The character interactions also feels realistic. The MC actually tells his brother/sister that he might be a different soul, and the brother/sister were reasonable/intelligent about it. The MC is not a super genius at age of only 15 (ok, maybe the original owner of the MC's body would've been if he didn't die, lol) or some wimpy/hapless/perverted bloke. The MC is awesome, within reason, and when he does make mistakes people scold him, help him explain and forgive him. They sit down to talk, they doubt and trust, and they help out each other, just like a real family. There's no generic/over the top misunderstandings/hating/loving incidents that drags on forever.

That's all I can tell so far. I look forward to reading more and hope it won't degenerate into generic brainless OP-action only stuff in the later volumes. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
The Dark King
March 24, 2017
Status: c354
Ok, it was a pretty nice 4 star story for awhile. The storyline is nice and the characters are not 2D/flat and there aren't too much superfluous explanations/fillers. The story could've been better written and the translation is alittle rough sometimes, but my main problem was with the main character. Originally he was ok, average clever and hardworking. There were some actions that he took that I think could be better executed, but different MC has different personalities so I accept that. What I can't accept/stomache in LNs are MCs... more>> who torture without reason and who rapes. This novel doesn't have any rape but

Spoiler

around c300 he was told that 5 parasites will make him level up. Each monster has 1 parasite and he remembered a super monster that died had 7 babies, 1 of which end up imprinting on him so he kept it as a pet, ok fine. But the other 6 he tore off all their limps as soon as they hatch out of the egg/he finds them, then waited until they grew old enough to have parasite then killed 5 of them to get super abilities and just left the other one (limbless). Killing monsters or confining monsters I can accept, but cutting off limbs of baby monsters and let them grow like that (and left one to live like that in the wild) is a little too cruel for me (and I'm not even one of those hardcore vegan that hollers about how meateaters are animal abusers or something). Oh, and he doesn't bat an eyelash at killing innocent people for his plan or to demonstrate his power.... which is kind of the same as some other cultivation MC I suppose

[collapse]

In anycase, the LN as a whole is a low 4 for me, and would've stayed a 4 if it just gets repetitive/boring, but the MC gets worse so I finally stopped reading it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
39 – The Legend of Sun Knight
March 4, 2017
Status: v1 epilogue
It's a cute story less focused on action/magic/knighthood but more slice of life style with different personalities interacting with each other.

Highly recommend reading The Legend of Sun Knight (prequel to this) before this, it's worth it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
A Step into the Past
February 19, 2017
Status: Completed
So, if you hate women being treated like objects and throwing themselves wailing into arms of the MC, who has no choice but to make love to all of them, some at same time.... the first 10 volumes will be very difficult to read. It was pretty much survival and make love, that's it. However, the plot was so good with actual progression (instead of same set up repeating) and it's so well written that I can't drop it. After a dozen wives/maids and having some of them die later,... more>> the MC settles down a bit and start to get more involved in court schemes, politics and fights which I think is the more interesting part. The characters are all very well rounded with their own thoughts and motives, it's interesting (and in some cases sad) to see how people changes and matures. The writing/translation is wonderful as we get more absorbed in the plot and character, the last 5 volumes were particularly nerve-wrecking and exciting.

Basically the the first 10 volume are kind of 3/5, volume 10-20 is where the plot/character develops and everything gets interesting so it's not just women&s*x 24/7, then the last 5 volume makes it all worth it and is a 5 out of 5. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya
World of Cultivation
February 2, 2017
Status: c315
He is so..... country bumpkin. Usual cultivation MC are decisive, ruthless and shrewd cultivation geniuses (or really wimpy hapless). This guy does not lean toward either extreme. He's had some lucky encounters and does work extremely hard, but his thinking and personalities are simple. I find him to be more realistic/relatable, but there are times when I'm like *sigh* why is he doing this instead of that?!?! he's so... country bumpkin.

The translation is good, plot is interesting, and side characters are realistic (not the type that blindly loves/hate the... more>> MC after 2 meeting). It talks about ling farming, formation and cultivation so there are a lot of details, paragraphs you in almost every chapter you can skip without missing out. 100+ chapters in and so far so good, I hope it doesn't derail into some generic stuff later on.

EDIT: nvm, he turned ruthless after he start building city, raising army and traveling the land, ch150-300ish, where farming is forgotten and he's now a formation master and fighter that loves money and doesn't hesitate to kill. But the plot is still relatively interesting and.... he's still so ignorant sometimes, lol. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Assassin Farmer
March 10, 2017
Status: c12
Cuuute~~~ Basically a girl from the ancient period reincarnates to the middle of the forest in another ancient period. She saved a talented assassin that was being plotted against and they end up living together. That's the story so far, it's very cute, lighthearted and soothing. Unlike other reincarnation stories, she didn't came with advanced knowledge or fortuitous encounters that makes her a ruthless genius. She's just a gentle, slightly naive, and kindhearted young miss trying to make a living with help of the assassin she saved.

It's too soon to... more>> tell if it will end up being a generic scheming female lead or cultivation genius assassin story, but it's off to a good start and a nice fluffy read so far. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Cub Raising Association
September 16, 2018
Status: c10
This. Is. Too. Cute!

Ok, so it's only 10 chapters so far but I love animals so I'm loving seeing how a human would raise these random baby animals from predator to fluff balls to a mermaid in an orphanage. Based on the novel description, I look forward to see how it expands. A star taken off because objectively, I think the story telling could be rounded out a bit more to turn it from good to awesome, cuz some parts are a bit dry and some parts are tear jerkers... more>> so it feels a tad 2D. Subjectively, baby animals? Yes please, I'll need another 200 chapters of this now. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Fanya
Fanya rated it
Gourmet Food Supplier
March 7, 2017
Status: c39
Darn it, ok fine, it was fun. I was doubtful of the novel description (... is the MC just gonna make egg rice every chapter?!) and it's not one of those dramatic/world building novels. Basically the MC somehow got a cooking system inside his head that allows him to make awesome food, but he has to level up and the first level is egg rice.

The plot (cooking system) is a bit sketchy at some point, no world building or dramatic plot or love life so far. It's just a fun... more>> and lighthearted read, take it as such and you will enjoy it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report