Report Review
16 Reviews


Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Shadow Hack
January 28, 2018
Status: c78
This is a terrible novel. It was good at first since the cheat item are unique and pretty cool. But the story when downhill fast. The MC suddenly changed in one night because his father lost his legs in war. And I like his previous personality better. Then he become a full retard. Killing people just for exp. He killed all those dwarf witches and invited a calamity. A lot of innocent people die and he just shrugged it off and said "many must labour for one to succeed".

This retarded... more>> MC keep on saying he needs to kept his power a secret but pretty much everyone in that world knows how OP he is already because he can't keep his ego in check.

The number of fluxer are small and they are the hope of their town. But bam the MC killed one of his classmate because the classmate challenge him to a duel. And everyone blame his classmate because it's his fault to be weak. Again, stupid reasoning.

All characters in this novels are moron. They keep on hating the MC for no reason other than to get the plot going.

Weird thing is this novel get 1st place in qidian ranking. Showing that the readers in qidian really have sh*t taste. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Divine Doctor: Daughter of the First Wife
July 21, 2018
Status: c224
First thing first, this novel is in no way resemble The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage ever. How should I put this. The plot is bland, stupid and distasteful. The characters are stupid including the MC who supposed to be the genius military doctor with OP cheat.

People hating the MC left and right for no reason. And powerful people like the emperor and ML liked the MC in first glance. There's no character depth whatsoever. The villains are stupid with their scheming that even a 8 year... more>> old can think of. I think the author lack the ability to think of any good scheme fight. It was way too generic, like poisoning with aphrodisiac and slandering with voodoo doll. And the way the MC counter it is also horrible.

MC is cruel. I fact I think she is the true villain in this novel. And she contradict her statements a lot of time. She mentioned that life is precious and unborn babies are innocent but she help people performed abortion TWICE. And I really pity the villain and their innocent family. Like that Qing Le and that unfavoured Duke. Tbh I dont think they are that evil. They are miserable enough and the MC pretty much destroy the family. There are also that Bu girl. The MC drugged her and sent her to be raped by more than 20 people. And she went to her home after that to mock her. And went the girl started bleeding excessively because of miscarriage, the MC chose to ignore her. So much for your doctor title. And she keep on extorting her sister for million of silver like a bandit.

I hate how people in this novel doesnt act their age. The MC is just 12 years old and people respected her like a deity and fear her. Her mom just followed all her instruction like a braindead zombie. Imagine having a 12 years old make a life decision for you. And the adults acts like a kid and need a 12 year old kid giving them advice. And how people keep treating the MC as adult is beyond me. It's soo disturbing.

In conclusion, I hate this MC. She's not ruthless, just cruel and a hypocrite. ML is fine. He's a bit pedo for falling in love with a 12 years old though. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Advent of the Archmage
July 3, 2018
Status: c200
Binged it in 2 days. I must say I'm glad I read this novel after night ranger. I was so disappointed with that novel, I dropped it months ago. The MC is cool headed which is a plus for me. He doesn't wantonly kill people if they doesn't give him face like other CN MC. For example he didnt kill his brother although he used to make him and his mother suffer for years.

The battle in the first 100 chapters are awesome. You can see how the MC kill managed... more>> his spell and limited mana and use tactics to kill stronger opponent than him. The system are ok but not too overpowered. It just give the MC points to increase max mana and buy some spells. But I'm a bit disappointed with the battle with that level 8 demon. It was build up really nicely with a lot of foreshadowing but the MC killed him in just one move.

Romance is a bit forced tbh. And kinda nonexistent in the end.

The system is not that complex. People just get stronger when they learn higher level spell. It's the way you use the spells that counts.

My favourite part about this novel is that the way it balanced the chapters from fast paced battle to relaxed crafting or learning spells chapters. I hated night ranger because the MC constantly moving to find better gear and fight villains. Even I feel tired when reading it.

Overall is an okay read. Give it a try. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Here Comes The Lady Chef
March 14, 2018
Status: c16
Dont be fooled by the rating. This novel is really awesome. It follows the same story of a reincarnated female MC that want to change the future after all her family was killed after her father was accused of poisoning the emperor.

The MC is just a commoner rather than some noble lady with a prince for fiancee like other female MC novels. Her father is a chef and she are also a chef in her previous life. After reincarnated she got a cheat where she can learn the recipe whenever... more>> she ate something.

And gosh the food porn in this novel is amazing. Thanks for the translator for giving the pictures and even recipe of the food after each chapter.

The best thing about this novel is the heartwarming family she had. Even her uncles and cousins are nice as compared with the scheming family in other novels. Her parents really dotes on her and her brother is a silly scholar.

There's no romance yet since the MC is still a 12 years old. But there are 2 love interest from her previous life

So far a solid read. The chapters are quite long and fulfilling. And the translation rate is consistent so far. Give it a try if you like heartwarming read and FOOD PORN. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Bringing The Farm To Live In Another World
July 23, 2018
Status: c89
Oh my god this novel is absolutely horrible. I can't even get past chapter 100. The MC is way too dumb. And his action is all over the place.

First day he asked the slaves to clear the mine to put some rabbits in it. Then he try to clear the field from getting contaminated. Okay good. The next day he just change his mind and asked the slave to get him some stones to build a wheat mill or something. And then he instruct the female slaves to make some... more>> friggin boat using weeds. And everyone there was soo dumb they just follow what he said.

Next come the undead beast from that swamp. He put all of his people inside his farm. And they still eat plain rice and oil soup while he has tonnes of corns and radish in his disposal. Not to mention other type of vegetables seeds that he can use. He's soo f**king dumb.

Then they went to the city to sell his radish. He brought all of his people with him. Sure it's still okay. But suddenly he disguised himself as a black mage to get people attention to him and getting unnecessary trouble. He can just disguise himself as a merchant ffs and nobody will bother him. And the story is soo inconsistent, his butler only took few days to go and back from the city and this dumb MC took weeks. And he's riding an undead crocodile that supposed to have unlimited stamina and run faster than a horse.

Oh yeah. He doesnt even bother to find more plants and minerals to put into his farm to level up. And he keep on complaining how weak he was because of his low farm level. Hah. Dumb MC. I'm soo pissed. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Gate of God
July 5, 2018
Status: c100
It started out good and I really enjoyed the period when he was a kid. But it went downhill really fast after the exam arc. It was soo stupid I think the author didnt have any solid plan for the story after the MC grow up. A lot of filler chapters where people keep on hating the MC and underestimating him over and over only to get face smacked after few chapters. And suddenly there's a demon in the exam and the MC killed him in one shot. It was... more>> so random I dont know what the hell is going on. And then MC get some powerful friends for no apparent reason. Sigh what a letdown.

For the pros, well the cultivation system in unique. There's no OP cheat, just the MC previous memory about chinese literature. My favourite part is the relationship between the MC and female lead, Chu Guyan. I like their love hate relationship since they was a kid.

Overall give it a try. I dropped it during the exam arc. Maybe I'll give it one more chance when I got the time. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
October 3, 2017
Status: c50
One of my favourite genre. I love all these transmigrated female MC novels. I like the MC. She's calm and cute. The ML seems like a childish brat due to his obsession for revenge. But I think he'll change later on. Reading this novel will make you hungry with all those food description.

HOWEVER. The chapters are too darn short. This is just like Hidden Marriage all over again. Better wait for the chapter to pile up and binge it later or you'll suffer just like me.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba
Am I A God?
April 26, 2018
Status: c85
This novel ia actually quite good. The cats have their own personality and funny. I love Dust Ball, the tiny tsundere cat. And George Matcha reminds me of Umaru chan.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
The Human Emperor
February 6, 2019
Status: c696
Hmm. It's actually a very good novel. The MC is like one of the best chinese MC I've seen. He is wise, calm and patriotic unlike those other hypocrite, horny chinese MC out there.

Now for the drawback. There's too much padding in the chapters just to increase word count. The problem that exist in 90% of webnovel out there. The author keep on adding unnecessary explaination and dialog. It's more prevalent during the war arc. The war arc could have been completed in 50 chapters but the author stretch it... more>> to more than a hundred.

The system is honestly unnecessary. It doesn't give much advantage to the MC, in fact it act as a nerf to the MC. And it's so hard to get that destiny energy or whatever.

All in all it was a good read. Probably one of the best chinese novels I've read despite all the flaws. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Martial Arts Master
October 12, 2018
Status: c450
Don't trust the ratings. People just gave one star whenever they saw a novel translated by Qidian. Ok let me be brief.

Pros:

  • AWESOME ROMANCE: Like seriously. This novel have the best romance I've seen in my years of webnovel reading experience. It's feels really real and I can relate with most of it. Here we can see how the MC pursuing his lover little by little, from getting her number to texting, how MC slowly make the girl open up to him, his effort for his girl and then there's more development after they establish their relationship and how they cope with it. It's fun, it's sweet and bring back my memories when I was pursuing my girlfriend in highschool.
  • Character Development is top notch. You can see the MC from being weak, shy and kinda dumb evolve little by little to be strong, confident, smart and calm. There's also the development from the side characters. They also develop together with the MC and not one dimensional.
  • Side characters is great. Everyone has their own unique personality and they are not abandoned after a few chapters like most CN webnovel. Even the rivals is likeable. They have their own motivation and problem on their own. And they will stay around and have their own character progression even after their fight with the MC.
  • Comedy is also good. It's fun seeing they joke around and banter with themselves. The conversation between the MC and his girlfriend can also be funny sometime.
  • Plot is excellent and beautifully paced. There are no awkward timeskip or plot hole.
  • The MC have a cheat but it's not OP at all. Even his master doesn't give a sh*t about his cheat. The MC is not overpowered as he also lose his fight.
Cons:

  • The translation quality is really bad. It's almost MTL level of bad. It's readable if you shut down your brain a little. But because of the bad translation, the fight scene become garbage as I cant imagine it well. Honestly I will re read this novel from chapter 1 if they got a better translator. Another thing the translator keep on dropping the novel for few months before resuming it because they cant take people criticizing their translation.
  • Power level is not properly explained or it was explained but I couldn't understand it well because of the garbage translation in the earlier chapters.
Overall I give this novel 10 star for the romance... more>> alone. Try it out. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Night Ranger
February 15, 2018
Status: c249
What can I say. This novel is actually my guilty pleasure. It's not great but it's not bad either. There's a bit of inconsistency in the story but it's not at that trash shadow hack level yet. The MC went batman at first but then completely forgot about it and use his skill openly like nobody business. It tried to add some kind of kingdom building setting but the implementation is quite poor. Seems like the author needs to do more research on that. The romance seems forced. But heck... more>> whatever. It got daily release and I'm out of thing to read daily anyway. Cheers. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
February 4, 2018
Status: c295
Ah so it finally ended. Thank you for this wonderful journey dear translators. The story is good and enjoyable. Full of fluff and are not too heavy. What caught me hooked is the daily release of the translation which gives me something to look forward to each day. Whenever I felt like sh*t, getting into trouble at work or having some relationship problem, this novel would soothe my soul and make me forget about my problem each day. Yeah the story did become a mess in the end after the... more>> MC gave birth to her son with all the deus ex machina with the plant power, other transmigrator and whatnot. But I'm just too emotionally attached to this novel that I can't say bad word about it. Definitely going to re read it soon. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Super God Gene
December 12, 2018
Status: c1040
This novel is not a great novel but it sure is fun to read. The world building is amazing and easy to understand. I like how each arc is short. Meaning that we don't have to waste reading 50 chapters for a single tournament arc. However because of the short arc and the pace of MC moving from place to place, some things are not explained fully. And the MC interaction with other supporting characters seems superficial.

Romance is not that great but at least it's not a harem. MC flirt... more>> here and there but he's still faithful to his girlfriend. I personally like how he doesn't always get whatever lucky encounter he got. Sometime he needs to get back to camp and grow stronger, sometime the item got stolen by other powerful creature. But I agree, the MC have ridiculous luck but it's the same with thousand other xianxia MC anyway.

Overall a good novel to read if you're sick with cultivation novels. Not having a harem is a big plus for me. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
November 27, 2018
Status: c450
The novel is really good at the start. We get a fat NEET that got a system to improve himself. I was hoping to see how the MC change and prove himself to the world. But nope. The author went fully retard after 10 chapters. He started to skip on details regularly. MC suddenly lose weight from an obese otaku to a handsome hunk in just 1 week. It's friggin ridiculous. And the girl next door fall in love with the MC in just 4 days or so after he... more>> become handsome. And then he get into school and everyone with female reproductive organs falling in love with him left and right in just a day.

The MC himself is a super hypocrite. He cares for girls that he only meet once for no reason and the girls will fall for him after he said some cringe bullsh*t. He adopted a sister after spending only 1 and and a half day together with her when the girl loss her memory.

Author is very bad with timeline management. The MC get his cheat, lose weight, got a job, enter a school, learn martial art, fought with mafia, getting an adopted sister, have 13 girls and a trap falling in love with him, write a short novel, getting his novel published, write another novel, learn cultivation, get another adopted sister, fought demons, learn how to draw, making a video game and guess what? All of these event happened in just 2 month!!! I dont know how many hours the MC get in a day it's definitely more than 24 hours.

The author skip on details all the time making the plot seems half assed and have no depth. The characters feels really fake and out of place sometimes.

I hate Chiaki. Why? Because of her useless banter with MC. The author thought it was funny but nope. It's giving me a cringe and just wasting words.

After chapter 400 everyone suddenly awakened their own mystical power or something. And then some dungeon like thing appeared out of nowhere. Just proving that the author run out of idea.

The MC is super weak because he use 99% of his time just to please his harem instead of cultivating or learn new skills.

I wish this novel can be better. It have a lot of potential but the poor writing make it hard to continue. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
Overgeared
May 31, 2018
Status: c604
I wonder why everyone hated the MC though? The MC is a whiny, self centered, can be an idiot and pretty much human trash in the beginning. But yet he's not a bad guy. He's not perfect like any other xianxia MC that are godlike but kill everybody who talk bad about him. He's just a human being with no social skills and pretty weird way of looking at things due to his traumatic childhood. Overall I liked the MC. In fact I like him more when he was a... more>> trash because he's too funny. Lol. I like how he literally become billionaire but still thought eating ramyun with 2 eggs is a luxury. The misunderstanding are also quite funny. And the side characters has distinctive personality and likeable.

The romance can be a bit forced. Like how two of the most beautiful woman in the world fall in love with the MC after he save them once. But it's not as forced as some xianxia imo.

The writing is good. There's multiple pov and not one dimensional. So it's hard to get a boring chapter.

Fight scene is good. The plot and the story progression is also good.

Overall it's a good novel. Give it a try. You'll love it if you're looking into an MC with personality instead of perfect godlike MC. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Expatamoeba
Expatamoeba rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
November 27, 2018
Status: c450
The novel is really good at the start. We get a fat NEET that got a system to improve himself. I was hoping to see how the MC change and prove himself to the world. But nope. The author went fully retard after 10 chapters. He started to skip on details regularly. MC suddenly lose weight from an obese otaku to a handsome hunk in just 1 week. It's friggin ridiculous. And the girl next door fall in love with the MC in just 4 days or so after he... more>> become handsome. And then he get into school and everyone with female reproductive organs falling in love with him left and right in just a day.

The MC himself is a super hypocrite. He cares for girls that he only meet once for no reason and the girls will fall for him after he said some cringe bullsh*t. He adopted a sister after spending only 1 and and a half day together with her when the girl loss her memory.

Author is very bad with timeline management. The MC get his cheat, lose weight, got a job, enter a school, learn martial art, fought with mafia, getting an adopted sister, have 13 girls and a trap falling in love with him, write a short novel, getting his novel published, write another novel, learn cultivation, get another adopted sister, fought demons, learn how to draw, making a video game and guess what? All of these event happened in just 2 month!!! I dont know how many hours the MC get in a day it's definitely more than 24 hours.

The author skip on details all the time making the plot seems half assed and have no depth. The characters feels really fake and out of place sometimes.

I hate Chiaki. Why? Because of her useless banter with MC. The author thought it was funny but nope. It's giving me a cringe and just wasting words.

After chapter 400 everyone suddenly awakened their own mystical power or something. And then some dungeon like thing appeared out of nowhere. Just proving that the author run out of idea.

The MC is super weak because he use 99% of his time just to please his harem instead of cultivating or learn new skills.

I wish this novel can be better. It have a lot of potential but the poor writing make it hard to continue. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report