Report Review
39 Reviews


EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Grasping Evil
October 17, 2017
Status: c1188
Best novel I have read, yet - 9.7 / 10.

Very interesting MC that follows his own path, doesn't care about the public opinion about him and doesn't become hypocritical as the story progresses like most Xianxia MC's do. He has tons of women by his side, but don't think that he is a perverted hormone driven teenager, quite the opposite actually - women usually lust for him, and even if he takes girls he does it because they want to kill / rape him (that's the rule of this world... more>> basically).

There are no pointless filler chapters - no boring auctions, throwing insults, bragging about abilities for several chapters, etc... They are also very long and and about 3-4 times bigger than the average ones and almost the entire chapters are spent on explaining new stuff or plot development.

Plot progression is sufficiently fast, many stuff are introduced and explored in earlier chapters, which brings me to my next point - don't be repulsed by the massive term introduction in first ~50 chapters, it all calms down very soon and new stuff are explained moderately and progressively.

Author also prepares everything several hundred chapters before. You have to keep track of nearly everything because it all comes back later on and fits into the story - most of the stuff is foreshadowed and almost 60% of the side characters are important because they are gonna be reintroduced later on and have some major role in the development of the plot. Story is almost always interesting and something is happening all the time (be it exploring the dao / samsara, getting inheritances, battling... it's always there)

There are tons of mentions of daoism and especially samsara slided trough the novel - MC's past life plays a big role as well as his parallel world self later on in the story. He also gets tons of inheritances and powerups and is extremely buffed later into the story, but so are the enemies he is facing, and every time he jumps realms to fight someone stronger than him, its backed up by his powers or prepared stuff he brought

The only bad thing I could find here, is that he doesn't spend too much time with his harem and that's what lowered my rating from 10 to 9.7

Would recommend this to everyone that likes novels with mass inheritances + power ups, dao-immortal based cultivation system, big harem (and actually using it) and samsara / parallel dimension exploring. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
King of Gods
December 17, 2017
Status: Completed
This novel was pretty good, but there were some obvious errors that would make readers think of it as a generic xuanhuan. I'll have to put my review under spoiler because there are detailed descriptions about MC, side characters and romance :

... more>>
Spoiler

Firstly, about the MC - While the eye does make him pragmatic, calm and even moderate in most situations (he doesn't kill pointlessly nor does he spare people that will make troubles for him later) it also makes him emotionless which blows away any possible romance for the next 1500 chapters. Though I have to give my props for author making him stay consistent for the entire novel - he doesn't suddenly change his mindset at any point in the story.

Secondly, world building and cultivation - I don't know about others, but I wasn't disappointed by how author introduced the world and new cultivation levels. Everything was systematic and imaginable (from village to city to country to continent). True, he could have made it more diverse, but since he didn't make any mistakes with this I don't mind it at all. There weren't sudden jumps in cultivation nor was MC able to fight people several realms above him (he could fight people a little stronger than him, but it's because he had other aspects in a higher realm than his actual cultivation (qi))

Thirdly, the side characters :
About antagonists - there were some he met who were just there for him to beat up and power up, and they were soon forgotten afterwards. I can't say they were all totally stupid since most of them had actual reasons to attack him and not only because he is the MC. Also, there were a few major villains which had actual relevancy spanning over several arcs and they presented quite the deterrence to the MC, not just because they are powerful, but also because they know where to hit hard and use their brains.
For his aides and servants, they weren't very bad, as they had development with MC, had screen time and actually followed MC to where he went (they stayed relatively relevant for several arcs). On the other hand, that only applied to major supporting characters as most others were only there to help MC in 1 situation or help him power up.

Fourthly, the story - It was pretty decent, I didn't mind the generic start as it wasn't so terrible, and later on it started getting better and better. There was some repetitiveness in the story, as after he went to every wider space there would be a tournament with the ''chosen'', other than that, it was pretty nice - there were some plot twists and surprises here and there. I'd say there were only 1 or 2 short boring arcs, others were all relatively interesting.

And lastly - romance. Ugh... well... I can't really defend it here in any form, as this is where author screwed up majorly. While I did point out that the eye made him emotionless, he did show some sort of affection for his ''love interests''. Unfortunately any sort of romantic development gets blown away because his girls are either cultivating, he is cultivation, or he is in some war or chase... And even when he finds some time to talk with them he usually says he needs to search for the other girl or it's about some cultivation tips. Beside the 2 main love interests, there were plenty of chances to develop romance between him and other girls he met and spent tons of time together, but sadly the damn eye (his low EQ) prevented him from doing that.
Also, I don't know why some people but harem tag and polygamy because he only has 2 confirmed love interests and he didn't marry them until the last chapter in the raws.

Overall i'd rate this novel 3.5 / 5 stars, but i'll give it 4 because it kept me interested for almost the entire story.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Talisman Emperor
March 16, 2018
Status: Completed
Story was extremely good in the first 500-600 chapters, with author introducing a variety of laws, treasures, techniques and other cultivation stuff, which... unfortunately... he couldn't keep up with it. He started forgetting a lot of things which were interesting, made massive inconsistencies and by the ~1300s it started getting boring which turned into a full on chore at ~1900s.

I planned to give this a 2/5 but thankfully the author made an awesome ending which rounded up and explained almost every mystery in the main story and there are 23... more>> more side stories which is are pretty interesting and show the daily life after the MC became the supreme ruler of the universe which almost none of the xianxia novels do.

Conclusion - read the first 600 chapters and if you get bored by then, just read the last 3 chapters and the side stories. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
October 16, 2017
Status: Completed
Pretty decent novel, has good world building, funny interactions of side characters, enjoyable game-system, even the ending is decently closed with the side stories, however one thing made my rating drop by 2 stars - the MC.

Let me explain:

... more>>
Spoiler

In the first ~100 chapters he was acceptable, being the outcast - he was farming levels and killing mindless monsters all by himself. But then a little later (like 20-30 chapters later) author decided to slip trough his idea of MC being the Hero out of nowhere trough some paragraphs. I really didn't like that since it was established that he will do everything himself in the first quarter of the story, and not for the benefit of others (humanity) but ok, it was still acceptable for me.

MC also says that he doesn't have a problem killing monsters since they are mindless and all, but would feel some kind of negative emotions when killing some being that has intelligence (like any normal human would), however all that comes the drain later as MC kills thousands beasts, half humans and even humans (the race he said he would protect durning his hero phase) without remorse easily, literally 20 chapters after he said that, and that number increases to millions, billions and by the end I think that number broke trough even trillions. Some of those guys aren't even against him, he just kills them for the minuscule amount of EXP that almost brings him no benefit no matter if they are good or bad. Also, later on he becomes a major tyrant, slaughtering everything that even has the IDEA of going against him.

But no, that's not the worst part. The worst part is, that when MC kills them, author STILL makes him look heroic by doing that, and sometimes he even laughs it off as killing off ants.

TL;DR - basically MC is extremely evil and with author trying to make him look heroic and good while doing that makes him look absolutely hypocritical. I can easily stand evil MC's but I hate it very much when they are hypocritical, and even worse, when author justifies their hypocrisy, so if u want to read this novel just be prepared for the chaotic evil tyrant MC opposed to the loner one that is described and ignore authors ramblings about heroism of MC.

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Reincarnator
August 2, 2018
Status: c408
I have mixed feelings about this novel mostly because I kinda feel betrayed by my expectations of it. It started out as a 5/5 but then as the story progressed, I noticed that one of the elements that attracted me to this novel the most started being cast out more and more - the game element. While in the first arc you more or less felt like this was a game world with the status bar, stat progression, items, abilities, etc... Later on, it became more and more residual to... more>> the point that the status bar and the stats weren't even mentioned for a hundred chapters. The other bad thing was the lack of emotions in the story, I feel like the collective consciousness of, not just humans, but almost all sentient beings was very pragmatic and utilitaristic.

Ok, now that the bad thing is out the way, i'll have to also point out the good things about the novel.

First of all, the MC. I like how he was done very much. He might is like a deus ex machina, but he actually does the part very well in a way that makes the story interesting. There isn't much bs with him, he always acts out according to how the author made him, which is rare in KR novels since authors usually like to change their MC's personality to the one that fits the situation the most so he doesn't feel "evil" and always has the moral high ground.

The side characters were also interesting. Author spent much of the time developing them, he has shown us almost every major antagonists and supportive characters inner thoughts and what are their plans for the future. Though, maybe the bad thing was that the author spent too much time developing them since most of them won't be too important in the later arcs.

The story itself, is another very positive point about the novel. Every arc is much different than the last, and I feel like this is the only novel where I felt, in every beginning of the arc, - "holy shit, there is no way anyone can get out of this", I mean the first arc was already insane difficulty and each successive arc is several times harder. To give you a brief example -
Spoiler

in the red zone / second arc, the humans live on an island surrounded by toxic water and there are 4 monsters the size of mountains that have almost-human intelligence and are on to the goal to screw humanity all the while humans plot against and try to kill each other. The only reason humans are actually still alive and not all dead is because of the op mental fortitude of the MC and his knowledge of the future.

[collapse]

Read this if you like stories with seemingly "no way out" and a badass op MC that knows what to do and doesn't stray from his character <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Wortenia Senki (WN)
November 18, 2017
Status: v3c3
This novel feels more like a CN one then JP, as it's focused more on world and logic of MC then emotional aspect of characters. However it didn't do a good job especially with the MC in my opinion, as it tried to make him too ruthless and cold but on the other hand normal and kind, it feels too contradictory and uninteresting in some parts of the story. That just doesn't go together and the translator doesn't help with making it better.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
Firstly, I have to warn readers of inconsistencies in this novel, TL-or tries to correct them whenever he can but still, it's annoying when stats are messed up several times or the names (and even gender) of the characters as well as the laws and abilities of people.

Now about the world and people, it feels like a milder version of The Dungeon Seeker. Humans are extremely evil and treat everyone terribly (even other humans) , however even the other races are manipulative and cruel and have tons of negative traits.... more>> Now, I say it's milder than Dungeon Seeker because there is shown some sort of goal of those evil actions beside ''being evil because I can'' and there also some characters that are genuinely good (so far only the humans in the kingdom MC is in are terribly corrupted and greedy, we still don't know if all of them are like that).

As for the MC, he is pretty insane and hypocritical, perverted, cruel and has a twisted sense of justice but at least he stays that way so far and nothing that happens in the world changes his mindset.

I said insanity and twisted sense of justice because MC always wait for people he wishes to kill to first get on his bad side (or as he calls it : ''Get revenge points'') before he strikes them back since it gives him a reason for doing it. This already gets proven in the first volume when he
Spoiler

waits for the princess to drug, torture and order bulky soldiers to rape him before he gets his revenge on her.

[collapse]

About hypocrisy, he is ruthless to men, but becomes somewhat soft when dealing with females. I think this quote from him describes this trait pretty accurately :
Spoiler

''To be frank, apart from my village and my first love, I don't really care about anyone, but only after this many people are here, I can become serious. I have to search for someone I can feel attachment to. As I thought, I can't come to like anyone unless it's a cute girl. Are there any girls that are my taste and will make me cry and shout when they get killed ? ''

[collapse]

As for the his mindset overall, I would say it's quite on point for the world he is living in and that it's better than most ruthless and twisted MC's have because he knows he is ruthless and doesn't sugarcoat it in any way. Similarly to my last paragraph, there is also a quote that shows how he feels about his current life :
Spoiler

''That path has already vanished long ago. I chose a different path.I became the hero of Healing, degenerated into a brute, and even while being self-aware that I'm a brute, I'm doing whatever I want to my heart's content and will grab everything. And also, I don't regret a single part of it. I have money, I obtained the best women, and both my body and spirit is free. I obtained overwhelming power. As if there is any happiness better than this!''

[collapse]

Also, for the people who think that his second life is all about revenge and that he lives only for executing it, this is what MC has to say about it :
Spoiler

''After I finish my revenge, I will live a long life, and living a life without anything remaining after my revenge is lifeless. I only think of revenge as a hobby to become happy''

[collapse]

Now for the harem, I wouldn't say it's too good, since half it are his slaves and are brainwashed to love him, but at least there are much interactions and emotions shown from them and each girl has different traits then the other. Also, he doesn't treat his slaves too terribly like abusing them, he actually wants to improve them and because of that he often has a dilemma because it's a double-edged sword if they some day try to betray him. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Great Demon King
November 4, 2017
Status: Completed
First of all, let me talk about the the MC,
He has an unnatural change of attitude (like most CN rebirth MC's do) - shy NEET in modern age transforms into a ruthless killing machine over a small span of time. Granted, the demonic cultivation kinda helped him adapt his mind to a brutal world, but still u don't simply go from a nerd to a heartless butcher in a year...

Also, he has massive attitude changes several times. He shows random acts of kindness and acts all goody-goody with people he never met before for no reason at all, and he also randomly slaughters and threatens other people also for no reason which also gets him into unfavourable situations and even compromises the lives of his companions.

World building is pretty decent, as it has the default trope of lower to higher worlds and it's easy to understand.

The romance also isn't very good as half of the girls that are in his harem got in love with him when he raped them and they unnaturally develop feelings for him (basically they hate him and with a few words of seduction from him, they instantly change their mind). I consider them "Friends with benefits", perhaps excluding his teacher who he seems to have actual romantic feelings for. The other women are just there for him to get stuff done and get his lust sated. Oh, and to have someone to protect, as well as to have someone admire him and tell the readers how godly he is, it feels too much like a wish-fulfillment self-insert story.

As for cultivation there is no need for me describe it too much as it is similar to Coiling Dragon system (mages and warriors and then god ascension).

Overall it isn't so bad, it wasn't too repetitive, MC was for the most part acceptable beside the errors I mentioned above, the story was decent and the important side characters had their own development. The only bad point was how authors take on romance. I'd recommend it to people who don't want too much profoundness in a novel, but are there for pure enjoyment or relaxation.

ch1 - ch50 - 2 / 10 star rating,
Beginning is kinda sketchy, didn't like the whole ''prankster'' thing he did in the the school, every character felt as if they had mental retardation (even the MC, only less than others). Thankfully, that went away relatively fast when he went to a forest (around ch50).

ch50 - ch800 - 6.5 / 10 star rating,
From then to the middle part of higher realm arc it's pretty decent, however there are some glaring errors - near the end of Profound Continent arc he is all over the place, he compromises the safety of his friends several times by offending higher forces and two times the entire clan of his pet dragon got annihilated (the second time nobody was left alive) because of his brashness.

ch800 - ch1027 - 5.5 / 10 star rating,
The start of higher realm arc wasn't very good, as when he left for it, he didn't even tell his friends and girls about leaving and before that he was also separated from them for quite some time, however, at least he brought them with him later on and helped them cultivate.
There is also the stuff about him offending people he shouldn't. I mean it happened earlier, but now its just on a much grander scale and he could have avoided it (like there was a case when he could transform into another person (with the ability he has for a long time now) and do the assassination but no, he did it in his real appearance and even revealed most of his trump cards) . Another bad point was the final villain - she has appeared in the last chapter, and in the same chapter got defeated...
But there were some positive points, like the funny interactions between him and his sons (5 zombies and skeleton) and him helping an ugly girl get out of her bad situation (that's very rare in CN novels, since most mc's get repulsed by ugly girls, or they are made to be villains). Also, I was glad that the sons were also developed and had some screentime and they unexpectedly also had love interests.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Immortal
August 2, 2018
Status: Completed
One of the best CN I have read on this site. It has nearly everything done great, like world and kingdom building, character development, planning, foreshadowing, even romance (which is rare for xianxias).

The thing the separates this novel from many other (generic) xianxias, for me, is that the novel starts with the MC that is old and actually acts according to his age - he can control his emotions fairly good, deeply plans his fights before he actually does them, unlike many other MCs that just jump into the fight... more>> brashly and expect plot armor to save them, and doesn't act like a hormonal teenager around beautiful girls.

The other thing I liked very much was the world / kingdom building. While the actual cultivation itself was kinda meh since
Spoiler

after he reached gold core he obtained a beast that devours treasures and people and dissolves their energy which lets him breaktrough so he didn't need to comprehend stuff about higher realms for breaktrough

[collapse]
so it wasn't very profound like in some other novels (Er Gen's works for example) , everything other was done fairly well. It was also nice to see that author incorporated MUCH of the Chinese folklore and mythology into his story and had those characters / objects / mythical beasts have backgrounds similar to those from actual mythology itself.

Romance, was surprisingly, well done (for a xianxia) . The only other CN novel that i've read and had beyond average romance was Zhanxian, so this was a big plus for me since it's very rare to find xianxias like these.

Most side characters, as well as the antagonists, were very interesting. They could think with their own brain and decide what's best for them and each of them had their own backstory and pursuits, so they weren't there just fill screen time and praise / insult the MC.

The plot itself was also very good, it was fast paced and much of the stuff was foreshadowed, so author wasn't pulling stuff out of his ass and there weren't much fillers. Though the biggest problem i've had with this novel (same with Zhanxian) was the ending (and the last arc) -

Spoiler

i dont know what's up with these two authors, they had an amazing story and progression up till the last arc when they rushed everything to hell and left with a very open ending, this one more than Zhanxian. Though at least in this one author came up with a plot device to speed his story to the end, but still I was left with a hollow feeling when he just chopped up his ending and left the rest to our imagination...

[collapse]

Though the very last part wasn't very good, I still enjoyed this novel very much so I will give it 5/5 stars and recommend it to anyone that likes fast-paced cultivation, rational MC and kingdom building done right. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Limitless Sword God
October 17, 2017
Status: Completed
It was an interesting story.

Out of all the aspects of the novel, I liked MC the most. He had a very different personality from the generic xianxia MC's. He does everything swiftly, doesn't talk too much to his enemies, coerces them to do some things with fake promises... He only stays true to his words to his girls and people he can trust back.

World building also wasn't bad, but the worlds weren't that much explored, only the one he was born in, and one more but for a relatively short... more>> amount of time.

Harem was... I don't really know how to describe it... There wasn't very much development between him and most of the girls (only like 3 of them), but at least at the ending it had a nice closure -
Spoiler

he married them all

[collapse]
.

The story itself wasn't too boring, the only part that bothered me was when
Spoiler

author wasted over 400 chapters to help his parents (the same ones that left him to rot in a clan full of people that hated him) bring his sister back, and in those 400 chapters, he offend all kinds of influences that had stronger people than him.

[collapse]

Recommend it to people that like to read about MC crushing his enemies quickly with no long bickering and competition with words included. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Against the Gods
October 17, 2017
Status: c960
Novel starts of amazing and keeps being like that, however the quality deteriorates as the novel progresses. Same stuff gets repeated, newly introduced side characters are the same as the ones before (that had the similar role as them), MC acts the same in similar situations...

... more>>
Spoiler

MC is multiple times on the brink of death, gets a powerup / inheritance, comes back at LITERALLY the last minute before everyone dies / is crippled and saves the day. It was amusing at first, but then it just became repetitive and expected.

[collapse]

The worst thing (for me at least) about the MC is that he becomes somewhat hypocritical as the story goes on, which bothers me the most since I hate hypocritical MC's.

Overall, if you like hotheaded MC, mass powerups (inheritances), easy harem, tons of fights, consecutive breaktroughs and higher realms, this is the novel for you. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Doom Lord
October 17, 2017
Status: Completed
The novel was pretty decent. There weren't too much exciting moments, but neither were there disappointing. Recommended if you like slow plot progression.

Good points of the novel:

... more>>
Spoiler

1. This is one of those rare novels where in apocalyptic setting humans actually battle monster and other alien species rather than other humans, as I say this, the depictions of human cruelty were realitevely small and nationalism was almost non-existent.

2. MC is pretty good too. One of the most moderate ones out there (in xianxia at least). He isn't a goody two shoes but neither is he going on massive slaughtering sprees. When he goes on to conquer other cities and countries he doesn't just kill off all the opposers, but if you don't join him, you are gonna be defending against alien species all by yourself in the future.

3. Side characters that are close to MC get a decent amount of spotlight, and it's shown how their abilities progressively develop.

[collapse]

Negative points of the novel:

Spoiler

1. The almost non-existent romance (seriously there is even less romance than in Er Gen's novels), though it might not feel so bad, because he didn't really have interaction with any other female character beside his future wife (and even that was in extremely low amounts).

2. There are several skills and artifacts that are valuable and could help him and his city in several situations but aren't even mentioned once more till the end.

3. All the other planets / worlds were left totally unexplored. (The entire story was on Earth, only time he was in other world was trough the instance dungeon and that was for ~15 chapters)

4. Ending was both rushed (many stuff were left unexplained and MC promoted more than 2 major realms in several paragraphs on the last chapter) and open (he just ascended to higher realm with his wife and left to us readers to imagine what kind of adventures he will have there), but again - it might not feel so bad since he basically finished everything he needed to (albeit it was in a few paragraphs of the last chapter)

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Martial World
January 8, 2018
Status: Completed
The novel was good, but it could have been much better. It had great potential, especially with the world building - concepts, techniques, treasures, alchemy, refining, inscriptions and many more, however 90% of that got forgotten midway in the novel. Quality also deteriorated near the end, because it seemed author started to rush it but it was bearable as the ending was rounded up quite nicely considering how bad it can get in xianxia and xuanhuan.

Main character was good, he did start getting one-dimensional near the end, but it was... more>> still okay. In the evil world he was in he could be considered a hero. He didn't kill or a single innocent person, all the people he killed were evil scum, he was there to save the oppressed in several situations, however his main ideal was pursuing the martial arts, everything else was secondary, that was especially so in the end that he forgot about taking vengeance, taking care of his family, enforcing justice on the oppressors...

The best thing I liked about this novel was the world development and cultivation - it was extremely diverse and complex. I didn't read IET's novels, but I heard that he had unreasonable sizes which also appears here in Martial World. Beside that, the concepts of alchemy, inscription and refining were also very amazing but they were sadly pushed away and only remembered on random times when it was convenient for the plot. It also had a very unique way of cultivation and other parts that accompanied it (will, laws, body, soul...) which I found very interesting.

As for the romance and the girls, well... it was at least relatively decent. While the author didn't portray it very good, it was still passable for the genre this novel has. As for the girls, they were had different personalities and their development with MC was interesting (especially so for the 3rd and 4th wife), sadly, however their uniqueness slowly started to disappear after they were "conquered" by the protagonist. I also didn't like how he neglected his children so much. I mean he had 4 of them, but we only got to see 2 of them on screen doing something and even that was minimal...

Overall, it entertained me for most of the story so I could neglect most of the bad parts which other xianxia and xuanhuan posses so i'll give it 4 stars. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Overlord (LN)
September 1, 2018
Status: v13 afterword
Epic novel. The detail and hard work author put into it is just crazy, I mean each chapter has over 30k words in it so you can see how hard he tries. While he does take lengthy breaks between each volume, their quality stays the same if not better so the wait is worth it.

Now, for the main character of this book - he is a skeletal magician who leads a vast evil organization, and he is meant to feel like the final boss of a game. Because of that,... more>> those readers who don’t believe in saving people without a reward (as is common in LNs or anime) and put themselves first will enjoy this book. While he does appear evil and calculative to common people (humans) and inteligent and divine to the residents of Nazarick, his inner thoughts are actually quite comedic. I mean he is trudging along, barely knowing what he's going to do and trying to look good, and no one realizes how many mistakes he's making. He's sweating bullets and his enemies are gasping that his intelligence knows no bounds. I would say the stat he has maxed out the most is luck, since it's impossible for so many things to coincide to his plans.

Side characters are also very well done. Each one has their own personalities and their own quirks so they don't feel bland and the thing that connects them all is their loyalty to their master (MC). While they are blindly loyal to Ainz, he tries to teach them to think with their own heads and not just take whatever he says as absolute truth. My favorite side character has to be Demiurge who is basically like a combination of Sora and Shiro from No Game No Life but extremely strong (and evil). I love how he plans things 1000 steps ahead of the enemy but it's funny how he thinks Ainz is actually planning 2000 steps ahead and worships him for it, while he just makes up things on the go. Actually, here is a paragraph from the v9 which perfectly explains how Ainz is feeling while he is dealing with Demiurge's plans and his over-the-top opinion of him:

Spoiler

"Hooh... Ainz-sama’s plan, huh. I see. A special plan concocted by someone with the same name as me. Making the Baharuth Empire ally with and struggle against Nazarick was part of that plan too, huh... I have no idea what that’s all about. If only I could ask this Ainz fellow about it!"

[collapse]

Concerning plot, it is very well thought out and well executed. Many things are foreshadowed several volumes before, the detail in every chapter is intense and we see every characters thought process. The only bad thing I could find is that author took too much time on some of the side stories and details. While some people might like it, I wasn't very happy that author dedicated an entire VOLUME to a side character.

On the other hand, there were some volumes which I liked very much. For me, the best one was undoubtedly volume 9. It was packed with so much comedy and action that it is amazing. To paraphrase it briefly, it was something like this :

Spoiler

The Emperor trying to rationalize things about Nazarick that make no sense. Because they don't. They're all from video games and anime and just popped randomly into his world.

Why are these elves crossdressed? Because their designer was really really into that. Why are the women so beautiful? Because they were designed that way. What is Ainz scheming? Nothing. He just wants to be a really good host. Why are they so powerful? Because they have higher levels in an RPG video game.

And he comes away from the whole thing going, "Ainz is a really hyperintelligent politician of unmatched subtlety." When really, Ainz was just cluelessly picking his nose. And Demiurge is off to the side cackling, "JUST AS PLANNED."

[collapse]

Would recommend this novel to anyone who wants to read a masterpiece with intense detail, foreshadowing, well thought out plot and character and is tired of wish-fulfilling isekai novels with self-righteous MC whose author tries to justify and heroize every action that the MC does. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
September 1, 2018
Status: Completed
I have mixed feelings about this novel. It started out fantastic, I liked the game elements, the protagonist, the comedy and even the side characters but it started getting downhill somewhere mid-novel.

As some people pointed out, MC's character started changing, drastically. Though I got the feeling that he changed more into a mindless slaughterer than he was before. He just killed everything that displeased him even in the slightest and plot armor was always present to justify his actions. It felt more like reading a story about a bland KR... more>> antagonist that usually appear in these novels but author tried to cover it up by overpraising and justifying MC's actions.

The other thing that disappointed me was the ending and how it was executed. There were subtle hints dropped here and there before the ending about the final villain and what was going on, but man did author screw up with the plot twist.

Spoiler

Near the end, you find out that the world that the story has been taking place in is actually a virtual one created by the people from the "real world". MC is presented with a choice to either restart the virtual world where he lived his entire life, or say screw it all and let everything disappear. Instead, MC is all of a sudden able to affect the "real world" from the virtual one and magically solve all problems, effectively destroying all the tension and foreshadowing built up trough half the story rendering the ending extremely disappointing.

[collapse]

Even with all the problems i've had with the novel, i'd say it isn't bad to try out if you want a game-element based novel and are sick of regular pushover MC's. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
No Game No Life
March 24, 2018
Status: v8
First of all, let me say that this was one of the best, if not THE BEST novels I have read. The only (slightly) bad thing was the insufficient world development, but it was relatively unnecessary since the story didn't depend on it too much anyway.

First of all, the characters - they are all unique and each one has their own thought process that doesn't depend on the MC and all of the side characters have some sort of role they play in the big picture along with them each... more>> having their own dreams, ambitions and aspirations. The MCs are pretty good, with them having some of human traits powered to the max (intellect, memory and personality reading) but they also have very obvious and crucial weakness (can't living without each other, being hikikomoris and NEETs...) so if they fell OP at some point, that feeling quickly goes away after they are their weaknesses are revealed.

As for the side characters, I was very surprised by how much personality and screen time author put to develop them. All of them have some sort of a role in every arc and battle and don't just serve to be there and waste words. Reading about them isn't boring as you see them struggling to make do with their problems and how their thought process works.

As for the plot, it's one of the strongest sides of the novel. It's very good, as everything is foreshadowed and planned out before it happens (sometimes, the planning and foreshadowing spans across volumes so it says how much author thinks ahead). I'm always excited when I see MCs having their plan prevail after the (seemingly) hopeless situation and what's more surprising is that even the side characters know about the plan and they contribute as much as they can (be it behind the scenes or not) , which makes it even more interesting after the enemy is beaten and everyone knew what was going on instead of them being all surprised and amazed by the MCs.

World building isn't bad, but it's not that important anyway since novel focuses much more on mentality of the characters and them outsmarting each other, rather than who has the stronger fist (treasure / weapon / technique...)

Romance was ~meh, but it's not rage inducing since the (male) MC doesn't have very good (if any) understanding of love, which is one of his weaknesses that he is trying to overcome trough the novel. Tho, I can't say anything about ecchi since it was thrown here and there trough the novel, but nothing over the top (+18).

Overall, recommend this great story to anyone that likes to read novels that have good character personalization and development, tons of thought-provoking arcs, plot with tons of foreshadowing and planning and some relaxing ecchi here and there.

Also recommend you watch anime and the movie. It doesn't deviate (too much) from the novel and it has great animation. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
December 17, 2017
Status: v7c2
After seeing all the extreme comments for this novel I wanted to check it out to sate my curiosity. I started with manga and not only was it not bad, but it was great ! It had a good start, showed promise and I personally liked the character designes very much. Then after I finished 16 chapters of it, I started reading the WN, and even the first few volumes which were adapted to manga were subpar compared to it. WN strengthened the impression of MC being bullied by his... more>> classmates which increased the readers dissafection towards them and ultimately wishing for revenge on them when MC becomes OP which wasn't fulfilled. Manga on the other hand didn't focus too much on bullying and bad aspects of MC's life before transport so even if MC doesn't take revenge it won't feel so underwhelming. But even with that, I can't say that first 4 volumes of it were bad, as they were still acceptable and relatively promising.

However then comes the bad part when Shia comes into picture... After she appears, I get the feeling that author decided to change and fk up everything. Plot goes on too fast - there isn't any breaks between storylines, MC's IQ drops too much as he casually reveals important secrets to strangers and even people that were hostile to him a moment ago, other characters are very dumb and irrelevant - they exist just to talk 1-2 sentences to the MC, there is too big of a transition of ''naive slice of life'' in 1 chapter and then in the next the cruel brutality of story is shown (author tries to depict people in the worst possible way with their greed, gluttony, lust, etc... but it just doesn't work as he very soon switches to slice of life of a 16-year old highschooler)
From then on it's basically a culmination of shitty wish-fullfilment and tons of stereotypes from shounen genre that makes people who were expecting something original from the prologue sick. Personally it was a total let down, because the beginning and the manga were so awesome, but thankfully I was already prepared for it and didn't have high expectations as most people already said it was gonna be bad.

MC in the first and second volume felt cool and very badass-like but after that he turned into a shitty tsundere which everyone could play with - he didn't have any dominance in relationships as when the girls ordered him to do something he always does it while grumbling and he lets off other people too easily which brings me to my next point - The ruthless protagonist tag is absolutely unecessary, as he is far away from it because he lets people talk sh*t about him and flirt with his girls in front of his eyes without punishing them severely (or some times at all) while before that he was killing everything for a slight griveance. After the first several volumes he's basically like a spineless shounen protag with a short temper.

For the side characters, the only one that helped MC in some way is the main girl. Everyone else feels like a hindrance, they exist only to lenghten the chapters, to enrage or to slow down the MC. But even the main girl becomes annoying later as she forces MC to do things he doesn't want and to be nice to other girls who are very annoying to him while she was being jelaous of how clingy they are to him just a second ago... But beside the main girl, others can also make him change his mindset very quickly which transforms him into the ''gonna save everyone'' type of guy which should be totally out of character for how he acted before that.

Also, about the translation -
Spoiler

before bakapervert it's extremely bad, as there has to be at least one mistake in every sentence written, so I also won't recommend this novel for grammar nazis or people that get triggered when they see an amateur grammar mistake.

[collapse]

Thought about rating it 2 / 5 stars just because of the start, but I just can't...

Sorry for the rant, but I just had to take it off my chest, as I was very disappointed by how story went even after all the warnings... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
October 18, 2017
Status: Completed
Good novel, kinda generic start, but a little later it just gets better and better. Er Gen had quite a lot of stuff foreshadowed in the mid-story, however, near the end the quality kinda deteriorates and it

Positive aspects of the novel were the great cultivation system and the comedy, however the negative ones were the world building (i just can't properly imagine the Mountain surrounded by sea in the vacuum of space) , borderline Gary Stu MC and the romance (don't expect too much romance in any of... more>> Er Gen's works). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Shura’s Wrath
October 17, 2017
Status: c554
Explosive start as other Mars' novels, but as always, the quality deteriorates over time.

I had fun reading all about the development of the game elements - getting new gear, better skills, leveling... but near the end that gets completely forgotten and replaced by ... more>>
Spoiler

alien

[collapse]
stuff. The harem was somewhat also good, similar to his other works, the girls at least get some screen time for their development, but later on, their life basically depends on MC and they can't exist without him.

Worst thing that comes later is when he goes to
Spoiler

Japan. He offends their players with almost no reason at all - just because they are Japanese. The nationalism is also heavily exploited there, MC all of a sudden feels extreme love towards his country that didn't do anything to him, and the governing body maltreated him and made first half of his life miserable.

The other bad part was at the end - tons of stuff were forgotten from the game world, and the ending was very rushed, and the authors answer to all the stuff that was forgotten was that he didn't feel like writing it.

[collapse]

Basically, if you can ignore blatant nationalism, plot holes, rushed ending and if you like game elements, harem, powerups... then I would recommend this novel for you. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
EvilGenesis666
EvilGenesis666 rated it
Martial God Asura
October 16, 2017
Status: c3200
Novel was ok for the first 1000++ chapters. MC was ruthless as it was described he would, but he was brainless as were the arrogant young masters, sect leaders, elders and basically any enemy MC faced.

... more>>
Spoiler

However as MC entered Holy Land of Martialism, his character took a drastic turn - he slowly but surely started becoming a White Knight / SJW. Basically he started being all forgiving to people that did worse things than the ones he ruthlessly killed before. It was even worse when he entered ordinary realm, he almost forgave a sect that slaughtered infants for cultivation, thankfully their leader killed them all to increase his power. And then came the current arc - the upper realm where his true family resides. As soon as he came into contact with them, 99% of them were absolute bastards toward him, some betrayed him, and several young masters and their grandfathers tried to kill him. Later on when he got out of that situation and got enough power to take revenge on them, he basically left them off with a slap on the wrist, and they are currently still making problems for him.

Ok, that was enough rambling about the MC, now the other bad point - the story overall. As the novel progresses the story becomes extremely repetitive and all the characters are same - young masters will be arrogant and offend MC, their fathers / grandfathers along with their sects will support them no matter how stupid what they are doing is, and some kind elders MC never met before will come to save his ass every time he is in a cinch (doesn't have enough power to face them off), later on he will get powerup and get revenge for them insulting him, earlier on it was killing and torturing them, now its just letting them leave in shame or in extreme cases put them in high quality prison (being sarcastic here). The repetitive plot got so bad recently, that u can basically read the title of the chapter and know anything that's gonna happen in it.

TL;DR Read first ~1500 chapters (till Holy Land of Martialism) if u like ruthless mc's and brainless enemies and then just stop reading it, as it becomes unbearably stupid.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report