Report Review
18 Reviews


Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Gourmet of Another World
July 20, 2017
Status: c600
Spoiler

One of the foulest character designs of Chinese novels. MC doesn't have any expression even when people want to kill him repeatedly. He's always being threatened and targeted yet he is like "meh". Seriously I would've given this negative 3 stars if not for some side characters. Like any typical Chinese fantasy, author has incorporated the MC in the weakest corner of the world with the weakest power and gradually MC climbs up in terms of power and experience. We should expect that MC will also develop his mentality and mature but NO! He's still expressionless. He still carries that "meh" manner. Can you imagine reading over 600 chapters of his air of infallibility?! He has an OP dog as a guardian who is very lazy and not around of him everytime he goes out and a metal puppet which is not that strong when he needs help, yet he doesn't have any concern. It's as if life itself is boring and he's alive because someone wants him alive. I don't know how to say but I feel irritated when I read about his actions towards the enemies. I would like to write more but I am out of words to describe the poor style the author has introduced.

[collapse]
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Gate of God
May 10, 2018
Status: c210
Another worse novel. I bet 100 bucks that author didn't plan anything when he was writing this crap. The story goes in a direction that is randomly thought out instead of using common sense or any proper strategy. "Why are people behaving like this? Because author wants them to." This is the message this novel transmits. Same as other novels, the MC gets booed by strangers even if he accomplishes extraordinary merit. I just don't understand this type of mentality from Chinese authors. Do they want recognition from the society... more>> very much? Are they really that much of a loser in real life?

It started off in a good direction but very quickly went downhill. No, more like it jumped off the cliff. MC wants to seat for the exam yet he doesn't know that an ID card is necessary for that. He prepared himself for the exam for 8 years! He doesn't know the content of both written and battle exam yet the author has wanted to make it pass as a comedic plot. There are so many stuffs that makes you want to drop it. A terrible piece, I must say. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Battle Frenzy
November 24, 2017
Status: c350
Oh my god! Just what happened to the author?! Did he get hit by some grandma behind the head? This is ridiculous! This novel; at least this one I had more hope for but got disappointment in return. After some chapters this novel takes the clich

d route of typical Chinese novels. Which are these you ask?:

    1. Young master this, young master that. Everyone must agree with young masters of the great families or they will get assassins on their asses.
    2. Like all the repugnant novels, this novel also has intense mockery and face - slapping. Nobody can't make a mistake while they speak! Every words they say in their life counts! It isn't visible on first 250 chapters but later this stuff happens so frequently that makes one to drop the novel. Also the MC gets so much mockery for no reason. Everyone mocks him and his team, literally everyone even after MC and his team defeats their opponents they still mock him. The announcer mocks him, random guy in the audience mocks him, this guy that girl; fffffuuuuuu.... *sigh* This is the hair pulling part of the novel. Everyone acknowledged he is strong yet he gets mocked repeatedly as if author had a blood feud with the character he created.
    3. The MC is really something. People want to harm him but he has nonchalant attitudes about it. This is a spoiler; he once had an assassin visited his home and almost got done in but the assassin failed. Expectation should be the MC telling and getting help from other people but he decides to be silent about it. When I read upto this, I was wondering which bred of dog did the author ate while writing the novel. It sure took his commonsense away.
    4. Sci-fi? Lel! Forget about physics, author doesn't even have any thread of commonsense and it is visible. I wish at least one Chinese author would agree to the Newton's 3rd law F=MA. If anybody did, these novels would be very pleasant to the eye.
There are many other situations but these are the stuffs that struck me the most. Anyways, I have lost the enthusiasm for this novel. Now I am just waiting for it to be fully translated and get over with it.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
A Guest in a Ghost House
November 27, 2018
Status: c164
I was already very disappointed when I read upto chapter 39. MC is a fu*king moron and a REAL loser. All the side characters are same as him and have no original personalities even though some of them are ghosts. MC seems to forget all the important stuffs he should remember as a main character of the story. For example, ... more>>
Spoiler

MC gets a promise from a ghost where if MC helps the ghost's granddaughter, he will give MC unimaginable benefits but this moronic MC who only works in a ghost house for only 5 hours forgets this even though he said he would help. You wanna know the reason the author cooked up? He's tired! Lol! When I read upto that I truly wanted to drop this novel even though it sounds like an insignificant case as the novel just started. Want to know why? His life was changed because he would get 3 creepy photos in a fu*king envelope where it would show deaths of random people for every 3 days! Although he works for ghosts but they don't even talk to him about his problem whereas this random ghost might be able to protect the MC and his family from supernatural crisis. He forgets the most significant thing in his life.

[collapse]

Another one with other characters. I will just directly quote the lines in the spoiler.
Spoiler

"At the same time, I soon came to realize that Zhang Xue died after she had seen the rat's body. Then it was Chen Qianqian that saw the rat's corpse. After finding Su Qing, we agreed to help Su Qing find her child, we temporarily felt safe but completely ignored the dead rat." Since the whole thing is inside the spoiler bar I will explain. MC stumbles into some high school kids who went to the haunted house where MC works and they played some chinese version of Ouija sh*t and summoned a ghost for some stuff. It was okay since MC was there and the ghost's were all mc's acquaintances but one of the girl got somehow haunted by some mysterious ghost and got killed. Before she died, a rat was killed some day before and the girl got killed exactly the same as how the rat died which shows that the perpetrator reveals how the victims would die before it kills them. Now, there's another rat which has been killed in a queer fashion and that rat's corpse was dumped in another girl's home indicating she would be the next victim and would die the same way as the rat. But our moron MC and his moron police buddy completely forgets about her. Guess what happens after that? Yep, the girl got killed. A totally avoidable death if MC could've fixed his short term chinese memory.

[collapse]

Another one just after this incident.
Spoiler

Now the third victim is a guy, one of the high schoolers and he also got targeted the same as the first 2 girls. So author decided that the MC and his police buddy would put him in a jail so that he could be safe. I lost 5 point of IQ after reading upto this. There's a freaking ghost rest house where MC works and he could've taken the kid there but chose not to do it and proceeded to make false charge with the police. He literally gave up the safest place where the kid could stay and decided to go after some complicated arrangements. The thing that baffles me most here is that the police guy discuses his future courses of actions with bunch of teenagers alongside MC. I get the mc's involvement in his cases but why the f**k would a police asks for advices from kids?! It's not one of those cancerous Japanese stuffs where high school students decide everything. These are bunch of kids who got scared by the queer hauntings not Detective Conan. In addition to this, there's an extra spoiler after everything happens. Can you guess? Yep, the kid dies in prison. Let me quote it directly, "I told Wu Jian what happened that night. He said that he had a good idea, he told me to relocate to the ghost house. I thought this was a good idea, particularly because I figured most ghosts would be afraid to enter a place with so many other ghosts."*smh* At this point, it's clear that author is making cheap excuses to kill these characters.

[collapse]

I am sure to find more of these super, obvious plot holes in the future but one thing is for sure that this novel is not written well. I admit that the horror was the only part that kept me going although most of it felt boring to me. Lastly, the translation quality of the novel is very very poor. It's to the point of missing the story.

Update: upto 164 chapters there are no indications of MC arming himself to fight off supernatural cases. I will be dropping THIS!! <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Way of the Devil
August 7, 2017
Status: c50
Update: c180___4 star

Damn it's awesome!

Upto c50____2 star

It's good. MC is not like those typical characters. One thing that I dislike very much about this novel is that MC is self-centered. He doesn't care about the family that he lives with and his half siblings. He doesn't show any concern about them. Author has repeatedly written that he is not the real owner of the main body so the new "person" will not have to sympathize with anyone. Well I am not against this type of behavior but the new "taken... more>> over" person eats food and spends the family's money to which he doesn't show appreciation which I think is the trademark characteristic of an immature teenager.

Another issue is that the MC can subconsciously feel that some stuffs happening around him are eery no matter where he goes yet he still casually goes around without enough protection or gets drunk from liquor. He's as if exuding "throw at me whatever you have and I will be able deal with anything despite I am weak as a child" vibe. I think he knows he has a plot armor somewhere lying around. The author hasn't shown any smartness in these areas.2 <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
The Defeated Dragon
October 14, 2018
Status: c80
A very hypocritical MC. Constantly mocking the aristocrats and yet behaving like them. Honestly, I don't "see" any fire in his eyes. All the stuffs he does for his territory seems to me that as if all of it has been forced onto him. I don't think he would be able to develop his territory this far without the time to time "quest". Any Japanese authors would've made their mc's achieve much more by chapter 80 than this guy. Without any flexible mind, I guess MC will probably rely on... more>> the plot armour/intervention to develop himself. This novel has already given me very poor impression from the start. Except for the characters, I can't seem to find any proper excuse to return. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Stealing The Heavens
October 12, 2017
Status: c98
Typical xianxia stuffs yet it gives you a different vibe. If you're tired of reading slice of life novels and want to read something that will boil your emotion, this is a good choice. That's it from me. Simple.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Parallel World Pharmacy
October 3, 2017
Status: --
I dropped the novel because I couldn't stand the beta behavior of the MC. He is in a freaking different world and he still debates the "Japanese" law of "pharmacists can't administer patients". Making excuse of this and that. He has the power to perform the act yet he hesitates. As for the story I have found it foggy and it jumps around without any depth. That's all from me.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Red Packet Server
August 5, 2017
Status: c135
There are already many reviews written here and I agree with most of them. I will just write the aftermath of my situation after reading this novel. After reading upto chapter 150 my Intelligence Quotient (IQ) dropped by 15 points. I don't always measure them as they are not reliable but I had the urge to examine myself again after reading this "piece of art". I literally lost it at the part "when doctor looked at him he knew this young man will be able to bring him back". I... more>> don't remember the exact lines but it was something like that. Such an amazing thought by an educated person who is ignorant of the existance of the deities and stuffs. Well, this is a setting in a fantasy world so I won't complain much.

I am curious about a point which is very relatable in every Chinese novels. It's about the social strata. The way society is divided is ridiculous. Rich can get away with anything, connection is very important blah blah... Authors should be getting inspirations from the real world unless they are trying to fictionalize the settings yet almost every author seem to have the same setting. Are there no such rules in China or they can get away because they have rich parent? I am not trying to criticise China. I am just confused and curious about their social life. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
The Tale of the Ghost Eyes
December 10, 2018
Status: Completed
An interesting novel with good story outline and nice integration of Chinese culture, especially Taoism. But as it can be seen that my praise for it doesn't match with the rating that I have given. The reasons are:

1) MC is a super annoying character. His childhood personalities are so annoying and undisciplined that it makes me question his way of upbringing considering in Chinese society where cultures are very strict. Most of the readers would think of it otherwise with the excuse of him being a child but I can... more>> hardly do that as I have read the whole novel. This annoying personality of his doesn't go away even when he steps into adulthood. It actually curbs after 400ish chapter but the whole novel ends at 560th chapter. So basically I had to endure whilst not smashing my phone.

2) Although this novel has good outline but its absolutely inconsistent with the gradual flow of the writing. One example, The novel's name is "A tale of ghost eyes" which gives idea to one that MC might have some supernatural power in his eyes. It's true as in the description it's written that he opens the "ability to see ghost" but later this ability seems to be very common for those who can harness nature's power like Taoist, witches, Buddhists etc. Then where's the problem one might ask? Well for first 150 chapters author gave the kid MC an irreplaceable position of spotting ghosts to the "experts" around him. This feeling also got stationed in me as a reader but after that it seems that every person who dabble in supernatural can acquire this power. No, more like it comes to them automatically. So here I can't help but feel annoyed as the author broke his own "rule". All those important position the MC held in the hearts of those experts are nothing but joke. Even in the end his eyes aren't that special as author wanted it to be.

3) Oh! Here comes the most common hypocritic line in Chinese novel which I can't help but point it out.
Spoiler

MC'S godfather tells MC to solve a ghost which is hiding in his body whereas MC wants to keep it inside him. Godfather further warns him that his practice speed might fall where MC replies to him that he doesn't want fast speed but wants to do it slowly so that his "path" stays firm. You know it's one of those proud chinese lines in wuxia novels. The funniest thing is around 300ish chapter or so MC gets involved in a dangerous case and has gotten his ass whooped by ghosts. He then laments of his bad luck and slow progress and then breaks into bawling like a twerp in front of his girlfriend. I wouldn't have remembered this if I hadn't read the whole stuff in one day. This made me laugh at the author's inability to write stable characters and plots.

[collapse]

4) This is the point where I am very unhappy with this novel as well as with most "modern day" tagged chinese novels. The mc's attitude towards strangers is very disappointing. It's true that first impression is important while talking to unfamiliar people but here mc's take on socializing has made me question his ability on the most common social norm. It is apparent that MC wants people to be subservient of him while speaking. If a person is humble to him then MC would talk to him but if a person is arrogant then MC would also act alike. This makes me question the commonsense of Chinese author (s). These strangers don't owe him anything yet he wants the same personality template for everyone. The author has unknowingly incorporated his unsociable behaviour in his creation. Yes, it's "unsociable" because that's not how humans interact with one another. Everyone is different. The idea of being humble to the MC and flattering him is bringing out the hidden narcissistic side of MC which can be found in the author as well. Another one is the lack of respect for other people. MC was teamed with a Buddhist monk who was kinda fat and like every Chinese novels MC, our MC started to take jabs at him for his appearance. It would have been fine for one or two fat related jokes yet I couldn't help but notice the lack of respect for others in mc's tone in multiple occasion although the author tried to pass it as small jokes. I kinda got angry at this point, heck, even Harry showed a little respect for Dobbie and didn't treat him like everyone. It's visible that author tried to draw amusement by treating others like crap.

5) MC is super stupid as well as super lucky. I feel like without "special attention from author" the whole novel would've been finished by 250 chapter. MC is supposed to grow up by dealing with supernaturals in both power and as a human being but he keeps getting stupid and his actions bring inconvenience to others. This shows the author's inability to write character development. Also sometimes author messes things up while writing mc's ghost enemies. Enemies taking time to kill off the MC, low powered enemy using "miraculous" skills yet still gets beaten etc etc. It's a mess!

6) As always the TERRIBLE ENDING! Author literally got tired of writing and gave up the book. Things were actually getting well but he stopped writing.

There are many many more plot holes in the novel that I feel like if I try to mention, I will go crazy. All in all, it's a good one for those who wants to stay occupied but beware of getting a drop in IQ! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Everlasting Immortal Firmament
October 27, 2018
Status: Completed
My god! What a load of crap these 5 stared reviewers spouted! I admit that upto c165, this novel deserves a maximum 3 star. Maybe if I can be a little flexible, the chapter count can go upto c200. After that it becomes the common (stale) Xuanhuan plot. You come and kill my people, I will do the same. You slap my face, I slap yours etc etc. MC goes and makes enemies out of almost everyone he meets and yet these "enemies" seem to wait till MC becomes stronger.... more>> It's as if they have become stupid or there is a pact somewhere to deal with mc's people later.

MC has been eulogised by many characters as a cunning and smart person and yet he makes stupid choices repeatedly. Author even made some excuses for him such as "principled" and "I am not like them". I am 100% sure that 90 percent of the conflicts MC has with other people can be solved after a small discussion over a cup of tea. What I mean by that is for the MC and his enemies have weak reasons to go after one another's throat. World building is crap heck even some of those trash Xuanhuan have much better plot than this.

Now here comes what I think about other side characters. 2 - dimensional, boring as heaven. All of these characters have forced personalities. No flexible minds or whatsoever. All the enemies MC has are stupid and they are all waiting for MC so that he could kill them.

This novel is a major, major let down. I just don't understand why these freaking authors want to have a macho, all rounded main character for their novels. Why can't they connect their work with reality? Would it kill them? Would it earn them less money if they don't write these self righteous cucks for a mc?! These squinty bastards need to have a life to understand how the world works! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Divine Throne of Primordial Blood
August 19, 2017
Status: --
This novel isn't about a "Blind" protagonist but someone who couldn't see for a period of time. It's misleading to label it as such but that didn't degrade the novel that much. Of course, at many nodes of the story it would feel like if the MC was a true blind it would become more interesting.

It's really an awesome novel. I have to say that I like how the author executed the plots and the characters roles. A smart mc; not a hot blooded, self-righteous cuck, arrogant guy who consider... more>> himself humble despite being a perfect hypocrite. I also like the writing and the translation of the novel. It's pretty much a full package. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Dreadful Radio Game
December 31, 2018
Status: c191
So many users rated 5 stars whereas I have rated it 2 stars. It kind of looks out of order amongst this crowd but I do not regret my decision. May be I am being too harsh on this novel as I have only read upto c191 but I think I should give it a fair judgement. The reason for my low rating is mainly because of the world - building of the novel. Every fantasy world needs some logic no matter what kind of templates an author wants to... more>> set and such reasoning has been used by most of the popular novelists for their works. Honestly even in those clichéd Xuanhuan novels, it's clear that those authors have set up step-by-step rules. In this novel, although everything seems fine at first but as the gradual passing of chapters, things become very messy. In fact author has tried his best to bring out more "Psychological" aspects by introducing some horrendous, out of order concepts but if one thinks carefully, these scenarios which are created to give more impact are hiding the shortcomings of the novel. Now, reaching at c191, I have already felt my hunger for this novel saturated and do not have any wish to continue anymore. The cause behind is the main component of this entire novel which is the "mighty" Dreadful Radio. Here, Dreadful Radio is the most mysterious and "fair" (sarcasm) lord of enigmas in the story where characters are like disposable trashes. Everything and everyone has multiple nature and only fools would take the face value as granted. This is one of the main concept I think that ruined the novel. This type of mentality exists amongst all the participants which I can't help but find ridiculous. Super hard tasks yet no one to trust. The clues are so little in fact in the latest case, we readers, can absolutely agree that the clues were actually appeared to the MC due to the plot armour. It's like those infinity genre novels but written by an author who just wants to kill characters. I do admit that author has done a good job in writing a progressive story but he has forgotten that this can not veil what he has done with the novel. If one takes a filter and separates all the elements of the novel like character, friendship, thriller etc from mc's personality then one would find nothing but mc's stupid madness and absurd luck. MC started as a serial killer, then a blood - sucking vampire then a short-term racist tool and then headed towards a human flesh-eating character. I am okay with a psychopath protagonist but I kind of wanted someone whose personality is close to "Hannibal Lecter", not a moronic character. By "Hannibal Lecter" I mean someone who is highly-intelligent and has sufficient control over emotions but this MC should be called a petty child. He gets agitated and easily makes mistakes but always seems to get away with his recklesness. Logically he should be dead long ago but author doesn't want to end the story early. Like any other chinese novels, this one has a lot of unnecessary deaths (3 to 5 survivors out of 20 participants per story) which clashes with the world logic yet he never corrected himself. What does this absurd amount of death suppose to symbolize? I know its a fantasy but I can't seem to get over it. Another thing is the difficulty in mc's tasks is out of control. Whenever he gets summoned by the radio, some sort of "out of calculation" mishap will happen. Level of difficulty should rise steadily yet he seemed to be playing in Hell mode from the beginning. Further situations like dragging mc's friends in the horror plot kind of made it harder for me to read ahead. I honestly wanted them to be safe as they are much saner that the MC but what can I say? The complex situations surrounding MC are so ridiculous that one can't help but question why author is doing that. It would have been a lot better if the author can take things easy but he chose the most complicated way one can only imagine.

I wanted to write more but I think that's enough considering I haven't crossed chapter 200. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
For now it's 3 star from me. The main reason it's not a 4 star because the MC is trying to "master" 1 weapon which is sword. May be I read the novel half-heartedly but I think it was "master" than the word "use" was used in one or two chapters. Anyway its not that I am eager to make correction, mc's this decision appears very stupid to me. He knows what his skill is so rather than being stuck with one weapon he should be using multiple. What's more... more>> surprising is that his partner doesn't even objects to his decision. This is what made me deduct 1 star. Battle scenes are not written properly by the author and the pacing of the story is kinda dull to me. Unless author decides to introduce more interesting things in the novel, this will be like one of those typical crap. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
My Daoist Life
December 26, 2018
Status: c185
I agree with one of the reviewers here whose ID is "cyndor" but I don't know why this user voted 3 stars for this novel. At the beginning, this novel showed some promise but like every other Chinese crafts, it breaks. It LITERALLY BREAKS! So many flaws, be it characters, story design, world - building, cultivation etc makes you wonder why the author has done that to his work. I honestly, super honestly want to ask the author for his decision to write the novel. He could've approached so many... more>> styles yet he chose to self-destruct. I will neither tire myself out by writing flowery words nor I am thinking of entertaining curious readers about the exact situation of this novel. One Word:
Spoiler

it's simply crap.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Path to Heaven
June 30, 2016
Status: c33
I don't hate the novel. Jokes that are supposed to be funny are not funny at all. MC is too poor (financially) which I think is affecting this novel very much. MC is living on the bread line but his character got involved in the cheapness so much that the jokes that is made out of it has pretty much ruined the novel.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Strange World Alchemist Chef
January 8, 2019
Status: Completed
This is not the cooking novel you're looking for but the regular Xuanhuan style "you kill me I kill you" type of thing. It could be predicted by anyone that author has given up on the novel from earlier chapters. Honestly, I kind of found it funny while reading the very last chapter. I wasn't a bit angry at the author because he already transmitted his inability to the readers, so he didn't go "Mad Snail".
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Evanbond
Evanbond rated it
Assassin’s Chronicle
May 26, 2018
Status: c291
This novel either got sidetracked or author prioritized story telling more than other sectors. Nobody understands the mc's cultivation path that includes us readers. Plot development is really slow and lots of unnecessary stuffings. One thing likable about this novel is that the author took time to develop and give common sense to the MC and the side characters.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report