Report Review
15 Reviews


Eristol
Eristol rated it
The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage
August 11, 2017
Status: Completed
Compared to the others of it's genre like Chu Wang Fei and Wei Yang, I absolutely loved this one!!! Although I do love the other two compared to the rest of the overkilled rebirth novels, this one however has more feel to it! The story was described well, and the protagonist's personality is cold and calculative however, not the usual bland coldness like most others as she shows her competence in firmly protecting those close to her and defending against her enemies while destroying them slowly in a very unorthodox... more>> method, that is to say unlike others where they set up various outrageous incidents and frames the enemies like some palace concubine, she simply acts precisely and calculates the possible outcome and takes advantage of the situation for getting rid of them. Also, I personally don't like over abused main characters as their pain makes me wish for them to die to end their sufferings, so I like the background of the story. The female lead also does everything with deep meaning in them which shows how farsighted and a deep thinker she is. In Wei Yang novel, I didn't like the female lead's obvious tendency of extreme methods, however here the way the female lead acts is believably subtle and her revenge is mostly she does the same thing to her enemies that they were planning to do to her. Also, other than a certain aunt of hers and granny, there aren't any overly shameless and idiotic overbearing villains here unlike the ones in Chu Wang Fei.

The most favourite part is the male lead in my eyes. His personality is extremely refreshing compared to the usual bland and cold iceblocks. A lazy, attractive and smart delinquent but a noble type. Kind of like Chu Fei Yang but much better, as Fei Yang's stalking tendency kinda pisses me off and also unlike Fei Yang who goes "Hmm... this girl is interesting! So I will go after her", the male lead shows interest in her but just interest, he is as always focused on his ambitions as the female lead is focused on her own. Their interactions with each other are extremely thrilling everytime as they usually get caught up in each others hidden schemes and gets wary of each other but occasionally helps each other out of whim. Their interactions almost makes me think of two buddies playing chess game together or something along the line. But whatever they do, they do on their own. And their abilities to read each other is extremely well, as the male lead often just watches the show and comments that the female lead's enemies have misfortunes coming. I also like him for respecting the female lead when he falls for her later as he doesn't force himself on her unlike many male leads, though he is not a saint either. He is shown to be really possessive and does kinda force her to marry him by taking advantage of the fact that she needed to marry someone to get out of a trouble. His forcefulness isn't to the point of being overbearing enough to irritate those who hates too forceful male leads but enough to satisfy those with a fetish for forceful male leads like myself. Overall his personality is extremely well-balanced, thus making him my most favourite male lead of all the novels I read so far. He also helped her quite a lot afterwards with her plans when she started going against royalties which is much late in the novel.

And finally, what made me love it is that the reason behind the rebirth was explained and the connection that the male lead and female lead had in her past life though they were almost strangers was shown. And damn, it was so touchy, in short these two are almost fated. But I absolutely loved how devoted he is to her once they are together! Really, wish to see another novel like this one. <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Nice change of pace. I always liked game elements and magic and dungeon stuffs and this novel actually perfectly mixed this genre with the otome game genre and it was well executed! For an otome game trope it's an unusual one, death flags or not at least it's full of adventure rather than daily day to day slice of life like the others of this background.

Update:

Like everyone else said the world building is very nicely done. What catches my eyes are the characters, none of the characters feel like... more>> 2D or anything of sort, each of the characters were carefully developed, side characters included. With combination of well developed character and the splendid world building, this novel feels really alive and it's very easy to get immersed in reading. Secondly, the plot is very thrilling. This is my first time seeing some very unique concepts used here.
Spoiler

For example, the vampires aren't your stereotypical shoujo manga vampires with intensely good looks and a do-s attitude with fangs nor your traditional vampires who look like count dracula sleeping in a coffin or anything. The concept is wholly new, it's like a new kind of demonic being and yeah, they do sound scary! The details you should read for yourselves.

[collapse]

The plot are all connected to each other and even a simple insignificant detail of the past appears to play big roles later on. They mystery and thriller aspects here are very strong. What will come later are difficult to predict and there are so many secrets around that it really hurts not getting to read them right away. Well, that's about it. For people who love Harry Potter type fantasy stories, they will surely like it. And just to clarify, those who think MC does this and that, she is reckless for trying to do everything by herself when she was powerless, her thinking is weird etc, I'd like to say, Erica's true personality trait is that of a kind girl who unfortunately happens to have a twisted view of the world which sometimes make her look emotionless or too calm and she tends to get reckless, I mean EXTREMELY reckless under pressure. It's hinted this tendency of hers was inherited from her equally reckless deceased mother. So, kindly don't be too harsh on judging her character, as it is one of this story's individuality. If all MC's of all story's were calm and decisive or frantic when the situations call for it then there would be no diversity among them.

All in all, if you are into fantasy action novels then try this story by all means. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Chu Wang Fei
August 16, 2017
Status: c127
Was one of my favorite stories, until I read till chapter 122. I daresay the MC was amazing and very much to my liking as she displays such domineering aura and shows her competence in deflecting her enemies and regain the things her stupid family stole away from her. Considering she has a bastard of a father who is totally a sucker for his concubine and ignored her mum's death, I admire how the MC was able to thwart that slut with that degree of partiality going on.

But..... there is... more>> always a but! Here comes my complains. The MC and the plotline was splendid. But the mc's past life background was presented in a very lame way! The second point, the villains are a stigma to the name of villain. All of them I've read about so far, literally all of them are those sh*tty, arrogant, overly shameless, egotistic, self-entitled, idiotic bastards who can only speak rubbish every given chance they are given and try pinning everything on MC while cursing her even though they are the ones at fault!! I get enraged everytime these guys appear and have hard time making sure I don't break the screen of my device! And finally, I hate the male lead!! Well, I liked him fine just before.... until their wedding that is. Afterwards, he seemed to plaster himself to her and goes rabu rabu 24/7 as if there is no tomorrow! Although this was supposed to be fluffy and cute, honestly it's just plain disgusting.....I literally skipped more than half of the chapter as more than 50% of them are filled with this guy kissing her like crazy be it home or in the carriage! It really grosses me out. A little is cute but too much is gross. Also if I might add, their words which apparently have double meanings all the time are very poorly executed as most of the time unless the author mentions the double meaning in next line, no sane person will go that far to poke out those kind of 'sinister' meaning out of it. Bluntly saying, the author is really bad at words with 9 curves and 18 turns thus makes a random hidden meaning out of every normal sentences said, check yourself if you don't believe me.

Spoiler

"Yi Yi has been brought up closely since she was small, of course she can't compare to a xiaojie from an influential family in the capital, in addition to her current young age, when talking about sophisticated thinking, please do not blame her, cousin." The usually silent Yun Yi Heng suddenly said.

The intended meaning in his words was very clear. Firstly, he pointed out that Yun Qian Meng's thinking was overly sophisticated, which set off against the unsophisticated, good, and honest nature of Yun Yi Yi; Secondly, he pointed out that Yun Qian Meng had lost her mother since young, compared to Yun Yi Yi who grew up under attentive care, Yun Qian Meng was more insidious and cunning.

Okay...... so just how is the meaning very clear? Even if I were smarter I probably wouldn't get this kind of impression from what he said.

[collapse]

Update:

Okay now I hate this novel even more! As for why then it's as nascentechuva and Ritu says. The Mc's hypocritical mindset and the irrational ML whose unhealthy obsession with MC has caused both of their rationality to evaporate.....I just changed my rating from 3 to 1. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Hmm? I don't see any R-15 tags? I mean the villainess of this novel that is Shirley's sister is literally a 'whore' in real meaning. I've seen many novels with a white lotus who goes around seducing a bunch of good looking and high status guys while sticking to the foolish prince in the broken engagement trope but this is my first time actually seeing one who actually goes sleeping with all of them even decades after her marriage, that grossed me out truly.

Anyways, the antagonists are twisted and hopelessly... more>> stupid like most other novels so I don't particularly care about that. I rather like the mother and daughters time together but seriously, I'm a little pissed that Shirley doesn't act her age. After all her struggling and being a mother for 10 years, I had expected her to act a bit mature and calm, but to my chagrin, she is a muscle brain. She like goes "I'm gonna cut em to pieces with my swords' over every single trivial matter. Being a protective mum is fine but acting idiotically like that isn't, I mean even her daughters realize their mum is a gone case in this regards.

Well, an OP adventurer is fine and all but there is nothing interesting in seeing a protagonist who doesn't have to struggle or face any difficulties, the apparent struggles and difficulties of 'gotta return from the quest before dinner to spend more time with my daughters no matter what!' or ''this opponent is difficult then usual well no matter, I have an arsenal of crazy weapons' are totally shallow and superficial and sounds rather lame. What I mean is I find Shirley's life as an adventurer downright bland, no intrigue no interest no nothing, I'd rather read her time with her daughters.

Then comes this. I don't like the 'potential ML' Kyle. Well, even aside the fact that this guy is only 5 years older than her daughters and 15 years younger than herself, it's just that his personality doesn't look desirable for being Shirley's partner. Considering Shirley herself acts mentally immature, this guy is even more immature, I'd rather have someone more mature than Shirley take that role.

Finally, I'm not fond of fan-services, those revealing maid costume instances and getting caught by Kyle while wearing a revealing bikini don't exactly make things look any better? I'm not talking about my taste here, what my point is why should Shirley, who adheres to propriety as a former noble and has her own principles regarding dressing up, has to be forced into this kind of situation by the author just for the sake of fan service, not only it feels unreasonable, her reactions also don't fit the case like some other reviewers mentioned.

Well, given the translation quality is pretty decent, and the beginning premise of the story was unique and interesting compared to other novels, I'll give it a 2 star. I've already read till volume 3 but honestly speaking, only how Shirley became a mother and how she came to accept her new life was worth the read, the plot that starts 10 years after the prologue was bland, not interesting also full of shallow stuff. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Mezametara Chikashitsu!? ~Tensei Shoujo no Yume no Saki~
September 21, 2018
Status: --
I don't mind opness or stuff but the way this novel is narrated is making me tired to read it. Introducing huge number og npc type characters who have a screentime of 5 seconds at most is too much. Like there was a time when she went around healing public and it went like "First we went to this house. A guy opened the door, he is called Mr.X, his wife is Mrs X, his brother is Mr.Y, now we are in another house, hello sir, you are? Aaah, greetings... more>> Mr.A and Mrs.A..... etc etc....I mean who would remember these characters who can't even be called side characters. They don't need to explain the residents of every single house. Well, this is just a part of it.

the lengthy 5-6 person conversations makes me lost as to who is speaking what. And the character and info dump isn't done in a favorable way. Plus, the tidbits of action scenes lack liveliness because the narration style doesn't change much thoughout the story, just bland explantions. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
The Princess Wei Yang
August 16, 2017
Status: c160
I really have no energy to continue the story anymore. It's getting too repetitive! I liked the beginning and the story's background a lot, but afterwards it's just one after another crazy and unrealistically vicious schemes on the mc's part or from her enemies. Alright, decided to change my previous review after reading a bit more. Firstly, Wei Yang is NOT smart or clever as they call her to be. She is strong true, determined yes, but not smart. Her method of scheming? Frame others for crimes they did not... more>> even commit, lame ones at that. Her enemies do the same stuff but she is one step ahead with her useful resource call "ML", who helps her fabricate fake evidences for her framings. In the "Rebirth of an ill fated consort", the MC speaks cleverly to exploit the enemy's loopholes, and here in Wei Yang, after framing she goes "Ah! How could you do this? I never expected this from you!" with a thick face, no clever talking, just blatantly blaming them until the enemies have no more energy to retort and causing the onlookers to slightly be partial on her side and finally, the fabricated evidence boom! In the "Malicious empress of military lineage", the MC actually manipulates the events causing her enemies to actually commit the crime, not fake it or fabricate it by framing.

Then that part about how she brought about Chang Le's end with that ghost nonsense literally ruined even the remaining impression of her in my mind. Is that what you call a former Empress? Just what part of her is clever? She just does the same as those other brain dead women in the backyard, and only succeeds unlike them because of Min De. I certainly don't liie the villains here and have no compassion for them and feel they got what they deserves and all, but Wei Yang and her methods aren't exactly to my liking either. I sympathize with her but can't like her unfortunately because of this. I've even thought of slapping her face many times while reading when she started one of those "How could you do this?" nonsense in public, which makes it feel overly dramatic and deliberately planned. I can't handle such thick facedness. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
By A Slight Mistake
August 26, 2018
Status: c23
Some of the dialogues and lines are written in a rather confusing manner. Not a bad story, I liked it so far, except it can get a little cheesy sometimes. The problem is only the MC has an eye catching character and well developed one, while the others are your typical "Main hero but and idiot", "handsome guardian with no particular traits other than blind devotion", "A joker and a balancing smart pair of friends" etc etc. In short, the other characters have no depth in their story, although the... more>> personalities are likeable, their backgrounds or inner circumstances are never mentioned enough to give them lively feeling, making them seem like 2-D characters.

The drama feels a bit forced though. I liked the storyline in the beginning about the mc's physical burden due to a past accident and all but making their noble families seem like they are something out of this world is kinda cheesy. Stuff like "I can't make friends with those who can't defend themselves so I have to ignore my important people in public so that they won't be used to threaten me etc etc...." Come on! They aren't royalty or some goverrnment officials or politician, just some company owners, in real life no matter how famous a conglamorate who has ever heard of their associates getting kidnapped or assassinated? She makes it sound like her friends are bound to get kidnapped to threaten her or something... not to mention her family has made it a law about choosing friends in this method through requirements, limiting their freedom of socializng and also has their vassal family pair up with them to ease the kid's loneliness and stuff, man this is overkill no matter how you look at it as they are only a leading conglemorate who were feudal lords who knows how many centuries ago and aren't even politicians or royalties. If this novel had a setting like in medieval japan or europe I wouldn't complain about it as it would make sense during feudal lord era but in a completely modern japan? Sounds too overdramatic and forced.

The foundation of the story is good, but it lacks any solid plot as it just moves on from one scenario to another without any particular sense of purpose like most other poorly written novels, focusing solely on the mc's interactions with others and only her characteristics while completely ignoring the other characters... maybe my standard is too high after reading novels like "Common sense of duke's daughter" and "Shini Yasui Koushaku Reijou no Nana-ri no Kikoushi", which are both part of the otome game trope yet vastly creative and intriguing, but I had high hopes for this work after reading the beginning. I was more than willing to overlook the lack of character depths of the other characters if the plot was intriguing and had a clear purpose however, I was disappointed. Still, this novel gives a much better impression if you don't read it with too much critical analysis and solely for reading compared to many other half-baked novels in this site of the otome game trope, which are completely boring slice of life. So, I would recommend it if you want a casual reading and don't mind generic 2-D characters and lack of serious plots and wish to see some face slapping and noble circles. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Slow Prison Life
March 6, 2019
Status: c8
This novel truly lives up to its status as one of comedy genre. The mc's antics are so hilarious that I had tears in my eyes. It's a good novel if you're in mood for having a good laugh really.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
August 26, 2018
Status: c120
Not without flaws true, like others said and pointed out. However, I tend to overlook those type of flaws in favor of major ones found in most of the otome game novels.

Firstly, the characters have depth. Rather then only the MC herself, it has other people's point of views and their personalities are well fleshed out. So the characters feel alive, in short the world itself feels alive. Especially the game heroine's character is very dark and intriguing.

Secondly, the plot is intriguing rather than just bland. Political intigues aside, the... more>> MC has a purpose. The other characters also have their own purposes and that part is well highlighted. So, the events all feel connected to a particular goal rather than random. Even the most simple of character seems like they are hiding more than they look on the surface.

With these two requirements alone, a story becomes readable and enjoyable enough. While lack of minor flaws make it outstanding. So, given there is a severe lack of stories as well qualified as this I'm gonna give it a 5 star regardless of the minor flaws like time skip, MC being perfect and servants being devoted to her etc as they are a part of the plot of this story itself and whether someone likes it or dislikes it varies from person to person. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Otome Game Rokkushuume, Automode ga Kiremashita
February 17, 2019
Status: --
A generic series, nothing particularly interesting, very predictable plot, but it is good enough for a time pass. The one thing I find absolutely irritating is Mariabell's overreaction to capture targets. Even if one of them are in the same room as them she starts jumping around internally for no reason at all, although they don't do anything or even talk to her as a matter of fact save for a customary greeting I guess. I think she reacts to them a bit too much than necessary which is somewhat... more>> annoying. He wouldn't kill you just because your seat is next to his you know? Or just because you passed each other in the corridor or something like that. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Akuyaku Reijou wa Danna-sama wo Yasesasetai
February 4, 2019
Status: c18
I like the main leads. Their interaction and personalities are very realisitc. Since I don't know the whole story yet can't say much but all I can say that so far this story seems different from usual and the MC is really awesome in her own accord. An intense girl who refuses to bow down to others and continues to push through regardless of the hopeless situation she is in. Her personality certainly is realistic as can be seen from her monologue. The fat duke also seems like a crafty... more>> fox although he tries to hide it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
For an otome game genre it was indeed a splendid work.

Mainly the MC. She had a very likeable character and unlike other novels where a reverse harem ensues and the ML's identity is debateable, this one made things clear right off the bat. Normally I would give it a 5 star, if not for the fact that there are 2 other otome novels that I like better than this one. So, I will settle with 4. : ( Anyways, I also like the 'heroine' Lily who is not a ''villainess masquerading... more>> as heroine". The supporting characters are also really likeable. But my most favorite aspect is that Wolfgang and Lycoris' relationship was properly fleshed out. It was also very heartwarming. Healthy friendship is very desirable in this type of novel rather than love rivals butting heads or jealous female peers. In short, it is worth the read if you're into this genre. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Reiryuu Academy Student Council
January 17, 2019
Status: c30
The story is a fine one for its genre. Nothing special or anything to keep you on the edge about but that's to be expected from a normal slice of life high school story. The MC is likeable and all, but as expected the only thing I don't like is how the guys.... or should I say the lead guy pushes her around? I may not like Harem but speaking from a neutral position, the harem development was a lackluster one.

Like just because all girls go crazy over you and... more>> one 'rare specimen' doesn't, that doesn't mean you go chasing her all over the school out of interest and suddenly end up developing deeper feelings for her. Well, that's incredibly cliché. And yeah she has hidden powers but that doesn't make her entitled to join the student council, she has her own life and privacy. Oh well, although it doesn't sound nice but for the sake of plot development and the MC's character development from 'a girl who wants to be inconspicuous' to 'a girl who decided to be true to her own feelings', this kind of development had to happen.

Like I said the story is nice enough, it's just that I hope they would focus a little less on relationship developments via cliché otome game style events and focus more on MC overcoming her fear of the past with the support of her new-found friends. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
September 4, 2017
Status: Completed
At first I had a few dissatisfactions with those generic shameless villains, but in favor of those epic, tear inducing epilogue, I'm more than willing to count this point out of my rating. Was an amazing and unusual novel with an unique style. Though I tend to dislike the notion of a modern person taking over a weak unremarkable body of someone in the past, the MC is too unique and I chose to overlook that fact as well. The MC is cautious and has a rather interesting bend of... more>> mind. The ML although not the best one I've seen (I like rebirth of the malicious empress' male lead best) but still really likeable.

And personally speaking I probably like the character development of He Yuan the best. Unruly and overbearing at first but the way he later learns from his mistake and matures and also his final ending which was peaceful yet somewhat tragic was enough to make me cry. Overall I find the ending of this novel the most impactful one among the ones I've read so far. A lovely work. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Eristol
Eristol rated it
Gu Fang Bu Zi Shang
September 7, 2017
Status: Completed
Not absolutely perfect as their are a few places in this story which had me disappointed but it's a story with a very unusual plotline thus I really loved it. The initiation of the romance between the main leads left me kinda disappointed but the story of the female lead, her past with the main villain and the other characters were really well described likeable. Overall, it was a story with suspense which was enough to cause me to read nonstop day and night till my eyes hurt. I particularly... more>> liked the female lead and He Xia's character.

Spoiler

He Xia's character was interesting as it showed how a easy going man who was satisfied with his lovely warm family and friends and never wished for anything else turned into a vengeful man with thirst for revenge and power after the emperor destroyed his family. He forced his way to the top of the world and went so far as to destroy those he loved with his own hands until he fell from power in the end. I particularly loved the final scene where before dying he finally realized what precious things he had gained in his quest for revenge but threw them away with his own hands. It was a very tragic character and well developed in my opinion.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report