Report Review
9 Reviews


Enther
Enther rated it
Demon Boss in the Human World
December 10, 2018
Status: c7
Really interesting plot, but I just could not get into it after finding out the ML is QY and not FZC. I would really prefer it if FZC just didn't exist. Nobody, especially with his reputation, would act the way he acted towards the MC unless they were the ML of a BL story. Which he apparently isn't. I understand the need for the MC to have a powerful backer, but there's no way anyone would willingly, happily, support someone in the mc's position to that extent, even if... more>> the MC saved him. It's not like the MC couldn't have made opportunities for himself. I mean he's a literal freaking demon with mind control powers and other OP af qualities. And I really freaking like that about the MC. His really freaking confident and arrogant attitude are really fun to read. I'm freaking disappointed that I just can not let go of the FZC thing. Like, make FZC reluctantly pay off his life debt and have his interest be piqued by the mc's really good acting that goes against the mc's horrible reputation. And then have him to continue to back the MC as a side project or something while running his own company.

Disclaimer: I read this a little before I made an NU account so I don't completely remember what I've read and even then I didn't read very far into the story. I put 7 chapters, but that an approximation. So if you can get past the fact that some of the characters dynamics are really unrealistic, you should definitely try reading this yourself. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
December 23, 2018
Status: c71
So I just finished this and I'm just really freaking confused by the reviews this story has. Everyone's saying that the ML, the emperor, is uncompromising and abusive while the MC is unreasonable and doesn't make sense, but I'm standing over here, just like, 'um, no, it's the COMPLETE OPPOSITE.'

... more>>
Spoiler

The conversation the MC, Ling Xiao, has with the emperor's uncle basically sums up the ML's actions. He's the emperor and he's giving up a lot of power and control by compromising with Ling Xiao and it's pretty freaking unbelievable that the emperor would be willing to go so far for him. And Ling Xiao internalizes very deeply which is why his actions are so inconsistent. LX is confident, but he knows he's not invincible. In a setting like the one he's in, the emperor has pretty much absolute power, but not completely. For both the MC and ML the risks are a lot higher if there's someone who's determined to bring them down...

Concerning the part where the ML strangles the MC, I think a lot of people misunderstand it tbh. The ML said that his bottom line was for the MC to remember that he's his man which is what he got mad over. The interaction between the MC and the concubine seems pretty innocent to us because we know the MC didn't mean anything about it, but consider how it would look if was from the outside. Seriously. Even through my eyes as a reader it felt really freaking flirty and that violated the ML's bottom line. I'm not saying it's a good thing the ML used violence towards the MC, but it was a reaction, not an intent and that isn't what I would call abuse. Again, it's not a good thing that he used violence, but it's not something that makes him a bad partner. The fact that he stopped even when he though his bottom line was violated really says something. That he's trying to understand, that he really wants to be with the MC. And the MC probably knew that.

If anyone thinks the MC's reaction to the strangling was strange, I say consider the facts a bit. The MC has always been absolutely terrified of the ML and when his worst nightmare became reality and didn't end in his death? That was probably a lot more reassuring than words could be.

Going back to the MC's actions, when you consider his goals, they really do make sense. The MC was with Mo Qi, the FL, for over 10 years, working in the shadows for her every whim. And for all that work and devotion, he gets poisoned by her. If you don't think that's a reasonable explanation to hate someone, there was also the fact that he helped her despite her having someone kidnap him and cut off his genitalia without his consent.

He, especially, knows her personality and what seems to have started as simply a reluctance to interact with her formed into full on hatred and murderous intent the more he did interact with her.

The MC only started to interact with the ML to gain more power so it's not strange that the MC lied to him ever when he knew the emperor hated it in order to protect his secret...

[collapse]

The story is definitely not perfect, but it's pretty good. What the MC knows he takes advantage of the best he can and what he doesn't know, he naturally doesn't know. And if that causes this things to get out of control, he deals with it the best he can.
Spoiler

I do admit that the MC's knowledge of modern weapons/inventions seems a bit deus ex machina esq, and it seems weird he didn't use it the first time, but if you think about it, it's understandable. It's not like he was trying to become rich or famous or need to do meritorious deeds before he died the second time. Still seems like a d.e.m. to me though considering how long it's been.

[collapse]

Concerning the rape tag, I don't know if this story really deserves it. Maybe it does? It's a lot more dubious considering
Spoiler

the MC kind of dug his own grave in this instance. Like, he never out right states the fact that he doesn't want to have s*x to the emperor, but it's the situation that forced him to imply that wants to have s*x with the emperor rather than his own personal wants. It's still pretty iffy because the emperor probably figured out the situation and did Ling Xiao anyways, but I can't say for sure because we never got to see the emperor's perspective. It's entirely possible that the emperor thought that Ling Xiao wanted it considering the things that led up to it.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
Need to Propose to Seven Men What to Do!
December 7, 2018
Status: c37
Really, really fun story. The summary doesn't give our main character justice. It portrays him as your usual helpless shou who was thrown into some horrible situation he was not prepared for. It really couldn't be farther from the truth.

I really love how each of the main leads are both tools and obstacles for the main character to get them to fall in love with him. It's not a seven at once type of situation, but it's not quite one at a time either. It's really interesting how the main... more>> character balances things as more characters come into play. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
Rebirth of a Movie Star
April 9, 2019
Status: c9
Really good beginning so far. There's just enough dramatic flair that makes the MC, Bai Lang, seem super cool but not an op Mary sue. Something I really love about this story is that Bai Lang's rebirth actually really impacted him. In other rebirth stories the main characters all seem to be just good to great people who were dealt a sh*tty hand in life. For Bai Lang, yes he was also given a horrible hand, but it was also because of his own character and personality that cause his... more>> life to play out the way it did. Then when he's reborn, he seriously reflects on his past actions. It just feels really real that he had lived ten extra years. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
The Rebirth Waste Strikes Back
December 8, 2018
Status: c36
If you read the other reviews and were put off by people calling this a crack fic, don't listen to them. This can not qualify as crack, at most it's crack taken seriously. It's just that our MC really, really, doesn't care about the opinions of other people, which... can you blame him?

The setting of the story... this might come off as rude so excuse me in advance, but if you can't pin down the setting then you need to go read more Chinese novels. The author doesn't go... more>> into detail about it because the Xuanhaun genre and other related ones are really freaking common in Chinese media. It's like asking them to explain what an elf is or for them to go into detail about the intricacies of mage vs warriors or what the heck a slime is. It just doesn't need to be done, so they don't.

Anyways, this genre generally has a lot of manipulative schemers who only care about reputation and power. Our MC, who was very wealthy and successful in his previous life doesn't care for that kind of stuff so he really goes at his own pace, not letting anyone's unspoken rules affect him. He's very shameless about his love for beauty so he says and does things that are out of the norm, which might seem crack-y, but it's not like it came out of nowhere, it's just his generally rebellious attitude.

I agree that the author doesn't provide much physical description in their story and I kind of wish they did, but I'm able to picture the story surprisingly well in my head. I think it was probably intentional that the author did that. Because specific looks aren't really important, just that their looks are something, whether it be ugly or beautiful. If that makes any sense... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
How To Die As Heavy As Mount Tai
December 8, 2018
Status: c18
Really great first arc. The first chapter was a bit of a slog to get through, but if you can get through that, you should be golden.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
Sha Qing
December 12, 2018
Status: c8
Good start. My only complaint is that whoever the narrator is, is very unreliable.
Spoiler

It's a very irritating point of view that makes it hard to tell who main couple is. It seems to be third person omniscient but limited by Leo's knowledge. Because of that, I consider Leo to be the MC and Sha Qing to be the ML even though they're apparently reversible. At least for first 8 chapters. I have no idea if the writing will change.

[collapse]

The MC and ML are:
Spoiler

Leo Lawrence, which is pretty obvious, and Sha Qing, which is also obvious. Less obvious is that Roy = Sha Quin = Li Biqing

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
Ghosts Know What I Experienced
December 12, 2018
Status: c23
Not sure if it's because it's just the beginning or if the whole story is like this, but I really wouldn't call it all that horrifying. The comedic undertone is really strong in this, it's more like satire? I don't know how to define it to be honest. Yes, there are some pretty gory descriptions of ghosts and malicious spirits, but there's no tension you usually feel in horror stories. Both the MC and ML are strong enough to defeat or hold back the ghosts for long enough for reinforcements... more>> to arrive, the ghosts are such a small threat it's bemusing. Perhaps it'd be more appropriate to call this comedy with a horrific undertone? But the story is more focused on romance than comedy. Comedic romance with horrific undertone? Plot driven comedic romance with horrific undertone? Horror plot driven comedic romance? Something like that.

It's not a bad thing, but the humor and warm feelings tend to overpower the fear and anxiety so adjust your expectations and just enjoy the story is my advice.

That said, I can't say I personally love this story. I definitely enjoyed reading this but the comedy aspect is something I rather dislike. I'm not an expert but if I had to say, the comedy comes from the Xuanxue's, that is the ghost hunters or Celestial Masters society's, frankly disgusting lack of personal privacy. The characters in story don't really care about it but I really freaking hate it because I personally value privacy very highly. Especially because, as of chapter 23, our MC is not even part of the ghost hunting community or even wants to be. He just wants to be a normal freaking person. The whole thing is so over the top sometimes and I just can not. Care. Less. About those gossiping old geezers or those incompetent af younger generation. I would so much, much, much rather read about our adorable af ML wooing our lovely af MC and their awesome freaking ghost slaying skills. Honestly. Fellow user Victuuri Road said that this story reminded them of Natsume Yuujinchou and I'm just like, seriously hoping over here. Ugh. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Enther
Enther rated it
Heroic Death System
December 8, 2018
Status: c67
It's okay. More focused around the plot and the various worlds than the characters making them feel very flat. Though that might be because I've been reading unedited chapters?

From the reviews section, I actually find myself agreeing with Mikleo when they say it feels like you're scanning rather than reading a story. It's not really noticeable if you don't think about it since there's a lot of content in each arc, but decisions are generally not really being made but rather have already been made and are just being told,... more>> if that makes any sense...

I also agree with Wife of Sove, who said that the main character shifts personalities from world to world. It connects back to how I said the characters were very flat, the main character has no personal motivation or agenda, just those that align with their system. So every time they switch worlds, our main character ambition and personality change. Which is... eh. Understandable if a bit unpleasant.

Still, I give this a 5 out of 5, mostly because I simply liked reading it. The points I mentioned aren't necessarily bad, just makes for a different type of reading than some other stories.

The worlds are pretty interesting and each situation feels pretty unique, even for their respective genres. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report