Report Review
25 Reviews


Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Reverend Insanity
December 5, 2018
Status: c233
There are so many positive reviews, so let me talk only about the (imo) important negative points of this novel.

    • The cultivation system: It isn't your own power, that makes you powerful. It is most of the time a borrowed power. There are (pokemon), uh, I mean Gu in this world. Even if you are a level 3 Gu master, you are almost defensless without a Gu. So, you need a high cultivation for the usage of a gu and you need (legendary pokemon) strong gu to trash your opponent.
    • MC spends a lot of effort to get a rare/good/important gu, which will be disregarded pretty quickly or will be killed by enemies. For example, almost half of his Gu were killed in the latest chapters I read.
    • Lengthy fights between other parties. (Fights without invovlement of the MC)
    • MC is very predictable after awhile. He is like a robot/ai, which is optimized to get the best recources. He disregards EVERYTHING for resources. Side characters? Friendship? That doesn't matter at all to him. EVERYTHING can be and will be sacrificed for resources and you as the reader know this very clearly. There just needs to be the right opportunity. As a result the MC feels more like a boring ai, instead of a real human with emotions and personality. You will know the outcome of every "human relationship", because of MC's "algorithm". No character growth, no enjoyment from complicated relationships and human interactions (everything is just acting to get the best resources).
    • Author likes to show you a juicy piece of cake, but you only get broccoli instead and sometimes you need at least broccoli, but end up with nothing. "I could do the most awesome attack with this gu. *describes awesome situations with this gu and cool characteristics* 20 sentences later: but alas it can't be forced. I have to move on. I'm only destined to get the the lefotovers. They aren't as awesome and cool as the described gu"

      Authors approach is to show you a lollipop and immediately take it away.

      OR:

      "I need a healing gu"

      "Such a pity there is no healing gu"

      "There are so many good/rare gus, but I already have this type of gus. I'm just missing a healing gu"

      "I need to apply mortal medicine, because I don't have a healing gu."

      "This situation would be so much easier with a healing gu"

      GEEZ AUTHOR I GET IT ALREADY. YOU DON'T NEED TO ADDRESS THIS EVERY F*CKING TIME.

      "Finally I got my healing gu. Such a pity my movement gu is dead. Now I need to search for a movement gu" -.- Author, do you want me to cry and scream like a little baby?

      "such (a coincidence) bad luck. It just so happens, I need to travel a big distance and I currently have no movement gu, because it was killed moments ago. Now my journey will be 100 times as long as expected"

      "I could avoid this dangerous area with a movement gu..." -.-

    • IT IS LIKE AUTHOR READ TONS OF CRICITCS ABOUT OP MCs WITH PLOT ARMOR ON EVERY CORNER AND NOW HE NEEDS TO POINT OUT HIS LACK OF PLOT ARMOR ON EVERY CORNER. Author invented this new type of forced situation (at least he made it painfully obvious) and henceforth it should be called: "REVERSED PLOT ARMOR"

      He tries to shove a piece of cake down on every readers throats, but it feels more like he shoves tons of whole durians in my stomach and I mean the really big ones without even peeling the fruit. It hurts and it feels forced. Besides, forced feeding is never enjoyable.
If there is nothing else to read, I come back to this novel, but it isn't something I'm really looking forward to. It is just something to bypass time. 2/5 stars seems too little and 3/5 stars seems too much. Sometimes the novel is really enjoyable, so it is hard to get a final rating...
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen
Sovereign of the Three Realms
September 10, 2018
Status: c1174
How to describe this novel in one word? "ROLLERCOASTER"

At some points in the story it is extremely good and you don't even care about other novels anymore and on other points in the story it gets really bad.

Sometimes I think I want to drop this novel and other times I want to pay for advanced chapters and I'm thinking to myself: "how could I ever have the thought of dropping this?"

Overall I can say, the author is a master of the dao of word count. So you have to master... more>> the skill: "skimming".

BTW the translation quality is top notch and etvo (the translator) is a GIRL. I hope you get it already. Geez :D <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Emperor’s Domination
November 19, 2018
Status: c1618
Yes, I read 1618 chapters of a very bad novel and still enjoyed it. Why is it that bad? MC speaks all the time about mysteries of the world, without saying anything. He tells us about history and the future events, but we as the readers always get just 1 part of the story. You will never hear about the other parts of the story.

Our MC would say: "You, as the readers are ants and can't reach the apex, so you aren't qualified to know anything."

You will read tons of... more>> conservations between MC and his old acquaintances or some mysterious beings, but as always you get just 1 part of the story. You will never know or comprehend what they are actually talking about most of the time. I suspect, even the author doesn't know what they are talking about :D

In the beginning you will feel curious about all the conversations and history talk of our MC, but as the story progresses they will never be mentioned again. In fact, there will be more and more completely different and independent "mystery talk sessions" on top of the old confusing speeches of our MC. You start to realize: "F*ck, all this talk is just filler content. You will never know what they are talking about."

Why should you read this garbage of a novel? Because the MC is the most badass and domineering character I've ever read in a novel. The story is about destroying the enemy in the most badass ways you can think of and "mystery talk".

Remember: mystery talk=filler

If you are here to read about anything else, you will be left disappointed. You should still give it a try, because it is damn satisfying to see our MC trashing everyone else in this novel ;D <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen
Eight Treasures Trousseau
August 3, 2019
Status: --
BEFORE YOU READ:

You better open the glossary first and start to learn all the chinese terms in this novel. Otherwise it could be really confusing on what is going on.

I'm also not talking about simple terms like "meimei" and "daren" etc.

I read a lot of chinese novels, therefore I know a lot of terms, but this here is on a whole new level. There are new terms everywhere and you need to know them all to be not utterly lost and confused about the relationships and what is going on... more>> here.

I also had to reread some sentences and think about who is related to whom and about some meanings. So, this novel isn't something you just start and enjoy reading it.

YOU HAVE TO INVEST TIME. I dropped this sometime, because it is really hard to get into it. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Mushoku Tensei (LN)
November 2, 2018
Status: v10
I read this until nearly the end of volume 3 and I think I really can't continue anymore. This is the most overrated novel I've ever read. Why?
    • the story is slow paced
    • too much focus on redundant elements (redundant thoughts of the MC, redundant scenes)
    • sometimes you have 2 different point of views on the exact same slice of life scenes (which slows down the story even more).
    • there is generally too much info and too much text for too little content. You read for hours and in the end nothing happens. You read a lot of mc's thoughts on some boring matter you don't even care. For example he has some thoughts on things, that are common sense and didn't even need to be addressed, but he does it regardeless.
Volume 1 was okay. Except for some scenes and minor suprises, there was nothing really interesting. You have to bear with some info dumps here and there. A huge dissapointment is the fast acceptance of this genius child (our mc). It doesn't matter his parents, his teacher or in later volumes the other characters he met. They all treat him as if his genius in magic, behaviour and other skills are normal. At least you don't get the feeling, that he is REALLY special in the mind of other people.

In Volume 2 are some interesting characters introduced. I enjoyed this volume a little, because of their personalities. I liked the interaction between some characters, but nothing really interesting happens here either (storywise). Except for the ending, which has no build up/foreshadowing and happens in a few sentences :D

Volume 3 was something that got me really angry, because of the redundant, boring jrpg sideqest (or fetch quest) like storyline. What happens in this volume? Well, basically this:

Spoiler

They travel to a city, enter a adventure guild and do some quest to earn money (yawn*). What are the quests like you ask? There are a ton of chapters on a quest to search for a pet. Interesting, right? Later they discover this pet was abducted. Some adventurers abduct pets, just to fulfill the request of the client later (yawn*)

I kid you not. This is the level you have to bear storywise.

[collapse]

Maybe I try to read volume 4 sometime, but alone this shopping trip for armor accompanied again with a ton of mc's redundant thoughts on the new clothes, was killing me :D I don't know if I can really bear with his inner comments on the most uninteresting things, just to fulfill some word count (#filler).

EDIT

I READ UNTIL VOLUME 10 and now I'm dropping this for real. It gets better after volume 3 and it really wasn't bad the next few volumes. Just keep in mind, there is nothing especially enjoyable happening. There is a goal and you look forward to it. That keeps you going and let you enjoy this novel more. The problem is, there is no real pay off for this big build up of the story. MC achieved his "big goal", but it wasn't satisfactory. It was even the opposite of satisfactory. You start to hate the MC, his fahter and his sister. They all behave childish and unreasonable. I read tons of novels, but this was the epitome of frustrating and bad feelings I got from a novel EVER. His sister gives you bad feelings, because of this one incident even a few volumes later. So look forward to it.

I could rant more and more, because of certain incidents and behaviours of characters, but I will limit myself to 1 person in this review.

Sylphiette (MCs childhood friend) is one of the most detestable characters I've ever read in a novel. She would screw you up emotionally in reality. This is a woman you want to avoid in real life AT ALL COST.

Spoiler

Do you remember the sweet Sylphiette? Yes it is the little girl, who ows all her later achievements to our MC. Because of him she learned a lot of unique skills. She would even die in a future accident, if it wasn't for MC's training sessions. Later in the story they got seperated and Sylphiette made acquaintance with the princess of the kingdom. Many years later MC and Sylphiette met again. Syphiette is still grateful to the MC. They got all lovey-dovey and even married. All okay so far, right? Yes, except she told him, that she would abandon him, because of the princess. She cares more about her. She loves him and of course she would love her children, but her priority is still the princess. The protection of the princess is more important than anything else.

[collapse]

Of course our beta MC agrees with her. You get frustrated because of her and get again bad feelings (you get these kind of thing a lot in the later volumes. I promise you.) and then you get angry at the MC, because he behaves like the "beta-male-king". I can't continue, because of all the frustrating feelings I get from this novel. I dread what awaits me ahead, because there is a lot more potential to this negative emotions. The story isn't even that interesting. Summary after 10 volumes

    • frustrating feelings everywhere (drama)
    • too much build up and then no or bad pay offs
    • most of the time boring or average story and plot twists.
I think the good rating is just because this was one of the first novel ever consistently translated and completed. In my opinion this really isn't worth reading, because there are a lot of better novels with similar settings out there.

If you like drama and depressing feelings this might be for you. I never felt more uncomfortable to read a novel than this.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
August 28, 2018
Status: v10
I read this until nearly the end of volume 3 and I think I really can't continue anymore. This is the most overrated novel I've ever read. Why?
    • the story is slow paced
    • too much focus on redundant elements (redundant thoughts of the MC, redundant scenes)
    • sometimes you have 2 different point of views on the exact same slice of life scenes (which slows down the story even more).
    • there is generally too much info and too much text for too little content. You read for hours and in the end nothing happens. You read a lot of mc's thoughts on some boring matter you don't even care. For example he has some thoughts on things, that are common sense and didn't even need to be addressed, but he does it regardeless.
Volume 1 was okay. Except for some scenes and minor suprises, there was nothing really interesting. You have to bear with some info dumps here and there. A huge dissapointment is the fast acceptance of this genius child (our mc). It doesn't matter his parents, his teacher or in later volumes the other characters he met. They all treat him as if his genius in magic, behaviour and other skills are normal. At least you don't get the feeling, that he is REALLY special in the mind of other people.

In Volume 2 are some interesting characters introduced. I enjoyed this volume a little, because of their personalities. I liked the interaction between some characters, but nothing really interesting happens here either (storywise). Except for the ending, which has no build up/foreshadowing and happens in a few sentences :D

Volume 3 was something that got me really angry, because of the redundant, boring jrpg sideqest (or fetch quest) like storyline.

What happens in this volume? Well, basically this:

Spoiler

They travel to a city, enter a adventure guild and do some quest to earn money (yawn*). What are the quests like you ask? There are a ton of chapters on a quest to search for a pet. Interesting, right? Later they discover this pet was abducted. Some adventurers abduct pets, just to fulfill the request of the client later (yawn*)

I kid you not. This is the level you have to bear storywise.

[collapse]

Maybe I try to read volume 4 sometime, but alone this shopping trip for armor accompanied again with a ton of mc's redundant thoughts on the new clothes, was killing me :D I don't know if I can really bear with his inner comments on the most uninteresting things, just to fulfill some word count (#filler).

EDIT

I READ UNTIL VOLUME 10 and now I'm dropping this for real. It gets better after volume 3 and it really wasn't bad the next few volumes. Just keep in mind, there is nothing especially enjoyable happening. There is a goal and you look forward to it. That keeps you going and let you enjoy this novel more. The problem is, there is no real pay off for this big build up of the story. MC achieved his "big goal", but it wasn't satisfactory. It was even the opposite of satisfactory. You start to hate the MC, his fahter and his sister. They all behave childish and unreasonable. I read tons of novels, but this was the epitome of frustrating and bad feelings I got from a novel EVER. His sister gives you bad feelings, because of this one incident even a few volumes later. So look forward to it.

I could rant more and more, because of certain incidents and behaviours of characters, but I will limit myself to 1 person in this review.

Sylphiette (MCs childhood friend) is one of the most detestable characters I've ever read in a novel. She would screw you up emotionally in reality. This is a woman you want to avoid in real life AT ALL COST.

Spoiler

Do you remember the sweet Sylphiette? Yes it is the little girl, who ows all her later achievements to our MC. Because of him she learned a lot of unique skills. She would even die in a future accident, if it wasn't for MC's training sessions. Later in the story they got seperated and Sylphiette made acquaintance with the princess of the kingdom. Many years later MC and Sylphiette met again. Syphiette is still grateful to the MC. They got all lovey-dovey and even married. All okay so far, right? Yes, except she told him, that she would abandon him, because of the princess. She cares more about her. She loves him and of course she would love her children, but her priority is still the princess. The protection of the princess is more important than anything else.

[collapse]

Of course our beta MC agrees with her. You get frustrated because of her and get again bad feelings (you get these kind of thing a lot in the later volumes. I promise you.) and then you get angry at the MC, because he behaves like the "beta-male-king".

I can't continue, because of all the frustrating feelings I get from this novel. I dread what awaits me ahead, because there is a lot more potential to this negative emotions. The story isn't even that interesting.

Summary after 10 volumes

  • frustrating feelings everywhere (drama)
  • too much build up and then no or bad pay offs
  • most of the time boring or average story and plot twists.
I think the good rating is just because this was one of the first novel ever consistently translated and completed.

In my opinion this really isn't worth reading, because there are a lot of better novels with similar settings out there.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
November 5, 2018
Status: c406
Pro

    • MC, who bullies others more, instead of getting bullied by others.
    • MC pretends to be an arrogant young master (debauchee)
    • One of his friends is actually a debauchee and arrogant young master
    • MC is an assassin and it is refreshing and new to read about his occupation and his role and behaviour in this new world.
    • I like the different characters and their interactions. They aren't 1 dimensional and they have actually different personalities.
Con

    • the story is sometimes very slow paced. For example, there is an entire chapter, describing MC stepping out of his tent and walking a few steps and another entire chapter was used to describe the usage and characteristics of a single fruit
    • translation quality (it isn't that bad, but it isn't good either)
    • sometimes contradictions in personalities and actions of some characters (out of character).
    • sometimes mc's actions were stupid and felt forced, just for the sake of plot developments
Tip:

You can most of the time safely skip paragraphs entirely, if they begin with the following words: Therefore, Moreover, However, Furthermore, In addition, In fact, etc.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
September 19, 2018
Status: c441
There are a ton of reviews about the positive aspects of cultivation chat group (most of them are true). Let me write about the negative points and what went wrong in the later chapters.

The farther you go in this novel, the more comedy you get. At some point it shifts completely to the comedy aspect and you get the feeling, the story revolves only about comedy. For sake of comedy the author abondend a lot of stuff you expect from this kind of novel. Exciting story developments/twists etc. Are anbandoned... more>> for comedy most of the time. Character growth and realtionship development are less prevailing.

The farther you go, the more the story slows down and it gets dragged on like a chewing gum. Currently I'm reading about a race (of course the race is just for the lols) between cultivators and there are like more than 10 chapters just for the race.

The comedy isn't as good as in the first 200-300 hundred chapters. Don't ask me why. Maybe there is too much of this kind of comedy or maybe the quality/creativity is less than in the beginning or maybe a combination of both aspects. At any rate, there are more and more jokes and "funny" developments I don't laugh at. Sometimes I have to grin, but it get's less and less.

I give this novel 3 stars, because I really liked the story, before it shifts to "complete comedy mode" and because the characters are very interesting. I wish I had this kind of characters in a serious xianxia/wuxia novel. That would be hilarious :D <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
March 14, 2019
Status: c551
My wife is a Beautiful CEO OR THE ENDLESS PURSUIT, COURTING AND KIDNAPPING OF MC's women :D

Yes, there will be always multiple attempts from different men to snatch MC's girlfriends/wife away. THEY WILL NEVER BE SAFE, even if 1 girlfriend was already rescued once. There is sure a time in this novel, this same girlfriend will be courted by different men a second and maybe a third and fourth time. They will try to force MC's women away by talking (persuading, flirting, threatening, etc.), by money, by background, by force,... more>> by arranged marriages, etc. There will be countless means deployed, to ensure they will get their dirty hands on MC's women. Later in this novel, they don't even care about MC's marriage. They will still try to snacht away the CEO wife.

You don't like this feeling? Maybe this novel might be still enjoyable for you, but it will leave a bad aftertaste.

Especially the CEO wife's personality doesn't make it easier to like this novel.

Spoiler

Even until chapter 551 Lin Ruoxi treats the MC coldly. There is no "wish fullfilment" part at all yet in this relationship. It doesn't matter how many times he rescued her and he even gave her 50 billion yuan to rescue her company. She doesn't even care that much. Yes, there is sometimes a slight improvement in the relationship, but then something happens a few chapters later and she treats him again in the same cold manner or even worse. Without our MC, she would be dead multiple times. MC just needs to make a little mistake (which isn't even necessarily a mistake, because sometimes it was because of HER APPROVAL/ARRANGEMENT) and everything he has done for her is forgotten. It is also very annoying to see him pursuing and pleasing her all the time, without an improvement in the relationship, because she simply doesn't care.

This is like "wish fullfilment" for the female readers, because they might enjoy the feeling of beeing endlessly pleased and pursuited by the MC, regardless how bad she treats him.

[collapse]

Except from the above mentioned points the novel is still enjoyable. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Womanizing Mage
June 13, 2019
Status: --
Womanizing Mage?

Rather ANTAGONIZING MAGE!!!

He will try to molest, rape and force every beautiful woman, because he can't control his urges. He behaves like an emboldened 13 year old child during puberty and on drugs (the blue ones ->vi****).

... more>> Also be prepared to read paragraphs after paragraphs full of desriptions about beautiful females and their body parts in great detail.

You don't mind his personality? You don't mind perverted situations, created out of a phantasy of a 13 year old boy in heat? You don't mind angry women, because of his perverted behaviour (even his sister isn't safe)

Give this novel a try and don't misunderstand. I'm totally okay with creative perverted situations (not the forced ones though) and I love well built harem novels, but this is soooo poorly made.

The cultivation system isn't bad and the plot is also decent for a chinese novel, but this novel emphasizes too heavily on the "women-harrasment-harem-part" and this part is pure garbage.

Also, I really can't take this MC seriously, with his "13-year-old-boy-in-heat" personality :D <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
October 23, 2018
Status: c702
This was one of my guilty pleasures. I know it is bad, but it was still very enjoyable.

I loved the overpowered MC. His cultivation and face slapping scenes were sometimes so ridiculously op, I had to laugh out loud :P

I'm not sure, if the author was serious with some op face slapping events in the novel or if this was just for comedies sake though :D

... more>> Why am I giving just 2 stars?

Because it gets repetitive and dull in the later chapters. I'm especially talking about the tests for his various occupations to advance his master teacher level.

Don't misunderstand. I enjoyed even this events a long time, until it got boring, because of the repetitiveness. At some point it felt more like a chore.

I saw previous reviews mentioned this (they dropped this novel around chapter 300 or even earlier), but I thought to myself: "Well it is kind of repetitive (anyway, it isn't THAT repetitive), but I enjoy it regardeless". After I read 300 more chapter I have to change my viewpoint. The occupations he has to take a test in are increasing in numbers and there are more and more tests, that felt like literally "copy pasted" tests from previous chapters. Just with increased difficulty.

In the later chapters it is like this: He did all his occupation tests and advanced to a new master teacher level, so he travels to a higher domain, which he take similar tests all over again a few chapters later.

At this point I thought, where is the plot. How many chapter until he takes another similar "copy and pasted" occupation tests. I want more stories in between his occupations, like in the earlier chapters, but even then somehow the occupation tests really felt like filler now and he has to take a lot more until he reaches the highest master teacher level. I can't take this anymore :D

It was like the occupation tests are the center and main part of this novel. It was like the tests are the plot. It was like everything else is just the subplot. It should be the other way around.

Also don't expect deep relationship developments and character growth. He is a teacher and the novel is about teaching. Don't expect more than this. Read it for the face slapping moments until it gets too repetitive and boring. If you like OP characters I think you will be enjoying this novel for a few hundred chapters like I did. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen
We Don’t Open Anywhere
September 8, 2018
Status: --
This novel is about a slice of life story with murder cases and how the characters feel, react and change according to the circumstances around their lifes.

What is special about this? The characters use metaphors to express their feelings and there are also a lot of different metaphors to describe their personalities.

I would describe the writing style as art. These kind of novels are really not my cup of tea, so I will not rate it. If you like the above mentionend points I'm sure you will enjoy this novel.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
A Will Eternal
July 23, 2019
Status: c1070
A Will Eternal in 1 word: CRINGEWORTHY

There are some repetitive actions throughout the whole story in AWE:

MC arrives in a sect. He causes a disaster, but achieved something noteworthy (f.e. Cultivation breakthrough) He boasts so long about his achievements (several days/weeks) until everyone runs away from him, but he is shameless enough to chase and confront them anyway to boast further about his deeds. He gets punished, because of further disasters.

He leaves the sect. Now experience some exciting parts, until he arrives in another sect and everything repeats itself. The... more>> repetitive part is funny, but after you experienced this exact pattern 4, 5, 6 times and more, you don't look forward to it anymore.

At least in the later chapters, he doesn't chase after cultivators anymore to boast about his achievements, but you know he will cause a disaster and has to leave the sect because of it and you know there will be lots of cringeworthy actions everytime. I don't blame his character. He is certainly unique and funny, but I blame the repetitive pattern of this novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Marietta-hime no Konrei
July 20, 2019
Status: Completed
For whom is this story? I don't know. The romance and characters are too shallow and the "smut" part is too boring and uncreative.

I do understand the 4 star ratings though. If you seldom read romance stories, then this really could be rated this high. I mean, the author did nothing wrong and the premise sounds interesting. Unfortunately the autor never "dives" to level 2, 3, 4 and 5. It will always be on the shallow level 1 for depth.

The "story" is somehow adorable and funny, but it will never... more>> break out of its own threshold. It is like a first draft, before the autor adds the really exciting parts.

Also, the content is maybe enough for 7 chapters, but 33 chapters? NOOOO!!! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
The Daily Life of the Immortal King
May 10, 2019
Status: c10
95% inner thoughts of the MC and descriptive story progression. 5% interaction and dialogue with other characters.

I really don't like this writing style. It feels dead to me, because of the lack of interaction.

Also, the comedy is kind of weird. I know the gags are supposed to be funny, but I can't laugh at them. It is enough for you to know it is funny, but it never reaches threshold of beeing a good laugh.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
March 3, 2019
Status: c133
One day in the life of the MC (seriously, all this happend on one day) :

Spoiler
    • MC drives his new car to the shopping mall. On the way someone crashed in his car and caused trouble.
    • MC wants to park his car, but someone stole his parking slot and caused him trouble.
    • On the way to the shopping mall, MC receives a phone call. Someone slanders his corporation on the news.
    • As he finally reaches the shopping mall, a shopping owner caused trouble to MC's girlfriends
[collapse]

Besides these kind of forced situations, the novel is pretty decent, if you like harem novels. Don't believe some of the negative reviews here. The harem develops naturally and there isn't some kind of personality change, because of the harem. Everything is explained as you learn more and more about the personalities of MC's girlfriends. There is also good character development. Look forward to it :P
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
King of Gods
October 23, 2018
Status: c764
I think King of Gods isn't as bad as I read in a couple of negative reviews. After the really slow start (the 50 first chapters are basically trash/ after 50 chapters it is only an okay novel, but it gets gradually better and later on it gets really good). A couple of hundreds of chapters in this novel, there are also 1 or 2 average arcs, depending on your preferences. So it isn't always on the "really good level". Regardeless it is much more enjoyable later on, than a... more>> lot of other "shounen-wuxia-novels" out there. In fact there were arcs, I thought this is the peak level for this kind of novel.

Sadly there are some other seriously negative points about this novel, which could get really frustrating. I wish I had known this points, before I started reading this novel. Now that I'm riding a tiger it is difficult to get off. ;D

If you can bear with that and the slow start just read this novel. It is really worth a shot. Here are the cons:

Spoiler

    • Power decrease later on (because of a curse)
    • MC died (because of the curse) and has to switch to a strangers body, which is A LOT weaker and younger than himself. So he has to cultivate with a strangers body all over again. At least it isn't form level 1, but of course he looses his previous bloodline.
    • The "romance" will give you probably an uncomfortable feeling at some points in the story, because of some stupid and not understandable choices of the MC.
    • MC can't channel all of his power in some parts of the story, because of reasons.
[collapse]

Basically:

  • re cultivation
  • a little bit NTR, because of the same person, almost every time MC reaches a higher domain and they meet again (MC's childhood friend is either betrothed to someone else in the higher domain or someone likes her and wants to snatch her away, etc.)
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
July 30, 2019
Status: c240
I highly recommend this novel to at least try it out yourself, because the 2 star reviews I read on this site are subjective to a really high extent.

5 stars from me until around chapter 200.

What I like about this novel:

    • Our MC knows about the tropes of transmigration novels (f.e. White lotus flower female led) and therefore there will be funny situations created about the stupidity of the tropes and cliches of these novels.
    • A lot of creative (for the most time) misunderstandings, that causes the MC to shine in a good light, which causes the reader to have a good feeling and sometimes a good laugh at the scenes.
    • Realistic ML for his position and the ancient times. Regardeless, there is character growth and he changes, because he loves the MC. Be aware, he is still a man from ancient times, so he will be possesive. The social values from ancient times are different, than our values. Yes, I look at you, 2 star reviews ;D
    • I can't put my finger on everything, but I had 99% of the time a good fluffy and cozy feeling while reading it (until around chapter 200).
Sadly the novel changes at around chapter 200. The MC and the coldblooded ML are too kindhearted to some enemies or to stupid (why use an easy way to kill, if it could be done more difficult and with a chance for the enemy to escape?) to kill them and just let them live, which caused more heavy trouble/drama later. Also at around this chapter, the story about a growing relationship between MC and ML is mostly done. The story now is more about helping the ML to defeat enemies on the battlefield, rescuing the ML, betraying etc. Basically, at around here, the cozy and fluffy feelings are gone. There is a lot of drama, because of very obvious plotholes and infuriating, stupid, forced and utterly ridiculous plotlines, that shouldn't happen, because it goes against everything the novel told you about rules and society.

I'm not motivated to finish this novel, since it shifted its focus from romance to a military/strategy/DRAMA novel and the author doesn't know how to write a a military/strategy/DRAMA novel.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
I Am A Killer
July 16, 2019
Status: c27
Up until now I would give this story 3 stars, but the reading experience is disgusting. It is almost unreadible, because you are thrown out of the story multiple times per chapter and my enjoyment of reading this hit rock bottom. Why?

A few chapters into this translation, after you got somehow hooked, the translator decided to put up 8, 9, 10 and more watermarks per chapter.

This destroys and influences my experience to enjoy this story, therefore I have to downgrade this to 1 star. I will never read a novel... more>> from zhanlantranslations again. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Mai Kitsune Waifu
July 7, 2019
Status: c130
After the average beginning with potential, the novel is like 80% fighting and just 20% everything else.

Also the fights are a little bit infuriating, because the MC plays around so much, until reinforcements arrive (which makes the fights even longer) or the antagonist suddenly awakens a hidden power, etc.

Sometimes he patiently waits, until the antagonist pulled out all his moves, before he takes action.

It also doesn't matter how high his cultivation is, the fights ended up always as very close calls for the MC. Sometimes the fights could be ended... more>> very easily and fast, but MC plays around so much, until something happens, that makes him only narrowly escape death.

There are also VERY FORCED situations, like I couldn't even believe author pulled this of, even after I read countless chinese novels. One example:

Spoiler

MC (has already awakened his second star jade-> he is unbelievably strong) and his classmate (a girl) are eating skewers and talking to each other. Suddenly a van halts before MC and his classmate. Some people in black came out and kidnapp MC's classmate before his eyes. They took her to the van and drove the car away. Now MC reacts and follows the van.

NOTE: The people in black are normal people (thugs) and MC is already an immortal cultivator. He is like 10 times faster and stronger then them. He already took out mulitple of this kind of thugs with one punch, as he had only 1 star jade, but he couldn't react in time, as she was kidnapped, like 1 meter before him?

[collapse]

Adding the other negative points already mentioned by other reviews, I really can't continue reading this anymore. I know the novel should be at least improving regarding MC's killing issues, but I already read, what the author is "capable" of. He really has the guts to write this bs forced situations? If he isn't afraid to pull this of, I dread what might possibly await me in future chapters.

Also, does the story-fighting ratio improve later on? I don't know... <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report