Report Review
17 Reviews


Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen
Sovereign of the Three Realms
September 10, 2018
Status: c1174
How to describe this novel in one word? "ROLLERCOASTER"

At some points in the story it is extremely good and you don't even care about other novels anymore and on other points in the story it gets really bad.

Sometimes I think I want to drop this novel and other times I want to pay for advanced chapters and I'm thinking to myself: "how could I ever have the thought of dropping this?"

Overall I can say, the author is a master of the dao of word count. So you have to master... more>> the skill: "skimming".

BTW the translation quality is top notch and etvo (the translator) is a GIRL. I hope you get it already. Geez :D <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Reverend Insanity
December 5, 2018
Status: c233
There are so many positive reviews, so let me talk only about the (imo) important negative points of this novel.

    • The cultivation system: It isn't your own power, that makes you powerful. It is most of the time a borrowed power. There are (pokemon), uh, I mean Gu in this world. Even if you are a level 3 Gu master, you are almost defensless without a Gu. So, you need a high cultivation for the usage of a gu and you need (legendary pokemon) strong gu to trash your opponent.
    • MC spends a lot of effort to get a rare/good/important gu, which will be disregarded pretty quickly or will be killed by enemies. For example, almost half of his Gu were killed in the latest chapters I read.
    • Lengthy fights between other parties. (Fights without invovlement of the MC)
    • MC is very predictable after awhile. He is like a robot/ai, which is optimized to get the best recources. He disregards EVERYTHING for resources. Side characters? Friendship? That doesn't matter at all to him. EVERYTHING can be and will be sacrificed for resources and you as the reader know this very clearly. There just needs to be the right opportunity. As a result the MC feels more like a boring ai, instead of a real human with emotions and personality. You will know the outcome of every "human relationship", because of MC's "algorithm". No character growth, no enjoyment from complicated relationships and human interactions (everything is just acting to get the best resources).
    • Author likes to show you a juicy piece of cake, but you only get broccoli instead and sometimes you need at least broccoli, but end up with nothing. "I could do the most awesome attack with this gu. *describes awesome situations with this gu and cool characteristics* 20 sentences later: but alas it can't be forced. I have to move on. I'm only destined to get the the lefotovers. They aren't as awesome and cool as the described gu"

      Authors approach is to show you a lollipop and immediately take it away.

      OR:

      "I need a healing gu"

      "Such a pity there is no healing gu"

      "There are so many good/rare gus, but I already have this type of gus. I'm just missing a healing gu"

      "I need to apply mortal medicine, because I don't have a healing gu."

      "This situation would be so much easier with a healing gu"

      GEEZ AUTHOR I GET IT ALREADY. YOU DON'T NEED TO ADDRESS THIS EVERY F*CKING TIME.

      "Finally I got my healing gu. Such a pity my movement gu is dead. Now I need to search for a movement gu" -.- Author, do you want me to cry and scream like a little baby?

      "such (a coincidence) bad luck. It just so happens, I need to travel a big distance and I currently have no movement gu, because it was killed moments ago. Now my journey will be 100 times as long as expected"

      "I could avoid this dangerous area with a movement gu..." -.-

    • IT IS LIKE AUTHOR READ TONS OF CRICITCS ABOUT OP MCs WITH PLOT ARMOR ON EVERY CORNER AND NOW HE NEEDS TO POINT OUT HIS LACK OF PLOT ARMOR ON EVERY CORNER. Author invented this new type of forced situation (at least he made it painfully obvious) and henceforth it should be called: "REVERSED PLOT ARMOR"

      He tries to shove a piece of cake down on every readers throats, but it feels more like he shoves tons of whole durians in my stomach and I mean the really big ones without even peeling the fruit. It hurts and it feels forced. Besides, forced feeding is never enjoyable.
If there is nothing else to read, I come back to this novel, but it isn't something I'm really looking forward to. It is just something to bypass time. 2/5 stars seems too little and 3/5 stars seems too much. Sometimes the novel is really enjoyable, so it is hard to get a final rating...
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Emperor’s Domination
November 19, 2018
Status: c1618
Yes, I read 1618 chapters of a very bad novel and still enjoyed it. Why is it that bad? MC speaks all the time about mysteries of the world, without saying anything. He tells us about history and the future events, but we as the readers always get just 1 part of the story. You will never hear about the other parts of the story.

Our MC would say: "You, as the readers are ants and can't reach the apex, so you aren't qualified to know anything."

You will read tons of... more>> conservations between MC and his old acquaintances or some mysterious beings, but as always you get just 1 part of the story. You will never know or comprehend what they are actually talking about most of the time. I suspect, even the author doesn't know what they are talking about :D

In the beginning you will feel curious about all the conversations and history talk of our MC, but as the story progresses they will never be mentioned again. In fact, there will be more and more completely different and independent "mystery talk sessions" on top of the old confusing speeches of our MC. You start to realize: "F*ck, all this talk is just filler content. You will never know what they are talking about."

Why should you read this garbage of a novel? Because the MC is the most badass and domineering character I've ever read in a novel. The story is about destroying the enemy in the most badass ways you can think of and "mystery talk".

Remember: mystery talk=filler

If you are here to read about anything else, you will be left disappointed. You should still give it a try, because it is damn satisfying to see our MC trashing everyone else in this novel ;D <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
August 28, 2018
Status: v10
I read this until nearly the end of volume 3 and I think I really can't continue anymore. This is the most overrated novel I've ever read. Why?
    • the story is slow paced
    • too much focus on redundant elements (redundant thoughts of the MC, redundant scenes)
    • sometimes you have 2 different point of views on the exact same slice of life scenes (which slows down the story even more).
    • there is generally too much info and too much text for too little content. You read for hours and in the end nothing happens. You read a lot of mc's thoughts on some boring matter you don't even care. For example he has some thoughts on things, that are common sense and didn't even need to be addressed, but he does it regardeless.
Volume 1 was okay. Except for some scenes and minor suprises, there was nothing really interesting. You have to bear with some info dumps here and there. A huge dissapointment is the fast acceptance of this genius child (our mc). It doesn't matter his parents, his teacher or in later volumes the other characters he met. They all treat him as if his genius in magic, behaviour and other skills are normal. At least you don't get the feeling, that he is REALLY special in the mind of other people.

In Volume 2 are some interesting characters introduced. I enjoyed this volume a little, because of their personalities. I liked the interaction between some characters, but nothing really interesting happens here either (storywise). Except for the ending, which has no build up/foreshadowing and happens in a few sentences :D

Volume 3 was something that got me really angry, because of the redundant, boring jrpg sideqest (or fetch quest) like storyline.

What happens in this volume? Well, basically this:

Spoiler

They travel to a city, enter a adventure guild and do some quest to earn money (yawn*). What are the quests like you ask? There are a ton of chapters on a quest to search for a pet. Interesting, right? Later they discover this pet was abducted. Some adventurers abduct pets, just to fulfill the request of the client later (yawn*)

I kid you not. This is the level you have to bear storywise.

[collapse]

Maybe I try to read volume 4 sometime, but alone this shopping trip for armor accompanied again with a ton of mc's redundant thoughts on the new clothes, was killing me :D I don't know if I can really bear with his inner comments on the most uninteresting things, just to fulfill some word count (#filler).

EDIT

I READ UNTIL VOLUME 10 and now I'm dropping this for real. It gets better after volume 3 and it really wasn't bad the next few volumes. Just keep in mind, there is nothing especially enjoyable happening. There is a goal and you look forward to it. That keeps you going and let you enjoy this novel more. The problem is, there is no real pay off for this big build up of the story. MC achieved his "big goal", but it wasn't satisfactory. It was even the opposite of satisfactory. You start to hate the MC, his fahter and his sister. They all behave childish and unreasonable. I read tons of novels, but this was the epitome of frustrating and bad feelings I got from a novel EVER. His sister gives you bad feelings, because of this one incident even a few volumes later. So look forward to it.

I could rant more and more, because of certain incidents and behaviours of characters, but I will limit myself to 1 person in this review.

Sylphiette (MCs childhood friend) is one of the most detestable characters I've ever read in a novel. She would screw you up emotionally in reality. This is a woman you want to avoid in real life AT ALL COST.

Spoiler

Do you remember the sweet Sylphiette? Yes it is the little girl, who ows all her later achievements to our MC. Because of him she learned a lot of unique skills. She would even die in a future accident, if it wasn't for MC's training sessions. Later in the story they got seperated and Sylphiette made acquaintance with the princess of the kingdom. Many years later MC and Sylphiette met again. Syphiette is still grateful to the MC. They got all lovey-dovey and even married. All okay so far, right? Yes, except she told him, that she would abandon him, because of the princess. She cares more about her. She loves him and of course she would love her children, but her priority is still the princess. The protection of the princess is more important than anything else.

[collapse]

Of course our beta MC agrees with her. You get frustrated because of her and get again bad feelings (you get these kind of thing a lot in the later volumes. I promise you.) and then you get angry at the MC, because he behaves like the "beta-male-king".

I can't continue, because of all the frustrating feelings I get from this novel. I dread what awaits me ahead, because there is a lot more potential to this negative emotions. The story isn't even that interesting.

Summary after 10 volumes

  • frustrating feelings everywhere (drama)
  • too much build up and then no or bad pay offs
  • most of the time boring or average story and plot twists.
I think the good rating is just because this was one of the first novel ever consistently translated and completed.

In my opinion this really isn't worth reading, because there are a lot of better novels with similar settings out there.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
November 5, 2018
Status: c406
Pro

    • MC, who bullies others more, instead of getting bullied by others.
    • MC pretends to be an arrogant young master (debauchee)
    • One of his friends is actually a debauchee and arrogant young master
    • MC is an assassin and it is refreshing and new to read about his occupation and his role and behaviour in this new world.
    • I like the different characters and their interactions. They aren't 1 dimensional and they have actually different personalities.
Con

    • the story is sometimes very slow paced. For example, there is an entire chapter, describing MC stepping out of his tent and walking a few steps and another entire chapter was used to describe the usage and characteristics of a single fruit
    • translation quality (it isn't that bad, but it isn't good either)
    • sometimes contradictions in personalities and actions of some characters (out of character).
    • sometimes mc's actions were stupid and felt forced, just for the sake of plot developments
Tip:

You can most of the time safely skip paragraphs entirely, if they begin with the following words: Therefore, Moreover, However, Furthermore, In addition, In fact, etc.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Mushoku Tensei (LN)
November 2, 2018
Status: v10
I read this until nearly the end of volume 3 and I think I really can't continue anymore. This is the most overrated novel I've ever read. Why?
    • the story is slow paced
    • too much focus on redundant elements (redundant thoughts of the MC, redundant scenes)
    • sometimes you have 2 different point of views on the exact same slice of life scenes (which slows down the story even more).
    • there is generally too much info and too much text for too little content. You read for hours and in the end nothing happens. You read a lot of mc's thoughts on some boring matter you don't even care. For example he has some thoughts on things, that are common sense and didn't even need to be addressed, but he does it regardeless.
Volume 1 was okay. Except for some scenes and minor suprises, there was nothing really interesting. You have to bear with some info dumps here and there. A huge dissapointment is the fast acceptance of this genius child (our mc). It doesn't matter his parents, his teacher or in later volumes the other characters he met. They all treat him as if his genius in magic, behaviour and other skills are normal. At least you don't get the feeling, that he is REALLY special in the mind of other people.

In Volume 2 are some interesting characters introduced. I enjoyed this volume a little, because of their personalities. I liked the interaction between some characters, but nothing really interesting happens here either (storywise). Except for the ending, which has no build up/foreshadowing and happens in a few sentences :D

Volume 3 was something that got me really angry, because of the redundant, boring jrpg sideqest (or fetch quest) like storyline. What happens in this volume? Well, basically this:

Spoiler

They travel to a city, enter a adventure guild and do some quest to earn money (yawn*). What are the quests like you ask? There are a ton of chapters on a quest to search for a pet. Interesting, right? Later they discover this pet was abducted. Some adventurers abduct pets, just to fulfill the request of the client later (yawn*)

I kid you not. This is the level you have to bear storywise.

[collapse]

Maybe I try to read volume 4 sometime, but alone this shopping trip for armor accompanied again with a ton of mc's redundant thoughts on the new clothes, was killing me :D I don't know if I can really bear with his inner comments on the most uninteresting things, just to fulfill some word count (#filler).

EDIT

I READ UNTIL VOLUME 10 and now I'm dropping this for real. It gets better after volume 3 and it really wasn't bad the next few volumes. Just keep in mind, there is nothing especially enjoyable happening. There is a goal and you look forward to it. That keeps you going and let you enjoy this novel more. The problem is, there is no real pay off for this big build up of the story. MC achieved his "big goal", but it wasn't satisfactory. It was even the opposite of satisfactory. You start to hate the MC, his fahter and his sister. They all behave childish and unreasonable. I read tons of novels, but this was the epitome of frustrating and bad feelings I got from a novel EVER. His sister gives you bad feelings, because of this one incident even a few volumes later. So look forward to it.

I could rant more and more, because of certain incidents and behaviours of characters, but I will limit myself to 1 person in this review.

Sylphiette (MCs childhood friend) is one of the most detestable characters I've ever read in a novel. She would screw you up emotionally in reality. This is a woman you want to avoid in real life AT ALL COST.

Spoiler

Do you remember the sweet Sylphiette? Yes it is the little girl, who ows all her later achievements to our MC. Because of him she learned a lot of unique skills. She would even die in a future accident, if it wasn't for MC's training sessions. Later in the story they got seperated and Sylphiette made acquaintance with the princess of the kingdom. Many years later MC and Sylphiette met again. Syphiette is still grateful to the MC. They got all lovey-dovey and even married. All okay so far, right? Yes, except she told him, that she would abandon him, because of the princess. She cares more about her. She loves him and of course she would love her children, but her priority is still the princess. The protection of the princess is more important than anything else.

[collapse]

Of course our beta MC agrees with her. You get frustrated because of her and get again bad feelings (you get these kind of thing a lot in the later volumes. I promise you.) and then you get angry at the MC, because he behaves like the "beta-male-king". I can't continue, because of all the frustrating feelings I get from this novel. I dread what awaits me ahead, because there is a lot more potential to this negative emotions. The story isn't even that interesting. Summary after 10 volumes

    • frustrating feelings everywhere (drama)
    • too much build up and then no or bad pay offs
    • most of the time boring or average story and plot twists.
I think the good rating is just because this was one of the first novel ever consistently translated and completed. In my opinion this really isn't worth reading, because there are a lot of better novels with similar settings out there.

If you like drama and depressing feelings this might be for you. I never felt more uncomfortable to read a novel than this.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
September 19, 2018
Status: c441
There are a ton of reviews about the positive aspects of cultivation chat group (most of them are true). Let me write about the negative points and what went wrong in the later chapters.

The farther you go in this novel, the more comedy you get. At some point it shifts completely to the comedy aspect and you get the feeling, the story revolves only about comedy. For sake of comedy the author abondend a lot of stuff you expect from this kind of novel. Exciting story developments/twists etc. Are anbandoned... more>> for comedy most of the time. Character growth and realtionship development are less prevailing.

The farther you go, the more the story slows down and it gets dragged on like a chewing gum. Currently I'm reading about a race (of course the race is just for the lols) between cultivators and there are like more than 10 chapters just for the race.

The comedy isn't as good as in the first 200-300 hundred chapters. Don't ask me why. Maybe there is too much of this kind of comedy or maybe the quality/creativity is less than in the beginning or maybe a combination of both aspects. At any rate, there are more and more jokes and "funny" developments I don't laugh at. Sometimes I have to grin, but it get's less and less.

I give this novel 3 stars, because I really liked the story, before it shifts to "complete comedy mode" and because the characters are very interesting. I wish I had this kind of characters in a serious xianxia/wuxia novel. That would be hilarious :D <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
March 14, 2019
Status: c551
My wife is a Beautiful CEO OR THE ENDLESS PURSUIT, COURTING AND KIDNAPPING OF MC's women :D

Yes, there will be always multiple attempts from different men to snatch MC's girlfriends/wife away. THEY WILL NEVER BE SAFE, even if 1 girlfriend was already rescued once. There is sure a time in this novel, this same girlfriend will be courted by different men a second and maybe a third and fourth time. They will try to force MC's women away by talking (persuading, flirting, threatening, etc.), by money, by background, by force,... more>> by arranged marriages, etc. There will be countless means deployed, to ensure they will get their dirty hands on MC's women. Later in this novel, they don't even care about MC's marriage. They will still try to snacht away the CEO wife.

You don't like this feeling? Maybe this novel might be still enjoyable for you, but it will leave a bad aftertaste.

Especially the CEO wife's personality doesn't make it easier to like this novel.

Spoiler

Even until chapter 551 Lin Ruoxi treats the MC coldly. There is no "wish fullfilment" part at all yet in this relationship. It doesn't matter how many times he rescued her and he even gave her 50 billion yuan to rescue her company. She doesn't even care that much. Yes, there is sometimes a slight improvement in the relationship, but then something happens a few chapters later and she treats him again in the same cold manner or even worse. Without our MC, she would be dead multiple times. MC just needs to make a little mistake (which isn't even necessarily a mistake, because sometimes it was because of HER APPROVAL/ARRANGEMENT) and everything he has done for her is forgotten. It is also very annoying to see him pursuing and pleasing her all the time, without an improvement in the relationship, because she simply doesn't care.

This is like "wish fullfilment" for the female readers, because they might enjoy the feeling of beeing endlessly pleased and pursuited by the MC, regardless how bad she treats him.

[collapse]

Except from the above mentioned points the novel is still enjoyable. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen
We Don’t Open Anywhere
September 8, 2018
Status: --
This novel is about a slice of life story with murder cases and how the characters feel, react and change according to the circumstances around their lifes.

What is special about this? The characters use metaphors to express their feelings and there are also a lot of different metaphors to describe their personalities.

I would describe the writing style as art. These kind of novels are really not my cup of tea, so I will not rate it. If you like the above mentionend points I'm sure you will enjoy this novel.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
March 3, 2019
Status: c133
One day in the life of the MC (seriously, all this happend on one day) :

Spoiler
    • MC drives his new car to the shopping mall. On the way someone crashed in his car and caused trouble.
    • MC wants to park his car, but someone stole his parking slot and caused him trouble.
    • On the way to the shopping mall, MC receives a phone call. Someone slanders his corporation on the news.
    • As he finally reaches the shopping mall, a shopping owner caused trouble to MC's girlfriends
[collapse]

Besides these kind of forced situations, the novel is pretty decent, if you like harem novels. Don't believe some of the negative reviews here. The harem develops naturally and there isn't some kind of personality change, because of the harem. Everything is explained as you learn more and more about the personalities of MC's girlfriends. There is also good character development. Look forward to it :P
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
King of Gods
October 23, 2018
Status: c764
I think King of Gods isn't as bad as I read in a couple of negative reviews. After the really slow start (the 50 first chapters are basically trash/ after 50 chapters it is only an okay novel, but it gets gradually better and later on it gets really good). A couple of hundreds of chapters in this novel, there are also 1 or 2 average arcs, depending on your preferences. So it isn't always on the "really good level". Regardeless it is much more enjoyable later on, than a... more>> lot of other "shounen-wuxia-novels" out there. In fact there were arcs, I thought this is the peak level for this kind of novel.

Sadly there are some other seriously negative points about this novel, which could get really frustrating. I wish I had known this points, before I started reading this novel. Now that I'm riding a tiger it is difficult to get off. ;D

If you can bear with that and the slow start just read this novel. It is really worth a shot. Here are the cons:

Spoiler

    • Power decrease later on (because of a curse)
    • MC died (because of the curse) and has to switch to a strangers body, which is A LOT weaker and younger than himself. So he has to cultivate with a strangers body all over again. At least it isn't form level 1, but of course he looses his previous bloodline.
    • The "romance" will give you probably an uncomfortable feeling at some points in the story, because of some stupid and not understandable choices of the MC.
    • MC can't channel all of his power in some parts of the story, because of reasons.
[collapse]

Basically:

  • re cultivation
  • a little bit NTR, because of the same person, almost every time MC reaches a higher domain and they meet again (MC's childhood friend is either betrothed to someone else in the higher domain or someone likes her and wants to snatch her away, etc.)
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
October 23, 2018
Status: c702
This was one of my guilty pleasures. I know it is bad, but it was still very enjoyable.

I loved the overpowered MC. His cultivation and face slapping scenes were sometimes so ridiculously op, I had to laugh out loud :P

I'm not sure, if the author was serious with some op face slapping events in the novel or if this was just for comedies sake though :D

... more>> Why am I giving just 2 stars?

Because it gets repetitive and dull in the later chapters. I'm especially talking about the tests for his various occupations to advance his master teacher level.

Don't misunderstand. I enjoyed even this events a long time, until it got boring, because of the repetitiveness. At some point it felt more like a chore.

I saw previous reviews mentioned this (they dropped this novel around chapter 300 or even earlier), but I thought to myself: "Well it is kind of repetitive (anyway, it isn't THAT repetitive), but I enjoy it regardeless". After I read 300 more chapter I have to change my viewpoint. The occupations he has to take a test in are increasing in numbers and there are more and more tests, that felt like literally "copy pasted" tests from previous chapters. Just with increased difficulty.

In the later chapters it is like this: He did all his occupation tests and advanced to a new master teacher level, so he travels to a higher domain, which he take similar tests all over again a few chapters later.

At this point I thought, where is the plot. How many chapter until he takes another similar "copy and pasted" occupation tests. I want more stories in between his occupations, like in the earlier chapters, but even then somehow the occupation tests really felt like filler now and he has to take a lot more until he reaches the highest master teacher level. I can't take this anymore :D

It was like the occupation tests are the center and main part of this novel. It was like the tests are the plot. It was like everything else is just the subplot. It should be the other way around.

Also don't expect deep relationship developments and character growth. He is a teacher and the novel is about teaching. Don't expect more than this. Read it for the face slapping moments until it gets too repetitive and boring. If you like OP characters I think you will be enjoying this novel for a few hundred chapters like I did. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Love Dependency Disease
April 25, 2019
Status: c31
WARNING!

Don't read this, if you want a serious yandere novel.

At first I thought this story has a lot of potential, but then it happend. The comedy aspect has grown stronger and stronger. The downfall began with a competition between 2 schools:

... more>> "The 5 human trashes (Our MC is one of the human trashes) " vs. The other school's "4 dirty kings".

Somehow funny, right? I thought so, too. I thought this is kind of refreshing. A yandere novel, with comedy elements, but oh boy was I wrong. The problem is, this is a comedy novel with yandere elements and not the other way around.

Later the jokes became so ridiculous, that ANYTHING can happen for the sake of comedy:

Spoiler

1) After a fight in the student council, all members were hurt. One of them said: "I'm not hurt" As he said this, his kidney fell to the ground. "I'am really okay". He took his kidney and stuffed it back into his body.

2) MC is on the beach and is currently swimming in the ocean.

Yandere girl 1: "I can't swim. You have to help me" As she said this, she swam to the MC with a peculiar professional swim style and hugged him.

Yander girl 2: "I also can't swim. You have to teach me" As she said this, she swam to the MC in a peculiar professional swim style and hugged him.

Yandere girl 3? (It isn't known yet, if she really is a yandere) : "Teach me too". As she she said this, she walked over the water (is she jesus? What will she do next? Parting the ocean like moses?) and hugged the MC.

[collapse]

This novel is like the old cartoons from my childhood, where LITERALLY ANYTHING can happen at any time, just to get some laughs from the audience and yeah, some jokes are really OLD. Just read my 2 examples from the spoiler section.

I know, I shouldn't rate this novel, because a pure comedy novel isn't something I would pick up to read in the first place, but this novel mislead me for a long time and sold me a package of seriousness, but as I openend this package at home, a clown jumps out of the box.

Don't get fooled from the first chapters, just to end up wasting a lot of time. If you like to read a comedy novel with yandere elements, this might be for you. In that case you can ignore my 1 star rating. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Superstars of Tomorrow
November 25, 2018
Status: c135
I like this story isn't about music all the time. Someone wrote a review criticizing this, because he expected just "music composition". Although the music part isn't bad, but I think it would be incredibly boring to read about this throughout the entire novel.

Also there is a justifiable reason, why the MC is good at all the things he has done in this novel (at least until chapter 135). Yes he is a music composer, but he had to survive and train in an apocalyptical world. So yeah, he can... more>> handle a weapon very well and has good fighting skills. I especially enjoyed these parts of the novel the most.

What I didn't like is MC's behaviour. He is somehow more like a robot and not like a human beeing. He doesn't feel "alive" for me. I can't pinpoint exactly why I feel this way though.

There is also a lack of interaction. He doesn't has as many dialogues as I expect from a MC. There is only the bare minimum of conversation between MC and other characters, just enough to fulfill his duty. Of course, the talks contain "business" related topics most of the time.

I need more emotion. I want him to be more alive.

I can't even imagine him to have something like romance going on. By the way, there was no romance at all. If there is a girl in the future, I think the romance would feel forced and artificial or the author decides to give him a completely different personality.

Either way, both things are bad.

The story is okay and the fighting related parts even got me excited. Everything was fine, until the dog arc. This is maybe one of the worst, awkward and most uninteresting arc I've ever read in a chinese novel. Worst of all, there is no conclusion to the dog arc until now. It is intertwined within the story and pops up suddenly between other arcs. It is like the sword of Damocles.

The dog arc is about sheep herding and yes, it is as interesting as it sounds. No, maybe it is even worse.

Also I didn't like the seldom, but occasionally descriptive story progression. I don't want to read a history book :D Okay it isn't as bad, but I didn't like the manner it was handled. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
The Daily Life of the Immortal King
May 10, 2019
Status: c10
95% inner thoughts of the MC and descriptive story progression. 5% interaction and dialogue with other characters.

I really don't like this writing style. It feels dead to me, because of the lack of interaction.

Also, the comedy is kind of weird. I know the gags are supposed to be funny, but I can't laugh at them. It is enough for you to know it is funny, but it never reaches threshold of beeing a good laugh.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
The Taming of the Yandere
April 21, 2019
Status: v3c11
The story of this novel has a lot of potential and the characters are interesting so far. It's a pitty, that the writing style of this author is unbearable. I can describe it with one word: "chaos"

Often you finish a chapter and want to start the next, but you get utterly confused, because the next chapter or at least the beginning of the chapter has nothing to do with the previous one.

Imagine this. You get finally to some juicy parts of the story, click on the next chapter and all... more>> you get is 30 sentences of MC's inner thoughts on some random matter.

Sometimes interesting parts of the story are totally skipped and other times there are random temporary time skips. Even within 1 chapter. I will summarize a short example:

Spoiler

Our protagonists had to discuss something with the "Yandere", but she doesn't want to open the door. The neighbor girl had a suggestion. She shouted loudly at our MC: "Apparently she isn't here. Come to my room. I will give you some juice" At the same time she hugged his arm, while going to her apartment.

MC was sitting on a couch, while a girl was in the kitchen to make fresh juice. MC took a look at the room... (the room was described etc.). Suddenly the Yandere girl came out of the kitchen.

Why is our MC at the Yandere girls room? Well this little story will be revealed later.

[A few sentences later, author suddenly time skipped back to the past]

The yandere girl came out of the door, took MCs arm and dragged him to her room, while the neighbor girl let go of MCs hand and thus the protagonist was in the Yandere girls room instead.

[collapse]

EDIT

The writing style improves in the later chapters and you get accustomed to the "flashbacks", but I still don't like this style. Also, the flow of reading will not be interrupted as much, in the later chapters.

The thing is, the storydevelopment is really really amazing later on. It pains me to give this novel just 3 Stars. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elementarteilchen
Elementarteilchen rated it
Dragon King’s Son-In-Law
December 12, 2018
Status: c266
The slice of life tag is strong in this one, but I really like this approach. Other novels focus on cultivating and fighting etc.

This one focuses more on Hao Rens daily life/romance and relationship issues etc. Although in the later chapters it shifts more and more to cultivation/fighting, but it never forgets its roots.

I loved his daily life and enjoyed how "the cultivation world" changed him little by little and made an impact on his life.

His whole situation is very interesting and made the slice of life part even more... more>> enjoyable.

Regardless, there are some issues I have to address.

Spoiler

His fiance is a 15 year old girl, but she behaves like someone from a kindergarten (6 years old). She also isn't very likable. Although she changed in the later chapters to some degree, she has almost no depth to her personality.
Hao Rens childhood friend is in a totally different league though. She has much more personality. After you learn more about her, his fiance felt more and more bland.

The novel started out great. Pretty light, without any "uncomfortable feelings", but there were a few drama parts, which I didn't like in the later chapters. For example, a girl in love with Hao Ren was waiting for him her entire life. She even had a special lifestyle, because she wanted him to be attracted to her, but out of nowhere she wanted to move to her parents (they live in the USA) all of a sudden. She thought, he doesn't like her, because there were some awkward vibes between them. This whole story with her, beginning at the "awkward vibes part" didn't feel good.
This felt too forced/extreme and also somehow out of character. It wasn't coherent with their personalities.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report