Report Review
9 Reviews


Elawn
Elawn rated it
I’m in Hollywood
February 6, 2017
Status: --
Heyo, I'm the one who picked up the translation.

First of all, if you're looking for a deep and profound story, don't start reading this.

My rating is biased towards the genre, because I sincerely like it. This is the same type as Very Pure and Ambiguous or My Beautiful Teacher, it's something you read without feeling burdened. No NTR, death of loved ones or any of those things that just make you cringe.

It's a great story if you're not looking for anything serious, so if you're up for it, join our... more>> MC in his path to the top o/

PS: About 90% of the characters mentioned in this novel have existed or still exist, and their background stories are the same as in real life (ex: Drew Barrymore's addiction).

PPS: The R-15 stuff really starts around chapter 37, so don't be disappointed if you can't find much before that.

PPPS: Chinese author's logic prominent.

PPPPS: MC is an asshole. You have been warned. <<less
71 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
December 29, 2016
Status: v2c116
Oh for Christ's sake. If you don't wanna read harem types then don't read something with the harem type tag plastered on it in the first place...

I love this novel. It's the same type as My Beautiful Teacher, the type you read without feeling burdened, the type you should read without constantly analyzing why the author gave the MC a harem (BECAUSE HAREM ROCKS DAMNIT), the type that just makes you laugh conspicuously in the bus, the type that will make you so addicted that you'll F5 the release page... more>> like a mad person everyday.

That kind of novel!

As of May 2017: Novel kind of went to sh*t with the aliens and what not. <<less
55 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
Overgeared
January 31, 2018
Status: c318
TL;DR Give it a shot. It's a worthwhile read.

Pfew. Where to begin? First of all, I'm flipping off all those who didn't even go past 100 chapters and made a review. I like this novel. I really, really like this novel.

I might've been exasperated with Grid at the begining but... Okay that's a lie. I hated him. Like, how can anyone be so scummy? It felt like his personality had gone through a level drop into the minuses.

However, it's obvious that's what the author wanted because after... more>> a while, he changes. He really does – although he still has a few questionable moments, he has, at least, become better.

And now I read because I want to know more. I want to know how much he'll keep growing.

I won't lie, I binge read the 318 chapters available in 3 days. If you can get past/through the first 100 chapters, you probably won't regret it.

PS: Although it says Harem, he is only in a relationship with a single person right now. I don't know how it's gonna be after that though. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
July 28, 2017
Status: c334
Wow. Wow, wow, WOW.

I was seriously blown away by this novel. I was skeptical at first, and quite reluctant to start it, but since it had a "Modern Day" tag, I just had to give it a shot... and boy am I glad I did. The MC is life. Seriously. No arrogant young master/asshole/pervert/master of the universe dipsh*t bullsh*t. None of it. He is 30 years old mentally and he actually acts like it. I know what you're thinking; SHOCKER, right?

But that's not the best part, no, no. The best... more>> part isn't even his overpowered Dating Sim System (which by the way can do A LOT more than help him date, so I'm currently questioning the author's sense of naming), no, it's the plot build that really starts around 20+ chapters, when we realize that this novel isn't just going to be a slice of life but something closer to a modern wuxia packed drama...

I don't want to spoil anyone, but to those who haven't yet started to read this, I only have one question:

What are you waiting for?!

EDIT as of 05/28/2018: I took a star off because the pacing is excruciatingly slowwww. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
God of Cooking
March 6, 2017
Status: c147
Great palate cleanser if you're tired of all those blood-thirsty idiotic MC's who will more often than not think with their lower part.

It includes everything you need: cheat ability, an amazing female lead, lots of cooking, plenty of humor and heartfelt fluffy moments.

Anyways, Korea has a brand new chef, and he's gonna make some waves...
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
Top Management
February 27, 2017
Status: c38
Really, such a refreshing novel.

I'd say it's quite similar to God of Music, without the romantic aspect (for now at least). I really enjoyed the read, it's a shame the translation is so slow.

My rating might change in the future as there just isn't enough chapters to clearly gouge it, but as of now, I can only recommend.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
December 29, 2016
Status: c579
"It's so f**king racist!"
"Why is the MC always so petty? Grow up!"

Those are perfect examples of remarks I've come across when it comes to IRAS.

First of all, racist? There's a "nationalistic" tag above, what the freaking hell were you expecting? Now, this novel is definitely not something that will appeal to everyone, so if you can't take the whole racism heat, I suggest you be on your way.

Granted, the novel is repetitive: Zhang Ye being himself > people finding trouble > him challenging them > them cursing him >... more>> him face-smacking them.

Zhang Ye is a petty, average-looking, short-tempered, nationalistic and shameless to the core bastard.

But so what ? I've been through God knows how many arcs and 550 chapters, and I still crave my daily dose of him. PS: The novel is super well-written, and Legge and CK are doing an amazing job with the translation. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
Rebirth: How a Loser Became a Prince Charming
May 11, 2018
Status: c579
TL;DR: For those who like novels related to show-business, I 100% recommend. Slow start, but absolutely worth it if you can get past the author's increasingly ridiculous glorification of the MC.

I'm honestly fed up with people who think it's okay to rate a novel with over 600 chapters after reading the first 50. NO.

JUST. DON'T.

... more>> This novel is absolutely underrated thanks to its slow start. If you haven't read at least 100 chapters, don't bother rating it because you don't have enough material to judge it.

Also, the author likes to make long and useless descriptions of a lot of things, if you can't stand that, then just skip it. But by God almighty, stop rating it so low when you gave up at 15 freaking chapters!!

For those who want more information on the novel and what comes after 100 chapters, read below. Be forewarned though, it's all spoiler.

Spoiler

MC starts his modeling and acting career in China. He becomes quite successful. He then goes to the US and studies at Columbia University. He models for Armani and Calvin Klein, acts in two indie movies (wins 1 award), one movie directed by George Clooney starring Drew Barrymore and Julia Roberts, and also Mean Girls where he acts as Aaron.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Elawn
Elawn rated it
Golden Time (JungYong)
February 27, 2018
Status: c34
I don't usually make reviews that early on, but I just had to this time.

I really, really like the MC's personality post-coma. We still have no idea what exactly happened to him but the author seems to enjoy throwing us crumbs to hold on to, which I strangely find myself enjoying.

The way the MC gets out of sticky situations is praise-worthy, I like that he is level-headed and pragmatic even under pressure.

The pace so far has been great, and I can't wait to learn more about him as the story... more>> goes on.

TL; DR: READ. You will not regret. At least so far, it's a 5 stars for me. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report