Report Review
23 Reviews


Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
July 11, 2016
Status: c123
The summary is sort of misleading and put me off but once I started reading, I couldn't stop.

I very much like the MC. There's no angst about her past and from start to end, her confidence, knowledge of her place, and conviction is something that makes her so very endearing. She is one of the most unique MCs I've read about and the relationship between her and her husband is something I came to love very much. ... more>>
Spoiler

Her husband grows to supremely devoted to her and once he falls in love, basically never touches his concubines again. What I really loved, however, was the ambiguity of the MC's own feelings towards him. It is never explicitly stated and her husband is well aware her loves her far more than she loves him. However, as the novel so aptly states, actions prove far more than words and it is the MC's actions which truly reveal the depths of her feelings for him, and him for her. A very well suited couple.

[collapse]

This is a slice of life novel set in a the 'harem' of her husband with the expected politics and stuff. It may sound strange but I found the slice of life style very fitting to the story and the lazy MC. Actually, it's more 'languid' than lazy I feel haha. It felt natural and devoid of unnecessary tension but still capable of intense scenes. For me, the story really hit it's climax
Spoiler

at the emperor's death scene

[collapse]
. It was truly an intense scene and the events leading and following it were amazingly depicted. The concluding chapters of the novel were (to me) very much poignant and beautiful, the languidness of the imperial past, the fleetingness of life, but also the beauty of love. The writing and translations were well done and didn't diminish from the story. A very well done historical romance novel with a smart and fascinating MC. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Two stars for a tolerable start

The beginning chapters are okay-usual trash MC becomes strong and curb stomps all her enemies into oblivion (sorta). The romance was even decent if sorta forced because she mostly saw the dude as what he presented (a mentally impaired kid) rather than a prospective love interest.

But then the middle and later chapters because so ???? I just felt unable to continue. The ploys concocted are cheap, the author seems to like to use r*pe as both a plot device and a punishment tool which is... more>> disgusting. Why do the girls get tormented while the guy gets away mostly scot free? And why use such gross means? They could have just used torture jeez

Additionally, the writing is relatively subpar. The thought process of the MC seems to have little to no depth and the ploys of others are simplistic and pathetic. I really don't see the development of the romance and the guy becomes sort of a douche later on while he was quite cute early on sigh

At first it was a guilty pleasure but now it's all sorts of terrible I just feel guilt. Read if you're really out of body transmig op MC novels I guess but it's more worth your time to just re read the good ones you've already read:') <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Pampered Fei Brimming with Cuteness
November 29, 2017
Status: c1
To those who are worried ... more>>
Spoiler

the ML isn't her husband

[collapse]
so I'm not dropping it because of that.

It's supposedly a comedy but I really don't find it funny at all OTL the "humour" really falls flat to me. I don't particularly mind a female lead who acts non standard in ancient settings (esp if they transmigirated) but the MC acts like a lunatic and honestly I'm not surprised her husband hasn't arranged for her demise like he probably could. It's kinda to the point where she's not likable or funny. Comparing it to an even more ridiculous premise with an MC who acts more outlandish (unruly phoenix xiaoye) the latter is so much funnier because her reactions feel so much more realistic even if the stuff she does is ridiculous. She has her own smarts and acts according to her goals no matter what.

This MC is supposed to be some police officer or something but like I feel she has less brains than a potato. I guess this novel just isn't my type of comedy. ¯\_ (ツ) _/ ¯ <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Wagamama Onna ni Tensei Shita yo
November 3, 2017
Status: c36
Absolutely typical transmig story about MC who brings about ideas from her original world and is super OP all while pampering her son.

Somehow, she adjusts way too fast from teenage student to doting mother. She's some kind of cooking/innovation god and every idea she introduces is 'fresh and unique and no one questions her sudden change in personality, attitude, and specialised knowledge in fields she's never shown an aptitude in.

But the worst part is her skill in magic. How ridiculously skilled and powerful despite her lack of training that is.

... more>>
Spoiler

of the top of my head, the first attempt at a simple barrier magic creates a dimensional barrier over the entire mansion, she's the first and only to sew magic in clothes which miraculously heal a half dead bird who touched it, her first circulation of magic results in her HOVERING FROM SHEER MAGIC PARTICLES, she easily turns water into ice, makes a tree walk because it's too heavy to carry and she's 'clueless' throughout about how OP she is even though her maid constantly tells her and she herself acknowledges the weird reactions people have. BUT GET THIS EVEN THOUGH she knows ice magic is impossible or whatever she decides to MAKE IT SNOW OVER THE ENTIRE CAPITAL FOR A FEW MINUTES and makes the excuse of oh it's at night and dark no one will notice the ilLUMINATED SNOW in this WARM COUNTRY THAT HAS NEVER SEEN SNOW. I can't. She brushes off it all with oh well my son is happy fufufu

[collapse]

I don't hate OP protag from another world with new ideas but when it's made into such a joke where the people of the world are amazed by everything even by something as simple as having an information booth.... I can't. Additionally, her interactions with her son aren't even very prominent so the cute factor is at a minimum and she's such a lacklustre protag I feel nothing but frustration for how amazed people are and how they worship her. It's not a relaxing novel, it's not particularly funny, it's not even heartwarming and thus it fails in the aspects it markets itself with. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Doomsday Wonderland
October 3, 2018
Status: c315
While this story has it's flaws, it's still an enjoyable binge worthy read.

The MC is a headstrong, battle smart heroine who has very enjoyable moments of badass level up. Her main flaw is that she doesn't analyse a lot initially and that can cause a lot of trouble for her. She does have moments of vague stupidity (which is ofc frustrating) but generally, when trouble hits her instincts are great. The best moments from her are when shes under immense stress and has to protect a bunch of people, she... more>> really shines then.

The side characters and plot twists and the most fun part of the novel. As the arcs progress, it just gets more fun. I particularly like the grey side characters who may appear friendly but are definitely powerful and have unknown intentions. The abilities and special objects have quirky names that don't take themselves too seriously. The novel does create lots of tension and drama though.

All in all, despite its flaws it's an easy read and really makes you want to read more. The novel really gets into it by the end of the first world, where shes with new companions. I feel like her initial companions were the most boring interaction and story wise so if you can get past them, the story should perk up. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Strongly Pampered Male Wife
May 1, 2018
Status: c25
Basically Insta love no matter how they try to package it. I was expecting them to become friends before slowly falling in love over their marriage year but the male lead is basically in love before they even meet and before you know it they're happily doing couple things despite the main character identifying as straight. (There's a brief period of resistance but it's so weak there's no point)

... more>>
Spoiler

Didn’t they mentioned that Shang Yushang was a person who doesn’t fool around easily? Then why would this person hold his hand on the first meeting, hug him on the second meeting, and even kissed his forehead? And now he even began to give kisses, hugs and get touchy at times. Can anyone confirm if this man was indeed the legendary Young Master Shang? The gap between his character and image was simply too far apart!

[collapse]

Yes, I agree with you main character. A stretch indeed.

Characters are okay, plot is pretty predictable. All in all, rather bland but still a decent read as long as your expectations aren't high. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Swain Hakushaku Reijou no Chiisana Oujisama
November 19, 2018
Status: c31
It's one of those novels where the more you read and the more they reveal, the story starts feeling less light hearted. I do like all the characters so far especially the main cast. The MC appears relatively normal if nice and stubborn but she has loads of issues that are slowly revealed. It can be frustrating because she appears frustratingly stubborn at times or even consciously naive but it fits her character. Shes pretty complex once the story develops and you start to realise she has more issues than... more>> she lets on. I do like that the young prince gets along with other people as well and is almost as close to her fiance because that's how children are. They may like one person better but they'll start to open their hearts to other people too. Hes a cute kid and I also like the fiance. The story has a lot of backstory that is slowly revealed and a surprising amount of political intrigue going in the background that entices you to read more. It's a decent story that's engaging to read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
A cute story with a (inevitably) mature protagonist who doesn't bother to act too much, refreshing in that aspect. The relationships with the love interests are standard so far although her somewhat dominant role is cute. The MC is a strange mix between self-aware and dense, desiring to stay far away from triggering 'flags' but a core part of her personality seems to be a weakness to 'helpless' people, or rather her desire for 'mothering' is indeed strong. Inevitably, this seems to work in her disfavor. Her straightforward nature (esp... more>> with the prince) is funny though, poor guy

Personally, I like her views on and relationship with her parents and her later need for being doted on. The novel (so far) isn't revolutionary but is a pleasant read with likable characters who are slowly developing in their own way. I look forward to future chapters and the MC meeting the rest of her love interests hehe

The translation itself is pretty good with a bit of syntax and sentence structure errors but nothing so major to hinder the reading experience. The edited chapters do have better delivery and I believe, with time, the quality will improve. Kudos and thanks to Ainushi Translations for the effort!

All in all, a decent read (so far) for the typical reincarnation yadda yadda trope with no overtly dense/stupid characters. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Alsar
November 5, 2018
Status: c23
A very light fluffy story with almost all the typical BL tropes (cute and good at housework main lead, super handsome and talented reverse harem) but it's incorporated well enough into the story. I do like the main character despite his cliches, the male leads are alright so far. A very light hearted fun story to pass the time with
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Legend of Fu Yao
August 9, 2018
Status: v2c19
Very well written and translated novel. An extremely descriptive novel that knows when to show an intense focus of the scene, to show the unrestrained violence and cruelty but also to show the beauty of feelings, it knows when to zoom out, to show a broader picture after the first intensity and show the effects of the actions. The balance between comedy and genuine seriousness is delicate but well done

Fuyao is an extremely likable heroine who can be a little brash and a little hot tempered but also knows when... more>> to get serious and has genuine compassion for lives. She takes a while to grow on you but when she does, you'll really feel for her. Her compassion may be a weakness at times but she knows when killing is necessary and doesn't hold back. At the end of the day, she has a good heart and surprisingly complex issues it seems she repressed

The male lead is straightforward in his affection for her, in all his actions and plans, he truly cares for her. He's mysterious and basically omniscient but never too aloof and his interactions with fuyao and yuanbao make him far more human than god. As one of the main mysteries so far, He's done well.

The other men in the 'reverse harem (although fuyao obviously only has the male lead in her eyes) are also done well with distinct characterisation.
Spoiler

the prince/general is my least favorite due to his personality and I actually like the two more restrained males (The doctor and swordsman) who're clearly filled with emotion. With the doctor being more prominent in the later chapters, there's a sense of longing but never able to attain it

[collapse]
in the end, they're distinct people sliding in and out of fuyao's life.

Thanks to the translator for an amazing translation that encapsulates the emotions. I highly recommend the novel. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
The Saint’s Magic Power is Omnipotent (LN)
October 29, 2017
Status: v2
A very refreshing and easy read. There's no overt antagonists or any sort of angst so it flows very smoothly. The characters are nice and developed enough to not be one dimensional. Sei is a nice heroine who's OPness doesn't grate and is genuinely just trying to live a relatively simple life but has a good heart and a go-with-the-flow attitude that sometimes ruins her own plans lol. The romance is very cute and the fluff livens up the story.

Overall, a peaceful and enjoyable transmig novel that does very well... more>> within the established cliches. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
It feels very childish and almost a joke. Granted I didn't read very far but compared to other lackadaisical novels with a more ridiculous premise, it's boring and the MC lacks a presence. She's supposedly a psychiatrist but barely acts like an adult and the canon fodder is just..... stupid. I just can't bring myself to read more when it reads like a joke told flat.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Hello, Wife!
April 11, 2019
Status: c62
Having read the author's Ancient China novels, my review will be biased as all three heroines are fundamentally very similar, believing in practicality over love and all being very emotionally strong woman.

Su Le feels like the weakest between her, Hua Xi Wan and Qu Qing Ju. She doesnt quite have the mesmerizing charisma of Qing ju or the indolent charm of Xi wan, although considering how normal she's meant to be that's fair enough. The problem is I could never quite get invested in her and thus her relationship with... more>> wei chu. I sort of liked her but she just didn't hold enough charisma to keep me captivated throughout.

Having read this after TBAVW and 8TT, modern times doesnt quite have the appeal without the signature ancient double speak and sinister underbelly of royalty, nor does it ring with a subtle poignancy about how fleeting life can be. It's just a very ordinary modern times love story and while the lack of overt drama is refreshing, it also weakens the pacing.

All in all, if you havent read her ancient china novels, it's a decent read but if you have, it's rather boring. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
From Maid to Mother
November 3, 2017
Status: --
A very fluffy and cute story that makes my soul feel healed. Lily is very kind and protective, and a lovely female lead. Jill is the cutest and Leonard is kind despite his oblivious nature.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Mob… Sore mo Waki Mob no Hazu Nan Desu Kedo!?
September 20, 2017
Status: c19
A very average novel, typical OP golden finger dense MC who is in utter denial that he's not a main character after all. There's nothing fresh or amazing but it's an enjoyable read for the most part. The fuwafuwa moments are decent and the MC is cute enough that he's decently likable.

Tbh, I skipped most of the world building and plot dump because my eyes started to hurt. Be warned of a very dialogue heavy info dump (of sorts, came pretty left field tbh) from chapters 13 to like 17.... more>> The MC can be quite confusing because sometimes his 'anger' bursts out suddenly and his mentality can be rather childish despite him being of a higher mental age (I can let this slide because I feel as if his physical age and mental age are trying to sync or something)

The pace is rather slow (4 chap plus convo Jesus) but thankfully skips the child stage most transmig novels love; although this does make the golden finger of the MC more obvious because all his skills are just magically there sigh

Tl;dr it's an average novel that can be draggy and likes info dump but has good translation quality and is decent enough for a read (just skim some info dumps it's not worth it) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Aloof King and Cool (Acting) Queen
November 1, 2016
Status: c21
A very peaceful, slice of life ish novel so far. MC is adorable and I rather enjoy all of his friendships lol. Looking forward to the development of his 'cool' persona and the eventual romance with the male lead

Super fluffy and easy to eat!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
The Male Lead’s Villainess Fiancée
February 13, 2019
Status: c22
A cute, cliche novel about a girl who transmigirates as the villain fiancee who is completely different from her novel counterpart and thus changes her relationships with every character but is completely oblivious about every flag she raises. In a fun counterpart, the Male lead appears to be oblivious to his obvious feelings as well.

This novel doesn't innovate but I plays its cliches well. The characters are enjoyable, if not particularly well developed beyond the main cast. Louise, although oblivious, does not obnoxiously try to force the perceived plot (beyond... more>> the usual surface attempts) and threats everyone as humans before characters since she's been in this world since young. Some may consider it "raising flags" but also speaks to her compassionate character and integration with the novel world.

Spoiler

Simon brings about second Male lead syndrome hard, I really wish they could end up together because the Male lead has the typical "bullying" love prevalent in these kind of novels

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
A very sweet and natural love story about two people who have always been together but took a little while longer to finally realise they love each other. The flow is rather slice of life like and there's good communication between the couple, the story extends into their married life and is overall a light and fluffy read with likeable characters.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
June 11, 2018
Status: c295
I have mixed feelings about this novel.

The first half or so were a comedic novel about a woman who transmigrates via cactus and her trying to navigate the plot as a cannon fodder. I thought the plot was relatively lighthearted and the character interactions were funny with misunderstandings galore.

Then the 'romance' starts setting in and the story gets more serious for a good while. At that point, the novel really starts to get bogged down. The MC's relationship with the male lead is based on a facade, the facade of... more>> her being a meek and fragile woman of the times. She can't communicate with him properly because of genuine fear and she never really shows her trueself. And he falls in love with this part of her.

Next, the story gets more serious and the MC gets more and more explained super powers and the antagonists get much more ridiculous and annoying. The cockroach antagonists drag on for so long and the MC gets such random deus ex machinas that it feels like the author wrote the story into a rut and just had to plot hole a way out.

Additionally, by this point I genuinely preferred the two side male leads (esp the 3rd one who she met very late but I felt was the best suited to her because they interact without a facade, he comments on her inability to talk freely with the male lead btw and I agree)

The last fifth of the novel perks up the story again just because it gets back into a more light hearted mood and delves straight into face slapping, the relationship does become much sweeter because she does show her true self and their interactions get much more enjoyable. It feels like the novel isn't taking itself too seriously and that's what makes it fun to read.

Overall, I almost prefer the 2 chapter side romance of her maid to the main characters romance. The first part and very last part of the novel are the best parts, The middle is draggy and full of eye-rolling moments and distracts from the general quality of the novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ecirteab
Ecirteab
Grabbing Your Hand, Dragging you Away
May 19, 2018
Status: Completed
A very refreshing novel to read. The greatest strength lay in the first 2/3s of the novel in my opinion. The pace is almost meandering but Ah Lan's narration, the witty dialogue, and the subtle tension makes it very compelling to read.

Ah Lan is one of my favourite female leads of all time, her narration, her thoughts, her subtle cynicism of the world that she hides beneath her carefree attitude- I enjoyed her as a main character very much. She is genuinely a very normal person who went through a... more>> horrific betrayal and was thrown suddenly into a completely different time, she appears carefree and uncaring but beneath that is a very subtle sharpness that provides unique insight into her character. Some people may dislike her but she's the best part of the novel. (Until she changes around 4/5ths in but well, whatever)

The main male lead was alright. I wasn't a big fan but he was one of the better ones compared to the other male leads. Tbh, ah lan had more compelling relationships with other side characters (and side male leads even if I didn't like them) But whatever I want her to be happy and he does that.

The strength of this novel is the characters interactions. The dialogue, hidden or outright, the character interplays- solid.

All in all, a good novel <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report