Report Review
Report Reason:
110 Reviews


Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Sevens
May 19, 2016
Status: c81
Besides clearly taking this story idea from the female counterpart, it's overwhelmingly amusing story of a man's coming to age. He's trying to find his purpose in world which turns out to save his family from his super villain sister. What makes story great is not MC nor heroines, but his ancestors. This is a story on how his grandparents help him become a man.
68 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Warning: Do not Drink Object X

Honestly... the title and the premise is the most unfortunate thing about this novel. It's interesting coming to age story where character embarks on journey to find his place in the world. Through hard work and rough circumstances, we find that even common soul can become extraordinary.
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
The Inverted Dragon’s Scale
May 20, 2016
Status: c215
"Millions of brave soldiers protecting the real dragon. Once the dragon king was furious, even heaven itself would fear. " - Chapter 82

"I can't." Li Muyang said firmly. "No matter what happens, I will not leave you behind. If we leave, we leave together; if we die, we die together." - 104

"Dragon souls protecting their king, how solemn and touching." Lu Qiji's eyes welled with tears, as she said in a hoarse voice. - 189

"Because of my reckless words, my clan fought with the Abyss demons. Because of my stupidity,... more>> my clan was massacred by those deceitful and vile human beings..." 191

"If you can't do it, pull out your sword." Li Muyang said with a smile. "When I was lying on the g round, I suddenly thought of a move, I think——I can rescue this. Maybe, I will accidentally send you flying?" -208

"Don't be silly." Li Muyang said: "You are my defeated opponent. I won't fight a second battle with a defeated opponent. Winning is an embellishment, losing is a burden." -211

At first one would think this just like the rest, underdog story of someone who becomes op, which is true but isn't true. It feels like the other stories who use trash MC to OP power house are 3rd rate copies of this series. What we have is realistic display of enduring bullying, humiliation and shame while he starts to develop into his not so ordinary destiny.

So the concept is the same, and might appear to be cliche, but seems like author has a good grasp on writing and audience engagement. The antagonists don't feel like mindless jerks, nor does main character actually feel overpowering. This all there is for now, it's early in series, so we haven't seen all what premise promised us. I can't wait to see an protagonist who is not just hidden dragon, but literally one. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
May 15, 2016
Status: c316
This is the most interesting read on the site for good reason.

We already know the premise, but the real treat of the story is" how will" he complete such a grand goal. Unlike other Chinese novel predecessors, he goes about this in a realistic way. He first starts gaining a name for himself while at the same time, plotting against his enemies. While garnishing fame, he goes about building allies and hidden wealth. He does all the basics to ensuring survival of his city and the people he cares... more>> about, but then the plot thickens and then you realize there's more happening behind the scenes.

The Hero of the story isn't always thinking about survival, he still has love on his mind. What greater love is there, but the one who gave their life for yours. Surely, the hero sees the woman who gave her life for his as his "one true love". In fact, he's had hundreds of years to enforce his stubborn purist of this circumstantial love, before his second chance. So, he is realistically stubborn in his unshakable faith in his "one true love" until events lead him to recall a women who protected him as battle partner. He is shaken by such events of his past cherished partner, but makes no moves to betray the woman who gave her life for his in the past.

Special Notes Against the Other Reviewers

Ones age doesn't decide there wisdom nor how they should be treated. The MC isn't arrogant, but simply obsessed at reaching his goal. Never does he put someone down without reason... though sometimes it's not a mature reason, but even adults have there moments where they tease each other. Tell me you hadn't played a prank or teased someone then tell me how are you human?

The romance in this novel is natural and realistic.

1) Women who gave her life for him

- Initially runs away from the creep who is ogling her, but later become friends because he giving more color to her life to dull and structured. She is constantly conflicted if she loves him or just considers him a friend.

2) Cherished Partner who had his back in battle.

- Initially becomes smitten with him because he releases her from bondage that was strangling her freedom. Events build on them self from prince charming infatuation to more best friends than love.

3) Alchemy women

- The consequences of gaining power and wealth is finding love is harder. We have a Powerful independent women who longs for companionship after living years surrounded by older males who seek her what she has, and not what she is. Unfortunately, she finds someone who can be her companion, but he's far below her age, so she can only tease him of what could of been with him. <<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Wu Dong Qian Kun
May 18, 2016
Status: c237
Simply boring, it's started out okay, but so do most Chinese novels. There's nothing to savage this novel past 200 as it's nothing but typical poor writing famous for the genre.
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Elqueeness
May 15, 2016
Status: c33
A good novel is characteristic by not it's action, but the feelings it leaves you afterwards. Every chapter of this gem leaves you simply cleansed of any foulness as long it's not too deep rooted.

It's original idea of the adventure of spirit king on his path to learning what it means to be a king. Will he forget about his humanity which he should of never gained or will he share something with his fellow kings. So, I highly suggest you enjoy these misadventures of rise spirit king and... more>> human king as they both deal with their identity crisis. Though try not to laugh at our spirit king, he always wished he was good looking, but now he's just too good looking.

It's these kind of novels that highlight what fan translation is meant to do which is to bring out sapphires hidden in other languages. This novel is certainly ones of those gems. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
The Alchemist God
May 26, 2016
Status: c52
The prologue of this story was executed poorly, but makes up for it strides as the plot progresses. While I wouldn't minded if stay back and stronger in his alchemy, a interesting conspiracy is unfolding on not the protagonist, but the world it's self grows stronger while events unfold.

Note: The best part is interaction between main heroine. She's superbly written female character
* This is a bias review
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
May 26, 2016
Status: c84
I can not defend this novel, but beyond of what it could of been. It's opening credits were the premise of mature darker anti-hero story, but it later develops into makeshift antihero story centered around slapstick pseudo love that is nothing more simplistic time filler dropped in "Higher powers are out to get humanity" that progressed by will of main character.

Though, it's not hard nor boring read so if you are okay for taking things as come then I recommend this series to you. Also the translators are wonderful... more>> and mostly consistent so you don't have to worry about not being able to read the next chapter. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
June 23, 2016
Status: c14
Do you believe there is only good in the world? Do you believe people to have your back? Do you believe people even when they stab you in back? Now do you believe in Revenge?

It's time to stab them back.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Dominion’s End
May 16, 2016
Status: v2 prologue
This reeally good! It's a thrilling novel uses common tropes, but without the cliche flavor. Enjoy the emotional roller coaster that is this novel

On the note of the other reviewer, I respect intelligent opinions and you simply doesn't qualify. The cast of characters have unique backstories, behaviors, and motivations.... I can't same the same for all 3D people. : (
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Because Janitor-san Is Not a Hero
May 20, 2016
Status: c20
Honestly, I am quite fond of this series quite a bit, and think the original ratings of this series were premature.

This a story about underdog with beaten dog mentality who is bested even more as he goes to another world. Given one last chance by the goddess to survive on this new world, he is to learn to make do with his life, before his food runs out. It's not easy to gain courage nor resolve oneself to better ones life, nor should it be less to belittle the effort... more>> that must be made to make it happen by such a character.

Taking his first steps outside his cave wasn't easy, but neither was making friends with tiger like demon beast who the readers along with hero grow attached to until he is reminded in the cruelest of ways that's he's not the only hero in this world.

Succumbing to events that unfold, he no longer can be dependent as he has someone who depends on him for survival. Readying himself for the day when their food runs out, he begins to step outside mountain range of his cave. At last though, he might be reminded once again why he had forsaken humanity, but the question is does that lead him astray once more or take him on path of becoming a true hero which the world ideals had forsaken.

P.S It's not a simple nor easy read not because isn't written poorly, but more so cause it's written differently compare to most on the site. Also, the translator did an excellent job executing something so complex. It's only unfortunate that this isn't a light novel as it would of done better in such a media. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
7.9/10

This one isn't for me, but it's pretty good story about a hopeless and clueless, socially dependent hermit who it's outclassed by his dog. It's a straight comedy for the trolls of the internet... yes you guys and gals are apart of the main cast.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
The Dark King
January 4, 2017
Status: c25
Usually it's easy to read the plot or see the direction it will go... but this story has me on edge. There are so many questions, and twists that I found myself at the end of current chapters, before I knew it.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
7.6/10

So I defiantly misjudged this one, as it's not at all bad later on. At first it seems like a tale of a young protagonist lead astray by an overbearing female, but it is nothing of the sort. What we really have a compelling tale of four adventures in a world conspiracy and potential betrayal of the worst kind.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Release that Witch
July 21, 2016
Status: c22
I am enjoying this one quite a bit. It's about discrimination and equality while discovering a peculiar strength of group or individual. I won't say it's a best seller, but it's got a nice style. So I recommend this a good causal read for anyone into fantasy/sci-fi.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
May 20, 2016
Status: c127
Honestly, I don't know why I hold exceptions for some good writing from Xuanhuan and Xianxia, but this one isn't so bad. What hold this above the rest is alchemy, and strong female characters that seem to have more meaning than the usual fan service. Unfortunately, it's missing some important aspects of value including, pacing, tension, messages or lessons, character development. But writing it's beautiful, so lets say 8.1/10

Translation is of most excellent quality.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Dragon Maken War
November 7, 2016
Status: c37
So without a doubt this is more then a ordinary read of timeless class hero vs villain. This novel takes it one step further and explores defining characteristics beyond simple power that makes a hero. Though not in a way that distract reader from unfolding world of conspiracy, betrayal and heroism. As such this series has my highest recommendation.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
What a interesting concept with exceptional execution. We have a poor orphan boy ready to set on the world only to set into a different not as a boy but as it should of always been a young miss. It's a good story that most wouldn't want to miss.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Grimgal of Ashes and Illusion
June 6, 2016
Status: v1c10
This novel is very depressing.... and that's what I can't get over with novel. The character aren't likeable nor is there a deeper message... it's just a sad novel that isn't even a tragedy. The mood in this novel is horrible, so I don't think I can in right mind recommend this one, but the translations was beyond excellent, so test the waters if you are interested in the premise.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dream Seeker
Dream Seeker rated it
Yuusha-sama no Oshishou-sama
June 6, 2016
Status: c6
My poor heart is devastatingly charmed by this series, as the wait for more hurts. So far we have a pure tale of friendship bonded by perseverance of a common goal that filled their days as youth. I expect great things from this novel.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 6