Report Review
22 Reviews


Drake888
Drake888 rated it
My Cold and Elegant CEO Wife
November 24, 2017
Status: c20
Seems like the author was heavily inspired by "My wife is a Beautiful CEO. *Cough* plagiarism *cough*. The writing of this novel isn't as good as "My Wife is a Beautiful ceo" but that might improve.

Not a great novel but not bad either. It's fun if it's to your taste. There are a few other novels that tell the exact same story (and some tell it better) but the genre isn't as full as isekai, so it's nice to have more variety. If you are looking for more "assassin slowly... more>> building a harem in a modern city" this is worth a read. If you're looking to see if this is the genre for you, look for one of the better novels first and then come back to this one.

Edit:
Sadly, the writing goes downhill after ch20. It still scratches the itch if you need a story from this genre but you have to actively ignore some of the more obnoxious habits of the author (he's one of those guys who likes to include exposition about how fancy and impressive something is, or how awesome the MC is, or how all women are obsessed with their appearance/easily frightened/easily flattered/obsessed with their looks in every chapter). I would change my rating to 2 stars if I knew how. There is still enjoyment to be had here, but be prepared to wade through some sewage to get to it. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Another "transported to a fantasy world" story, is the best way to describe this. The author takes a very bland cookie-cutter approach, so there's nothing about the intro that you haven't seen before.

OP MC gets caught in the summoning of a hero and that hero's love interests, decides to hide his OPness, and opts out of demon subjugation. After leaving the castle he is targeted by the half-assed scheme of somebody from the castle but isn't troubled because OP. Goes to town, becomes adventurer, blah blah blah. They even have... more>> cliches like "cute receptionist girl" and "targeted by mean mid-rank adventurers".

I had to actively skip through the bland monologues about his dimensional storage, his OP items, and what his self-explanatory skills and titles do (does anybody really need a paragraph explaining that swordsmanship makes you better with swords and blacksmithing makes you better at creating weapons?).

If you're really desperate to read this kind of story, then this novel is worth a look, as even the least imaginative author will manage to create something unique after thirty or forty chapters and the opening isn't obnoxiously bad or anything. For everyone else, you can find the same thing but better, somewhere else.

Also, I noticed some complaints about grammar but that can be ignored. There are some noticable errors but the quality is actually above average in most parts. Anybody bothered by this level of grammar has obviously not been reading unlicensed translations for very long. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Pure Love ✕ Insult Complex
July 7, 2018
Status: c491
A lot of surface without much substance. Come for the s*x and skim through the plot.

A lot of reviews seem to gush about how amazing and complex the plot is. Don't be fooled. There is certainly a lot of story and characters here, but quantity does not equal quality. I understand that I am posting a review for a light novel on a light novel aggregation site, but even here the plot can be considered below average. The character development is at least standard light quality level though.

If you are... more>> just looking for an R18 high school age harem with dark undertones, you can give this a shot. If you are worried that certain parts might not appeal to you, here is my breakdown:

The plot. A long overarching goal, with several minor arcs provides a decent framework that keeps the story moving from s*x scene to s*x scene, picking up new girls all the way. Don't bother reading too deeply into it though, as the author's attempts to flesh things out usually just make things weird or worse.
Spoiler

The story is about a beta, slightly broken MC who gets caught up in a plot to torture a girl that he has a crush on. Other girls appear and quickly fall in love with him because of how sensitive he is to their wants and needs. Some of the girls are caught up in issues related to gangs, others in issues related to high society, but all of them have a connection to the brothel he is now a part of. He bounces from story to story, promising to take responsibility for the girls he has s*x with, while they do the heavy lifting in regards to making things happen with the plot. The problem is the bad writing. Too many issues are solved by the character just being "such a perfect match"for the girls. Every girl has some issue that can only be resolved by somebody as considerate as the MC. So they are more than happy to share him with the rest of the harem (8 that he has slept with, plus 3 that intend to sleep with him soon). There is mention of deeper plots going on, and it is interesting when they finish playing out, but they don't make any real sense because the MC, and by extension the reader, never get to see any details. We are just presented with an impressive end result and told that the plan was very complex and impressive. But it never is. For instance, one of the story arcs involves a battle at a hotel. It starts with a bunch of people attacking (the battles in this are awful) and ends with a powerful wealthy man weeding out traitors. We are told that it was all very impressive and intricate, but a bunch of high school kids manage to wander about as they please, and the MC, who wasn't even supposed to be there, winds up having to kill somebody to clean up loose ends. Other "intricate" plots are the same.

[collapse]
The plot is only slightly below average in quality, and this is smut, so normally I would not criticize it in this review, but most of the other reviews lavish it with praise, so I just want to warn people. It is decent enough when you skim through it, but don't waste your time with the details.

The battles. The author tries to work fighting into the story because a lot of the characters supposedly engage in criminal activities. It starts off reasonably enough (if you can consider two high school girls being able to use violence to intimidate street gangs reasonable) but quickly flies into nonsense territory during a fight at a hotel.
Spoiler

one of the harem members can use qi to fight. She is basically a jedi. She can use qi to sense people's thoughts/feelings, and can cause them to stumble with a wave of her hand once she has grasped their qi. Also, the hotel battle is supposed to be some high level battle between some of the most dangerous guns-for-hire in Japan and some foreign terrorists. The battle is indescribable nonsense.

[collapse]
. Whenever fighting comes up, just ignore it.

The s*x. It is what we are all here for. If you have read the summary, you know to expect rape. If you have read the tags, you know to expect harem. You can also predict high school age girls and some fetish stuff. You probably won't be surprised when adult women join the harem. You might be surprised when the author starts going younger though. The MC adds 3 middle school girls to his harem, and eventually a brainwashed 12 year old. The author goes out of his way to remind you that she is 12. Very distasteful. Just more stuff to skim over but be warned.

The characters. The MC is basically a cardboard cutout. He never seems to grow. A personal flaw will be introduced, he will seem to get over it, then 30 chapters later the exact same flaw is introduced as if it was never addressed before.
Spoiler

At one point, somebody notices that the MC doesn't value his life and is willing to accept death. The harem members are very sad to hear this and spend the entire chapter convincing him that he is no longer alone and had something to live for now (family). The MC realizes that they are right, and vows to them and to himself that he will treasure his life. 30 chapters later the process repeats itself, and all of the involved characters act like they are dealing with this for the first time. Even the MC thinks something along the lines of "I didn't notice it before, but I'm not attaching any importance to my life. That's going to change though, because now I have a family!" Then another 30 chapters later the exact same thing happens.

[collapse]
Basically, the MC has the memory and emotional depth of a gold fish. But that's fine, because whenever something dangerous happens a nice adult pats him on the head and tells him to stay safe in a corner with his harem because his girls would be sad if he died. The Harem members are pretty standard. If you think the average Japanese light novel harem has 3-dimensional female characters, then you will think that this book does too.

Some people will wonder why I continue to read the story despite my negative views of it. Two reasons: I like machineslicedbread translations, and this is the one they update the most; and while the writing is bad, it still has frequent s*x scenes and is better written then a lot of the garbage smut on here. Although sadly, the s*x scenes are becoming less frequent. Multiple chapters of plot and cringeworthy character interaction are taking up page space. This latest chapter had one of the girls wondering if she was worthy enough to keep having s*x with this abandoned, jobless, dull (and according to his class mates, creepy) high school boy. And one of the other characters assured her that, although other members of the harem were wealthy heiresses who could show him a life of luxury, she was the only average girl with "normal values". And she was happy to receive this "reassurance". That alone is enough to set me off on another rant, but other readers seem to view it as character depth and complex interaction. Sigh.

Tldr: the writing is average, which makes it better than most of the smut on NU, and there is plenty of s*x for the first couple hundred chapters. But as more girls are added, the amount of s*x decreases. Enjoy what you can, and be prepared for pedophilia. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Oukoku e Tsuzuku Michi
July 26, 2017
Status: c73
Probably the best erotica on novel updates in terms of plot and story. Excellent masculine wish-fulfillment. The MC is incredibly simple and straightforward. Plenty of harem building without any of the weird mind games in similar stories. The MC takes what he wants and doesn't shy away from direct confrontation. His harem members like that and stick around. If you want some erotica with sword and spear combat interspersed, this is must read. The only real flaw is that the author tries to add various fetishes into some of the... more>> s*x scenes and so a few of the NSFW chapters wind up a little weird. But I'm sure some people will find that to be a plus. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
August 7, 2018
Status: c467
This used to be one of my favorite novels. A hundred chapters ago I would have given it a 4 out of 5. In the first two hundred chapters I would have given it a 5 out of 5. I would absolutely recommend this to anybody who likes xianxia though. It isn't high-quality, but the beginning world-building is great and original. This is a standard xianxia with a setting that feels different from the usual sects or isolated mountain village that most xianxia start with. The author does a great... more>> job of making a new world for his run-of-the-mill cultivator reincarnation story. Plus, the pacing is consistently good. Even later, when the story starts to get weak, the author avoids lingering on any particular event or battle for too long, and always keeps a clear short-term motivation for the MC.

Unfortunately, the writing isn't good enough to last so many chapters. The author should have wrapped this up long ago. Instead, we have fallen into the old xianxia trope of new areas with stronger people, and an over-reliance on cheat items that only the MC has. The original setting that I was praising earlier is even swapped out for a new area filled with the usual sects that other stories have. The author still manages to add his own flair to the cliche sect life, but I have yet to read a xianxia that actually gets better when a new land with stronger people is added.

Basically, if you are looking for a fun story with cultivators and am OP MC, give this a shot. It has lots of action, a fresh feeling, and moves at a constant pace without stumbling over the problems that slow down other xianxia. On the downside, this is ultimately only medium quality. After a certain point, the author's flaws start to become apparent. If you've read good quality xianxia like ISSTH, you know it is possible for a story to stay good for hundreds of chapters. Sadly, this doesn't quite manage. But I loved the beginning so much that I am still interested in seeing how things turned out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
An excellent start that fails to pay off. Sadly, this story never lives up to its premise. The author takes a cliche reincarnation story, arouses interest with likable characters, then never really completes it. Not a masterpiece by any stretch, but the early chapters are legitimately enjoyable. Isekai stories are certainly played out, but that doesn't mean that they can't be fun. Sadly, the author never really manages to make an engaging plot. The MC starts off concerned about his future failure because of the story of the game he... more>> reincarnated into, but that issue is resolved by his excellent territory management in the first few chapters and no new crisis replaces it. Even then, the characters are fun enough to keep the novel interesting, but the author's inability to finish a coherent arc ultimately saps the fun out of that as well. Read it for some lighthearted adventures in a fantasy school, but don't expect any real development or conclusion. Or consistency.

Spoilers, so stop reading here if you care

Spoiler

I eventually stopped reading when the author completely forgot about the prince's aide. After multiple chapters of nothing important happening, the MC starts to hang out with the Prince who is his class mate. Not to be confused with the young prince who comes to view him as a brother in the early chapters (another example of why his fear of some weird plot failure loses any credible threat). However, after several chapters of the two hanging out, I noticed that the prince's aide was nowhere to be seen, and no explanation was given. This is the aide who had shadowed the prince everywhere for the entire story until that point, only leaving the prince's side to hang out with the MC, whom he had developed an interest in. The arc immediately preceding this arc had heavily developed the character, but then he was nowhere to be seen in this arc, which would require actual explanation for his absence. A lot of the story was like this. The primary love interest was never developed at a pace that could be considered acceptable; a secondary love interest (the MC of the game he reincarnated into) was dealt with in a weird way where she seemed to be interested in the MC, then was interested in a random side character, then was doing some other thing; and various things the MC did would just be sort of left kind of completed (starting new stuff in his territory then leaving all the development to his father, a princess with odd luck who always seems like she's going to meet him but doesn't, various incidents at school that seem interesting but never really go anywhere, etc.). Basically a story with a lot of wasted potential.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
July 24, 2017
Status: c218
A run of the mill xianxia with good enough writing to keep the fights interesting. If you are looking for depth or a new style of xianxia, look elsewhere.

A lot of other reviewers seem to criticize the author's switch from mocking tropes to following tropes. I honestly don't remember getting that vibe in the first place. The MC definitely makes frequent reference to tropes like reincarnators, ridiculous luck, and plot armor but the author doesn't really play it up for laughs. The MC definitely has a sarcastic tone when he... more>> mentions these things, but that's usually because he is either doing it better or annoyed by the effect on his plans. Frankly, I just read the story as a typical xianxia but with the MC being a more believable archetype. I like reading all the underdog xianxia stories, they're fun, but it's nice to finally read a story where the sect is actually giving proper support to their OP student from the start. That's what I read this novel as. It's a "What if the super-talented rich guy actually made proper use of his gifts?" kind of story. The petty sect politics aren't threatening to destroy the sect, the MC's father properly supports him, and the various rivals aren't able to constantly send cannon fodder to bully him for stupid reasons. Just a typical xianxia with the MC playing a different role. If you want a comedic xianxia that pokes fun at the tropes, read "Elder Brother has a Pit in his Brain". The light novel only has 6 chapters translated but the manhua is very far along. Otherwise, just enjoy HSSB for what it is. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
The story starts off interesting, with a dense tomboy agreeing to cancel her engagement. However, after that incident is amusingly resolved the dense tomboy turns into a naive shoujo MC. All the story arcs revolve around her friends falling in love or somebody falling in love with her. She even stops focusing on fighting monsters and instead
Spoiler

starts focusing on making sure people don't feel unhappy, because negative emotions create monsters.

[collapse]

Basically an interesting shoujo turns into a boring one.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
September 19, 2017
Status: --
The A.I. Chip isn't an issue in the story like some naysayers claim. It's basically just another xianxia artifact that needs time/resources/cultivation levels to give the MC am advantage over his rivals. The real flaw of the story (for the first 80 or so chapters I read) was that the MC didn't have any motivation for getting strong.

Similar novels have either a motivation or a likable character. I enjoy reading a manipulative MC screwing people over to get his revenge or a likable fool struggling to get stronger for no... more>> good reason, but a manipulative MC screwing people over for no good reason is disappointing. He has no friends, no family, and he severs every personal connection he makes because he sees others as a burden. After a while he is forced to get stronger to protect himself from people that he screwed over for short-term gains. The author actually has a minor arc where he establishes that warlocks (which is what the MC chooses to become) screw over their descendants because anybody with a warlock ancestor needs to jump through an extra set of hoops to be able to use magic. So the MC is even screwing over his future descendants for a bit of extra power. I would still be fine with that, but there is no end goal for all that power. When the story ends it's just going to be the MC, but stronger. The only enemies he will have overcome will be people that HE has provoked, usually for an item that is only relevant for one specific level of his cultivation. And he will be alone because he refuses to get along with anybody. His slaves are only used for research, loyal servants are left behind, and his method of power gain makes it impossible to have any allies.

That said, the story is pretty solid and has good pacing (once you get past the incredibly dull school arc at the beginning). And since it's on Wuxiaworld it is well translated. The only technical flaw is a lack of any kind of character development.

P.s. Some people are going to say that my complaints are purely subjective but I would like to point out that every adventure requires a hook to keep the reader engaged. That is usually achieved by having a goal, an interesting character, or engaging interactions between developed characters. This story has no overarching goal (the MC's desire for power doesn't really count because he doesn't have any motivation or personality. "Calculating" is not a personality type.) The MC just sort of wanders around because of nebulous goals and threats. The MC is not an interesting character because the author never manages to develop his identity. He is never forced to make difficult choices because of his lack of attachments so we as the readers have to fill in the blanks. The engaging interactions are similarly impossible because none of the side characters stick around long enough to develop or matter. It's possible that changes in the second hundred chapters but that is a ridiculous wait. The story is only engaging if you enjoy reading about the life of an objectively awful person in minute detail. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Legend
July 18, 2017
Status: c105
Mediocre. The plot is unique enough to be interesting, but this is another reincarnation/overpowered MC light novel. As others have said, the story takes a nosedive in quality during the escort arc. The author spends way too much time describing things that don't need to be described (entire paragraphs are devoted to explaining who is the vanguard of a party of 5, with no relevance to the plot) and even the battles are badly written. I actually started skimming through chapters to avoid the clunky writing and still had a... more>> firm grasp of what was going on. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
The Defeated Dragon
October 15, 2018
Status: c79
I'm gonna say right now, the title and cover image are very misleading. If you are hoping for battles or dragons or OPness, just move along. This is a kingdom-building story with a lot of details. At times it can even be a bit boring (and I actually ENJOY the slow, detailed story). However, I enjoy kingdom-building novels and this one actually makes sense. The world that the author has built is much more authentic than most attempts in the genre (no adventure guilds, the currency is closer to medieval... more>> Europe than modern japan so bread doesn't cost 1000 copper coins, the streets are filthy, etc) so reading about the MC's changes is a lot more enjoyable. There is technically fighting, magic, and dragons, but all of that takes a backseat to the kingdom-building.

Basically, read this for a detailed story about a reincarnator building up a city and nothing else. If you enjoy that, this story actually moves at a pretty good pace. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Dungeon Maker
September 1, 2018
Status: c70
An interesting story with good combat and fun characters. Lots of focus on dungeon-building and guiding character stat growth but never so much that it becomes excessive. The plot is also engaging, with clear goals and to reach and looming threats on the horizon. Unfortunately, this is another story with pacing that is only good when binge-reading. But when you are binge-reading, this an exciting story about a young guy rising to power in the demon world while discovering powerful legacies left behind by his ancestor.

The grammar of the translations... more>> is a little annoying. The translator clearly has trouble with pronouns. Good quality in other respects though. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Ordinary I and Extraordinary Them
August 7, 2018
Status: c20
This novel is clearly missing a fantasy tag, because magic is the only explanation for why anybody would want to be around this whiny douchebag. The MC has supposedly been friends for years with the two most popular people in school, but whenever either of them wants to hang out with him, his reaction is either "I want to go home" or "ugh, popular people are so annoying". Fortunately, the author quickly gives up on trying to convey a believable friendship and jumps straight into the "dense MC being pursued... more>> by 2 beautiful women for no reason" cliche.

It's decent enough as wish-fulfilling fluff, but other novels do it better and have more believable character interactions. The author wastes a lot of time on unnecessary descriptions in the first few chapters but seems to be improving as the story progresses. I honestly hope that the super poplar guy turns out to be a jerk who only befriended the MC in order to get close to the beautiful girl. Because otherwise he's just a nice guy who is getting treated like sh*t by a whiny loner that he thinks is his friend.

Edit: starting in c22, the author finally starts to properly flesh out MC and his relationship with other people. Presumably his earlier actions were some sort of exaggerated sarcasm for comedic effect? Bad writing either way, and to make it worse, the excessive descriptions appear again. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Infinite Competitive Dungeon Society
May 21, 2018
Status: c352
Just finished this novel. I really enjoyed it. There were a couple rocky patches but for the most part, it was a pretty solid adventure story. Lots of action, cool powers, and an interesting plot. My one real complaint would have to be the plot twists near the end. They were great as they were revealed, but in order to keep them surprising the author had to keep secrets. The story is a first-person narrative, so it's kind of jarring when the MC starts keeping secrets from the reader. I... more>> feel that a better author could have kept the fun reveals without doing the weird secrets. But I understand that some people might not care or might even see it as a plus.

Anyway, I recommend this story if you're looking for some cool monster killing with an interesting plot. Also the hero wields a spear. It doesn't really make any difference but I am still happy to see something other than the usual choice of sword, magic, or martial arts. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
July 30, 2017
Status: c58
An excellent story. I love it. It's another reincarnator story, but the author actually takes the time to write a real story with real characters instead of the usual two-dimensional wish fulfilment other reincarnator stories tend to fall into. The author still uses some familiar tropes and cliches, but that's justified by the story taking place inside an otome game. Give this a look if you're interested in romance, battle, or even city-building (that comes later though).

A lot of the negative reviews paint this as "dense MC is OP and... more>> irresistible to women, but makes obvious mistakes". This is horrendously unfair. We have all read those types of Japanese stories. This is not that. This is VERY different from that. If you read this hoping for Highschool DxD or Campione, you will be very disappointed. Most of the criticisms boil down to "MC totally should have done this differently". The people who say that should write their own stories or fanfiction. The MC is called dense for not realizing the love interest's feelings but

A: she expresses those feelings in a weird and violent way

B: she has resolved herself to go through with her important political marriage

and C: this is a world where a love across such a huge gap is social class is frowned upon.

The MC is also very devoted to the siblings and would never burden them with his emotions. As for the bit about him being irresistible and banging tons of girls, that's lust not love. Unlike other authors, this one actually understands the difference between love and lust. The random girls want to bang the MC, but they don't actually care about him. This isn't a typical harem story where every female is desperate to prove their eternal love for the MC. The MC is good-looking, so women sleep with him whether he wants it or not. So he learns to manipulate them to gain information.

If you actually take the time to read this novel you will see that the characters have actual personalities and their actions, no matter how dumb, have reasons behind them. If you don't like the story that's fine. But if you say the story sucks because you don't agree with the characters' choices, then you're just skimming through what you think is another shallow OP harem novel, and you aren't giving it the attention it deserves. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Long Live Summons!
September 5, 2018
Status: c556
This novel has too many flaws for me to even list. I still enjoy and recommend it though. The main draw here is the character interactions and the battles, so this novel is full of great moments and exciting chapters. Honestly, I still go back and re-read some of the older chapters to enjoy the MC's best show-off moments.

The MC is an amusing scoundrel and the battles are usually funny or exciting. There are plenty of plot holes and dropped story lines (I still sometimes wonder who pushed him in... more>> the river) but the story structure doesn't ever suffer. Even when a chapter skips over an event weirdly or some important detail changes wildly, things quickly get back on track thanks to the author's world-building and story structure. Fortunately, such incidents are only noticeable on rare occasions. I'm sure I could find several minor details that have been changed mid-story if I went over everything with a fine-toothed comb, but I only actually had 'wtf?' moments about 4 times over the course of 500 chapters. The early chapters are exactly what I'm looking for in a 'character hides his strength' story: lots of secrecy followed by a big face-slapping reveal. If any of that sounds like it is your cup of tea, give this story a shot.

I think the prologue captures the author's flaws pretty perfectly. He needed something to explain part of his story but didn't have any good ideas, so he wrote a weird chapter that sets things up but leaves unanswered questions and quickly rushed on to the interesting part of the story. The other weird chapters are way less impactful though and I've honestly forgotten all about them. I only recall reading a chapter that made me feel like the author was struggling to write something and ran out of time. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Seems to be a pretty standard shoujo. Around twenty chapters are spent explaining why MC has OP powers and is a love interest of the greatest guy in the world. Then the focus switches to working through relationship problems. I find that to be bland but if you like shoujo then this seems reasonable enough. Not outstanding by any stretch but not terrible. Just average. A lot of the negative reviews can be attributed to the interesting setup. I was rather disappointed to see this change in the same manner... more>> as "Breaking Off the Engagement? Bring it on!", but I'm not the target audience. Basically, she starts off as being unfairly picked on, then it is revealed to the reader (but not the MC at first) that she has powers that can change the world. Typical build-up for a story with some kind of 'chosen one'. But then all of the political stuff gets resolved in a few chapters so that the MC has more time to think about romance, making friends, and fixing misunderstandings. For those of us who came for angst, political intrigue, or action, this is a huge disappointment. For those who want to see a bullied girl find happiness in new surroundings, this will probably be a fun read. It's just a matter of what you're here to see. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
July 28, 2017
Status: c133
Pretty good "cold main character hides his strength" story. If you like that, you'll like this. My only complaint is that the author favors a slow story developments rather than brief events that occur over a couple chapters. As a result, the story is fun to binge-read but a little frustrating once you start waiting for updates. I'm not saying that the author does a bad job with the long-term pacing, just that it isn't the best style for this sort of episodic translation.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Konyaku haki? Yoroshī. Naraba, fukushūda
May 11, 2017
Status: c41
A fairly short "Breaking the Engagement" story. Which means a fairly quick karmic retribution for the people who wronged the heroine. Unfortunately, the author tries to work politics and and government workings into the last few chapters, and the whole story suffers for it. Each chapter is very short, so there isn't much time to spare. The supporting cast only get brief introductions but the main cast are fleshed out enough that you get a feeling for who everybody is. Unfortunately, the author bites off more than he can chew... more>> and focuses on the wrong things at the ending. The villainness and her entourage are introduced at the beginning, with the focus of the story on the villainnes, the ex-fiancee, and the evil parents. However, in the last few chapters, the author tries to pull off a plot twist, shifting a lot of blame onto a newly introduced character by way of magic devices and political maneuvering and pardon's two friends of the villainness with what is essentially "they're nice people and merely did nothing while the main character's life was ruined, so they deserve forgiveness". The last few chapters feel like the author ended the story sooner than expected, but I don't care enough to look for the details. Meanwhile, the first few are on a proper fast pace for a short story.

Final feeling: read this if you're looking for a quick "Breaking the Engagement" story, but don't waste your time if you're looking for anything good. Do check out the other stuff from this translator though, as he does have some shorter, better stories on his site (and some awful ones). <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Drake888
Drake888 rated it
Konyakuhaki ni Zettai Kioku de Tachimukau
April 20, 2017
Status: --
I give this a 4 instead of a 5 because it is very short and, obviously, not perfect. I would give it a 4.5 but the stars don't seem to work that way.

I find this to be a very enjoyable engagement cancellation story. It is a little short (one-shot, duh), but it hits all the points I want from one of these stories. The prince, who cancels the engagement, is exposed as an idiot and suffers for his idiotic and reckless decision. The MC comes out ahead and has a... more>> bright future ahead of her. The bulk of this story is focused on exposing just how much of a mistake this was for the prince. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report