Report Review
13 Reviews


Dragon
Dragon rated it
The Amber Sword
October 23, 2016
Status: v1c40
Terrific novel. If you told me that it was a Japanese light novel, I would not be surprised. It has definitely the feel of something like Tsuyokute New Saga, but I think that it is better written and translated.

It has very detailed and enjoyable fighting scenes. The MC is not completely overpowered and relies on his wits, but he does have some treasures and knowledge that makes him stronger than opponents that should be stronger than him.

The other characters that the MC encounters are pretty well thought out as well.... more>> Even characters that oppose the MC are usually level-minded and not like some of the most generic "arrogant young master" antagonist type that you would usually see sprinkled across Chinese novels.

As of v1c40, I am hooked, and I think that it should at least get a high 4 or a 5 from what I've read so far. And it looks like from other reviews that it increases in quality as well: I can't wait. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
<Infinite Dendrogram>
October 28, 2016
Status: --
After reading the first arc, the prologue, I found it pretty interesting. The story is in a VRMMO world that has lots of possibilities.

Any player in that game gets assigned a specific embryo that they cannot choose, like a helper or soul weapon or something. Interesting to see how this goes, since it means that characters are not really set on generic classes and there can be a lot of deviation.

There are politics between NPCs and players, there is a goth-loli that follows the MC, and there is humor as... more>> well, mainly through the MC's brother so far. I had a pleasant time reading this, especially since the translations were well done, and I anticipate more chapters in the future. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Release that Witch
October 14, 2016
Status: c96
Yes, I know the plot isn't perfect. It is a Chinese novel after all, and the standard villain tropes are there. The novel feels like a Japanese "isekai" novel, with some xianxia elements to it.

However, I have to give this story a 5 star just for the character development itself. The characters in this novel are complex, emotional, and feel the most realistic out of probably any Chinese novel I have read. Not as humorous as for example Long Live Summons or Wu Tian Ji, but I would say that... more>> the characters are even more well crafted than even Wu Tian Ji's.

Furthermore, the translator does a terrific job, and grammar and writing style are well versed. The story flows very well, especially since the author has a style of skipping minor scenes between chapters and also occasionally setting one or two chapters in the POV of another character.

Definitely one of my favorite novels recently. 5/5. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
These Dangerous Girls Placed Me Into Jeopardy
April 23, 2017
Status: v2c42
I'm already watching Eromanga Sensei, eh, so I guess it can't hurt to leave a review since the police are going to take me away anyways.

That aside, this is an interesting novel if you're into harems. No, it isn't like Haruhi (wtf?) like that other reviewer said. The best analogy is that this is `Criminale!` in web novel form. If you like stuff like `Ore no Osananajimi wa Joshikousei de Yuusha` you'll probably like this too.

It has interesting characters, and the main crazy yandere is done well. Don't expect a... more>> lot of plot, and there are a lot of cliches/tropes, but I had an enjoyable time reading it. The translation quality is good, and I want more chapters written for each of the girls introduced so far. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
How Is It My Fault That I Look Like a Girl!
December 27, 2017
Status: c7
A fun and light read so far. The MC is a guy that looks completely like a girl. His friends do not hesitate to sell him out and expose his feminine looks, no matter how much he tries to hide it. The MC feels very bully-able, and it's fun to watch him being mistaken and harassed by other people that think that he's a girl.

I feel like some comedic elements could have been done better so far, but it has been a pretty fun and relaxing (albeit short) read.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Rebirth: How a Loser Became a Prince Charming
September 15, 2017
Status: c66
I'm pretty surprised at how many 1 star reviews this has gotten. Sure, it doesn't explain his time rewind and how he got his handsome looks. But the author probably just didn't bother to write about it, because it's completely bullsh-t most of the time anyways and you wouldn't believe the exposition anyways for this kind of story. The reviewers that gave it 1 star purely based on this are just nitpicking.

Aside from that, the story is well written slice of life that accurately depicts a college student in China... more>> in the year 1999. Aside from his looks, the MC is a generous and hardworking college student who does part time jobs to earn money. I had an enjoyable time reading about his slow-paced and conservative love pursuit, which is very realistic for a conservative Chinese couple in those times. I enjoyed the dormitory and camaraderie the MC has with his classmates and suite-mates, which is also very naturalistic for that setting.

I think the MC is intelligent, diligent, honest, and true to his morals, and the story is a well written slice of life about how he would want to live his college life given a second chance and better physical circumstances.

I also enjoyed the ample food descriptions of Chinese street eats and local specialties. The author is obviously a foodie.

Would give it 4/5 but I want to balance out the 1-star reviews. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Starchild Escapes Arranged Marriage
March 2, 2019
Status: c449
What the hell happened to this novel? It got so much worse and worse over time. At first it was an interesting story about a harem leader being chased by girls of his past lives and current life.

However, the last few arcs have been slow and tedious. This last particular arc is complete garbage, with the last 40 chapters being about ... more>>
Spoiler

chess. 40 chapters of deus ex machina chess!

[collapse]

I don't see how anyone can stand the last arc. The first arc or two were great, but everything from the nonsensical plot to the army sized number of harem additions, this has become a terrible novel. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
World of Warcraft: Foreign Realm Domination
September 16, 2017
Status: c120
The perversion of the MC is annoying, but that did not ruin the novel for me. It's not really a big problem: he does not even do anything lewd except peek at girls showering. He is very protective of his sisters-in-law, however.

I really enjoy the way the author describes the large scale battles that occur during the novel. Imagine it as a first person narrative of a Warcraft III game: with leveling heroes, base upgrades, and large scale skirmishes. The author really excels in describing the battles between two large... more>> armies: it kind of reminds me like a rougher version of LMS battles.

Great read if you like army/war description novels, like Altina, LMS, and Madan no Ou to Vanadis. This feels like a cross between Japanese, Korean, and Chinese LNs. Not the best novel out there, but fun to read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Trafford’s Trading Club
October 21, 2017
Status: c70
Wow, this story is amazing. It is the only novel that has ever baffled me repeatedly with twist and turns that did not seem forced and unnatural.

The main protagonist kind of reminds me of Lan Jue from Skyfire Avenue, a strong young master of a mysterious shop. While the writing is not as descriptive and fluid as that of Skyfire Avenue, the plot is more intricate and interesting in my opinion. The focus is not on battle or cultivation or anything, but instead on the characters and their interactions. Many... more>> characters are recurring and intertwined with each other, whether through their connection with the club/the protagonist or not.

5/5 for sure, it makes a lot of other wuxia/xianxia/xuanhuan novels seem like high school novels.

The one thing that I am wary about is that there are some arcs/subarcs that seem like they were plagiarizing other works of media. For example, there is one subarc that is basically copying Mob Psycho 100 episode 3 (or the corresponding manga chapters). <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
August 15, 2016
Status: c16
Terrific series. I love the setting of the novel, the interactions between the MC and the angels, and potential progression of skills and crafting.

However, the author could do a better job with descriptions of the characters and fights. The MC interacts with so few characters. However, the few characters that he does interact with, still have little backstory and character development attached to them. The fights are also not as descriptive as the ones from, for example, The King's Avatar.

Still early though, and I still enjoy the series.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Martial World
June 14, 2016
Status: c277
Cocooned Cow is in my top 3 favorite authors, and having read TMW before this, I was really looking forward to read Martial World and compare how it stacks up to TMW.

I enjoyed the story, and I believe that the starting pace of the story was much better than TMW's long, drawn out arc. However, Cocooned Cow still has pacing problems. One of the tournament arcs in this story is way too long, and highlights how Cocooned Cow can sometimes get too caught up in descriptions and banter and does... more>> not progress the story effectively.

Nonetheless, I would still recommend the story for its great descriptions, the world building, and the characters. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
I Reincarnated For Nothing
April 20, 2018
Status: c33
The novel itself is okay, the story is about a demon reincarnated into a hero/hero companion.

My biggest problem with this story is the endless annoying dialogue, not only from the main characters but even more so from the enemies.

Every enemy mob is a collection of chatterboxes, constantly spewing lines like "The bastard isn't trying to kill us! He is just trying to inflict pain! The bastard is not a hero! He is the devil!" and "These bastards don't have the right to take the test. We'll kill you! We'll destroy... more>> you!"

Please, for the love of god, you guys are skeletons and zombies, why are you constantly talking trash? The heroes aren't very good either, they constantly tsukkomi and aren't funny. Kinda feels like a less mature version of Returnee. It gets a bit better as it goes along and the story is interesting enough, so I rate it as average. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Dragon
Dragon rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
October 25, 2017
Status: c137
Terrific story. Started out as a 5/5, but tapered off a bit. One part that put me off was when the main character started using ... more>>
Spoiler

a cannon as his main fighting weapon. He trains his body and strength to perfection, he tempers his iron skin and defenses, he spars with a monstrous instructor every day for hours: all so that he can hold a cannon and fire it inaccurately? And I don't buy the excuse that he can't learn fighting techniques: he learns things in his sleep and in 10x speed, there must be some room for him to learn some saber techniques and such.

[collapse]

I like the world building, it reminds me of Martial World and the school system there, where students can earn credit through killing monsters in the wild as well. It matches technology with cultivation, but like the example I gave in my spoiler it sometimes tries too hard to mix cultivation with technology, so much so that it seems unnatural.

The characters are well fleshed out, but in about 200 chapters there are too many characters that do not make recurrences. The main character is definitely the main focal point, and while there are some contradictions with his ideals and personality, for the most part he is a very solid character.

I enjoyed the story for now, but I feel like it could have had more potential. Still a solid 4/5 or so. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report