Report Review
8 Reviews


Donutts
Donutts rated it
The Reader and Protagonist Definitely Have to Be in True Love
August 11, 2018
Status: Completed
It's a cute story with lovely characters and a healthy dose of smut.
Spoiler

You can find the first smut in ch.19, and then more after their relationship is established

[collapse]

Even though the story claims to have a comedic undertone, I keep feeling anxiety gnawing at my heart throughout the story. Either a black box or an excerpt of the original novel is attached at the end of almost every chapter, reminding us of the looming tragedy. The things that came off as funny trivia actually was there for more than just a good laugh.

Don't get me wrong! The comedy is there, just be prepared to be slap to reality at the end of the chapter! The cute and sweet moments actually make reality all the more harsher though.

The way the author writes and relationship between the MC and ML attract me more than the plot. I think it's the smoothest relationship progress as you can witness them fall in love slowly, not just one of them suddenly already crazy about the other.

Although the ML is the typical possessive and leaning to yandere kind, the author has succeed in making me sympathise with him. The reason for his obsessive behavior is written real nicely. Even when he thinks to hurt the MC, I believe he wish for no harm to befall the MC.
Spoiler

[This person is different. Even if the pain is enough to make him want to die, he shouldn't take it out on Du Ze]

["From now on, all the people who hurt you will hurt you, I'll mske them disappear." The young man with blond hair and blu eyes smiled, as if to say the weather was very good today. "-Including me."]

[collapse]

And the MC is not just there for show. You can feel the support he gives and understand why the ML favor him so. And most importantly he's not stupid even when being cute.
Spoiler

And he give the ML a super cute nickname, Moe Lord XD

[collapse]

The length of the story is reasonable, the problem of super long novel is that they keep dragging the problem in the earlier chapter and rush things at the end. This story is perfectly paced without leaving any apparent plot holes.
Spoiler

And it's a happy ending!

[collapse]
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
Silent Reading
March 7, 2019
Status: c22
This novel had sat in my unnervingly long want-to-read list for the longest time and I don't know why I never bother to try it out until now. Even though I've been holding on to the concept that I shouldn't write a novel review before finishing it, I firmly believe that this novel deserves more attention since the summary doesn't do enough justice for this masterpiece.
    • MC : Even though it's stated above that the shou is a coward, so far he's not showing any signs as a coward aside from having hemophobia and suffering a trauma due to his childhood experience. He's dealing with his trauma amazingly in a realistic way. He's a scarred genius, with lots of witty remarks and sweet nonsense to spare.
      Spoiler

      I especially love the way he evades unwanted topics ridiculously smoothly and his 'realistic psychotic's way of thinking'

      [collapse]
    • ML: A capable police officer, the son of a somewhat powerful figure in the police department. Shameless. Kind of a love-rival of the MC, since neither he nor the MC is expecting positive result from their love interest.
This is plot-focused story. There is no information dumping chapter here. You get to know the background story of the characters bit by bit through their interactions. You get to unveil and guess the path of the cases together with the characters.

Although it focuses more on the plot, the interactions between the main characters are just too loveable.

The author didn't make the main characters unreasonably capable while the side characters are left with brain-dead disease. The side characters have their own distinct characteristics and charms as well as developments.

I often have troubles remembering names, however while I may not be able to write the name, once it is mentioned, I can easily recognise which character the name belongs to.

I've been hooked to the story after two chapters. The author has a unique style of delivering the story. I have the mind to mtl and finish the entire novel, however I love the translator's choice of words too much. The story flow is really smooth. And I would hate to miss lots of details in a mystery novel.

This novel is a must read! Both for the mystery and the romance! It's amazing in every aspect.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
Love You 59 Seconds
February 20, 2019
Status: Completed
This is one of the sweetest and fluffiest novel. There is fluff and nothing else. I actually almost dropped this because the first few chapters were really flat and slow. It gets better though, so don't give up!

The MC is an ordinary college student, straight-forward, honest, a lil bit slow-witted, shy yet embarrassing, but thankfully not the girly type.

... more>>
Spoiler

And yes, he is honest. Even though he's using a female character to play, the only reason he didn't say anything in the beginning was simply because there was no reason to. He explain himself clearly before things get messy and anyone could feel cheated.

[collapse]

The ML is the so called Mensao. The type that looks cold on the outside but is burning with passion in the inside. He is a professor from the MC's university who is famous for his frosty temperament and godly appearance.

The plot is really smooth, you can see the slow development of their feelings and understand why they ended up liking each other. My cheeks actually got hurt from constantly smiling throughout the chapters.

The only minus points would be that the ending feels kind of rushed. The author actually had done many foreshadowing and teasing throughout the chapters, which is a pity because they didn't follow through it till the end. Many possible plot development were simpled out. It even somewhat feels like reading a sumary of a story in the later chapters.

The MC was originally slow, but still totally could live on his own just fine. After he got together with the ML, I guess ML's pampering made him went through character change and came off as a meek person who can't do anything on his own. It's cute and adorable for him to rely on ML, but I'd like to see him to stand his ground besides some of the author's attempts of sudden half-baked manliness at moments.

Spoiler

The ML found out about the MC's identity when MC sent a resume to apply for a job at ML's company. But when MC didn't raise any question about how the ML found him. The MC had yet to find out that the company he applied to was ML's even after they get together.

[collapse]

It's still totally worth reading though! I just got my hopes too high because it was really that great. Maybe the author didn't want the chapters to grow too big, but there aren't jarring plot holes despite the rushed ending. I would definitely recommend this for a light read ♥ <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
Strongly Pampered Male Wife
September 10, 2018
Status: c23
I was roped in by the mpreg tag. The first few chapters were really interesting, the MC was sassy and cunning, but it gets disappointing as the chapter goes.

I'm totally clueless as to how the MC that has kept his pure facade for seventeen whole years and had to fend for himself for five years turned into a completely spoiled little young master with no brain in front of the ML. He was just there for the ML to dote and show his gentle side to. When the author tried... more>> to show his 'oppressive' manner, I just can't help but see him as whining. Every single character from the ML side seemed to have some kind of sixth-sense to see through a person's personality as they keep praising the MC's good temperament and intelligence. Though the sixth-sense doesn't seem to be that accurate, as I can't find the MC being a smartass beside those in the first chapters.

The story narrated the ML as an expressionless and cold legendary buisnessman, and that's it. You would only see him being cold from the naeration and a few of the background character's monologue. The rest of the time he would be an old man in love.

And the cannon fodders are just plain hateful. I was kinda hoping the father would be the one normal person in the Yin family..

Spoiler

I keep on wishing and imagining throughout the story how great it would be if the ML would just be a black bellied white lotus, a wolf in a sheep skin. A story with the same plot where the ML is a character that is always smiling and scheming. And maybe make the ML to have known and kept watch over the MC for a long ime after he got his fortune read, as he is the purest Mu Yi Clan's men. There he would just observe quietly as the MC struggled through his life and seeing the MC capabilities and vulnerability he unconsciously fell for the MC. Just so I wouldn't be weirded out everytime the ML flirted with the MC.

And I would rather the MC to be a normal person with just decent IQ and strong character, where he might be able to fight the Yin's family, but he would be left with barely 10% chance to escape from the ML's grasp XD. In the one year of their marriage he would get swayed by the ML's pampering, though at the end he would be reminded of his own self-denial and goal, decided to cleanly cut off their marriage.

How great the conflict would it be, if after the MC painstakingly gather the conviction to tell the ML his decision about the marriage, the ML who had known all along that he wouldn't be able to keep the MC by his side told the MC that the MC is actually one month in pregnant, successfully tying the MC who isn't even aware that he could get pregnant to him. Thus, the reveal of the black tummy nature of the ML lololol

[collapse]

The story in itself is not that bad though, its mpreg afterall. You can read it in your free time, just don't expect to find satisfying face slapping and beautiful revenge by sassy MC. Moreover after the amazing summary and the incredible first few chapters. I still can't let it go help. The only thing you'd get is cute interractions between idiotically in-love couple. I believe the author has more surprise in store though, like the mysterious He family so it might turned out to be great later on. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
August 28, 2018
Status: Completed
THIS NOVEL IS TOTALLY RECOMMENCED.

After 2 volumes in, I honestly thought that this novel was overrated. Even though there's only one ML throughout the story, but at the idea of the MC not knowing that he was the same ML and still hooked up with him was quite disturbing. His revenge process was absolutely ruthless, he came off as cold-blooded.

But really, the MC is justified for every actions he took. He's rational, not cold-blooded. And the loyalty and deep affection between the couples give a whole new weight to the... more>> word of Soulmate.

The MC is super quick-witted and rational, he does everything way too perfectly to the point that you actually kind of hope he would mess up a little bit. But you'll get to see more of his cute and personal turmoil later on, it's super satisfying. He never did stupid things that forced you to take a break from reading to face-palm. The ML is super possessive. He's completely obsessed with the MC, but it's not a destructive obsession along the line 'if I can't have him, no one can.' -- where the ML would be willing to hurt his companion in order to keep the other all to himself, no. He put his lover's interests and happiness above all. Ready to sacrifice his everything.

Spoiler

except when he's fulfilling his s*xual desire lolol. The author never explicitly describe their delicious lemon moments, and yet still successfully create a super high s*xual tension and left us unsatisfied. _: (´ཀ`」 ∠) :_

[collapse]

The first volumes may seem boring and the plot doesn't seem to be flowing, but they are completely necessary for the future plot and character development. The plot started to grow more serious at 9. Prepare your heart, folks. Seriously.

The author attached a lot of references that actually exist/happened in the (our) real world, giving the story a more solid background setting. And it's fun to compare.

The purpose of this novel is mainly for executing beautiful revenge, so there are more face-slapping and less kissing scenes. The author usually only spent around two to four paragraphs at the end of every arc about the couple's lives after the revenge. It serves its purpose perfectly though, so if face-slapping is what you're looking for, it contains just enough romance and you don't have to worry about the plot getting side-tracked.

Spoiler

It's a happy ending!

I kind of hope the author wrote more about them after they came back to the real world though. I'd really love to see them get married and for it to be explained in details. I need more of their lovey-dovey moments.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
City of Endless Rain
October 17, 2018
Status: Completed
This is a brilliant story packed in travel size. The pacing is not rushed, it's just perfect for the mystery. It has a little bit of supernatural too.

Actually, it's not that creepy, but you just can't help but to feel depressed throughout the whole story along with the main characters.

... more>>
Spoiler

There was a quite graphic suicide attempt though

[collapse]

I'm not gonna delve into the characters' personalities, it basically just shows how selfish humans are, ready to hurt and disregard everything even our ownself just to have things on our own way. And yes, I'm talking about the MC and the side characters too.

Just take my tips and try to read the whole novel without hating anyone, lest you would be left with a guilty conscience when the story ends.

Near the end of the story, the author let us to see the ML's view and logic. He was actually aware that he was being unreasonable, which helps me to sympathise with him.

Spoiler

It was a Good End I guess, but not a Happy End, which I think is different. You could even say it was an Open End since the MC showed hints that he still has some remnants of his memory.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
Let Me Tease You
September 5, 2018
Status: Completed
It's a bundle of fluffiness with a tad bit of plot.

The characters are all lovely. The MC has a fun personality, so when he transmigated to the body of a cross-dressing man in ancinet times of a cultivation world, all the while maintaining a facial paralysis due to the system restrictions, his inner bickering with the system turned more and more hilarious.

... more>>
Spoiler

The only downside is the fact that maybe, because he started off acting as a girl, later on when he stopped dressing as a girl, I still couldn't picture him as the cold beauty of a man in my mind. That's pretty disturbing.

[collapse]

The ML is actually a sacrred puppy in the packing of a shameless rascal. He's simply precious. He kind of give me the impression as a gong (seme) version of Wei WuXian from the Founder of Diabolism haha.

The author actually make an amazing personality for the system too. 'He' started off as a cold AI that got more and more amusing as 'he' developed human's emotions.

The plot feels like it was only there for the purpose of making the MC and the ML stay together and the conflict is actually solved quite easlily by the ML OP-ness.

In tune with the title, there are bunch of teasings. Be careful not to get diabetess! Oh, and the hamster from the novel cover represents the ML eating the seed that represents the MC XD <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Donutts
Donutts rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
August 13, 2018
Status: Completed
First of all this novel has long been completely translated since 2017, I don't know why but the link in novelupdates is only up to ch 54.

I actually kind of despised the MC for around 30+ chapters. Even though he is described as cute, quick-witted and kind, the way he behaves is totally one of a cannon fodder, completely consumed by hatred trying to avenge himself. Which I think is exactly what the author wants, judging by the title. But honestly it doesn't make him loveable.

The ML's character is also... more>> not much better. He doesn't respect the MC nor does he like being questioned, being an Emperor as he is. Their relationship was built on top of lies. There was no sense pf equality in their relationship, which is not that strange, as it is placed in the era of Ancient China. It feels like people favor the MC merely because the existence of the 'golden finger', and not for who the MC is.

But thankfully around ch50, the MC started to loosen up bit by bit. He shows more of his honest opinion and no longer acting like a coward. The ML also appeared to realise the value of the MC and tried to treat him with more care. Their relationship is making a progress for the better, albeit super slowly and through many hardships first.

Spoiler

I actually like the other ML better, he seems more amicable and loved the MC wholeheartedly. He treated the MC as someone of an equal despite his status as a ptince -and later an emperor-. He would sacrifice anything and fully trust the MC. But the MC only showed disgust everytime this ML made a skin contact with him.ㅠ.ㅠ

[collapse]

The ending feel kind of a bit rushed, the author keep jumping from one problem to another trying to finish things quickly.
Spoiler

It's a happy ending! You wouldn't be able to come up with a better ending for this story!

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report