Report Review
22 Reviews


DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
May 19, 2016
Status: c95
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G personally I was put off of this novel for a time due to all the comments about how:
1. It had an incredibly slow pace which I usually dodge since most of the novels I have read that had a slow start ended up being pointless or boring
2. It had multiple povs... which I absolutely DISLIKE with a PASSION....

but LOTCG is different. For one thing I wouldn't call it slow paced.

The reason why we probably think it's so slow is due to all the novels that have dragon... more>> proud sky MC, or simply the MCs that become OP and get covered in plot armor. Since they're all oh so awesome and blessed with luck and geniousness of course the story is fast paced. With LOTCG however, I would say that instead of it having a slow pace, if we compare it to other cliche cultivation novels - this one is tad more realistic. It starts off with the mc's everyday life where we get immersed in his personality and the world he lives in. This gives us a chance to in a sense, grow with the MC as we see his world views changing due to various events. Not only do we get to grow with MC, the author also introduces the jianghu (in different povs) where he then starts setting up the stage for the future of the mc's world as well as foreshadowing what his martial path could be.

p.s... so he might have a small cheat, which may or may not ruin all the slow building and non dragon proud sky MC we have right now, but going from how the author is building everything up, it seems like everything will turn out A - Okay in the end.

tldr, please just read it. If you aren't into the everyday life (which you are going to get for the first 20 chapters or so) then fear not, because the author switches to POVs of various cultivators whose names you will remember as there isn't a whole heap of them (POV switches are only about 1-3 in 1st person and the rest are in 3rd person) <<less
70 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
June 2, 2016
Status: c45
From the moment I read the description, I knew that reading "im really a superstar" would be poison for my soul... but I never knew that it would be this bad.

It's so bad that I spent hours binge reading it until morning the next day.

Now you all know how bad it is, so go ahead and drink this poison! ;)

On a more serious note, it might seem like a "the fudge" novel the first time you take a glance at it. I mean, what would you expect from a... more>> story that essentially has a character that plagiarizes every literary and popular thing from our world, right? EVERYTHING, Zhang ye is wayyy more than I thought he would be. For one thing, in my opinion he has a very well fleshed out character. The way he feels anger and frustration with the injustice he faces in the media industry is my favourite part about him. He doesn't do the whole muscle brained tacky revenge a dragon proud sky would do. Instead he takes a more cultured approach and ruthlessly cusses his opponents out with finesse.

tldr, please just read it up to the latest chapters cause I can guarantee that by the time you read the latest, you'll already be a fellow brother of ZhangYeNumber1Fan <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
Well I liked it but there were some things that didn't make sense to me. First, even though it says she remembered her past life, it was only limited to the knowledge of the game - nothing else, not even modern women common sense. Next, the whole ending that was supposed to happen in the game. The next part is a big spoiler since this is a pretty short story so be warned ---> ... more>>
Spoiler

If in the actual game, the prince married clara and all that jazz, how could he suddenly be so yandere love with christina???? Like wtf, if he was in love with her all along then how did he even marry clara in the game ver. And if he was so in love with her that he would kill anyone who threatened their love or whatever, how come he was all good with her marrying the merchant in the game????!!! Omg. Personally don't like the dude, he came off as one big perv but I guess his pov stories are pretty cute so idk anymore this story lol sigh.

[collapse]
<<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Silent Crown
March 2, 2018
Status: c24
okay hold up, I admit that when I first started reading this I thought it was a complete chore. I mean all the dang complicated words not to mention the nonsense in the first chapter - buuutt, give it a chance. I guarantee that once most of you pass at least the first three chapters, you wouldn’t be able to put it down.

The first chapter and the second give you a little background, the first is for the world. The world in this story is centred around music which is... more>> the medium for them to use magic or aether (this is all completely a loose interpretation as of now but that’s basically the gist of it.. Actually now that I think of it, it could be the other way around). Long story short, musicians are the top dog of this world. The second chapter gives you a lil insight on the MC - yezi and his dream about being a musician as well as inklings of his past.
Spoiler

he used to be an uber genius because he had a special inborn relationship with the aether which is like the basis of whether or not you have talent to be a musician. He lost this connection somehow during a high fever. His father also seems to be connected to a herectic clan of musician and is claimed to have killed sixteen musicians or so which is a major crime.

[collapse]

honestly I like the MC as of now. He isnt super op and he isnt haughty or feels entitled to things for no reason. He kind of takes things as they come but not in an annoying way. Tbh he wakes up my “let onee-chan look after you, you poor boi, you” feels. Plus he has a dog with a personality. What more could you ask for? <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
Liking this so far, I mean out of the translated novels this takes an interesting spin on the whole "otome game" (this story isn't otome btw) cliche start. The character also sounds smart and has a logical, kind, and cute bearing that the MC from common sense of a duke's daughter has. Looking forward to this piece of fluff :)

5/5 until further chapters are released
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Back to the Apocalypse
February 12, 2017
Status: v1c3
Based on the first three chapters, this novel seems very promising. I wouldn't judge this novel based on the summary provided in NU or the fact that it has Yaoi as one of its genres. If you want to skip my longwinded - might not make sense - review below, I suggest reading the first three chapters before you judge. For one thing, the main character is already acting like your average xianxia MC - what with the cold, hard logic and indifference that was cultivated with the help of... more>> betrayal and torture (don't worry, as of yet it wasn't described in great detail) and while the MC clutches to the "one man" as the purpose of his renewed life, it doesn't seem as if this will turn into a gross mushy mushy ick ick story that most people expect from Yaoi.

Actually, if I was to describe what I think the relationship will turn out to be like, I would recommend Kill the Lights, or any other stereotypical romance you see on NU such as all the pretty awesome girl transmigrates into ugly useless girl who's actually really pretty and shiz stories (basically the cold hearted male paired with bad ass female, not the shoujo sissy, version).

The zombie/apocalypse part of the story also seems to be interesting as it mixes dimension magic that's activated by qi with your apocalypse part. If I was to liken the zombie part to another novel, I would suggest God and Devil world (if this is the novel im thinking about, it had beginner villages and zombies that advanced ranks as time went on)

All in all, the story seems like it will be dark and bad ass and I can not wait for this to be continued. Bye~ <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
The idea is interesting but as the story went on, I started to get bored, to the point that I was skipping heaps of paragraphs. I think it's because of the author's tendency to tell instead of showing, and the awkward pov changes you see. Plus I found the fight scenes to be lacking, even the training and everyday periods are sometimes lacking in that "immersion". Not saying that the story is totally bad, more like it's just meh, or maybe more 4-koma slice of life-ish than the normal "otome... more>> game" novels or novels like this one.

p.s my review may not be accurate due to personal taste, and the fact that I dropped the novel at chapter 10. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Otome Game Rokkushuume, Automode ga Kiremashita
May 10, 2016
Status: --
Has the generic plot so far but since it’s still one chapter not too sure how it will differ from the rest. Still, from the first couple of chapters it seems to be a good story, so my rating shall be a 5 for now.

P.S one thing that does differ is the part where she experiences five rounds before being able to "be" the character... coincidence? I think not.. lol
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Your Majesty Please Calm Down
May 14, 2016
Status: --
WHY IS THE VOTE COUNT SO LOW???!!! The grammar might be bad but at least it's still readable, at least more readable than similar stories with bad grammar, that still get heaps of good votes. Anyways, if you can get past the grammar the story is actually very interesting
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
At the Northern Fort
April 26, 2016
Status: --
Whenever I see releases for this, I always shout for joy. It's like a conditioned reflex I have no control over. Hahha anyways, so far the story is quite cute - especially the reactions of the little snow spirit baby and the people around her. Good for a nice fluffy read
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Konyaki-haki sarete Me ga Samemashita
April 20, 2016
Status: --
That was a cute story overloaded with fluff, I mean FLUFF. Like so much cliche feels and fluff that you'll choke on it. Very well written though hahahahhah x'D
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
April 21, 2016
Status: --
IGNORE THE DESCRIPTION AND JUST READ THE DAMN STORY.

Love the humor and that crazy wit of the MC. I thought this would be real fluff and not that developed but surprisingly it’s written quite well. Even the fight scenes, who would have thought that a book like this would have accomplished fight scenes? I didn’t, damn wish I read it sooner. It’s also not those typical “blackbelly prince/boss/master” books either, like I originally thought but a genuine parody of all things xianxia. Just think history’s num 1 founder but girl... more>> version and obviously not a founder x’D

The character development is superb in my opinion, though I did hope for a bit more relationship development between some of the characters and the MC (not too serious though, just wanted a bit more to strengthen the feels lol). Anyways, even though the MC starts to get stronger and stuff, her moral character stays true to how she was at the start which is awesome considering how I was sick of seeing morally upright characters grow into arrogant lil radishes once they inhale a little bit of OP gas.

BREATH OF FRESH AIR THIS NOVEL,

-end of long-winded nonsense "review" <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae
Dominating Sword Immortal
April 10, 2016
Status: --
As of chapter 18, I honestly think that this novel would have been better off not being a transmigration story. His past life/experiences don't even contribute to anything. In fact, it feels like the author's excuse to give the original martial artist character a personality and op boost. Why can't he just try hard??!?!?!?!?!?!?!? Hahhaha that being said, the story isn't that bad. Good to read if you're bored
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Don’t You Like Me
December 23, 2018
Status: Completed
Cute. Not gonna lie though, I feel like it could have gone a little longer (great ending though). I especially like the interactions with the ghosts and the mirror on the ceiling scene hehehe
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Carta Visa
April 19, 2017
Status: c1
It... doesn't look too bad.... of course it's only been the first chapter but the plot sounds like it might be interesting. For once, it's set in a country that doesn't use the mc's first language so we get to see him struggling with the english. Not much to go on yet but I don't think this deserves a 1 start while it hasn't even picked up yet. So, for now I'll set my vote as 5 to even the scales.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Ghost Invasion
July 7, 2016
Status: c11
Translation is good quality, well at least the grammar is, since I dont know the original language so cant say much for accuracy. Unfortunately, I absolutely dislike the MC. UGH SHE FRUSTRATES ME... ugh she's just so stoopid *wagglesfingersinfrustration*. But the plot seems good so give it a try anyway.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
I Bought a Girl
May 2, 2016
Status: --
Well with 1 chapter and the translator’s note, I can definitely say that this isn’t ecchi nor is it NSFW. Looking forward to more chapters and the cuteness that better follow. x’D

edit - *heart pierced* it's..... too.... cute <3
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
The Desolate Era
March 10, 2016
Status: --
idk why people are saying that CD lacked romance, I thought that it had the best balance. Sure it was put in the back burner but at least it was developed.... sorry to say that so far DE’s romance isn’t... probs cause they’re still young but who cares Linley was still young and yet the romance was still better. nough said.

The reincarnation part excited me but so far, it's just disappeared into the plot never to be seen again which is kinda sad.

I would probably say that DE isnt a... more>> bad read but it can get a bit repetitive

(i have read up to vol 10 btw) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
President isn’t ‘Mary Sue’
December 9, 2017
Status: c5
Seriously wondering who these people are who give one stars. Do they just constantly f5 for yaoi and shonen ai cause if they do.. I think they’re in denial lol. Anyways, this isnt really shonen ai anyway. The story was too short so their relationship was quite ambiguous and could be something of a bromance. Either way their interactions were pretty cute so I guess it could be shonen ai cause I defs ship them ;)
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DeanRae
DeanRae rated it
Romance RPG
April 19, 2016
Status: --
Pretty entertaining, I love the male lead's rants and the romance hahahha x'D
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report