Report Review
Report Reason:
9 Reviews


Davr
Davr rated it
Kuro no Maou
December 29, 2016
Status: v11c166
The Novel started out pretty good, but was ruined by five things in particular:

1. The MC is basically a loser, no matter how many enemies he kills he always loses more. The author probably did this to increase the sense of dread in the LN, however, it backfired on him. By the time the MC gets some type of chance against his enemies, the readers will be extremely frustrated.... more>>
Spoiler

160 chapters in is when the main character gets a power from a god, but this power is not explained or even technically revealed and will take a bunch of chapters to actually develop into something the MC can use.

[collapse]

2. Too many POV changes. Seriously, who gives a f**k what the enemy thinks. Would have been better if it stayed as a first person. Poor translators by the way, they had to identify every POV change.

3. The unnecessary introduction of guns in fantasy world. Should have seen it coming since the MC came from Earth and the only attack magics he has are gun related.
Spoiler

The author uses Simon, an alchemist who made a gun, as the gateway for guns into the fantasy world. Are you f**king kidding me, some guy in an alternate universe dominated by magic and martial arts just thought one day, "I'm gonna make a gun". The fact he sucks at magic is not an excuse for this. Modern technology in a medieval setting ruins the story.

[collapse]

4. Harem+Dark storyline filled with gore+pathetic MC=Crap

5. The pacing is turtle speed, the useless POV changes to the villain's side do not help.

If you didn't like Law of the Devil, you definitely won't like Kuro no Maou

This review is probably really bad, but I was just so pissed at this LN.
Spoiler

Why the f**k is the author trying to give the readers a sense of attachment with the apostles by changing the POV?!


Why does the author tease us by getting the MC super depressed and close to loner OP mode, and then changing his attitude all of a sudden?! Which happened THREE f**kING TIMES!!! It will happen eventually, why delay it for so many chapters

[collapse]
<<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
March 13, 2017
Status: c59
It started out pretty good

But as the story progressed, the side character plot became more and more annoying.

Problems the main character could have dealt with immediately, were dragged out for many chapters.

The main character's decisions are very irrational, but then are made to seem as they were all part of his secret plan.

So, I'm going to drop it.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
Release that Witch
June 18, 2017
Status: c321
I was skeptical of reading this novel because the MC didn't have any powers and believed it would be a boring drama if the MC didn't have any powers. But, I gave the novel a try, and what I found was extraordinary.

It was extremely well written!

The author deserves praise for researching the science behind the inventions that the MC wants to bring into the world he was transported into and making this novel enjoyable, even when the MC doesn't have powers. The decisions the MC makes are reasonable and the... more>> world and characters are well fleshed out.

I felt as if I was in the world alongside the MC as he continued to build his power and influence. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
Gate of Revelation
June 15, 2017
Status: c11
In order to ensure your readers actually continue to read your novel, you have to have an attention gathering beginning. This novel only had what seemed to be a bad opening to a cheesy survival show with game elements. Also, the fourth wall breaks in conversations during this part only helped to disconnect the reader from the story.

The writing style of the author is that of injecting comedic elements into serious situations, which personally infuriates me. Using stupid phrases like "**** your mother".

All of the above has left a very... more>> bad first impression of this novel on me.

I most likely will not come back to this novel either because I am not going to force myself to read the author's bad writing style just because some reviews say that "this novel is underrated" and "it gets better later on". <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
Breakers
May 30, 2017
Status: c94
I wasn't going to roast this novel, but seeing other people giving this novel 3s and 5s seriously pissed me off.

There are three reasons I am dropping this novel:

  1. The story says that the MC has played the game multiple times, but in the story, he doesn't know anything. The only times you see him reveal his knowledge about the game is when remembering locations and characters and appearing smart in front of the other side characters.
  2. The story is boring and repetitive up to where I stopped (c94) : He goes on quest, gains equipment to help him out, there's a character development chapter (s) and then he goes back to the demon capital.
  3. Spoiler

    {MC has no reason to want to become demon king besides other people wanting him to become demon king and the fact that he's the conquest knight. Literally "I am the conquest knight so I guess I am obligated to compete for the demon king position"}

    [collapse]
Besides those three reasons the romance felt like a ****tease with the MC's subordinate getting more rear end than him.

The MC's subordinate (the ogre) I'm guessing was supposed to be the comic relief or something like that, but he turned into a very annoying character for me with all of his stupid comments.

Don't read this if you didn't enjoy TDG
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
Star Rank Hunter
July 10, 2017
Status: c90
I was really into it at first, the first 70 chapters really immersed me into the story with well fleshed out characters and an MC that had a serious/calm personality that didn't jump at any woman that opened their legs for him.

But after the first arc, ... more>>
Spoiler

The part of the story where Cillin is disguised as the son of the big family successor

[collapse]
What I read was disappointing. Two new characters are introduced: A loli girl that was taken in by the hunter organization that the MC is a part of, and a talking cyborg cat that was added for plot armor or something because I don't really see any other reason why the author would add this character.

The tone/mood of the novel thus changed from intense and exciting to humorous and light-hearted. It was like reading a bunch of joke filler episodes.

It was at this moment that I knew that the author was steering this novel into an entirely different direction than I thought. Reminded me of all those other Xianxia that introduced pets to the MC that had "extraordinary" backgrounds and how the pets would stick around and be annoying until their backgrounds are revealed.

Spoiler

Honestly, I think that the author didn't have to add the loli girl hunter into the novel. It could ave been a middle-aged woman and the story might not have changed as much. He only added the character to add a comedic element to his novel and in turn ruin the immersion of the reader with a bunch of BS slice of life/comedy.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
January 4, 2017
Status: c506
At first, I was really into it, but then I noticed how the plot was being copied and pasted with different names from previous chapters. I also didn't like how The MC makes several companions, only to completely forget about them an not even talk to them in later chapters.

... more>>
Spoiler

At the part I left off, Jiang Chen completely forgot about Tang Hong and the other guy he met at the eternal spring mountain competition in exchange for a new companion called Mu Qiouqi or whatever. And it's not like Tang Hong was left behind, Jiang Chen took him with hime to the new sect, but he just chooses to ignore it. It's like as the story progresses, old side characters become ghosts stalking the MC.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr
Everyone Else is a Returnee
September 7, 2017
Status: c34
If you're looking for a comedy novel this one is for you. If you're looking for a badass MC that slays a bunch of monsters and other cool stuff, stay away from this novel. Why? Because all of the action and cool stuff that is done is glazed in a thick layer of comedy and references.

To summarize, this is a comedy novel with an action theme.

I'm dropping it because the comedy doesn't really make me laugh. I also like novels that are the polar opposite of this one.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Davr
Davr rated it
Miracle Throne
June 16, 2017
Status: c77
July 8, 2017:

Decided to give this novel a second chance, but was disappointed by the repetitiveness of the plot and dropped it again.

June 16, 2017:

This novel could have been better. The author also nailed the arrogant and eccentric character traits for the MC. But, the reason I'm giving this novel two stars is because the author places a huge limiting factor on the MC from the start in the form of two girls. The author also decided to make the MC start his business with these two girls, foreshadowing... more>> that these girls will continue to make appearances throughout the rest of the novel. In the end, the two girls will become burdens for the MC before he is strong enough to properly take care of them.

This is the classic case of the author being too anxious to show off the MC's superior knowledge without sufficient world-building and character development. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report