Report Review
41 Reviews


Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
November 15, 2017
Status: c171
Don't let the heavy 48 people who rated it a 1 fool you.

Actually do what I did, read a few chapters and then decide if this is for you.

There is a reason why 75% of us actually rated it 3 or better.

I will list the main ones for my reason why I liked it well enough to binge read it to chapter 171 and also rate it a 5.

  1. The character starts off NOT supremely all knowing or OP that he defeats all his enemies within just the first 2 chapters. The MC actually has to eat crappy food first. Seriously bad food. He eventually does evolve over the next dozen chapters into a determined MC, and yeah, not alot of whiny beta type personality. He comes across as determined, willing to bust ass to make it, or atleast survive. Yes there will be plot armor, SERIOUSLY, what story does NOT have plot armor? Name me 1 story that doesn't have plot revolves around the MC. You can't, if you did, you're not reading a novel. Over time, our MC does grow and develop and will be a MC you're not embarassed to know or read about.
  2. I like the world building. It's detailed enough to give you a good dose of reality, but fantastical enough to leave you wishing that you could visit the world. Maybe as a tourist, maybe not so much as to live there.
  3. The mix of science and magic always entrances me and I like how the author does a fair balance between the two. In some ways you may think it's a different part of the world and not too far from Release That Witch....
  4. Music. Ah yes, like the others below and before me, the music stands out in the first story arc of the MC. Basically it comes down to this. If you hated Macross and all the Macross stuff with Music + action + drama, you WILL hate this. IF on the other hand, like me, you LOVED Macross and how it blended magic of Music + action + drama, and created something that made you want to go out and listen to music, then you WILL like this story. I did like the fact that it was NOT guns that our modern character brought about to get ahead in this old world. He actually brought out songs. "Listen to my song!" - Basara and All of Macross
In the end, I'm gonna be a fan of this series. Hopefully the translator and editors stay around long enough for me to get closure, but if not....I'll just quietly listen to Moonlight Sonata in the quiet night...
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
The Book Eating Magician
July 1, 2017
Status: c35
Wow. This book was a surprise to me.

I'm glad I gave it a chance.

The MC is NOT OP off the bat and even if he got his 'cheat' he actually has to evolve and grow with it. Sure the far future implications of such a 'cheat' is that by chapter 200 (currently at 35 he is just starting to battle) he will be a god like being. But meh. I figure I got used to Super Saiyinjin Stage 1 Goku, I can get used to the MC here too when... more>> that day comes. Haha!!

Overall if you like bright and sensible MC, who actually are thinkers before bashers, then you will like this story.

Skillers over Killers is my preference. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
The Amber Sword
July 1, 2017
Status: v2c166
Very excellent translator / editor / rewritor.

Some things to keep in mind before you start reading this.

  1. It is really a LitRpg mixed with some Card Games. Avoid if you don't like litrpg or card games.
  2. MC is not TOO OP. Maybe say 8 / 10, and 10 being Goku/Superman/Saitama level. And 1 being Yamchaa and Krillin. He does use his knowledge of the story to take on the main arcs and twist it to his advantage, but doesn't go overboard and if he fails, he actually is smart enough to recover. There are few 'plot armor' moments as well. The MC is portrayed very realistically as possible without going all Saitama OPM on us.
  3. Very good details dealing with strategy and tactics in defeating his enemies. So if you like that kind of stuff, this may be for you.
  4. The translator blatantly states they re write the original. WAIT! Don't run yet. He does it to make the story telling smoother and western style of writing instead of that weird direct translation you get if you keep it eastern. I found that made the story is WAY more easier to read. I really hate all the weird noise sounds and stuff that other translators keep in, you know the "wahh! Ouuh! Hupp! Clang! Bang! Whoosh! Pa! Pa! Puah!" His rewrites actually make the story flow better.
Overall if you are ok with those points, give this a read.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Summoned Slaughterer
December 8, 2017
Status: c60
Why I rated 5 stars.

Here are my points and reasons. May NOT be yours. But it may help you decide.

  1. If you HATE the following characters from Marvel and DC then you will HATE the MC:
    1. Punisher from Marvel
    2. Deadpool from Marvel
    3. Joker from DC
    4. Harlequin from DC
    5. Cobblepot – The Penguin from DC
    6. Deathstroke from DC
      1. If you LOVED or like those types of anti-heroes and villains you MAY like our MC.
    7. If you LOVED the character Kenpachi Zaraki of Bleach, look him up if you don’t remember. And if you can imagine if Bleach was written around him instead of Kurosaki Ichigo, then you MAY love this MC. If you HATED or didn’t like Kenpachi, then you should probably avoid this story.
    8. If you thought how villainous and cool Breaking Bad tv show main character was. Then you would probably like this story. If you HATED or don’t like stories like Breaking Bad, and their MC. Then you may want to avoid this story.
Hopefully this will help you all decide. I’m just on chapter 60. So I haven’t read it all yet. But... it’s good enough for me. I’ll follow that bloody road to the end.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Otoko Nara Ikkokuichijou no Aruji o Mezasa Nakya, ne?
August 16, 2017
Status: nels adventure 5
I gave it a 5 star. Because I like good MC build ups.

Some Pointers to keep in mind. If you can answer YES to the following, you MAY like this story.

  1. MC is NOT op right off the bat. Development is like a dozen chapters or more before it starts off. If you like this, and can say YES. next one...
  2. There is NO harem. If you're ok with this, and can say YES. next one...
  3. If you're okay with some info dump regarding technologies that are applicable to early 10th to 11th century civilizations and how the MC can take advantage of his personal knowledge and can say YES. next one.
  4. There will be dungeon crawling later. Like lots of it. If you're still able to say YES. continue on...
  5. Still Dungeon crawling in the last 100 chapters... Yes? go on...
  6. There will be side stories dealing with other characters that May NOT even impact the MC. You may read them or not. If you're ok with stuff like that, say YES.
So if you're ok with the issues above, you'll be like me and enjoy a pleasant story that slowly develops and a character that honestly, isn't a dense idiot. He does come off as smarter than average, wiser than ALOT of reincarnation characters and overall knows his limits and works with it. The translator... more>> is a MONSTER / bakemono with how MUCH he spouts out every week. Hopefully that pace slows down enough that they don't burn out... <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Doomsday Wonderland
December 27, 2017
Status: c134
Meh.

I was entertained enough to binge read it up to 134.

Here's MY reasons for reading all day long. May not be yours, but may help others.

  • The MC doesn't start off super op. She has to work here way towards it, and BARELY by the 120's does she start seeing more power ups. Overall her growth rate is pretty easy and linear. The writer does enough plotting that I'm not left wondering too much about plot vs armour. So if you like MC who struggle a bit before growing, this maybe your kind of story.
  • The genre is transdimensional hopping like the Sliders from the sci-fi series or Terror Infinity story. MC is JUST starting to do dimensional traveling as of 130s. So... it's not like every couple of chapters. I figure author does a few dozen chapters as one arc and then another dozen as another. And so on. Pretty much like how other online writers do it. I like it, the current arc of the 130's is pretty harsh. Just a warning.
  • Supporting side characters do get screen time. Some may even be good enough to get a best supporting actor award with how much details they are given. Others maybe not so much. But overall I got enough that I could see myself hanging out with some of them or AVOIDING some....
  • btw. NO romance. tag is kind of misleading. So don't fall for it.
  • Good female lead MC. I can easily see her hanging out with Jessica Jones from Netflix, Black Widow and maybe Wonder Woman. She's confident. Sure and not just a pretty face or t&a. (Ok. Maybe not as pretty as those gals, but you get what I mean) She isn't a perfect Mary Sue OP type, but a character that grows stronger over time and overcomes a majority of her obstacles with her wit more than her brawns or boobs.
Overall, if these points agree with you, give it a read. You may be surprised like me and find yourself binging.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
June 30, 2017
Status: v15 intermission 10
Excellent story so far.

I agree with the prior reviews that new readers should be aware of these points first if they want to dig in.

  1. It's slice of life first, cuz it all revolves around cooking and eating. Kind of like Toriko, I think. Never read it, but I get that vibe.
  2. Harem (under 17. so no obvious s*x-u)
  3. Summoned Hero, who really just wants to go around enjoying his time and NOT really wanting to save the world... but he does when it crosses his path. So don't cross his path if you're gonna ruin his cooking and hanging out. Cuz he will REK you.
  4. OP MC. as usual
  5. Funny and neat supporting characters and fun too.
  6. Deliciousness is justice!! nodesu, Poch is best!
Overall if you are looking for a light read and NOT... more>> too heavy or dark or depressing, this story will brighten your day. And improve your appreciation of food. (NOTE: do NOT read this story on an empty stomach! I warn you...)

bon appetit! <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
March 30, 2018
Status: c295
4/5 stars is a not a bad rating.

Why?

Here's why:

  • The MC is normal. Not a genius, not a stupid person. Just pretty much average intelligence. Smart enough to make it through the day and not too brilliant to rule the world. Joe Schmoe. Now imagine such a person given super powers and stuff. Yeah, you're not gonna get brilliant and super genius decisions nor a willingness to step up and shake the world. What you get is a story about trying to make do with that you have. Save the people you can save and well... in the end live the life you want to live. Not typical isekai. Which is IMHO the genius of this story.
  • The new world of the MC is pretty simple and complex at the same time. Just like ours. I know we read Isekai stories to get away from our own problems. But seriously, we do want a good story too. The MC's new world is not all black and white, not all good and evil, pure law vs pure chaos. It has shades of grey, dirty amounts of grey in there. Lots of it. Expect it to be as sh*tty as our world and just as beautiful as ours too. That's how well built the new world of the MC is. You get your villains and lost characters, you get your victims and you get your champions. Just don't expect them to be pure and untarnished.
  • The harem. Yes, there is a harem tag. BUT... this MC is very decent and not a tool of his "tool" get it? So be warned ahead of time. Yes, yes, it is annoying to have a dense character in regards to his harem. But our MC just doesn't seem to have time to do the deed. His relationship with his harem members isn't simple as "wham bam thank you ma'am". He knows there is a line and once crossed it is really hard to come back from there. Who among us hasn't had that moment of "I want to go out with my best friend, but if I do... we can't "JUST" be friends ever again. And that's not on top of the next emotional and social complexities and headaches that comes with being a s*x friend... gah!" So yeah. The author is a genius in regards to addressing that aspect. Read the the story and pay attention to the thought process of the MC you will see his fear of breaking that line and all that entails. Pretty much a human way of thinking.
  • The conflicts and resolutions are simple and direct and yet there are consequences that are shown later. This isn't a story where doing X event closes the line. Oh no, later on that X event will result in a bunch of Y headaches for the MC. Can't do spoilers but you'll see what I mean. Our author doesn't let our MC do things without consequences. You can't have your monster episode of the day without resulting in a bunch of headaches later on if you kill it.
  • And in the end I gave it 4 stars because the story seems to be NOT concluding anytime soon. Even the translator is peeved if you read the commentary about the pacing and releases. Sadly I suspect that web chapter 295 is MAYBE the beginning of the MID point of the overall story arcs and only perhaps after Web chapter 666 will we get a conclusion to the events of this story.
Give the story a read. It will surprise you like it did me.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Returning from the Immortal World
August 10, 2018
Status: c600
Here are my reasons I am a 5 Star:

  1. Story is engaging. I like the growth of the MC. The MC isn’t super strong off the bat. A few chapters goes by and he gets stronger. Then another dozen, and so on. I like an MC that grows in power with these kinds of stories. So if you do too, you will enjoy the read.
  2. The world building is detailed enough to not turn me off from lack of information. We know it’s very similar to our world. Course we know it’s got super beings since it’s about cultivators. I liked the blend of modern science and cultivators.
  3. The usage of cultivator ‘science’ to make profit in a modern world. Seriously good use of those ideas. Those body pills that make a cultivator go up in power = super profits to normal users. Wouldn’t you pay big $$$ for a safe and easy food that makes you almost Captain America level? I know I would... And the author does a good enough job that it seems to be a very believable way for our MC to make money. Or cultivator spells to sell etc. Things that we take for granted in a Xianxia/Wuxia world, our modern world would just go GAGA over.
  4. Supporting Characters are detailed and have lives of their own. Contrary to some negative reviews, he does go back to his roots. He does share his power with the ‘lesser’ of his old friends and allies. I’m at chapter 600 and I’m still seeing him being with his old allies and friends. He doesn’t just 100% abandon them. They do add enough support to his status that they are alive enough for me to groan and shake when they show up. That’s how annoying and lovable the supports are.
  5. Now... let me address the other issue: The EX. Big caps. Yes. the EX. And his emotional issues with it. Let me ask you this: After a 10k long relationship and if you get back stabbed, would you just brush it off and go ‘meh’ and bounce right back into falling in love again? I know I had issues with old relationships that broke off after a year. I couldn’t imagine what 10k years would do to my mind!! So in my view his actions of being cold and hard to fall in love again, would be a ‘reasonable’ response to love from his female harem wannabe girls. BUT, he’s NOT emotionally dead. He LOVES his mother. Deeply so. He does things to help his family members he cares about, people who show respect and care to him. He does the same. But as for love for a woman? He is very hurt and does keep his emotional distance in that regards. 10, 000 years of memories and betrayal does NOT just go away in a few months. YOU fall in love for a year and do you think you can forget that year in a few months or get over your emotions? Imagine being in love for 10000 years! He also does logically know his emotional state in regards to love is kind of wonked out. So he actually honestly tells his gals this. They respect it, but also still want to pursue him. Which again is a reasonable response.
  6. In the end, give this a few chapter read if you think those reasons are enough for you.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
The Strongest Gene
November 5, 2017
Status: c48
If you like the blend of Science Fiction + Cultivation Magic, you should try this out.

I am finding that those two are my favorite kinds of stories. (I'd recommend forty millennium of cultivation, and miracle throne as well)

The translation and editing isn't too bad. Overall I'm more annoyed that I didn't discover this when it was in the 100's of chapters... now I have to wait for each chapter to come out weekly. Gah.

The premise is simple enough: boy from earth finds himself not in his home dimension anymore.... more>> but "luckily" he has something going for him, a cheat, but it still requires a bit of thinking and wit to use well. the writer does a good enough job that we don't think our MC is OP off the bat and still has to 'work' for his gains. those are the kinds of stories I like the most.

Give it a shot if you're ok with MC who use their cheat's smartly and also like sci-fi + fantasy elements. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Advent of the Archmage
May 29, 2018
Status: c169
Came for the cover. Stayed for the story.

Simple as that. I saw it on Qidian. Gave it the 10 chapter test. EASILY made it to the end with lots of binging and coffee and bathroom breaks.

Overall pacing is nice, the MC does NOT get too OP in the opening chapters, but does have cheat knowledge and training to get him through the hazards. The writer does a good enough job that I can almost believe in the plot armor.

My view on plot armor is that it's like the hot bikini... more>> fantasy armor: You KNOW it's there, you can SEE it, you wonder if it does any thing? Other than get your engine revved, but you KNOW it does something. It only requires you to get really really close to see past it and realize it actually has some value. BUT otherwise, it's seemingly skimpiness lets you believe that it's not really there.

Besides there is always plot armor. That's a story. duh.

Overall if you like a kind of OP MC person who gets sent to a world based upon his old game and so he knows stuff about it that helps him survive.... you should give this a try. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
April 17, 2018
Status: c803
Dear reader to be,

I am happy to announce that this story passes my approval.

Yes, approval. I am a veteran of many weird and varied tales of harems, isekai, cultivators, proto-culture - DE CULTURE!, OP characters, silly and serious blends of action, drama, humor, and pure awesome badasseriness (is that a word?), anyways, I would again state this story does pass the mark and I can see why it is part of the top 20 rankings and why there are so many other crazy readers who read it too. See... more>> above charts.

In this story setting you will get your OP character, but he will grow and grow until he's the most powerful of them all. As expected. He also will have a harem and that harem will also be growing with him. His gals are as interesting as the MC.

The supporting characters that help our MC grow will also have time to shine in the limelight of his OP caped baldiness (is that a word too?) or dare I say BOLDness?

and to the detractors who talk about how our MC is stupidly weak to hot, like totally hot women even though he's super smart, savvy, and conniving...... uh. Like totally, Duh! NAME me ONE straight, heteros*xual orientated, young, vibrant, that is NOT affected by E.D. who wouldn't be stupidly idiotic in the presence of hot, like totally scorching hot women??? Women that come 1 in over 9000 years, the kind that make you wish you were 2D and not 3D. I'd bet you can't even name yourself. (unless you'r NOT straight, heteros*xual orientated, young, vibrant, that is NOT affected by E.D.)

Enough of that dear reader to be.

Instead if you can handle this kitchen of weirdness, mixed with humor, action, love and drama, then give this a read.

You won't be dissappointed like me.

Signed: Me, Almighty Me.

(note: I'll probably now hold off reading the series until the last 860th chapter...) <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
The Strongest System
April 4, 2018
Status: c419
I'm a 5 star person.

why?

  • MC is super hilarious, outrageous and simply doesn't take the story seriously. OMG.
  • From the other reviews I went into this story being aware that COMEDY tag should be the 1st among lords. Please, please! don't go into this story thinking it is serious sh*te. It's not. It's more Library of Heavens Path than Emperors Domination...
  • Face slapping is a thing. Live it, breathe it, trust in it.
  • Ball slapping is a technique, "monkey steals peaches!"... lots of silly low brow humor. If you can't handle the balls, don't play in the court. Our balls are the grandest balls of all!!
  • Eternal Donger. 'nuf said.
  • Supporting cast are lively and as entertaining as the MC.
  • World building is very detailed.
  • Qidian translators and editors seem to know their stuff.
If you are still reading... more>> this review. Then you too may like our fancy balls. Because we got the best balls around!

all in all this is a super romp of humor, action and cultivation all in a big ball of humor. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Chronicles of Primordial Wars
March 23, 2018
Status: c260
I really liked this story.

My reasons:

  • It's REALLY different. Seriously, don't go reading this expecting the usual tropes from xianxia or manhua etc. It' got a distinct feel to it, so much so that I binged on it instead of reading my usual favorited items.
  • World building is unique. Reminds me of the days of the Bear Clan. Our MC is tossed into a different world and has to get used to it. The world is different and the writer creates enough distinctness that I KNOW it's different enough to stand out from all the typical chinese web fare out there.
  • The MC does NOT start off super powerful. He get's a form of 'cheat'. But it's not so much OP that he's a walking cheater. He actually has to use his modern smarts and survive. And then build up his power and abilities along with new allies.
  • The supporting cast is well rounded. I don't get the feeling they are fillers. They actually FEEL and dream too. So over time you get to know the support group members. And care about them too.
  • The Translator / Editing by LESYT is well done. Very few mistakes found.
Overall, this is a good story if you want something different. Try it. You'll be surprised.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Ze Tian Ji
March 4, 2018
Status: c807
Gotta give it a 5.

Why?

Here's my list of why:

  1. Great cast of characters. In ALOT of these wuxia, xianxia, asian martial artist cultivator thingies. The MC is the only one that stands out and the supporting characters don't do much. Well, not here. Here at Ze Tian Ji, or Way of Choices, our characters have lives of their own, dreams, hopes and nightmares. MC isn't the only one that wants something. Some would call this a weakness in these kinds of stories. I call it good writing.
  2. World building. Wow. Just wow. The sense of age and wealth of this world is incredible. The way the writer and translators say things leaves me breathless at times. I feel that there are moments in the story, there is more in the background and if I just wait long enough someday I'll see more details. I want more details. That's just how cool the world building is. Who needs a universe to explore when the world is still incredibly new and different.
  3. The MC is not OP at the start. He grows and grinds his way to his prime spot. He wishes and cries along the way. You will too. This is not a weak ass character though. Don't get that wrong. He spends his blood and life carefully, and doesn't waste a single drop of that precious thing called life. He grits with the best of the best and smiles with the most innocents. His character isn't a bloody rag. The blood you see on his hands came from the enemies that stood before him and he had to smash his way past them. Many of them are not innocents.
  4. The writing style is not garish, not weak, or timid. The writer, editors and the translators did a superb job with transmitting the pageantry and poetry of the story as I read. Sometimes I'd re-read a paragraph just because it was very beautiful and deeply meaningful.
  5. There is romance, humor, friendship and action. What more can you want beyond that?
In the end if you want something more, something to show you what can be a GREAT novel style. Give this a read, the translator and editor teams at Gravitytales did do a GREAT job on this story.

Excelsior!!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
I Have a Mansion in the Post-apocalyptic World
November 27, 2017
Status: c233
I will list the reasons why I think a 5 star is ok. Hopefully this will help others to decide to read this story.

I was initially put off by the negative reviews, but then I remembered that I should give it the 10 chapter test and see if it was any better beyond 10. YES it was.

I spent 6 hours straight binge reading into the 70's. It was that good for me.

... more>> Let me list my reasons:

  1. First, I liked the premise: guy with power to travel dimension wants to use to gather wealth and power. Who wouldn't like the power to travel to another dimension and get loot and resell later in a safer environment? Simple enough idea for me to follow.
  2. His character growth and the supporting characters growth as well. It was refreshing surprise to see a Chinese MC grow emotionally. MOST of the stories I've been reading they MC and his support typically don't change much at all. There would be a chapter that I read and think to myself "I know if I was in his spot, I would have been a total dxck to that other character. Instead the MC shows that he can look beyond some past issues and be a better person." Those chapters made me realize the author does care about the emotional growth of our MC. Other chapters also showcase how much he's change by his powers and influence on the world and people around him and their influence on him.
  3. The world building is very good and very realistic. I'd say the author did enough research to make the modern world seem realistic and the reactions of the MC and the people around him believable. The super tech of the 'future' timeline world is believable enough to let it bleed back to the 'modern' current timeline. Makes you wish someone like him did exist to bring over neat toys like he did. The story of him building a power base in the apocalyptic setting and modern corporate empire was well done. It left me wanting more details and growth as I read along.
  4. He's a flawed person, not a OP perfect person. Not even close. But his flaws make him human and NOT a monster or a douche. One example that others bash upon: he sleeps around. Yes. S*x exists in this story. His growing influence will draw women to him. So like all adult males he will actually sleep with them. Go figure. BUT he does have enough self restraint to NOT sleep with EVERY 2 legged female that crosses his path. That's a complex character. Simple ones will either sleep around like a slut or be a harem king and can't decide. Author decided to create someone who knows he's got pxssy everywhere but also shows a man who knows there are times pxssy isn't everything. If you're offended at this point about the MC, I don't recommend reading the story. Cuz SxX is part of this MC as well.
  5. The intrigue and action is believable and top notch. At times I was tense and suspenseful. The writer knows how to write out his battle scenes. Whether it be political battles or combat, he's got a good touch there. The translators and editors are Top Notch at translating it over to us English readers.
Overall, those are my main reasons I'm in the 5 star camp. So if you do think these are good enough reasons too, give it a read, try the first 10 chapters and if it didn't suck you in, you may skip this story. But if you can't stop reading, then you are caught like I am in the struggle of our MC to build an empire across two worlds. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
The New Gate
September 21, 2017
Status: v8c3 part1
wow. just wow.

I just loved this story. Glad someone mentioned it in a different story I was reading.

So to any new prospective readers, here are some quick points to keep in mind:

  1. If you like LitRpg novels. This is good stuff.
  2. If you think that in SAO, Kirito being trapped, even after everyone else is freed and Asura not being resurrected would have been a great twist. This story may be for you....
  3. Good fight scenes. Translators do a good job on that and the rest too.
  4. Some harem. kind of. so be warned.
  5. OP character. Yes. But very balanced against the need to stay secret. Think Superman having dual identity issues.
  6. Lolita yes. No touch!
  7. And lastly, if you didn't hate Overlord too much. This may be for you too.
Read on fair believers. I know I... more>> will. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
The Novel’s Extra
August 21, 2018
Status: c80
If you liked the other web fiction: Worth the Candle, google it. You would probably like this.

I rated it 5 stars.

Why?

  1. Character is OP in knowledge. Since he created this world. BUT... the wrinkle is someone else is also rewriting parts of it to make it 'better' and more 'enjoyable'. haha. Kind of like readers try to tell web writers where to go in their stories. LOL. Good stuff. So sure, our OP MC does have a cheat, but it's not totally world breaking. No more than Superman or Saitama.
  2. The supporting and other characters that should be MC but aren't since our MC is there, do have details that make them live. They have complaints, have issues and drama and some are just plain annoying enough that I wouldn't want to hang out with them in real life if I could avoid them. So kudos to nearly Oscar winning supporting roles.
  3. World building is very nice. It's like our world, but maybe a few decades later. And the science and magic is blended well enough that I can almost believe it works.
  4. Entertaining balance of action, drama and mystery between the MC and the world he mainly created. It's fascinating to watch someone be surprised by how things turn out from a few sentences on a screen.
good read. check it out!
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
February 17, 2018
Status: c305
Warning: This story does start off with grim darkness. BUT.... it does go fluffy wuffy later.

So from chapters 1 - 176 it is pretty much other world shenanegans and stuff that can be grim dark and emo and sad and stuff. And oh we get some harem action going too.

After 176 is when it gets really interesting and funny and stuff. So try to get pass the 176 chapters.

... more>> Remember: 1-176 = grim dark fantasy and some harem action.

177 + = fantasy, funny, entertaining and over all better than I had expected.

Best of luck and join the rest of us. hahahaha! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Darkzeta
Darkzeta rated it
Superstars of Tomorrow
December 30, 2017
Status: c40
Wow.

Glad I saw the blurb and decided to give it a try. Loved it!

Now I will have to suffer with the other readers as we all wait for the next chapters to come out.

... more>> So if you loved the ideas of blending music with futuristic settings, like Macross, then you will LOVE this story.

I always liked the idea that an MC doesn't have to "win". He could in fact just Live, and grow and become more than just a trope.

So if you like the idea that music can be fun and interesting and yet even cooler if mixed with a futuristic setting similar to Macross. Give this a read. You may be surprised. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3