Report Review
16 Reviews


DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
September 23, 2018
Status: v16c40
Some like this novel, some hate this novel, and some have become fanatic that they accept mediocrity as masterpiece to them. Well I am not one of the above mentions. I would like to rate this 3 stars but I am forced to rate it 1 star cause the fanatics overrated this Desumachi WN/LN. I review according to logic, common sense, morality (maybe), and realistic view. "Have we really accepted mediocrity as being good and bad being mediocre?" - DarkBerserkerAA

Firstly, This WN/LN is overrated. The flow of the story becomes... more>> uninteresting at volume 16, the conversation quality degrades at volume 9 (cause harem keeps inserting useless tsukkomi), the MC isn't human personality despite being adult human from earth with proper job. But it has its moments. It shines the most in volume 1, it gives the readers good premise and let the readers imagine many possibilities within the world of Desumachi. It has good description of the world, has heart warming moments, has light hearted atmosphere most of the time, the MC has the balls to go to brothels (don't mind this), the MC is a hero of justice (well its too much that it becomes negative), The adventure is fun and exciting. So that is that and this is this.

I will review the story (tree analogy) / In volume 1 & 2 it sprout and takes root, volume 3 4 & 5 it stands straight and grow, volume 6 leaves grows on its sides, volume 7 & 8 it becomes a sappling, volume 9 it grows sturdy and straight, volume 10 branches are growing, volume 11 & 12 the leaves becomes stale in the tree, volume 13 14 and 15 the leaves starts to fall and the roots that is supposed to be sturdy becomes rotten, volume 16 the tree has little leaves left and it will start to die, volume onwards, the tree will die and rot. It doesn't even given a chance to bear fruit.

Then the world building / Well I will praise the world building as being decent enough. I won't tell spoilers.

The MC / In my honest opinion, the MC is a big disappointment. I mean come on is he really have a human personality? Or a doll that is secretly a robot? He is easily being controlled by people that doesn't have the power to control him, overly cautious about pointless things, doesn't have reason the reason to hide his strength when he is so OP even you factor the slave harem it doesn't really a deterrent for hiding. He is the most natural hypocrite MC that i've ever found through the 200+ WN/LNs i've read. He treats the world he is in as a game. Thick plot armored MC. Well I don't really like the MC for being a doll. MC doesn really have resolute mind, thats why he is easily have been manipulated by nobles (though he know he is being used).

Harem / I hate to break it to you but he is being passive about his adult harem members. No haremu in harem tag, it is just playing house, not a harem (genuine). The author wants the readers to be frustrated and readers thought the author is sexually frustrated (maybe). He has fiancees but he denies them cause his weak reasoning of it was just push at him so he denies it (I think the author tries for MC to be a RIAJUU (explode)).

Comedy / the tag comedy, don't take it seriously (seriously) cause it just a passing joke between conversations. The comedy in this WN/LN is just supporting the slice of life tag.

Action & adventure / plenty of adventure the action is minimal. The fight scenes isn't really spectacular it is just a medioce.

Slice of life / Shokugeki no kumo desu ga nai ka is what I like to say. Copy cat of food obsessed MC like shiro from kumo desu ga and food porn of shokugeki no souma.

Morality / Slavery, he is easily convinced to not let the slave girls go free cause the slave girls says so, In my honest opinion he could just release them and let them work for him and gift them something can be worn. Hypocrisy is number 1 thing that violates morality in this WN/LN.

Characters / Not bad and not good, mediocre. Two high ranking nobles become friendly because of food? Really? There are two kinds of character common in this WN/LN, the characters that do harm to him and characters that likes him after a short amount of time being together.

When you place it desumachi to overlord and kumo desu ga nani ka? And rank it. Desumachi is at the bottom basing it at 1 - 10 desumachi get 5 overlord get 9.5 kumo desu ga get 9.

Well that's all I have to review. I don't want any unnecessary spoilers containing my review. This WN/LN is recommended but I only recommend volume 1 - 9 of this novel before you get disappointed really bad then stop at volume 10. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
The MC is missing half of his brain.I can imagine the MC while yelling "I love guns (ret*rd sounding) ". No world building, might as well crawling in the dark and feel the environment. Characters are so dumb I don't know what to say. Everything can only be taken from the dungeon even the food, building materials etc. Really?

If you want to be dumb just like the characters in this novel then read this, it is contagious if you read more enough.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
September 25, 2018
Status: --
I must admit this novel is splendidly well written, but regardless of it being good story, world, character details, events, premise etc. it still will crumble when the foundation is not good enough. What I mean of my analogy of foundation is the MC. Yeah you read it right. I won't go into further details of my review about this novel and I will only review the main cause for me to rate this to 1 star, the MC.

Firstly the MC's personality is bland, transparent. Its not all there is... more>> to it, see the MC is a rare kind of a psychopath, he and the others doesn't know he is a psychopath himself, so that is really terrifying. He is a psychopath when angered by certain stimulus for example - his parents have been insulted and he went bananas and doesn't know how to express it, so he made a creepy smile (I hope the MC lose in that fight lol). He is the embodiment of innocent evil which is much worst than being slothful and carelessness like the goddess. He doesn't really understand economy and just gives his products to people in need, was it so bad to help the suffering? No, but help all human that are in need? Not possible. He is just messing up with the economy. Possible ways to solve it? Only masochist will do those possible intellectual way to solve it. The MC is so dumb and naive that he drags everyone around him in trouble but everyone around him are so competent that the MC doesn't deserve to be showered with praise by them. Also the title of this novel (moon-led journey....) coincides of what the MC personality is, Lunatic. He is crazy inside but doesn't show in the outside until some trigger occurs.

Conclusion - this novel has crappy logic and trash MC that has thick plot armor and everyone around him either adores him or hates him. I hate illogical stories especially those that are far out of reality. It is like wish fulfillment plus living in a day dream. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
October 15, 2018
Status: --
This deserves 5 stars for me. If you look at my reviews, you will see that most of my reviews are 1 star at best. I strictly rate novels based on if the novel entertain me, did I enjoy reading it, does the story is interesting, does the author did a good job at story telling, does the characters feel like a human/ act like a human (cause most of the novels I read are mechanical personality of MC), does the story and events are executed well, does the MC... more>> go to a good/interesting direction etc. Well I won't be making a lengthy review like the ones I usually do cause I already rated it 5 stars and I really am glad I read this novel. I am really entertained through and through. I won't say that this novel has no flaws but the flaws are just too minor that it can be ignored and be overshadowed by the good parts.

P.S. - I usually stay away from female MC's and drop it at early chapters. But this MC has likable personality and relatable, she seems to be a normal female with an appetite. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Maou no Hajimekata
October 19, 2018
Status: --
I highly suggest if you want to start reading this LN then you should start reading the manga first. Cause most people who complain about this novel is most likely have little to no imaginative capabilities. Sure ecchi scenes in here are not that very perverted, cause its vanilla s*x and harem. It is a kind of novel that s*x and story/plot blends well with one another and the way it handles s*x is very mature like in a sense. Unlike those ero novels that greatly emphasize about pervertedness and... more>> most of the stuff are not explained or simply discarded logic.

Its a good LN that you wanna buy and collect as one of the few good ones out of numerous pile novels. But if you are a horny teenage kid, then you better go somewhere else or just straight up watch some free p*rn. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
Same old trick is used every new encounter. Its like 'reinventing the wheel' everytime he gives earth knowledge to aetherdia people. The people purposefully made to be dumb for the MC and the story to shine and the MC is contradicting himself everytime for example : he says he needs to be careful about what he would sell cause he doesn't want to stand out but sells materials that doesn't match his adventurer rank. Also he has been implemented common knowledge in aetherdia but he doesn't even know the most... more>> commonest of knowledge for story progression sake.

Story - It is a low quality plot made by a not talented author. I think i've grown tired of reading every time the MC meets new people and made them surprise, I mean just die of being surprise already. There are some fishy logic going on in this novel. Can you imagine humans doesn't know how to invent and think of new ideas? Also the logic in this story isn't 1+1=2 but 1+1=4 here. Going to pick majesta fruit but its too hard to obtain cause no one thought of using ladder or making a climbing path? I don't want to say all the flaws in this novel but I said the main things bothering me cause the author has poor imaginations that the story is isn't good.

MC - I think the MC at early chapters as a calm and smart adult cause of the first impression he gives when he talk to a god but boy I'm terribly wrong. Its a beta japanese herbivore type of MC. Every enemy (person only) he encounters is not killed cause he doesn't want to dirty rheir hands, oh great I might as well punch a japanese man and see if he will not punch back. In a world where human rights are almost taken lightly it really baffles me that the MC doesn't change, or rather he gets worse and become a scaredy type trash MC. He comes from modern day earth, he doesn't should have a sense of duty to royalty but here he is behaving like a lowly commoner fitting of a born in aetherdia.

Conlcusion - I will give up stating all the flaws of the story, novel, and MC cause there is just too many. Created by a poor talent author that lack imagination and instead of improving the story instead he lower the intelligence of humans to a monkey that can talk. Really a disgrace of a novel. But I like the side characters especiallly the twins but well you can't expect a good story thats worthy to read in this novel. Oh by the way of the 12 countries he is still at the starting country at chapter 135 and doesn't go to other country and even mention of it is none. So boring. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
"Do we really accept mediocrity as being good and bad as being mediocre?" -DarkberserkerAA

I'm starting to hate most JP novels that has MC that is weak minded, indesicive, toxic thinking of MC just like the MC of this novel. I'll tell you now, don't read this thing. I'm grateful for the translator for having the time to translate this but the novel is just stressful to read.

MC - being bullied wants revenge but not on his right mind on who is he gonna blame or not. Conclusion - he has... more>> mental illness, he doesn't deserve to be bullied but he is too petty and nasty for a bullied person. He should be around 16-17 yrs old close to being adult he should think more maturely at that age.

Plot - nope, only one thing is in the plot "sense of crisis" this a*shole author likes to give the MC run for his money. I don't know if he is advised that the story should be interesting and eventful but to me this crappy novel is more crappy of thick plot armor the MC and his harem is wearing.

Like I always says in reviews I hate Illogical stories especially that are far out of reality. What about fantasy? That's where the author should explain the mechanics and believable logics in that fantasy world and everything is no problem. Most of this JP crao novel are just translated left and right while some other deserving good ones are being held hostages by translators that are too greedy for profit. Sorry but not sorry if some translators out there hurting to my words then you know who you are. I appreciate translation websites really and I occasionally donate at them if the translation is good but most are gibberish. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Isekai Nonbiri Nouka
February 11, 2019
Status: --
This is the top 1 best slice of life in this website. I really like the style of writing of the author. It's really natural and I can feel the characters are normal as can be as you view a real person. Really reminded me of Overlord the way of character behavior but Overlord has more depth in character. Still this novel Is the very best I could find in this site that is a "Slice of Life" genre to it and do it very well. I'm really looking forward... more>> to new chapters and I hope the chapters released should be at least 350+ but I can't be picky because I am not the one donating to TL teams :). The manga is left behind by the novel and it will take years for the manga to catch up. It's unfair for the latest release of manga to have 5-9 pages at most. Unlike in the very early chapters, it has 35 pages : (.

I really recommend reading the manga first before starting the novel. It may be backwards. But the manga is much better when it comes to entertainment. Then if you catch up to the latest release of the manga then switch to the novel. You may start over at chapter 1 again for a very fresh perspective and what you miss in the manga. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
"Revenge is a dish that is best served cold" so as the saying says but in this novel it is half as*ed and immature revenge. Oh and "Stupidity is incurable illness since time immeorial" or "you can't cure a stupid person" is like the saying says just like the MC for example- he wants to be a nobleman cause there might be a chance that the so called cheaters won't attack cause he is a noblrman, f*&k that LOL. The world of lambda has little human rights and plague with... more>> war and political struggles and this MC just nonchalantly saying he wants to be one even though he has no experience in politics and no talent for it. Also if he really want influence then he should have just rebuild
Spoiler

the country of titans and its city talosheim with the ghouls, undead titan, black goblin, anubis, and orcus. Establish a country and form an alliance with the orbaume country instead and become king or something

[collapse]
that's why he is putting the cart before the horse. The MC has no what so ever an inkling signs of experience of being suffered, tormented, tortured a lot in his 1st and 2nd life in earth and origin (except for some stupid random trauma the author chose to have for the MC) and just shrugs away his experience in his third life in lambda, no signs of caution and insight at all.

Cocnlusion - I personally wanted to rate it 5 stars but the japanese novels have notoriety with immature MC. I only find 5 novels where the MC is isn't immature and acting human like and thoughts like a human would. Don't get me wrong I would have not mind it if he was really only aninfant/toddler/boy but he his mental age should be an adult or at worst at young adult. This novel should have been a masterpiece if the MC isn't illogically immature despite his mental age and he awfully putting the cart before the horse a lot of times but sometimes his followers just solves it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Goblin Kingdom
October 27, 2018
Status: --
If you like selfish MC then this novel has it. But if you don't like unproductive, easy to be depress, weak minded, acting smart but truly an idiot, and unreasonable/nonsensible sudden power gain MC. Then you better turn around and pretend you don't see this pretty attracting many chapters isekai nove, cause most if not all will find this MC pathetic at least and hateful at worst. I mean I like selfish MC that doesn't get swayed by anyone even if they try to threaten him, but this MC throws... more>> the best part of Selfish MC's and takes the worst trait.

I'm burned out reading this novel. I'm done rationalizing the actions and mind of the MC and the power system in this novel. Aaaaaaaaaahhhh!!! I hate this novel for giving me head ache. Please change the seinen genre to shounen instead cause its more appropriate for shounen this novel. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Overlord (LN)
October 12, 2018
Status: v13 epilogue
"Do we really accept mediocrity as being master piece and bad as being mediocre?" - DarkberserkerAA

I'm not gonna properly review this novel and I just gonna say my opinion. First of all this novel is one of the most complete novel i've read. What I mean of complete is the story is coherent, the characters are well written each have their own unique personality, normal reactions of each characters, that it makes you feel that they are really people. Most novels neglect on building personalities of each character and focus... more>> only on few, which lead to bad writing. I mean most novels out there are just doing rinse and repeat thing that you will get bored reading it.

Conclusion - Don't compare this novel to trash novels out there that have plot armored MCs. This novel have realistic rpg system that the MC won't have a sudden power up like most ofnthe trash novels. And don't get the wrong impression of Ainz being a good MC cause he looks more human that has emotions and thoughts than any other MC out there.

P.S. - I don't really like the concept of good people and bad people cause some people view you as good and some view you as bad, you can't be only one in the point of view of all people.

Update: Most of the negative reviews came from the anime watchers. They build their own conclusion without knowing the stoty behind what happened in the animr. I'm kinda sick of those guys trying to be edgy, thinking the Overlord is a kind of den of sadistic people. Most people here came for literary and leisure reading. Not some den of trying to be edgy people. In other words "try hard" they act like that cause they are pretending to read and understand the novel itself. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Tondemo Skill de Isekai Hourou Meshi
October 8, 2018
Status: --
Its a typical japanese trash novel. Good premise, low quality MC, nothing makes sense (cause its from japan, they are weird). The driving force of the story is the low quality MC so don't expect a logical and interesting story.

MC - Low quality, beta japanese coward type. I don't know why they add virgin in his age but I think the author is mocking the isekai genre or its just a badly executed joke. Don't expect for the MC to have a character development cause he won't. He is just... more>> a spineless maggot even if he has learned how to attack and he is being protected by absolute strength he is still a spineless maggot. He is really easy to coerce and got tricked, he submits to other peoples demands without question. Really pathetic MC if I have to say so myself, he is worst than kirito, trust me.

Supporting characters - The two familiars have good character development but the MC is dragging this story to ruin. The two famialiars are more eager to fight to protect themselves from the enemies and develop into a more stronger specie especially the slime which started as a single digit stats and eventually surpass the spineless MC stats.

Villains - The villains there are made to be stupid so the MC can live leisurely.

Conlusion - I hate dumb things but I can tolerate it. But I won't tolerate the MC being dumb forever or through the end of the story, he really doesn't give any character progression even at the 100th chapter. For your own sanity sake, don't read this depressingly no progress of a novel that doesn't make any sense. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Hisshou Dungeon Unei Houhou
October 5, 2018
Status: --
I thought I found a worthy novel to read but I am utterly mistaken. At first few chapters, the MC is super normal (reasonable, relatable, have common sense) also he's kinda clever. But then the story went to a terrible direction. The dungeon became breeding ground for the MC (R.I.P. Story line).

Conlusion: Could've been better if the story went to improving world building and adventuring. I think the novel suddenly changed author cause it became a different story after the first few success chapters (don't mind my speculation 'but I... more>> really think the original author is different from the currently one' well maybe it is stolen novel) (Just kidding) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
400 Years Old Virgin Demon King
October 8, 2018
Status: --
It sucks. Well its first for me to say this in the beginning ofnthe sentence but it really is sucks.

MC - likable personality at first few chapters but when religion is brought up, it becomes dull.

Conclusion - I don't care about religion this and that and I don't care if there is a hidden meaning about those fictional religion cause I really don't care and the story drags on about religion. So I will drop this novel and go somewhere else and rate this novel at appropriate rating according to... more>> my level of entertainment in this story. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
That Person. Later on…
October 8, 2018
Status: --
Some may hate this novel and some don't. Well I don't hate this novel but I don't like it either.

MC - he is ok enough I think. Based on many MC i've hated this MC in this novel just barely pass enough to not be hated thouroughly. Though he is a coward at confronting his emotions he can still be decisive at times. Well I only hate about him is losing his childhood friend but it can't be help cause he is still powerless at that time.

World - well you... more>> can think of it as only one continent. The center is the center mountain where all continents are connected.

Conclusion - It is a good novel for passing time and for people whose hobby are reading like me :). Don't put yourself as the MC of the story cause you will feel depress when you read at the part of his childhood friend breaking up the promise. Trust me you will feel like getting NTR'd by the small fry/ trash hero. Aigoo Why someone has a mentality like aria exist in this story. Betrayal is hard. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DarkberserkerAA
DarkberserkerAA rated it
Dungeon+Harem+Master
October 5, 2018
Status: --
You can't label a novel an adult rated if the author have a mind of a child that trying to be adult. Adult depression aren't as shallow as this crap ton of junk novel. Real adult depresaion is more severe that you can't do anything besides blame yourself. I feel like I am reading a secret novel of a child that has wild fantasies.

Conclusion: Illogical, not relatable, no common sense and the most important of all, I didn't enjoy reading it/not entertaining. Don't get me wrong I enjoy every genre... more>> of a novel whether if its horror, gore, adult, fantasy, slice of life, adventure, action etc. But only to the novels that are well written. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report