Report Review
12 Reviews


DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Sevens
January 17, 2017
Status: --
Sevens is a story written with an orthodox style, which is quite ironical since that actually distinguishes it from other "different with a twist" web novels.

It follows the path of the teenage MC as he starts from the bottom, embarks on a journey and slowly but steadily develops in terms of strength, maturity, character and other stuff like that as the story progresses. Of course, it also has its own unique flavors and twist that gives the novel more spice and color, something like its "identity". Well, there are... more>> parts where the writer uses cheap or cliche plot devices to portray antagonism which really ruins the story since it contrasts to how "smoothly" it was done, but it's altogether good in my opinion.

But it has one big flaw (in my opinion) that can be summarized in a single word:Standard. No, instead of a flaw, it's more like a "weakness" that happens to be its most preeminent characteristic. Yes, it's better compared to those other half-assed novels that was done sloppily. Yes, it is also a well-balanced novel that has solid plot. The way it points out the error of most WNs in their world-building will make you say "that actually makes sense!!!". That was my impression in the first volume. However, after I read the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and so on volume, I suddenly wondered: Haven't I read this before?? And then it hit me. When I tried to predict what will happen to the story, guess what ??I read on and hit the mark, bull's eye. Hey, I'm not trying to look like an expert, It really happened.

I mean, as a WN it's quite refreshing, but this novel only stands out when you compare it to other WNs. Story-wise, (and again, I am not bragging) but after literally hundreds of manga and anime I and probably YOU have read and watched, this one doesn't seem so unique anymore. How do I say this..... hmm, well, It would be hard for this one to ever have an anime, since it really is standard. Sure, it's good and all, but then it will hardly be the first of its kind. For me, this WN resembles those good old shounen mangas that I love to read, even to this day. Sadly, I had simply lost interest with this work, because.....I don't truly have a specific reason, I think I just fell out of love with this series.

So I say this: Sevens is nice novel, a good way to pass your time. If you're the guy who hates those various WNs for various faulty reasons, then you might find this as your new favorite. But for those who like the traditional Web Novel flavor, then I assume it's not your cup of tea. <<less
128 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Reincarnator
June 27, 2018
Status: c362
I used to like this novel. A lot.

As in, it was one of my favorites and I actually smile every time I see a new chapter.

And then Season 2 came. Heck, back in Chapter 260-300 I have already started to doubt where the story is going to. 60 Chapters later was when I asked myself:"Is this the same novel I have been reading?".

Simply speaking, it used to be good. It was a novel about people and how they adapt in a brutal and lawless world. But in Season 2, it... more>> degenerated into another battle-oriented novel, of which I'm sure most of us have read a crapload of that sort.

I can rant a whole lot more about a whole lot of things in the novel, but to say it in a short phrase, Reincarnator lost what made it unique compared to other novels. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
It is in the nature of humans to learn from our mistakes, and Chinese Xianxia authors are no different.

From the thousands of webnovels that we have seen these past few years, a few good ones have popped up and the great majority turned out to be subpar due to a lot of reasons. Because of that, quite a number of Xianxia novels that criticizes (in a way) those crappy novels naturally appeared as a reaction by diverging from the said crappy tropes.

And here enters Once Upon A Time There Was Time, There Was A Spirit Sword Mountain. Simply put, it is a great novel because the author is aware of the many problems that we usually see in a Xianxia novel. At the same time, as other commenters have stated,... more>> it is quite dry and lacking something new. After all, we seek original enjoyment from these novels and not just a parody of the genre. Of course, that not to say the novel is pure parody, but the fantasy part doesn't really come off strong for me.

So my main point is that aside from avoiding the common pitfalls that concerns the genre, Spirit Sword Mountain lacks the "something" that will make you remember it from the hundreds of Xianxia novels you have read several years later from now. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Shinka no Mi
July 16, 2018
Status: c62
Hmm? Why are the other reviews so serious?!

I mean, this is not the "really great" type of novel for me, but a light comedy novel to pass the time. And it's good enough for that. If I were to judge this in the same way I look at those "serious" novels, of course I will rate it lower. But it's not, and it's obviously trying not too hard on that either.

My idea is to simply read this leisurely, don't expect a masterpiece and you will probably enjoy it like others.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Kono Sekai ga Game da to, Ore dake ga Shitte Iru
July 14, 2018
Status: v2c2
This novel is good. And considering the great majority of Japanese webnovels, that puts this novel on the 99th percentile.

There's nothing complicated to say here. It's simply entertaining to read. That's it. You want a decent Japanese novel for a quick read, something that's.... I don't know, not stupid?

Well here you are. Start reading.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu
The Amber Sword
February 26, 2017
Status: --
When I began this novel, the first chapter instantly got me. It's just a single chapter, yet it managed to properly give "life" and portray the MC??, w/c convinced me to continue reading. And so I read the story. The first parts were good, and so were the second, and so on...... other comments have already described the many good points of the story, and I also agree with them.

But then again, if you look closely, you will see that the author probably went through the story several times... more>> to add stuff in order to make it better, give it more flesh, more details. And each arc is well-done. However, if you back away just a little and look at bigger picture, it becomes really chaotic. There's nothing wrong with adding a sprinkle of danger and adventure here and there to make things more exciting, but the pace has no build-ups and lacks any "breathing room".

Also, the author's attempts at bringing emotions out during the sentimental parts sometimes feel awkward..... and it happens often. Wait, I almost forgot, I should have mentioned this before any of those I typed above. One of the biggest flaw in the novel is the memories of the "game" that the MC played. Seriously, can those goddamned realistic sh*t be called a GAME? I mean, did he play Sword Art Online, Log Horizon or a death game of some kind?? My point is, the gamer Sophie's character seems to be too well honed for a mere modern-day gamer. I know that the author obvoiusly want to give the MC his veteran status. However, the things that described his life in the game doesn't sound logical at ALL, even if it was a virtual mode. I can agree to it if he possesses vast knowledge about the game, but the matured and emotional things he experience had sound more appropriate coming from an actual battle-tempered war veteran, which he is not.

And there's the novel's so called "Mother Marsha" a.k.a. Author that keeps throwing incidents where the problems would be solved by "I've-never-seen-these-in-the-game" power-ups one after another. Well, I really don't dislike it that much, I've seen it in other Wuxia novels and I just roll with it. But the other problem is, as the story has "virtual game" and "fantasy" elements, I thought that the MC would use powers WITHIN the limits of its system. But until now, I still can't understand the complex, complicated, and convoluted system of the game (especially those damned cards). The author keeps adding so many terms and things on the system that piles up on top of each other, which is tedious and unnecessary since this is a novel and not an actual game. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
January 6, 2017
Status: --
You know, I REALLY liked this story at first. This novel "criticizes" a great majority of the XianXia genre, in a funny and amusing way, without being haughty and mocking about it. The MC is someone we can relate with (even if you're not a girl) because of how "realistic" she acts in terms of being a modern-day person.

As the story progresses, the antagonist is characterized like a generic XianXia protagonist, with how he conveniently encounters good fortune, with every woman coming to him as if he's the only... more>> man in the world, AND like the whole damn universe is biased to pave his way all the way to the top.

Ironicallythough, throughout the story, this novel falls prey to the same "criticisms" it gives to other Xianxia protagonist. What exactly Am I talking about?? It's about how almost everything about the antagonist is "demonized", every bad action emphasized to the max, his wrongdoings exaggerated. I'm not saying I like the Antagonist, because the author basically does'nt give him any redeeming features. It just that, those things gives the feeling of "hypocrisy".

It started to feel wrong for me when one of the " evil character #1" who was one of the earlier bad guy in the story was later conveniently portrayed as a tragic martyr just to accentuate the "unfairness" of the Antagonist. I kinda hated how the Author just dramatically changed his character to make him look like a victim. Well, you can say it's one of my pet peeves when Authors do that. Several stuff like this continues to happen throughout the story, with the same theme.
However, after all I've stated, I still continue to read this story, and probably till the end. Why, you ask?? Because it's good. Simple as that. Although the things I mention still bugs me, those things are actually one of the very few weakness (in MY opinion, of course) of this novel. So if you're wondering whether to read this or not, I recommend you to read. It may not be as satisfying as others say it to be, in the end, IT IS A VERY GOOD NOVEL, hands down. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
The Alchemist God
July 16, 2018
Status: c110
As the other reviews has stated, this novel has many tropes and cliches. To be honest, most of us are fine with that, right? Nothing wrong with it if the author manage to execute those well in the story.

Welp, he did'nt. At least that is my opinion. To describe it with a few words, it was too cheesy and corny for my taste. And mind you, when it comes to webnovels, I am very corn and cheese tolerant. It's just...I've already seen this too many times. Hell, YOU have seen this way too many times in other novels. That's just it. Really.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
January 19, 2018
Status: c200
This story is good. But I'm dropping it.

My reason?

Unfortunately, I've read several novels of similar themes. They're actually a lot less better than this one, and I honestly wished that instead of reading all those novels, I would just have read this ONE.

... more>> I won't waste space to repeat what you have already read. The other comments will tell you every aspects that this novel is better than compared to its "peers".

As for the negative comments about the first 50 chapters...... hell! The beginning was MY favorite part of the story, even if it doesn't even cover the sypnosis. It's what sets it apart from those other novels. If the whole novel went that way, I for one wouldn't mind one bit........ <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Sovereign of Judgment
October 26, 2017
Status: c140
Okay. Maybe 3 stars is abit too harsh, considering the first few volumes were pretty good, but I have decided to stop now.

The thing is, the story is just TOO DAMN FAST!!! In the first parts, the story really showed a lot of promise, and I too would have put 5stars like the others.

But the Author then started too focus on other, darker aspects of the story. I mean, I'm okay with that, but the action-filled became much rarer and the MC also became Omni-type. He's become so many types... more>> of character that It's no longer clear what his unique traits are compared to other MCs.

Well this and that and many other reasons had me drop the novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu
Long Live Summons!
March 9, 2017
Status: --
If I were to list down all the pros of this novel, they would all be categorized under the word "harem". Yup, of all the harem novels I've read, it is one of the few that deserves to call itself a harem story. Actually, of the four stars that I gave, three of them comes fron the harem. In contrast to the rest of the characters in the story, heck, even the MC himself pales in comparison to the characterization of girls in his harem. The small bits of romance... more>> and the ero parts are smooth and well-written unlike the other awkward and childish ones that we often see. I don't know the authors gender, but seeing this kind of style, makes me suspect she's female. Maybe it only looks better because the majority are horribly bad, but the pleasant surprise it gives earns itself some praise.

However, it's many themes actually made the novel chaotic, otherwise it should have been rated higher. For one, it has too many loose ends. Since the beggining of the story, it foreshadows many things that may keep you reading, but as the story progresses, it becomes insignificant. And when its payout comes, it dosn't excite you anymore, since you get distracted by so many power-ups, revelation and other stuff that you forgot it even existed and they lose their impact. The way the fights are described should be okay, but does not have the energy and vigor that most Wuxia novels have, even against the worse ones. Other villains and side characters are cliched and feels "artificial"- it's like they're there to fulfill their roles and nothing more. They just really lack.......a lot of things.

So to sum it up, except the harem parts, the rest of the novel were..... honestly saying, its sloppy and untidy. If the writing was told in a different way and style, it would have been a lot better. Might sound harsh, but it truly gives the "it-could've-been-better" vibes. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
DaDeDiDoDu
DaDeDiDoDu rated it
Mystical Journey
September 28, 2018
Status: c300
Before you talk about the world concept, the characters or any other things that you might see in the story, the biggest problem that is prevalent in the story is in its horrible, messy, and weird pacing that makes you say wtf!

Also, there are many plot holes and questionable jumps in logic that happens in important moments. There are things that the MC did that wasn't really necessary AT ALL. There also the habit of the Author in forcing stuff to happen, hence the jumps in logic.

Well anyway, it's still... more>> a decently unique read compared to most so I still recommend this novel. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report