Report Review
12 Reviews


Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja rated it
After Transformation, Mine and Her Wild Fantasy
January 10, 2016
Status: --
I'm putting this after Edit 2.0: I rate this a 5/5.

usually I dont go for gender bender stuff. But, well this one has a pretty interesting concept. Honestly I hope the two can develope their own independant consciousness so we can get a bit of a romance aspect in there. Now that would be interesting, hehe. I havent read it yet but from the synopsis im expecting a good read. And maybe its just me, but the tone of the synopsis seemed more from the male side. Maybe the... more>> male is dominant?

His male body looks cool by the way. Heh, that sword and jacket are pretty stylish no? Im assuming it was originally a male who woke up with a seperate female body. That is what its saying right?

Well, anyway, im expecting the novels to be interesting. I hope this is a serious translation instead of a teaser or side project. Well, im off to read. I may edit this later.

Edit: Okay I read a bit. Seriously why do they always make the MC look ordinary? I mean the girl body is descrbed as a beautiful goddess but the boy is normal looking? bullshit. Why, just why?

Its just that it gets annoying that they make the MC's male body ordinary. Dammit if you are gonna do that make the female plain too.

But thats probably just his opinion of himself I think. Though its still annoying. I mean from the cover the guy doesnt look ordinary. objectively speaking, isnt he pretty good looking? And im only complaining because its annoying to me by now. The whole ordinary, plain male MC thing. Also now im thinking that they were originally two people who were kidnapped and their consciousness was fused. Well, im probbably wrong. Havent even read the entire first chapter so... im not in a position to make assumptions like that.

Edit 2.0: Read 'em all now. this is pretty damn good I have to say. I dont expect many chapters of this, the guy has like three other projects. I dont know if he has a whole team, I am assuming he is doing them all by himself. If im correct in assuming that, then uless he gets help or something then I dont think this will be getting regular updatess. Shame since its pretty interesting andunique, in my opinion at least.

Well, the other translations he is doing are pretty unique too though.

P.S I dont like that knight guy. Unless he becomes best buds with the male MC. And he doesnt start having feelings for the female body. Although that might get interesting if he learns they are the same person, but still. Then I would like him. Maybe. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja rated it
My Beautiful Teacher
November 23, 2015
Status: --
i think this has potential. it is different from other novels with the xianxia or wuxia genre since it takes place in the modern world. it is like Wicked Soldier King but with a more supernatural or fantasy element to it. now, this is not as good as WSK but I think it is a great novel nonetheless and anyone would enjoy reading it.

the translation is... well, it is fairly good, understandable. I think this is something that needs some editing, thats all.

the MC is a bit pitiable at... more>> the start, and it is shown that he cannot really stop himself from openly staring at a beautiful woman, but rather than seeming overly lecherous like those shitty side characters in xianxia where they want to immediately force themselves on the woman, I think it is more of a harmless bit of perversion on his part. personality wise, that is the only problem I kinda have with him and even that is still okay in my book.

i truly think this novel is worth a read. I would rate it at 5/5 stars for now. Might change later <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja rated it
Genius Sword Immortal
November 19, 2015
Status: --
I found this novel a while ago, and didn’t read it cause of so few chapters. But I couldn’t find it afterwards! And I forgot to bookmark it!

Thank the great cupcake god for allowing me to find this awesome novel once again. It is Lot different from regular xianxia and wuxia. It is more... original. unique, even. The only novel I think would be similar is Wicked soldier king. Damn I have such high expectations for this series.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja rated it
The Taming of the Yandere
December 22, 2017
Status: v2c1 part1
Now, to start off, this isn't a regular yandere novel. The main character isn't a magnet for yanderes and the girl doesnt listen to his every word or stick to him at all times. In fact she is kind of rarely seen so far.

Its much more... grounded than a lot of its counterparts. The glimpses we get of the main heroine's obsession and mental sickness is gradual and well done, its a slower process and the way its pulled off is fairly simpistic and, more importantly, realistic.

Now, that said, lets... more>> get onto a few of the keypoints in this review:

Translation Quality: 4/5. It should be a full five out of five but the reason its a four is due to some small details like minor spelling mistakes. Really its not even all that noticeable, even negligible, found rarely every two or three chapters. As a whole the entire work is very clear and creates a smooth flow. The only somewhat unneeded bit is the translator notes which explains some things within the novel that may cause confusion due to certain topics or phrases. Still, always nice to have them so it's not really a flaw. Plus the translator, BlackDay, is super chill.

Story: 4/5. Now usually the plot is fine. Each chapter is fairly interesting and can keep attention just due to the way its written. However there are times when the author seems to ramble on excessively on topics that have little to no connection with the rest of the novel. Simply put, they don't seem to progress the plot and appear, at times, to be placed there more for wordcount rather than anything else. In fact if I remember right the translator even sometimes skips chapters that are like that, that don't have any importance on the story. The filler content is why it gets a 4. All stories may have them to some degree, but not to this extent where its so blatantly obvious. Take, for instance, the whole gaming side of things. In the novel some chapters are devoted to the MC playing an online game. But its like the author just saw it was a popular genre and threw it in his story without any real build up. And its not all that interesting so it makes you feel your time was just wasted reading it.

Characters: 3.5/5. Now this is kinda different since the characters aren't bad. But neither are they really good. The main character, for example. He isn't a pushover and has shown some liekable qualities, especially in regards to how he decides to handle the main heroine. His initial bravery in chapter 1 earned him my favor too. But his inner thoughts can sometimes come across as bland, especially because the novel is written in first person POV. The author's ramblings make the main character, due to the first person POV, seem to be the one who is ranting about things instead of the author. So the character suffers. And apart from him only three, maybe four characters have any realm substance that puts them away from the rest. The heroine and the mother of the MC the best two. And hell the mother hasn't been making all that many appearances, maybe just like five throughout the entire first volume and that's just towards the middle or end. The only other notable character being the MC's friend who isn't all too important himself. In short, as of right now there hasn't been many moments that make the characters jump out and grow on you.

That said...i fukken love yandere novels. And this is one that has a lot of untapped potential even still because it's not over-the-top like a lot of others. As I said its more grounded in reality and now that v1 is over and things have really started to take shape im really looking forward to seeing what the story developes into. It feels like the entire first volume was sort of a prologue, an introductory. Now, with the last chapter of the volume turing out the way it did, it seems like the story will be a lot more interesting from here on out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Okay, let me say this: I cannot read raws. I have to judge this novel purely based on the number of chapters already out. Right now there are six chapters finished, and after reading them, I honestly do not quite agree with the other reviews. As some may know, I absolutely hate rape. But I am not sure if I truly consider this rape. For me, the definition of rape has always been this: When a man physically forces himself on a woman, when he holds her down and has... more>> s*x with her without consent while she cries and tries to resist, or when she is drugged and then a man has s*x with her like when given a date rape drug.

Now, that Charm ability muddles things a fair bit. This is a quote from the story, (which I dont consider as a spoiler).

“His figure, his manner, his voice.... all of him wakes up your womanly instinct”

This power doesnt seem to force them to obey him, like a a magic slave contract would, or force them to have s*x with the MC but rather make them want to obey him because they now have fallen in love with him due to the Charm skill and do not want him to hate them. The power of Charm, isnt the power of Mind Control but rather a sub-category I believe. True, the power makes things unfair to them, but in the end I am not sure if I consider what happened to be rape. If it was that they had their bodies controlled, then I would think differently on this matter but this ability affects their mind. Once activated, they want to please him.

Note that these are my honest thoughts and I am not swayed by the mere fact the MC is the one doing it or for the s*x scenes. I would not change my opinion or like the story despite its shortcomings simply because a story has these elements. Moving on, the story seems to actually have a goal by the end of chapter six. To save the world using the Charm power. The goal does match the overall setting and theme, it does involve s*x and we cant expect any serious plot or character developement.

but thin as it is, the plot is there. Barely. This reminds me a bit of Blade Play. This is a novel read for fapping and the like, if you want an engaging story instead of a guy building a harem using the Charm skill and fucking woman, look somewhere else.

My opinion at this time is that the novel will never be great, or even good but for now it is okay. And the rape factor, my definition of rape is different depending on a few factors. I gave it already, and the Charm skill makes the whole question of rape in the story a grey area. It all depends on your own views on it. The charm skill does not force obedience and is not quite like a drug, but rather makes the person feel in love with MC. No more, no less. if you are fine with that then go ahead and read. As for me, if not for the Charm skill making things complicated, I would not have bothered to read the story simply based on the tags.

Edit: I have not read this since novel my review. I stopped at chapter five and now I come back, read the reviews, and some guy is hating me for my opinion. I feel he just selected a few lines from my review and ignored the rest. I dont know why the guy above said im trying to change the truth or fool readers though...

The definition I gave of rape, im not quite sure it applies here since the women WANT to have s*x with him due to the effects of the charm skill. As I said, the Charm skill muddies things a fair deal and so I dont know exactly what I feel about it. sigh, I dont know. The charm skill just makes things complicated for me.

It completly changes the woman's mindset--but it doesnt brainwash them, as the guy above said--in which she essentially falls in love with the MC and wants to please him. Now maybe my words made others think im fine with rape, but im not. Im simply saying that the Charm skill just makes me not want to touch upon the issue but I am not defending the actions of the MC. I never said what he did was right or justified. Honestly, I am going to just take a nore neutral stance on the subject. I just wont bother with it since this is pretty much the novel version of hentai and so it doesnt really matter to me one way or the other.

The only reason I am even slightly okay with this is because the entire fucking novel is just pretty much meant as nothing more than fap material. Why should I waste time here arguing about this? it isnt meant as a serious novel anyway and we all know it. Either read it or dont, I wont say you should or should not. It isnt my concern. But still, I probably wont read this past chapter 10. I did try out the first few, but something like this where it is only meant as fap material, I never bother to read them much. Why are there translators who bother with these types anyway? There are so many better, worthwhile novels to TL... <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja rated it
No Hero
November 28, 2015
Status: --
Feels like a watered down version of Black Butler. Still good
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
This will either be great, or an epic failure. Reminds me of Arifuerta mixed with the Golden Wordmaster. I have high hopes for this.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja
Zombie Master
November 26, 2015
Status: --
No plot, read for kicks. Dont expect anything.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Truck-sama strikes again. Negotiation skills eh?

Useful. But hopefully he doesn't just talk his way out of everything and actually gets stuff done. If he negotiates with criminals without killing them, I would be so disappointed. Unless he becomes a bandit king.

The setting, excluding that Negotiation skill, seems generic as hell. But cliches are cliches because they work, so im expecting an entertaining story at the very least.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja rated it
Wicked Soldier King
November 20, 2015
Status: --
A fucking OP MC who gets sh*t done. A damn fine story with memorable characters and a goddaughter who is more of a troll than Troll Che and the MC from Devil’s Law combined... and a lot more adorable too! It’s a well-written story filled with fine woman and an author who isnt afraid to tell a bit about the darker side of humanity and yet still not to the extent that it leaves a sour taste in your mouth long after reading it. You absolutely wont regret reading this.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
Cupcake Ninja
Martial God Asura
January 4, 2016
Status: --
As someone who stopped reading this novel at the 400s or early 500s, I dont really think this is any worse than other repetitive as f**k novels. The people below who made reviews already gave you everything you need to decide whether you want to read the novel or not. I wont talk about that.

But I just want to say this novel is pretty much a normal, run of the mill xianxia novel. First, it has a OP MC who starts off weak for one chapter then gets amazingly strong.... more>> (Really, he is never weak, just not as strong as the other geniuses or old experts. But even then he quickly surpasses them because he keeps popping pills to increase his strength. Unlike other novels, I found that this MC relies mostly on pills and resources of the like to increase his power and from where I left off, he didnt do any real cultivating at all.)

Second, it has peerlessly beautiful woman included in the harem. What more do you need in a novel? Sure, plot is great, but you have to understand that xianxia novels are generally like a few thousand chapters long. I understand that after the first few hundred, there isnt much plot you can get in unless you really dragged out the story. I think xianxia suffers from being repetitive as hell mainly because the chapters are so numerous. Could you make a novel with a thousand+ chapters and still be able to make it interesting and such? I couldnt. Maybe its possible. ATG and a few others are pretty good, but thats really only because the characters are fairly interesting. PMG and CSG are just like MGA in that it is easy to spot their shortcomings. Really, I think the only difference between novels of the xianxia genre are that some authors write the story and characters better while others dont. People are saying that the author is not exactly a good writer and makes shallow characters. But to me thats normal. After so many chapters I think only the more important characters should get development. People say that even those characters suck, but thats only because the author probably isnt a good writer anyway. Okay, on that I agree. The characters suck. As for the actual content of all these different novels, dont they seem pretty similar? None of them seem all that original to me. I admit there are some aspects that are different and new, but there isnt many that set them apart from one another.

And dont get me wrong, I still read them. Im not bashing them or anything, I can handle the repetitiveness and stuff, but im just saying they are not things you read for their originality. Oh, sure, when you first discover xianxia it seems new and awesome. As an american who had never known about concepts like cultivation techniques, profound skills, xiantian lifeforms, different types of Qi and other such things, Xianxia at first appeared so cool and unique but that feeling died down a bit now.

After you are a seasoned Xianxia genre reader, that feeling you first had at discovering it becomes dull. Point is, I myself dont read any of these for their originality, but because they are now things I know are cliche, overused. OP MC, Harems, discovering heavely treasures that changes the MC life, MC dominating others of his generation, these are all pretty common aspects of xianxia. And im not complaining. I like those elements. You can complain about how poor the characters are here but I dont think complaining about the actual story is fair since, to me at least, the general direction of the story isnt much different from other novels

As I said, I think the only difference is some authors are better writers and make the story seem more interesting than it actually is. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cupcake Ninja
this looks different from the other novels with similar settings where the MC is reincarnated into a game character. I give it 5/5. Might change later as more chapters come out.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report