Report Review
10 Reviews


CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
I am the Monarch
March 21, 2017
Status: c113
A story about a soldier who had aimed to become a general, only to die partway, having been unable to achieve his dreams. Yet when he is given another chance by being sent back in time to when he just started his journey as a soldier, he must use his experience to fulfill the goal he had previous set, as well as a newer, grander achievement - becoming the Monarch.

What's interesting about this novel is that while the MC does have knowledge about 'future events, ' because of him changing... more>> the timeline by doing things differently, the butterfly effect comes into play, making his knowledge less valuable. Then, as he goes deeper and deeper into the alternate timeline, he has to rely less on his knowledge of his original timeline and instead use his experience to deal with new challenges. Furthermore, because he has set up the goal of becoming a monarch, more than just dealing with fighting, wars and the development of his own personal strength, he also has to focus on gaining loyal followers, developing them, as well as improve what will become his new kingdom. Very well written in my opinion, and so far, a great read. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
March 21, 2017
Status: c166
One of my current favourite novels to read, the Tales of the Reincarnated Lord has a lot of aspects that make me want to continue reading - the kingdom building, the characters (particularly the MC), the story and the potential for further development on all of the previously mentioned aspects. I would definitely recommend this novel to everyone and hope that the slow start (which I honestly did not mind/could not tell) does not bother you.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
March 21, 2017
Status: c147
It was an interesting take to see the MC starting the story as someone who would fill the role of the antagonist in another novel. It was moreso very refreshing to read about characters who would typically be MC in other novels have their actions accounted for in a more neutral setting, and seeing the darker side of their personalities. Would recommend this novel to those who have read a lot of the typical cultivation novels and would like to read something a bit different.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
Against the Gods
March 21, 2017
Status: c749
While not the most amazingly well written novel in the world, nor the most complex, Against the Gods is able to deliver on certain aspects that make it a great read, such as the action sequences, the usage of varying abilities, as well as the various and memorable characters introduced within the story. Most of all, the series is able to evoke the reader's emotions and keep them wanting more. The blood-pumping moment Yun Che destroys his enemies, the awe inspiring moment when he survives near death, or happiness and... more>> contentment when Yun Che is able to seduce the various girls and add them to his harem, this novel is most definitely a must read. Would definitely recommend. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
Invincible
May 14, 2017
Status: c37
I'm giving it a 3 stars, because, so far, based on what I've seen, it's a decent novel. There's nothing special about it - genius from former life reincarnated into a new world, gets his genius talent mistaken as being only above average, gets stronger than his peers much faster than what would be expected.

I'd say the only aspect going for the novel is the wish fulfilment elements. The characters are terrible - they're either dumb, petty, or arrogant, MC included (which is pretty stupid given that he was supposedly... more>> from the Shaolin Temple in his previous life), with some pretty dodgy morals. Even still, it's nice to see the MC destroy others, like those who look down on him and provoke him. Of course, it makes him no different from the characters opposing him, but at least the MC is strong? That's all I'm reading it for really. Don't expect much from the series, and don't think too hard about it, and it may be an enjoyable enough novel to read through. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
Perfect World
March 21, 2017
Status: c154
I'll be honest, I really tried with this novel. I really did. I tried my best to carry on reading, but after a while, it gets to the point where the novel's main flaw affects how I perceive and read the novel, and because of the flaw, I am not longer able to enjoy reading it, thus I'm now dropping this series. I may pick it up again if I decide to at some point, for now I need to keep away from this novel for a while.

The start of... more>> the novel was great. The tribal setting was nice, the characters was interesting, the cultivation aspect seemed different, the harmonious and happy atmosphere was cool to read as well, and the mysteries surrounding the MC was interesting as well. Everything was fine for roughly the first 100 or so chapters

Spoiler

except the author's random decision to retcon the series and basically restart the characters outside of the MC's tribe after 50 chapters or something

[collapse]

But that was something I'm fine with and can ignore since the changes seemed to be quite positive. However, my main problem that I have with this novel is the MC's abrupt change in personality and how insistent the author is with this sudden change. MC went from an innocent, obedient and kind hearted 4 year old that still drinks milk, to a greedy materialistic douche that is somehow lecherous and lewd despite only being like 10 years old. While I was never fond of how he turned out, if the author somehow showed the gradual process of his transformation or justified it somehow, then I can somewhat understand and accept his change in personality. But the MC's change was just too sudden, and seemingly without reason. There was absolutely no reason for the MC to change so much.
Spoiler

If you exclude the fact that he had always been obedient and been a 'model tribesman', and talk about his inclusion in that time when the children stole the eggs of that precious/divine bird, that still doesn't justify such a change in personality. Not only was he not the main perpetrator/mastermind behind the trip (mind you he was only 3 or 4 years old at the time), the experience should have showed him the dangers of the world and how inexperienced/ignorant he actually is. Other than that one experience that could have influenced his personality, he hasn't come into any sort of influence of trigger that could have caused his personality change, yet after a few years of (seemingly peaceful) training in the tribe, he leaves and becomes greedy over all sorts of treasures and precious resources, even to the point where he baits people into going towards him so that he can collect their treasures and resources, and then even blackmail/ransom them from their clans. Like wtf?
Granted, the people who he ends up baiting were aiming for his own treasures first, so I can somewhat understand him wanting to get them back, and even with interest (ignoring how he was even able to come up with a plan like that), but when he later joins a new school and then meets with one of the school's beauties, he starts being lewd towards her. Like what? When did this 9 or 10 year old suddenly know how to be lewd? That's just ridiculous.

Then, some time after that, when he had managed to take some spoils (in the form of resources), he randomly thinks about his tribe and how he could share his spoils with them. While that's not bad, again, it's just so sudden. If, at the start of his personality shift, it was made clear that his goal had been to benefit the tribespeople, then his greedy personality could be somewhat explained, but it never happened. He had basically never even mentioned his tribe until that moment, a significant amount of time after he had left, and a significant amount of time after his change in personality. It's just ridiculous.

[collapse]

Were it not for my problem with his stupid personality change, I probably would have liked the novel quite a bit and given it a rating of 4 or 5, but due to this significant flaw, I can only rate it a 3. If you were not attached to his initial character and can get past his personality shift, I'm sure this novel would be a great read for you, but it's just not for me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero
Warlock of the Magus World
March 21, 2017
Status: c472
I quite like reading this novel as the story (or rather the story's MC) is quite brutal and doesn't try to hide it at all. Unlike other novels where the MC will try to justify their actions or try to portray themselves in a positive light despite doing some questionable things, this story completely puts everything out on the table at the very beginning. The MC is strictly all about personal gain, as well as risk and reward. If performing a certain action does not carry with it a likely... more>> chance of him directly dying, but instead is able to directly benefit the MC is some way (like providing him resources or letting him advance in some way), if he gets indirect benefit (such as the potential for him to receive benefits in the future) and the risk involved isn't too high, he will do so. Otherwise, the MC won't do anything, which is quite refreshing, since other novels won't try and be so upfront and direct about it.

The only downside to the story I would say is the ultimate treasure/cheat code in the form of the AI chip that somehow bonded with MC's soul when he reincarnated, which makes things a lot easier for him and is a pretty cheap way to him to get things done, though it's not exactly the first novel to do this (nor likely will it be the last), so it's not too bad.

That being said, the story is solid, the MC is solid, the action and abilities are pretty cool, the cultivation system is quite unique (and some of the titles involved are pretty fascinating as well), and the romance is pretty minimal, which is fair enough (if you're not good at something, don't force it). Highly recommended. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
Release that Witch
March 21, 2017
Status: c266
The first time I read this novel, I was only able to read the first chapter before putting it on pause, however I feel both regret and joy - regret in having not continued reading, but joy in having eventually come back and giving the series another chance. The story is quite interesting to read because the MC is forced to completely use his brains as well as experience as a Mechanical Engineer in his past life in order to survive and develop his territory, what with seemingly only a... more>> select few people (mostly women) are capable of unleashing an incredible power (not the MC). I very much like the kingdom building aspect of this novel, as it's very interesting to read about how the MC is able to develop his territory using the power of witches to aid him, however I will admit that I find the scope of his knowledge on so many aspects (particularly his knowledge on military weaponry and equipment) a bit difficult to believe, but nonetheless it is quite an enjoyable read. Not only that but the characters are quite well written and developed, and the story still has a lot of mysteries that are yet to be uncovered, which similarly makes you want to read more. Highly recommended. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero rated it
King of Gods
March 21, 2017
Status: c217
To be frank, the beginning of this novel is quite ridiculous, in that it starts off with the MC, who, with his below average talents somehow receiving an inheritance from a divine heavenly being (in the form of his left eye), which changes his life completely. Thus far in the story, it hasn't dealt much with why he was chosen, but if you're able to ignore that, this novel is quite a good read.

The characters seem to be well written, particularly the MC who is very likeable, the story seems... more>> interesting, especially given the hints that have been shown with regards to the MC's potential after receiving the inheritance and the action is quite good. One of my favourite novels to read right now and certainly one I'll be reading to completion. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CodeZero
CodeZero
Emperor’s Domination
March 21, 2017
Status: c481
Emperors Domination is a novel dealing with an overpowered main character's return to power. It deals with a lot of characters, many of whom underestimate the main character and eventually pay for it, but is still written in a way such that you enjoy Li Qiye's journey. While a lot of the time the story can feel repetitive, the main reason for reading this novel should not be for the environment and the context of a scene, but simply for reading the scenes itself and enjoying the greatness that is... more>> Li Qiye. His overbearing attitude, his divine power and his interesting past. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report