Report Review
21 Reviews


Cien
Cien rated it
Sevens
October 16, 2016
Status: v4c68
If you think you are going to have some hot action harem, then so far... there is not much. Sure he has collected lots of girls but as the progress in their relationship, aside from minor embarrassments, there is very little.

Though, the story itself is quite good in my opinion. There is some "tediousness" I find when dealing with the ancestors' lessons but they are actually make the readers think about certain aspects one would usually not think about in an adventure/fantasy genre.

It handles the micro but still lacking... more>> the macro, but I am still at the very early stages of the story and so far it is still quite interesting. He is at his learning phase, from an ignorant heir to an adventurer, though the progress of his learning is quite slow... but if you look at it in a realistic standard, its not even 1 year (ch 68) since he has been kicked out of the house. I'm not sure why other readers are expecting him to know every thing about the world within 6-8 months of being locked in a room, and ignorant of pretty much everything. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
The Magus Era
April 25, 2017
Status: c253
interesting setting, a lot of potential but written horribly with lots of flaws.

His power level seems to

always be obscure, the MC himself seems to be all over the place that you feel disconnected on what the MC is really all about, the army system where you can become an advisor to the emperor as long as you kill enough enemies is pretty stupid. And army that lets them do what ever they want... this is just lazy writing.

The only thing that this novel has got going for it is... more>> the interesting world (but only on the surface) and it is not cultivation focused. It is unfortunate that he neither explores any of the new places in depth nor does he enjoy any of his rewards. (ie, he has to move every time he gets a reward.. wtf, gets new slaves can't play with them and move to midland, get free stores, have to go fight in the army.)

This is really hard to read through. I rarely give out 1 star but... this is one will be it. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Ancient Strengthening Technique
February 12, 2017
Status: c410
It is not the usual xianxia, where there are tons of arrogant young masters getting their ass kicked, but it has some of it either way. What it has an abundance of are women. He flirts like there is no tomorrow. His love is shallow at best.

Every chapter we are reminded of how he trains every skill he knows, and then the fight ends before even building up. Seriously kills any tension or any excitement that this novel would've had. He upgrades skills way too fast and somehow he... more>> goes from having a mystic treasure/art/cultivation technique into becoming a genius.

But what really annoys me is that he still keeps getting more and more women after 400+ chapters. He even neglects his "daughter" who has abandonment issues... good job writer.

In short, this novel HAD potential, but it is actually really boring. It relies on "fan service" and s*xual tension but that is it but if you look at it realistically. People who just cultivate for years and years would be actually boring. so there is that.

Edit: (c1172)

The story gets worst as it goes on. Its more on percentages (%), countries, stars, nimbus. I think the author gets confuse on how strong the MC really is. It is like 40% cultivation, 30% description of pills/weapons/armor he makes and the rest is about flirting with women, finding more women and playing or leaving his women/children.

The author makes it so that the MC will suddenly trust a stranger and he treats them as brother/sister, after like 1-2 meeting. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
God Of Slaughter
July 1, 2017
Status: c203
The usual xianxia except it is more poorly written than usual. You get the underdog, plot armor, etc. but less badass-ery

The main thing that annoys me is that the author loves to introduce certain things, but then in the middle of the journey, something "unexpected" happens and everything introduced earlier turns to useless information.

The story does not stay still in one location but keeps digressing and digressing. Family gets forgotten, girls gets abandoned (maybe still reasonable), goals keeps changing without proper resolution.

He gets his body "refined" for like 2-4 chapters,... more>> then 5 chapters later his bones gets crushed easily in a fight... WTF.

It was promising only up until he left the merchant union, the rest is turning into garbage. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
June 1, 2017
Status: c26
Not my cup of tea.

It gets confusing as it randomly jumps from from different points of time, talking about something not related to the current events/backstories.. Especially at really random points in the story. Basically, it doesn't flow well.

It tries to be funny and smart but it just makes it seem desperate.

... more>> One scene/chapter will not necessarily connect and you feel the disjointedness of it.

Like its title, it comes off as more of some random ramblings of a personal log/diary which could go off tangent at any given point.

On the up side, it is unique and refreshing if you can plow through <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Emperor’s Domination
January 4, 2017
Status: c270
Interesting premise... but fails overall. Inheritances are formidable physique/things are like cabbages. The cultivation stages appear complex but it is quite shallow at best. It burns a large portion of chapters into "cultivation" but in reality they are just fillers with hardly any value to the story at all.

Contradiction about his character is quite annoying. He calls everyone brats but when an old guy calls him older brother he feels uncomfortable, even though he has lived for millions of years. His first follower changed character right from the get go,... more>> protector Mo is forgotten, everybody either is too lazy to do anything or is a sheep that accepts everything with very little proof EVEN if they just met but ill let this pass.

On the up side, there are some enemies who are smarter than your usual villains that they back off, but then again every male with potential seems to be his enemy and he has yet to recruit a male "swordmaid" which is quite annoying.

Cliches are expected and the starting phase have several problems, but the novel still has some potential mainly because of its premise and world. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
October 13, 2016
Status: c63
It starts off good, kinda funny, if you ignore the massive amount of translating errors of the initial translator... but it quickly turns repetitive. I know xianxia is suppose to be like that... but this one is more repetitive than others. Specifically, he does something "amazing" ONCE then everyone starts trusting him with clan decisions/important persons/ etc. His cultivation is no better than MGA, he eats stuff and he powers up, but MGA was more interesting than this. The crowd talk is annoying... it takes like 4 paragraphs and it... more>> identical to the previous crowd talk from before.

Honestly, I had high hopes for this, but was sorely disappointed. I will try to continue reading for now, but it is really hard to go through. Most likely will drop this soon. In my opinion, the quality of xianxia is usually under JP novels because of the xianxia elements but I still like them. This however seems to be on the low end of xianxias I've read so far <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
July 18, 2016
Status: c203
So far (ch 50), this story's MC should be the A.I. Chip instead. He basically does everything for this guy. The synopsis should focus on A.I. Chip. The story isn't too bad, but it isn't great either, hopefully it gets better later.

Too bad once I rate this novel I won't be able to change it later... NU reasons..

Edit: Currently at ch203, I must say that it has improved so much. The A.I. chip is more of a side character now. I would rate it 4/5 now but NU doesn't like... more>> people changing their scores.. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
November 4, 2016
Status: c445
It is great, if you don't mind a little harem and OP MC.

There are some inconsistencies, due to pacing and level promotion, I noticed but nothing major that affects the story. Though I wish it updates faster (from the author not translator). I read the raw at around 399 for almost a year now, and since then there has only been 46 chapters released. But I still enjoy it very much, though he needs to have some resolution for many things as well because as of now, they are left... more>> hanging. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
September 11, 2016
Status: c1161
Though there were amusing moments, as of right now, I am not sure what the hype is all about. The general pattern in the story seems too obvious, but this is only up to the radio host section. It might change after that. Not saying patterns in stories are bad, but if its this obvious it makes it seem too repetitive. Hopeful, he doesn't stick to just poetry and move on to some other forms of entertainment (music, movies, etc).

It has a lot of potential but the humor doesn't do... more>> much for me. The MC's character is pretty interesting. His temper is amusing. The "shock" or "reaction" chapters gets a little old after having it too often. It makes me feel like I'm reading Martial God Asura's reaction chapters. (2/5 @ ch 78)

Update: After Ch 78, the story becomes much better and very interesting. Although the character development is a bit lacking, the characters are interesting enough to carry it. There are two things I dislike about it though. One is the online comments, which makes it feel repetitive and the other is how certain situations seems too ridiculous. There were also some minor inconsistencies in the novel, but they can be ignored. (3.5/5 @ ch 297)

Spoiler

Ch 1161 (Raw) : It has its ups and downs. The situation itself is ridiculous. Instead of having these "Game" theme to the story, it is like a huge cheat or his whole life is on easy mode. He hardly run out of reputation points and can increase his luck on demand.
The MC's personality becomes terrible and "face smacking" becomes overly used. He is possessive about "his accomplishments" despite them being plagiarized from his old world, then he becomes overly confident because of his success which really required very little effort on his part. "His luck" is a huge plot armor. He gets what he needs right before he needs them.

The poems were nice, some arc were interesting and some were not so much. It gets annoying every time he meets a foreigner and goes ape sh*t on them.
The story becomes quite predictable and you can easily guess what is going to happen once you learn the formula. The only thing that is unpredictable are the new arcs, but the content (getting a new project, trouble with new project, getting denounced, face smacking, reaction chapters, new arc) is very similar to each other.

The more I read (after around chapter 500) the more I dislike the novel.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Reincarnator
August 6, 2016
Status: c109
Starts off good... The world and the story is interesting but method the MC deals with everything is very similar. (up to 109)

It's a fun read as long as you can get through the errors in each chapters. They really need more proof readers or at least a new one.

Edit: (up to 146) The story is too fast. Too many enemies/problem appear one after the other. Certain characters are basically forgotten. Hopefully they will make a re-appearance in the future.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
The Great Ruler
November 21, 2015
Status: --
I have started reading it and the initially story telling is horrible. No time to setup why he is "talented" or why he was "accepted" or even "kicked out". Its just a huge mystery. The random appearances of people with very little backstory, and just the sentence "they are close" or "they are friendly with each other" would satisfy as an explanation with 0 build up of any backstory. Then there is also the random parts where the author starts explaining something yet abruptly stops. And finally, the antagonists keeps... more>> saying he should keep a "low profile" which is apparently why they keep harassing him then chapter 16 says he has always been keeping a "low profile". I dont know if this is the author or just the translator that messed up but its quite annoying. Compared to other novels, it doesnt have that quality story telling that gets you hooked after the first few chapters. It feels like a grind just to get to the good parts of it. Note, these are just my first impression of the novel <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
November 28, 2016
Status: c196
Currently 196 Translated, 217 Raw:

The novel is very enjoyable, though the MC is very contradictory to his actions and statements. Nonetheless, OEM is great! Though I find the chapters short due to the author's style of writing, the explanations while seemingly irrelevant at most times, it adds flavor to the chapters imo. But you also get a few parts where you want the story to progress faster and then the explanations will seem annoying at times. But still, the novel so far is interesting. Hopefully it continues to be better... more>> as I read further.

OP-ness of the MC is not too overly used and his tactics are fun to read. Plot-wise, it has several various things happening at the same time. Trouble comes left and right, and none have yet to be resolved. I can only expect a badass resolution to them. The characters are likeable, though only a certain few have enough to be likeable. The others aren't important enough or the story has yet to progress to have any character development with them.

Edit: (Ch 880 in the Raws)
Spoiler

The story is very fast paced and somewhat repetitive in a sense that the author moves the story in such a way that many things are happening but forgets to cultivate the MC from time to time, then when he encounters someone 2+ realms higher than him he somehow gets powered up 2 realms at least (only having 1 realm difference). It is quite an annoying plot armor because everything is done within his pagoda thingy. Only once, if you don't count the Xuan Cores, does he gets to find an ancient place with some treasure. His character (coldhearted killer, turns pervert/s*xual harrasser, turns moral saint with principles but later breaks his own principles) turns and morals is all over the place. Seriously he contradicts himself that it becomes so frustrating. He kills everyone without mercy because he won't allow a threat or kills someone because they offended him once even if its a good guy, but then later in the story he spares a guy who has enough strength to kill his family but is a "good guy" and he is one of the offenders.. It just doesn't make sense. Further I read, the more I start disliking it. Deducting a star.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
August 22, 2016
Status: v12c97 part3
The skill system is somewhat confusing at first, but the story is quite entertaining. It has action, crafting, pets, tournaments, academy life and probably much more. There is a hint of "harem" but the story doesn't go as far yet. The only main problem here is the explanation of the skill system. I advise you read up people's explanation before reading this and you will thoroughly enjoy it.

People are often complaining of the MC's character but I think it is one of the best way to add comedy relief to... more>> the story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
September 29, 2016
Status: c402
It is a good story, if you don't mind him having a cheat guardian being OP almost the whole time.

There is some crafting, training... unbelievable training speed, lucky treasures, etc that one would normally find in a Xuanhuan. Motivations and a few side characters make it interesting at first but they are quite shallow. They meet, something embarrassing or exciting event that almost happens, then nothing. A few times they often just regret but then that is it, but this is usually passable since its the usual chinese web novel.... more>> The thing that drives the story is how eventful his adventure becomes but it is somewhat ridiculous that he always manages to fight with strong people just because of his cheat teacher.

My major complaint:
Spoiler

The only complaint I have is that the author, or translator, is inconsistent with the timeline of the whole event.

1.5 years until the 3 year meeting, but at one point Ya Fei says they haven't met for 3 years. Ling Ying says MC is going to come back within a few months, but later it is says that "within 3 years time, he collected map 3 fragments".. when he found the map fragment a few months after he left the Xiao clan to train. 1.5 years + couple of months != 3 years...

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
A Step into the Past
June 13, 2016
Status: v23c12
Overall the story is quite nice, it starts off rocky and I have fallen asleep or wanted to drop it after the first few volumes but maybe a little before volume 9, the story becomes interest from there. Mainly because of his "s*xual activities" as well as some unexplained parts or rather, certain things happen without much of a proper explanation. It has a proper conclusion, but felt rushed. I disagreed with the conclusion as well, regarding destiny. The novel itself is more inclined to the historical side, so when... more>> I was expecting him to make guns and futuristic weaponry, I was sorely disappointed.

Reading the history of the 7 warring states and the unification of china is always interesting. It is definitely one that can take a lot of time to finish. Overall I would rate it 3.5-4 out of 5 <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
June 4, 2016
Status: c123
Although this novel is not my type of novel, there are some interesting aspects to it. In short, it is a romance novel that deals with the politics of nobles and royalty in ancient china (?) As a romance novel, I think it is done pretty meh. But this "meh" is not necessarily a bad thing. It depicts realistic love, instead of falling head over heels with them from the get go, there is always some tinge of doubt in the back of their minds, which I find amusing. Certain... more>> insecurities made it feel interesting, but the guy falls in love with the girl initially and was only explained thoroughly later on, which rubbed me the wrong way.

The interactions of each characters are interesting. Jealousy, hate, insecurities and other ugly emotion that humans have is a little exaggerated but I can buy it on how it is written. Translations, pretty good. I love this type of translation better. Learning a few chinese words like gege, didi, etc. Is always fun. Although the translations have some typos, it is passable. Overall rating, 8/10 or 7.5/10 <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
May 17, 2016
Status: c133
The story is okay, it seems very "fast paced" and explained/written poorly at the beginning but later becomes interesting, by later I mean like chapter 90s and on wards. It is interesting enough to keep reading, not interesting enough to recommend. Maybe in the future it will be worth reading. The potential is still there as long as you get pass 90 or so chapters.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
True Martial World
January 22, 2016
Status: c556
Its a very great series, mainly focusing on cultivation. Although there were some instances where the novel breaks the 3rd dimension and talk about other novels, I found this series really interesting from the 2nd chapter on wards. There were lots of instances where the MC would compare something from his past life, but compared to other novels that digress a lot, this was just the perfect amount. 5/5 or 9.5/10. I love the setting, story line, and the character. It made me feel like that feeling when you start... more>> watching One Piece and think of all the possible situation he could encounter. At one point I even daydreamed that he would open a restaurant for the rich people so he could gain some cultivation resources lol. I can tell that this would be epic. Its slow, but sweet. If you find it difficult to read certain comparisons to his old life, just skim through it, but in my opinion, it adds flavor to the novel.

Comparing to Coiling Dragon, this one might be better. Might be even the best cultivation novel I've read, its definitely in the top 5 maybe even top 3

Edit: Upon further reading, the series starts off great but you end up noticing irritating things throughout the novel. It becomes repetitive quite a bit. The MC or rather the story always moves before the situation settles... (ie. Living in the city gets interrupted by being drafted, tournament/school life being interrupted by massive attack of monsters, defending against monsters gets attacked by arrogant person, staying in the girl's clan gets interrupted by some inheritance "contest") You get the picture, before any definite conclusion (aside from the very first one) you get constant interruptions and constant changes to the environment with little to no resolutions. It is like giving your readers blue balls...

At some point around chapter 500, the author becomes quite fond of repeating what he just mentioned 1-3 chapters ago, which makes it feel reading it so slow and annoying. It is like the author slows down the progress and just adds recollection of the past constantly just to fill in the chapters. It was initially slow, but the constant changes in the situation made it feel quite irregular. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Cien
Cien rated it
Long Live Summons!
January 15, 2016
Status: --
An interesting story that has a unique battle style compared to the usual xianxia novels. As far as the translation, I think it is heavily affected by JP novel way of translating, which led me to believe at first that I was reading a JP novel instead of a CN novel. For example, there was an part where its clearly a fox but they call it "kitsune" instead.

The story telling, I find it not too appealing. There are many incident where an exciting part of the story gets interrupted by... more>> a long explanation that ruins the climax/intensity of the situation. Battle descriptions is lacking most of the time. There are parts where they go into detail, and parts where they just flew by the battle without any detail the MC actually wins. There are also time skips, which you have to infer what happen because from one chapter to the next it is not clear on what happened specifically.

Overally 3/5, or maybe 7/10. If you like pokemon, you might like this as well. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report