Report Review
8 Reviews


Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Hero? No, I’m an Ordinary Citizen (Monster)
October 10, 2018
Status: c8
It had a good premise with the MC having been summoned to multiple worlds before and now wanting to live peacefully. The premise also gives it a chance at having some romance, but in the end the MC feels like he has never actually been summoned before. Since when he was summoned for the seventh time as an extra, even though he wants to live peacefully and is super strong that he can do what he wants, he just lets himself get dragged all over the place by other people... more>> and totally ignoring that he could just say no and they could do nothing about it. They make it seem funny by forcing him into weird situations, but the fact is that it is annoying to have an OP character have no idea how to do anything for himself. Even the maid pushes him around like he is the servant, and the Queen who notices his strength, just seems like a petty schemer who has nothing on someone strong, yet he just lets himself play the pawn. I read this to see someone who had plenty of strength and experience sneak around the kingdom hiding their strength while doing what they want, not seeing a weak willed MC who doesn't even use any of his powers yet still gets discovered and continues to play the pawn. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Breaking Off the Engagement… Bring it on!
August 30, 2018
Status: c34
After reaching chapter 34, the end of the first arc, I can only continue to be dissapointed in many of the male characters. The main two love interests, Leon and Chris, seem to both take Ririina/Lillina for granted, while all the side characters from family to royalty involved, are constantly suprised at her not knowing something that was kept secret from her.

Spoiler

Everyones constant suprise when Lillina thinks Leon hates her, when all he has ever done is avoid her and attend other girls at parties, and then finally calling an anullment of their engagement. From an outsiders perspectice it makes sense that Prince Leon was just timid, embarrassed and wanted to see Liliina jealous. But anyone in her place would only see an annoyed Prince forced into a marriage he did not want.

Next would be Chris, the third (or second, doesn't really matter so didn't remember) prince of a neighboring country that is a spoilt brat. He seduces both Liliinas brother and Prince Leon while passing as a girl at 6 years old (can authors stop with romance before having any level of maturity?). Now he has taken an interest in Liliina and only ever seems to treat her as a plaything that he should have. Even proceeding to be happy that he got his proposal declined by her because it is interesting.

[collapse]

The saving grace of this novel is definitly Liliina herself, as she is very likeable and we are routing for her to get her way out of the engagement. The only other character I like would be Sana, Liliina's maid, after we get more details about her first love in a flashback chapter.

All in all it was entertaining but the majority of characters just left me feeling dissapointed, especially all the possible love interests. Normally in a reverse harem story like this you would root for at least one of them, but I can only root for Liliina to escape from the terrible fate, that is being with any of these male leads.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Wang Ye Captures His Wife
October 6, 2018
Status: c3 part1
It started out nice and had a good premise but it just becomes too creepy. The male lead is a stalker who wants to own her as a possession. I would be fine with this story if the male lead wasn’t so disgusting, out of all the possessive Chinese male leads, this is the worst I have come across. Read if you like MC never having a say in what she wants as male lead pulls strings to capture her like Pokémon.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Super Dimensional Wizard
June 10, 2019
Status: v1c15
Super Dimensional Wizard has a nice yet slowish start where we get to find out a bit about the characters and the world it is set in. As on only 15 chapters released, there are already more 1 star ratings than any other. I really don't understand why there are so many dislikes. Just because it isn't a fast paced overpowered isekai MC doesn't mean it is a bad novel. I am not saying that it has been all perfect as there have been a few disheartening factors so far,... more>> with some dislike-able characters.

Spoiler

The Noble family that visited them are evil, including the wizard that tries very hard to appear friendly, but was going to massacre another noble family because there was a hint that the thing they were trying to find was there. Suprise, it was some tea that helped him break through to the next level, selfish right? Totally not capable of asking more directly before ending so many peoples lives on a whim while saying it can't be helped, at least own your inner evil if you are going to go that far. Almost like a chinese cultivation protagonist lol.

Also chapter 13-15 gives us a hint into his talent that will most probably be an ability to interact with different dimensions.

[collapse]

The first 15 chapters do well to give a sort of representation of what is to come with (probably) a lot of antagonists in the wizard society that the main character is to become (not a spoiler as its the whole premise of the novel). There will also be more world building to come and I am not expecting great reasoning behind how the magic will work, I hope it doesn't get botched or ignored.

My rating as of now is 4/5, although I have set it as 5 to give some love to the novel as it has mostly been given bad ratings so early on when there really hasn't been anything BAD about it.

Hopefully others keep reading this through to at least chapter 15 as by then you can sort of see where the novel is heading and get a basic feel for the writing style. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Those Sweet Times
September 26, 2018
Status: c3 part2
I was finding this quite nice and cute until the shamelessness and naivety was too much. None of the main 3 characters are likeable.

... more>>
Spoiler

Nuanuan is completely naive and gullible. Which makes her unbearable to watch while she screws herself in front of everyone. Zemu is an arrogant prick you was having fun bullying a girl because he thought it would be nice to see her defeated. Finally Chuyan lies better than he breathes, constantly lying to others while just being “playful”. He uses his intelligence to make fun of her because she is naive and doesn’t understand the game.

[collapse]

Also I can’t help but wonder how a newbie can join a random game with online players and be paired with a pro. What game is this? Dark souls? If your sort of comedy is seeing a naive and shameless female MC get bullied then this is for you. No doubt later on the romance will get good, but I would die from anxiety well before that. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Light Beyond (LN)
August 19, 2018
Status: v1c5
I was really looking forward to this one as it starts out with a very nice premise and the first two and a half chapter are very good. After that though, it starts to go downhill. Why? Well that is because of our pure protagonist Yuna who doesn't understand the position she is in despite being told a million times. She is put in the saints body and has to pretend to be her yet goes out of her way to be as different as possible because she doesn't want... more>> to? Yes there are many cases where the previous saint did something wrong and she isn't wrong in trying to correct it, but to be so shameless as to openly act differently than the saint you are trying to be in front of everyone. Only because she felt that it was too cruel. She openly shows her emotions in front of maids, soldiers and even her fiance, First Holy Knight Asyut.

If she knew how to use her brain to not stand out, I would definitely continue this as she is my main problem with this novel (But she is the main character so everything revolves around her), but she continues to think everyone should suddenly be nice to her if she is no matter what the Saints previous soul did to everyone. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
The Civil Officer Can Have Sweet Dreams
June 11, 2019
Status: --
The only reason a person would not rate this 5 stars would be because they are looking for a shoujo, expect an overbearing ML or want some action/drama.

Nice slow romance with a little fluff but mainly calming and soothing love story. Would recommend to anyone who wants to read a calming slice of life novel.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chryseum
Chryseum rated it
Why Not Soar Your Majesty
July 29, 2018
Status: c18.1
At first this was a very engaging and fun read, but it quickly got out of hand. It has now reached a stage so shameless that it hurts to continue reading this. I would probably be able to go on if it included some scenes with actual regret or where there are actual consequences other than a pk.

... more>>
Spoiler

Where is the heartfelt crying or the rage quit that is not just logging off for a day. Any real person would quit the game if they are high level and lose all their stuff, even if it is not permanent. That just makes this feel less realistic and doesn't help me want to pursue this love (hate) relationship.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report