Report Review
32 Reviews


Chourou
Chourou rated it
The Novel’s Extra
June 14, 2018
Status: c35
Same writer who wrote "A monster who levels up" (with a sh*tty ending) so I am already a bit scared of this novel. Or in other words, I am reading with a skeptical mindset after finnishing the other novel "A monster etc".

After reading 8 chapters. these are my thoughts:

From God to Kim Hajin: "Seek and grab as much as attention as possible, stand out, and you will get more story points and get stronger"

*Shrugs* If A Monster who levels up, were forced unintional attention seeking, then this is intentional... more>> attention seeking. But then again in all novels, be it japanese, chinese or korean, main characters, lead characters, they all get attention. What makes me point this out is because, it somehow seems and feels "attention" is the main ingredient, the main focus. I am a bit... reluctant to that... Perhaps I shouldn't say main ingredient but an important one (in this novel) and that should never be in my opinion. It should come and feel as natural. Whatever... Might aswell just stand up in his class and yell "NOTICE ME SENPAI! I NEED STORY POINTS!".

Because in the novel if he train in secrets or in private secluded area (which he does), he get miniscule points...

So far I am little bit entertained but its still early in the novel. It is an intressting idea the novel is build upon. The novel puts a lot on status window and the skills. Spent like 1 or 2 chapter to explain it and then 2 chapter to tweak it. Gonna wait and see how it pans out up to chapter 35 or something.

================================================================

I have now read up to chapter 35. This is an entertaining novel, everyone should give it a read. However I feel it is also a bit messy. A messy novel. The novel has an intressting idea, its about a writer who has put his novel on hiatus, and so "god" or some otherwordly being with power beyond our human standards throws him into his own novel. Right? You get me so far? While this part is intressting, it soon get messy for me. We know he is main character inside a novel, in his own novel (novelception). But this main character (Kim Hajin), trys not to be the main character, he is trying to be the extra character that pushes forward the other side-characters so they become important figures. (??) And yet, he needs to stand out, or draws their attention to accumulate Story Points. He is trying to get acknowledge and get into the main characters circle of party, that he wrote (Kim Hajin), to advance his novel forward, but at the same time acts cold and tsundere towards them (??) This is how I understood it so far up to chapter 35. I prefer the other old styles of writing where the writer/author decides 1 path with chances for changes, not several "thoughts/paths" lump together making this whole thing a mess for me. But I am entertained. - The action part is entertaining but short, in some chapters - nonexisant. The novel itself is moving forwards in a "ok" speed. I am willing to give this 4 star when things clears up in later chapters.

========================================

For me, its nothing amazing of a novel. It feels generic at some point. Plot armor is noticeable by the experienced reader. Too many weird situations and weird story... sigh... <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Kingdom’s Bloodline
August 8, 2018
Status: c68
==============================

The novel. Intresting setting, we have the usual cliché of transmigration bla bla bla, bloodline power slowly awakening and him becoming overpowered in the future, cope with an adult mind.

And yet I still feel there is a little annoyance around the atmosphere by the main character Thales and his surrounding acquaintances.

Another part that really really irritates me is that, this writer leaves so many riddles and mysteries and questions all the time. Novel is in 70+ chapters and there are tons of unawnsered questions. If I were to take out... more>> my old books, Terry Goodkind, Robert Jordan, Joe AberCrombie, Trudy Canavan, Nick Perumov, and the list goes on, they also leave mysteries and questions to be anwsered later. BUT NOT THIS MUCH (KINGDOMS BLOODLINE). It is a good novel. But irritating at a same time. Is that still a good novel? Yes but not to that degree of being an awesome novel, in my experience and my own personal opinion.

We are in for an adventure to see how his personality will change and how he will change his world. (Hopefully he will change) Expect xianxia kind of fights where magic and aura or qi energy will fly around and things will explode. Sometimes I just feel lost in the context when reading this translation. Gender bender translation. A character was one time he and changed to her in another chapter. Strange wordings, basically strange context and paragraphs that made me lost in the reading, not often but it happens in some chapters.

=========================================================

I want to give this novel a higher rating but I feel more irritated than enjoyment when reading this novel. The "plot/story" is intressting, the world is intressting. But the writing is irritating. Cliff hangers every chapter. Unsolved mysteries and riddles all the time, and too many to keep track of. I dont have photographic memory. Annoying main character, Thales. Annoying flashbacks in the middle of situations or conversations that just suddenly happens and half the time I dont connect the dots. Whatever. Writer/Author trying to not make the novel into the usual cliché transmigration stuffs by trying to make it more complicated, filled with questions everywhere. Sure, I dont mind that, but its executed in such an annoying and complicated way. As I mentioned earlier, the chapters often ends with cliffhangers, and sometimes the novel continues where it left off at cliffhangers, SOMETIMES the next chapter does not continue where the cliffhangers left off. PoV = Point of view changes a A LOT - ANNOYING WRITING TECHNIQUE

-GOOD NOVEL PREMISISS, BAD EXECUTED. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Dungeon Maker
January 17, 2018
Status: --
It is written by a korean. It is dungeon building novel but better than the other japanese versions.

Not everything are made of golems.

It is a bit fast paced, lacking some world explanation, lacking more details to picture how and what kind of dungeon we are looking at. All we get is "it is in the south, and its big"

It has an end, a closure, no hiatus left and right.

Translation: Grammar error when it comes to singular and plurals (a lot). Otherwise its ok.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
August 13, 2017
Status: --
I like this novel. But I want people to understand. It is an intressting read, a good read. But honestly, me myself, I had to read 50+ chapters before it gets to the "oh things about to get good" feeling. It is like a 50+ chapters long Arc of training. No carrots, sidetracks, adventures, twists. So if you can chew through these many chapters of constant training before you get to the good stuffs then you might, not drop this novel. It is an intressting novel, but it just... not... more>> good enough composition. Which is why only 3 stars from me.

Edit: after reading to 300. its like... god... sometimes it is intressting, sometimes it is difficult to keep reading because the novel loses its charisma from time to time. The 5 year time limit is really forcing this novel into a writing styles which makes it hard, for me, maybe not for you, but for me to keep up the interest. It has it ups and downs. Seems this was done written at chapter 1166 so somewhere there has to be a change to this writing technique/style...

Edit: The speciality seeds are confusing. A few things are difficult to understand and dumb. Yes dumb. I am now 400 chapters in. The battles are intressting and probably only the battles is what keeps this novel at 3 stars for me. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
The Strange Adventure of a Broke Mercenary
July 10, 2018
Status: --
Guts from berserk got tired of his author who keeps going on hiatus so he changed named to Loren and started his work for a diffrent writer.

It is an ok read to be honest. Pace feels nice. I am staying at 4 star

Story: He meets a demon lady, who will soon scheme to entrap him to her. Well Loren is a nice guy so he won't mind it if he ever finds out. First arc, it was ok I guess. Loren meets dumb people who think they are hot stuffs... more>> when infact they are inexperienced and soon gets the death flag. So far we don't know where this will go in this early game, he just aims to earn money. And I am entertained, I like the pace. I like the mysteries behind the spawning machines and ruins. Though novel lacks some background meat.

But it is entertaining. There are some clichés but its ok. This japanese novel is more of a fun read compared to the other japanese novels out there. I don't feel its a refreshing new of a way of writing in their japanese circle of novels, but I am not bored and at same time intrigued by the mysteries behind the spawning machine, though I hope its not some lame plot. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Praise the Orc!
September 11, 2017
Status: --
This is one of the better korean novels out there. So much feelings, so much depth, content. Action, betrayal, tragedy, wicked and twisted people. Do not miss out on this one. Also I am thankful korean novels are getting their inspirations from blizzard and world of warcraft. Because in japanese novels, orcs are pigs. And everytime I read orcs as pigs in japanses novels I always feel disturbed. But I grew up playing blizzard games and reading Tolkien, Robert jordan, Terry goodkind novels so I prefer orcs of the western... more>> type. Orcs like in these novels. Heck the writer of this novel probably grinds world of warcraft already now or playing hearthstone.

Spoiler

Also slowly but surely, we and the main character gets to discover this is not a game world. As reader we understand this early, unless you are dumb and dense.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
I Reincarnated Into a Vending Machine
March 18, 2017
Status: c38
This is an entertaining read. The character (machine) is simply only selling or giving out stuffs. He is not doing anything else. But his role is like "support character made important"
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
December 18, 2017
Status: --
This is an entertaining novel to a certain level.

It is a fun novel. Translation is not perfect but "ok", missing words sometimes, weird grammar sometimes. This novel is entertaining with a good story, the writing style is ok (a bit tedious after awhile), too much repetetive with "Alright".

Now this is a novel with parody.

... more>> A few annoying things, the translators notes are everywhere and appear all the time in the chapters... Just stop... Use footnote/endnote.

Later in the chapters, there are many parts that often starts with "Alright, bla bla bla" Alright this, alright that. And it continues. This writing technique is overused. "Un" this, "Un" that. I dont know if it is slang or if it is a direct translation or if its the translators slang included. I dont even know if writer or the translator is influenced by japanese novels. And last, just like many great novels that have many chapters, they all suffers from repetetive contents. The writer keeps repeating stuffs over and over again.

Be warned. A bit too much gender-bender and homos*xual jokes and theme.

This would have been a 5 star novel if it werent for the writing technique/style, overused gender bender jokes and humour and theme and not coming up with new jokes. And too much "Un" and "Alright, " (as I stated, writing style)

Spoiler

P.S a certain king, uncle to a certain emperor, (you will meet these characters as you read the story) were transformed by our main character. Basically this certain king is undead lich, transformed into a female by our Main Character. Soul of a man, body of a woman. This transgender thing is sent as spy to emperor, and novel (writer) is hinting they had s*x. I am not dropping novel, but it made me "wow, I think I need to walk away a bit" and while other thinks this kind of stuffs are funny, I find it... Disgusting.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
November 21, 2017
Status: --
It is an ok novel, I am enjoying this novel so to say. Not gonna write an elaborated review of this novel. The other reviewers has already pointed out some of the flaws I noticed aswell. I am staying at 3 star. This is a fun novel but a few too many annoying traits. Good thing there is an end to this novel if you can handle it to the end.

Ehm. As I wrote I am staying at 3 stars. Not gonna elaborate it why, others already pointed some out,... more>> others things are just preferences. So I'm just gonna point out one thing, there are missing background story and information of a few things that makes this novel feels "whole". Put it this way, there are missing pieces in this 1000 puzzle work. Either those pieces were thrown out the window or eaten by your pet dog.

Edit: Holy moly... this novel ended bad... My god... this is what happens when a writer loses interest and inspiration I suppose... I am now 2 star.

The translation is awesome and good quality. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
October 18, 2017
Status: --
This is japanese Isekai-game concept written with chinese settings and chinese fantasy xuanhuan. It is an intressting novel and I recommend to read the first 20 or so chapters to see if you like it or not. Me, I like this one a lot. The romance part for our main character (the teacher) seems non-existant. I think that is ok for this novel. It's leaves to find out in the future for there are many chapters left.

Edit: And thankfully Qidian picked this up. When the other gave up. - Problem... more>> is. The translation is a bit bad. Grammar are many times horrible. Such a shame. Translation is not a bit, it is bad. Weird wording, gender-bender all the time. A female character were gender changed several times, or was it male character? You get what I mean?

There are action and adventure, but also some mysteries that are not fully revealed right from the start leaving some stuffs for us to explore and come to understanding along the journey. They cultivate with a system with slight references from other novels. There is love, companionship, and brotherhood. His disciples that he picks up are references from other chinese novels.

Now I'm just nitpicking, but from chapter 1 and all the way to translator change to qidian, the grammar is not perfect, but understandable. Even Qidian is showing some faults here and there. For example missing words, or writing him/his instead of her, mixing up the gender word several times and never learn and other weird gramma errors that makes the reading weird. Even up above chapter 200 I still find in many lines where the translation are weird.

I always emphasize on the his/him - her/hers. As a western reader who dont know what names are usually for females/males in chinese, it is important to me that they are consitant on the right word so I know which gender each character are. - Qidian Translator fails really hard. This drops the quality <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Level Up Just By Eating
July 30, 2017
Status: --
Spoiler

Overrated novel. Unlike the others I dare write it. Our hero MC is simply overpowered. By chapter 41 his stats is over 20.000 in everything. Shin from "The new gate" would pale in comparison in power but Shin is a better created character. It is just a matter of time before the main character Kehma in this novel becomes a god himself and then what will become of this novels plot? The fight scenes are short, everything dies so fast! While the lewd and pervert stuffs and boob touching are used again and again and again.

So here is the question, is there a story plot? Sigh.... The only thing I could think of is that irregular within irregular monster that actually makes me think it was a programmed software monster. But that would contradict the novel itself because then he would no longer be transferred to another world but sent to the digital world. But anyway if you keep this thought, it might lead to something but until then..... I dare say author has no roadmap for this novel. Everything is written on the get-go. I wouldn't be surprised if more chapters in the future will only be boob touching and slife of life and introducing more japanese food stuffs. But thats what you get into when you read japanese novels and their community novels! Remember this people!

[collapse]

It is a fun novel to read. I rather enjoyed it. Though some of the stuffs are not that funny to me. Overall the novel is ok. The translation is good. Just some misspelling but not often.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou
The Crimson Dragon
May 31, 2017
Status: --
I like this novel. Just thought it was a bit funny when the author/writer wrote "As an Earthling, especially from the liberated Eastern Asia, "

The reason I thought it was funny is because China is a nation of heavy serveillance over its people and when it comes to the media. Their news channels contains heavy propaganda. North korea is still ruled by a military regime. There are political instability and high tensions in several asian nations.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Intressting novel. But if this novel started 2014, and it is only at volume 5 right now. And the information is accurate. Then be warned. The writer of this novel must have hit a wall and have no roadmap on what to write and currently is on hiatus. If you start reading this novel, dont keep hopes up for any finnish and closure for a long time. P.S to the people who wrote their review after me in dates, stop complaining about others reviews, they are just like you normal... more>> readers, they like you have their rights to their opinions. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
I changed my review.

Basically this novel is ok to read. But personally I dont see it a 5 star novel like everyone else. I mean... it is a simple dumb down dungeon building novel.

"lets build a 1 kilometre hall with no turns and place golems with machine guns to oppose the enemies". - So lazy writing, so lazy plot, so lazy creativity.

... more>> "I have no memories who I am or who I was" - And yet here comes the powerful machine guns! - rifles! - pistols!

I love fantasy, and honestly I dont mind introducing modern weapons in fantasy novel. BUT THIS IS DUMB. It is too convenient!

There are golems, golems are often used if not always in these novel. And then introducing guns and rifles and shotguns. And then more machine guns equipped on golems. But it is a ok read still. But it lacks... that "wanting" to read this novel. And I am not someone who falls for the "oh I will treat them as my daughters" and then BAM! later "oh well I will treat them as my lovers instead" it gives me that incest creeps, and I am really not someone that rolls that way.

Short said, this just another average "makes writer himself feels good and perhaps reader feels good" <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Martial King’s Retired Life
January 30, 2018
Status: --
A very enjoyable novel. But messy grammar in volume 3. Sigh... Volume 1 had decent translation, volume 2 had some messy grammar here and there. Volume 3 showcased of more weird grammar sentences.

4 star from me. This is a good novel. Recommended read.4 Star is only based on The novel and not the translation.

We are 3 volumes in and title doesnt seem to have any relation with whats been written. Perhaps we will be shown more by the writer in future volumes. Or it has something to do with his... more>> goals of finnishing up unfinnished buseniss in the capital. Who knows. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
December 7, 2017
Status: --
I... I dont know what to say... I can't continue reading this novel, thats how it feel now. It started good, very intressting start. And then along the journey it started become more and more tedious to read. The novel lost something. It feels more like I am forcing myself to read it eventually... No novels should be like that... This novel lost that attracting feeling for me.

The side characters... They became many, but there is no value in them. They are just... decorations. The spirit creature that asked jiang... more>> chen for help from that cavern? anyone remember him? well the writer himself do not.

I am not enjoying reading this novel anymore... It feels redundant and repetetive.

This isnt that good of a review, but I just feels so disappointed for what has become of this novel and the novel is 2000+ chapters long. The 150 first chapters were so intressting... And it all turned into this...

I stop at chapter 611 and thats it... I can't go on. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Lv1 Skeleton
October 30, 2017
Status: --
Fast paced novel.

Translation is, it needs improvement.

And because it is a game-concept novel so expect tons of titles and skills etc etc filling up everywhere. A bit convoluted.

Short said: I enjoyed this novel. Just lacking a bit background story. The other annoying thing is the gender definition in this novel. Uhm... The elves... In one chapter it is 1 male 1 female with female having the name "Leon" and the male elf having the name Narin, next chapter they both turned into female elves... not sure if any... more>> other readers noticed this... The golem is even switching between female / male gender in the chapters... At some point the priest was also trans-gender I think? from going male to female? - It is either a disconnect between the translators and the novel, or bad grammar, or something else?

As a reader, I can't read mandarin, nor can I speak mandarin. Samething goes for korean language. So when a translator gives out a name, and writes "her" we picture it a female character, if the translator later changes to he/him/his. that character in our head becomes a male. And thats confusing for us a reader. Many chinese + korean novels has these issues on novel updates. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou
Max Level Newbie
October 27, 2017
Status: --
Readers! Think of titel and synopsis like this: Max level in the old world -> newbie in the new continent.

Max level in old world -> became newbie in the new world. Therefor, "Max level newbie" because there is a higher level limit in next realm/world. But honestly, the writer of this novel knows how to write, but fails at titel. This is how I have interpreted it.

Now for this novel. I will make it short, I actually enjoyed it. Its the usual main character transferred to another world with gaming... more>> system. There is a goal, there is a story, novel is not milked and filled with bunch of fillers. It is not too much of a ultra-nationalistic novel.

A recommended read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
When A Mage Revolts
August 27, 2017
Status: c22
I think this is an intressting read. I read from chapter 1 to 20. The writer of this novel also uses "A.I" chip in the head like in the other novels of same concept. Except the writer wants his to be diffrent so he gave, the Artificiall intelligence chip that is imbedded in our main character, a personality. This is what makes me all plerplexed/flustered/unsettled... Because this personality of an A.I is funny and a pain in the ass at the same time.

If you are a traditionalist like me then... more>> you want the A.I to be helpful. In movies and other books, A.I software often do not have personalities. They calculate, and formulate awnsers with reason and within obtainable boundaries of knowledge and common sense.

This A.I here is supposed to be a fused one of a 5 year old laptop with a mobile phone and it has a personality. And so this personality is actually an annoying dumb software with retorts and banter. Which is funny at first. But it soon gets too much, really it gets too much... The banter, which many calls humour and comedy gets too much.

Anyway enough of the A.I maybe things will improve in the long run. It is an intressting read but... who knows. Maybe it will get better. Or... Worse? <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Chourou
Chourou rated it
Invincible
August 11, 2017
Status: --
Like Martial God Asura. Everything repeats from arc to arc. The Pattern repeats itself. good translation. But... it gets repetetive. I fear, once you have read 500 chapters, you probably have read 2500 chapters. Just like MGA. But nevertheless it is an action packed novel, thats what I like. Buuuut... There is nothing there that makes it amazing.

Short said, it is not an amazing novel, it gets repetetive fast. FAST.

Even "Emperors domination" (Emperors dominated fillers) is a much more intressting read with its repetetivness

Eventually I could not continue with... more>> this novel. It became so repetetive, my god. And its 3000 chapters long and still going on. Well good luck translator and readers, I am out. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report