Report Review
13 Reviews


Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
You’ve Got Mail: A Cautionary Tale
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
I have gone and MTLed, the story was not as cheesy as I expected, a good read. Some drama, a bit of angst, lots of comedy, some character progression. For example, a scene will start under a veil of comedy but suddenly MC thinks something extremely depressing.

Of course there is smut, but it isn't like the 'imprisonment yandere ML' sh*t that happens all the time. Basically two guys hook up for different reasons via a magical pigeon system, all s*x is consensual. And most importantly, it felt like that the... more>> characters had a relationship and personality outside of the smut that turned out to be very precious. The smut was part of the story but not the be all end all.

The most enjoyable part of the story to me was the middle, watching both MC and ML slowly progress, as when we start this story, both characters are very jaded.

The first 50 or so chapters are pretty lighthearted and comical, drama and politics erupts in the last half of the book, along with a lower number of s*x scenes. I honestly thought that part dragged a little (maybe b/c I can't understand the MTL as well?!) and could have been shortened. Also, when I say 'drama', I don't mean that characters are suddenly at knife point or stabbed or kidnapped, in the book some exaggerated scenes happen, for example a slap here or there or some low down ultra salty conversations, but not really the violent and random events you get in some other stories. The concept of suicide, mentioned in the first chapter, is briefly brought up and resolved later, but isn't really a major point of importance in the story.

Spoiler

The ML seems like trash because it is soon revealed that MC is just being used as a replacement, but, MC also was not looking for lingering affections and was only interested in s*x at the start. Both parties had to come around and should be regarded as two humans that have a hard time sorting out lingering feelings and coming to terms with their new emotions.

[collapse]

The antagonists in the story are slimy enough but not entirely evil per say. A couple of the side characters were interesting but they don't stand out a lot, mostly there to support MC or ML.

Certainly for those who like a dedicated and caring ML that pampers MC, along with a MC that is older, innocent but blunt with words. MC also has an odd obsession with food and 'pengpengs'. It's hilarious. Other than how much character improvement he got, the ML didn't stand out very much to me. The dynamic between the MC and ML sort of reminded me of "Spring Trees and Sunset Clouds".

..a shou MC that is young, beautiful, and seductive is common, I love seeing a 40 yr old MC that is describes as slightly awkward, not particularly beautiful, but cute in his own way.

Spoiler

I have to admit, my favorite part is still the first half of the novel, where no matter what ML did, MC was like "This was supposed to be a one night stand..." in his head. Thoroughly eating snacks while other people baffle that he ignored the insults they spouted.

[collapse]

-of note, the translation is excellent and the writing itself is fun and more descriptive than other novels. As for the smut, seems pretty detailed. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
Rebirth of the Supreme Celestial Being
February 12, 2019
Status: c30
You know all those light novels about cultivation and isekai novels, where the MC is in a fantasy world and is re-birthed so he has a super duper advantage and finds magical items to level up before everyone else and is OP and always stuns everyone with his power and the antagonists are super petty and always the exact same and lose cause' they underestimated the MC every single time?

That's the vibes here, except it's with BL fluff added in.

Now, of note, the MC is the Gong, and the Shou... more>> currently has a problem with his appearance/health, so these to points add at least a dash of uniqueness. Although, I assume at some point the ML will fix his all his beloved's problems. And, I always like when a character is trying to make up for a past mistakes, and on this point the synopsis says it in a nutshell. There's also the element that this genre always has, which is throwing in random magic stuff that you don't know what will be coming next, like tigers and talking magic items etc.

It reminds me a lot of Legendary Master's Wife (and look at the chapter length!) and is pretty similar in how it reads (although each chapter is notably shorter). If you like LMW I would go for it. In this case, MC is fawning and gentle on the shou, which is different than how in LMW, ML always mocks the shou.

Simple plot, simple MC always wins, irritating and brainless antagonists like rats. Overall, I personally don't like reading this sort of MC always wins because his opponents are idiots story, where much time is spent describing the next random technique or method MC is using to advance super quickly. So I think I'll safely stall this one. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
February 18, 2019
Status: c685
This was boring and long. I mean, it is like the other 'isekai and Chinese fantasy action power-up novels', so if you like a dash of BL I don't see why you can't like it, but I just can't be entertained at all.

I started reading this when I was first getting into chinese BL novels, and enjoyed it back then when I was new to the genre, now due to loyalty alone I skim some of the final remaining chapters here and there.

First off, the MC and ML don't change... more>> at all. Momo is the literal wife to possessive ML character and stupid or 'clever' at author's will. ML is a perfect guy that never loses. He enjoys making fun of the MC for being stupid and will on a very rare occasion say something nice in a conceited manner.

In the very first part of the book it was okay, because it seemed the MC was cheeky, learning about the world, and ML was actively trying to win his affection, but it plateaus. MC started out with a slight moral dilemma because of ML killing folks left and right, but he quickly turned just as heartless, treating anyone at his spoiled whim as long as he's powerful enough. Am I supposed to like these two high-handed, one dimensional people? They are the same as the other power hungry characters in the book, I can't even say they aren't petty, just marginally less cruel and the 'MCs'... so we know we're supposed to root for them and enjoy watching them win every time? I'm fine with characters being evil, cruel, grey morality, but in this novel it's shallow.

And when I say 'clever', not really. None of the characters in this novel are clever. They make petty schemes and then the enemy always loses from underestimating the other. I don't know how many times I've read a character thinking with regret 'I underestimated X and never thought he could do X!!'. You would think with so many chapters there would be some lit intense plots going down, but everything is fast wear and none of the characters got fleshed out, so although there are chapters and chapters of 'plot', I just can't care.

Spoiler

In the end, ML is magical guy with all beast line blood, MC is special magical mage guy with special soul, both of lost bloodlines. Very cliche, does not need 600 chapters to reveal that they are OP, I could guess it from the start.

[collapse]

Besides the first 100 or so chapters (when MC was at least in his first sect and the setting was constant), I never felt a lick of danger for the mc/ml. I always knew they would win ez pz and by ch 600 whatever it's the same.

The side characters, antagonists and allies alike, are like a horde of locusts. They come in and out of the story quickly and in droves, there's no way I'll remember when they introduce one from way back when because they all are boring and unmemorable.

The only slightly interesting aspect in my opinion was the building of the Qiu team and the random settings in different places being weird and magical, but it never felt exciting. Not to mention, I was hoping Qiu team would actually, you know, get more story time than other characters since they were contract beasts so I could care about them, but the author frequently had MC send them away on some task or another so I end up barely knowing the difference between xiao hei or she qiu.

The author at least spent about a chapter of words on the first couple s*x scenes, but then quickly stopped, where they turned into a passing remark, so even steaminess isn't present to keep me cursorily entertained.

Boring, lengthy for no reason, MC and ML not very likable and have no progression, I'd give it 2.5/5 but will do 2. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
This Way of Transmigration Is Definitely Wrong!
February 14, 2019
Status: c30
There are so many MC that are supposed to be adults or at least young adults but are literally as dumb, naive, and childish as a five or seven year old. This MC is one of them. I mean, a little silly is okay, the MC doesn't have to be genius, but there is a line to tread here, and this MC is well below it. Additionally, all the antagonists are dumb and petty, fitting for MC's level of IQ and EQ, no real challenge.

At the start I liked the... more>> idea of a 'contract' between the MC and ML, and whatnot, but that fell through and after the first few chapters I realized there would be no complexity to the story or the relationship between the MC and the ML. MC randomly throws out junk to protect himself? Randomly picks fights with characters that are mean to ML with literally the ability of a toddler? If you prefer this type of character, go for it.

See, now, they couldn't actually use a child because then all the s*xual innuendos get creepier, but it would make more sense to me, personally.

I do like that the MC is the protective type rather than rapey type, I guess, but still run of the mill and uninteresting.

Side characters? Who cares, ML will just get jealous if MC looks at anyone else. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
The Ugly Empress
February 12, 2019
Status: c29
This is an enjoyable read. Not too complicated plot wise or with characters, but just enough is going on and the lack of the most irritating stereotypes of characters makes it worth if you enjoy this kind of setting. Minus the cringey, greedy concubines that somehow always appear without fail in this imperial court setting.

The gender-bender is refreshing and adds another layer to the story, the translation makes it so you scarcely notice and MC still feels like a man through and through. It makes sense, as the ML would... more>> never fall for the MC if he remained the enemy general and vice versa.

It sort of has a balance of Teng Yun (MC) worrying about guarding his chastity, a bit of petty concubine drama (but not too much), and a dash of fairly simple politics/war tactics (which I enjoy the most). The MC doesn't seem to be doing much at times, but that's because he's literally been trapped in the body of a empress without any connections and zilch physical strength. As for the MC, a little too much of the chastity protection scenes and inner monologue, but at times he gives advice and impresses the ML (Xue Wang, the emperor). Just reading TY think along the lines of 'fk this petty concubine scheme bs' and refusing to participate makes me happy.

Spoiler

As of now, MC still has little feelings for ML. For example, he gets sleep deprivation when forced to lie in the same bed as ML. I'm kind of rooting for TY to hold out much longer until ML really proves himself. It might even be in the second half of the novel where he becomes a man again.

The thing I like that most is that, normally in this setting, the ML would force himself upon the MC sooner rather than later, but it actually hasn't happened yet! I am sort of on the edge of my seat here and there though, as I don't prefer the rapey type ML.

[collapse]

There are two side story couples, one of which may or may not end tragically, and another where the shou is crafty, so they are somewhat entertaining, but I do think I'd prefer to see more scenes of MC Teng Yun actually doing something instead. The story flips back and forth between these plot lines. Supposedly, TY wants to escape so he won't have to live as a restrained empress in the inner palace (phew can't blame him), but he doesn't really have much chance to other than one random opportunity that he botched horribly, so this point is kinda stalled. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
So What If You’ve Been Reborn?
February 12, 2019
Status: c19
The synopsis does not do a very good job of capturing the atmosphere of the story. It makes it sound like one of those silly revenge stories, when in fact there are not unnamed characters such as 'antagonist A', and the atmosphere is slightly melancholy. The novel is clearly a slow-burn romance, and more about Chen He (MC) and ML escaping their previous fates, the ML learning to forgive himself, and CH recovering his ability to keep memories.

The story itself is very poetic with carefully placed descriptions, plot, and subtle... more>> building of relationships between the ML and MC. It's a story involving character growth, the MC starting as a child (and as one can see, very long, 400 or so chapters!).

The memory loss issue of the MC but him still wanting to be 'mature', and the subdued personality of the ML, where he doesn't even speak (due to certain reasons) adds depth to these characters.

Spoiler

This isn't really a spoiler but a train of thought;

In fact, I don't even know for certain if Chen He (MC) is the shou, and if ML is the gong, or... some other arrangement. And this is because MC seems more interested/attached to 'ML' sort of like puppy love at times, while ML seems rather reserved, even shy, and not likely to start any relationship. Oppositely, MC is sort of naive and cute, and ML is the older more experienced one. For an actual BL relationship, it wouldn't be uncommon for a couple to switch roles, but in nearly every of these novels it's painfully obvious who's who. It's only ch 19 but I hold some expectations (perhaps false hopes) for this one!

[collapse]

The main issue I have is that typical to Xianxia, there is a lot of terminology and strange magical items thrown in, that it reads a bit convoluted to me. Like, they might describe something that doesn't seem all that important, and my gods all the cultivation levels and types. For the fact I've already become somewhat familiar with cultivation terminology, this still hit me on the head like a hammer. This bogs down the story at times. If you are pretty new to this genre, I would not jump into this unless you're ready to read those footnotes the translator so carefully added. Mn, and, so far the antagonists appeared a bit shallow. I suppose a small layer is added if they are also all rebirthed like in the synopsis.

But, I'm still enjoying it a lot regardless.

At ch. 19 it still feels like the show just finally got rolling. At least by this point the backstory for both MC and ML has been developed, and both's are pretty tragic! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
Secret Nights In The Inner Palace
February 14, 2019
Status: Completed
These two stars go for the smut. I won't lie. Smut was a-OK in my book.

MC? Unimpressive, weak, and shallow.

ML? Run of the mill. Possessive, high-handed, and horny 24/7.

... more>> Interesting side characters? Nil, at most a woman who killed herself.

Plot? Nah. Just Stockholm syndrome, typical fare of thinly veiled rape/abuse s*x play story line when in fact from the first chapter you know exactly what will happen; MC should hate ML, will give a bad attempt to resist, get f**ked, have more inner turmoil, then by the end of the story be 100% in love.

If you take the time to think of all the inner monologue and arguments MC used to convince himself, little logic will come forth other than his carnal desire and emotions (yes, these things are not logical at all).

MC loving the ML, for one large portion, b/c ML 'accepted' his body. Ah, isn't it great to have someone who doesn't hate on your body? If they give this semblance of kindness to you, naturally you are so desperate that no one else will fall in love with you, you'll return their affections for sure. Very common notion of worthlessness women (and others) have in an abusive relationship.

But, you know, I guess if MC didn't fall in love with him (which would actually make more sense), this would be a guaranteed tragedy of A) MC raped4lif, or B) MC suicides,
Spoiler

C) MC actually leaves inner palace when offered in last chapter!! Then prolly dies on the street cause' he's been raised as royalty his whole life.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
As the other reviews say, the first two vol are OKAY (still pretty dramatic and cheesy), the next two dogblood and awful!

I was strangely addicted to the writing styles and fast-paced plot but, wow, this author does not like the MC having any of his own independence, brain, or strength.

... more>>
Spoiler

So what if ML gave him half his powers in book 4, MC can't use it for sh*t.

[collapse]

It's the sort of story I started feeling guilty reading part way through with the forced smut and straight out cringed internally, constantly, by novel 4 where ML is essentially not a human but a manipulative dog in heat.

Like, come on ML. I know there are 3+ times he's like 'I never want X to happen to you again MC, b/c I luv you so much, or 'I'll never do X to you...' and then he fails to keep said promise. Basically all his words are sweet nothings, I don't know how Ling Xia can stand it... he went from a sort of practical MC to damsel in distress fast.

Spoiler

Also great how ML keeps the whole 'bring you back to my world and share half my powers' sh*t under wraps every time Ling Xia asks. After all, it would be horrible if LX knew ML decided to have his memory wiped, and also forced MC back into his world instead of trying to join him in the modern world...

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye
Sect Master and Psycho
April 3, 2019
Status: c2
You know what, I actually find rape when the ML is literally crazy/mentally handicapped better than when the ML is supposed to be a 'normal' person. At least logic isn't "I love you so imma do you even if you don't say its okay", but no logic at all, just a crazy dude wanting a kid for whatever previous tragic reason.

I find the prose entertaining. Based on the other reviews, I'm looking forward to reading the rest.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
The little Flower God and the Emperor
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
Funny, and a tad cute.

I did like the MC's straightforwardness (almost too much but didn't cross the line). He just went all in right away with the red roses. The interactions between the two were nice, gifts, flirty banter, and kindness to each other. Although the overall premise is a bit shallow, for the length, it isn't a serious issue.

When I say shallow, I mean dialogue like this:

“Why should I be afraid of you? It’s not like you’re ugly.” MC said this. I can't help but cringe inside. I know... more>> that the status quo in romance is a hottie ML with cutesy/beautiful MC-- describing them as unparalleled looks, talented, an untouchable expert of A B and C, but I do legitimately feel bad for how "ugly" or "normal" looking people are just plain trashed sometimes! But, well, other than this line, the rest wasn't anything new, but tolerable.

As for ML, he did not openly despise any person that was not the MC due to over exaggerated possessiveness, this is a good thing. Imo, he wasn't really the cold type, but the good-natured introvert.

Other notes:

  • The story focused on the comedic banter between characters, not short poorly written smut scenes.
  • One of the side characters, Yue Lao the matchmaker, was relevant and added funny commentary
Only takes 5 min to read, might as well if you'd like a short fix of comedy/fantasy/BL/cheesy romance. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
Living to Suffer
February 12, 2019
Status: Completed
Tragedy at its finest. One thing I despise when I read tragedy is if it feels forced, as though another easy solution is lying nearby but these dumb asses refuses to take it. This is NOT one such story. No, this is not forced, it is shoved down our throats as harsh reality (or should I say fantasy in Wuxia world?). The way it was set up was beautiful and inevitable. Lines spoken early on carried relevance later at the very end, plenty of symbolism thrown in.

Another thing I despise... more>> is the inevitability of fate and one's own end. This novel was going strong on this, and naturally I felt extreme hatred. I didn't even intend to read this novel (I'm not usually such an M that I enjoy to make myself sad by reading tragedy) but skimmed it one day, the first chapter. Just like that, I was addicted, so caught up in the prose and thoughtfulness of the author that I couldn't put it down.

Spoiler

I will not spoil too much. But BOTH ML and MC literally and metaphorically were living to suffer. Their existences were fated to end horribly. For one, you know from the start MC was born and raised to die, causing him inner grief and near insanity at times, a careless attitude where he doesn't even care for his own health. ML finds the love of his life but cannot help the MC as it would mean betraying his entire sect, leading to his companion's demise, oh, and also his purpose for existing also would have disappeared.

[collapse]

The vivid smut scenes are like some sort of horrifying bait of guilty pleasure delivered to us by the author so that we may ease our suffering just as the characters do during their intercourse. Of course, each one is valuable because of the MC's condition and shows how the cold and distant ML slowly descends more and more into love.

Spoiler

I was terrified and charmed by the MC's inner mind, both happy (in a twisted way) that ML would suffer like he while also doing so that he could have a taste of happiness before his death, feeling guilt weighing upon his shoulders like a mountain.

[collapse]

If you read this, then you might as well read the equally heart-wrenching sequel (but not nearly as sad), you can make it through with a tumultuous amount of bittersweet emotions and at least feel ever so slightly more at rest...

Your pain shall not last long, it is merely 20 chapters... <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
The Two-Tailed Little Fox Demon and His Taoist Priest Gong
February 12, 2019
Status: extra 3
It really is just light smut and fluff.

Honestly, I don't like the character types. Stupid meng fox or the possessive Taoist priest ML. Typical 'oh I'm too stupid to care for myself shou' and 'don't even talk or look at other people than me gong'. Because it's so short, all you get are the cutout traits, therefore I didn't like the story. The s*x scenes weren't impressive either. The side couples are just as one-dimensional.

... more>>
Spoiler

And I cringed when the fox got lost and found himself at a brothel.

[collapse]

Comparative to the Prince's Loyal Lover, where the MC was wittier, and ML was humbler and loyal in a silly way, it was just as short but I really enjoyed that one.

I gave this a 3, but I'd rather give it 2.5. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Celissiye
Celissiye rated it
Ghosts Know What I Experienced
February 12, 2019
Status: c22
I think it's a good light-hearted read, and will suit those who like this type of supernatural comedy. The writing itself is okay with some witty sentences. So far episodic arcs and doesn't seem to have much seriousness to it.

As a previous review mentioned, I too, am not very fond of the type of humor used in this. Considering the 'horror' element, compared to other supernatural themed Trapped in an Infinite Chamber, Kaleidoscope of Death, or even Guardian, this one just isn't as exciting. Whenever a moment that could be... more>> somewhat tense comes up it literally gets blown away by overpowered MC or ML and falls flat that way.

I sort of cringe from the 'ghosts know' gossip and not entertained by the ML not knowing the MC can defend himself perfectly. I don't mind that he's cute but the draw on misunderstanding part is just a little bleh to me. For the part that I've read it's essentially 'MC runs into this supernatural thing and is perfectly okay b/c he's OP.' then 'ML comes in last minute to 'protect' and 'save' him, or apologize and feel bad that MC was 'scared' or 'in danger'. In general I've tired of comedic misunderstandings, so if you like that sort of thing you might like it.

I like the side character Pei Yu or whatever, who was sort of silly and shameless, but most of the side characters are like that so he doesn't stand out much. I think I'll wait for a bunch of chapters to crop up, then might skim through it if I feel like it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report