Report Review
21 Reviews


Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Magika no Kenshi to Shoukan Maou
March 25, 2016
Status: Completed
The "BEST" Harem Novel out there. Even Mushoku Tensei's might not be able to top this one. The Female characters are not generic at all, although you may call it somewhat cliche, they still have individual characteristics that are unique to them. Plus there is "PLOT!" :O it has all kinds of "Plots" and the villains are not just a bunch of f**k bois whose only purpose is to show off the MC's cool op power to make more females fall in love with him no! These villains are "Villains"... more>> they wan chaos! World Domination! And their own beliefs that make them unique! A mere review cannot describe the experience I've had reading this. Just do it, Just read it (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Also translator updates frequently and will always try to catch up to the latest raws. <<less
50 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Okay, jumping into this relatively new novel, I was expecting something light, fluffy and cute. It was.

Although the current chapters have yet to reach a point where I can make a proper review, other than the fact that it started much like any other JP MC reincarnation novel, it got me hooked on it still since the story looked promising as well as the future character interactions looking to be quite the fun one. Give it a go if you're looking for something like Uchi no Musume!
40 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
The Forsaken Hero
December 24, 2017
Status: v4c15
Remember this novel back 2 years ago?
I do too, now its got a novel adaptation, and the very same group is translating it. Great right? I think so too.

The hatred of the MC is well delivered, and although he acts silly at times, it was an aspect that got described early on. This version's introduction was a lot better than the web novel, props to the author.

The romance, it's interesting, very, very interesting.

View if you want to be spoiled.
... more>>
Spoiler

The girls first girl, is alright? Though something that happens down the line makes her character make a lot more sense. It was a good way to fix and flesh out characters I must say. The second, oh boy.

Spoiler

She's obviously best girl. As to why, read and find out, I wouldn't want to take that joy from you.

[collapse]

The third is similar to the first. Though she fills the role of the quiet book worm love interest that's easily obsessed.

[collapse]

The original web novel was something I still read to this year every now and again, due to how much great it was. For me at least. I might be biased out of nostalgia, but hey, these kinds of novels have died out at this point. Nowadays its all OP harem game element novels and bringing back the revenge driven novels, that don't have rape, is refreshing for me.

Give the translators some love, they've waited as long as us, the readers for this reboot. Although what we waited for was Volume 5, since its been so long, a total reboot is fine. <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
The Strange Adventure of a Broke Mercenary
April 14, 2018
Status: c70
Just a heads up, this is suprisingly my opinion so keep that in mind. This is also an updated review as the translators finish the first book.

UPDATE-

70 Chapters in, more or less the same with Loren getting stronger together with Lapis, characters that are annoying at first get some proper development and don't just serve as a foil for our main pair which is a very nice touch, though not all get this treatment. Looking promising still, a strong recommend in my opinion.

My review is getting too long, so I'll... more>> hide the rest of the original review in this spoiler.
Spoiler

After reading further, I must say that this is pretty damn great. I can't recall the last time I've felt so immersed in a scene of life and death where I keep rooting for the characters in my head to succeed. In short, if you like the fantasy isekai genre but without the wimpy and generic JP MC then you ought to give this a go.

To explain further, the novel has a dark fantasy feel to it. Characters who make poor decisions tend to end up miserable and those who aren't won't always get what they want. It has a realistic approach to things that things doesn't always go well but at the same time there is a certain feeling of relief in seeing the two main characters safe and sound at the end of the day.

The two characters are quite likable, Loren being this supposed badass wielding a greatsword whose body is about as beefy as Guts, and Lapis who is this mischievous priestess that works kind of like a library on foot with her level of knowledge. But being people, they have their flaws but these flaws just add up more to their character as being realistic individuals with the way the two interact is interesting and fun to read.

As for world building, it's pretty good despite it only being a volume in. It gives one enough information to get a grasp on how the world works around them and the mechanics in play. Its quite fascinating for me to read as often do we read about JP novels that are like this who don't even tackle the rulings on how the Adventurers Guild work in the first place.

All in all, it's a great novel and you should give it a go. Below are my original thoughts after reading the first 4 chapters.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Dood, Ive been waiting for this damn novel to be translated ever since I saw the cover. Even before it was in Novel updates, I've already seen its cover. The only reason I haven't read it so soon was because I didn't even know its title, I just saw the cover and knew I had to read it.

With just 4 chapters I am hooked, heck I'm hooked with just the MC's personality alone. For starters, no reincarnation, transmigration or summoned to another world shenannigans, although the MC's past makes him kind of a black slate in terms of world knowledge, he's no amatuer at living and shows it through his interactions with other people, he feels so... real... and not like most JP MCs... that's more than enough of a reason to give this novel a go.

In terms of atmosphere and setting, its the typical "Another World" world in the isekai genre, adventurer's guild, monsters, countries, etc. However, what makes it different is the MC. The whole feel of the atmosphere feels more grim and realistic, people die, being unprepared will bring trouble, going around and letting your d*ck choose your life decisions won't bode well for you and the reality of being broke, is cruel one. Overall, atmosphere is great, setting is alright.

Characters, so far only two noteworthy ones, the ones on the cover, the big picture on this page, whom are Loren the broke MC, and Lapis the priest. Both are surpisingly likable at first glance and are obviously gonna be the main duo based on the following volume covers. (P.S. If you want to see the covers, just google images its alternative japanese name and you'll see a few along with some character concept art. This is also how I knew of this novel in the first place)

Overall, I have a lot of hopes for this novel, please do support the translator for picking this up as it is a daunting task to translate JP novels as most translators tend to stop after translating a dozen chapters or so. Don't let a gem like this lose its brilliance!

[collapse]
<<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Shoujo Grand Summoning
April 27, 2017
Status: c871
Hey, you like harems?
You do?!
But do you like harems and cute anime girls?
You do as well?!

Well then, it's a no brainer then, you should probably read this novel. The way the author integrates different characters from different animes is quite unique, in that they are stages/sequences where the MC goes into their world to complete quests.

This way of doing things instead of dumping all of the girls one by one as he got stronger (as the synopsis made me believe to be, maybe you too?) made... more>> things very fun to read, so much so that you may find yourself excited as you wait for him to visit the next world.

The girls are also well written, they more or less follow how they originally were which is a job well done by the author (Though I may be wrong on this one, but from what I remember from the anime they are.) .

If you're also the type of guy to enjoy cool abilities then you'll like this one. Though the shameless MC might put you off, he's quite lovable in his own way, ended up laughing a few times along the way.

Also, if you didn't like a single thing about what I just said about novel then you're probably not gonna like it. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Cheat Majutsu de Unmei wo Nejifuseru
April 3, 2016
Status: --
One could say that this is just another one of those Transported to another world harem. But I find this one unique in its own way. The fact that this is translated by the "Legendary GM_Rusaku" is one of them. You should read it!
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Genius Sword Immortal
February 28, 2016
Status: --
Interesting stuff I tell ya not the usual Xianxia cliché where "I will kill you because you offended me! Oh no you're stronger, I am dead! Better call my whole family to take revenge for my death! *Rinse and repeat" its different in that it has character development and that the MC is not some OP psychopath. Early on it focuses more on world building and character development and a bit of training here and there. The character interactions can be at times hilarious and that they don't feel bland... more>> at all which is good. Also they're in modern China so theres that, All in all an interesting read and I'm hoping to see more. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Giving this novel a second try, I kinda wish I didn't.

It's getting pretty f**king annoying. The actual story keeps getting cut short by f**king POV switches about minor characters giving us a tale as to how amazing our MC is and how much he's changed their lives for the better. To be honest I'm hesitating to say that it even has a main story, cause they way things are it's more of a collection of short stories about the Super Amazing Chad MC That we might as well call Jesus 2.0 and well, it's fine if you like stories like that, but it gets pretty f**king annoying for me if you do it 5 times each chapter for the whole story.

The writing, whether it's the fault of the translator or... more>> the author himself, is difficult to read. The flow feels terrible, almost as if it's trying to sound poetic but end up sounding f**king pretentious and annoying. Based on the works I've read from the translator, I'd like to believe it's the fault of the author himself and that the translator is just doing his best to salvage this hot garbage. TL;DR The story is only ever telling and almost never showing. If you like reading a different character recount tales of the Super Amazing chad MC each chapter then go ahead read it. If you find it annoying then avoid and don't waste your time.

Here are my thoughts from when I've only read 12 chapters.
Spoiler

In my opinion, its an alright novel so far if you're into the whole "legendary man character", but for me, I don't like the way everything's been presented.

Having an arc then giving some hints as to the kind of legends it makes years later on adds some nice flavor to stories, but having it every chapter?

That just gets annoying for me, it ruins any flow the chapters have. To have at the starting chapter, okay that'll be be great to generate intrigue, but when its being forced on you for each chapter on end, that's just too much man.

I also don't like the whole feel of the story, it's too "praisey" if that makes sense. In that they praise the MC for stuff he does too much. I don't mind if you praise him, but heavens above why do you praise him so constantly for stuff we haven't even seen him do, it just ends up feeling weird to read for me.

I feel like this could be a good example of a novel being "Show, don't tell, " in where the author is only ever telling us things, but never really showing us. There's some parts of actual story in the chapters but they all feel disconnected, like the author brings up a side story every time a new character gets introduced and okay sure that's fine, but if it spans the whole chapter, the original story gets lost because of it.

I might be wrong as these are just the first few chapters.

But then again, If I get too annoyed at the first few chapters, I won't be too inclined to read the rest of it. You might disagree and if so just make a review your own.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
The Mad Summoner of League of Legends
May 27, 2018
Status: c15
Holy sh*t. That was painful to read even with my low standards.

No I'm not talking about the grammar, I've read worse MTL but instead the characters. Holy sh*t, like how does one even lose a child because of day dreaming? How does a supposed powerful champion get drugged and kidnapped?

It all feels too forced and in turn unbearable. I read it in nostalgia as I've stopped playing League of Legends long ago and seeing the novel title got me interested. Unfortunately its not even a decent self insert like the... more>> works of the author of Ilimitable Until Death, nor does it have enough good things, or rather, decent things to keep me reading.

To make matters worse, the fact that you're forced to go into a link ad page that creates those damn near impossible to close pop ups is damn annoying as hell. It may be a nitpick as you can say "Its free translation, stop bitching", but these damn ads can install malware if you're not careful. So no, f**k that. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
The novel itself is not bad although the “Oh no you’re a hero we summoned but you’re non-blessed by the goddess/ Untalented/ Useless! Better kick you out/ Betray/ Abandon you which will allow you to discover some OP ability that usually concern being able to steal/assimilate skills.” cliché is being used in this, the novel goes away from the usual path where the MC is all alone and leaves the kingdom then magically encounters love interest no.1 being attacked by something. But instead makes it so that he gets a... more>> companion with the same circumstances very early on (like chapter 1 early). Also their interactions together are pretty interesting so theres that. All in all, I’m hoping to see more of this if it gets translated in the future and that this review will change in the chance that something changes in the future. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Asuka of the Scarlet Sky
February 28, 2016
Status: --
The Novel is good, MC given a super cheat early on that allows the MC to do what ever the f**k he wants. The almost non-existent romance between the first heroine develops slowly (because hes usually busy trying to f**k other girls first) but there is progress. Also did I mention that the MC likes to think with his d*ck most of the time? WELL its not that severe but theres still that, hes also quite the pervert although a closet pervert. At some point the MC learns his cheat... more>> is not all supreme and he learns that the hard way (by getting beaten into submission by a dark skinned loli) so theres also that. All in all its a good read if you’re looking for some material to fap to but don’t expect something as extreme as [FIT] or [Charm]. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Hone to Issho no Isekai Seikatsu
May 31, 2019
Status: c4
As I am a big fan of necromancer-esque protagonists and sculptors due to novels like Moonlight Sculptor, this review will contain quite a bit of bias.

So far, it's looking a bit interesting, though it's mainly due to the MC's "divine protection" which might as well be called a class, cause let's be honest, they're classes. Names like [Alchemist], [Sculptor] and etc don't sound like blessings from some divine. I got curious about the novel so I did a quick search on jp. Amazon and found a few reviews stating that... more>> the WN was much better compared to the LN, which is surprising. The translator seems to be planning frequent updates, so that's another thing to look forward to.

However, the main character is not giving me any feeling that makes him stand out from the sea of isekai protagonists. Being mediocre is fine I guess, though if you're the kind to not like that then treat this as a warning. But if you're fine with the typical isekai protagonist template then this should another novel to add to your list.

The necromancy in the novel, based purely on what I see on the colored illustrations from the LN looks as if it's not gonna be the kinds where the protagonist is able to summon legions of bonemen to kill people with, but with a smaller group of skelly bois with personalities of their own, which can be good in its own right. Though, I probably wouldn't expect the MC to summon armies anytime soon, if not at all.

TL;DR: This has the usual isekai harem game world template with necromancy as a focus. Though I feel like that's not hard to see based on the tags, cover and synopsis. Read if you're interested in necromancer protagonist novels. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Regarding the Story of My Wife, Medusa
March 6, 2016
Status: --
As of Chapter 4

It's quite a nice story, it has romance... I think. So far the plot cannot be seen by the naked eye but even if it has 4 chapter its still a nice read.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Demon Lord Wants to Laze
April 14, 2018
Status: c10
Alrighty fellas, to those reading, this will be my personal opinion surpisingly on this novel. Yours could be completely different and thats fine, a diverse world is a good world.

To begin things, it was hard for me not to get interested at the start, it had a premise I rarely see (and enjoy) and was interested to see what it was about. It was "alright", but the chapters are too short for their own good, meaning they described too little to get a sense of the characters, whom are... more>> about as deep as a shallow puddle on a concrete floor after a morning drizzle. They were also boringly introduced, there were times where my attention lapsed in and out which made me go back and read past chapters to even remember what the characters looked like.

Now what made me furrow my brows were the scenes where the MC and co are showing off how powerful they are. In the two times that they did in 10 chapters, the POV would switch to someone else's to show off their exaggerated reactions which can, although understandable in their world, get so damn annoying with how so so many of basically the same thing gets said and repeated. The POV change could have been a nice touch, but it was poorly executed.

As for the characters themselves, about what you can expect from JP novels where the main focus is the MC taking are of a child, albeit with a rather generic harem. The relationship between the MC and the harem is unclear, which could lead to the author expanding upon it with future arcs, but seeing the quality thus far, I doubt it. As for the kids, one is a foil, one is supposedly there for the MC to react to with how "funny" she is, and the last is the one the keeps the plot moving as the MC is, as the title says, too damn lazy to do anything without the daughter providing an incentive to do so.

It was an interesting concept at first glance, the description hooked me in and made me dive in, hoping to find gold, only to be met by heaps of pyrite. But meh, try like five chapters, might be tolerable for you and you might even like it. Who knows, might get better from here chapters 11 onwards, people are able to become better if they strive hard enough.

Peace out. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
October 1, 2016
Status: c22
Well, thus far the series has been "ok". Although I don't read nor watch Naruto, it was bit interesting to read the different descriptions the story gave. As to whether these are accurate or now, that's up for the fans of the actual show to decide. However, to me, it's a fun and mindless read to pass the time and if you're not wanting to waste your time digesting complex information.

I've seen some people complain about the filler fights, well they're not that bad, they could've been more interesting. Plus... more>> you can always skim through them if you so desire.

Altogether, this is something that I'll read when I've caught up with the actual series's that I follow. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Monster no Goshujin-sama
March 6, 2016
Status: --
Not your usual monster grill tamer MC where his monsters are all lovey dovey from the start (well they kinda are) It has good character interactions in that it feels like it's what will actually happen if it ever does, it feels real for the MC and his harem that is, the same can't be said to the rest of the people he got transported with. They feel inhumane which is kinda "forced" by the author that I feel like its less likely to happen if it does (which is... more>> kinda ironic if you look at the point before it). Other than that its till still a good read, a bit of slow romance (Kinda, felt like it) would recommend for a casual read if you wanna try it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
My Girlfriend Archive
May 26, 2019
Status: c5
As I am a big fan of Ruqing Rusu's works, I try to give CN novels that have anime waifus as their covers a chance in the faint hope that I find something up to par with Ruqing's works. (Not that his works are masterpieces or anything, I just really like them)

I was uh, confused by the synopsis. Due to my vast experience with MTL, the translation quality feels as if the translator threw the chapters into google translate, pasted it to MS Word and cleaned it a bit... more>> with Grammarly. It's a mess, but seeing as the translator is relatively new, I can find it in my heart to forgive them for this.

To show how bad it is, one of the first few sentences in chapter 1 is this:

"Ronan yawned and licked his sleepy eyes."

As Chinese characters often have words that mean two different things such as Intimate having the same character as Kiss, we can interpret this as the MC having one hell of a tongue that is at least 20cm long.

The story looks as if it's gonna be the MC using a dating system to get laid and power up. If that sounds great and you don't mind having to decipher each paragraph to learn what it's trying to say, then go ahead. I myself like this genre when done well. In fact there's a bit of a twist in the first girl too, making it not exactly your typical dating sim scenario.

TL;DR This novel has some ass translations which makes it no different from an MTL, meaning it's f**king confusing and hard to read unless you have experience with MTLs. The Translator should either be more thorough with his translations or work with a good editor. Otherwise, the story looks somewhat promising and I plan to follow this novel and decided whether I drop it or not in the future.

Rating is pending for now, 2 stars mainly due to the poor translation. Will rise depending on the story and the future quality of the translation. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Casul_Reader rated it
Help! Gooogle-sensei!!
March 8, 2016
Status: --
As of Chapter 5

Eh... its alright. The story pace is a little bit meh, the explanations are reasonable (on a logical level) the incest is level is OVER 9000!!! No seriously its pretty f**king intense, like

... more>>
Spoiler

the lil sister and the MC can talk about boob sizes and how the MC loves boobs without batting an eye, even laughing with him at times. Also the lil sister realy is a brocon, MC too is a siscon.

[collapse]
yeah so if your a type of guy that enjoys his incest and a bit of ecchi (like me), go ahead read it you’ll enjoy it. But if you’re a guy that enjoys romance, fantasy and the normal transported to another world troupe well you can give a go I guess. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
After reading the raws, which wasn't that bad actually, I can say that the story is alright. Nothing too amazing, but nothing stands out to be bad in my eyes.

The female lead, the uh, elf in the cover art you see is pretty damn cute, which may have something to do with me reading the manga raws too. The MC is pretty likable too, but he's the general isekai'd MC so don't expect too much. Their dynamic as a duo is pretty nice and reading the elf act is just,... more>> it reminds me of the manga "That Girl is Not Just Cute."

Unfortunately, the author hasn't updated the raws in a half a year, which is worrying. But seeing as the LN version is at its volume 2 already, it should just be the author working on the LN.

Overall, it's a nice read. Slightly above the general isekai novels is what I'd rate it.

Give it a go, it's pretty nice. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Casul_Reader
Interesting concept, kinda like Gate Jietai Kare No but in a sense hes alone and that theres no way back. As of now character development is kinda lacking, but the scenes with Chitose (was it?) was kinda funny since shes pretty open about her being a yandere. Also the first time I've ever seen the tag "Yandere Harem" is used, so theres that. Other than this it feels kinda bland (idk if its the translators fault or the authors, haven't checked if its a MTL or not) but its not... more>> too severe to the point of being ureadable. So if you're reading this since you've ain't got nothing else to read go ahead, but if its for a long term read well it may be a hit or miss idk. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report