Report Review
26 Reviews


CaptainToast
I don't think the author actually knows how to write about his own characters. The MC is suppose to be a lifelong special agent. Essentially raised from birth to be the best agent in his first life. He had at LEAST 40 years of active service in a occupation that likely had an average lifespan of 3-5 years. He was known as the best. He would of had to been ruthless as hell to stay that way.

The way the author writes about him makes it seem like he's a teenage... more>> boy who just happens to know how to kill people.

If the author wanted to write about a happy go lucky MC, than he should of had a backstory that actually fits his character.

Totally misleading. <<less
124 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
I tried to enjoy this story. I really did.

The story is just filled with so much bullsh*t I can't take it.

The author removes all reason and intelligence from basically EVERYONE for the sake of comedy.

... more>> There is probably some intelligent plotting going on somewhere, but it's definitely not happening around the MC.

Hes the only heir to BOTH the kingdom and the Empire. The lack of respect he's given makes no sense at all. I can deal with people being jealous. I can deal with them plotting behind his back. THATS TO BE EXPECTED!

Outright insulting the prince to a nation, even one in bad standing is essentially a death sentence in every kingdom EVER. Insulting the only heir to the kingdom, one the ultimate leader of the empire/kingdom dotes upon to an absurd degree is so dumb that I don't even know how they can breathe on their own. <<less
119 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
Short story is this. Don't bother reading this novel. The synopsis might sound good, but the actual story is badly done. 1/5

Maybe my standards have risen a lot lately or I'm just looking back on Kumo desu Ga better then it was, but this story just couldn't keep my interest. The MC is an idiot. That's about all I can say. Not the comedic mind, the aggravating kind. And while that could be forgiven if there was something interesting going on with the plot, or even just other characters, there's... more>> nothing. The story lacks the humor that allowed Kumo desu ga to only have the MC for 200 plus chapters. Without that humor, it's like reading a bad text based adventure game. I gave the story 40 chapters, and even if someone says it gets better later on (which according to the other reviews it doesn't) that's really not saying much. If a story can't establish and get me interested in after that long, that's a rather large failure on the authors part. The very first thing EVERYONE learns when learning how to write is that the introduction sets the tone for what follows. Everything between that and the ending is just filler. <<less
76 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
The Other Side of the Last Boss
June 23, 2017
Status: c1
This novel is terrible.

It had some promise, but the author shat the bed. The MC is the most annoing pansy ass piece of sh*t I've ever seen.

He can't speak to girls at all. Literally nothing. All for some dumb reason about being trapped for 1000 years.

... more>> If that wasn't bad enough, it then randomly cuts to him in class... somehow getting into a prestigious academy with no explanation.

Other then the usual school cliche bullshit, it immediately goes into him randomly creating a legendary ring that increases stats as well as increases sexual desire towards him.

... For some reason.

Its unbearable to actually read this novel. I felt my brain cells dying. <<less
60 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
March 23, 2016
Status: c90
I really had high hopes for this novel in the beginning, but around chapter 20, everything just starts going to shit. The MC is quite possibly the stupidest I've ever seen. He takes nothing seriously. He sees people using evil curses, slavery, racism on a massive scale, and is put into a hostile world, and he doesn't take it seriously. The entire story is just pointless.

Yes we get it he's "normal". Why not actually have him ACT THAT WAY. God this story makes me want to bang my head against... more>> the wall. 3/5 for the first 15 chapters
2/5 for 15-20
0/5 for 20+

Don't waste your time on this piece of shit. <<less
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Tensei Shoujo no Rirekisho
August 14, 2016
Status: c27
I don't really get this novel. The world just seems so badly done.

In this world, magic is dying and because of it, society is on the verge of collapse. The MC is supposedly suppose to revolutionize the world with solutions to everything with modern knowledge.

That would of been FINE as a plot normally, but the way the author does it just makes me want to scream. The ONLY reason why society is collapsing is because every single person in this world is apparently retarded. They have absolutelet no innovative spirit... more>> at ALL. People in the novel can't figure out basic solutions to basic problems. The mages are just as useless. There's no magic tools or anything. The novel would of at least made sense if the reason society was on the verge of collapse was because all the magic tools and machines were starting to fail because magic was dwindling. The MC would then have to go about fixing everything.

This novel is just a mess. People can't figure out how to make wells, how to weave, how to do ANYTHING. Mages do everything. WHAT THE f*ck DOES EVERYONE ELSE DO. Mages grow the crops, mages weave. Mages build. Is 99% of this society just sitting on their ass? I mean like what the f*ck.

0/5 <<less
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
May 14, 2016
Status: --
I tried to get into this novel, but I really just couldn't. I'm probably leaving too early as I only got to chapter 12, but the story is boring. It might get better, but the first 6 chapters are translated horribly, and the ones that actually were translated decently are just plain boring.

The main problem I had with the story is the plot itself. A flying magical sword by its lonesome is interesting for about 30 seconds before it becomes ridiculous. Maybe my initial thoughts on how it should of... more>> gone are ruining what's actually there. A more interesting novel about a guy reincarnated into the legendary heroes sword and their journey to save the world would be pretty cool. But even if this eventually starts to be like that in the distant future, it's already ruined. What had to kill the novel for me after a bit is the sword's utterly ridiculous skill stealing ability. It reaks of bad story telling. In review, don't bother reading this. As of right now it's nothing but a huge disappointment. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
V3c10
The story is rather interesting, and quite comedic at times. The translator does a great job, and usually leaves a small note to explain the names/actions that the story derives from. Overall it's a very worthwhile read.

The only thing that I don't like about the story, is the authors use of names. Apparently back in the day, people had a regular name, and a formal name. He's using the regular names of the historical figures, which is making it rather hard to keep track of who is who beyond... more>> what ther personification is. Maybe it's just because I'm bad with Chinese names, but other than Lu Bu being Feng Xian, none of the others really connect for me.

Edit as of v5c30

I'm kinda starting to lose interest in the novel. It's starting to just become to ridiculous. The author is trying to make everyone 'good' and only fighting because of responsibility and coincidence, but all it really does is make the story a joke. On five separate occasions the characters have been 'forced' to fight each other when they could of solved everything by just sitting down and talking. Something you'd expect them to do when they're all 'friends'. Fighting because of miscommunication is barely acceptable in games and novels when it's solo combat. In this we have the characters doing the same thing and causing hundreds of thousands of casualties. It's ridiculous. It might of been fine if the author did it once or twice throughout the entire story, but it's happened in 5 consecutive encounters/battles. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
October 19, 2016
Status: c42
This novel deserves no more than three stars. It's a classic reincarnation story in the real world, except the author apparently is an idiot. The things the MC does are quite literally impossible. This isn't a xianxia or magic world. This is suppose to be real life, yet he pulls sh*t out of his ass so often It's absurd.

The other gripe I have with this story is the author's OBVIOUS, lack of direction in where to take the story. I have absolutely no problem with harems in stories. Yes I... more>> get they're ridiculous in real life scenarios, but I always feel bad for the others love interests when they get left behind.
The problem I have with this story, is that it sets out for the first 20-30 chapters basically being about him and his one true love. He goes back in time specifically for her, and the entire reason he died in his past life is because of depression from not being with her. When he gets his second chance, he gets her, promptly ignores her, and then tries to f*ck everyone that moves.

If the story simply started out with him just wanting to go back in time, or just had some other main motivation it would be acceptable. Not only does this ruin a potentially decent romance, it shows the author has no idea what he's doing. He couldn't stick to the overarching plot he himself made for more than 20 chapters. That shows such a level of poor writing that I don't even want to TRY reading further along. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
August 15, 2016
Status: c50
Previous Review
... more>>
Spoiler

I was kinda surprised when I started reading this novel. I started with a rather bad view on it from some reviews, and with how he gets the naruto system, but after reading a bit I started to like it.

The way he gets the random power isn't really all that different from the usually godly luck and deus ex machine a normal xianxia character. After I got past that, I enjoyed the story. The fights are rather interesting and it's cool to see him use the variety of Naruto powers against common xianxia abilities.

There are a few things I find rather annoying about it. The last few chapters 40-50 have been nothing but a large info dump. While the info is needed for world building, the author could of done a LOT better of a job.
The other thing that bugs me is that it doesn't seem like the author is actually keeping track of how many points he has to upgrade. Just recently he killed several thousand magical wolves (assumed to be tier 2-4) which should be worth several hundred thousand points. In addition to that, he's fought 2 major battles (didn't kill his opponent though) as well as killing several bodyguards of a high ranking noble. He didn't get points for any of them for some reason.

[collapse]

Gonna have to lower my score again. The story took its somewhat original idea and then shat on it with a bunch of common boring tropes.
Spoiler

He randomly meets a group of girls. Then he joins their academy and immediately goes into a f**king tournament arc.

[collapse]

F**k this story for getting me interested and then f**king it up right after.

Also. This story continually says the MCs full name every damn sentence. Instead of "John says hello, " it's "John Doe says hello." Every time it should mention the MC by his first name, it mentions him by his full name.

It makes it so cringeworthy to read. It's terrible. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast
The Trembling World
August 11, 2016
Status: c58
This story is TERRIBLE. Nearly 60 chapters in and NOTHING has happened. The first 10 chapters the MC does nothing, and then gets trapped on a billboard. He then proceeds to actual have a fight, then files back to doing nothing for 40+ chapters. NOTHING HAPPENS. This has to be one of the most boring stories I've ever read. I WISH I could get the time I wasted reading so far back. Don't read this story. Just don't.
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
October 27, 2016
Status: c100
This story could of been amazing. The premise is actually rather interesting, but the final outcome makes it all go to waste.

The story is abysmally slow. Considering his experience as a million year old scholar, I'd expect him to easily coast along the initial stages of cultivation. It's literally 100 chapters in and he's not even close to being out of the first realm of cultivators, in what is likely to be at least a dozen f*cking realms. The MC is forced to go from random event to random event... more>> clawing his way through menial bullshit. No one gives a f*ck about these minor realms. Literally nothing that happens in such a low realm actually matters to the story at large. It's so aggravating to see such a good premise go so horribly wrong. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Running Away From The Hero!
March 28, 2017
Status: c8
This story was really good... at first.
The first 4 chapters were great.
5 stars easily for the first 4.

Unfortunately, after the 4th chapter, the MC basically becomes a side character and we're forced to deal with a cast of annoying side characters. There are a few entertaining moments in chapter 5 onwards, but they're FEW and far between.
At best I'd rate all the chapters after 4 at a 2.

In short, read to chapter 4 of the story and then just stop. Going any further will ruin this story.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
March 22, 2016
Status: v47c4
This was one of the first translated novels I ever read, and it's what made me such a fan of them. Even after several read throughs, I still find the story to be extremely entertaining. While the story starts off a tad slow compared to later on, it's understandable because of how well the author uses that time to build the world.

The biggest thing that 1st time readers will likely doubt about the story is the whole sculpting skill, but if you stick with it for a little bit, the... more>> author uses it to create what is probably one of the most awesome skill sets I've seen in fantasy, and even the regular sculpting scenes are facinating to read, especially when he starts creating larger and more elaborate sculptures.

The main character is amazing. He's a greedy, antisocial, as*hole at times (part of his charm is how greedy he is) and you always find yourself rooting for him. The setting and world in general are incredibly detailed and well fleshed out. One of the most interesting things in the story is that the female lead is actually stronger than the male lead for almost the entire story (albeit he would almost definitely win if he went all out and planned for such an encounter)

It's rather hard for me to actually find anything I'd change about the story, except maybe having the romance being a bit more often.
If you have the time, this is a must read novel.
5/5

Edit as of v47c4

While v30-40 kinda dropped in quality compared to v1-30, the story is right back up to the greatness it had at the beginning for v40+.
The stakes are rising ever higher, and the author continues to add to his world. I honestly cried when Weed mastered sculpting. After all the heartache and sh*t he had to go through, it was cathartic to have him finally finish.

It's also great to see some true feelings from Weed. While he kinda stagnated at first, over the 40+ volumes he's grown into a real character imo. It's great to see the contrasts as he is now compared to the start. It's one of the few stories I can see a noticible change in a character over time. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
The Nine Cauldrons
November 10, 2016
Status: c30
Honestly I really hated the intro to this novel. I really could care less about the first book. Nothing relevant to the story actually happens and every single f*cking character is going to disappear.

Yes. We learn some about the character, but that's it. There are hundreds of better ways to tell us this information instead of this bullshit. Personally, I recommend skipping the entire first book. It's a waste of time to read and you won't miss anything. The second book is barely started and I can't form an opinion... more>> yet, but overall this is looking like the worst IET novel by FAR. Even worse than Swallowed Star. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast
Killing Grounds of Gods and Devils
August 10, 2016
Status: c119
This story is terrible. The world the author creates makes no sense. People level up randomly. Goblins somehow have ridiculous strength, not to mention everything else. The plot is just retarded. It makes no sense.

The idea behind the story is just so terrible it ruins everything. It's like the author decided 'let's make a shitty story where bad things happen' and went from there. It seems like there's no planning involved. The only noteworthy thing is that the relations between the three main characters is rather good. That's it.

Everything else... more>> is just full of so much sh*t it reeks. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Lazy Dungeon Master
March 24, 2016
Status: --
This story had such potential. I've always thought that being a dungeon master would be kinda cool, but so far only Evil God Average has pulled it off with any degree of success. The MC of the story is rather annoying and is unlikeable. If the story focused more on the dungeon creation aspect, it might have kept me interested but it lost me as soon as he left the dungeon.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
I read the first few chapters, and I'm kinda disappointed. Rather confused as well. Not even going into the whole he can enslave people, which is already pretty weird, the thing that really bothers me is how the story starts.

The author has everyone in the entire world die in a freak accident, and then reincarnate into a different world. How the f*ck is that even possible? The new world wouldn't be able to support them. Not to mention they all start out at the same age they 'died' at. Why... more>> the hell do you call it reincarnation, if all that really happens is that they get teleported to a new world. I hate authors that do this. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Dungeon Defense
August 22, 2016
Status: v2c2
I'm rather disappointed in this story. Maybe it's because I went in with pre-existing thoughts on the story, but just didn't work for me.
That said, there are many things good about the story.

First off, the writing is phenomenal. The translator did an excellent job as well. The world the author created was also interesting.
The character was really well done...

Up until volume 2 when the author just lost me. His personality just made no sense in context.

Maybe I'll pick it up again later when the story has more stuff... more>> translated, but for now it's dropped. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
CaptainToast
CaptainToast rated it
Absolute Choice
December 20, 2016
Status: c34
I was pretty excited about this at first, but I almost lost the enthusiasm I had for it.
... more>>
Spoiler

The thing that really got to me is how much bullsh*t the author tried to get past the reader. The MCis recognized as easily the best genius of his generation, possibly even EVER, yet his treatment is shit.
What makes it even more confusing is that right before he started being treated like shit, the author specifically mentioned that the group he's in is essentially pulling out all the stops to keep him loyal and train him. They assign a high ranking genius/ojou-sama to be his mentor and then they apparently forget entirely about the situation.
The mentor promptly f*cks off to somewhere for no reason, and he's assigned to follow the regular recruits (which is even more mind boggling because he would of ended up there anyways.)
The BIGGEST f*ck up is that the teacher is some sadistic f*ck. The guy fails at least half a class every single time, letting a sh*t ton of skilled people fail out because of he's crazy. That's the only reason given. After molesting and nearly instantly failing the MC, his very next action is to mislead the MC into doing a trial that 9/10 people DIE in.
How the f*ck is this person a teacher? There is no way ANYONE would let this f*cking idiot anywhere near recruits. Hell I'm surprised he's even ALIVE with the sh*t he apparently pulls.
I can take a lot of sh*t in stories, but this was just ridiculous

[collapse]

The story does get a lot better once you get past the utter bullsh*t that is his first teacher. I really started to enjoy it after the the arc. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report