Report Review
43 Reviews


BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Reincarnation into the Barrier Master
January 18, 2017
Status: c54
Utterly disappointing.

EDIT: After the first dozen or so chapters there are less of issues #1 & #2. However, #3 & #4 are pretty much in full swing up until I stopped reading. I tried to give it a second chance, but its not worth investing my interest in continuing. ... more>>
Spoiler

1) Time Skips nearly every chapter. If that was going to be the case then why start the story at such a young age? Or why not just have all the time skips in one go? What is the point of checking up on the progress of the character if there is ZERO world building, ZERO character building, and the importance of the chapter can be summed up in a character sheet of before and after?
2) WORD COUNT! Each chapter (up to ch. 8 at this point) is between 300 and 800 words. Too little to do anything of real significance. I thought it might be the translator breaking up the chapters, but its not even parts of a single chapter.
3) Character gave up his personality way too soon. Start off with thoughts of escape and in 2 seconds flat is devoted to the woman who bought him? Would like the author to at least say that his near death experience because he might have not been sold was staged. Make some rage for his long years of devotion or something, PLEASE!
4) Eragon Training Method or ETt as I call it. Teach the MC basically nothing and immediately have a master magician start beating him? 2 Thumbs down for this training method.
There is more, but these are the 4 main problems that have caused me to pound my head into a wall wondering why I'm still reading it.

[collapse]

Good luck to both the author and translator. I hope it gets better. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok
Stop, Friendly Fire!
October 21, 2018
Status: c3 part3
First off, each "part" is about the length of a normal Web novel chapter, so the author has that going.

The premise was an interesting idea, but maybe it was just my misreading it, but I thought the story would be more about the challenges of being an undead while his friends who weren't kept trying to kill him. Instead its about the MC who is undead and killing his natural teammates, the other undead. Not necessarily a bad story idea, but just not the one I was expecting or hoping... more>> for.

Here is the major flaw of this story in my eyes - the story revolves heavily around stats and levels, making a big deal out of it most of the time, but then the MC pulls these miracle wins out of his hat all because he stabbed harder after dying. Now he gets a stat boost from dying, but there is a significant difference between level 1 and 2 but he ignores that? Find myself not caring about the stats, which means I find myself not caring about the main portion of the story. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Konjiki no Moji Tsukai (WN)
September 18, 2016
Status: c185
Interesting plot. Liked the whole "innocent bystander" bit. Word magic is good. Characters are interesting. Fights are awesome...

So why is it that there are like only 20-40 chapters that I really liked? Even when I was first reading this series there were a number of chapters in which I just skimmed or quickly read, trying to get back to the interesting parts. Now, whenever I go back to re-read it, I just skip to the chapters that I liked and don't bother with anything else.

I stopped reading this series because... more>> of the Tournament Arc. That is death to this series for me. Absolutely 0 interest to read it and it took about 30 chapters (still don't know if they finished or not). Would recommend to read this after you've read all the other best stories or when you're really bored. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Ore wa LV99999, Shikashi, Ore no Tokei ga 1
August 5, 2018
Status: c4
First off, chapter 0 and 1 are the same. Little tip, just ignore chapter one it makes the story slightly more bearable.

Second, maybe the story just hasn't progressed far enough to understand why, but the MC was only chosen because he gave a talking monster some food, then gets left alone for 10 years. So the story starts off with a really really slow beginning. Several chapters in and there is finally a hint of a story, but the reward is to fix the MC's broken stats. And when I... more>> say broken I mean that they're all maxed out at 1/1 except for intelligence which can go up to 999, but for some reason this isn't useful.

I was really hoping for something more unique and interesting out of this story, but my rule is if I'm not interested by the first 5 chapters then I probably won't be interested in the rest of the story so best to stop now. And yes, I count chapter 0 as a chapter even if its also chapter 1. If the writer sees this review then here are a few things to work on:

  1. Spoiler
    • If you want to go with a slow beginning then there needs to be more about what the character does on a daily basis, or what makes the main character our main character.
    • Level 99999 but with max of 1 stats really puts you into a writing corner, but its possible to come out. You had a great moment where he scares off enemies by showing his level, more interesting stuff like that. Like maybe a king grants him nobility because he's afraid his kingdom will get destroyed if he doesn't. And is the MC underpowered or not? What is a regular villagers stats?
    • Why should I care about the characters? We have next to zero importance or background from each person. The MC might be another worlder because he knows about Manga, but so what? The Priest might be important because she was "saved" but so what? What does she bring to the story other than being attacked, being unable to walk (MC gives a piggy-back ride), and chats with a god who isn't a god? What did the MC do before he fed a dragon and did nothing for 10 years?
    [collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
HP9999999999
February 8, 2018
Status: c9
For a story that was named HP9999999999 it sure is odd that the MC has every stat maxed and every ability set to World Destruction mode. If the author wanted to go that route why not call the story something like "Ultimate Demon King" or "Maxed Beginning Character" or Stats999999999? I was more interested in a character that the only thing op about him was his high health or a character that lost the ability to regenerate his health and starts the world with billions of health points, but alas... more>> neither of those appeared.

One of the key things I have to stress about these stories that seemingly begin without any plot what-so-ever... you need a plot. Even if its just a slice of life or a storyline about a character doing everything thing in his power to avoid doing work or trying to sleep for 24 hours a day... you need something. Unfortunately what we have here is a leader type character who acts like a whipped dog and follows anyone.

Oh, and what happened to the MC? Why did he forget the thing that he said like 2 minutes ago?
Spoiler

"I won't kill a single thing." two paragraphs later he wipes out an entire human army. He could have sent his own armies, lord knows they wanted to go fight, but instead he just uses one of his world destroying moves and kills everything. What happened to not killing stuff?

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Main Character Hides His Strength
January 18, 2017
Status: c117
EDIT: Liked the story, characters, world, and plot so much that I purchased the translated book off of Amazon. Would highly recommend supporting author/translator.

So far its highly enjoyable and I would strongly recommend this story to anyone. Maybe Spoilers:
... more>>
Spoiler

Premise is that the MC was previously summoned along with others to a very dangerous world. He grew to become extremely OP, but gained a lot of enemies. As he's trying to destroy the Demon Lords one of them becomes a ghost or etheral and his max strength stat is useless so he must go through the summoning process again in order to gain skills that would allow him to kill the demon lords when they turn into ghosts. But he can't just blast through the beginning area otherwise he'd call the wrath of all his enemies down on him and even he wouldn't be able to survive.
So OP, but only when no one's looking. Cool.

[collapse]

Quickly becoming one of my favorites. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Boundary Labyrinth and the Foreign Magician
November 7, 2016
Status: c42
Maybe read the first 5 chapters and then stop!

This story had good build up, a built world, and promising characters, but shortly after you were shown a glimpse of what it could be, it quickly turns south. Not sure which would be worse. Reading this all the way through again or drinking a Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster (LOOK IT UP!). Grammatical problems, paragraph issues, word play that doesn't make sense when translated into English...

I kept waiting for it to get better. I really did! To the point where I was... more>> reading it long past the point that I could tolerate it, but except for a few brief moments of good ideas from the author I finally had to pronounce this story dead. I read until the 42nd chapter just for the sake of reference, but I won't be reading this again, nor will I come back. Sorry author & translator. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Goblin Slayer
September 18, 2016
Status: v2 prologue
Vicious. Graphic. Realistic. Gore. The main character (MC) is not the goblin slayer, but a priestess who follows along after an unfortunate quest. The goblin slayer is a guy (maybe?) in a suit of armor that seems to be well experienced in killing goblins due to some past event that drove him to hunt down goblins. At first the story seemed to be hinting the the goblin slayer CAN'T hunt anything besides goblins but that really doesn't seem to be the case, just a strong urge to prevent others from... more>> succumbing to the events of his past. Only problem with this series is that its short either due to the translators or due to the author already turning it into a manga. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Necromancers Guide to Magic
February 4, 2017
Status: c17
First off, I believe that this should NOT be on Novel Updates, but rather on the many dozens of fan-fic sites out there. That being said, that did not affect my rating for this LN.

This LN follows the Harry Potter series almost scene for scene. There isn't an ounce of originality, and yes its a fan-fic, but there is an entire world outside of Harry Potter that the author didn't bother with. The "new" character, the necromancer, is very self-conflicted with his own personality. He is in love with necromancy... more>> magic and dead things, but wants to get on everyone's good side and then kills a kid for no other reason than he wanted an undead servant. When trying to figure out what I found enjoyable and why I kept reading it became obvious to me that I was actually fairly bored with the story.

Pros:
-If you loved the Harry Potter series than there's few reasons to dislike this fan-fic.
-Apparently the only thing that prevents him from being OP is that he lacks access to dead bodies and necromancy magic takes a toll on his body. Would be interesting to see how the author handles that since he is/isn't going to go on a murder spree.
-A lot of the spelling mistakes and grammatical errors seem to have been fixed so its easier to read now.

Cons:
-Very unoriginal Fan-fic. Only originality is to take a necromancer and throw him into the Harry Potter Series.
-Only deviation so far from the original series is one scene where he kills a kid and raises him as an undead-not-so-dead-looking servant.
-Predictable. Since it follows the original scenes you pretty much know how the characters will react. When in class, talk about class stuff/teachers/students. When you have the Sorting Hat, have the MC push the decision to what parents wanted the children to be in. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok
The Defeated Dragon
August 5, 2018
Status: c15
A fairly good kingdom building light novel. There is some interesting parts with divine/game-like missions for the MC whose only op power is the fact that he came from another world and can read different languages which the missions are apparently written in.

I love reading these types of world building stories where the MC doesn't really do something too outrageous like summoning a lake or instantly wiping out all the nearby monsters for no reason. This one seems like a more believable fantasy story. Its all about how a declining... more>> kingdom gets some help from the MC and his knowledge and mission rewards.

Will reserve rating for more chapters. Pass/fail/success information on Rules to follow below:

Rule of 5 - if not interested by first 5 chapters stop reading.

Rule of 10 - if the story has not progressed or shown little to no hints about the direction of the future of the story, stop reading.

Rule of 15 - If the story has started to change or does not resemble what was written about or hinted about in the first 5 chapters then determine if it is worth continuing to read.
    • Rule of 5 - Passed
    • Rule of 10 - Passed
    • Rule of 15 - Success
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Knights & Magic
January 18, 2017
Status: c33 part5
Completely believable! Modern day fan of Giant Robots fighting, finds himself in a world that HAS giant robots that fight other giant robots and monsters that threaten to destroy towns and thousands of people? What fan wouldn't have a raging nerd-boner in that kind of situation?

Love the monster battles and love the troubles of building giant mechs and the near constant war between kingdoms.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
Really liked this story up until about the 40th chapter. Can't exactly explain why, but for some reason when the main character (MC) was in the initial town training and then went to the next area; that was the best part.
... more>>
Spoiler

After that the story starts to drag and the MC becomes a sort of ambassador of a big nation moving into a smaller nation telling it what to do and how to improve.

[collapse]

A decent attempt at making the MC both under-powered and overpowered at the same time. I also liked the fact the the character list (at least initially) was kept short.

EDIT:
I decided to take another look since I saw that translators were getting close to the 200th chapter. I feel like the author started to take note of how off track he/she had gotten and started to fix the story a little after chapter 100. It still has some issues (later chapters are still less appealing than the beginning chapters), but it seems to be getting better.

2ND EDIT:

About chapter 140-150 the story starts picking up again. My issue with the story is that it becomes very boring in the beast kingdom and I get a strong case of the "whatever's" there. After the MC leaves the story picks up again. Almost like the entire section in the beast kingdom is a series of filler chapters. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Overlord (LN)
June 25, 2018
Status: blu-ray 4 special - prologue part2
There seems to be a majority of reviews that like this story, but I cannot endorse it. In the spoilers below I list off the reasons to read/not read this story. I had to do bullet points because it made explaining so much easier. Simply put, there are 2 good reasons and 2 interesting reasons to read this story, and at least 9 really good reasons NOT to read this story.

I almost gave this review a 1 star, but because there are some really good scenes scattered throughout the series... more>> I felt that anything less than a 2 star review would be too harsh.

Reasons to read this story:

  • Anime/Manga is slow to come out
Spoiler
  • Game world come to life
  • hints that MC is not the only player from the game. Kind of like picking up the breadcrumbs here and there, trying to follow the plot to some far off objective.
  • OP MC / OP MC fight scenes
  • Other Normal evil guys get destroyed
[collapse]

Reasons to NOT read this story:

Spoiler
  • Character building of non-MC minions serves only to pinpoint which characters will die (RR Martin method). Hint: if its not the MC, and its not one of his minions, then I'm expecting pretty much everyone to die at some point.
  • really felt bad for some of the characters the MC either killed off or the survivors that the MC hasn't yet killed off. 2 little kids waiting for sister to take them from abusive family, but sister is brutally murdered. Wow.
  • MC is evil, but really only through association of his minions, that is until volume 7 or so when he starts doing his own evil stuff like wiping out entire armies, but by then I found myself wondering about the MC's character.
  • is the MC evil or good? Grey areas are fine, but what is this back and forth whiplash? Evil seems to be his primary mode, but then random acts of kindness pop up for almost no reason.
  • Albedo - incredibly awkward stalker character. Stalker characters can be good, but generally the MC has to know about them. Here the MC has like an understanding about her infatuation, but knows nothing about her stalker actions.
  • no challenge, MC can cast rank 10 level spells, but rank 6 spells are considered godly to the other races. Will never be challenged.
  • MC saves people, but most of them will end up dead either as soon as he turns around or he'll kill them later on.
  • Entire series is build up of some plot, but I'm not entirely certain the author really knows what plot he's using. Is the MC the only player from the game? Is the MC really turning into his undead-god character? Is he a world unifying force? Will he expand the world and become the center of trade and research in the future? Difficult to say what the author is doing.
  • majority of the story is not from MC's point of view. Nearly the entire Lizardmen arc for instance was from the lizards point of view. Ever wanted to know how lizards mate? Either watch a nature documentary or read this arc. While some instances of this were great, the majority of the time it makes me wonder who the MC really is from time to time.
[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
Its difficult to explain how I feel about this light novel (LN).

Its like the author had nothing, but that led to something. Then when you thought the author had something, it seems like nothing, but he doesn't have nothing just more than nothing, but less than you thought when the author had something...

At first I liked this story and from nearly the beginning you knew exactly what this was. A story about a main character (MC) that was extremely overpowered to the point where he could beat anything in the... more>> world if he wanted to. However, the MC decides that he doesn't want to do anything really. He just wants to live a comfortable life, with someone to enjoy it with him.

The problem is, that the MC really does do nothing all the time and the author puts so little emphasis on the day-to-day life that you wonder what the point of the story is. Is it just to read about someone who could do something but really would rather just have s*x with his wife all day? This LN seems like an everyday daydream where you'd like to be on the beach sipping beer with no responsibilities ever.

If the author actually makes something interesting out of the MC's every day life or if some plot actually happens then maybe i'll start reading this series again, but for now I'm done reading. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Can’t Stop Craving Potions
January 18, 2017
Status: c17
Not much can be said for this story since its still really early, but I can say that I am interested. OP MC is getting high/drunk on potions and relaxing. ... more>>
Spoiler

He seems to have a plan for something, but is now realizing that something has gone awry and he might actually have to do some work. I love the way that people try to convince him to work and he's like the immovable object because he's so powerful. I get the feeling that he'll fight all of China's upper ranked hunters and still win. I hope its an epic battle filled with desperation for China's forces.

[collapse]

A little confusing about his reincarnation. Is his awakening a reincarnation? Do people rank up by living multiple lives in an instant when they awaken? What's the golden light when they rank up/awaken? Curious what the author is going to do.

EDIT:

Still waiting to see where the author takes the story. Good foreshadowing and a really interesting background into the "can't stop craving potions" aspect of the story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
January 10, 2017
Status: v4c21
Volume 1 was quite enjoyable, but volumes 2 and 3 seem to be mostly pointless and with Volume 4 I can't help but wonder if there was anything that will be significant later on.

Overall I'm not impressed, which is sad because I really thought the author started out well. Every once in a while after volume 1 we get brief glimpses of something interesting, but then the story seems to follow the side story of the Main Character trying to find a goal.

... more>>
Spoiler

This Spoiler is meant to be informative about my personal views of the story and giving insight to any author that wrote/read this story.

Volume 1 - All about the overpowered main character coming to terms with the new world and allowing himself to get roped into a beautiful elf-woman's quest that points him towards the path of becoming a virtuous hero. Loved this volume, ended well.

Volume 2 - All About the overpowered main character moving around in the new world and allowing himself to get roped into a beautiful cat-woman's quest that points him towards the path of becoming a villainous hero. Not anywhere near as good as volume 1. Seemed like a darker copy of volume 1.
*Also, an interesting bit where he revives a bunch of dead people. As of volume 4 nothing really done with this.

Volume 3 - Everyone reveals that they are a racist, even the MC (a little bit). Then all of a sudden they come across a town that doesn't appear to have that racism and discrimination (seemed perfect for a plot twist, but nothing happened). For all I care this volume could be destroyed.

Volume 4 - MC finds a hint that he can reverse the skeleton avatar appearance, but its only temporary. Loved the near coma that happened due to him losing his skeleton avatar appearance and thought process. First sign of a relationship as the elf he has been with since volume 1 finally sees him as a man. Something about previous other worlder and beastman clans... I don't know. I really started losing all interest in the story during this volume.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Only Sense Online (LN)
September 18, 2016
Status: v7 afterword
A good light novel (LN) when you're more into interesting things and mechanics rather than actual combat. That being said there is combat, but I feel like the combat is clearly not the strong point of this LN. The creation of the gear, the disposable items, the importance of multiple roles and teamwork, that's where the LN stands strong.

Doesn't seem to do too much with the alternate-s*x in-game character, but I'm not sure if that is a bad thing.

If you're looking for an overpowered or action LN then you've come... more>> to the wrong place. But if you're looking for creations, experiments, summons, cute moments and plenty of friends hanging out and having fun then you've come to the right place. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Summoned Slaughterer
September 18, 2016
Status: c98
The Dexter of Light Novels (LN) ! I've loved this LN from the first chapter (now at chapter 66) ... more>>
Spoiler

where the main character (MC) kills a god, and then travels to another world and starts killing people of lesser and lesser rank. The poetic image of the MC killing lesser and lesser ranked beings is quite strong and repeated throughout the series

[collapse]
. Would highly recommend this and have to anyone. The story progression is believable and exciting and a few times you'll be taken by surprise when you're rooting for a change in character or the survival of another but something different happens. 5 stars!

EDIT:

Story is taking a weird turn. Definitely dropped to a 4 star.

Spoiler

MC is turning into a chaotic evil villain forcing monsters to power up with experimental equipment while at the same time he goes off alone to the beastman kingdom, slaughters a bunch of animals hapazardly and then finds a kingdom of "knights". Slightly interested in the bear beastman going insane, but the story is starting to go overlord or RR Martin on me. Killing off characters and making the reader feel bad for the enemy is not really a good story move.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Summoning the Holy Sword
November 2, 2018
Status: c19
Not too bad of a story, but I agree with a prior reviewer that the author made out everything to make the MC be the glorified genius and kills off anyone even remotely close to his level of skill or knowledge. So I can understand why some people won't like it.

That being said, the translators did a wonderful job, the story is well written and I found myself enjoying both the story and the combat sequences-to a degree. Not the best I've ever read, but certainly better than most.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
If you can't stand slow-paced stories then do not pick up. Its almost infuriating now to find authors now that write these slow-short chapters. To use an analogy, if a volume was 24 hours in real life, the first chapter is rolling out of bed.

30 chapters in the story is starting to pick up speed and we see an actual plot just around the corner, but its taking the author/translator months to get 1 chapter out. Hoping, but not expecting better in the future.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3