Report Review
35 Reviews


BobChan
BobChan rated it
If You Are a Dodder Flower
September 16, 2019
Status: c20 part1
Just about 1/3 of the way and I've read the words 'quiet' and 'obedient', more than I can count with my two hands. And there's still many more to come. It's ridiculous how the author uses it and adds after, "If she could only stay like this forever" or "Their gaze turned gentler seeing her so obedient".

... more>>
Spoiler

A few examples:
Ch. 1 part 2
Her (Cheng Wan) neck was long and white as snow, it was a beautiful curve when she lowered her neck, at the same time it also symbolizes her humble obedience.

This action of hers has made Cao Xiong felt satisfying.

Ch. 2 part 1
She's (Cheng Wan is) not clever, sometimes blurry, the worse is she doesn't really pay attention, when anything happens, she doesn't have any idea on what to do. She only knows to be gentle and obedient.

Ch. 2 part 2
This woman is soft and obedient, she is just like a plant of dodder flower raised in Cao Xiong's room, can only be used for relaxing and decorate the scenery to be more pleasing. Even Cao Xiong himself thought the same looking at Cheng Wan.

Ch. 2 part 2
Obedient, that was his third thought. That attitude, within her softness there was a sense of obeisance that would satisfy a man.

Ch. 3 part 2
Before he met her, he already had some thoughts in mind. If she is obedient, then they will take her as their little sister, accommodate her to study on a university, and help her choose a great husband in the future, and we'll act as her maiden home. But, if she is a troublemaker, then he will let her live comfortably until she turns into an adult, and give her some money to do whatever she wants.
Ch. 3 part 2
Fortunately, Xia Rou looked like an obedient child. He hoped that she would behave like her mother and not make any troubles to the family.

Ch. 4 part 1
Seeing the child obediently listening to her advice, Lady Fang's expression wasn't as serious. Although she didn't like the child's status, she still pitied her for becoming an orphan; her eyes when she looked at her were friendlier now.

Ch. 4 part 2
Great, this girl is very quiet. If she could be this quiet forever, that would be best.

To give her food, clothes and shelter, and then let her study in a university. The way she looked now, she didn't seem to be troublesome.

Ch. 5 part 2
"She looks fine. She cried for a bit so she's probably still upset. Just give her some comfort. She even burnt some paper money for Aunt Cheng just now." He thought of it and added: "Quite sensible, and quiet."

Ch. 6 part 1
Cheng Wan's personality had always been as such. When someone exerted force, she would choose to simply be obedient. It was really luck that had brought her to Cao Xiong after she had been dumped by her former husband.

Ch. 6 part 2
In the eyes of an elder, an obedient child was usually lovely.

[collapse]

The bones of the plot can be considered to be good, but paired off with the 'silence and obedience is virtue of a girl'—it just becomes bland.

As the other reviews had stated, the author writes mildly in a sexist way. The female protagonist is one that does go with the flow, but they're rather just meek and a white lotus.

At this point of the story, I can't say that I'm too interested but it's not so bad yet—there's just annoyance at the number of sexist terms used and how it's just accepted because of what happened.

The translation quality is very good though. Would recommend if you really have time to read, are bored out of your mind, have patience, and can take what is being written with a grain of salt. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
To be honest, I really tried to read it but the story was really killing me. It's written in a first person aspect (as most otome game novels are) but the writing level at best is mediocre, not to be mean. The story is cute, but it's just how the author words/ portrays things that just kills everything.

The first thing is the MC.

... more>>
Spoiler

she's someone who is supposed to have no sin, but as far as I could tell... She should have 'pride' as a sin. Plus there's no way that someone is as pure as to have committed no sin, unless you didn't live at all. It's not like she's humble or modest, you can say. She blatantly blows herself up at any chance she gets, constantly reminding us, readers that she's a 'great' doctor and has lived for 20 + 2 years. It's too a point where it is the ticket for her to go the Imperial Palace (I forgot what it's called.) so that her father can go show her off to people. But when they get there, she's abandoned by her 'doting' father and is left to the wolves, who only want her as to climb up the hierarchy.

[collapse]

Another issue is the MC's action with her age. She's... 22 mentally when we first read about her in the otome game world but she acts and thinks as if she's a preteen that had yet to reach puberty.

Spoiler

Not only did she decide to hide in a rose bush that would have stabbed you and left many holes, she stepped on the ML and act as if she's never experienced contact with a body before. Also, her 'doctorly' actions were poor and you probably wouldn't want her as your doctor.

Moving on from their initial encounter that was crudely done, it goes onto the MC's and ML's interactions that are as flat as Salar de Uyuni. The ML's attraction to the MC is that she makes his blood 'pump' because he has a condition where his heart isn't normally pumping blood. (Makes you kind of wonder how he's survived this long) Meeting the MC and drinking her blood (which tastes like chocolate (strange to say)) triggered the attraction. Then it turns strange but isn't bad, where the ML is an 'm'. The sounds of whipping made him feel excited. Just prostrating himself on his knees before her was making his blood pump faster than normal for him. *cough*

[collapse]

Mustn't forget that she's only two in the otome game world initially and only three years had lapsed since then, making her only eight.

Spoiler

She then gets a 'wicked' idea after that little part to bite him as he wanted her to, to scare him. (Like... Did you forget that he's an 'm'? You're basically gifting him a present there 😂. Her luck is as bad as ever, getting caught by her father as she straddles the ML. It really makes you wonder what the f*ck is actually going on and does the author remember that they're very young children?

[collapse]

Secondly, is the introduction and how flat the parents are.

Spoiler

Not only did they make up in the worst kind of way ever (with the MC acting totally OOC and not for her age), with a pointless red blanket/ sheet thrown over her father and her mother coming in to see this... like that's another sin there already for the MC, deceit. Ahem, but going on... aren't you a vampire? So how could you not tell that your lover is dead or not? Not only did you fail to use your senses, the make up was just a 'total misunderstanding' with both side not wanting to speak to each other...

[collapse]

There's some more issues but too lazy to write and go back to it.

Overall, it would have been a one star with the one too many unrealistic and incomprehensible ideas but the translator tried their best to translate the story... And they deserve a standing ovation for sticking with the story and trying to translate it.

Character Development: 1

World Environment: 1 (basically almost nonexistent with barely any information given to paint the picture)

Translation Quality: 3.5

Story Development: 1

Recommendation? No, unless you have a lot of free time and a big brain, then perhaps so. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
May 9, 2018
Status: c26.3
Ahhh! It's a good read, if you like 'The Reader and Protagonist Definitely Have to Be in True Love', then you'll also like this one. I cried at c26.3, the MC isn't useless and actually is brave even though he's scared for the ML. You get to see their relationship blossom and grow, I can't wait to see how it will develop.

The MC isn't a genius and his actions are understandable, he's relatable and funny at times. The ML is adorable and cute, but... more>> sly and cunning. He doesn't start out as an all powerful person, you get to see his growth and he's actually quite pitiful tbh. So far the read has been very interesting but I'm dying at the cliff hanger atm. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Bark!?
December 6, 2018
Status: c15
Funny and loveable story. The MC is relatable and his thoughts and actions are justifiable. Some parts to what occurs in the novel is too hilarious and made my stomach hurt at times from over laughing.

Surprisingly the ML is *cough* quite funny as well. He’s not omnipotent or super powerful which is surprising but it’s a nice change to see.

Story is short but it entertains you and pulls you in as you continue to read. The translator did a superb job. (Thank you for the awesome translation)

Would highly recommend... more>> to read if you want some diabetes and some comedy. Though I would say that if you’re expecting some r-rated things... you will be disappointed. The story is more on the sweet and subtle, it should actually just be categorized as “Shounen Ai” and remove “Yaoi”. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
Ah! It's a great story, even though the elements can be a little dark but it's a fascinating read. I would recommend it!

The MC isn't stuck up or stupid rather he's actually quite thoughtful of the ML and also considers things before acting as he knows that it will influence the outcome of the novel.

I find the two of the extremely cute, the ML doesn't know himself that he's drawn to the MC and is protective of him. The level of translation for the novel is easy to read and... more>> follow, the translator (thank you so much btw) makes great notes and comments. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
So far I'm disappointed with the MC, it's very frustrating that she just eats and eats their torments towards her and like doesn't do much. Even though the MC was inside the hospital all her life before the system kidnapped her it's like don't you have some fighting power inside of you? Like its natural for you to want to retaliate against others, but all you do is act... *sigh* trying to give this novel a chance but so far I'm very annoyed with how the MC is currently going.

TBH,... more>> if the system kidnaps you shouldn't you have something special especially since you passed it's test? It would be better to peace things together than leave the reader reading 23 chapters only to be frustrated with how the MC is acting.... >.>

Best of luck to those who want to try and read it! I'll try and pursue but IDK if I'll make it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Starlight Has No Past
May 23, 2019
Status: c19 part2
Initially I came to read the novel looking for some decent/ good smut. Unfortunately, this novel doesn't have any so far. Not even a small trace of it and I think it should just be romance and mature, while removing the 'smut' genre. Also, there wasn't any written review on this, so I gave it my thoughts. Not a superb review at all.

As for the story, I think it's alright. It's not super amazing, but it's not horrendous too. The story begins after the break up with her BF and... more>> she meets her neighbor who is the ML.

So far their interactions have just been a probing game of seeing what the other person is like. They do have s*x but it's skimmed over. I think it's a more slow read with less face slapping and any action but it's not to the point where nothing exciting or blood pumping happens. I also think it's refreshing to see an MC not caught on getting revenge on a man who broke up with her for another, she's more calm in this manner and more accepting of the situation. It is just that at times, what the author wrote makes it seem as if she's still stuck up on it, nevertheless, her interactions with the ML overrides it. It's just that so far, I would like to see more interactions between the two on a more personal level then what is already being displayed.

If I had to rate it honestly, it would be a 3.5 but the translation is good and understandable, it's just that the format of the website is annoying and instead of the words being completely put down onto the next line, it cuts off instead at random parts of the word, making it hard to read.

But you should definitely give this book a chance. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Hello, Heir
May 29, 2018
Status: c12
The translator is doing a great job but the story so far has been very annoying, to the point where I want to slap the MC. I just don't understand her so called 'logical' acts, why throw yourself to a man that doesn't even acknowledge you? ARGH!!! I don't recommend this novel unless you have a lot of free time to read this urking novel. Best of luck to whoever does! Thank you for translating the novel though author!
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Good Morning, Mr. President!
April 27, 2018
Status: c4
i thought it would be similar to “one child two treasures: billionaire chef’s good wife but it’s not. The MC has a short burst of anger after meeting the ML who r*ped her and made her give birth to his son, tbh that’s unrealistic and it’s annoying. Secondly, they (MC and her son) forgave the father so soon and easily it’s laughable, shouldn’t you hold resentment for the man who took advantage of your mom. Shouldn’t you be mad at the man who kidnap your child for his own needs?... more>> Shouldn’t you be mad at the man who took away everything you had and embarrassed you without even showing your face? Like at least be more realistic about the situation. It’s kind of frustrating seeing such a situation. But you can go ahead and read if you want I just rather not because of the situation. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Family S*x Slave
January 9, 2019
Status: c3
It’s a quick read filled with good *cough* smuxy (smut + smexy) scenes~ Although we haven’t gotten anywhere besides from the bed to the couch... (And a little bit of school?) It’s still better then on the floor right? Or maybe that would be better...? More space (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

I wouldn’t recommend for you to read this novel if you’re not alright with seeing 3P/ 4P, incest, and some good kinky scenes.

The translation is well done and doesn’t have... more>> you questioning certain scenes or actions within the story. (Thank you, Sei~) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Aloof King and Cool (Acting) Queen
December 23, 2018
Status: c45
I think this is a cute story overall, but there's some parts lacking in the story and character development. I would've liked to see their characters growth instead of time skip (maybe?) but it is a short story. There isn't much of a conflict here as it only lasts about four to five chapters (?) (don't really remember). There's many cute interactions between the MC and the ML, that will give you sweets. It's not heavy fluff as well so keep in mind that you will not be getting... more>> any diabetes from this. Last thing is that if you're looking for some good *cough* *cough* drugs... You might find this one disappointing as the scene is very short and leaves us rotten people congested and wanting a wee bit more than what was offered to us.

But if you have time and is looking for a very quick read with not much drama, this is the read for you~! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Heroic Death System
June 10, 2018
Status: c50
its takes on a interesting point of view on this type on genre. It will make your eyes sweat more than once. The translator is magnificent and the author makes the story very interesting playing with the aspects inside of the arc.

It can be more on the dark side at times because of physiological issues that come up because of seeing someone you live die over and over again but it’s reasonable. When the main couple have their fluff fluff moments it’s all too adorable. The MC is related and... more>> isn’t unrealistic in his actions. There are a lot of funny parts in the story. Overall I would recommend you to read.... maybe with a box of Kleenex by your side. No maybe 2 of them. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
Ahhh! I highly recommend this novel, there are many aspects that make it a great novel. The MC isn't unrealistic and is relate-able, the ML is understanding and is sweet to the ML. Their relationship builds up in a great way and isn't fast paced, thought the beginning it can be like a 'wtf' moment, later on in the things will explain itself! Warning the NSFW will make your nose bleed non stop. The translator was magnificent with her translation and also provided visuals that were for the novel and... more>> helps out.

Also warning, this novel will also make you cry and boogers flow. Very touching. I would re read this novel in the future because I find the fluffy parts too adorable and also their snu snu scenes to be too damn hot. Thank you for translating this! This novel deserves more attention because it's a great read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Mei Gongqing
April 21, 2018
Status: c92
I find the MC overly complicated tbh, I'm trying to like her but she's so fickle with her feelings... >.> I wish for her happiness too but I really do hate her actions from time to time and her attitude can be annoying also at times. I would recommend that if you don't have a good patience don't read this novel, I would recommend Chongfei Manual more than this one as it at least continues to entertain you... *Sigh* overall it's alright right I would've... more>> given it a 2 but I feel like that maybe too harsh. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Fields of Gold
October 28, 2019
Status: c137
So far so good~! I am enjoying how the story is progressing so far. But as much as I enjoy it, there are some things that have been bugging me as I've read.

1.

... more>>
Spoiler

Minor Tantalizing Villains That's Won't Die. The fact that Madam Zheng (I don't remember the step mother's name...) and Madam Li are a common occurrence that continuously pop up and annoy the MC and her family. I understand that they're family and all and it's for a more realistic pov but nothing so far has been done to mitigate their existence.

[collapse]

2.

Spoiler

Typical Mary Sue... yes, it's kind of bothersome to see how many will just fall in love with the MC (at times) with no rhyme or reason. I get good impression but it's not just good impression she attained—she basically gets them as a whole on her 'side'. They'll ferociously defend her and is unable to see her faults at time.

[collapse]

3.

Spoiler

The MC. It's written that her mental age is thirty something but she doesn't even act like an adult and more of a teenager who's about to hit their twenties/ or is in their early twenties. She's not bad, but it can be irksome at certain point when you're reading and you see her Mary Sue act.

[collapse]

4.

Spoiler

MC's view. She's came from modern China (another timeline) and she's was sent to a more feudal time. Although it's not 100% Ancient China (due to the other transmigraters) the people still adhere to some of the orthodox ways of thinking. The MC's lack of comprehension (at times) can be very annoying. Yes, she's from a more modern time—where it's more open minded—but she's also a thirty something year old lady and fails to read the situation before saying anything. She often pushes her way of thinking and doesn't realize that she could get into a lot of trouble despite it being more lax than it had been in her timeline.

[collapse]

Thankfully the story so far is light and not dark other wise bodies would have been dropping in the novel. Quite frankly it was frustrating to read when the MC's intelligence falls low, thus I skimmed a lot when it came to those points.

5.

Spoiler

The number of gluttons... It was funny at first, then it turned to boring... The amount of time the same plot is spun makes it boorish and flat. She cooks something that isn't known within this time period: she gets attention, people like her, they praise her, she gets money from it, she draws in even more attention and goodwill. There's no 'treasuring a jade ring becomes a crime' when it comes to her.

[collapse]

6.

Spoiler

'The Love Interests'. There isn't any but just seeing those who 'fall' for her pile up is... aggravating to read. It's very spurious. There is still the mentality where 'females shouldn't be so close with males'. It doesn't click in with the MC though (her modern mindset I guess... and lack of understanding the difference between then and now, other than when she's cooking and seeing which dishes aren't available currently). Truthfully, if it was from another person's POV, she would seem like a temptress, 'messing' with so many people of the opposite sex. (She's only 8-9 currently but at the rate the plot is repeated with people falling for her, it looks like it'll still be used in the later chapters as well.)

[collapse]

Its an enjoyable read but that doesn't mean that it doesn't come with some cons. Currently at 137, she's still around 8-9 years old so... the story is progressing rather slow. (There's also a lot of repeated plots so... things can get repetitive and boring.)

p.s. there's no love development at all so far and as some of the other's have stated:

Spoiler

It may seem like there'll be a harem with how many guys are attracted to her cooking but she only ends up with the ML (the kid they saved from the shipwreck). If you're going to read for romance... probably wait until they get to the 200s for the chapters.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Marry! My Black Horse
April 11, 2019
Status: c78 part2
Story is mediocre at best. There’s smut here and there but it doesn’t get to explicit as the story progresses.

I didn’t like the MC very much. She is the typical I-do-what-I-want-and-you-can’t-do-anything-about-it, childish, and coy acting to escape her husbands ‘punishments’ MC. Sometimes I found her to be frustrating to read about but nevertheless, without her the book wouldn’t be what it is.

As for the ML, he is the typical almost mensao-like ML. He bullies the MC but is truly in love with her. He pampers her a lot later on... more>> and is the common beast in bed devouring the poor rabbit type.

Besides the main couple, there’s two side couples that you get to see their ending. To be honest... There’s a lot that I don’t agree on in the novel, such as the third couple’s relationship. I felt that it was unforgivable for what he did but I also found the fML in that relationship to be very stupid at her never ending persistence. The author tries to smooth out their relationship with all the ‘I loved you but I just didn’t realize my feeling’ scenario, but I still found it hard to forgive what happened before. I find that many CN novels have a redeeming route for even the lowest of the lowest douche bags MLs, and that was also used in here, even though the ML wasn’t a super douche.

The translation is readable with minor grammatical error and missing words from time to time. Not too much of an issue, as your brain usually fills in the blank or rearranged the wording so that it would make sense.

Overall, if you want to read a fluff/ overbearing husband (s) (with some sort of complications) then the story would be good for you. I found this read not to be as satisfying as some others but if you need to kill some time, this would do. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Screen Partner
December 21, 2018
Status: c31
There are no words to describe how cute the two are! I highly recommend reading this as it is a good read, it not only shows the elevation of the two’s love but also the visible struggles that a person may have on their relationship.

Although the beginning can be hard to get through, one because of the MC’s thinking and two, because of the ML, it is actually worth it. The two did not start on a ‘fall in Love at first sight’, and ironic as it maybe... they fit... more>> the role they had applied for~ Best of all... Those smut scenes are a gracious gift from the heavens to us, rotten people!!! Caution that the terms used can be... Very explicit causing major nosebleeds or squealing (but it’s worth it you know?)

Story Rating: 4/5

Character Rating: 4/5

Development Rating: 3.5/5

Total Rating: 4/5

A major thank you for Kleeps for the amazing translation!!! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Reborn into a Hamster for 233 Days
December 13, 2018
Status: c130
The story is well paced and doesn't leave the readers bored, always pulling the readers to want to know what happens next (with all them cliffhangers *cough*). The interaction between the MC and ML are very cute and they don't start at the beginning liking each other as some stories have it, their bond builds as they spend more time and interact with each other. The author and beautiful translator (WHO IS A MIRACLE!) has done a wonderful job of being able to evoke sympathy and sometimes wanting to make... more>> the reader cry at the events that occur in the story. (Not even mentioning the events that cause the readers to blow their lid off and want to shake a certain something and smack them down.)

I would highly recommend the story to those who want a slice of life but still in the realm of supernatural. There is also many fluff scene between the XY (MC) and YJ (ML), not to say that it is smooth sailing all the way as there are some mishaps and irking situations in the story. Unfortunately for some rotten women... It's tagged as 'Shounen Ai' so be prepared to just get soft soft soft love. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
Every World Seems Not Quite Right (Quick Transmigration)
December 7, 2018
Status: c50 part1
The story is still developing at this point but so far so good. The ML is possessive (in the beginning may not be liked by some readers but like hey, give a chance.) OP as true to YY type novels just without the harem (obviously because of the MC joining in).

Will update as more updates come....
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BobChan
BobChan rated it
The Prince’s Loyal Lover
November 22, 2018
Status: c6
I wish it was longer and more detailed but it is a short and entertaining story. The shou is shameless but its not overly done. The translator did a fantastic job and the flow of the story is well. I would recommend this story if you're looking for something very quick to fill your day.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report