Report Review
Report Reason:
37 Reviews


BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
October 13, 2016
Status: c21
It's well written, almost like a real book and not the usual fast food novels we use to read. The story is well written with flashbacks, intensive world building and profound characters. On the "down side" all that world building is slowing down the story compared to others but it is worth it imo. MC is pretty much a know it all but he's not arrogant at all.

So kudos to the author, it should be a real novel lol.
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Beast Piercing The Heavens
July 26, 2016
Status: c58
Way oversold in the description, it's only average wuxia with standard idiots as opponents and an author that'll take every opportunity he can to make him meet a new love interest, so far there's 3 of them (so a girl every 20 chapters in average...).

That's why I hate harems, half the story revolves around MC's love dramas.
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Perfect World
January 19, 2016
Status: --
Awesome novel, though I find a bit destabilizing MC’s changes of personality after he discovers his past (ch90 or so).

He goes from one who doesn’t want to kill evildoers at the start to a greedy perverted scoundrel who’d do anything for precious bones/blood and goes over the top all the time.

Hope it’s just a phase or I might just ditch it.

Edit: Changed it into a 2/5 because of the personality changes that became unbearable.
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
I kinda like the novels with ability stealers but this one scores too high on the pervert schale.

MC spends 1/2 of his time doing pervert stuff like using wind spells to see undies or when he gets the curse magic, first spell he gets is conveniently the s*xual attraction curse and what is MC first reaction? Mixing it with water spells to make tentacles magic...

I can bare some stuff here and there but it’s so constant that the story is slow really really slow.

Plus fights are boring as hell... more>> and the author’s writing style is bad. If you like the genre go check “To deprive a deprived person” <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
October 8, 2015
Status: --
I can't read any more of this stuff.

I read up to chapter 112 and the battles are really lame

Although the MC is a good guy and I like that and the overall world and magic theories are great etc..., the fights consist solely on both fighters using magic items after magic items until the MC wins/flee

... more>> MC has no skills/technics whatsoever and it's getting annoying to see the same fight over and over with a new magic item addition once in awhile.

The only pseudo skill he got is by making a hundred or so trash swords flight towards the enemy while hidding 2 OP sword in the bunch.

It's a shame cause it had a good start. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Long Live Summons!
September 9, 2015
Status: --
That's story is such a waste.

I really like the magic system, the world and the power the MC gets in the beginning, I'd give it a 5/5.

But unfortunately, the MC is such a jerk that at each chapter, I'm tempted to stop reading it.

He treats everyone like sh*t, lie pathogenicly, and kill without a second thought making his monster eat people alive.

He's arrogant like hell and s*xually harass every girl with boobs big enough for his standards and he even keep a powerful monster by his side just... more>> to hit it when he gets moody.

And that's only up to chapter 50.

I'd give 0/5 for the MC so I rated 2 stars as a middle ground.

I also fear that MC would be too much OP for a good story line but that, only time would tell us. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Dragon Martial Emperor
May 14, 2016
Status: --
That story quickly gets boring, most of the time it simply follows a revenge cycle. Everyone is hostile, condescending, greedy, scheming etc... You can count on one hand the amount of decent characters.

When I read stuff like that, I really wonder how there's still anyone alive in those sort of universe. Plus how can students stay faithful to a sect or want to stay in the sect while they're bullied by everyone, stolen from, spoiled by elders of the sect or they have to become the henchmen of some... more>> duchbag, close their month and don't posses any treasure to be safe. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
9 Heavenly Thunder Manual
February 9, 2016
Status: --
Average xianxia story, interesting to pass time up to a point if it was not for the exaggerated racism.

The modern world setting is a good change but MC becomes very strong very fast and you have the usual arrogant characters facing MC.

The racism begins from the moment he gets to Japan.

The author depicts the Japanese as disgusting people, all corrupted and serial rapist with some who even kills someone and f*ck the corpse.

And if people don’t get the hint, MC mocks the height of the Japanese and is... more>> saying several times that the kou people (japanese) disgust him <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88
A Will Eternal
July 3, 2016
Status: c40
Like the others I found the novel quite funny. The MC never believes what he does is good enough even while doing ground shaking results.

He's cunning and greedy and he'd do anything to live longer but he doesn't like to fight. I love how he wants to show off but is too afraid to do it.

I don't like people comparing him to LLS though, LLS' MC is a d*ck, an excuse of a human being but this one only stole a few chicken and find a cunning way... more>> to win money. He could at worse be called a scoundrel. He's not a pervert, he's not a sadist nor cruel. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
May 15, 2016
Status: c41
Among the game-like world type of novels it's among the top ftm. For once, we don't have the dumb perverted MC looking to form a slave harem.

The first 5-6 are pretty boring, MC isn't really a hunter yet but most of all, the 26yo MC speaks like a 13yo.

But after that it becomes better, good story plot and evolution and although MC still doesn't speak as a 26yo (imo), he becomes more mature and thoughtful.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Magi’s Grandson
December 27, 2015
Status: --
On the contrary of the other comments, I don't mind MC being OP, there's excellent story with OP MC around as long as the story and the world is interesting.

I really like how he uses modern knowledge to be stronger with his magic.

Although there's some stupid, illogical stuff I don't like.

eg: MC teach the mages that to become good at magic they have to improve their magic power and control, they didn't know that before *facepalm*

MC has a brilliant idea to invent a sword where you can change... more>> the blade during the fights and everyone is so impressed, the kingdom wants all their Knights to have it but what's the point when you have to carry the blade anyway, just change the damn sword.

Despite that their's a nice plot going on so far, so I'll wait and see. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Child of Light
February 13, 2016
Status: --
Read up to v8c2.

Brommance is gone and the romance started and even the beginning? Of the harem.

Usually I'm not a fan of harems but it's well introduced, logical so I don't mind.

The story I agree is not the typical xianxia and has a feel of slice of life sometimes but that change of the usual hack&slash of the other novels.

It's also has more realistic fights with limited amount of mana and even if MC is a genius he can't fight someone as strong as him and follow... more>> up with an army of 10k.

Sometimes the characters do idiotic things for love but that's not unrealistic even if some might find it stupid.

Overall it's not a bad story and it really change from the usual stuff so it's nice to read. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
November 5, 2016
Status: c11
Interesting concept, it's a modern type society based on cultivation. I find it refreshing and new and highly recommend to give it a try.

They use technology based on magic glyphs and the society seems to be driven by money. People wants to be cultivator in order to get money and you have to go through school and university in order to enter a sect.

MC is a poor orphan student in one of those high school and he's struggling to become a cultivator and an artifact builder despite the discrimination... more>> the poor students gets from the school and his lack of money. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Chaotic Lightning Cultivation
June 25, 2016
Status: c35
It's good to pass time while waiting for the good stuff to come out, nothing more nothing less. It makes me laugh when some people compare that cheap story to ISSTH lol.

I enjoy reading it for now but it's the kind of story with a ticking bomb sticking on it and you'll probably quickly drop it. MC has an interesting and novative power but basically he's a cocky jerk. Story wise, it's the basic stuff, you'd read in most cheap wuxia nowadays.

So, when the interesting power won't interest... more>> me enough to compensate for the MC's behavior, I'll drop this. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
I'm at ch6 atm

Seems quite promising, doesn't look like the dumb harem stuff we usually get with game like setup so far.

The story looks more mature and maybe darker as well.

Let's hope it stays good.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Genius Sword Immortal
January 25, 2016
Status: --
Really interesting MC and story imo.

The only stuff annoying me a bit is that girl Su Menhan, the author stays way too much time on her and her drama but it'll have to end at one point and MC is not at the stage of openly kicking asses yet (chap 50).

So that annoying point will probably disappear at one point.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
The Magus Era
July 22, 2016
Status: c192
Good story, interesting MC is truly smart (contrary to PMG or others where MC is depicted as smart but...) and he has a decent moral and doesn't go pick a fight every 5min

In some other novels, the MC is being ruthless because he says the world is like that but it's just a convenient tool to make the MC look cool destroying clans and making the plot advance creating new enemies. Here, the MC might be ruthless to some extent against evildoers but the world is really savage, hostile towards... more>> human beings and basically it looks like clans in old human history with mystical power and monsters on top of it. So it's a world where basically captured enemies will become either slaves (women kids and some warriors) or sacrifices to the clan's spirit once in a while (only warriors usually).

(might be considered as slight spoilers but not really)
Though I regret the way his friend Man Man develops, she's complete muscle brain while the author could have done much more with her. She's a rebellious girl, always being spoiled because of her status and strength but also cocooned with no knowledge about the real world. He could have slowly transforming her and opening her because of she finally got a friend and because of realizing that her status doesn't mean much in the outer world and her strength isn't enough but he keeps pushing her on the muscle brain side. But still good story, not planning to stop it after 200 chapters is a good sign usually. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Devouring The Heavens
February 10, 2016
Status: --
DTH is definitely not a master piece, really far from it but it’s still quite entertaining and has no real repulsive flaws so while waiting for other novel, it’s a good catch.

On the flaws list first an foremost, this story has a super fast rythm and you have no pause, going from one thing to another without much inner dialog, world building or xianxia concept explanations.

You probably won’t see any story spreading through several chapters and you jump from one thing to another at each chapter.

Plus, MC... more>> takes less than 10 chapters each time before jumping to the next cultivation realm, he’s got a body twice as strong as normal people, he’s super talented and master every skills in a couple of days.. When he’s lazy.

It’s so fast, it barely scratches the surface of the story and it seems as if the author would die if MC attain OP God level above chapter 60.

Plus he got the biggest plot luck ever, treasures, secret skills, money, everything jump right on his lap.

And without being overbearing, he’s shameless and a pervert.

The example of plot luck, he finds a young martial artist girl in his bed and gets hit while waking her.

Ofc he asks her to train him for a month as a compensation and she accepts god knows why and gives him rare medicines, precious treasures and teach him her peerless clan super secret skills.

“I know we met yesterday but here’s my secret skill but shh don’t tell anyone or my clan will try to kill you, the other clan will torture the skills out of you (hm, is it a good idea? Well whatever!) ” – worse secret keeper ever lol. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World
October 17, 2017
Status: c279
Best VRMMO story I've found despite what I could read in some comments.

The biggest problem for most of those stories is that it becomes repetitive at one point and let's face it we don't care about the bosses and the strategies MC uses to beat them at the tenth boss.

This one manages to avoid that by keeping the pvm to a minimum.

While ok, the beginning is kind of cliché, there's a bit of plot luck on the drops (although not over the top) and secondary characters might at time be... more>> a bit shallow but that's the case for every VRMMO I know of.

This story is the only one in the genre that managed to keep the story interesting and not repetitive while having no anoying characters or major / repulsive flawst at least so far. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BlackHat88
BlackHat88 rated it
Taming Master
October 5, 2016
Status: c9
Finally a taming/summoner story, and so far so good, I really hope it will continue that way. I really wanted to find a good one to read since LLS ended up having a piece of sh*t MC and the one with the slime summoner using his slimes as... washing machines...

The fact that it is a VR novel is good too it will help avoiding the annoying slice of life elements of most "reincarnation as a game character" type of stories.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report