Report Review
98 Reviews


BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
November 26, 2018
Status: c77
This novel is a hidden gem!

Everything from character development to the execution of the plot flowed flawlessly. With the addition of a hint of underlying humor and sarcasm, this novel is beautifully written.

Character:

The MC, as suggested by the title, is a Korean who transmigrated into the body of a trash noble in a novel he was reading. The goal of the MC is to live a peaceful life as a wealthy hermit and avoid all conflicts. But in order to do that, he needs to avoid the hero of the... more>> novel, who had beaten up the trash in the original storyline, and find ways to protect himself. The MC is a very rational individual who values his life above all else, so he ends up looking for ancient powers to protect himself with as well as earning money, because money is the only reliable thing in the world. Along the way, the MC picks up the hero, who is another transmigrated Korean, and ends up raising the hero to be a pretty upright gentleman. The MC also helps the hero gather his strong sidekicks ahead of time in the hopes the hero would leave the MC alone, but of course, the hero starts to get attached to the MC (the hero is like those full of justice type of characters and feel the need to help the weak) as the MC ends up saving people and animals left and right. Even though the MC comes off as an aloof individual, he is more of a softie as he time and again display his caring side. The MC is not op, but his companions are very op, like the hero, black dragon, beast people, etc. Despite the fact that the MC is the weakest within his group of companions, the interactions between the MC and supporting characters are very amusing and heartwarming.

Plot:

The storyline is fairly cliché with the MC's trashy personality turning into a cunning character as he grows stronger. From saving the kingdom from terrorist attacks to helping the beast tribe, the MC is embroiled into an epic conspiracy that he slowly unravels. Despite the fact that this is your typical "the unsung hero's adventure" type of plot with the MC pulling the strings from behind the scenes most of the time, there is no romance or harem! I repeat, there is NO romance or harem! It is so difficult to find a good transmigration story without romance or harem in it, so I am very satisfied with the development of this story so far.

Overall:

This is a great novel that completely stole my attention away. I finished all chapters within a single day because I was that addicted to it! I am eagerly waiting for new chapters to come out, so it goes without saying that I highly recommend this novel! <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
September 18, 2018
Status: c440
The story was great from chapter 1 to chapter ~400ish till I got to the part where:

... more>>
Spoiler

the MC got s*xually molested/harassed by the ML. The worst part is that the MC was unconscious and perhaps even injured when the ML suddenly became horny and started groping the MC's chest. Even though the MC and ML are technically husband and wife in name (they have not consummated their marriage yet), it does not give the ML any right to be s*xually molesting the unconscious MC. Especially since the ML outright hated the MC at first and had even attempted to strangle the MC during their bridal night. It is understandable that the ML's attitude towards the MC may change with time after interacting with her more, but to jump from starting to develop feelings/realizing it's love to straight up molesting the MC is way too disturbing and disgusting. That shot up from 1 to 100 real quick. The reaction of the MC after waking up in the middle of being s*xually molested was to just kick the ML and then quietly rage without doing anything else is just downright disappointing since at the beginning the MC gave off the vibe of a carefree smart female lead who has seen all the modern world could offer before evolving into a 10 year old child who becomes easily dazed by handsome men and "shocking news". Like for real, have you never seen idols/celebs/models before in the modern world who is 99999x times more handsome than ancient Chinese men who usually ties their hair up in a man-bun??? The MC's intellect honestly seem to have deteriorated as the story goes on and becomes more prone to emotional outbursts or just holding in all of her complaints to herself when it's perfectly justified to explain herself to avoid future misunderstandings.

on another note, the main male lead is not only a tsundere, but also has a communication barrier that prevents him from properly communicating to people around him. He also has a hot temper and there are many monologues of what he is thinking inside his head that shows up in the story. Even though he has a lot of words to say, for some reason, he is always tongue tied and ends up saying nothing instead, which is just frustrating to read about. While the second male lead is just a nutcase who lives in his own little world. The second male lead keeps on pining after the MC when she has already told him to stay away from her, so I guess he would be called a perverted stalker at this point since he always randomly pops up in front of the MC to curry favor with her and profess his love.

overall, the novel was alright up to the point the author tried to get the MC and ML together, but then everything kinda fell apart after that. The MC failed to stick to her character while the ML turned into a pervert and the second male lead is just crazy so I gave up the novel. I only held on for so long to see how the MC and ML would get together but it turned out to be a complete letdown with the way the ML just forced himself onto the MC without a care for her feelings or opinions. And the way the ML keeps on reassuring himself with excuses that he did nothing wrong is so hypocritical I can't stand it anymore. If I was the MC instead, I would have just divorced the ML regardless of whatever reputation/gossip would go around, grab my money, and leave the freckin city to start a new life somewhere else.

[collapse]
<<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
The first 2-3 volumes were good till the ML decided to lowkey s*xually molest/almost rape the MC... like wtf?!?!

It might just be my personal preference, but teasing MLs that want to get reactions out of MCs is fine and all till ya start harassing/molesting the MC, cause at that point, I would want to report the ML to the police and get a restraining order on the ML. I don't understand why the author tries to romanticize rape when the MC in the novel explicitly tells the ML to stop... more>> his harassment, especially when the MC couldn't recognize the ML (who was in disguise as a random stranger). For real, if any one was s*xually harassed by a random person (didn't know the harasser was his/her lover), it is perfectly normal to feel disgusted, yet somehow the author makes the MC like?/feel pleasant? about being s*xually molested? I am so confused on why/how the author thought that these molesting scenes would have worked out in any way...

So in summary, everything was good up till the last volume where the MC kept on being molested/harassed/almost-raped/teased by the ML and even somehow easily forgave the ML, like why/how?!?! I guess the author was trying to pass the point, "love is blind", across in the last volume, cause if that was the case, then I can only agree that love is indeed blind, so blind that the MC tolerated being s*xually harassed and almost raped and even easily forgave the harasser/potential rapist. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
January 7, 2018
Status: c383
The MC is super OP in real life and in game with a tragic past, so it is really fascinating to see how little tidbits of his past is uncovered. Personally, this MC is my ideal type of protagonist to read about since the MC is overpowered, mysterious, calm/cold, and has a tragic past. The main characters are also really interesting because the 'Three Brothers" complement each other in terms of character and fighting abilities, plus the comedy between them is hilarious at times, especially Lin Le. The story seems... more>> to be a parody/mash up of sorts since martial arts, virtual gaming, aliens, artificial beings, beast men, hell/higher order, and etc. Comes into play, so sometimes I think there might be too many things going on at the same time. For example, there would be a scene where in the real world the MC is doing something, then the scene suddenly switches to hell, then goes back to the real world, which really makes you wonder where the plot is moving. I'm not saying this a bad thing, but if this type of switching back and forth between unrelated scenes occur many times, then it gets kind of irritating. In terms of side characters, I REALLY HATE THORNY ROSE. Thorny Rose is those types of hot blooded, greedy, and nosy characters that you would usually see as a villain/third wheel, but in this case, Thorny Rose is portrayed as a potential love interest for the MC which is darn annoying. The only reason that I subtracted 1 star from my rating is because of how greedy and hot blooded Thorny Rose and some of the other female side characters are. The way that Thorny Rose and other female characters get pissed off at the smallest of things and start to become angry is really boring and hypocritical to read and at this point, I just really want someone to kill off Thorny Rose because of her lack of character development/huffy puffy crazy personality. Overall, I am looking forward to see how the plot plays out and I am praying that the MC does not end up with Thorny Rose because I feel like shooting her. My ship is Ye Cang (MC) x NalanPureSoul! GO FUJOSHI! \^O^/ <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
March 12, 2018
Status: Completed
I can't. I just can't.

I love reading bl as much as the next fujoshi, but this one is just not my cup of tea or coffee.

First off, the MC is suppose to be clever and full of schemes as the tags suggest..... nah. The MC may have started out with an average human's IQ, but then it quickly deteriorated into an afraid-of-death-but-still-horny-for-ML type of attitude. Basically, our MC turns into a love-struck idiotic fool by the end of the story with no resemblance of the cleverness the MC showed in... more>> the beginning. There was no character development for the MC, instead I would say he even regressed back to childhood with no brains other than hogging his favorite toy (the ML).

In terms of side characters, they actually have some depth/background to them. The second male leads have the quality to actually replace the MC and ML as the main couple. The ML is the Emperor/ice cube/facial paralysis type of character which would have been fine, but his personality resembles too much of the ML from A Mistaken Marriage Match: Mysteries in the Imperial Harem. If any one has read that book, you'll understand what I mean because the ML from both of these novels are literally the same; egotistical, short tempered, violent, and basically just an a**hole.

Overall, this novel was very disappointing because I was expecting a clever/smart MC (did not need to be a genius, but at least an average IQ), but ended up with a retarded fool. For those who like iceberg MLs, braindead MCs, angsty moments, and loving second male leads that should have taken over the ML's role, I recommend to give this novel a try. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss
November 5, 2017
Status: c1217
First off, this is a transmigration novel with another "peerless genius from another world trying to become strong" armor plot. The MC has low EQ, high IQ, and basically a tsundere (cold on outside but warm on inside).

Secondly, the plot is fairly slow, but it does move along with intelligent behind the scene machinations from our MC and lovable male lead who is no surprise, a super powerful person and fell in love at first sight with MC. Good thing is the male lead is not one of those a**... more>> holes that keep on trying to tease the MC and anger her to death or those ultra controlling types.

And finally, THERE ARE CUTE FLUFFY BEASTS/ANIMALS IN THE STORY. Literally the only thing in the story that is keeping me from being bored. I live for those tiny scenes when the fluffy loyal creatures get their screen time in the novel.

Overall, the plot is fairly interesting with good character development, so it's an enjoyable read to pass the time. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
The Earth is Online
January 19, 2019
Status: Completed
One of the best bl novels I have ever read!

To give a more in-depth summary:

The MC was a librarian and met the ML (military commander) through an online game. They have both been teaming up online to play a game for years now, but have never actually met up in real life until the "end of the world". When the world ended, in order to survive, every human needs to play survival games made by the black tower and most often than not, the winner (s) of the game receives... more>> a reward while the loser (s) die. The only way to remove the black tower is to complete each floor of survival games in the black tower with a total of seven floors. All of humanity have started to develop special abilities and basically formed a dog eat dog world where the strong generally rule the weak.

Bl Development:

In terms of the romance department, it is considered a slow romance. Both the MC and ML slowly discover each other's identity as their virtual game teammate before confessing their feelings. The MC and ML have a tacit understanding with one another, meaning by just making eye contact, they already know what the other person is thinking. In this way, the chemistry between the MC and ML can be seen throughout the novel. The ML is very caring and considerate towards the MC, but don't worry, the MC is actually pretty proactive when it comes to skinship once their relationship as lovers is confirmed. The romance is very sweet and tame, so it leans more towards the shounen ai genre than the yaoi genre. As for male side characters, there are many ships to be made between them, but sadly they never sailed boo hoo hoo~

Overall:

The ending of the story is done very well, it gives a closure to the plot but it also leaves the readers wanting more about the afterstory of certain characters. The truth about the black tower is revealed at the end, so prepare for a plot twist! I enjoyed reading this novel very much and would most likely go back to reread it again in the future, so whether or not you like bl, I highly recommend to give this novel a try since the bl doesn't affect the suspense and thrill of the story. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
The Anarchic Consort
February 24, 2018
Status: Completed
The plot is just too repetitive. Or maybe I just read too many female transmigration novels so now I'm sick of cliché plots. Anyways, the MC is an extremely amazing assassin who transmigrated into the body of a "trash" who has been poisoned and had her power sealed up (doesn't this remind any one of The Good For Nothing's Seventh Young Lady storyline?). The ML is a devilishly handsome powerful alpha male (the same MC you can find anywhere) who went from trying to kill the MC to playing around... more>> with her like a prey/predator to slowly falling in love, but I have to admit, this is one of the worst personalities I have ever seen in an ML. Not only is the ML arrogant and perverse, but his attitude is leaning towards the looking down on women (mostly the MC) attitude which personally makes me uncomfortable. Also, the way that the ML is portrayed as a cold iceberg does not match with his personality. The ML also basically keeps on teasing the MC, who doesn't even act like an assassin because she's always somehow weaker than her enemies in terms of cultivation and power so eventually depends on the ML for like almost every dangerous situation. The MC's IQ and EQ seem to degenerate as the story goes along so instead of an assassin, she's more like a 15-16 year old horny girl in love.

In terms of side characters, they are the typical undying cockroaches serving as cannon fodders or for face slapping. The really annoying thing is that the MC's white lotus green tea b***h sisters/relatives/rivals never learn their lesson. After failing to get revenge once, they try again and again and again. They somehow respawn every time after getting beaten up, which goes back to the repetitive plot of face slapping/revenge.

The romance is not very fulfilling. To avoid too many spoilers, I'll just say that the couple is like a possessive icy cold man-child paired with a noob assassin who only knows how to catch magical handsome men/weapons. I would really like to read a novel where the female MC is OP while the ML is the one trying to get stronger, but there doesn't seem to be a novel like that out there.

Overall, my opinion is to skip this one. It is not really worth the time unless you're interested in oppressive two-faced MLs and an MC with an inconsistent image. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
The little Flower God and the Emperor
March 24, 2019
Status: Completed
A perfect short sweet story!

Detailed summary:

The MC is the little Flower God and is pursuing the Emperor of Heaven (ML). The Emperor has been single for thousands of years with no scandals to date, especially handsome, reticent, and a bookworm. With all these high specs, the MC naturally wants to be mounted by the Emperor. The way the MC chances after the ML is so straight forward and bold that it should become a model for all single dogs.

... more>> Overall:

This is an unbelievably sweet and fluffy short story. No drama, no angst, no nothing. It's a very simple plot with the focus on the MC chasing after the ML and their teeth-aching sweet interactions. Naturally, the ending is a happy one and I always recommend reading bl novels~ <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Chronicles of Primordial Wars
January 28, 2018
Status: c246
THIS IS A MUST READ!

1. The MC transmigrated to a primitive era x cultivation world with little to no cheat.

2. The world building is flawless! At the parts where details are needed, you got the details and at the parts where details can be vague, you got them vague. From the tribes and villages to the forests and mountains, you can almost imagine the scenes in your mind from the descriptions.

3. The MC got beast companions! At the moment, the MC got a giant eagle and a wolf, but I... more>> can see a crocodile coming soon. I have a thing for pets/beast companion novels because their interactions are so endearing. And I was not disappointed in this novel because I got exactly what I wanted. HEARTWARMING ANIMAL SCENES! I mean, can any one imagine a giant eagle hugging a human?! A cave lion cutely using his tail to knock on a door to announce guests?! Anyways, even if these scenes are small and hardly worth noticing in the overall plot, I still love it! Read for the animal scenes!

4. The relationships between the MC and side characters are wonderfully written! The MC develop familial relationships with his tribe and makes new friends along the journey. There are funny moments as well as touching moments. The feels just gets to you!

5. For the first time in forever~ The MC is single~ And I mean single in a way that not a single female character can be seen thus far that may be a potential love interest in the short or long run. I get tired of reading novels that have romance in it since things just get repetitive, cliché, or forgotten along the way, so it's just boring after a while. It's perfect for the story that the MC is single.

6. The MC is calm, rational, and values relationships with people. The one thing I really like about the MC is that he doesn't drag fights out with meaningless conversations or actions, he goes straight for the kill. Decision-making is quick and based on carefully thought-out consequences, very satisfied!

Overall, this novel is a gem! Highlyx100 recommend! This is unlike any novels I have read so far. The mix of primitive and low-key cultivation is ingenious! I wish more chapters were out because I just can't get enough. The MC and side characters are filled out with such depth and attitude that each and every one is unique. I am really impressed with the story! If you don't read this, you're missing out on life! ^O^ <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
November 27, 2017
Status: c613
The summary of this novel only applies to the first ~100-150 chapters, so let me attempt to summarize the rest of the chapters of what I've read so far.

  1. After the MC solves the "I’m not a main character? In fact, I’m actually the main character’s love rival and the antagonistic Mr. Perfect senior martial brother? This script is wrong!” problem, the MC goes on to traverse to different worlds!
  2. During the MC's travels, he has two very important goals which I will not spoil too much of, and naturally, through a bunch of fateful/fortuitous encounters becomes stronger than ever before!
  3. After getting stronger, the MC goes back to the Eight Extremities World and starts a passionate relationship with the female lead! But during this time period, there are also other sects secretly planning the downfall of the MC and his sect!
The exclamation marks was suppose to make my summary sound interesting in a sarcastic way, so I hope my point got across. Basically, the novel started out well, but then went down hill from there. At the beginning, the novel was pretty humorous and funny with snide remarks, but then every thing suddenly got serious and tragic. I'm a bit loss as to why some of the best supporting characters in my opinion got killed/disappeared to who-knows-where in the story's plot. It... more>> seemed like the author started out with a great idea then tried to find inspiration to continue the idea yet ended up referring to generic/cliché cultivation plot lines to continue the novel. The main issue I found is that all the parody/comedy that I was expecting based on the summary was gone after the first arc, so my interest in continue reading slowly diminished, but I still held on to some hope that may be the author would turn the story around to a comedy one again. But that never happened even after waiting for hundreds more chapters, so I am thoroughly disappointed by now.

To summarize my rant above: My interest in the novel is gone like the wind...

My suggestion after all my ranting though is: Please read the first arc to give the story a chance and then decide for yourself if it is worth continuing. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
November 6, 2017
Status: c175
I am a huge fan of otome games/harem novels, so this one goes into my AllTimesFav folder. The plot is interesting and funny while the MC is lovable to the max, so there is nothing to not like about the novel. Recommend this novel a try to all readers!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
The plot is great.

The side characters are great.

The contracted beasts are great.

The MC's cultivation development is great.

The only problem I have is the MC's and ML's character.

... more>>
Spoiler

From beginning to end, I think the ML's character never really changed. At the beginning, the ML is cold, aloof, and oppressive. At the end, the ML is still cold, aloof, and oppressive. The interactions between the MC and ML may be called a lover's banter, but I honestly see it as the ML being oppressive and not really respecting the MC. Even though the ML does love the MC and the MC also love the ML in return, their type of love is a bit difficult for me to digest hence my average rating. I read over 700+ chapters in the hopes that the ML may be slightly more loving instead of lusting after the MC, but I was sorely disappointed. In fact, after reading so many chapters, I've realized that the MC acts like a stereotypical housewife; he can cook, he can clean, he can take care of the contracted beasts, and above all, he is a meek submissive. While the ML acts like a stereotypical man of the house; he can fight, he doesn't need to cook, he doesn't need to clean, and above all, he is a dominant top that orders the wife around.

Perhaps I'm reading too much into this and there is actually nothing wrong at all. Perhaps the MC and ML really do have a great loving relationship and my brain is just not processing this. But in the end, one thing is for sure, and that is I don't really like this type of "love". The ML's love/lust is a bit too oppressive for my understanding and preference to handle. Overall, I would recommend reading this novel and then decide for yourselves if you want to continue. Even though this novel isn't my cup of tea/coffee/boba, it just may be yours.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Omniscient Reader’s Viewpoint
January 24, 2019
Status: c152
This novel is amazing! Amazing! AMAZING! Important things must be said thrice!

For a more in-depth summary with slight spoilers:

Our MC is an average guy that lived an average life. No relationships, no friends, and no hobbies; all he had was work and his favorite webnovel with over 1000+ chapters. His favorite webnovel wasn't very popular, so he ended up as the sole reader of the webnovel. One day, our MC found himself in a situation very similar to his favorite webnovel, and that is when the world ended. The world... more>> ended and the MC's epic journey as a prophet began! With each new scenario and plot twist that was based on his favorite webnovel, the MC soars through each and every challenge while gathering talents left and right. The original MC of his favorite webnovel became his hubby--cough cough, I mean became his companion and partner in crime in destroying all who stands in their path to glory! In order to survive in the apocalypse, one must kill and gather special abilities/equipment, which is exactly what our MC and ex-MC do. With each new adventure and massacre, our MC and ex-MC form a bond closer than no other! Now this is what I call bromance! This is what I call true lov--cough cough, I mean this is what I call comrades! It is only by relying on one another can our two MCs face off against the evil villains that destroyed Earth, the evil villains who watched Earth become a survival game for entertainment!

Characters:

MC: Changing from an average salary man to an average-face overpowered schemer, our MC is the best of the best!

Ex-MC: Changing from a handsome pro-gamer to a handsome tsundere murderer, our ex-MC should be sent to a mental hospital!

Other Characters: They are unnecessary! They only serve to highlight the prowess of our MC and ex-MC!

Overall:

I highly recommend this novel! With a hint of bromance that tinkles your heart and an overpowered MC (the type of person we all wish to be in reality and in dreams), what more can one wish for! Come on aboard to my famous ship, Escapism, and we shall set sail for the fictional horizons! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Trafford’s Trading Club
November 16, 2018
Status: c425
The summary of the novel is basically this: A university student becomes the owner of a supernatural shop that can fulfill its customers' wishes as long as a suitable price is paid. The MC (university student), receives supernatural powers from the shop such as teleportation, longevity, and others by gifting the shop's "demonic" altar the payment received by its customers. For ex. A customer may wish for a wealthy life in exchange for their soul after death. The MC is essentially an op merchant that has the ability to trade... more>> for any type of requests from its customers as long as the customers have something of value to use as trade. Not all customers use their souls as a trade item, some may trade away their emotions, precious jewels, or even decide to shorten their own lifespan to make their wish come true. As long as the transaction between the MC and his customers is considered "fair" by the shop's demonic altar, anything goes.

Characters:

The MC's character is very rational, and may even be considered cold/emotionless in some aspects. Because each arc mainly focuses on the customer's request and their side of the story, the MC acts like a neutral character or someone who just watches the show from the sidelines. On occasion, the MC intervenes in his customers' life as a cleanup staff to tie up loose ends, which the MC calls "after-services". By the point of 400chaps, the MC is like the most powerful character in the whole story, able to defeat the evil organization that shows up, able to defeat the last guardian dragon, etc. But the MC doesn't really act outside of his jurisdiction as a "devil trader". The MC is by no means an apostle of justice, he only acts when it involves his customers or his family members.

The other character that often show up in the story is the shop's robot maid. The robot maid served the previous shop owner, so she knows the ins and outs of how the shop generally operate. The maid is also somewhat op in terms of fighting power and knowledge. As time goes on, the maid starts to develop her own personality instead of acting like a monotone robot. Because there are different characters in different arcs, not many characters come back again in the story, and even if they do, it's only for a chapter or two, so it's hard to list all the supporting characters.

Plot Development:

The novel is fairly slow and goes into a lot of minor details/info dumps that may or may not be considered foreshadowing. After 400chaps, the novel is still cloaked in mystery regarding the previous shop owner, the origin of the mysterious demonic altar, the origin of the shop, etc. The MC likes to take his own sweet time with each customer, so in every arc, there is exceptional information regarding the customers' background and the outcomes of the transactions made between the MC. Instead of just focusing on the MC, the novel tend to switch between the customers' life and the MC, with most arcs showing the customers' perspectives.

Overall, the novel is fairly interesting and fresh compared to all the other sci-fi or cultivation novels out there. Because the novel lean more on the horror/mystery/dark side, it may not pique many people's interest, but it never hurts to give this novel a try if you're looking for a nice semi-spooky story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Guardian
October 23, 2018
Status: Completed
First off, I actually watched the drama before reading the novel in Chinese, so I didn't really know that this was suppose to be bl till I got to the novel. The drama is more about bromance and the crime cases that our MC and ML solves since China kinda censored all the bl scenes that should have been included in the drama, but oh whelp. At least we get to read about all the sweet and fluffy bl scenes in the novel!

The plot is basically summarized above, so I'll... more>> just get into some small spoilers~

1. The MC is Zhao Yunlan, who is surprisingly, the uke! While Professor Shen Wei is the seme so... huehuehue~ There are plenty of sweet and intimate moments between our MC and ML with little to no misunderstandings (no angst), which is always a pro.

2. The MC eventually regains the memories of his past life.

3. The ending is kinda anti-climatic/a cliff-hanger, but the extra side stories definitely help find a closure on the open ending. So no worries my fellow fujoshis, the ending is definitely a HE.

And from here on, the plot thickens~ <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
November 5, 2017
Status: c158
A new plot, a new character, and a new environment, this novel is a gem! There is character development from the MC, smooth sailing plot lines, and hilarious side characters, what more can one ask for? I am impressed with the depth of the story since it goes from light to heavy back to light again, generally with the story revolving in a light atmosphere. I got hooked onto this story and couldn't stop. Read through all the chapter in two days! Highly recommend for those looking for an interesting... more>> read and great translation! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Cannon Fodder Cheat System
March 26, 2019
Status: c53
A great bl system world hopping story! If you've read and enjoy Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil, then this novel should be right up your alley!

Pros:

    • ML finds MC or vice versa in each arc/world
    • ML is the same soul in every world
    • MC and ML have a history together but MC forgot about his past/the ML
    • 1v1 doting, powerful ML
    • Fluffy scenes
    • HE
Cons:

    • Not as detailed as other bl world hopping novels I've read, but still fairly decent
    • Though there are plenty of sweet moments, but my heart doesn't go doki doki often (or may be cause my heart has become stone cold after reading too many lovey-dovey stories that I'm immune to it by now)
Overall:

This is a very simple and straight forward story, not much drama or plot twists to stimulate readers, but the bl development is always sweet. This novel is a good relaxing read to pass the time, so I highly recommend this as a stress-reliever! :)
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
Looking Over at the Guy Across the Way
March 24, 2019
Status: Completed
I have cavities! This is too sweet!

The MC (a bottom), is chasing after his handsome neighbor (ML) who just moved in a couple doors down from his apartment. The ML (a top), is the perfect lover. The ML is shy and bashful at first, but after confirming his feelings, he is possessive and passionate towards the MC. Not only can the ML cook and clean, but can also fix computers and fight well. What more can one ask for?! The ML is the dream man! After a series of unfortunate... more>> and slightly dramatic events, the MC and ML finally get together for a happy ending.

The first part of the novel (~15 chapters) :

The MC chases after the ML and they start to change from strangers to friends to friends with benefits. The ML is very sweet and caring towards the MC even as neighbors, and the fluff continues throughout the novel. After establishing long-term contact with the MC, the ML begin to show signs of jealousy and possessive behavior while the MC's failed past relationship come to light.

The second part of the novel (~after 15 chapters) :

The MC and ML finally get together and eventually lives together. Compared to the beginning of the novel where the focus was on drama and relationship developments, the second half of the novel focuses more on the daily life of the MC and ML. There are more fluff and sweet moments as well as smexy scenes~ Not only are there more smexy scenes, but also snippets of the ML's inner thoughts.

Overall:

This novel is an overload of sugar! I have never truly felt how single I am till this moment! I am such a lonely single cat, I need a lover like the ML! (T^T)

Back to the point, the novel is a fabulous relaxing read. There is a great backstory of the MC's/ML's childhood, smooth plotline that tugs at your heartstrings, and many extras after the story that finds closure to the novel. This is one of the best teeth-aching sweet bl stories I have ever read, so I highly recommend this to all the rotten readers out there! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BillionJellyfish
BillionJellyfish rated it
I Favor the Villainess
December 22, 2018
Status: c85
As my first shoujo ai/girls love novel, I came in purely out of curiosity.

The premise of the novel is very simple: A 22 year old female worker is transmigrated into an otome game as the heroine. But instead of trying to capture the male targets, the MC is in love with the villainess and will use all means to be near and flirt with the villainess.

The story is more of a slice of life genre then anything else, so it was an enjoyable and relaxing read up till chapter 50-60s... more>> when the MC starts acting like a mentally ill patient with a bi-polar disorder. The MC will be flirty and happy one moment then become irrationally depressed and self-deprecating the next. For example, in the arc where Claire's onee-sama, M (shortened to make it easier to write), is transferred to Claire's school. The whole idea of this arc is to have M, who is also a homos*xual, to question the MC's feelings towards Claire and to act as the "bad cop" so as to move the plot along. Throughout this arc, the MC's mood swings from jealousy to anger to sorrow and all the negative emotions out there because M barged in as a third wheel. All the side characters in the novel are between 15-16 years of age while the MC is mentally 22, but the MC is portrayed like a child throwing a tantrum because her toy (Claire) was stolen away by M. At this point in the novel, I was slightly turned off by the emotional swings of the MC.

As the story goes on, many more conspiracies and characters pop up, but all of the new characters are female and homos*xuals?? I understand that this is a girls love novel, but it's very surprising that 3-4/5 characters in the novel is a female and a homos*xual. I'm starting to suspect that most of the male characters are actually female in disguise because of the large amount of female homos*xuals that are turning up in the story, to the point where it doesn't really make sense.

The largest turn off/con for me is the large amount of political/social issue info dump that are in the story. From a slice of genre, the novel is turning towards a rant of the author's political and social views. It was alright to talk about poverty, the abolishment of a class system, etc. but then the author/MC started mentioning how homos*xuals are attracted to others, what counts as bis*xual, etc. which got a bit too personal for my taste.

In terms of characters besides the MC, Claire (the MC's love interest), is a noble villainess. With an arrogant and stubborn personality, it's no wonder she's a villainess. Every time the MC teases/flirts with Claire, Claire usually responds with a rude remark disparaging commoners or the like, so it is within reason to believe that the MC is a true masochist as she likes to be verbally abused. After 80+ chapters, there is very little to no character development for Claire as she is a true tsundere. This may or may not be a con for some peeps, but I became a bit frustrated with the way Claire expects the MC to always make the first move or to "take the hints". With the way how Claire has a high upbringing and a wealthy background, there are very little things the MC (who is a commoner) can do to please Claire, so it is highly frustrating to see Claire act all snotty and stubborn, waiting for the MC to "make a move", when the MC has been trying to flirt and get together with Claire for 80+ chapters.

Overall, the beginning parts of the story was very fun and relaxing to read till ya begin to realize that there is really no character development going on... so I am a bit disappointed with the way the plot is moving forward. But I would still recommend ya all to give this novel a try, since it may just be your cup of tea or coffee~ <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5