Report Review
18 Reviews


Baabaablack
Baabaablack
Arafoo Kenja no Isekai Seikatsu Nikki
February 19, 2018
Status: --
I just started reading however I have no idea how to feel about what I read so far.

I don’t think the author understands how games or their fan base work and it throws me off. If this is going to be a good novel it will based on character driven dynamics.

This novel may induce nerd rage. Ex: character cast a spell that destroys goblins with the force of a black hole, vaporizing them, but their magic cores are unharmed because they’re harder than diamonds?

It’s like a 13 year old wanted... more>> to describe a cool battle scene but forgot to look up the definitions of the words they used. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack
Unlimited Cycles of Death
April 19, 2019
Status: c10
If the summary made no sense here is a different one:

6 strangers get brought to what they believe is the afterlife. Where they are sent is a old broken down orphanage to play a game to unlock the area and leave. Each player has a connection to the place but one of them is a murder. They must find the key before the murder kills them all. The novel has nothing to do with spaceships despite the cover image.

So far pretty good. Reminds me a bit of the movie cabin... more>> in the woods. Don’t wonder alone. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
Every World Seems Not Quite Right
February 11, 2018
Status: c11
The first ark is poorly written and kinda strange. I think the setting of the first world was supposed to be a rom-com but forgets the com. Main character changes his avatar’s act and everybody is in love with him. Except of the sister cause she is the villain in this arc and nobody loves the villain, or care about her apparently. One of these character’s turns out to be a yandere and MC just sort of coasts along the ordeal for ten years and doesn’t do anything at all.

Out... more>> of the three or four stories on novel updates I am currently reading with the same story type this one is my least favorite so far. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
Cub Raising Association
October 6, 2018
Status: c12
You either will love this series or hate it. Unfortunately I don't like it. The general idea of raising alien children in a nursing academy sounds fun, but this story isn't. This series so far suffers from poor world building and a boring narrative.... more>>
Spoiler

As far as I understand about the setting is that the nursery raises alien children for mostly military purposes. Maybe? The series waffles on the idea. Kind of contradicts the fluffy image that the author is writing.

As for the story so far, there really has been no interesting characters or plot points. Which is a shame because can you image the type of personalities that find affection or fascination for some of the hulking aliens they call children?

What has happened so far is that the main character has solved every problem by accident or by virtue of being a great person. The Marysue is strong in this series, the main character loses nothing and gets everything!

[collapse]

Overall I wanted more out of this series and got very little instead, leaving me disappointed. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
I really can’t get myself to care about this series. As of now if falls under the catergory of being too generic. There is not one thing that really pops out of these chapters that grabs my attention. Every thing that the main character has been doing has been done before and the greatest sin is that he as a character or the things he has been doing are interesting.

A personal rant

... more>>
Spoiler

Few problems for me personally is that I can’t suspend my belief when it comes to the magic system in this world. All you need to succeed is to have a decent imagination. Think hard about drawing a cup of water from the river and bam. You can use water magic. What really seems careless of the author is giving the earth element the ability to make precious gems at a very low level. If it was that easy I would think that using diamonds or some other gem would be standard for earth magic.

[collapse]

I’m at chapter 8 right now and the dungeon aspect hasn’t even come up. For those who want to check it out I would wait several more chapters and read ahead to see if this is something you would enjoy. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
I’m Scattering IQ to the Protagonist
February 19, 2019
Status: c25
This series is honestly average for a world hoping bl. The reason I put the novel down was due to the writing around the main character. He supposed to be real smart, we are constantly told this. The author makes the MC smart by making everybody else look like an idiot.

In world two the MC looked at a script and dicovered a piece of insight and convinced writing team that they had missed an opportunity they never saw by expanding on one of the characters devolpment and stubbing another (the... more>> bad villian for this arc). The writers are "enlightened" by this insight and rewrite the script.

I honestly couldn't see how a group of writer would just "miss" something so simple. This was enough for me to look for a different novel in the same genre. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
I enjoy reading this. Has some decent drama and about chapter 45 it get real heavy on the fan service. Be warned though it's shotacon fan service. Borderline too but hasn't crossed the line. It funny to think that if this was a strait harem novel the fan service would seem relatively normal.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
The Novel’s Extra
April 13, 2019
Status: c57
The story has a good idea but it doesn’t know where to go or what role the MC will play. Originally this was a 4 rating. It was fun and the draw backs that the main character were funny and entertaining but it had a few problems that I was hoping that would be addressed. It doesn’t happen. Instead the problems I had keep piling up and according to other viewers who have read this novels 200+ chapter it doesn’t get better.

The problems that were easy to spot had to... more>> do with the characters power set compared to everyone elses. Most people had one type of super power then would some times develop a second one. (they are called gifts) by chapter thirty he had access to the equivalent of 6 gifts, 1. super accuracy, 2. skill and item and gift, creation\modification, 3. super luck, 4. super knowledge, 5.a book he can manifest that can q&a with 100% accuracy (limited by his magic consumption), and 6. minor magic hack. Technically he only has one gift (super accuracy)..... but not really. this doesn’t include the pet and the weapon artifact he’s got. (making sound worse that is really was at the time). Thematically the powers don’t really match either. It takes a while to catch on. In the end it really isn’t a skill set for some in the roll of side character. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack
God Level Summoner
October 11, 2018
Status: c15
So far I like this series. The main characters have a rythem and the overall plot development has a relaxed progression. If you have gamed a lot you will notice that the gaming part of this novel falls short.

Most notably when the main character picks up a game after two years and has no trouble adapting his play style to the new metagame. Honestly it is unrealistically perfect. Even with good skill a 3 vs 6 battle with even levels and equipment is pretty damned hard if both teams know... more>> what they are doing.

Story wise the novel is pretty fun. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack
Shut-in Magician
March 11, 2018
Status: c5
Something to note when you read the series is that the author has a glossy style of writing. There really isn’t much detail and the logic is a bit fuzzy.

ex: He used dark attribute magic to make the dark forest visible, but he had done it instinctively so he didn’t need to chant, but he did anyways to level up.

Still reading to see how it develops.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
February 25, 2018
Status: c5.10
Overall I like this series. If you read any of the other comment you already know what the good points of the novel are. I got bored and I really haven’t checked when the novel picks up again. For now I will tell you why I got bored during the fourth and fifth chapeters.

Every chapter has has used the modern day setting and personally I was hoping for a bit a variety by the time I got to chapter five. Each story in the series has been the same plot... more>> with different trimmings. It goes like this.

MC finds self in starting in tight corner, uses super abilities to slowly get out of corner and ruin opposition. Usually seduces love interest who slowly starts obsessing over him. Ends with him living with his lover happily ever after.

As far as I have read the main character has suffered no real setbacks when trying to sabotage these worlds. Also have having only one true love for all life times is a negative for me. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
This is a very hit or miss series for people. The can be fun at times but never at any point could you really apply the term realistic to any thing that happens. Any who plays enough online games knows that every game quirk maple and the group get would be vetoed or removed. There is no actual understanding of the setting. Also, an unnecessary amout of reiteration.

The series is thematically entertaining but supend all of your disbelieve.

edit: This is a shonen series meant for people around 10 -... more>> 15 years old. It fun for it's genre but it probably won't appeal to an older audience. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
The Story of a Small Fox Who Has a Star
July 24, 2018
Status: c22
I enjoy the dysfunctional dynamics in this story presented. An uncaring father, a spoiled brother, a general lack of care from any one. These made sense. When the brother decided to care it seems to come from no where. The story hints that people will feel bad for depriving the fox but given thier character I don't see why. It all seems forced. The main character is relatable though.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
March 11, 2018
Status: c35
This series starts out strong but starts getting structurally weak when the MC leaves the first village. What really did me in was the fog forest arc. What could have been an interesting story suffered from a bad case of in character exposition.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
I enjoy reading lite novel because I enjoy reading the battles and a part of me likes some of the character themes and dynamics presented along with the world building.

It has some drawbacks and I think these are enough to kept people from reading on.

  • Our main character so far is a borderline Gary stu and the author has a hard time letting the MC suffer actual setbacks to avoid such a fate. I’m on book six and the main character has yet to make a decision that has resulted in personal loss. The evil alter ego that should showcase our MC flaws hasn’t been a set back so far but this arc has just started. I’m hoping for a comeback.
  • The romance subplots are really under developed and at some points awkward and creepy. For those who don’t care for lolis, the lolicon is strong with this one.
  • Spoiler

    MC confession to marco seemed to come from nowhere with out much build up.

    [collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
Cooking with Wild Game (LN)
February 24, 2018
Status: v3c3
I really, really like this series. It is a drama with a fantasy setting, with very personal stakes and it is written well.

One of the most notable themes of this series is the reversal of the standard gender roles and the growing acceptance of these chosen roles by this tribal community. It’s fun and something I can relate to.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack
Master of Trading Star Card Game
July 1, 2019
Status: c21 part2
Not to sure how to feel about this novel. Nothing unexpired has happened and readers are still in the setup phase of the story. At first I thought this was about competitive card games like magic the gathering our Yu-Gi-Oh. It isn't. It's a summoning mobile game. More annoying is that is that there really hasn't be a well decribe game so I cant guess the rules or what might be good abilities in this game. Sounds stupid but the main character's golden finger is an instant death effect based... more>> on creature type. Useful but in most games They have pretty standard counters. It might be a while before they have the MC's 1st match. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Baabaablack
Baabaablack rated it
Kujonin
February 28, 2018
Status: --
I enjoyed the read so far but the set up has a massive exploit. When the main character 1st gets his masssive level up it is because of a chain of poisoning’s he caused. Following that logic wouldn’t creating a plague be the best way to level up? Or possibly poisoning the town well?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report