Report Review
39 Reviews


BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
The Book Eating Magician
August 27, 2017
Status: c134
How can the top review be from someone who only read 5 chapters ? The protagonist is a loser who can't graduate school, it's obvious that his main objective when he gets his cheat is to get rid of the loser tag and graduate (especially when his and his family's honor is on the line). He's a human being, sure he's fictional but he still is one in the novel so his scope can't be as wide as a reader. And you understand pretty quick that he can't become instantly... more>> OP because he's limited by "his circles". The circles are the power system in this novel, the main character is only at the first circle at the beginning of the novel so he can't learn OP magic like time or space mastery (available at 6th circle or more). It's like asking a xianxia protagonist with his new cheat to stop bothering trying to be the best in his sect, stop learning Qi Cultivation techniques and skip directly to Immortal magics. I wonder how this review can have so many likes, it baffles me.

Then, I'm not saying that this novel doesn't have its flaws, it has many but everything the top reviewer said is pretty off the mark. The novel is not slow paced at all, it's even extremely fast paced. The hero becomes cheated really quickly and the story goes along with it so the world building is average and there are no particular arcs that leaves you breathtaken. I'm still giving it 5 stars because it's a novel that's enjoyable to read with pretty good cliffs. <<less
92 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
October 24, 2016
Status: c50
I love korean novels, they're the most rational. The plot isn't so obvious. The MCs are decent human beings or really weird but acceptable, you know, what MCs are supposed to be in any novel. I know it's not about this novel in particular but this one isn't an exception. Korean novels are a good bridge between chinese novel and western novels, I like it very very much.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Infinite Competitive Dungeon Society
November 24, 2017
Status: c224
Interesting at the start but the author couldn't cope with character building after 150, there are too many characters introduced and they don't have a personality. There's just the hero and the girls, he can't make a decision about the main girl, and they all treat him the same way calling him "husband" when he doesn't show interest, typically cringe and chunnibyou, it's getting to a point where when there's dialogue with different girls at the same place, we don't know who speaks. I understand now the part in Everyone... more>> Else Is A Returnee where the author explained that his readers called his previous novel's characters too plain, he learned his lessons and reduced the amount of characters and made them a bit different from one another, ICDS is just a big fail and the draft for EER. And EER isn't the best novel either but it's a lot more readable, I got through the end at least, here I just can't, I'll just stop reading. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Mushoku Tensei Redundancy
November 19, 2015
Status: --
Destined for the fans of Mushoku tensei, it's a refreshing read when you're tired of these "too much" action packed novel. Here, the author brings us to a nice walk in the universe of the world, if I had to describe it in one world, it would be "peaceful". There's a tiny tiny bit of action but it's mostly the life of Rudeus after the main plot but before the epilogue, his children, his sisters, his wives. Nice-ssuu !
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
I get the people that rated it 1 star. It’s just a giant hentai where the MC bangs girls and he’s also a huge douche so it doesn’t help when females want to read it.

There is not much to say about it. I just find it pretty funny that a tag named "anal intercourse exists" and just for that, I gave it 5 stars mouaahahahahahahahaha. And it's also a tag that begins by "a" so it's one of the first tags that you find in the list of tags.
But... more>> well, just use your d*ck to read it like my neighbor under said, it’s a “ride” haha. No brainer. Enjoy ! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
I’m writing this at c35. The lack of action is real now.

Why the useless sister ? I mean... why... It pretty much messes the whole LN. The guy and the princess are supposed to have some romantic moments sometimes but the sister is a huge downer. She wastes skills too because he ends up giving her what he should have. Ridiculous...

I’ll stop reading it. But for casual reader, it’s okay. it can pass the time. Pretty much Death March (that I don’t like so much, it’s okay though)... more>> but ten times worse. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Ark The Legend
October 25, 2015
Status: --
Haha, I'm back after rating Ark. Ark the legend is a follow-up of Ark. But now, the comparisons to LMS are gone so from a 3, it goes to a 4. The universe has changed and it's now in a sci-fi universe.
From volume 1 to 6, the build-up is slow, I almost quit the novel when he was grinding. It's now getting better. The atmosphere has gotten interesting. I can even say that the Ark took a turn for the better thanks for ripping off Star Wars.
... more>>
Spoiler

Introduction of Light Sabers and Force. It talks about being chosen to save the galaxy. Well, you get it...

[collapse]
His family being not as much present than before and the love interest seems to be going somewhere this time so Ark The Legend saved itself from being the utmost sh*t that it started to be in the first volumes.

Ark has still the same problems. The MC getting in a pinch and ends up miraculously alive, but... it's getting better than before. Thanks to the new universe, Ark transformed into an enjoyable read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Upgrade Specialist in Another World
February 16, 2016
Status: --
It's nothing breath-taking like the top xianxia that you can find on this site but it's non controversial, the MC isn't particularly ruthless or a "psychopath". He slowly builds connection and rapidly advances in the world of cultivation.

If the beginning is not as good as you would expect it from a WW novel, it's a very good build up that predicts a good future plot.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Mythical Tyrant
December 3, 2015
Status: --
We're not too far into the story but it's pretty good. That's totally ATG's pitch because it's an expert in his previous life that died while being chased because of a treasure. So really good Xianxia, it has all the good elements of it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
Haha, it just hits you right in the feels.

Well, the MC still a kid is already building his harem and his magic OPness so there's not much to say. Really enjoyable. I'm really anticipating the time skip because it's going to be great.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Coiling Dragon
November 19, 2015
Status: --
Well, I'm not going to say too much about this novel, everything has been said. One of the only monogamist MC of Xianxia novels, the Hero is pretty moral but he's still not a scaredy cat. Progression is very natural. Everything is great about it ^^.

My favorite Xianxia novel ever, it might change in the future but it got me hooked to this genre so I'm very grateful to IET (I Eat Tomatoes), even the author's name is gold :) !
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
A Certain Middle-Aged Man’s VRMMO Activity Log
November 14, 2015
Status: --
This novel is very interesting. It's about a MC who likes to be unique so he chooses "unusual" settings for his character in the VRMMO, it's not "unusual" settings at all in other novels but weirdly, in this one, "archery", "alchemy" are uncommon so he ends up being a trendsetter.

Highly recommended for the people that like gaming novels.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Peerless Martial God
December 12, 2015
Status: --
The longest reviews are to say that it’s really bad. Usually I don’t review for something that got reviewed a lot but I want to defend this Xianxia a bit.

First, very traditional xianxia with transportation/reincarnation... It’s a bit useless in that case since the reincarnated person doesn’t bring a lot of things but I get it, the “dead” MC is a piece of trash who has a useless (not that useless actually) spirit, when someone takes over his body, it’s not a supreme expert but it gives him another spirit... more>> which is going to serve him for the most part of the novel. It’s a good set up, really usual, with the Clan story where he’s not recognised and the stakes keep getting higher and higher so stay tuned ^^.

Second, I like it because everybody except the MC is the bad guy. It’s also an argument to say that you dislike this novel but I like it for this reason, the MC is always treated unfairly but he’s also stubborn as hell so he ends up fighting and fighting and fighting but the progression of his cultivation and techniques are steady. I don’t really like novels who have too much inconsistency like a MC that uses new techniques everytime a fight happens (that’s why Death March gets on my nerve for example, he always has too much spells out of nowhere).

It’s a bit repetitive but you get a lot of content and the build ups are good. People don’t like it but they keep reading it, believe me, it’s because it doesn’t really have flat parts.

Third, the translation speed is great. It’s been 3 months, but already 240 chapters and a bunch in the weekends, always something that I look forward to ! So... Check this out ! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Martial God Asura
December 6, 2015
Status: --
Ok, there are pretty long reviews here so I'm going to give my two cents about it :
Chu Feng is a simple tale, from a country bumpkin, he's going to become the one who rule them all. The stakes are getting higher and higher, in the beginning, he fights for his clan, than for his school, for a city...

Lots of people don't understand the violence but MGA is about a guy who's going to become a god of war, the fact that he goes crazy with murder and desire... more>> of revenge is obvious, it's part of his growth. While it takes a while for him to get his sh*t together, he eventually does. MGA is a great read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
The New Gate
November 19, 2015
Status: --
While I'm pretty frustrated that it's sometimes slow and the development in the romantic department is lacking. This novel is still really good. The MC is really OP, considered as the only "High Human" survivors. As the third volume is going, the main plot hasn't moved that much but it's slowly developing into a bigger thing. The "High Human" are highly seeked since they're blessed with much more knowledge than the actual world that has lost the game assistance and the skills that goes with it. It will involve a... more>> lot of political schemes and it will also hit your feels.

Mix of sweetness (or bitterness, there are some sad parts) and OPness. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
The Lazy King
November 19, 2015
Status: --
Did we say it ? I think everyone said it... THIS IS GOLD !!
... more>>
Spoiler

So that's how the system works. The demons can be normal demons, but to be a demon with powers, you have to develop one of the 7 capital sins that give you access to a skill tree.
And then, you're divided by your grade of power a Soldier > Lieutnant > General > Demon Lord. It's like Xianxia novels, you develop your sin and you reach bottlenecks (of the grades I gave earlier) and the deeper you get into your sin, the easier you get to break those bottlenecks.

[collapse]
Anger (Ira), Gluttony (Gula), Greed (Avaritia), Pride (Superbia), Lust (Luxuria), Envy (Invidia) Sloth (Acedia)
This story follows the only Demon Lord of Sloth, he does nothing all day and that's why he's OP. We get to see it in multiple POVs so it gets repetitive but it's written in a very nice way. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
November 19, 2015
Status: --
It’s more a slice of life than anything. I began to read that when I was determined to binge read some novels. So I kept reading it and I kept getting frustrated. His OPness is good but he doesn’t use it a lot, that’s why I had really mixed feelings about this novel.

The novel is still pretty sweet and if you don’t necessarly need fights but can appreciate like a travel journey diary in a RPG world, it’s good. Well, the further you go in the novel, the more the... more>> action, still not crazy but I’ll take it ^^. It's one of those novels that aren't really suitable for binge reading but I like it as a weekly casual read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ rated it
Long Live Summons!
November 5, 2015
Status: --
Reincarnated story, like Peerless Martial God and Against the Gods because he arrives in the body of someone who is already pretty old. Here he arrives in a 20 years old body. The MC is a compulsive liar who is blessed with extreme luck so he becomes OP pretty fast. A lot of people seems to despise him in the ratings but I like the constant trolling/lies, they are a lot of people like that who troll non stop, I like it => Note that most of his trolls are... more>> understood by the surrounding characters, so it’s not like he’s cheating his world, he hides a lot of things, that’s it. Compared to Death March where the MC constantly hides his strength and it involves a lot of political schemes and complicated things. In LLS when the MC is hiding is strength it’s not that frustrating because we still get a good fight in the end, it’s the simpler version of Death March, I’d say.

People who likes summons system like Pokemon will probably like this novel, sometimes the system is not always clear but it’s ok. Definitely worth a 5, it's one of the novels that I always look forward to. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
The plot is really cliché, someone getting transported in another world and gain a unique ability which makes him extra OP and creates his harem... The slight twist is that he's already OP in the other world as well because he's a genius martial artist, he's not one of those losers rejected by society who wants to make it up for his past mistakes (ex : arifureta, mushoku tensei, tensei sh*tara...). So the question of returning back to his world is asked quite naturally.

For now, we're not very deep into... more>> the story but it got me hooked, there are no dead parts. While being extremely predictable, it's also really entertaining. The set up makes it so that the hero has to understang the "settings", it's not quite clear how his abilities level up, etc... So we're discovering it with him and it's not an explanation bot-like situation likes in most novels of the same genre. If you like some OPness, then this novel is quite enjoyable. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BQDJ
BQDJ
Dungeon Defense
September 11, 2016
Status: v3 prologue
Amazing, truly... Too many plot twists to get bored. Too many different characters to get bland, the characters are very deep, makes it all the more interesting. The only problem that I have is that they introduced a game system where the Demon Lord can have skills but the author completely forgot about it ^^.

Well, everything is good. Nice read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report