Report Review
28 Reviews


B2j
B2j rated it
Ouroboros Record ~Circus of Oubeniel~
October 29, 2017
Status: c17
Honestly, I am usually biased for antihero protagonists but I just can’t for this protagonist. And it’s a good thing. Some novels would pacify killing as saving the world, gaining strength, giving to those that derserved, etc etc. But this novel delivers the MC in a way that makes u think that he really is evil. There’s no sugarcoating, no pacifying, he’s just plain maniac and evil. Although it does try to convey that he has a determined goal, being immortality because of his fear of death which he once... more>> experienced, to me, it seemed like it just further emphasized that he’s a psychopath because he will achieve his goal, that is utterly unbelievable in a sense, by using any means. But he’s not any maniac. He keeps a rational mind, but it can be misinterpreted as wantonly killing slaves, but do think he only did so when relating to alchemy. When it has nothing to do with alchemy and his own safety, the highest probability would be that he won’t act on it. The best thing yet, he seems to have already realized he had become messed in the head early on when he began buying slaves. He realized it and decided to toss it away for his goal. In a way, isn’t this an inspiring story about one passionate about their dream? No it isn’t. One of the good points behind this novel is usage of different povs. Through these povs, u feel and see what utterly descapable things the MC did and is in no way received in a good light, albeit the only one that did are either brainwashed or a lunatic them self. His actions trigger bad events for the people around him and so gives reasonable hatred towards the MC. The novel basically treated him as a source of evil and in no way bath him in the light of saints, even when he supposedly “saved” people. He deserves his titles, in fact, his rumors are even light. It implies that what he does to his subordinates is crueler and some even regrets being saved. He seemed even more evil and scary than characters that are cold blooded or hot blooded. Why? It’s indifference. He doesn’t care. Once he tossed it away, it doesn’t come back.

I find his distrust towards people a little unusual but it can be partly explained associating it to, again, his fear of death. It is still a little out of place. Yuni/Uni is also a major cheat and has mad stockholm syndrome. The one character I favor is Due. He is human. He thinks human, at least in the beginning. Drei and Charl doesn’t even need to be mentioned. I can’t even seem to like the characters because they are literally molded by the MC so it’s not even their real/original self. Their is no character development possible aside from the MC, which is unlikely since it is only when he diverts his mind from alchemy, and his Opus series. Even so, it’s notable that the MC acknowleded that he was changed and influenced by his surroundings and the people’s ideology.

Good thing is, there is no harem or fluffy romance or smut.
Spoiler

In actuality, there’s two rape scenes as of chapter 17. But not explicit content and only mentioned. It doesn’t involve the MC though.

[collapse]
There’s just gore and the extremes of a rational madman.

The involvement of politics is actually quite nice as it does give tension. The brother’s enmity is also relatable. The MC is also reasonable here as he doesn’t strive to achieve things that is out of his expertise, unlike some characters in other stories that gets their other world knowledge about every fudging thing. Though, I feel sad not knowing much about the mc’s past life except that he seemed to have died as a teenager. The depiction of aristocracy is extreme but I dont know. Maybe I’m already dyed and it seems realistic? It’s not like I live in this kind of time period so I wouldn’t know. And I don’t care. It’s another world anyways, it’s not this world. Maybe it developed that way.

I like the “science” behind it, it’s not real science, but it makes it somewhat believable, unlike some stories that gives out a cheat system with no regards to science (can’t even compare them. The world building in this one is out of leagues to the likes of Death March). There are plot holes in this aspect but can be disregarded, since magic in itself is a large unexplainable plot hole.

Keep in mind, the MC is op. Op in the sense of alchemy and that he keeps his bunch of competent subordinates in the palm of his hand. Op only in the fields he is capable in. Politics, agriculture, combat, engineering, or management? Amateur. Again, he admits his mistakes and seeks “help”.

I think this novel is quite the interesting approach towards reincarnation trope. No adventuring, no unique cheats, no otherworld inventions, no country building, no gods. He reasonably uses his own innovative mind and the existing magic that other people are accessed to. He develops his ability through painstaking research through a long period of time. The only things he takes seems to be science and medicine. Anyways, it's more reasonable.

It certainly is not a tale of a hero for that sake. More of a bonafide villain.

The translation is superb, mistakes here and there, but understandable and if compared, can be said to be quite good quality. There’s a switch of translation but both are good. It won’t impact the understandability (is that a word? F that). More importantly, they fix mistakes and so I deeply commend them for that. I don’t know about updates but the chapters are long, kind of like Youjo Senki, maybe shorter, but u get the gist. I sincerely appreciate them going through that hell. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
I’m just writing a review to let those that are complaining about her emotional breakdowns to let me remind y’all that she’s a f**king kid. People, her soul might be reincarnated but her brain is not. Even if she’s not a kid, killing your whole family by your own hands is a very traumatic experience. Have y’all forgotten, she was still only a normal person in her past life. In addition, it is stated that she doesn’t feel a strong connection that her past memories are her own either but... more>> more of a viewpoint of another person. The fact that she made those decisions are probably entirely depended on her personality which is somewhat special but she’s still human. Also I would feel wrecked as hell too if the person I’m closest too is actually one of my “victims”.

Some people are complaining about the fact that she “just so happens” to meet all these people who aren’t disgusted with her. Are u kidding me? EVERYONE in her domain hated her to death. The fact that the earl and his people came to be her guardian is a special case because they probably came BECAUSE they weren’t disgusted. The fact that she was trained like hell when she was so young probably contributes to the earl’s personality and he knew her “talent” so he wouldn’t have wasted it.

I just love the fact that she’s not op but at the same very baddass. She has her mistakes, very bad ones, and her flaws. She struggles to improve herself and to protect what’s important to her through her own means. The people who are around her are the ones that understands and appreciates her while the ones that do not don’t interact with her because she avoids them. So she’s not “just so happens” to meet them. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
October 21, 2017
Status: c270
Even considering all the good reviews on this novel, I was still hesitant to read... because I was biased against Chinese novels. Yes you can lynch me. I don’t particularly hate Chinese novels but it usually contain the typical hard working cultivation, godhood, randomly and ruthless killing, cliche greedy antagonists, one time use plot characters, exotic heaven shattering treasures, ultimate true godlike masters and seniors, sacrificial plot moving paw- I mean characters. It’s common because it’s entertaining and popular but reading too much, I found myself wanting to take a... more>> break from those things. (So I binge japanese and korean novels). Anyways, I entered this expecting some hope and expectations. But this completely shatters everything.

My Disciple Died Yet Again is a comedic yet heart breaking and serious romance. First off, the MC is rational. And I mean she thinks about her actions, the other characters’ actions, her goals, and the actual plot. She doesn’t wantonly kill people because they offended her. She doesn’t kill people because they go against her goals. She doesn’t kill people because they hurt her (hubby does tho). She thinks about why they do things and their purposes and pasts. She is not a saint either. She does get revenge but doesn’t pass the line. Yes she has a bottom line. She is very humane and she has a rational mind; she questions about the purposes of her transmigration and reincarnations. She is also very witty and decisive. She isn’t a coward but she takes approaches while thinking over things. She does get a little...
Spoiler

ruthless when her “family” gets injured (died) but it was brought by circumstances.

[collapse]
Anyways her actions are understandable. Although she isn’t op
Spoiler

like being breathtakingly beautiful, even being human at all

[collapse]
but she has a very powerful, I mean too powerful plot armor. It's impenetrable and it was supposed to be since there’s a reason behind everything. Her encounters with people around her and all her reincarnations have a clear purpose.
Spoiler

Damn Realmspirit, trolling all the time.

[collapse]
Yet she still gets the chances to show that her efforts are commendable and that even with the invincible plot armor, she is not god and mistakes are unpreventable.
Spoiler

She dies over and over again to those mistakes (and damn Realmspirit).

[collapse]
Anyways her emotions are relatable and with reason.

Secondly, the characters in the story all have a clear purpose to their existences. As long as they have a name, they have a purpose. The story also revisits a lot of the characters and find that they are actually important wheels for the plot. They are humane too, at least somewhat. The antagonists are a little bland sometimes but then it turns out they are not even the true antagonists. Basically, the so called antagonists can be the best allies while the protagonists can be the worst doom. Oh and also Mary Sues and Gary Stus don’t last. Just saying. You’ll get irritated but they won’t last. So keep reading. In addition, the male lead is a heaven sent perfect boyfriend 👌. f**k it, I want him. The ML is a bundle of awkward, lack of common sense, intelligent, overpowered, loving, possessive, caring, husband material, perfectness. The other “semi male leads” are also really cute (especially Sesame and Bai Yuan and other beasties). Phoenix brother is also really likable but haizz as long as Master exists, no one shall surpass him. There is just one character that I am missing since he was neglected for a while (Floor Master, where are u?).

The romance is also really straightforward. The MC knows her feelings and is super bold. It tends to drag out a little because of our dunce ml. But their interactions are not cringey but instead is adorable and witty.
Spoiler

Doesn’t keep “purity” for long though 😏 for the ML that is 😂

[collapse]
Also, the MC is not dense. I repeat, the MC is NOT DENSE. Keep reading and you’ll see that she actually pays attention. She’s smart but not too smart (when it comes to a certain ml). The feelings develop gradually and not suddenly. The pacing is actually durable and not breakable for both the romance and the plot.

The plot sometimes really tire me out. Why? It’s too exciting sometimes
Spoiler

and she dies too much.

[collapse]
The plot is thought out, things connect, and there’re cause and effects. Nothing gets too repetitive as there is always new surprises. The ML is not unnecessarily always next to her side to come to her rescue either. The plot armor is too convenient sometimes but there is a reason.
Spoiler

Damn Realmspirit.

[collapse]
No one is protected by that plot armor all the time though.
Spoiler

As characters die; whether that will be the MC or important side characters.

[collapse]
There’s some sadness vibes in this so it makes a part of the seriousness. There are still a lot of unexplained things though but they are gradually being explained. There are still some plot holes but nothing is perfect. I hope everything gets explained though. The main conflict is also a bundle of mystery and mess, in a partly good way. It’s exciting and entertaining, doesn’t get boring, and is consistent. Sometimes the way things play out do get suspicious but it’s tolerable.

One of the things that I really love is the comedy. Especially, freaking Realmspirit. The comedy is consitent but not too repetitive. You might get used to it after a while though. But the jokes are still enjoyable. They don’t feel out of place. They don’t interrupt the flow of plot. But it doesn’t provide the relief from angst either. (Which is not necessarily a bad thing?) The MC is really hilarious though so there are surprises in store as she makes new reactions and new hilarious events happen.

Anyways this might or might not be a parody, honestly. It’s too serious to be a parody but too parody ish to be a serious novel either. One thing is clear: it’s really entertaining and well written (and well translated). It’s out of the usual Chinese novels but it is definitely a Chinese novel. It leaves you with presents of surprises and broken hearts paired with a beating red heart full of love.

In my opinion, this is definitely one of my favorite. (Not that my opinions ever mattered 😂) <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Dare ga Otome Geemu Dato Itta!
October 24, 2017
Status: c16 part3
This is definitely not designed for those who are looking for a fulfilling and extricate plot line or characters. This novel is basically a temporary relief, like a short masturbation. The MC is likable and one of his most redeeming qualities, in my opinion, is that his personality isn't deeply changed by the memories of his past life. It's an interesting difference from the usual trope. His character is a bit confusing at times as he is sometimes a saint, sometimes a sadist, and sometimes a shy and cute animal.... more>> There are moments where he goes OOC
Spoiler

especially the time with his treatment because he goes 180 into somewhat of a sadist which I find unlike his usual character which is calm, gentle, and soft.

[collapse]
Not only that the other characters also go into OOC sometimes, like Rafael
Spoiler

and Noe and Nichole turned 180 slut at one point.

[collapse]
Although I say that, some characters are consistent like Serge or Camille or Jule. The one I find most consistent is probably Claudette, lmao. The world also has too much acceptance of s*xual advances and homos*xuality which gives it a lack of relate-ability. Although the issue does get addressed between the MC and the ml, I feel that the people around them are too open to it and the people in question don't focus much on it. The characters also show close intimate contacts in public and their reaction is merely: "Hmmm this doesn't seem normal, ok. Whatevs." Considering the setting of being nobles, they don't behave like nobles and the one that stay the most true to their character is Claudette, again. She only appears as a very unimportant side mob though. Anyways, they all are likable, the usual tropes, but likable versions of the tropes,
Spoiler

except that bitch, Lydi.

[collapse]
The romance and interaction between the MC and the ML is cute but the story takes the harem route in the beginning though. Each character has their own moment with him. The way the MC and ML fall in love is platonic and too quick though but their feelings afterwards try to make up for it, (I did not say if it was successful or not). The underlying conflict is not extremely breath gasping but it still has its sense of mystery and a considerable amount of angst. The time skips are too much, especially between some chapters, but considering the novel's length, it's understandable.
Spoiler

One of the things I really like is the plot twist involving Lydi, but that's only one of the few things I like.

[collapse]
All in all, this novel isn't worth investing a great amount of effort to read, it's a passing feeling of ecstasy. It's enjoyable and the smut can get pretty hot. I'd rate it a 3.5 but people should try it out. I may have made it sound worse than it actually is... <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
From what I can see from the anime, it’s a version of BakaTest but more of a darker undertone. It’s a similar class ranking and school rivalry but points are as people have said, granted based on merits, behaviors, and grades. In what lies rivalry though, is a mix of lies, threats, manipulation, and violence. It’s a big mind game, or more precise a mystery game. The characters are not who they appeared to be, thematically meaning that everyone has another side. Everyone has their own dreams, purpose, and ambitions... more>> but they mix together to accomplish the same goal, essentially being reaching the A class. The main character is as op as he can be but his personality is a wonder. Nobody knows what he really is thinking. He has a mysterious past and mysterious abilities. His outward appearance and attitude is the opposite of his capabilities. In the entire anime of 12 episodes, on the very last minute of the last episode, there was only one single quote that I felt like it came from the heart. Search up on his character fandom wiki and it’ll show up. That quote thoroughly destroyed a lot of the assumptions to be had about him. It was a signal of realization. So I look forward for 2nd season. When I finished the anime, I immediately ran to the novel to start reading because it seems like this sh*t is the one I’m looking for. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
September 30, 2017
Status: c163
I just have to say how frustrated I am and how I love it so much. It has a lot of similar elements to the usual trope of “reincarnated main character or villain”... or so I thought. Yes the main character sets out to change her miserable future of being abandoned by everything; family, friends (if she ever had any), wealth, reputation, and love. Similarly to some novels out there (like akuyaku) she starts out by getting her memories back at a young age, very young (still older than Akuyaku).... more>> She’s determined to change the outcome. But the funny things is: she’s so dumb but so smart at the same time. She’s a girl that knows herself. She’s a girl who has human emotions. She’s a girl that knows how to understand others. She’s a girl that makes an effort. She’s also selfish just like anyone but also selfless for many. She’s a very miserable coward but a also a brave hero and helpful friend. It’s contradicting but it works. Don’t start misunderstanding, this has comedy and is relatively light hearted. It’s romantic and dramatic. It involves the life of the rich and life of a commoner at the same time; her current life and her past life. She’s very incredible and ever changing (mostly her weight). She doesn’t hold on much to her past life although she does get sentimental. She knows how to treasure her current life, truly like a heroine who has been given a second chance. She’s a very lovable character and so are all of the others. They are complex and so are the relations (except the mobs one, i.e Tsuruhana). As u watch her interactions, without even saying it, it’s very easy to understand more of the characters, i.e. the father, mother, etc. Sometimes the author provides another viewpoint and it’s very enjoyable and helps understand a lot of the stuff that’s needed to be understood in another viewpoint, i.e. the siscon. She’s actually very consistent and so are the other characters. She is depicted as “powerful” on the outside but at the same time, many people know that she’s a hardworking and kind person. It is an adventure of others drawn to her true charisma, i.e. Sakurako (scary yandere) and Akizawa (normally cute), Aoi (relatable), Umewaka (weirdest weirdo) and friends and lover (dog- B chan), Class Rep (maiden), Iwamuro (weird maiden), Bro (especially, siscon but doesn’t admit it), Enjou (fake angel), Fellow Stalking Horse (workaholic), Ririna (tsundere), Mao and bf (sweet honey angels) and uncle (contradicting), Emperor (idiot), Irima (lady-killer), Yukino (true angel), MC (superwoman), Aira (prince), Tomoe (every girl’s dream and heartbreak) and gf (relationship goals), etc. Although she gains and encounters many enemies, it is important to notice that she also has many that will stand up for her. The characters like u have seen above has very distinct personalities and problems just like any human. It’s like the author is showing every kind of character there is.

Its better to know that this novel do focus on romance and drama but at the same time it’s about everything that happens within the school and her life. It focuses on the others’ life and not just her at the center of the world, although it is still seen in her POV. Regrettably, all the romantic developments are for those around her. To this day, I have not seen any progress except for the fact that she met the potential love candidates but has no further developments. It’s like she focuses on so many other stuff and other people that she can’t help but want to have some but getting none. Even I can’t stand her having no progression in love.

Another bonus that I really love is her relatable real life problems and her real life personality and the semi real depictions of rich life. It’s very enjoyable and attractive. It draws u in and make u sympathize, love, and can’t help but keep on reading.

10/10 <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Agreement of Being Gay for 30 Days
April 1, 2018
Status: c24
I honestly don't get all the 1 stars this novel was given. It was really enjoyable and the translation is great. The story has great developments, skillful pacing, unique plot line, useful comedy, and amazing characters. I don't think it really deserves so little attention.

People should give this a try, since it's a little iffy in the beginning but gradually develops later on; both translation quality and story.

i hope the translator never gives up and keep translating this work.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Sickly Tyrannical
April 26, 2018
Status: c49
This is the embodiment of a true yandere. Not those lackluster characters that only threaten with words... yanderes are willing to hurt their love to get what they want. In the end, they are selfish and self centered. Never forget that.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Youjo Senki
November 4, 2017
Status: v2c2
Strangely enough, it was one of the very first novel I read. It got me absolutely hooked and I started reading other novels to pass time. I wasnt used to reading wn/ln but the writing/translation of Youjo Senki is top nodge, so it seems similar to English books, in my opinion.

I got to know it through the popular anime by the same name. I was interested in the MC of course. He was unlike the characters in anime/manga that I've seen. He's a practical and selfish person who believes in... more>> nothing but himself. His character only needed to appear in a very short conversation with Being X to show his personality. Although there's resentment to Being X but the resentment that was present before him was situated from a hilarious situation in our pov but precarious in his. The resentment is different. Her expressions and reactions towards that resentment is out of the norm, truly showing how fanatical and psychopathic she is being. She is a complex character but is very simple at the same time. In other words, I can get what she's feeling but it's impossible for me to understand her, showing how human and inhuman this girl is. The fact that he was placed in a little girl's body further spurred the irony amd sarcasm present in which his personality is very unlike of her appearance. The novel also delves into many controversial topics regarding religion, government, and military. I do not know if the depictions shown in the novel is realistic since I do not have the knowledge and experience to judge, but I can say that the plot and setting involving the government and military of a powerful nation going to war is very exhilarating. I can certainly say that I enjoyed it regardless of realism. Furthermore, the magic genre adds a delicious spice to the already exciting issues surrounding her. I regret that the novel does not give much details about a lot of side characters but they fulfill their roles beautifully and are not out of line in their scenes. Some events may contain plot holes but they're not big. Although the MC does have a deus ex machina plot armour, the novel makes me think that her power is the result of her strong will, hard work, talent, and personality. Her cruelty and crazy temper is unreal and very odd to me, but it makes it all the more interesting seeing the reactions of the people around her and the epic tales of her 'heroic' deeds that she leaves behind. When the story is told in her pov, I often find her thought process greatly intriguing and I think that's one of the main charm of this series in which it revolves around her. The pacing is excellent, even though it might seem to go by a little too fast. I think it's necessary to write it that way for the sake of flow, tension, and enough space for relevant information and events. The timeskips in the novel do confuse me a lot as I have to pay attention to the dates and place of the present chapter/text. Also, the author may have skipped on possibly important time periods (ie. Military college days) which may have a possible expansion to an arc. Additionally, the author switches povs sometimes and often it's up to the readers to determine who the pov belong to. This might result in a lot of confusions because they might be from a character in the future, present, or past. For me, reading each long, long chapter requires a great deal of attention, considering the amount of vocabulary and military information that I have absolutely no knowledge of. Thankfully, the Tl team do put descriptions and links for military terms and information. It was very helpful. All in all, it's one of my favorites that I enjoy. It's certainly not the best, but its unique set up will make a fire that will keep on spreading and becoming popular. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
October 29, 2017
Status: c412
Hmm let's see. Interesting premise. Sci-fi plus magic? Lets see where it takes me!

400 chapters in, this is absolutely getting nowhere. It stays true to it's words, he's just powering up. No overall determined goal or plot.

His damn chip is overly overly op. He is overly dependent on it. No character development ever happens. He's bland and 1 dimensional. The story is getting more generic and less entertaining the more I read. Like some typical cn novel, the MC looks up to strong character only for the next chapter to... more>> show the MC beating the character's ass.

The plot is predictable. Talk about central continent? Of course we're going there. Then the following up top repeats. Talk about ancient relics and pocket dimensions? Of course we're getting one. Things come into his hands and leave the others.

Side characters pass like passing flies and portrayed as retards. Seemingly significant characters neglected the next second.

Details regarding setting is only brought up when the MC arrives to it which seemed like it was came up on the spot.
Spoiler

like during the school selection, it never says anything about the enmity between the light and dark magus. Was only brought up later on for excuses for events to happen. It was something like, "wait I forgot to mention that!?"

[collapse]

Cold blooded and cunning mc? Generic. His "cunning" amounts nothing but a typical MC with thoughts and overpowering plot armor and luck. Cold blooded? Seems like a deadpanned MC with only the purpose to move. If u want to look at a rational lunatic and evil madman, go look at Ouroboros Record. The MC there is a perfect example. This guy here is just selfish, arrogant, and seem more like an idiot pretending to be smart with the help of the world's GM. He also OOC sometimes. It's like the MC isn't devoted and completely determined with his goal, if he has one. Maybe he does, I may have just forgotten. But if it's to the extent that I forgot, it's not even significant enough.

In addition, it's similar to Linley in Tomato's novel uhh which is it? Oh yeah, Coiling Dragon or Ring. The MC gets strong op bloodline, only for bloodline to eventually seems average in a wide world.

It's pretty consistent, but this time I really hope it changes. I want more tension and less predictable generic plot events. Well at least, the cultivation in this novel is seemingly different.

The MC tries to praise his advanced sci-fi world every other minute. Ok that was an over exaggeration. It's annoying. I would've loved to see the MC struggle and not bring over any of that damned op "scientific" knowledge of his that makes no sense whatsoever! Its The chip! The damn chip is like god powers! The f**k? Analyzing bloodline to the very molecules? Oh motherfu-.

I was left utterly disappointed. Like many other novels, the world centers around the MC. Unexplainable plot holes pop up like a finger constant pressed on the machine guns' trigger. It's like water, bleak and bland. Idk. To me, it seems over rated. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
The Legend of Sun Knight
October 6, 2017
Status: side story 19
While reading this novel, I found myself experiencing sudden mood swings. I would laugh one moment then cry at another.

This novel is one of best novels that has both sides of the same coin; hilarious but sad. First of all, the comedy is original, witty, and it fits in perfectly. The comedy is in sync with the plot and it’s beautifully inserted. U can find the comedy in a variety of elements, I.e dialogue, thoughts, actions, self image, and first impressions. Heck, the whole plot reeks of parody and gag.... more>> On the other hand, this novel is a tearjerker. It’s not the usual romantic tears or the cliche familial tears (not that there’s anything wrong). This is all about being bros. Yeah, that’s right, the BROMANCE. The friendship. The brotherhood. The bonds. The homies. Whatever word I use for it, this novel exhibits a rich taste of brotherly ties and their simple but deep relationship. It’s truly really beautiful and very precious. There are moments that are full of feels while there are moments that are full of laughs. No matter what, the transition between the two is so smooth, I don’t even notice the change in mood sometimes. At the same time, the mood is clear to see and very distinct.

The characters are just a bunch of idiots, honestly (except Judgement 😎). Sun is more of an idiot than anybody else. He is useless when it comes to fighting but he is very badass. He is strong willed, decisive, and very selfless. Although, he is depicted as a selfish, arrogant, and cowardly being during his usual days, he will, no doubt, uses everything in his power when it comes to the people important to him, especially his fellow 11 brothers. He seems to care about many things like his self image but in truth, about the only thing he truly cares about is his holy knights and few other people, ie the pope or king (the son, not fat one).
Spoiler

He even once threatens the pope that the one thing that the pope can’t touch are the holy knights.

[collapse]
He is basically a tsundere.... He is the type that will not hesitate to do what he need to do.
Spoiler

He even tortures his knight platoon when they were first introduced.

[collapse]
Even, no, especially when it comes to sacrificing himself.
Spoiler

He made a lot of sacrifices, destroying parts of his self

Spoiler

even his eyesight, precious hair color, and lastly sanity,

[collapse]

to save his holy knights.

[collapse]
Often times, this lead to him encountering troubles and danger. But he is also the type that takes it on himself instead of sharing even an ounce of pain with anybody important to him. He is cunning, witty, charismatic, and selfless. He is one of the most likable main characters ever, in my opinion. What he doesn’t realize is that he is also irreplaceable in the minds of his fellow holy knights too. Whether it is from the cold or warm factions, they are also willing to protect him, especially Judgement (BFF), Leaf (this dark angel [not literally]), Earth (surprisingly), Ice (marry me), Hell (BFF 2), and Blaze (fanboy). The others are not as close but they are also willing to risk it too. Not to mention, the pope, king, teacher, and the vice captain. They each have a distinct and unique personality and quirks. Finding out the secrets to each one of their quirks is one of the most enjoyable things.

Not only the are the characters one of the best, the plot is extraordinaryly exhilerating. It is like a roller coaster ride. It starts off with a slow and not much drama pace. It slowly accelerates. Then, things just got a sudden skydive. Drama and exciting plot lines kept popping up one after another towards the climax. It’s not stuffy, the pace is somewhat rushed a little, but it just makes you feel like sh*t is going down and getting real before u realize it. It’s like u accidentally stepped in the tail of a soft kitten and it turns savage and starts ravaging u. At first, the intricate and manipulative plot lines was really interesting and helps u open up to the characters. After that is just angst after angst after angst. It gets a whole sh*t crazier each time. At one point u think the conflict is over, u get three other conflict after. They are the climax type of conflicts, not just some side ones. Sometimes, it plays with u by giving u a light and funny side story type of event. Then, it turns out it’s many shades darker than u think. It was really enjoyable though. It uses a lot of literary devices too which surprises me because some novels I read are just like diaries. This novel has foreshadowing, and I mean A LOT, metaphors, repetition, symbols, etc. It makes the plot more of a bigass maze than some half assed word search. Honestly, it took me a second reading to understand everything that was said throughout the novel, especially that blatant foreshadowing in the very first prologue (for those that reread it, u probably noticed too
Spoiler

where the author lists the achievements of the holy knights and the plot actually follows it, ie killing a dragon or killing the demon king.

[collapse]
).

I just really love this novel. For once I actually do not ship these boys into indecent relationships because I was in awe of their strong bond. I feel like the theme of the story is that not everything is the same as is shown on the outside. This was shown through the characters’ personalities, the characters’ actions, the characters’ identities, and the plot events themselves. But what am I doing, giving a literary analysis. What I am trying to say is that I enjoyed this so much so that I can’t help but tell the world. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
October 2, 2017
Status: c93
This novel is honestly out of my expectations. The plot is one of the best I have ever read. It was so complex and exciting that I can read it for that sole purpose. The MC is just struggling to survive but, maybe because of his idiocy, he sets everything in motion, not according to the game. His actions and decisions are shown to neither be good ones or bad ones because they have such diverse effects that leads to multiple results. Whether that will be his or another person's... more>> demise and suffering. Even so he makes them, granted that he does hesitate but he thinks over his choices carefully. Then again, he is only a normal human so it almost never completely goes his way. Because of all the things he changed piling up on top of each other, it makes more problems and keeps the wheel spinning and the dominoes knocking. It is a beautiful example of the butterfly effect.

The characters, although interesting, is not that in-depth except for the MC and Erica. There is not much to know about supporting character like Itsuki and the Stokes parents because their background is irrelevant to the game plot. Some character also probably wont appear again like Norman, Jake, and Zen.

He is also excessively op. Really op. But in front of the last boss, he is helpless which puts me in a puzzle.

The mc's feelings and personality are never really explained with his own pov but more of the other characters surprisingly. It's given through their thoughts and impressions of their interactions with him.

Overall it's very interesting and will keep u hooked. It's a really well developed piece that can be better improved. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Reincarnator
May 29, 2017
Status: c283
Beautiful plot. Praise the author. The apocalyptic setting is umuah! Beautiful! Especially in the beginning, I can really feel it. It kind of calms down as story progresses but it's understandable because the MC is strong~

Unlike other op characters, this MC really really struggles for this sh*t. All his experiences and adventures are exhilarating and awesome. His personality is also different from what I thought, he's much more cold hearted, manipulative, and decisive. Although I would love to see his cruel and ruthless side more these days... he had gotten... more>> softer but I like it still. He has virtually no time to think about such things afterall.

This novel has virtually no romance, at all. Don't get your hopes up in the beginning. It's good nonetheless without it.

Also love how things don't always go his way, it just make it more exciting but exhausting.

The author's writing is at least good enough, I think. Translators also doing a good job. Frequent updates banzai!

10/10 would recommend. One of the best imo. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Tensei Oujo wa Kyou mo Hata o Tatakioru
October 7, 2018
Status: c96
A little girly and iffy in the beginning. Develops really well later on, especially after the wizard and the ship arc. Gives a lot of implications and perspectives into the characters. Develops the side characters fairly evenly. Except for Leonard. Honestly I don’t like his dynamic with the MC and hope he isn’t the ML but from where it’s going, he is rn. It starts out fairly similar to other rein novels but develops into a more thought out novel that really gives details into the mc’s feelings. Definitely a... more>> plus the more I read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Okoborehime to Entaku no Kishi
October 3, 2017
Status: v2c4
Leticia is queen material. She is the very definition of a powerful queen. She has intelligence plus the supernatural powers of the inheritance of kings. She is straightforward, hardworking, and generous. She is strong willed and decisive. One of the very best shoujo queens I have ever seen.

The novel introduces a very familiar setting of a monarchy and a strife for the crown but then there are twists and turns to it. Leticia is in no way powerless and helpless about the decision of the king to pass the crown... more>> to her in the middle of an eventual outbreak of civil war between her two brothers, rather she shows no reactions and has prepared herself for it when she was little. She has an amazing mental fortitude. Neither is she happy or troubled, but she took it as it was expected and set out to prove that she is competent. But, in no way is she arrogant but she admits her weaknesses and scrambles to fix those flaws, with pride. Usually, in these kind of stories, the brothers will be antagonistic and will try to harm the princess. But that’s wrong. In this story, the brothers puts a great amount of love for our protagonist. They cares about her like close siblings even though sometimes they don’t show it on the outside because of the gradual drift between the three because of the fight for succession throughout the course as they grow up. Even so, their sibling love never died but rather, they are shown to come running to her rescue when she is in danger. They are both competent enough to become kings, but they also believe that Leticia is no easy person to make enemy out of, although they have no intention of doing so. They believe in her abilities. Leticia doesn’t neglect the fact that she also loves and cares for them either. She puts priority to her brothers’ lives than hers when the situation calls for it. She is pained by their drift even though she never expresses it. Their sibling love deserves admiration.

Now, so far, Leticia has collected three characters for her round table so far (almost 4 in the manga as it goes with a slightly different plot). Each one has a distinct personality and very likable. There is character development and growth especially from the second member and third member. There is also romantic developments between Duke and Leticia although it is slow and not very noticeable. They are so cute and fit together like puzzle pieces.

Although the 12 swords are not fully introduced and so is the ghost/dark energy. The supernatural elements are somewhat vague as we probably need background information on the king Christian because he started the chain. So far, we have enough bits of information and little encounters with the ghost/dark energy. She is also gradually getting deeper into that conflict.

The novel balances the focus of political events and the supernatural events on an equilibrium. The romance is a bit on the lesser side. It is really enjoyable, however, as the political and supernatural mixes. Right now, I’m waiting for more members to join her adventure party because she doesn’t have nearly enough people for support. She gets in a lot of dangers, whether that will be from the brothers’ factions of nobles or the ghost/dark energy. She does get help from other people but she also uses her own powers to topple out of it. She looks so badass every time.

Overall, it’s enjoyable and balances things quite well. It delivers itself in a clear way. Although the pace do get a little slow but it has enough drama and angst; not too much but not too little. The characters are likable and the readers can’t help but to know more about them. It has a potential to be 5 stars and hope it will improve towards that future. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
September 6, 2017
Status: c8.25
This novel is superb. It is like an unpolished gem that hides a a secret miniature sun inside. First of all, the setting is very creative and interesting. It is like many reincarnation stories but at the same time it differs. The plot is fascinating and although it sometimes gets repetitive but I am addicted to that repetition. The setting is unique and tense in each world and it's interesting to see the views of different types of people (kings, nobles, models, CEOs, singers, etc.). Also, the MC is much... more>> more powerful, he basically rules the world he goes into (not literally). I just love seeing him trumps his enemies and use everything there is to his advantage to achieve things we cannot imagine. He does seem excessively op but there were many instances to where he makes mistakes, especially regarding to the ml. The ML is just a beautiful piece of obsessiveness.
Spoiler

Although it is unclear why, the fact that he always manage to chase after the MC in EVERY world and how in each of them, they always end up together for the rest of their life no matter the circumstances makes me cry.

[collapse]
He is so loving and perfect for someone like the MC who is powerful (in personality) and a total S. Their love can be felt even it seems superficial and fake but the fact that they always look only for each other and dedicate their everything just proves that the MC at the very least accepts the feelings. And if you are still not clear by now, yes it is yaoi/bl. The sad thing is you don't get a lot of descriptions for those scenes and only a few loving moments in each world (so I made a collection from all the worlds together for myself). The way they interact with each other, especially the way the ML lusts and obsesses over the MC is adorable and very satisfying but I can never get enough. The only big qualm about this novel is how short each of the story is. At the end of each story, I always want it to prolong for about 100 more chapters. Although the plot connecting all of the stories are a little weak but I expect it to be explained soon so I hope everything gos well, heck I hope it goes on forever. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
November 15, 2017
Status: c70
A truly fascinating novel. It has an intricate and interesting plot line. The characters are likeable. Although their actions sometimes proved to be illogical and the change in certain characters are rather sudden but it could have been with the reason of being influenced by The World. It has not given an exact reason, however. The story is more told in a third person pov which may limits a lot of perspectives. The MC is reasonably strong but has a lot of talents. The good thing is that although he... more>> does use the otherworld knowledge, many if his talents are a combination of both personalities existing within him. He doesn't overuse the knowledge. The personalities become less inherent the further one reads and I think it serves a good purpose for emphasizing that they are indeed merging together. The romance is logical, a little cringey and superficial at times. The protagonist/antagonist is also reasonable, she acts for her goal but her personality is questionably ignorant of her surroundings. There's a lot if invisible side characters but it's not hard to remember them. The characters have developments, sometimes abrupt and sometimes gradual. Ariel remains unchanged. Vincent was a great supportuing character that has a lot of change, similar to the Arnold. But his "result" is abrupt and it was a big sacrafice of a character that plays a really big role. But the novel plays it out good and made it a turning point precisely because of how important he was. Lancelot also has doubtful intelligence but he also shows meaningful moments of his actual mind and opinions that are not influenced constantly by Maria. Erwin differed from my initial impression and quite agressive. Charlotte also changes through out and she was a supporting character that makes a lot of things flow. There are a large variety of characters. Some sentiments and feelings are questionable but most makes sense. Every character has their own ambitions and power. The beginning story was more a drama between students with training. The latter part to recent updates was a fief building/war/politics with training. Things get stickier and the MC is increasingly being recognized and showing more expressions. His character has changed quite a bit. One of my favorite things ever about this novel is that plot armor is actually against his favor and he literally fights against it. It makes the story tense and exciting. The story line almost never goes his way in the first part and that made a big change to the MC. Overall, the novel is very enjoyable but there are some in inconsistencies. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
Very interesting and refreshing concept with the thought of the MC being more malicious than the evil guys. I like the multiple settings idea and just getting into it but he already had op cheats and large harem so that's one thing I regret. The story is good and all but no TL is picking this up which saddens me. This is a great novel and wish somebody will pick it up. Please update~
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
I Don’t Like The World, I Only Like You
May 9, 2018
Status: --
This was so bittersweet and heartwarming at the same time. Although Mr. F and Joey overcame their struggles throughout their youth and romance by effort, her friends’ situations breaks me to tears. I’m very happy for Mr. F’s and Joey’s happy future but I can’t help but agonize and sympathize with Dorm Leader, Young Master, and Female Goddess. I hope that they too one day found happiness within the one they love. And also for Hu Wan Yi to also find herself a lover :)
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
B2j
B2j rated it
Feng Yu Jiu Tian
May 5, 2018
Status: v1c13
Reading this was so painful for me. I love SM and yanderes and whatnot. Looking at all the good reviews, I decided to read it. But I was utterly disappointed. The beginning was interesting but it goes downhill pretty fast. I have to agree with all of the points the other bad reviews made. The MC is realllllly unlikable. The ML is okay but he is kind of a s*x fiend. They don’t have love nor chemistry, just abuse. Thats fine sometimes for me (of course fiction only, don’t riot... more>> and throw bricks at me) but the mc’s personality pushed me really close to the edge of dropping. I only read a few chapters but their personalities don’t really mesh well and the plot is ok, not that engaging either. I found out that the author also wrote Gu Fang Bu... (don’t know the name) and the couples’ relationships are similar, abusive. I expected the abuse but I was hoping for abuse because of possessive love not abuse because of physical attraction. That’s how I feel the 2 MC are like. Really a disappointment. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report