Report Review
10 Reviews


Aziru
Aziru rated it
Emperor’s Domination
November 3, 2016
Status: c256
I truly wanted to like this novel, the plot is.. Ok, and the characters are.. Also ok, but, how do I describe this.. Its just reading this novel has been a very painfully frustrating experience. I honestly can't even imagine how the translator has had the patience to translate this novel, and even up to two chapters a day! Has my respect.

Pros:
1) The plot: The story is actually pretty interesting, I like the concept, reminds me of TDG.
2) nothing else to see here, move along..

*ooh boy now we... more>> get to the bad stuff*

Cons:
1) Characters: To be fair, they aren't really bad, I actually quite like the maids (side characters). It's just that I have mixed feelings about Li Qiye (MC). I like that he isn't a pushover, and is "smart" (although that's debatable) but hes is too arrogant for my taste. Yes, he has the power to back up his arrogance, but its still repulsive imho. I would have much more preferred it if he didn't just talk trash to anger his never-ending and ever-so-dumb enemies, but actually trash talked them in a constructive way truly putting them down. You know those shirts that say "I dont look for trouble, trouble looks for me" yea? Well this is the complete opposite. Hes just looking for trouble with everyone, its repetitive and annoying.

(also after all of the "heaven defying" stuff they've seen from Li Qiye, him knowing everything about the ancient times, talking to ancient beings like he knows them, yet the maids, and people close to him, still haven't even had the thought, that "maybe he was reincarnated" or "hes a being from the past". So ignorant, always just amazed and saying, "hes only *insert age here* (13) how can he know all this stuff?!")

2) Enemies: If you were to take away their names, you wouldn't be able to tell who was who by the way they act. After he kills an enemy, his next enemy is just a copy of the previous one, they all just blend together. They don't stand out and are all completely brainless. 3) Author: omg I cant stand him, ugggh cant event describe my frustration with him! I completely hate his writing style. All together, I have probably skipped about 4/10, if not more, of the text in this novel. He stuffs so much useless, trash information in every chapter, and then keeps on repeating the same utterly boring and useless information in the chapters to come! PLEASE! I GET IT ALREADY! YOU TOLD ME THIS 30 TIMES BEFORE IN PREVIOUS CHAPTERS! Reminds me of a grandpa who keeps on repeating the same story over and over to his grandchild.. Annoying.

The naming system is so lame.. Omg. Im talking about the names of the cultivation manuals, and items/weapons. Its like the author has to include "god" "heavenly" "devil" "demon" "hell" or something else "majestic" in all of the names or they wont powerful. AND OMG the names are so long, heres an example: "Azure Mysterious Ancient Kingdom's Heavenly Grotto" LIKE WTF, 6 WORDS FOR A F'ING CAVE! Uuughh so frustrating

He also repeats so many annoying phrases, I will list a few:
- "Heavens most proud daughter" (this one really had me ticked off in the first 100 chapters of the book)
- "Just counted it on my fingers" (not as annoying but still, ffs think of something better"
- "Little demon" (its so convenient how every enemy calls him this, even though they meet him for the first time)
damn I had so many more, but I cant remeber any more right now, ill just describe some:
- he boasts about slaying everyone and everything in has way, and then another paragraph describing how his maids know that hes not arrogant without the power to back it up. (Repeats this in like every other chapter)
its honestly even making me frustrated from trying to remember them so im going to stop here.

anyway the author just has very annoying writing habits, so appalling!

tbh I probably forgot many things I wanted to say, but I feel like this should at least scrape the surface of my agitation towards this novel.

TLDR: The chapters are usually somewhere between 50-100% full of completely boring, useless, repeating, information describing something that ins't relevant, or wont be relevant after this chapter ever again. The naming system makes it seem like the author is trying to show off the majestic, religion based, names he knows. Like a child who has a limited word bank, and only knows a few words that he thinks are cool, so he includes them in all of the names he makes for his toys. Repetitive phrases. Repetitive enemies. Repetitive plot mechanics. The only reason I gave it a 2 stars instead of one, is because I think this novel had the potential to be something great, but instead is akin to a piece of trash. I have pity for it. <<less
111 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
February 9, 2016
Status: --
This is actually a decent novel with an OP MC who isn't so ruthless and kills everyone who offends him. There is a good motive that pushes the plot and will you keep interested.

I think it was a really cool idea of how he has the "power of knowledge" as his weapon in many situations. He does power up a little too fast but that's better then too slow.

Now to romance. I personally hate love triangles because because I feel bad for the one he rejects.. So this was the... more>> worst part of the novel for me (which tbh isnt that bad at all). But its still fun, hopefully later on he marries both of them lol. Also, there is character development which is always a good thing.

The fights are cool, the comedy is great. This novel has some of the funniest moments in any WN I've read (edit: tho it may not compete with AWE). The plot is always moving forward and it doesn't stretch the story out.

The one thing I dont like is his age, eh hes like 13 but I just imagine him to be like 16 or 17.. Makes him look more like a badass instead of a little kid haha.

Overall this is a great light novel and I would recommend it to anyone especially if this is the first WN they read. :) <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Martial God Asura
February 9, 2016
Status: --
I dont want to just repeat what everyone else is saying, but heres just a few things.. Ok, yes, this novel has many flaws, and some parts you just want the author to go die in a hole for, but there good parts in the novel which are really interesting. There are many depressing parts, but I think the good parts still outweigh them. ... more>>
Spoiler

I hate the fact the he massacres clans/schools/sects because if you think about it, the majority of the people who are for example apart of that school aren't bad people, there are probably many innocent people in there that their families rely on for money and prestige ect. But no he has to go and massacre them all because someone from the clan/sect offended him. Like wtf you dont have to kill the innocent. I force myself to change the story in my head to where the innocent didn't die, but its still depressing knowing the truth.
The romance part, eh, I don't really like harems because I feel bad for the girls that he rejects, but this one is different. He actually makes them all his wives, so I suppose that's better?

[collapse]

The story is interesting, obviously there are repeating things in it and I don't like the fact that beyond his little world right now, in the later chapters there will be an even larger world, but I suppose that's the only way to keep it as the same pace of him being always underestimated. If you have a strong heart and can continue to read after the few rapes and massacres then you will enjoy this novel and be waiting for new chapters every day. No real character development but whatever that was never the reason why I started reading this.
The plot is ok, fight scenes interesting.

If you like ISSTH, chances are you will hate this novel. If you like PMG, ATG, you might like this one.

WARNING do not just start reading to "see how it is" then drop it, because you will regret it. You either start reading full well knowing you will read some sh*t scenes which will leave you pissed, but also some you will enjoy. OR dont start reading at all and live a nice and peaceful life not needing to remember the horror or MGA

so yea :) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Release that Witch
March 23, 2018
Status: c822
It seems all great authors start with Er ;)

easily one of the best ln I've ever read, along with AWE and ISSTH.

However I understand that It may not be for everyone, as this information/knowledge-based masterpiece, politics, industrial development, science, magic, etc. For those who are all about action and slapping faces, it may not be ur cup of tea.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Peerless Martial God
February 9, 2016
Status: --
edit: now that I have read other WN that are on a much higher scale then this, I have to say, it does have many flaws. But from what I remember, it was still very entertaining to read.

It's true that like every single fight he is involved in the spectators are ALWAYS saying something like "Oh hes dead, this (bastard opponent) is way stronger and MC has no chance, its a shame MC is so strong (yet not strong enough) at such a young age, he could have grown up... more>> to be someone amazing." which can get annoying at some point but still fun to read.

There are repetitive and predictable stuff but the story isn't as repetitive and actually entertaining.

The harem.. I don't like harems all the much, especially when the MC cant man up to at least awknoledge all of them as his own, but eh

It's still great and you cant stop reading once you start. It's the kind of novel that you read and just laugh it off, don't take it to seriously :P <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
February 9, 2016
Status: Completed
I'll be honest, I almost dropped this novel multiple times while reading book 1. It was slow paced and kind of boring imo, but dont let that stop you. After I got through it, this novel definitely became one of my all time favorites. Incredible story.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru
Against the Gods
February 9, 2016
Status: --
Don’t want to say too much, would have been one of the best wuxia novels out there if not for the damn harem.

He is ruthless, but he does have a brain. His plot on exacting revenge was pretty beautifully done and the story was interesting. I dont like that there’s too much mysteries he doesn’t know about, but that’s very common in wuxia novels.

... more>>
Spoiler

I don’t really mind a harem, although I prefer it didn’t have one, just a regular romance, but whatever a harem is a harem. BUT this novel takes it to a whoooole new level. Hes just a bastard who goes around making every beutiful girl he meets fall for him.. Like damn I can name 6 girls hes involved with, its hard to remember all their names. He says he loves one, f**ks the other, marries the third, forgets the forth.. And ect. If feels like he just uses them for self achievement or s*x or whatever. He doesn’t actually treasure them or why the f**k would he go and “fall” for all of them? If he just chose 1 and progressed with her honestly this novel would just be so much better and you wouldn’t feel guilty for the MC, because who even knows what happened to the (50 year old) girl he got pregnant and where the hell his baby is, how is he supposed to take care of it if hes such a player?

If he didnt have a f**king baby maybe it would have been a little easier to read this, but now that he does he should only devote himself to that girl, but no he stills wants all of his harem to revolve around him even tho his kid is somewhere out here in the world he doesn’t even give a sh*t about..

[collapse]
If you like a sh*tty harem and a good story, this is right up your ally.

I would want to recommend this to a friend, but I wouldn’t because its just painful. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
March 26, 2018
Status: c54
Thoughts as of chapter 54

It feels like everyone has needles up their ass, any small uncourteous interaction will make them fly into a fit of rage and act irrationally. The exaggeration is starting to tick me off.

So far, all enemies are brain dead. They act retarded, simply f**king mentally handicapped. Let-alone unrealistic, reading through these scenes is a chore because there is no good motivation for the farce, it is simply created to slap their face.

Too much sh*t-talk dialogue from spectators. I can appreciete it in moderation, but its just... more>> excessive here. Not to mention during each act, all of this dialogue is essentially identical with minor adjustments. If it was at least constructive, I might have let it pass, but that isnt the case. All the spectators are washed up brain-deads who only know how to spout incoherent sh*t. B0ring.

A bunch of uninteresting infromation being shoved down my throat throughout the chapters, I've found myself skipping entire paragraphs after paragraphs of this dump. Chapters a dragged out. Also worth pointing out that I find paragraphs and sentences directly taken from previous chapters that add no new value to the context. Makes me question the motivation of the author (or translator *cough* Qidian).

Comedy~ personal grudge of mine, may not be necessarily a bad thing for others. Conflicts that should have easily been avoided, still happen to force comedy. It goes out of its way to set-up a situation for these events, and even breaks immersion at times. Dumbing down the MC is common, intentionally make him dense as f**k for the laughs, then in other situations, he is the only rational person. Inconsistent.

Overal, many flaws imo, but still above a lot of other trash. In any case, I still intend to continue reading atm. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
February 9, 2016
Status: --
Honestly the first five chapter where like hell to read, I quit reading it like 4 times until I finally passed them. The harem is actually one that doesn't make me feel guilty about the other girls that love him because he chose one and sticks to her, the others just want to be around him.

The story was really amazing, loved everything about it. The author really stretched some parts out which made it kinda boring sometimes, but if you can get passed that its amazing.

Not much to say you... more>> should just read it, skip the first 5 chapters if anything and just know that he was week and treated like sh*t and you be fine. :) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aziru
Aziru rated it
Zhan Long
February 9, 2016
Status: --
After reading the 10 manga chapter that are translated, I wanted more, so this is overall the first light novel I've ever read (or read anything in a long time) so I'm probably going to be a bit biased, but whatever.

This novel is/was fun to just read in the spare time, but eventually is just becomes a bit boring because many of the things that he does in the actually game are so damn long and repetitive. (Especially when he visits dungeons.)

There is romance, but its kinda vague to... more>> a certain extent. One thing that pisses me off is that he only want Wan Er when Dong Cheng Yue is like head over heals for you. And personally I like her personality way more and Think she looks better than wan er in the manga. The story outside of the game is also interesting, but not enough of it. The first person view is also fine, kinda interesting considering most light novels or 3rd person view. The author drags some really boring parts out for a really long time, which I just don't have patients for and have to skip bit by bit. The fact that he only wants Wan Er but nothing really obvious actually develops from their feelings, feels like a chain holding him from other girls. You cant get with any other girl, even tho they want you, but you also dont get with the girl you want, because you both are just ignoring your feelings.. Idk thats just what if feels like.

The characters do have a character, but don't really develop at all.

I probably wouldn't recommend to a friends just because it would be boring reading it for a while, but if you got nothing better to read, sure why not. :) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report