Report Review
32 Reviews


Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
God of Cooking
June 21, 2016
Status: --
delicious |diˈliSHəs|
adjective
highly pleasant to the taste

This one word basically describes the entire novel. ≪— (That's your TLDR.)
Ok I'll admit, I rolled my eyes when the status window first appeared. But I quickly and willingly accepted that my initial assumptions that this novel would turn stereotypical (in the novel landscape I mean) were to be proven incorrect. Breaking it down, because our MC does this with the food he tastes.
... more>>
Spoiler

I appreciate how he isn't overpowered with his cheat, and it is what he eventually decides his cheat is: a tool. He has another advantage which is his knowledge from the future but it helps balance his lack of talent and progressing cooking skill. Also, he gradually realizes that because of his presence, the predetermined future he knows of is changing, and with that his attitude and cooking style also adapts to the current present.

[collapse]

One of my favourite aspects of the novel is that updates come fast, just a few days apart from each other. Many thanks to KobatoChanDaiSuki for their consistent speed and quality. Skillful translation, word choice, and grammar is just like cooking — you can have the same (raw) ingredients, but how you prepare and serve the chapter makes all the difference. Some might say that it has a slow start, but I see it more as the appetizer. I tasted the first few chapters and, before I knew it, we were at the competition phase and I began to devour the chapters. The characters are poly-dimensional (yeah that’s a word now), multiracial (I was impressed, ok), have the potential to improve, and have the super rare phenomenon of me not disliking any of them (shocking) !

Overall, this novel suits my taste. It’s refreshing but has depth, incorporates “traditional” novel gaming concepts but it isn’t predominating the entirety of the story, the plot recipe is original, the author writes with detail — so much that you are immersed in eating up her words and able to almost taste each dish, and the competition makes the reader feel like they're also sharing the atmosphere that is tense enough to cut with a knife.

So I repeat, this is one delicious story. (4.5/5) <<less
45 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
(Um, Sorry) I’ve Been Reincarnated!
December 21, 2016
Status: c60
Lemme just say that I really liked this in the beginning. When I read the first chapter of the manga, I thought "there must be a novel version of this, and I must find it!" Lo and behold, someone shortly after, picks it up and I was full of glee. I had high hopes for this because the writing isn't too bad at first glance (the translator did a great job, don't get me wrong) and the MC's backstory wasn't just the flat "he was a regular HS student that... more>> died" and it actually mattered to his new life. I mean, it was supposed to...

I enjoyed the carefree novel, his interactions with the people around him and his family were adorable. Full of plot potential and no nostalgic cooking nonsense too!

Now as for why I dropped it.
Spoiler

I could forgive how his mental age regressed although he never forgets to mention he's an adult inside, and his actions always contradicting his insistent whining. I could forgive that the humor of his narration had gotten stale after 40+ chapters. What I couldn't forgive was that nothing happened, and the author's attempt at making something up was, pardon me, pathetic.

School arc, always exciting. New faces, new fodder for plot. Yet the new characters and events didn't really offer anything new other than to increase the repertoire of the MC's strength. Friend? More like a classmate trying to act like an able older brother despite being dependent on the younger MC to tutor him. Heroine? More like a kid who got attached to you and that you're now babysitting. The deciding event was when they were attacked by a legendary creature and the MC uses a broom to kill it. Oops, didn't mean to reveal my super OPness in front of the entire school. Off to the castle he goes to explain, not acting like the 8 year old he's supposed to be in front of the freaking king. He tells his courageous story then wonders why the king looks at him in shock.

I cringed when the assassin became his animal-eared maid. I disapproved when he let the children mentally younger than him (he wouldn't want you to forget) walk over his pushover face. The backstory of his dad having his past face and his trauma wasn't really further addressed or used in anything of significance to develop the plot other than to gain the admiration of his shotacon tutor.

Rant over.

[collapse]

You get nothing original here folks, it's basically the usual reincarnated genius who can use all sorts of convenient magic as a baby who's strangely too motivated to be the strongest. But remember, that's what you signed up for if you choose to read this. I drop something when it becomes a chore to read, and what was initially fun ended up becoming annoying.

If you're looking for a typical, stereotypical, Japanese reincarnation story look no further and don't let this review discourage you from trying this out. As for me, I'll be looking for something else with a little more depth. (2.5/5) <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
I was cringing the whole time reading this (only few chapters out right now).

Wait, hear me out.

I've read a decent amount of historical Chinese novels, and something I've always been wondering about is: how do those who've transmigrated from the modern era rapidly adapt to the more ancient society's rigid etiquette?

Finally, we have here a novel that has bypassed this plot hole. This beautiful girl now has a male soul, naturally he knows nothing on how to act as a woman, even more so as a crown princess who's being... more>> watched very carefully as every action and every word is analyzed. Thus, it was hard to read because of how uncomfortable he made me feel -- because he's doing it wrong! And it's so refreshing. He's actually kinda cute, with his ignorance. I can't wait to see how our MC will actually become a princess in heart and in mind, or if he retains his male mindset and perverted tendencies. (4/5) <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce
Hidden Marriage
November 16, 2016
Status: --
Promising.

Ning Xi is our protagonist and she has gone through so many unfortunate experiences, mostly from the hands of her adopted sister.
... more>>
Spoiler

She stole not only her family, childhood sweetheart, future as an actress, and now her baby.

[collapse]

And this all happens within the first 4 chapters. Damn. I'm starting to be afraid of what that "tragedy" tag could mean. So the plot has been screaming Temptation of Wife, but going from the summary, what we have thus far is just her backstory. What we're here for is: the love story between Ning Xi and Lu Tingxiao.

I pray that she may gain happiness with her new family, and satisfying vengeance on her biatch of a sister. It may not have the most original plot, but it is certainly fun to read and I'm always eager to read the next chapter. (4/5) <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Yup I can see this becoming the reverse harem route it's tagged to be. Yet I'm not averse to it -- I'm, in fact, looking forward to more. I like 4 things about Altirea:
... more>>
Spoiler

1) She accepts her current situation -- that this world is now her life and and it's real, not a game. She acknowledgement is pretty early and it's refreshing as most heroines of such reincarnation novels become blind with their previous knowledge and think of their new circumstances still as the game.
2) She's mature. Obviously, because she isn't the 8 year old she appears to be, but she doesn't -try- to act like a child.
3) She's pretty realistic. For example, she remarks how amazing the game MC is, because if she were the MC, she would be running away from the target ikemen because of his weirdo personality.
4) Although she's now "Altirea", it doesn't mean that her past "self" is gone. I like how you can see that she had a family that she still remembers, even using her previous experience with having a younger brother to deal with the first possible childhood love interest.

[collapse]

All in all, the MC isn't annoying me she thus deserves respect for that alone, and I'm looking forward to the introduction of more of the dolls she makes. (4/5) <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Tensei Oujo wa Kyou mo Hata o Tatakioru
July 3, 2016
Status: --
I like Tensei Oujo for a plethora of reasons: First, someone mentioned it already, the MC actually acts like a princess. She makes an effort to be one, she isn't impulsive in her actions, and she's smart. I know she's older than her "age", but damn I'm almost 20 and I've never been that mature or responsible. Secondly, I like how she isn't overpowered with cheats. No buffed magical powers, no genius level intelligence, no drop-dead gorgeous looks that'd make anyone fall immediately in love with her. Yes, she has... more>> the information from her past identity, but
Spoiler

it becomes irrelevant, I think, in the later chapters when the last dude to be captured appears. I'm still unclear on what the situation is too.

[collapse]

Thirdly, the characters. I like their backstory and their personality. We see their cookie-cutter outlines from her memories, and then we get their perspective and learn more about them so now they're actually a person to both us and the MC. I'm still kinda meh on the dude she's set her mind on, since we only get a biased POV from the MC on how kind, gallant, and able he is. But we're still only 40 chapters in, so I'm hoping to get into his head in the future too. Finally, the prologue is like this major spoiler that motivates me to keep reading so I can find out what happens! Of course, the novel itself is enough to keep me interested even without the preview, but I can't help but look forward to when we get to that part. You can skip the prologue since, as I mentioned, it is a spoiler of a future event and it won't effect reading the actual story. (4.5/5) <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Wagamama Onna ni Tensei Shita yo
December 21, 2016
Status: c29
Before you read this, let me give you the warning that I wish I received before I picked this up: there will be a lot of baking involved. Perhaps I would have enjoyed this novel more if I knew that this would be the usual a normal reincarnated Japanese but a pastry-making-genius who also brings modern-like objects to the world. Yes, the mother-child relationship moments are adorable and heartwarming, but I didn't get enough of it. I felt like out of 4 chapters, 3 is about her making sweets or... more>> the like. It wasn't the plot I was expecting so I was disappointed. I tried to keep reading, but her idiot kept on showing. Why does an adult and a mother with a powerful background and powers need to ask permission or be afraid of anything? Ahhhh!

Give this a try if you're into sweets making in another world, with the side plot of childcare and, of course in a reincarnation novel, magic mastering. It's not bad and, I'm sure, has plenty of potential in the future; but I won't be sticking around to find out. (3/5) <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Aloof King and Cool (Acting) Queen
August 13, 2016
Status: --
Ahh I can't wait for the development of this one! The relationship between the MC and the gardener is so cute. Because the chapters are so short, he hasn't met the love interest thus far, but I'm looking forward to the moment as well as to how they treat each other in private. Will it be like the title, remaining indifferent to each other both in public and private? Ahh can't wait for them to fall for each other! Side note: I'm confused as to why people rated this a... more>> 1? The plot nor the MC isn't offending anyone, they're actually (both) quite likable. It's pretty early right now in the story but I'll go ahead and round my unofficial rating of 4.5 to a 5, to bump up the average. (4.5/5) <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce
The Beauty’s Secret
July 20, 2016
Status: --
Curious to see how this develops. So far, it's very interesting and I feel sympathy for the MC.

But, with a mom like that... sorry but it's hopeless. If you can't beat the enemy, join them. I'm laughing along with the mom in the shadows watching the good show.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
September 19, 2016
Status: Completed
Seeing the overwhelmingly positive reviews, I had to see for myself if this novel indeed deserves the much-coveted 4.9 rating. And after reading it, I actually had to reconsider if I should change some of the 5-star ratings I've given in the past because compared to this masterpiece, some of the novels I've read are just dim in comparison. So this is your average reader reporting that the praises sung about Wangchuan Wu Shang are not unwarranted.

But don't take my word for it. Read it yourself. (5/5)
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce
Reborn as My Love Rival’s Wife
August 24, 2016
Status: --
After the first chapter, I knew that my buried interest in gender bender stories have once again resurfaced. The title tells you everything of what the story is about, and I absolutely cannot wait to read more!

How will our male MC change? Will he fall in love with his new husband who he hates with a passion? Will he learn to act more feminine, and more importantly, accept being a woman? Will his love rival realize that this person with his wife's appearance, is in fact not her?

It's only been... more>> the first chapter, and I'm looking forward more! (5/5) <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
I am a Chef in the Modern Era
August 18, 2019
Status: c108
It's a good story, but I dropped it, and let me tell you why.

The story just from the summary already hooked me in, a reverse transmigration where someone from the ancient era gets put into the modern world and wants to be a chef? Sign me the hell up!
And it seemed like there actually was a plot in this story, Lin Shuyi is a foodie and his journey to become a chef was pretty interesting since it went in a completely different direction that I thought it would take... more>> (i.e. A Kdrama-esque route) but it was interesting. I didn't mind it, and he was still on his way to fulfilling his goal in his new life.

And then, I don't know what happened. I'm legitimately still confused even now.
Spoiler

Everyone's already saying it, they adopted kids. Out of nowhere. Shortly after getting together. Wtf..?

BUT THAT ISN'T THE MAIN REASON I DROPPED IT.

I dropped it, because the story didn't follow it's original path anymore. It completely betrayed its freaking title! Lin Shuyi finally gets his restaurant and I was so excited! Finally, the first step to becoming a chef! But he stops there. At the first step, he stops.
This 19-year old with his new boyfriend-turned (immediately) -fiance, decides to adopt kids, abandons his ambitions altogether, rushes to train his newly-hired novice chef so he can leave his restaurant to him while he raises his kids. Even the grandpa in the beginning is just thrown away to another family.
I. Am. So. Disappointed.

[collapse]

The story no longer followed what it said it would be about, which is to become a Chef in the modern era. I was so let down, it turned a story that could've potentially be a 4.5 to one I couldn't even finish. (3.5/5) <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
July 5, 2016
Status: --
Betrayals, betrayals everywhere. And revenge is the sweetest when you use your own hands to serve it cold.

Absolutely love this novel. The MC is smart, determined, decisive, cruel, and justified with his actions.

The motif of someone who was kind, but foolish in blindly trusting in someone to the point that they're taken advantage of... only to be slapped in the face with the treachery is so pitiful, us readers can't help but cheer on the anti-heroes in their journey for revenge. A major plus, it's not a harem. He... more>> gains just one companion, Minaris, who's charmingly twisted in her own right and that I have high expectations for.

So far, only 10+ chapters have been translated, but I'm definitely looking forward to more. (5/5) <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
I’ll Live My Second Life!
May 17, 2016
Status: --
When I started to read it, it was promising. The chapters were pretty short, and it was progressing in a good pace. Then I really got into it, and shed a manly tear for her.

The amount of injustice the MC has faced since childhood is atrocious, it's so frustrating just reading it! Yet she still someone remains indifferent to the hateful words and treatment towards her. The MC is very strong, not physically but mentally and emotionally and I respect her for that. Also, I never really hated the king... more>> (at least not yet) since his treatment towards Fii isn't any different than anyone else. I just feel a little cold towards him. I just can't wait for him to get smacked in the face with what he's been trying to ignore. Anyway this is a light hearted read, despite me crying. (5/5) <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce
Takamura-kun is Cursed
July 26, 2016
Status: --
A lot of what makes or breaks a story for me is the main character. This time, she/he is great. Obviously, anyone would be shocked at such a situation and Takamura is, but she accepts it pretty fast and you can't feel any urgency with her trying to immediately change into a girl. That's the great part about her. Since it's troublesome, she prefers to just stay a dude than try to change back, haha. Relatable.

The story progresses well for a short series, and I can't wait to see which... more>> who she chooses or if she'll stay a dude (not likely in the novel world, but there's always a first). (5/5) <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Chongfei Manual
June 13, 2016
Status: --
It felt great to read the novel. I loved CWF, and this has a similar plot in the beginning except it isn't as slow and wordy (don't get me wrong, CWF has its own charm). I like the MC because she knows how to act innocent and make use of her young, cute face.
I like how she has people on her side, and I'm curious to see how they'll react once they find out her true nature (or if they stay ignorant of it!).
I like how the main... more>> antagonist gets served some justice very early in -- I was at the edge of my seat waiting for the updates at this part!
Something to point out though,
Spoiler

you don't see the yandere part of her until chapter 13. Even then it's very slight.

[collapse]

TLDR: Like revenge stories? A smart female lead? Read it. You won't regret it. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce
Magi’s Grandson
May 29, 2016
Status: c26
I'm a sucker for reincarnation stories, so I really liked this. Notice the past tense. The beginning was great, MC powers up from a young age, with the advantage of his past life-modern world memories. He quickly overtakes his grandfather because of his knowledge of physics, kanji, and "imagination" from RPGs and the like (not clearly stated, but you basically assume it).

Despite my sarcasm, there IS a plot, and I can't say it wasn't unpredictable but it made me feel something like "the action I was looking for has finally... more>> appeared!" I guess it 'officially' starts around the 20s. One of my main complaints is that the people he becomes friends with are SO dependent on him.
Spoiler

I get he wants to make them stronger, but he teaches them his spells and hides nothing. I just wish they would stop immediately wanting to copy his magic and come up with their own ideas. Aren't you supposed to be the amazing S class or something? He's basically spoon feeding them at this point. The girl that was supposed to be his love interest isn't interesting either, sorry to say. She's just kinda there, one of his admiring followe--I mean, friends.

[collapse]

Anyway I'm gonna leave this unrated for now till I muster up some time and the will to pick this up again. I'm feeling around a 3/5 right now though. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
TLDR: I might sound like earlier reviews, because I'm assuming everyone became disappointed too. There are parallels with Gu Fang Bu Zi Shang, and I wholly encourage those who are interested in picking this up to alternatively turn to the latter. Or better yet read Empress with No Virtue, it's funny and there's actually a development.

~~~~x~~~~
Warning: I'm basically ranting because this was so frustrating to read! I couldn't even drop it because it was so short (which is the best part of this novel) and I held a... more>> tiny hint of hope it would improve.

The beginning had so much potential -- their meeting and circumstances were interesting and the characters weren't one dimensional. Or so I thought. I was waiting for it to get better, but instead it went down; as in the story plummeted like the temperature in Canada.

The main character was smart and was supposedly stubborn and strong. The *quote* hero had the capacity to grow as he is living in a society where polygamy is virtually the only relationship and meeting a woman who wasn't just a pretty face, yet feeling attraction to her charisma, should've slowly changed him. Yes, cliché, but still a nice story to read. The antagonists had understandable circumstances that could've helped us feel more sympathetic or more hateful towards them. SO. MUCH. POTENTIAL.

Then I don't know what happened. I guess the author decided he needed to end the story ASAP, and as I said previously, the plot just fell. Everything that COULD'VE happened... didn't.
Spoiler

MC was so unwilling to be with the guy in the beginning and I actually respected her for it, yet after a few kisses, she kept on compromising with the selfish jerk, who was basically attracted to her because (1) she saved him before, which is a the perfect example of the suspension bridge effect, (2) she was only "unusual" to him because of her initial rejection of him (how can anyone reject such an amazing specimen of a man!) and he was mystified of her fairy tale belief of a one true love, and finally (3) he had this alpha-male single mindedness that refused to let him be considerate of anyone but himself and his self interest of conquering any woman he sets his eyes on, like the animal he is.

Then his concubine, who he knew was jealous, claimed the MC was to blame, he immediately believed her without investigating the issue or respecting (hah respect, as if he had any of that towards himself or other people) the promise between him and the MC. I've read Peach Girl before, and one thing I absolutely hate is when a person who is supposed to trust the one he or she loves instead believes another person's words.

[collapse]
Nope. The romance tag should be deleted since I didn't feel like I saw any love in this. Someone said it before, everything and everyone was so shallow. (.5/5) <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce rated it
Yeho
May 23, 2016
Status: --
The MC was too selfless for his own good, and that was the main barrier for the relationship. However in his defense, and a slight refute to Andrez-ssi who reviewed before me, I think his character was not completely unrealistic. His reasons were understandable and it further complemented his nature. Remember: he was raised by his generous sister, and felt like a burden his entire life. It makes sense that those feelings would translate to the first relationship he goes into, which is also very complicated.

So in conclusion, I... more>> liked it. The angst could clearly be felt but wasn't overwhelming so, just light like fine rain (theme in the story yo). The characters were all realistic and likable (oh except for the mom) and the BL action was pretty light--nothing explicit.

Warning to all who are planning to read this: "Sadly the thing I will translate will be incomplete one... There is a free sample on the internet, but those are not complete, and I have that... I don't have the book sadly" from the translator's website.

As someone previously stated before me, my only wish is that there would be a little more so we could also have a share and bask in their happy ending. Too bad. (3.5/5) <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Awesome Sauce
Awesome Sauce
Marietta-hime no Konrei
July 2, 2016
Status: --
Too early to rate it, but right now I'm absolutely feeling a 5/5. The MC is adorable, and hilarious -- especially how she gets misunderstood. I feel bad for the general because everyone regards him as a brute, when he's just awkward and clunky. They're definitely a match made in heaven. Can't wait for more (especially since I heard there'll be some smexy action later *raises eyebrows*).
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report