Report Review
19 Reviews


Arnissan
Tons of unnecessary descriptions without anything interesting happening. No character development, no plot, no nothing, just dry descriptions of game-like systems that everyone already know in a generic fantasy world. Reads like a sh*tty version of Mushoku Tensei with JRPG mumbo jumbo slapped on top of it.

The whole chapter 13 is about a magical alarm clock...
59 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Heavenly Star
October 4, 2016
Status: c48
Heavily overrated is what it is.

There is no direction, random things happen randomly to random characters (who have no depth by the way). The high grade this one has is all due to the little sister - we all want someone like that in our lives, someone who will do anything for us no matter the cost. It's a nice fantasy and wish fullfilment but nothing else.

*There's no structure to this story - no motivation, no goal. Things just happen.
*The sister gets so attached to the MC... more>> in a span of few hours that she'll do anything for him. Author lacks any understanding of human psychology.
*The characters are so one dimensional that they are barely characters at all. I can't even describe the main character after 48 chapters because there isn't anything to describe, he's that generic.
*MC arrives in a new town and somehow knows everything about everyone while having almost no infomation at all. Pulls his reasoning and actions out of thin air.
*Many lines are wasted on describing power levels yet there is no clear description of the system, nor there is anything written on where the MC fits in that system. All we know is that he just kicks everyone's ass no matter how strong they are.

I could go on and on...

My advice to you is to stay clear, better read something worth your time because this one definitely isn't. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Reads like written by a 12 year old - any skill can be acquired in minutes, his mom is a genius chef and all around perfect housewife, the girl that he befriends but otherwise doesn't care about is otherworldly beautiful, frail, feminine and loves him. And all problems are fixed with his deus ex machina any skill in minutes technique.
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Cheat na Kaineko no Okage de Rakuraku Level Up
January 16, 2017
Status: c5
This is just a poorly written otaku fantasy and wish fulfilment.

The complete apathy towards other adventurers in first dungeon makes me dislike this novel a lot. Apparently making out and staying hidden is more important than saving lives you could save with almost no effort but naa, let 'em all just die for no reason. And the protagonist being a complete sociopath doesn't care either way. All his mates die and he couldn't give a single f**k.

It doesn't work from the story's point of view too. Was it... more>> done to set the tone for the world? But nothing other than fluffiness continues after that. Meh... A waste of time. <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
The New Gate
September 23, 2016
Status: v3c1
A very dry read about MMORPG systems that everyone already know without anything much really happening. And what ever happens, everyone knows that the OP MC will deal with it pronto. Why this is so popular is beyond me. The manga version is a bit more bearable due to a lot of the tedious MMORPG mumbo jumbo monologue being skipped but it does not make the story good. And that's the problem, the story just isn't good.
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Breaking Off the Engagement… Bring it on!
February 23, 2017
Status: c35
This story is very typical for the genre and characters are incredibly one dimensional. On top of that is a translation that while comprehensible definitely isn't enjoyable - dialogues especially don't flow well and are very awkward.

I've decided not to torture myself with this poorly written cliche anymore. I suggest you do the same.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Gate of Revelation
October 28, 2016
Status: c215
I think that this novel is underrated, here's why:

*Characters have more depth than your average Xuanhuan or Xianxia.
*Plot is original, not your standard xianxia rehash
*Modern day is a plus because most novels here are historical or pure fantasy
*Villains aren't generic evil dudes. They all have their reasons and motivations to act like they do which are believable.
*Party/guild management - not many novels has this or not as well done as here.
*Superb translation

Now there are several problems with this novel. Here are some of them:

... more>>
Spoiler

*Skill system is not that interesting
*Pet system is not great either
*The little girl could be written better, it's hard to like her at this point because she turns sociopathic whenever danger strikes.
*Some aspects require a serious suspension of disbelief like the girl's split personality.
*Novel lacks downtime, sh*t's happening all the time and it's difficult to binge read it.

[collapse]

But even with the problems it has the rating should be higher. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Half-Dragon Slave Life
September 1, 2016
Status: c7
Severely underrated by weak hearted people. This is how society in the middle ages worked, slavery was common (except the magic colar part and magic in general). Though the cannibalism component is questionable and probably added for a shock effect. Translation is good and story is decent so far.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Release that Witch
July 26, 2016
Status: c191
A japanese workaholic dies and wakes up as the useless 4th prince to work once more. Quite an enjoyable read thus far. The pacing could be faster but the content makes up for it. Hopefully we'll get some more depth for the main characters as story goes on.

UPDATE 29.08.2016: While the character development is somewhat lacking, development of the Bordertown makes up for it. The political landscape and happenings are also interesting.

UPDATE 30.12.2016: This is definitely one of the best if not the best novel on the site. None of... more>> the others I've read here have been up to the quality standards of an actual book but Release that Witch could actually be sold in book stores. Can't recommend this enough! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Heyi Shengxiao Mo
June 18, 2016
Status: epilogue 3.3
Contrary to my expectations it is more drama than romance. Still a good read though.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Reborn as My Love Rival’s Wife
March 24, 2017
Status: c14
Finally a gender bender romance that's portrayed realistically (at least so far). And it's incredibly funny and well translated. The chinese romcom trope of everyone looking like a gods and goddesses is a bit annoying but it does not detract too much from the overall experience. 4.5/5
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
July 1, 2016
Status: v2c11 part2
All the tactics and management of kingdoms is something fresh for me. A really enjoyable read.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Flash Marriage
July 15, 2016
Status: c28 part3
Even though it's full of chinese romcom tropes, it's still enjoyable.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Martial God Asura
June 13, 2016
Status: c416
The start of this novel was decent but it gets stale fast. It's quite average in everything from writing to characters. At chapter 416 I'm not interested on reading forward at this moment. Nothing interesting happens, the author recycles the same themes again and again, it's been stale for the last 100 chapters. I might pick it up again later when I don't have anything else to read.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Against the Gods
June 8, 2016
Status: c478
Predictable? Yes. Entertaining? Definitely!

While the formula keeps spinning the same themes, it's well writen, the characters are interesting enough and I still want to read of what happens next even though I largely can predict it already. I don't need ATG to win a literary award, I just want to be entertained and this story certainly lives up to my demands.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Don’t be So Proud
September 15, 2016
Status: c3 part2
Chapter 1 is quite confusing with droping like 8 or so characters and making ir really hard to understand who is who. But if you read further all becomes clear in the first 3 chapters and after that it flows quite nicely. Solid read so far.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
One Life, One Incarnation – Beautiful Bones
June 24, 2016
Status: --
It's alright, a bit slow but entertaining enough. I like this better than that other popular work of hers. At least the heroine does something here besides marveling, blushing and being unable to speak.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
Can I Not Marry
July 11, 2016
Status: side story 3
Many of the themes aren't concluded at all and are left hanging in the air. But it was a pleasant read nonetheless because I was in the mood for something lighthearted.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Arnissan
Arnissan rated it
When He Comes, Close Your Eyes
June 28, 2016
Status: extra 7
A truly good story. Even though quite a lot of things require a serious suspension of disbelief the story was highly enjoyable.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report