Report Review
11 Reviews


Archerreborn2
A word of warning: Anyone expecting a OP protagonist should leave. The MC is fairly weak and pretty much stays that way, or at least until up to the end of volume 3. Most of the fighting is done by his subordinates.

After going through all the free chapters of Son-con, I have to say I'm pretty surprised. While the premise looks simple at first glance the story has a surprising amount of depth. Aside from the mother-son moments scattered throughout the story (which are delicious) the plot is in essence... more>> about a modern person with modern sensibilities thrust into a world very much in the medieval age.

The MC's influence on his mothers and his own position in society become very important. They become a platform for various situations that force the MC to examine his own values and grow as an individual and come to terms with the vast amounts of political power thrust into his hands and the very different morality prevalent in the world.

In essence the MC is a normal person. He isn't super smart nor does he talented at fighting. He isn't used to death, nor is he really prepared to kill. His biggest defining trait is his kindness. Honestly sometimes he can be infuriating especially when he makes mistakes, but over time he does get better as he grows as a person and fleshes out his personal values. However while he is weak, he is also a lot more proactive compared to many of the Japanese "reincarnated in another world novels". He actively seeks to participate in the new world, and isn't shy about reciprocating the love of his fiance.

One thing I really liked was how self aware the protagonist is of his own weakness. A lot of stories like to make the protagonist strong at a really quick pace, or make them super amazing at governing or economics or whatever just because they come from the modern world and somehow a high-school level education makes them a genius.

It doesn't.

The world even in ancient times was a very complicated place. Just because you studied a little bit of economics does not make you suddenly are able to manage the intricacies of economies comprising of millions of people. Sure it might help a little, but it does not suddenly make you ruler material. The MC is aware of this, and his improvement is done within the scope of his capabilities in a pretty realistic manner.

Another thing that is nice is that the side characters are actually useful. Since the MC is weak, many of the times they need to cover for what he is lacking.

Overall, while I wouldn't say its a masterpiece or anything, it exceeded the expectations I had going in. The first volume is pretty generic, however from volume two onward it really starts picking up. For how absurd the premise sounds its a lot more thought out than a lot of the novels currently being translated.

TLDR: Came for the PLOT, stayed for the plot. <<less
104 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Overlord (LN)
February 26, 2016
Status: v10
Overlord is a lot closer to a real novel than most of the stuff you'll see on this site. If you're used to the light novel format and expect the plot to move at a breakneck speed while focusing mainly on the MC with small sections for the side characters, then this won't be your cup of tea.

I would say about half of Overlord is about the MC. The other half splits its attention over the various colorful side characters both from the MMO and the New World. It does... more>> a really good job juxtaposing the differences between the MC, his minions, and the people of the new world.

If your only interested in the perspective of the MC, then I don't think this novel will be a good fit but for people who really like world building and character interaction this is probably something you'll like. I consider this to the one of the best Japanese light novels on this site. <<less
41 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Dragoon
April 19, 2017
Status: c15
If I had to sum up this novel in one word, it would be "refreshing".

Without a doubt, this novel is a reaction to the influx of transported-to-another-world novels, and to a lesser extent the increasing frequency of "morally grey" protagonists who act selfish and pretend its cool. The main character in Dragoon is an incredibly pure youth. In fact I would say his niceness is so overwhelming it greatly stands out compared to so many other novels. He is both selfless and kind, determined and naive. He is hard on... more>> himself and soft on others and does not take anyone's malice to heart. He acquires great strength due to his determination, yet he isn't infallible. He fails many times due to his inexperience and learns from them.

In contrast, the person who would normally be the protagonist, the "reincarnator" is childish and frivolous. Due to his Cheat powers from reincarnation he is incredibly powerful and does not need to work for his strength and takes nothing seriously.

It highlights a problem I have with many of the Isekai novels currently out there. The protagonist treats everything like a game. They don't work for their power instead its given to them and because of that they never grow, they don't seriously consider themselves as part of the setting, and they almost never think about how their antics effect the world or the people. It leaves the story unfulfilling and shallow.

This story is very good and Yoraikun has done an excellent job with the translation. If you are tired of how stale Isekai novels are or just want a straightforward protagonist who doesn't become angsty or edgy just because people were mean to him, then this is for you. <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Demon Hunter
October 11, 2018
Status: v4c23 part6
After reading four volumes of this story, I have to say that it is fantastic. It is incredibly frustrating how underrated this novel is in comparison to all those other trash Chinese post-apocalyptic novels out there. It has great characters, spectacular fights, and extremely competent villains.

It is great at building suspense, and has one of the smoothest and most natural story progressions I have read for a Chinese webnovel. It has great foreshadowing and manages to keep most of the named characters relevant rather than dropping them after an arc.

I... more>> can't believe that the top rated review is from someone who didn't even get past the first sixteen chapters. Especially since most of what is said in the review is nonsense. It sounds like the person who wrote it merely skimmed over the story without understanding the nuance.

In fact the character nuance is one of my favorite parts of the story! Enemies don't always remain enemies when alliances are based off benefit and large organizations are composed of different factions, so of course one group might want to kill you but another would want to save you.

Anyways, this story is definitely a buried diamond. I highly recommend it and hope readers will stick through it, the later volumes get pretty crazy.

Also to address a previous reviewer's negatives

1.
Spoiler

The logic behind strengthening perception is because MC is primarily a firearms user, so perception greatly helps with his accuracy and dodging. He supplements his lack of strength with advanced weaponry, and in most parts of the story, even if he increased his defense, most of his opponents would still tear through him like wet paper.

[collapse]

2.
Spoiler

Smarter doesn't mean wiser. It just means he can think faster, but he can definitely still make bad decisions. In fact he is very unlearned in quite a few areas, which he leaves his subordinates to cover.

[collapse]

3.
Spoiler

He doesn't collect battle spoils because he has no way of using them. Most of the tanks are damaged and he can't repair them, he has no way of producing ammo for the guns of his enemies and he needs money way more than weapons because of his serious debt, and he literally has no opportunity to collect slaves most of the time. However he actually does use some later on in Volume 4. The whole reason he can even sell them is because his organization is researching the tech, not actually using the gear.

[collapse]
<<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Once Upon A Time, There Was A Spirit Sword Mountain
November 29, 2017
Status: c250
I have no idea how the rating for this novel can be so low. Honestly this is probably one of the best Xianxia novels currently being translated.

Especially for people who have read a lot of Xianxia novels, this story is like a breath of fresh air. It has a unique protagonist in that the main character relies on his allies to help him fight since his fighting style primarily focuses on defense. Because of this, the side characters aren't relegated to being just an audience for how cool MC is.... more>> Additionally, the cultivation progression is pretty reasonable so there isn't a high character turnover rate (at least as of right now) so the top genius generally grow alongside the main character as the story progresses.

Additionally unlike most Xianxia novels rather than straight up fights of cultivation vs cultivation, many of the fights and challenges in the story rely more on the protagonists intellect and craftiness than straight up strength. There also aren't any instances of cannon fodder arrogant young masters either, the MC's opponents rarely underestimate the MC and usually are pretty smart and pragmatic themselves.

All in all, a great story for people who like Xianxia but want something new. The MC is pretty shameless though, and as other reviews stated he is very defense focused so don't expect him to be slaughtering hordes of enemies or anything so your mileage may vary depending on that.

One thing to note though is that unlike most Xianxia, there isn't any strong pressure or calamity that continuously pushes the MC to develop so the pace and tension within the story is a lot more relaxed. Although that's not to say there are no stakes, just that instead of failure meaning death, it just means a setback. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Masked Knight
May 18, 2017
Status: c92
Don't be fooled by the low rating and the terrible reviews. This story is absolutely amazing.

Sure the main character acts like an idiotic hormonal teenager at first. But that is because he is one! He is only 18, who can say that you didn't do stupid stuff when you were young?

Yet what makes this story good is that he slowly grows out of it. While he is sometimes idiotic he is also sincere and has principle.

But ultimately the scale of this story is a lot bigger than just a teenager... more>> growing up. Very quickly politics and war are thrown into the equation and it gets incredibly intense. The underlying conflicts of the story are actually quite complex and the battles are very heroic. It feels like it definitely had some thought put into the story, you don't have randomly people provoking the MC or stuff like that.

If your only reason for not liking the story is because the protagonist is unlikable then stick around because he definitely gets way better. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
April 21, 2018
Status: v2c1
I would say that this novel is okay. I actually like the premise a lot and the antagonists are actually fairly competent which is also good.

What drops the score of this novel though is the protagonist. Specifically his personality. I mean sure he hides his identity but that's normal and explained away fairly well. My main problem is he doesn't act like someone who fought through countless battles and led many soldiers.

He has a problem of being too modest, and seems to just go with the flow most of the... more>> time. Its very immersion breaking for someone who supposedly was a great leader.

Overall its okay. Could be better, could be worse. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Gate of Revelation
April 27, 2017
Status: c329
A word of warning this novel will not be for everyone. The MC is very weak at the beginning and his growth in strength is very slow. If you do not like weak protagonists I recommend that you stay away from this novel, while he does get strong it takes a long time.

I was blown away by this novel. Going into it, seeing the 4.0 rating I didn't exactly have high expectations. However I was pleasantly surprised. As some other reviews have already stated, the novel only gets better and... more>> better. Opposite of many other Chinese novels that start to grow stale repeating the same thing over and over again, this novel is both inventive and imaginative.

The Main Character is weak. Because of this, the majority of the novel he has to use his wits and brain to use what limited ability he has to defeat significantly stronger opponents. He also has allies who help him out, and many of the side characters are actually very important and helpful.

Another thing is that the bad guys are not united and many times they will even fight among each other. One memorable scene was when an powerful enemy showed up and it looked like he would be the main villain for the arc but suddenly the tables are turned on everyone (including the MC) as a third enemy springs a trap that they had set.

The synopsis above makes the tone of this story feel incredibly light, and many people going in may have been fooled by this. However the story itself is actually very intense and dark. At times it even feels incredibly hopeless as it expands upon the implications of the MC being an NPC and the world being just a game. But so far even at chapter 329 many questions about the setting are unanswered it keeps me guessing as many things I had thought were established facts get overturned with each new arc.

Finally the setting is well thought out. I can say with a fact that out of all Chinese novels this one probably has the least plot holes. Everything is connected and things that might feel like a plot hole at first are explained and expanded upon later. In fact both the plot holes raised in TerraEarth's review are actually addressed later on in the novel.

Overall I greatly enjoyed this novel. I would recommend it to most people. The beginning is a bit weak, but I would highly recommend people stick to it at least until the end of the second arc which is around chapter 80ish. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
The Girl Who Bore the Flame Ring
March 19, 2016
Status: --
Definitely a good read, a big step up in both quality of translation and material compared to most of the other stories being translated. I'd recommend everyone give the first two chapters a read to get a feel of the story.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Definitely a great novel. Yes I'll admit most of the characters seem unlikable at first glance. But the story is focused a lot of character development and character interaction, so as the plot progresses and more of both the MC and the heroes are revealed originally irritating characteristics start to make more sense.

Honestly the second volume is much better once you start getting into the groove of things and it focuses on the heroes actually improving themselves. Definitely a good read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Archerreborn2
Archerreborn2 rated it
Conquest
September 5, 2015
Status: --
One of the better Chinese Wuxia novels. The characters are a lot more dynamic and have quite colorful personalities. The MC feels more human, than 95% of other Chinese protagonists that I have read about. I highly recommend this.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report