Report Review
10 Reviews


Aoto
Aoto rated it
Reverend Insanity
February 25, 2017
Status: v3c172
It's a different kind of cultivating novel. In this novel insects are part of cultivation. The cultivation system has 10 level, there are not much differences between the first 5 lvl except for the amount of energy you have, but after lvl 6 there are huge changes (only after lvl 6 you will count as immortal and your lifespan will greatly increase). Insects also have 10 level, but are much harder to cultivate the higher you go. These insects basically always give you 1 ability or have auxillary uses.... more>> For example one can boost your speed for a certain amount of time, another one can boost the defensive capabilities of your skin and others can shoot a fireball. You can split them into attack, defense, speed, "awareness" (hearing, sightboost), auxillary (itembox) and ones that can boost your cultivation speed or energy regeneration (healing insects are another group). Our MC changes his insects threw the novel and so does his fighting style. The novel is about a youth who is born with poor talent, that cultivated thew many hardships to overcome his innate talent and becomes stronger and stronger until one day he manages to cultivate a Spring and Autumn Cicada. Because this insect was coveted by everyone and he has done many evil deeds in the past to cultivate it (the insect) he gets hunted down, at the final moment he chooses to use the ability of the Spring and Autumn Cicada to go back in time. The MC is rather cold but he isn't a ruthless monster, he treats all living beings as equally, so he doesn't really care if he kills someone or something (would you care if you stamp on an ant? That's basically the MCs mentallity). If it is a threat he kills it, if not he doesn't care and trys to enhance his own strengh by any means
Spoiler

Because of his innate talent he couldn't break through the 3lvl without external help and refined a relic that needed a herbivore to devour a young virgin with good talent (he used the granddaughter of someone who made things difficult for the MC and the granddaughter annoyed him, blame her bad luck that he needed this relic)

[collapse]

Overall this novel is pretty good and definitly unique, it's interesting to see all those different kind of insects cultivator. But the MC is a cultivating freak so if you hope for a novel with good romace or don't like a coldhearted MC you better not read it. Otherwise I would definitly recommend this novel to everyone who is already fead up with the standard xianxia novels. <<less
54 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
Lord of the Mysteries
May 26, 2018
Status: c119
WHAT THE FCKING HELL,

I'm utterly shocked at how a good novel like this has such a low rating, even more so, because this novel is from the same author who wrote novels like Throne of Magical Aracania and Martial Arts Master. This novel is about abut a guy who reincarnates in a world that is similar to Britain in the 19. Century. The protagonist reincarnated into someone who died under extremely weird circumstances and is trying to find out what exactly happened. Upon investigating he stumbles across extraordinary and... more>> magical forces that have only been heard about in legends and faces many dangers, yet he still keeps going to chase after the truth and learn more about those extraordinary powers.

That is more or less a reaaaaaaaaaaaaally basic introduction of the novel, if you enjoy novels like "Release that Witch" or "Warlock of the Magus World" you will with a veeery high probability enjoy this one as well. My review might be a bit biased because no novel of Cuttlefish That Loves Diving has disappointed me so far, but I seriously love this novel. The world is highly realistic the characters are unique, all those weird powers are extremely interesting and the story has a good management about pacing and keeping the story interesting. I highly recommend this novel to every western fantasy fan and give it 5/5 stars (more 4.5, but the rating is already so bad, so I have to boost it a little) and please don't let the rating scare you away (of course the rating could also be there because the translation isn't good, have only read the raws so I can't judge that) <<less
35 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
The World Online
November 6, 2017
Status: c1146
Spoiler

It's rather interesting, this novel isn't just about getting money and fame from the game like in basically every other VR novel, but rather a test/training set up by the government, to get a better foothold on the new planet and increase the chances for every individual to survive. Of course our MC also has his cheat and it's the most common VR cheat, that he goes back in time and of course exploits it like crazy, while solving the regrets that he had in his pastlife. At the beginning the novel was rather casual and except that the gametype was new, plus the rather interesting setting it didn't have much to offer, but later on, as more and more content was added the novel got more and more unique and sometime later the author also slowly got the hang of how he should develop this novel, so as the novel goes on, it simply gets better and better, of course the repetition of war that is common in kingdom building novels can be a bit annoying or even boring, but it gets balanced by the new content that gets added along the novel. The only thing that really bothered me was that the human relationships get somehow neglected as the novel goes on and that MC focuses more on the game than other things, of course this is justified, because the MCs responsibility grows along with his power, this is simply a personal preference.

Overall I would highly recommend this novel to everyone who likes VR novels, Kingdom building and novels with unique cultivation system/modern cultivation, as long as you can overcome the rather casual beginning and don't hate the war and management parts :3

[collapse]
35 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
One Man Army
November 2, 2017
Status: c226
To be a honest, I was a bit disappointed at the beginning of the novel, the MC was just a robot who had a sense of duty to become the best in the game with his pastlife knowledge, but as the novel goes on the MC changes and not just a bit.

... more>>
Spoiler

He starts to slowly trust others again, enjoys his life and not just the game, makes rational choices of making money with stocks through his knowledge of the future. As the time goes on the Value of the game becomes less and less for him as he realizes that the game is in the end just a game.

[collapse]

I have to give this novel 5 stars simply because I enjoyed the mix of VR and the character growth of our MC, the only minus point is that the fights are most of the time boring, because there is no suspension in them.

I can highly recommend this novel to all VR novel lovers and people who like to read characters grow up and change :3 <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
Harry Potter and the Secret Treasures
January 20, 2018
Status: c1396
The first arc is honestly a bit boring, because it's simply HP with the Chinese writing style (but thats because the author simply started the story because of work and didn't think it would get that popular), afterwards there were tremendous improvements plotwise and it is really enjoyable, the only thing that annoys me is that the romance is reaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaally slow, as long as you are not a hardcore fan who picks on every small detail you will enjoy it, so give it a try and read more than the... more>> first few chaps ^^, hf <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
Reincarnation Of The Strongest Sword God
September 24, 2017
Status: c1869
Spoiler

It's okay, just a little slow and the real life part gets less and less as the novel goes on which is a bit disappointing for me. As one can see the MC is pretty overpowered, but is luckily not invincible. Even with 1800 chapters the role of the female interest is still open, because somehow all of the girls have a good impression on him but nothing further. If you are interested in VR Novels I can highly recommend this one to you as it has a really realistic and unique setting, the only fault I have with this novel is, that the author is a bit forgetful and sometimes implements things that he will later neglect.

(I recommend it if you are bored :3)

[collapse]
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
Your and My Asylum
December 9, 2016
Status: v1c3
Hmmm, MC was summoned to another world by a girl who's hobby is to torture people. To escape his fate of getting tortured, he tries everything he can to "entertain" and help her in various ways with his outstanding wits. A rather interesting and twisted story with noticeable character development. Overall a really entertaining and thrilling story.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
Valhalla Saga
November 25, 2017
Status: v3c1
It's a bit too early to give a full review so I will give a simple and short introduction of what I've read so far. The MC is a pro gamer, who died while playing in some kind of Tournament, afterwards he finds himself in a hall surrounded by warriors where the story starts, afterwards the story continues on a battlefield where he has to beat monsters to get stronger, how does a useless gamer do it? Of course by merging with his game character. The system is pretty interesting,... more>> he doesn't get skills like in other games, but "Saga's", basically a "buff" from something he achieved. Hard to explain without spoilering anything so just read it yourself :p

Overall it's a bit refreshing and the style of the novel is pretty good, overcome the first 2 chapters (they are a bit confusing and it's not that good or special, so you may think it's the normal MC reincarnated stuff, but it is different in a good way :3) afterwards it gets really interesting, so I simply recommend this novel to everyone who likes good reincarnation novels and new stuff:) <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
I Am Supreme
August 1, 2017
Status: c131
If you already read his other books, you will be a bit dissapointed, because the plot is pretty similar and also has alot of similar characters. But you can say that this novel is his best work so far. He took note of his mistake out of his previous books and also implemented a few new things that make it better to read. The humor also improved (at least in my opinion). Furthermore the cultivation system he uses in this novel is finally somehow interesting. I was extremly dissapointed in... more>> the cultivation systems of his other novels and can finally acknowledge this one.

Long story short this is basically all of his previous novels combined where he took out all of his mistakes and only added small details. If you are new to his novels it is in my opinion definitly a MUST READ, but if you already read his previous novels it can also serve as a good time filler. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoto
Aoto rated it
Fantasy Falls
March 26, 2018
Status: c480
The whole principle of the book is very interesting, but it's a shame, that the realization wasn't that good. Since this was the authors first work, I will skip the small mistakes, but overall what I disliked the most, were the "childish" characters, which in my opinion is a common problem for novice authors in the fantasy genre. Furthermore you were able to see, that the author probably impulsively started to write the novel, so as the story goes on, more and more flaws surface. So I can honestly not... more>> give this novel more than 3 stars (I don't rate the translation quality, only the book), for beginners, this novel may be enjoyable, but for "veterans" like me, this novel is simply too childish, BUT!!! I have to give the author some credits, because he recently started a new novel which is incomparable to this one. He fixed most of his mistakes and created a seriously good novel, that is very enjoyable to read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report