Report Review
14 Reviews


Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
May 20, 2016
Status: v2c5
It's rare to see a protagonist referencing not only the Sengoku Era, but also Machiavellianism and Romance of the Three Kingdom. There is also a mention to Sun Tzu recently.

It really shows how hardworking he is despite self-proclaiming as an ordinary man with an ordinary life.

Oh, he is good at cooking, as well.
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Baito de Aku no Soshiki
August 3, 2016
Status: --
Disclaimer: Due to various reasons, I have decided to drop the translation.

The story revolves around our protagonist, Aokura Arihisa, who is applying for a shady job offer at an (the?) Evil Organization. We as the readers are sitting on the VIP seat, namely the first person perspective from Arihisa himself. The writings are jumpy at times, but I hope that I managed to re-produce it in English well.

So far, the theme seems to be darker in the web novel compared to the manga adaptation.
... more>>
Spoiler

From Chapter 1: He was kidding about his parents being dead from an accident, only to reveal that he was a newborn baby who was abandoned in front of an orphanage. Oh God (ノω・、)

[collapse]
<<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
The Man Picked up by the Gods
May 16, 2016
Status: v3c22
This novel follows the main character who is overpowered due to receiving multiple powers and blessings from his dark past and gods's pity. However, it is being executed poorly, resulting in the story and the side characters becoming too underwhelmed.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Interesting at the first read. There are many potentials for development and world-building.

And the title seems to be spoiler-ish. Although, it does give us a sense of direction for the author's as well as the protagonist's intention and dream for his future occupation: building a dungeon in the shape of an "Urban City".
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Zero Kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho
April 19, 2016
Status: --
Amazingly detailed and easy to read explanation on magic and sorcery. The characters are lovable, too.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Fire Girl
April 16, 2016
Status: --
Slow-pacing. Almost like a slice of life, but that's why this novel is adorable. I am looking forward to more.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
August 24, 2016
Status: c23 part3
I am not sure. I had gotten some expectactions from Rio and the word "revenge", but...

Rio is a slum boy who lives every day with thirst of revenge towards thugs who raped and killed his mother not after his father died.

In another story, there is Amakawa Haruto who came to visit from another world after his own drama but ended up dying in a traffic accident.

As it turned out, Rio gave control of his body to our Haruto guy. And they live happily (n) ever after as a pacifist... more>> who just happens to be good in combat.

Plotwise, the series can get anywhere from 1 star to 4, but execution-wise, eeh, I'm giving it a 1. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Aiming to Be an Orc Gentleman
September 21, 2018
Status: c6
I wasn't planning to write a review, but after I saw ShadowFax's comment, I can't help but feel that I must write one.

First, please note that this is an R18 novel, a.k.a. A porn. So please expect the novel to contain s*x and other s*xual activities, including breaking a woman's hymen during their first intercourse.

With the many translated novels narrating the same Japanese-students-got-hit-by-trucks-to-find-themselves-with-cheat-powers-in-another-world, Orc Gentleman instead takes a strange twist on the orcs-elves racial relationship trope.

The orcs follow the usual ''kill men, rape women" trait, which lead to their race... more>> being the most hated in that world. However, possessing an incredible intellect, the Orc MC studies etiquettes and proper manners from literatures (porn) and aim to become the Gentleman Orc who will not be detested, but loved by his partners.

So far, the storytelling is solid, and the H-scenes aren't too repetitive. Which gives the verdict of 5 out of 5 stars as of chapter 6.

Looking forward to more. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Katahane no Riku
May 9, 2016
Status: --
A dark protagonist, totally not a hero, but an evil. Turn away if you want to retain your sanity. But otherwise, welcome to the dark side.

However, the lack of character development is starting to throw me off.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
EC
May 4, 2016
Status: --
This novel is slightly hard to read because of the number of the characters introduced. But it makes for a better world-building and deeper plot. I feel rereading all the chapters will be fun!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi
Ascendance of a Bookworm
October 16, 2016
Status: c31
Sadly to say, the main character has one of the worst personality, which should be unfit to be a protagonist of a story. I am currently making do with having a select few of the side characters that I am fond of, MC's elder sister, for example. Although, it [i]is[/i] well-known for a book intended for female audience to have such an annoying MC (which is why I stopped reading Shoujo genres).

The good points in this novel is how the author takes her time in the world building. Instead of... more>> telling everything right from the start, the MC as a young child from a poverty-stricken family slowly learns about the new world where she lives in. She starts really slow, initially from learning the layout of her own house (lol). It is interesting to enjoy when she finds new things around her.

Pros and cons clash, and I say that Ascendance of a Bookworm is a great adventure-like novel to read (4/5). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Evil God Average
June 6, 2016
Status: --
Protagonist girl is OP? Her presence may flinch even the greatest of monsters and her glare would send even the Demon King groveling to the ground. But in actuality, she is *only* an Evil God Average.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Tokyo ESP Gaiden – London ESP
June 20, 2016
Status: v1c3
Call me biased, but I really liked Hajime Segawa's work on Tokyo ESP (the original manga of this spin-off). And that's how I came to rate this 5 out of 5 stars.

This novel features on Minami and Kozuki ... more>>
Spoiler

after the Tokyo Skytree incident, before they returned to Japan to trade off the Ark in the second arc.

[collapse]

It was interesting to experience Minami's teleportation power firsthand. And also to learn more about Kozuki's childishness, her awkwardness... and their relationship to each other.

All in all, this LN will show you Minami's and Kozuki's character developments, and also connects several missing pieces between the two arcs in the manga. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Aoitenshi
Aoitenshi rated it
Katahane no Riku
May 4, 2016
Status: --
A dark protagonist, totally not a hero, but an evil. Turn away if you want to retain your sanity. But otherwise, welcome to the dark side.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report