Report Review
11 Reviews


Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Renegade Immortal
May 9, 2016
Status: --
Slower pace than ISSTH, but no less inferior. Read up to chap 238

As a novel created by Er gen, we can expect great things such as a story that stands out among the many generic wuxia/xianxia novels, a smart main character with an equally firm determination, immersive world of immortals, and unique ways of fighting and cultivation methods. Since this novel proceeded issth, you can clearly see many similarity and will be delighted to see where the author gets its inspiration on writing things we loved from issth. The pacing... more>> is a bit slower than issth which provides the story to develop with a clear understanding. The main character has a similar personality as meng hao, especially at the beginning of the story, just a lot colder and less comedic because of things that happened in the story. Revenge seems to play a big part in the current arcs, but I can see him moving past this after we move on the story and delve into bigger issues as the main character is becoming more involved in the events of his world.

If you liked issth, you shouldn't miss out on this. Trust in Er gen, the plot master to give you high quality story. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Demon’s Diary
April 30, 2016
Status: --
Slow pacing but never boring! Read up to chapter 97. Rating 5/5

This novel is top class, story, characters, world building are perfectly described, it's like watching a show carefully unfolding and very easy to follow. The author clearly is an expert in writing and knows exactly where to go with this novel. I have high expectations of this and has already made it to one of my top novel reading list. I like how the MC is low key, but not being bullied either and is just doing its own... more>> thing. People do slowly notices his strength and at this point can be considered as a genius by some people. My only concern is many girls has been described as beautiful, yet the MC has no relationship with anybody except for a crush on a certain elder of another sect. Hope this becomes more popular so that translation can come faster. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Zhu Xian
May 14, 2016
Status: --
The author constantly makes the MC suffer, especially in terms of love. Don't know how to rate this, because writing is solid but the direction of the story is messed up. Maybe 3/5 based on my enjoyment level.

... more>>
Spoiler

Adoptive sister falls in love with another guy and secretly dated him and eventually married him. Even though the MC never really confessed to her, I’m pretty sure she knows he likes her, yet she went after the cool guy. Felt like ntr.

The girl who expressed her love to him, end up in a coma and never recovered. Only after she sacrificed herself did the MC realized his love for her, thus starting his road of joining the dark side and becoming a wanted criminal.

The beautiful senior sister have a somewhat mutual love with the MC, though their feelings continued to remain ambiguous until the end. Due to the MC joining the dark side, they were like enemies similar to romeo and juliet. Also because of the coma girl, the MC couldn’t truly move on with her.

Until the end he never really acquired happiness. I know there is a Zhu Xian 2 which is still ongoing but I don’t know how that ties up to this story or whether the MC will ever have a happy ending.

[collapse]
<<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Beauty and the Bodyguard
April 11, 2016
Status: c2455
One of the best action urban romance novel, read the raws up to 2000 chapters so far.
... more>>
Spoiler

I like how the MC is trying to be loyal to his girlfriend (though we dont know for how long lol), even though there are plenty other woman likes and tries to tempt him (albeit they are not aggressive in their approach). Also his harem members is diverse with unique and likeable personalities.
Another thing I like is that if you have read the authors other novel, they are actually quite similar in terms of how the story flows and character designs, and they have some connections with each other.

The story is not unique with twist and turns, but each chapter is entertaining because of how it’s laid out properly with a balanced formulaic design. The story is very lighthearted and relaxed, you can pick it up and down anytime.
The novel is also satisfying especially when the MC amazes everyone with his amazing skills in fighting, medicine, or wealth. Also even with his amazing sets of skills, he’s actually modest and prefers a low key life which is admirable.

Finally, unlike other novel with the same genre, the MC is not trying to build a thug life on the background which can get draggy and uninteresting, he’s dedicated in being a bodyguard and improving his cultivation to get stronger.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru
February 1, 2016
Status: --
5/5 rating Oreshura

I love this novel because every characters are likeable and unique making them memorable. The story is simple like every school harem genre and don't realy have many plots and twist, but it has a nice story that just flows and keeps you interested and will make you understand more about each of the charcaters. Also the dramatic moments can realy touch you making it a relatable experience. Hope the translation can catch up soon since I can't wait to read more and hopefully finish every thing... more>> this novel has to offer. Easily among the top of many Japanese romantic comedy lightnovels. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
February 1, 2016
Status: --
3/5 Generic Story read up to 300 chapters or so.

After reading ahead with raws I found that the story has a very slow pacing and it focuses too much on character dialogues and tedious fights. The MC lecherous personality can get annoying, and he doesn’t seem to care if the girls would get jelous. He seems too fickle when it comes to love, although he’s wiling to die for any of them, he doesn’t realize that the other girls will suffer if he dies. The immaturity of the MC makes... more>> you wonder what the target audience for this novel is. Also there is not much sense of danger that the MC could be killed due to lack of prominent villains and his harem all belongs to prestigious families, hence they’d have protection from their family backgrounds. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Dominating Sword Immortal
May 22, 2016
Status: c45
Story is interesting, writing is lacking.

The story has all the usual tropes that makes xianxia novels entertaining such as a protagonist taking over the body of a useless young master of a somewhat famous clan, cheat ability like high comprehension, fiance breaking engagement, disciple of a sect, etc. The only problem is the authors writing style which is lacking in description leading to battles looking so simple and the story moving at a fast pace. Without giving us proper description we are left with no clear picture of what's going... more>> on, characters personality, and what to anticipate on the world the MC is living. Nonetheless it is still a good since the story is falling at the right direction and it is interesting enough to be above mediocrity. I expect a lot from this novel and hope that the score can only go higher rather than lower. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Martial Peak
February 1, 2016
Status: --
4/5 Above average, but not top tier, read up to 400 plus raw chapters.

This novel is entertaining enough to keep you reading for hundreds of chapters and you wont be bored, however the tale won't leave you a lasting impression either. The characters are likeable especially the different personalities of the harem members, however the heroines don't have much interaction with each other or know they exist until many chapters later, leaving them mostly blind to the MC lecherous behavior. MC is op as hell that can fight people many... more>> levels ahead of his and has a lot of tricks and power source, leaving him with no sense of danger but trampling his opponents and showing off is always satisfying. There is no huge twist and turns nor original plots, but it is interesting enough so you shouldn't skip this. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Realms In The Firmament
May 16, 2016
Status: c57
I'm enjoying this so far, coming from the author of OEM and TTNH, the author didn't dissapoint. I like the fact that this seems to be more lighthearted and comedic than the previous 2 books and doesn't involve itself too much on politics yet. I like smart protagonist and their plots, buy I don't want it to be the focus of the book, which is why I like the promise of this book more. Not saying it is superior since we're only 50 plus chapters, I'm just saying it has... more>> an enjoyable plot, reminiscent of good old xuanhuan. This is only my rating at the moment, depending on whether it lives up to its potential, the score could drop. Also the MC reaction to woman is funny, as he's not only dense but super pure. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
Peerless Martial God
February 1, 2016
Status: --
5/5 Very entertaining

This is one of those stories with predictable story, full of cliché, simple but you can't help getting hooked and can't help to ask for more. The story just flows nicely and everything is balanced not too focused on overdrawn descriptions of fighting or long conversations between characters. Also as expected the main characters are likeable and the villains are despicable. Reading this is very addicting because the novel does a great job in giving readers what they want to see. Serious readers might scorn this... more>> simple formula but the majority of readers will find somethint they like here that will keep them hooked with this novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Animesquad7
Animesquad7 rated it
The Desolate Era
February 1, 2016
Status: --
This series has a lot of potential especially since the MC is talented and have great personality, however it does suffer from having no distinct identity so readers are left wondering where the author wants the story to go. It seems like the MC wants to become strong because it's the natural thing to do, although there is revenge on the mix but it seems like secondary at best. Besides it suffer from having a slow pacing, although it does give a clearer picture on the cultivation method and the... more>> world building, it might make people get impatient, skip parts of the chapters, and or drop the novel. Finally it doesn't have enough fanservice such as more focus on romance or give more screentime on the girls to develop their characters, which would help casual reader to stick with this long dragged out journey. This novel seems to take itself too seriously making it not suitable for everyone except people who are realy deep into the process of cultivation and fighting. 3/5 rating so far. Since the whole series have 40 plus books, this rating might increase as I get a better understanding of the plot and see the whole picture of this long story. But right now it has not hooked me and got my complete interest like issth, atg, pmg, mga, wdqk, tgr, mp, tgdk, oem, mer, and other popular xinxia. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report