Report Review
24 Reviews


8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
King of Gods
July 24, 2016
Status: c61
Is generic xianxia; written by schoolboy; strength ranking is a mess; overflowing wishfulfilment.

Novel Essence in two sentences: Merging with his Left eye was slowly changing his bloodline, he was calm, composed and confident much more than ordinary men. Under unprecedented pressure, left eye was stimulated.
73 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Spirit Vessel
June 5, 2016
Status: c108
MC, despite being some reincarnated emperor, behaving like proper 14 years old idiot. Dude who was controlling whole great sect does not have shred of dignity. Awed by size of some rural cities, does not know any trivial things despite being reincarnated into the same world. Don't know what author was trying to make here.

About romance? Not much so far, but smells like Japanese Harem a bit.
71 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
The King of the Battlefield
May 9, 2016
Status: c90
Okay, now that I read up to c90, I have to edit this review.

Everyone noticed that premise is quite similar to reincarnator, yeah? Well, the story isn't. I honestly couldn't figure out, is it more similar to Chinese ApocalipseRPG or korean VRMMO novel.

Up to chapter 90 I wasnt able to find traces of any plot, sadly. Main character is jumping from one secret trial to the other, receives one random overpowered reward after two from completely biased RPG System. Overall, novel seems pretty sketchy, will great calamity happen 5, 10... more>> or 20 years in the future? Law of solomon being controlled by 10 or 11 characters? And other slips. This is the type of novel that makes you understand how great reincarnator actually is. <<less
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Green Skin
June 29, 2017
Status: c48
I was inspired to read ahead by pretty good start, but no more.

Two problems with this story: plotholes and assholes. Hence -2 stars.

  1. Under plotholes I put everything that is wrong with the story, like leveling system which rises your race and class through same means. Or that intermediate swordsman have status equal to beggar.
  2. Assholes? Everyone. Seriously, only those characters do not seems to be assholes, who have not yet had enough screentime to reveal their assholish character. Only one I pity so far is Sword-Saint who receives overwhelming amount of hate from main and side characters. She is either truly only innocent character or just two-faced bitch, which still puts her above MC and his crew morally.
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
God Hunter
July 23, 2017
Status: c32
From the author of Dungeon Hunter and King of the Battlefield. You can tell that straight away.

The same situation (Regression/Monster Invasion/Awakening Humans/72 Demons), Same Game System (even damn status screen is the same), Same (type of) MC.

It feels like author rewriting same story for the third time.

Still, that story doesn't fail to provide somewhat decent entertainment. So 4 Stars.
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
The Overlord of Blood and Iron
July 18, 2017
Status: c46
New world, summoned adventurers, reincarnated MC, monsters, magic, usual staff.

Pretty good story so far, about dude with Sovereign class, with emphasis on dignity of the ruler.

Compared to other stories, this one allows for travel between earth and new world, Pangea, basically without limits. You can take things from Pangea to earth, but not the other way around.

I just didn't like how from the get go, lucky ones who got sovereign class, received so much more bonuses, than others. In other words, inherent, unreasonable unfairness of the system. There was also... more>> no mention so far about ingenious populase aside from ones in Sovereign Manors. In other words world too much game-like, as if it big map from RTS specially made for gamer to play.

Also MC refrains few times from helping friend, thinking of not wanting to create variables, despite huge amount of changes already made by him. I didn't like that either.

Ps. Translator seemed to mix up some numbers... like in chapter 8, total amount of adventurers is 300k, not 30k. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Shadow Rogue
December 2, 2015
Status: --
MC is teenage King of Assassins, who practiced assassinations for three years before retiring. Isnt something already very wrong with this statement?

Well, add to that personality you would expect “King of Assassins” Chuunibyou infected 14 y.o. To possess.

About 66% of short chapters consist of water.
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
As far as (potential) hentai story can go, this one has great potential. Though in released chapters things only go so far, I hope author continues.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Magic Love Ring
October 8, 2018
Status: c7
Standard Chinese Wishfulfillment Story.

System that is neither consistent nor logical in any way. Lucky draw - easiest way for author to pull stuff out of his ass.

Retarded (this time literally - 60IQ) protagonist, will brag about his abilities that he neither deserved nor worked for. And by bragging he gets more points, of course.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
The Returner
June 19, 2018
Status: c6
I have read six chapters only, but I must leave a review based on premise of the story.

MC was transferred to a new world of magic and after hundreds of years he became immortal strongest mage of the world. But he was nostalgic for civilization, so he destroyed whole world so that he could return.

Get it?

... more>> He is freaking Superman controlling magical force, but to live in civilization all he could think of is world-wide genocide.

Yeah, making a country and advancing science and culture (with asphalt, Coke and sh*t) is not easy, but with infinite power and infinite time it is frankly piece of cake.

But okay, he might have felt a bit lazy for that and wanted to return to his family, was there a way of getting dimensional key without killing every living thing I the world? How about Fu*king stealing it?

Tl;Dr: MC is not just immoral asshole moster, but also ignorant piece of sh*t. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Legend of Ling Tian
December 2, 2017
Status: c143
If you want a story about Martial arts expert reincarnating, and becoming young master of prominent family, through raw martial powers and cunning plots raising his influence in secret and confronting Martial World, go ahead and read 'Rebirth of The Heavenly Demon' by Jang Young Hun.

This story is like vulgar parody on genre consisting of bragging and silly schemes.

This is strange. 'Transcending the Nine Heavens' by the same author was rated highly by me. Is this work of his so much worse,... more>> or did my tastes change? <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Life Mission
June 21, 2016
Status: v1c150
Pretty good story. Session shooter game turned real. Opportunity of joining life-threatening missions for rich rewards is open before humanity. MC is likable? Okay

There quite was few times I felt author about to make really boring plot twist, but almost always my expectations were 'disappointed'.

Minus one star because of 'Human factor' as always. Humans acting stupid as if they have no Self-preservation instincts. All important personas, who was famous in the game are nobles, rich dudes, royals, mafia children; all women are beauties, of course. Come on, where such people... more>> have time to play? <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
The Empress’s Gigolo
June 22, 2018
Status: c25
I was hoping for something in spirit of RtW, even though chances were not high.

And really, this novel is more like 'Red Packet Server' or 'Red Envelope Group of the Three Realms'.

In other words it is sh*tty novel on theme 'Scurrying between earth and fantasy world, exchanging sh*t on gold' as envisioned by ten year old. Standard Chinese plot armor (in might be plot Bunker at this point) and plot guidance.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Sovereign of Judgment
June 28, 2018
Status: afterword
One of the greatest novels on this site, or so I would say.

Only thing I was unsatisfied with was the ending. And what led to it. It felt somewhat like a silly caricature on the rest of novel. It might have been intentional though.

Still a five star novel, no doubt.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Rebirth of The Heavenly Demon
April 26, 2017
Status: c124
Great piece of work.

Protagonist really mature and rational. You will not see usual (for OP MCs) flaunting of power that was supposed to be hidden.

But that is also source of regret, only slight though, as novel seems to be closer to spy novel, rather than martial arts novel.

Spoiler

Added romance genre, it is pretty slow, but its there. It might turn into harem too, with low probability though.

[collapse]
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
January 3, 2016
Status: --
Put on Hold around 512 chap.

First arc (South-Coast) is pretty good.

Second arc (Darkest-Domain) is changes genre a bit, so still fresh.

... more>> But later story pretty much comes to a common denominator with rest of xianxia.

I liked how author wasnt afraid to incorporate s*x and s*xuality into story, Magus (Cultivators) are Hedonists. What do you need strength for, if not to enjoy yourself, MC questions. It really like breath of fresh air (or reality) compared to most of others stories that sports ascetic cultivators.

Btw. MC is in no way can be called scientist. Pretty much standard xianxia MC. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Doom Lord
May 17, 2016
Status: c30
Heavenly Calamity plus settlement management. That's it really, nothing I can say about story, hero everyone know, no gore, no drama, no suspense, no adventure. 30 chapters is all I could take.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
I am the Monarch
March 24, 2018
Status: Completed
I have mixed feelings about this novel.

On one hand fantasy world is pretty well made, battles are great whatever it is duels or large scale battlefields, overall plotline is mostly interesting. (Despite being quite perforated)

On other hand, novel is free from gradations. You can clearly separate allies from enemies; vile evildoers and saint paragons of moral integrity (respectively, enemies and allies. Coincidence, no doubt), geniuses and average people, There is no in-between.

Childish idealism is completely rampant in this novel, humans give away their loyalty and life as easy as... more>> main character spewing out soft aura of the ruler, more and more with each nonsensical power up.

Also, ending (about last 50 chapters) is full of sh*t.

3.5 stars overall. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
No Protection Tonight
July 18, 2018
Status: c49
Writing is really somewhat better than other Chinese novels, but main character is the same guy we saw in any other novel. Same story too, just a rearrangement of cliches. Boring to the extreme.
I cannot comprehend why I still give these novels benefit of the doubt.

To Serra:

I will not modify tags as requested, but I sincerely doubt Netori will be appropriate. For that, MC has to actively assault Girl who does not want it and is still in ongoing relationship. MC will have to return his righteous club card... more>> then, and author would not bear to do that.

'DOMINANT MC' really cracked me up, no matter how you look at it asshole MC is more appropriate. You have to really stretch a lot to find any difference between chinese MC and young masters he slaps. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
8Psycho
8Psycho rated it
Killing Grounds of Gods and Devils
May 7, 2016
Status: --
God and Devil’s World meets Heavenly Calamity.

Even more absurd and ridiculus than GDW.

Characters that supposed to be in twenties behaves like early teens.

Dropped it around 85 chap, because, well, its boring; author lack wits to think of something new, or at least use well existing concepts.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report