Report Review
28 Reviews


2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Bringing The Farm To Live In Another World
May 19, 2018
Status: c670
The premise of the cheat gave us the illusion that this could be something different where it's not just about personal strength, but a show of how abundant food, which most of us take for granted, is the real building blocks of a great civilization and how the people, the ordinary citizen, is the foundation of a great empire. Alas, we were met with nothing but disappointment.

The novel starts off great, but it soon devolves into your typical wuxia trash. Like any other wuxia novel it's about a MC that... more>> starts off in a disadvantageous position, gets an OP cheat and then becomes OP himself, and like any other Chinese novel it's about showing how merchants and nobles aka. Capitalists and corporations are greedy and exploit the people. The only thing worse than them is of course religion.

The author seemingly knows that he's talking out of his ass so he introduces a power system that keeps the masses in check, something you don't see in real life, showing that he is aware that it's all bullsh*t, but he will still bombard you with subliminal messages.

These people (nobles) will always act based on benefits, which in turn means that they will choose to not produce enough grain in their own territory, causing an impending food crisis, but of course this is masked by the fact that since they don't have enough grain they just let their slaves die, in which case they just turn their tax paying citizens into slaves and it all starts all over again, for some odd reason this will not result in depopulation and the dissatisfaction of royalty even if it means driving the country into the ground. If you're the kind of person that likes wuxia novels you probably would not have noticed, but this was sarcasm, and yes, that was an insult.

But since our MC is a great hero he will of course save them since he has the power to? Nope. At first it's nothing but how great the MC is because he's humble and willing to help everyone, unless they are his enemies, he just doesn't have the power. I like the part about being ruthless to your enemies, but in the end when he has the power to save and change the life of a lot of people you'll realize that he was just talking out of his ass again.

When it comes to the female heroines in this novel it's a mixed bag, the first couple of them are very well developed and a positive addition to the novel, the later ones however only serve as plot armor and progression.

The reason I started reading this novel was for the domestic affairs and kingdom building tags, but you will be thoroughly disappointed, even if you wait a couple for hundred chapters for it, it will be glossed over in a single chapter and fixed by the OPness of the MCs cheat.

The initial premise of the story makes you believe it's about a MC that has to strive to change the destiny of the former owner of the body he takes over, through his modern knowledge and his own wits, but it's obvious that it's just about his cheat handling everything for him. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
March 21, 2018
Status: c90
TL;DR: Boring.

The writing is extremely monotonous, it's dull and uninspiring, other than the premise it feels like the whole novel was made using cut & paste, in other words copypasted, not because it's too similar to other novels, but because I can't feel the author in it, there's no personality at all, it's shallow and it feels like the author played it safe.

I came into this feeling sceptical, found myself being slighty interested, but unfortunately I left disappointed.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
October 27, 2017
Status: c444
EDIT: Downgrading to 2 stars. Truly a shame.

I don't know what happened, the MC suddenly lost all of his brain cells and common sense ... more>>
Spoiler

Like how his son killing small animals is just because he's young and doesn't disqualify him from becoming an heir, are you f**king kidding me?! he's a psychopath...

[collapse]
resulting in constant mistakes and negligence seemingly for nothing more than trying and failing to create some kind of suspense, this is used to elevate his opponent, insinuating that it's because of their skill, while in other instances the MC performs acts of brilliance where everyone else is incompetent whenever needed to further the plot, plenty of inconsistency.

Furthermore, the MC is transmigrated from a different world, while this is used in some instances to pull him ahead in an ancient era, there are area where he's totally oblivious like statesmanship and management, the author seems to be lacking in research again.

The worst thing is how outrageous arguments are used as plot progression recently, directly limiting what the MC can and cannot do, this and the first one tells me that the author either didn't think his plot through or is desperately milking this novel for all it's worth.

-------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I will try to write this without giving any spoilers, there will be hints to certain event in the novel, but I doubt it would ruin your read if you're just picking this up.

This is by far the pinnacle of kingdom building novels, no question about it, you won't find anything better out there. Everything about it is clearly well researched by the author and is very detailed, which makes it a delight to read for anyone who enjoys this genre. On the other hand you won't find any adventure-ish elements, even though the guild and everything else is clearly present, it is used to a minimal extend early on and most of his days of being an adventurer are sadly skipped.

Another thing differentiating this from other similar novels is how the MCs far superior modern day knowledge is used, he doesn't just build a gun 10 chapters in and becomes basically unrivaled, there is a logical progression with every scientific advancement made, these things are already in the world in some shape or form and it's the MCs job to unravel the basics, since the laws of nature differ from earth, these basics are then later used together with his knowledge to invent and improve things, while making sure that the MC isn't just some all knowing genius that we see in other novels.

The MC is overpowered in a way later on, but still toned down a lot which limits it to basically smaller skirmishes and duels, meaning he wouldn't be able to take on an army by himself. In the context of what this novel is about and the plot it is of minor significance.

These two later points in itself is something I find to be a huge improvement over any JP/CH/KR novel, not to mention the absence of a harem, don't get me wrong, I actually like harem novels but it isn't just mixed in there to fuel some fantasy, the novel has a clear understanding of what it is and what it's trying to say, things aren't just thrown in there to give fan service and attract readers. I won't say that the MC will only stick to a single woman, since he's a lord, which you can of course figure out from just reading the title, in a medieval setting, it would be unrealistic for him to do that. The author manages to handle this in a way that is realistic and doesn't make it into just a teenage boy's wet dream. (There are some points which I of course wished were in this novel as you can see both above and below in this review, but you have to respect that the novel sticks to what it is)

There are however three points that I am a little disappointed in, the first being the lack of any prominent female supporting characters. Seeing that he's a reincarnated MC, I would of course have liked there to be some female characters that were held down by the male-dominated society with the MC accepting them because of his difference in beliefs. The second point being how every potential enemy out there except for one suddenly turned into being complete fools in the later chapters, this smells like a way to quickly wrap up the novels with them just being steamrolled. The last point is how since his adventurer days were skipped it also means that magical beasts/monsters are given a minor role in this novel and it being all about human to human relation.

These last two points could however be resolved later since there have been hinted at other potential enemies out there besides the ones already introduced.

The rating is given for how well the novel does what it is trying to do, despite there being things I wish were included, it seems clear that it was excluded by the author on purpose because he had a clear vision, what is then a part of it is perfected to a stunning degree making it by far the best in its genre on this site. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Book Eating Magician
January 20, 2018
Status: c191
I was honestly very impressed with the premise of this novel, but it's a shame that it turned way too OP way too early, as they say, "The journey is more important than the destination", the premise of this novel was a grimoire that can eat other magic books and through this the MC can advance on the journey to fulfill his dream of becoming a powerful magician.

But this is over in pretty much no time, I would have loved to see a story about overcoming challenges to find new... more>> original books and more focus on the basic premise, it's just thrown away after a few chapters with unnecessary evolutions that make it anything but a story about a grimoire that's able to absorb the knowledge from other magic books.

It's about 10% journey and 90% the destination, of course it's far from over, it's a Korean novel and just like Chinese ones he has to become a god and battle other gods before it's over, honestly it's tiring, it's basically just a circle jerk for people who dream of being superior to other people while having accomplished nothing irl. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Human Emperor
April 8, 2018
Status: c858
TL;DR:

This is a decent novel.

The fact that the novel is heavily reliant on wars while the author is clearly lacking in understand of actual art of war really drags it down. Art of war is put on center stage in the novel while taking a backseat in wars where it's clearly more about cultivation styles and levels.

... more>> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The MC is transmigrated into a different world which he rejects until calamity strikes and he finds out that you don't know what you've got until you've lost it, luckily he gets a second chance by going back in time to a time shortly after the initial transmigration.

His journey to change the destiny of his country and him learning how his involvement can bring both favorable and unfavorable results is interesting despite the clear nationalism shown by the author, just to be clear, what you see in this novel is justified by the author through the MCs knowledge of what will happen in the future, everything he does is to prevent the calamity, it should however be noted that the clarification made by the author about the difference in culture between the races can't be called racism and is pure fact. Many correlations can also be drawn between this novel and the modern western world including its different political movements.

There are however several infuriating things in this novel, like how things that we already know are repeated constantly, especially before conclusions of wars or fights as a filler.

Worse than this however is the fact that he's called the soldier saint, the top commander and strategist in his previous life, where he could easily take on armies that had 10 times the number of his own, this is consistent with real world history and has been accomplished by using the art of war, however in his new life he is incapable of doing this, at first it is explained away through the quality of the soldiers being low, the different powers in this world making sieging easier and the quality of the enemy commanders being higher than after the calamity. It is infuriating though how even after picking up top level troops he 's reliant on cheat powers and superior equipment and despite it being pointed out how superior his tactics are and how perfect his planning is he keeps getting surprised by the enemy and they keep escaping despite traps laid for them. They are like cockroaches that just skitter around, there just to be annoying, it's fine if it's once, but repeated escapes just to act as filler is annoying.

The last and worst sin commited by the author is iron and steel cities, seriously, are they swimming in it?! This has no relation to reality, these resources were hard to come by in the historical period of the Tang dynasty and despite the special powers in this fantasy world it's still just plot armor to be honest, even if it could be explained it's just dumb. Especially when he later makes concrete which should be cheaper and if reinforced with steel it should be sufficiently strong, but worst of all is that it isn't stainless steel, seriously, that sh*t will rust in no time. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Great Demon King
April 1, 2017
Status: c592
I like how he's ruthless against his enemies and kind to his women, but I can't stand how he's way too invested in that one male friend, don't remember his name, seriously, he's just an annoying character.

All in all it starts out great with all the japanese elements, with some chinese Xianxia cultivator bs which I really don't like in general, and of course it ends the same way it always does, they have to move to some higher plane, spending hundred of years meditating while everyone they know die... more>> and for some reason they have to leave their women, I mean.. Seriously, can't you f**king make it seem like it's hard for the woman to be away from her man without having to exaggerate? 10 months would work just as f**king fine as 10 years, just becomes annoying, but atleast there aren't 3km giants and birds with a wingspan of 3000km and sh*t in this one, only saving grace this novel has.

And let's not forget, we have to all become Gods, chinese writers seem to be incapable of holding on to a single world, where they slowly expand it and keep hold of characters for a longer period of time, both allies and enemies, it's like they have ADHD so they're all over the place, forget the core characters that people like and focus on throwing new enemies in every other chapter instead of having long time rivals or enemies. It seems like they're afraid that the reader will uncover how shallow the enemies' personalities are so they throw out one stupid reason after the other to make new enemies for the MC and then discard them the new chapter.
Always with the "he has uncovered some special method that makes him better than everyone else", cultivation method or something else, instead of just having the MC be cunning or hardworking to reach that goal. It's just luck and it doesn't really inspire me as a reader. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Legend
July 8, 2018
Status: c80
Started off great but soon went down hill.

Needless struggles against inferior foes, excessive explanation and dialog that's long-winded, out of place and seems forced.

Sudden change in personality of MC to a more standard isekai MC which makes him seem like a cardboard cutout.

In short, it's dull and the writing is horrible. And I'm not talking dull in the sense that I want constant fighting, I actually hate novels like that, tbere's just no life in it.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
World of Warcraft: Foreign Realm Domination
March 3, 2018
Status: c345
I was discouraged from reading this novel for a long time because of the synopsis and the bad reviews, but it once again showed me how I shouldn't trust anything but my own opinion.

This novel is based on the Warcraft series and World of Warcraft, I've played plenty of both back in the day so I know about the bases, some of the buildings, the heroes, the races and some of the skills, but not enough to know how closely the novel sticks to the Warcraft lore and honestly I... more>> don't care, if you focus on only then content of the novel it's very good.

The system isn't that overpowered, he keeps getting limited so he has to battle through with his own skills and knowledge. He is clearly seen as a duke in name only by other people, but he uses his wits and political knowledge to overcome things just as much as he uses the art of war and political reforms developed on earth through thousands of years to his advantage. The world has clearly declined compared to ancient times for some reason and has stagnated because of a long period of peace, so it doesn't seem outrageous either.

The perversion of the MC can be annoying in the beginning but it's toned down later on and it's also clear that although he's perverted he's not despicable, he treats his women right and would never forcing himself on women. There are also a lot of bullsh*t statements about what women want, while there is a single romantic development so far (there are a lot of other potential ones, but they haven't played out yet so I'll refrain from mentioning these) and it truly is simple, but when considering the medieval theme both of these make a lot of sense.

What really shines in this novel is the sh*t-talking of the MC and the large scale wars, totally makes it worth reading this novel, I'm usually biased to novels where you have adventure but a lot of downtime in between with fluffy and sweet slice of life moments, there really isn't a lot of that in this novel, but with how well everything else is done while considering the length of the chapters it makes a lot of sense, it's a 559 chapter novel and while I obviously don't know the ending it's clear that the author knew what kind of novel he wanted while not extending it with a lot of fillers to milk the cow, that always makes for a better story.

The translation is good, there are of course errors and it's not top quality, but it seems clear that it could be if the translator spend more time and effort on editing, but let's be honest, who doesn't prefer it the way it is? At least I do, I'd rather have fast releases and considering the release speed it's a job very well done by the translator, while not having rants about the comments people make all the time like we see others do, it's clear that they're always the minority, this guy is awesome. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Mystical Journey
February 25, 2018
Status: c175
TLDR: This novel is a lot better than I expected it to be, there are however still things I'm not satisfied with. I see it as a masterpiece, a steampunk-ish world with martial arts and "x-files" type elements, this is however only until the point where he leaves town for the tournament between schools/gates, the world quickly loses it's charm and mysticism, reverting back to your run of the mill story.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The beginning of the novel creates a very steampunk-ish atmosphere, the world is described as being like earth before the... more>> first world war if I'm not mistaken, while giving it a gloomy feel, an atmosphere that makes you imagine an early nineteen-hundreds town in England with weather that's mostly cloudy, giving a kind of suffocating environment where the protagonist is the son of a factory worker couple, making them lower middle class, while his uncle is of higher social status making it possible, through his help, for them to attend a higher grade high school. I believe this school was described as being a school for nobles.

The problem is that this setting which I liked very much is soon thrown away, replaced by modern weaponry and technology, there is no TV or internet, old fashioned trains and horse carriages with cars described as old fashioned, but soon we see cars everywhere, some seemingly limited editions and although not specified, I believe them to be sports cars. Automatic rifles weren't common until the first world war, same with sniper rifles, they weren't commonly used in warfare until the first world war, while tanks weren't common until the second world war, same with shoulder-fired rocket launchers. All of these are mentioned either frequently or once so far, making it very inconsistent. Apparently there's even "fingerprint scan". Using fingerprints in itself isn't weird, but a scanner, really? If the technological advancement of the story was just before the second world war, my point is of course invalid, I don't care to go back and check and it's really just a minor point in my overall evaluation of this story, the more important parts are listed below.

It is described as a time where martial arts is becoming obsolete because of the advancement in technology, while I also expected it to be about how society is shifting from being noble based to a society of equality, simply because of the fact that they were mentioned and elevated to a position that's above commoners, this doesn't happen and that's fine since it's in a completely different time period on earth than the beginning of the nineteen-hundreds.

The thing that bothers me more is how a seemingly normal guy from modern society is acting, his curiosity for marital arts isn't weird, but throwing away all other aspects of life for that? One of the Genres is Harem and that's probably because of how many girls seem to like him, but he's totally as*xual, and detached from any emotions of any kind. Other than his short worry about becoming something inhumane through taking the wrong path during his martial arts training, this could have evolved into something so much more, the struggle in himself and between the different forced, it is however completely forgotten.

We are still at the first person, Garen, and it's described as "this is but the first of many bodies that Luo Jing will come to wield", this could explain the attitude to the side characters, not getting them too much involved because it'll make it easier on the reader once the main character moves on, it seems unlikely though that's it's a thing where he dies again and moves to a different world to experience a new setting and powers, making him evolve, like I thought it would be.

The big secret and overall plot of this novel seemed at first to be where his powers come from, what's going on with the artifacts that gives him the power and the hidden elements in the world. This however has mostly been described by the MC as being a collection of his otherworldly knowledge and a lot of other things falling into place giving him the special powers, while the artifacts are just about how much misery that's happened around them, while trying to give us a feeling that it could be something supernatural, but still not fully disclosing it, something similar to x-files. Aside from this he's almost at the level of the hidden forces in the world.

This entire story started out as something with a very interesting setting and unlimited possibilities because of an interesting plot and interactions between both characters and factions in the world, but in the end it turned out to be just any other story about getting stronger and standing on top through nothing but an OP cheat, a wuxia in a modern setting instead of a steampunk-ish martial adventure with hidden wonders everywhere. I see it as a masterpiece until the point where he leaves town for the tournament between schools/gates, the world quickly loses it's charm and mysticism, reverting back to your run of the mill story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
I have to agree with the review done by Zedzack, you should check out his review.

I loved the first 70 chapters of this novel, despite avoiding this novel for so long because of the synopsis, I was pleasantly surprised and I got hooked, the chapters are really long too which just makes me even more invested in it.

But.. For some reason it just crashed and burned until the only thing left is a ashes, it's really a shame and I hope that it's only temporary, but we'll have to find... more>> out as more chapters are translated. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Monster no Goshujin-sama
March 29, 2017
Status: v2c14
The distrust and suspicion the MC feels towards other humans is to some extend understandable, but it also seems unreasonably blown out of proportion. He should have heard stories about stuff like this happening in real life, where people in desperate situations turn on each other, it's nothing new. On the other hand there should be some examples of the opposite, which there are, from the human girl traveling with him, but in the end it just ends up as him whining about it over and over.
Being wary, cautious... more>> and cunning doesn't mean you have to talk about your feelings all the time, not that he does, he just thinks it, which makes him seem like a bitch on the inside that just pretends in front of the girls while he doesn't notice their feelings at all, he's a typical useless MC.

Spoilers:
The harem part seems to be progressing nicely, I do like the arachne, the puppet one and lily, but I was expecting him to after having the first 2, begin to find some on the level of the arachne while the other 2 evolved, the rest so far seem weak and irrelevant.

For now there isn't any overall plot other than gathering harem members and I'm afraid that as soon as that is accomplished the story will simply fall apart, I believe it would have been better to focus more on the special monsters he picks up and the process of obtaining them, making their personalities more interesting and the process longer and reflecting the difference between them, like with the arachne, instead it just turns into chapters with nothing but whining. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Wizard World
February 27, 2018
Status: c150
Clearly a more humane version compaired to Warlock of the Magus World so far, although an other review on this site does reveal that this is going to change later. This and also the fact that he doesn't act like an asshole getting into trouble everywhere he goes just because of his attitude, then cries about how he's been wronged like in any other Chinese novel, makes me like the MC of this novel a lot more. Then again, both these novels have the same... more>> problems and in general it's a pain to read. Warlock of the Magus World is however done by an author with superior writing skills.

Like other Chinese novels we see other hard working young people doing their best while the MC is basically mocking all of them with his unfair OP skill, it's fine that they're there, but they're just thrown in our face constantly making it seem like it's just there to make people feel either bad about them or if you're Chinese you'd probably mock them too to make yourself feel better, guess that's why they like this kind of novel. It's always about leaving everyone behind and rising up by being an asshole, it's unbearable to read, just give me something feel good, it's not like it's groundbreaking, inspirational or changes your life in any way, just a novel full of negativity for no reason whatsoever.

Enemies are also never really evil, basically just people with different opinions or beliefs, that's very modern actually, not just making everything black and white, but still.. They do sh*t the MC would have done, but because it's them it's wrong and the MC just has to have his revenge, then when he does they naturally want to do exactly the same thing, but somehow it's then fine for the MC to kill them, come the f**k on. Just stop being a f**king douche making up weak plot armor. Also because the MC isn't likeable or relateable at all I feel just as strongly for the random side characters as I do for the MC so I'm sitting here wishing I could read their story instead and let them win.

Honestly, I'd rather see a character like velvet succeed and she's a minor character there with everything involving her only filling about a chapter in total.

MC feels lonely, but does nothing but push people away from him, until some day he's just okay with being alone for no reason, sudden change in mentality after becoming an official wizard. The MC has at least a bit of personality in the beginning, this is also lost and his character becomes one dimensional, unrelateable and detestable. What seems to be an attempt to make it different than all the harem novels out there pushes it way too far in the opposite direction, to the extreme. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Tensei Shitara Kyuuketsuki-san Datta Ken
January 29, 2018
Status: c19
This review has spoilers, but when you read them you'll skip this crap novel anyway. I Wish giving 0 stars was possible.

Having a MC make a gun in a fantasy novel is enough to drop it, there is a special place in hell for authors like that. You can't even say it's a man's romance, no, and besides being boring as hell it also destroys the whole fantasy setting. If I wanted guns I would have watched rambo, not read a fantasy novel. The skill used to make it is... more>> stupid aswell, he can make anything from blood and bones, it's not alchemy where certain magical stuff like monster cores or herbs are used to make enchantments and potions, where magic explains why alchemy can be used even when it's against the laws of physics, he doesn't even know magic, it's just a skill pulled out of his ass, it's just make anything out of blood and bones, guess even a nuke is fine, what is the use of learning magic then? Just make that sh*t out of blood and bone.

Even worse is, making salt from river water? Are you a complete dumbass? Yea.. There's salt in fresh water too, but it's at the level of like 50 p.p.m. Compared to 35.000 p.p.m. In sea water, so you need 700 times as much water for one, other than that, at that level of concentration you'll never be able to filter it out, only possible with sea water because the amount of other things in the water besides salt is a lot lower than the salt concentration. It's also the 50th level of the labyrinth and like 100% of it should have been absorbed into the earth before reaching that far underground. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Return of the Former Hero
February 19, 2018
Status: c46
I really don't understand the high rating reviews I'm seeing, this novel is at best amateurish.

There will be spoilers in this review, it is needed to prove my earlier statement, but even if I say this it's a generic harem novel where spoilers mean nothing since it's as predictable as can be.

The MC is a former hero, he was summoned to a different world to defeat the demon king, after that was done he was apparently forcefully de-summoned back to Japan, which seems very likely when you look at the... more>> fact that he doesn't seem that much stronger than everyone else, even struggling against enemies known as demon kin or something, whom are neither a demon king nor a general of the demon king army which are often seen in this kind of novel.

After being sent back to Japan the MC creates a magic circle himself in order to go back to the fantasy world for the purpose of creating a harem in a different world, that's all fine, but I find it highly unlikely that he would be able to create a magic circle like this since his knowledge of the subject is instantly forgotten and his knowledge of magic in general seems extremely limited and lacking.

When it comes to the harem members, we have no slaves so far, the reason given is that all of them had "dead eyes", this of course is a stable in this kind of novel, but normally you would see them being bought and healed by the MC, that this doesn't happen doesn't make this a "groundbreaking" novel or some other bullsh*t, it just seems to be out of reach of the authors writing skills. Understanding of romantic feelings and romance in general shown by the author is basically at elementary school level despite there being plenty of s*x in the novel. The understanding of feelings in general is actually severely lacking, leaving me extremely worried about the author suffering from some undiagnosed mental illness, this also results in all the characters being one dimensional.

There is the girl described as being energetic with nothing else to her, a loli that's said to be talking like an old woman, the cat eared maid and the manipulative princess, other than the princess, so far I wouldn't be surprised if even the author forgot about his own characters, they are said to have certain traits, but it's limited to just enough information to differentiate them with absolutely no personality at all. Even the MC didn't have any personality before meeting the princess, but him gaining one doesn't really turn out for the better, showing him as a spineless beta whose IQ is lower than my rating of this novel, while all his 2 braincells do is making him act like a virgin despite having lost it.

The author seems to have put a lot of thought in the premise, which I like, and the overall plot which doesn't seem bad so far, we only saw a short glimse of it possibly being the same world as he was originally summoned to despite the MC thinking it isn't, might be far in the future or the like. Everything else in between is awful though, no other word to describe it, just feels like a fan of the genre thinking "I like webnovels, writing one can't be that hard, I have a good idea for the story after all", but honestly it feels like a person liking a certain brand of smartphones, suddenly tweaking the original design and by doing that they think they can make a smartphone, without any knowledge of the parts or how they work and without putting any work into figuring that out before creating something that doesn't work and then expecting me to pay for it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
March 23, 2017
Status: c769
MAY CONTAIN LIGHT SPOILERS!

This is information that can be picked up rather early in the story and doesn't seem to impact the overall plot, that's why I refer to them as light spoilers.

I have only read 80 chapters of this novel and I'll admit, since it has 1200, 80 really isn't a lot, but there are already a lot of things that annoy me.

First of all, the MC having been reincarnated from another world doesn't matter at all, it could have been a story about how someone had an A.... more>> I. Chip reincarnated into their brain. The only impact him being a middle-aged scientist has had on the story is that he won't f*ck 11-12 year olds, but he doesn't mind if they're 14 and have big breasts. He adapts to his situation immediately, even when coming from an advanced civilization everything in a medieval society is normal to him, he did get the memories of the guy whose body he reincarnated into, or transported into, whatever, but still... GIVE HIM SOME GOD DAMN DEPTH!

Also, why is the A.I. able to run combat simulations based on stats alone without knowing anything about the opponents fighting style? other than this, the A.I. thing is done pretty well I'll admit.

Secondly, every girl is a slut and will have s*x with pretty much anyone, this makes the story seem like it's just the author's wet dream, it's an easy way to avoid having to give the characters some actual depth and human emotions, magi might distance themself from the fact that they were once human, but since he's reincarnated, shouldn't he display his knowledge and ability to pick up woman as a middle-aged man amongst 12 year old teenage boys with no game at all? And wouldn't it be more exciting to hear about him picking up a mature woman instead? I just have to look at "Great Demon King" and see how this is actually done, that novel has some flaws aswell, but in this aspect it's very good.

Thirdly, the slave thing, they aren't bound by any magic crests or spells that makes them unable to follow their master's command, instead they are brainwashed, you might say that this is groundbreaking f*cking work compaired to other novels in the same genre, but to be honest, it's just another way to avoid talking about emotions and how the slave gradually gets to either respect or love their master compaired to one they may have had before, this again makes the characters shallow.

Fourthly, the general lact of human emotions! Yea, magi in this fantasy world distances themself from regular humans and they're actually harmful to them, but why make them originate from humans in the first place if you're not going to tackle the hard hitting questions about how this impacts them and their lives?! If you want people to relate to the characters, and because of that you make them start off as human, then you have to involve actual human emotions, atleast at first, then they can change over time.

Lastly, how every other chapter you read about how lucky it is that it was at exactly this time he faced this guy, because if he had run into him sooner he wouldn't have been able to handle it, this DOESN'T make the MC calculating or cunning in any way! it's f*cking luck, which the author uses to highlight just how great the MC is for being able to overcome this challenge, but that doesn't change the fact that it was luck, plot armour ftw.

This is a general problem in Chinese novels where the rating of strength is too rigid, if this guy is level 1 and I'm level 2 I'd never lose to him, but if he's level 3 I have no chance of winning, this is an easy concept to create and it doesn't take more than half a brain to write, but it takes away the possibility of the MC winning through calculating or cunning methods. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Release that Witch
August 30, 2018
Status: c914
I normally love reincarnation novels where the MC takes knowledge from his previous life and uses it in another world, I do however hate introducing guns which goes against anything even related to fantasy, yet I accepted it in this novel. The reason I did that was because of how meticulously it was done, with regards to both chemistry and physics, there are still downsides to this however, if you don't have a reasonable amount of background knowledge you'll find those chapters hard to digest, which might turn some readers... more>> off, but at least it wasn't just conjured up with magic. There was magic involved to overcome the difference in technology, but thank God it wasn't "imagining the item in my head and it suddenly appears in my hand", like it is in some novels.

Yet why do I rate this novel so low then?

The main factor is how the MC's personality suddenly took a 180 degree turn.

Spoiler

Until the latest couple of chapters the MC was very machiavellian and I don't mean that in a bad way, just stating that how he acted towards enemies was very much in line with that philosophy, in addition to being a realist and without regards to whether or not I agree with this method, it's very appropriate considering the "time period" and other circumstances. Yet for some reason the MC suddenly became an idealist very much in line with communism, that wouldn't be odd in and of itself considering the author's nationality, it is however exactly that when we consider MC's actions and personality so far, especially when in regards to witches. The major plot so far has been the liberation and salvation of witches, yet for some reason he abandons all this, which is just straight up a death sentence to those not living within his domain.

If all of this wasn't bad enough he also leaves threats which in this case are the other countries just to make some philosophical point. This is truly beyond me, seeing how uniting all of humanity would be in his favour when it comes to dealing with the demons and those sea creatures, not to mention the risk of being stabbed in the back while fighting on one front, anyone with a bit of knowledge in the art of war knows that this scenario is the worst possible one!

It goes against everything he's done so far.

[collapse]

Apart from this it's clear that the author's knowledge leans heavily towards the sciences while everything else is lacking.

The novelty of the witches is pretty much gone as well, neither the dialog nor the characters themselves are fascinating enough to garner interest and at this point it's more like, "well, I've come this far, might as well see it to the end". It does seem like the latter half of this novel, I reckon it's going to be about that length, 2k chapters or there about, is going to be focused mainly on war, yet that seems a long way off with just filler of no significance in between.

Just can't be bothered to read more, the main focuses, the technological advances and political struggles are gone and we're left with nothing but a hollow wuxia look-alike that's going to be just the same thing over and over again, at this point it's just going to be milking it and it's just not worth it.

You can also check out eYeSonic's review, which I wholeheartedly support, it is very much in line with what I'm feeling. And just to clarify, that doesn't mean he agrees with any of my views, just stumbled upon it and thought it was great.

In closing, disregard any reviews with less than 1k chapters read if you're planning to go above 900 chapters, enjoy the novel up until that point if you wish, but be aware of the drop in quality. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Revolution of the 8th Class Mage
July 14, 2018
Status: c43
TL;DR: Nothing special, rather dull and uninspiring.

I really don't mind the convenient things that happen early on in the story.

... more>>
Spoiler

The s*xual harassment of his mother, while cliché, is there to first show the status of mages in the world (although this could be info dumped and is more of just a bonus from this event than its intended purpose imo), the decisiveness of the MC and his care for his mother as a contrast to the ruthlessness he shows to his enemies, this situation in itself isn't much, but there's more later and it piles up, it's a stroke of genius by the author and it gives us a MC that most people would like. Lastly it shows us how he'll act differently in this timeline which leads us to the second thing people complain about, the Lord getting captured by goblins, sure, it seems convenient, but it also shows us how the resolve of the MC to act differently will change history, which in turn forces him to act.

By acting he receives the item he wanted, while convenient it is also shown that that's the result the MC was aiming for by manipulating the situation, this shows us a MC who doesn't just have the IQ of a fence post, which we all like.

This first example of how the MC changes history isn't really shown in a negative light since he's there to correct it while gaining something from it, yet it also reminds us of how his actions could have devastating consequences to not only the MC but other people as well if handled poorly, this brings us to the last one, the alchemist, this in turn shows us how his actions can change the life of other people for the better and unlike the first one which is generally inconsequential and only effects himself because it would have worked out in the original timeline as well, this last one is different, effecting not only himself but others.

SPOILER ALERT (This part contains spoilers for both "I am the Monarch" and "Tales of the Reincarnated Lord")

This novel eventually went down the same route as "I am the Monarch" did when he started getting involved with the succession and imo that's when "I am the Monarch" went from brilliant to dog sh*t, and the reason is simple, nobility is interesting to many and great in novels, but most modern people hate seeing a MC lowering their head to some SOB that doesn't deserve the throne and would rather the MC goes his own way, in "I am the Monarch" it's clear that he'll do that eventually but in this one it's different. You could make a case that that's normal in a feudal society, but they could have stayed out of succession and kept contact with these people to a minimum until they'll show up as enemies. That's also the problem with the latest translated chapters of "Tales of the Reincarnated Lord", it's infuriating to me and I'm guessing other people feel the same way

[collapse]

My problem is instead with the world building, sure.. Info dumps are annoying, but we have no information what so ever, you could say that the reason is that delving into these topics would be too extensive considering the length of the novel, yet I just see it as lazy writing or maybe less competent writing.

Aside from that I'm really not into the whole revenge against someone who hasn't done anything, yea, they might have done it in a different timeline, but that isn't the same as them having done it in the new one, the main antagonist might have been considered scum then, but now he's just a child and the MC seems to just go against him for revenge, not considering the consequences it might have on anyone but himself. He seems to be siding with someone he didn't like in his last life and it's insinuated that the MC can change him, but why couldn't he just change the other guy? It seems petty to me. Then again, this is my personal opinion and will not influence my rating. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
April 22, 2018
Status: c353
To be honest, I'm not sure I can finish this.

The central focal point of this novel is of course the Naruto system in a different world which is obvious from the title. Although I'm not sure if the author actually feels that passionately about Naruto or if it's just a way of milking it in order to profit from someone else's success. This concept actually isn't bad in itself and it started out great.

Problems arise later in the story, the time skip early on I didn't really like but it's... more>> understandable in the context of the length of this novel. The real problem is the power system of this different world, it's divided into fighters, magicians and illusionists, this works very much like the triangle battle systems in different mmos but with clear differences, fighters are strong against magicians, magicians against illusionists and illusionists against fighters. We however also see different bloodlines which are divided into grades depending on their potential, different grade of skills you can learn which supposedly determine the power of said skills where the major clans keep the good ones to themselves, which is very generic for a Chinese novel, and in the end the power system is also divided into different elements, like fire, water, earth and so on, that suppress each other. We even have some that are able to contract with different magical beasts that are related to their bloodline. (Or so it seems with the pact between a clan and the dragons)

On top of all of this all of these powers are never thoroughly explained, the first triangle battle system seemingly being totally forgotten later on, illusionists seem to be basically nonexistent, fighters are also rare, at least when it comes to enemies, while the different pros and cons of each just become different ways of fighting where it's all about the grade of your bloodline and while skills of different grades is introduced once it's never mentioned again, seemingly totally irrelevant. The bloodlines seem totally irrelevant as well, at least their grade, from the start we see nothing but high grade ones and the difference seem only visible at the utmost extreme limits, like what is later called god grade bloodline and everything being more a question of being part of a major clan, which will give you different cultivation materials, combined with hard work.

It just feels like the author didn't know which direction he wanted to go in and as a result just throws in random stuff over and over again just to totally forget about them later.

There is a lot of plot holes in this novel and despite the author bringing up how the hard work of the MC is all the time, every major power up aside from two different time skips is just random plot armor. Even some essence of the different elements is suddenly thrown in there just to speed things along, like the author make it a long and hard to obtain goal just to turn around and throw it in the face of the MC for free because he had to wrap up this novel as fast as possible, seeing how utterly dismal it is.

There really is nothing in this novel that I can point to and say it's redeeming in any way, it's just not worth your time and that's disregarding whether you've watched Naruto or not or even if you like it or not. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Green Skin
March 21, 2018
Status: c80
I read this for the evolutions, but now they're far between and other than it being inferior when compared to "The Devil's Evolution Catalog", everything in between is boring, the whole revenge thing is fine, but it goes beyond that to the point where it's now at a stage where he'll try killing the only decent person in the entire world.

If you want a novel about going back in time and redoing everything, go with "I am the Monarch" instead.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
A novel with the "Comedy" tag that's actually funny, what a rare find.

The MC is perverted, too perverted as time goes on, especially since it's gonna be kept at a level where he acts like he's 12 without anything really happening, even though he's like 21.

The beginning is great and we finally get a MC that's actually throwing player-ish lines at heroines, it's a shame it doesn't evolve into actual affection and romantic development though and just turns into a running gag of perversion.

I actually like the different plots we've... more>> seen so far and I don't mind that it's lighthearted, it could however have been stretched over a lot more chapters with more actual content, the way the author does it however does turn it into a novel that's like those TV shows where you can jump in and watch an episode from time to time for simple enjoyment without feeling forced to think a lot (if any at all) and keep up with the story. This however also makes you less likely to attract a fanbase of readers that stick with it to the end, it becomes forgetable.

The different races and monsters in particular are well done and interest, I would have preferred it being filled with this instead of half the novel turning into the perversion running gags mentioned earlier, those aren't what I find funny anyway, I had found the things involving Filia and the great tsukkomi much more funny, so in essence the reactions to the perversion more than the perversion in itself and unfortunately it turns into a novel where you're expected to laugh when someone says a naughty word.

For what it is the novel is pretty good, you can however make a comedy without turning everything into a joke.

Edit: Also, the lastest translation is horrible, don't know if other people dropped it since it would seem that the quality of the novel itself will also take a nosedive after about chapter 70, yet to be seen though. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report