Report Review
44 Reviews


2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Bringing The Farm To Live In Another World
May 19, 2018
Status: c670
The premise of the cheat gave us the illusion that this could be something different where it's not just about personal strength, but a show of how abundant food, which most of us take for granted, is the real building blocks of a great civilization and how the people, the ordinary citizen, is the foundation of a great empire. Alas, we were met with nothing but disappointment.

The novel starts off great, but it soon devolves into your typical wuxia trash. Like any other wuxia novel it's about a MC that... more>> starts off in a disadvantageous position, gets an OP cheat and then becomes OP himself, and like any other Chinese novel it's about showing how merchants and nobles aka. Capitalists and corporations are greedy and exploit the people. The only thing worse than them is of course religion.

The author seemingly knows that he's talking out of his ass so he introduces a power system that keeps the masses in check, something you don't see in real life, showing that he is aware that it's all bullsh*t, but he will still bombard you with subliminal messages.

These people (nobles) will always act based on benefits, which in turn means that they will choose to not produce enough grain in their own territory, causing an impending food crisis, but of course this is masked by the fact that since they don't have enough grain they just let their slaves die, in which case they just turn their tax paying citizens into slaves and it all starts all over again, for some odd reason this will not result in depopulation and the dissatisfaction of royalty even if it means driving the country into the ground. If you're the kind of person that likes wuxia novels you probably would not have noticed, but this was sarcasm, and yes, that was an insult.

But since our MC is a great hero he will of course save them since he has the power to? Nope. At first it's nothing but how great the MC is because he's humble and willing to help everyone, unless they are his enemies, he just doesn't have the power. I like the part about being ruthless to your enemies, but in the end when he has the power to save and change the life of a lot of people you'll realize that he was just talking out of his ass again.

When it comes to the female heroines in this novel it's a mixed bag, the first couple of them are very well developed and a positive addition to the novel, the later ones however only serve as plot armor and progression.

The reason I started reading this novel was for the domestic affairs and kingdom building tags, but you will be thoroughly disappointed, even if you wait a couple for hundred chapters for it, it will be glossed over in a single chapter and fixed by the OPness of the MCs cheat.

The initial premise of the story makes you believe it's about a MC that has to strive to change the destiny of the former owner of the body he takes over, through his modern knowledge and his own wits, but it's obvious that it's just about his cheat handling everything for him. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
March 21, 2018
Status: c90
TL;DR: Boring.

The writing is extremely monotonous, it's dull and uninspiring, other than the premise it feels like the whole novel was made using cut & paste, in other words copypasted, not because it's too similar to other novels, but because I can't feel the author in it, there's no personality at all, it's shallow and it feels like the author played it safe.

I came into this feeling sceptical, found myself being slighty interested, but unfortunately I left disappointed.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
October 27, 2017
Status: c444
EDIT: Downgrading to 2 stars. Truly a shame.

I don't know what happened, the MC suddenly lost all of his brain cells and common sense ... more>>
Spoiler

Like how his son killing small animals is just because he's young and doesn't disqualify him from becoming an heir, are you f**king kidding me?! he's a psychopath...

[collapse]
resulting in constant mistakes and negligence seemingly for nothing more than trying and failing to create some kind of suspense, this is used to elevate his opponent, insinuating that it's because of their skill, while in other instances the MC performs acts of brilliance where everyone else is incompetent whenever needed to further the plot, plenty of inconsistency.

Furthermore, the MC is transmigrated from a different world, while this is used in some instances to pull him ahead in an ancient era, there are area where he's totally oblivious like statesmanship and management, the author seems to be lacking in research again.

The worst thing is how outrageous arguments are used as plot progression recently, directly limiting what the MC can and cannot do, this and the first one tells me that the author either didn't think his plot through or is desperately milking this novel for all it's worth.

-------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I will try to write this without giving any spoilers, there will be hints to certain event in the novel, but I doubt it would ruin your read if you're just picking this up.

This is by far the pinnacle of kingdom building novels, no question about it, you won't find anything better out there. Everything about it is clearly well researched by the author and is very detailed, which makes it a delight to read for anyone who enjoys this genre. On the other hand you won't find any adventure-ish elements, even though the guild and everything else is clearly present, it is used to a minimal extend early on and most of his days of being an adventurer are sadly skipped.

Another thing differentiating this from other similar novels is how the MCs far superior modern day knowledge is used, he doesn't just build a gun 10 chapters in and becomes basically unrivaled, there is a logical progression with every scientific advancement made, these things are already in the world in some shape or form and it's the MCs job to unravel the basics, since the laws of nature differ from earth, these basics are then later used together with his knowledge to invent and improve things, while making sure that the MC isn't just some all knowing genius that we see in other novels.

The MC is overpowered in a way later on, but still toned down a lot which limits it to basically smaller skirmishes and duels, meaning he wouldn't be able to take on an army by himself. In the context of what this novel is about and the plot it is of minor significance.

These two later points in itself is something I find to be a huge improvement over any JP/CH/KR novel, not to mention the absence of a harem, don't get me wrong, I actually like harem novels but it isn't just mixed in there to fuel some fantasy, the novel has a clear understanding of what it is and what it's trying to say, things aren't just thrown in there to give fan service and attract readers. I won't say that the MC will only stick to a single woman, since he's a lord, which you can of course figure out from just reading the title, in a medieval setting, it would be unrealistic for him to do that. The author manages to handle this in a way that is realistic and doesn't make it into just a teenage boy's wet dream. (There are some points which I of course wished were in this novel as you can see both above and below in this review, but you have to respect that the novel sticks to what it is)

There are however three points that I am a little disappointed in, the first being the lack of any prominent female supporting characters. Seeing that he's a reincarnated MC, I would of course have liked there to be some female characters that were held down by the male-dominated society with the MC accepting them because of his difference in beliefs. The second point being how every potential enemy out there except for one suddenly turned into being complete fools in the later chapters, this smells like a way to quickly wrap up the novels with them just being steamrolled. The last point is how since his adventurer days were skipped it also means that magical beasts/monsters are given a minor role in this novel and it being all about human to human relation.

These last two points could however be resolved later since there have been hinted at other potential enemies out there besides the ones already introduced.

The rating is given for how well the novel does what it is trying to do, despite there being things I wish were included, it seems clear that it was excluded by the author on purpose because he had a clear vision, what is then a part of it is perfected to a stunning degree making it by far the best in its genre on this site. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Book Eating Magician
January 20, 2018
Status: c191
I was honestly very impressed with the premise of this novel, but it's a shame that it turned way too OP way too early, as they say, "The journey is more important than the destination", the premise of this novel was a grimoire that can eat other magic books and through this the MC can advance on the journey to fulfill his dream of becoming a powerful magician.

But this is over in pretty much no time, I would have loved to see a story about overcoming challenges to find new... more>> original books and more focus on the basic premise, it's just thrown away after a few chapters with unnecessary evolutions that make it anything but a story about a grimoire that's able to absorb the knowledge from other magic books.

It's about 10% journey and 90% the destination, of course it's far from over, it's a Korean novel and just like Chinese ones he has to become a god and battle other gods before it's over, honestly it's tiring, it's basically just a circle jerk for people who dream of being superior to other people while having accomplished nothing irl. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Human Emperor
April 8, 2018
Status: c858
TL;DR:

This is a decent novel.

The fact that the novel is heavily reliant on wars while the author is clearly lacking in understand of actual art of war really drags it down. Art of war is put on center stage in the novel while taking a backseat in wars where it's clearly more about cultivation styles and levels.

... more>> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The MC is transmigrated into a different world which he rejects until calamity strikes and he finds out that you don't know what you've got until you've lost it, luckily he gets a second chance by going back in time to a time shortly after the initial transmigration.

His journey to change the destiny of his country and him learning how his involvement can bring both favorable and unfavorable results is interesting despite the clear nationalism shown by the author, just to be clear, what you see in this novel is justified by the author through the MCs knowledge of what will happen in the future, everything he does is to prevent the calamity, it should however be noted that the clarification made by the author about the difference in culture between the races can't be called racism and is pure fact. Many correlations can also be drawn between this novel and the modern western world including its different political movements.

There are however several infuriating things in this novel, like how things that we already know are repeated constantly, especially before conclusions of wars or fights as a filler.

Worse than this however is the fact that he's called the soldier saint, the top commander and strategist in his previous life, where he could easily take on armies that had 10 times the number of his own, this is consistent with real world history and has been accomplished by using the art of war, however in his new life he is incapable of doing this, at first it is explained away through the quality of the soldiers being low, the different powers in this world making sieging easier and the quality of the enemy commanders being higher than after the calamity. It is infuriating though how even after picking up top level troops he 's reliant on cheat powers and superior equipment and despite it being pointed out how superior his tactics are and how perfect his planning is he keeps getting surprised by the enemy and they keep escaping despite traps laid for them. They are like cockroaches that just skitter around, there just to be annoying, it's fine if it's once, but repeated escapes just to act as filler is annoying.

The last and worst sin commited by the author is iron and steel cities, seriously, are they swimming in it?! This has no relation to reality, these resources were hard to come by in the historical period of the Tang dynasty and despite the special powers in this fantasy world it's still just plot armor to be honest, even if it could be explained it's just dumb. Especially when he later makes concrete which should be cheaper and if reinforced with steel it should be sufficiently strong, but worst of all is that it isn't stainless steel, seriously, that sh*t will rust in no time. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Legend
July 8, 2018
Status: c80
Started off great but soon went down hill.

Needless struggles against inferior foes, excessive explanation and dialog that's long-winded, out of place and seems forced.

Sudden change in personality of MC to a more standard isekai MC which makes him seem like a cardboard cutout.

In short, it's dull and the writing is horrible. And I'm not talking dull in the sense that I want constant fighting, I actually hate novels like that, tbere's just no life in it.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Great Demon King
April 1, 2017
Status: c592
I like how he's ruthless against his enemies and kind to his women, but I can't stand how he's way too invested in that one male friend, don't remember his name, seriously, he's just an annoying character.

All in all it starts out great with all the japanese elements, with some chinese Xianxia cultivator bs which I really don't like in general, and of course it ends the same way it always does, they have to move to some higher plane, spending hundred of years meditating while everyone they know die... more>> and for some reason they have to leave their women, I mean.. Seriously, can't you f**king make it seem like it's hard for the woman to be away from her man without having to exaggerate? 10 months would work just as f**king fine as 10 years, just becomes annoying, but atleast there aren't 3km giants and birds with a wingspan of 3000km and sh*t in this one, only saving grace this novel has.

And let's not forget, we have to all become Gods, chinese writers seem to be incapable of holding on to a single world, where they slowly expand it and keep hold of characters for a longer period of time, both allies and enemies, it's like they have ADHD so they're all over the place, forget the core characters that people like and focus on throwing new enemies in every other chapter instead of having long time rivals or enemies. It seems like they're afraid that the reader will uncover how shallow the enemies' personalities are so they throw out one stupid reason after the other to make new enemies for the MC and then discard them the new chapter.
Always with the "he has uncovered some special method that makes him better than everyone else", cultivation method or something else, instead of just having the MC be cunning or hardworking to reach that goal. It's just luck and it doesn't really inspire me as a reader. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
World of Warcraft: Foreign Realm Domination
March 3, 2018
Status: c345
I was discouraged from reading this novel for a long time because of the synopsis and the bad reviews, but it once again showed me how I shouldn't trust anything but my own opinion.

This novel is based on the Warcraft series and World of Warcraft, I've played plenty of both back in the day so I know about the bases, some of the buildings, the heroes, the races and some of the skills, but not enough to know how closely the novel sticks to the Warcraft lore and honestly I... more>> don't care, if you focus on only then content of the novel it's very good.

The system isn't that overpowered, he keeps getting limited so he has to battle through with his own skills and knowledge. He is clearly seen as a duke in name only by other people, but he uses his wits and political knowledge to overcome things just as much as he uses the art of war and political reforms developed on earth through thousands of years to his advantage. The world has clearly declined compared to ancient times for some reason and has stagnated because of a long period of peace, so it doesn't seem outrageous either.

The perversion of the MC can be annoying in the beginning but it's toned down later on and it's also clear that although he's perverted he's not despicable, he treats his women right and would never forcing himself on women. There are also a lot of bullsh*t statements about what women want, while there is a single romantic development so far (there are a lot of other potential ones, but they haven't played out yet so I'll refrain from mentioning these) and it truly is simple, but when considering the medieval theme both of these make a lot of sense.

What really shines in this novel is the sh*t-talking of the MC and the large scale wars, totally makes it worth reading this novel, I'm usually biased to novels where you have adventure but a lot of downtime in between with fluffy and sweet slice of life moments, there really isn't a lot of that in this novel, but with how well everything else is done while considering the length of the chapters it makes a lot of sense, it's a 559 chapter novel and while I obviously don't know the ending it's clear that the author knew what kind of novel he wanted while not extending it with a lot of fillers to milk the cow, that always makes for a better story.

The translation is good, there are of course errors and it's not top quality, but it seems clear that it could be if the translator spend more time and effort on editing, but let's be honest, who doesn't prefer it the way it is? At least I do, I'd rather have fast releases and considering the release speed it's a job very well done by the translator, while not having rants about the comments people make all the time like we see others do, it's clear that they're always the minority, this guy is awesome. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Mystical Journey
February 25, 2018
Status: c175
TLDR: This novel is a lot better than I expected it to be, there are however still things I'm not satisfied with. I see it as a masterpiece, a steampunk-ish world with martial arts and "x-files" type elements, this is however only until the point where he leaves town for the tournament between schools/gates, the world quickly loses it's charm and mysticism, reverting back to your run of the mill story.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The beginning of the novel creates a very steampunk-ish atmosphere, the world is described as being like earth before the... more>> first world war if I'm not mistaken, while giving it a gloomy feel, an atmosphere that makes you imagine an early nineteen-hundreds town in England with weather that's mostly cloudy, giving a kind of suffocating environment where the protagonist is the son of a factory worker couple, making them lower middle class, while his uncle is of higher social status making it possible, through his help, for them to attend a higher grade high school. I believe this school was described as being a school for nobles.

The problem is that this setting which I liked very much is soon thrown away, replaced by modern weaponry and technology, there is no TV or internet, old fashioned trains and horse carriages with cars described as old fashioned, but soon we see cars everywhere, some seemingly limited editions and although not specified, I believe them to be sports cars. Automatic rifles weren't common until the first world war, same with sniper rifles, they weren't commonly used in warfare until the first world war, while tanks weren't common until the second world war, same with shoulder-fired rocket launchers. All of these are mentioned either frequently or once so far, making it very inconsistent. Apparently there's even "fingerprint scan". Using fingerprints in itself isn't weird, but a scanner, really? If the technological advancement of the story was just before the second world war, my point is of course invalid, I don't care to go back and check and it's really just a minor point in my overall evaluation of this story, the more important parts are listed below.

It is described as a time where martial arts is becoming obsolete because of the advancement in technology, while I also expected it to be about how society is shifting from being noble based to a society of equality, simply because of the fact that they were mentioned and elevated to a position that's above commoners, this doesn't happen and that's fine since it's in a completely different time period on earth than the beginning of the nineteen-hundreds.

The thing that bothers me more is how a seemingly normal guy from modern society is acting, his curiosity for marital arts isn't weird, but throwing away all other aspects of life for that? One of the Genres is Harem and that's probably because of how many girls seem to like him, but he's totally as*xual, and detached from any emotions of any kind. Other than his short worry about becoming something inhumane through taking the wrong path during his martial arts training, this could have evolved into something so much more, the struggle in himself and between the different forced, it is however completely forgotten.

We are still at the first person, Garen, and it's described as "this is but the first of many bodies that Luo Jing will come to wield", this could explain the attitude to the side characters, not getting them too much involved because it'll make it easier on the reader once the main character moves on, it seems unlikely though that's it's a thing where he dies again and moves to a different world to experience a new setting and powers, making him evolve, like I thought it would be.

The big secret and overall plot of this novel seemed at first to be where his powers come from, what's going on with the artifacts that gives him the power and the hidden elements in the world. This however has mostly been described by the MC as being a collection of his otherworldly knowledge and a lot of other things falling into place giving him the special powers, while the artifacts are just about how much misery that's happened around them, while trying to give us a feeling that it could be something supernatural, but still not fully disclosing it, something similar to x-files. Aside from this he's almost at the level of the hidden forces in the world.

This entire story started out as something with a very interesting setting and unlimited possibilities because of an interesting plot and interactions between both characters and factions in the world, but in the end it turned out to be just any other story about getting stronger and standing on top through nothing but an OP cheat, a wuxia in a modern setting instead of a steampunk-ish martial adventure with hidden wonders everywhere. I see it as a masterpiece until the point where he leaves town for the tournament between schools/gates, the world quickly loses it's charm and mysticism, reverting back to your run of the mill story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
I have to agree with the review done by Zedzack, you should check out his review.

I loved the first 70 chapters of this novel, despite avoiding this novel for so long because of the synopsis, I was pleasantly surprised and I got hooked, the chapters are really long too which just makes me even more invested in it.

But.. For some reason it just crashed and burned until the only thing left is a ashes, it's really a shame and I hope that it's only temporary, but we'll have to find... more>> out as more chapters are translated. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Tensei Shitara Kyuuketsuki-san Datta Ken
January 29, 2018
Status: c19
This review has spoilers, but when you read them you'll skip this crap novel anyway. I Wish giving 0 stars was possible.

Having a MC make a gun in a fantasy novel is enough to drop it, there is a special place in hell for authors like that. You can't even say it's a man's romance, no, and besides being boring as hell it also destroys the whole fantasy setting. If I wanted guns I would have watched rambo, not read a fantasy novel. The skill used to make it is... more>> stupid aswell, he can make anything from blood and bones, it's not alchemy where certain magical stuff like monster cores or herbs are used to make enchantments and potions, where magic explains why alchemy can be used even when it's against the laws of physics, he doesn't even know magic, it's just a skill pulled out of his ass, it's just make anything out of blood and bones, guess even a nuke is fine, what is the use of learning magic then? Just make that sh*t out of blood and bone.

Even worse is, making salt from river water? Are you a complete dumbass? Yea.. There's salt in fresh water too, but it's at the level of like 50 p.p.m. Compared to 35.000 p.p.m. In sea water, so you need 700 times as much water for one, other than that, at that level of concentration you'll never be able to filter it out, only possible with sea water because the amount of other things in the water besides salt is a lot lower than the salt concentration. It's also the 50th level of the labyrinth and like 100% of it should have been absorbed into the earth before reaching that far underground. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Monster no Goshujin-sama
March 29, 2017
Status: v2c14
The distrust and suspicion the MC feels towards other humans is to some extend understandable, but it also seems unreasonably blown out of proportion. He should have heard stories about stuff like this happening in real life, where people in desperate situations turn on each other, it's nothing new. On the other hand there should be some examples of the opposite, which there are, from the human girl traveling with him, but in the end it just ends up as him whining about it over and over.
Being wary, cautious... more>> and cunning doesn't mean you have to talk about your feelings all the time, not that he does, he just thinks it, which makes him seem like a bitch on the inside that just pretends in front of the girls while he doesn't notice their feelings at all, he's a typical useless MC.

Spoilers:
The harem part seems to be progressing nicely, I do like the arachne, the puppet one and lily, but I was expecting him to after having the first 2, begin to find some on the level of the arachne while the other 2 evolved, the rest so far seem weak and irrelevant.

For now there isn't any overall plot other than gathering harem members and I'm afraid that as soon as that is accomplished the story will simply fall apart, I believe it would have been better to focus more on the special monsters he picks up and the process of obtaining them, making their personalities more interesting and the process longer and reflecting the difference between them, like with the arachne, instead it just turns into chapters with nothing but whining. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
To Be a Power in the Shadows!
November 10, 2018
Status: c112
There isn't much to say, this is a brilliant novel. There's a reason it's first place on syosetu.

The premise of this novel is in part misunderstandings, this has been seen many times before, but in this there's a very nice balance between misunderstandings of the power of his organisation and their activities and his actual own strength which he is fully aware of, this means that it isn't just a gag story, there's something more here and it's all well balanced. This, together with his intentional mob character persona which... more>> embodies every cliché encounter, action or outcome normally seen happening to characters in similar situations in other novels and the witty dialogue between the MC and the people around him are some of the highlights of this novel.

The plot is actually pretty good, the fights are finished in mostly no time at all, since it isn't the focus of this story, yet there are quite a number of them at times and they are handled in a way that still makes them enjoyable and besides that we're yet to see how OP the MC really is, there seem to be strong individuals out there.

The MC isn't just your standard JP MC that's just being pulled along, he has his own goals and opinions, he has actual depth, the same with the side characters, at first glance they seem like mindless robots just following the MC, but further along we come to know some of their background and personality, they take on a life on their own.

Lastly the writing is very professional and the translation likewise, definitely top class on novel updates. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Release that Witch
August 30, 2018
Status: c914
I normally love reincarnation novels where the MC takes knowledge from his previous life and uses it in another world, I do however hate introducing guns which goes against anything even related to fantasy, yet I accepted it in this novel. The reason I did that was because of how meticulously it was done, with regards to both chemistry and physics, there are still downsides to this however, if you don't have a reasonable amount of background knowledge you'll find those chapters hard to digest, which might turn some readers... more>> off, but at least it wasn't just conjured up with magic. There was magic involved to overcome the difference in technology, but thank God it wasn't "imagining the item in my head and it suddenly appears in my hand", like it is in some novels.

Yet why do I rate this novel so low then?

The main factor is how the MC's personality suddenly took a 180 degree turn.

Spoiler

Until the latest couple of chapters the MC was very machiavellian and I don't mean that in a bad way, just stating that how he acted towards enemies was very much in line with that philosophy, in addition to being a realist and without regards to whether or not I agree with this method, it's very appropriate considering the "time period" and other circumstances. Yet for some reason the MC suddenly became an idealist very much in line with communism, that wouldn't be odd in and of itself considering the author's nationality, it is however exactly that when we consider MC's actions and personality so far, especially when in regards to witches. The major plot so far has been the liberation and salvation of witches, yet for some reason he abandons all this, which is just straight up a death sentence to those not living within his domain.

If all of this wasn't bad enough he also leaves threats which in this case are the other countries just to make some philosophical point. This is truly beyond me, seeing how uniting all of humanity would be in his favour when it comes to dealing with the demons and those sea creatures, not to mention the risk of being stabbed in the back while fighting on one front, anyone with a bit of knowledge in the art of war knows that this scenario is the worst possible one!

It goes against everything he's done so far.

[collapse]

Apart from this it's clear that the author's knowledge leans heavily towards the sciences while everything else is lacking.

The novelty of the witches is pretty much gone as well, neither the dialog nor the characters themselves are fascinating enough to garner interest and at this point it's more like, "well, I've come this far, might as well see it to the end". It does seem like the latter half of this novel, I reckon it's going to be about that length, 2k chapters or there about, is going to be focused mainly on war, yet that seems a long way off with just filler of no significance in between.

Just can't be bothered to read more, the main focuses, the technological advances and political struggles are gone and we're left with nothing but a hollow wuxia look-alike that's going to be just the same thing over and over again, at this point it's just going to be milking it and it's just not worth it.

You can also check out eYeSonic's review, which I wholeheartedly support, it is very much in line with what I'm feeling. And just to clarify, that doesn't mean he agrees with any of my views, just stumbled upon it and thought it was great.

In closing, disregard any reviews with less than 1k chapters read if you're planning to go above 900 chapters, enjoy the novel up until that point if you wish, but be aware of the drop in quality. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Wizard World
February 27, 2018
Status: c150
Clearly a more humane version compaired to Warlock of the Magus World so far, although an other review on this site does reveal that this is going to change later. This and also the fact that he doesn't act like an asshole getting into trouble everywhere he goes just because of his attitude, then cries about how he's been wronged like in any other Chinese novel, makes me like the MC of this novel a lot more. Then again, both these novels have the same... more>> problems and in general it's a pain to read. Warlock of the Magus World is however done by an author with superior writing skills.

Like other Chinese novels we see other hard working young people doing their best while the MC is basically mocking all of them with his unfair OP skill, it's fine that they're there, but they're just thrown in our face constantly making it seem like it's just there to make people feel either bad about them or if you're Chinese you'd probably mock them too to make yourself feel better, guess that's why they like this kind of novel. It's always about leaving everyone behind and rising up by being an asshole, it's unbearable to read, just give me something feel good, it's not like it's groundbreaking, inspirational or changes your life in any way, just a novel full of negativity for no reason whatsoever.

Enemies are also never really evil, basically just people with different opinions or beliefs, that's very modern actually, not just making everything black and white, but still.. They do sh*t the MC would have done, but because it's them it's wrong and the MC just has to have his revenge, then when he does they naturally want to do exactly the same thing, but somehow it's then fine for the MC to kill them, come the f**k on. Just stop being a f**king douche making up weak plot armor. Also because the MC isn't likeable or relateable at all I feel just as strongly for the random side characters as I do for the MC so I'm sitting here wishing I could read their story instead and let them win.

Honestly, I'd rather see a character like velvet succeed and she's a minor character there with everything involving her only filling about a chapter in total.

MC feels lonely, but does nothing but push people away from him, until some day he's just okay with being alone for no reason, sudden change in mentality after becoming an official wizard. The MC has at least a bit of personality in the beginning, this is also lost and his character becomes one dimensional, unrelateable and detestable. What seems to be an attempt to make it different than all the harem novels out there pushes it way too far in the opposite direction, to the extreme. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Return of the Former Hero
February 19, 2018
Status: c46
I really don't understand the high rating reviews I'm seeing, this novel is at best amateurish.

There will be spoilers in this review, it is needed to prove my earlier statement, but even if I say this it's a generic harem novel where spoilers mean nothing since it's as predictable as can be.

The MC is a former hero, he was summoned to a different world to defeat the demon king, after that was done he was apparently forcefully de-summoned back to Japan, which seems very likely when you look at the... more>> fact that he doesn't seem that much stronger than everyone else, even struggling against enemies known as demon kin or something, whom are neither a demon king nor a general of the demon king army which are often seen in this kind of novel.

After being sent back to Japan the MC creates a magic circle himself in order to go back to the fantasy world for the purpose of creating a harem in a different world, that's all fine, but I find it highly unlikely that he would be able to create a magic circle like this since his knowledge of the subject is instantly forgotten and his knowledge of magic in general seems extremely limited and lacking.

When it comes to the harem members, we have no slaves so far, the reason given is that all of them had "dead eyes", this of course is a stable in this kind of novel, but normally you would see them being bought and healed by the MC, that this doesn't happen doesn't make this a "groundbreaking" novel or some other bullsh*t, it just seems to be out of reach of the authors writing skills. Understanding of romantic feelings and romance in general shown by the author is basically at elementary school level despite there being plenty of s*x in the novel. The understanding of feelings in general is actually severely lacking, leaving me extremely worried about the author suffering from some undiagnosed mental illness, this also results in all the characters being one dimensional.

There is the girl described as being energetic with nothing else to her, a loli that's said to be talking like an old woman, the cat eared maid and the manipulative princess, other than the princess, so far I wouldn't be surprised if even the author forgot about his own characters, they are said to have certain traits, but it's limited to just enough information to differentiate them with absolutely no personality at all. Even the MC didn't have any personality before meeting the princess, but him gaining one doesn't really turn out for the better, showing him as a spineless beta whose IQ is lower than my rating of this novel, while all his 2 braincells do is making him act like a virgin despite having lost it.

The author seems to have put a lot of thought in the premise, which I like, and the overall plot which doesn't seem bad so far, we only saw a short glimse of it possibly being the same world as he was originally summoned to despite the MC thinking it isn't, might be far in the future or the like. Everything else in between is awful though, no other word to describe it, just feels like a fan of the genre thinking "I like webnovels, writing one can't be that hard, I have a good idea for the story after all", but honestly it feels like a person liking a certain brand of smartphones, suddenly tweaking the original design and by doing that they think they can make a smartphone, without any knowledge of the parts or how they work and without putting any work into figuring that out before creating something that doesn't work and then expecting me to pay for it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
That Person. Later on…
January 25, 2018
Status: c203
I'll be honest, I really like this novel.

There is a bit of NTR in this novel, but it's handled well and you quickly get over it.

The main theme of this novel is of course harem, but it's all about misunderstandings leading the MC to be very emotional sensitive and afraid of rejection, however this is a short novel, meaning that this doesn't last long enough to it becoming annoying. Aside from that it's about making a mockery of reincarnated MCs, their OP cheat gifts and their selfish sense of justice.

I'm... more>> actually more into novels where it's from weak to strong instead of strong to stronger and more world building, but this novel is very well done, it doesn't try to be something it's not, it's an enjoyable read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
March 23, 2017
Status: c769
MAY CONTAIN LIGHT SPOILERS!

This is information that can be picked up rather early in the story and doesn't seem to impact the overall plot, that's why I refer to them as light spoilers.

I have only read 80 chapters of this novel and I'll admit, since it has 1200, 80 really isn't a lot, but there are already a lot of things that annoy me.

First of all, the MC having been reincarnated from another world doesn't matter at all, it could have been a story about how someone had an A.... more>> I. Chip reincarnated into their brain. The only impact him being a middle-aged scientist has had on the story is that he won't f*ck 11-12 year olds, but he doesn't mind if they're 14 and have big breasts. He adapts to his situation immediately, even when coming from an advanced civilization everything in a medieval society is normal to him, he did get the memories of the guy whose body he reincarnated into, or transported into, whatever, but still... GIVE HIM SOME GOD DAMN DEPTH!

Also, why is the A.I. able to run combat simulations based on stats alone without knowing anything about the opponents fighting style? other than this, the A.I. thing is done pretty well I'll admit.

Secondly, every girl is a slut and will have s*x with pretty much anyone, this makes the story seem like it's just the author's wet dream, it's an easy way to avoid having to give the characters some actual depth and human emotions, magi might distance themself from the fact that they were once human, but since he's reincarnated, shouldn't he display his knowledge and ability to pick up woman as a middle-aged man amongst 12 year old teenage boys with no game at all? And wouldn't it be more exciting to hear about him picking up a mature woman instead? I just have to look at "Great Demon King" and see how this is actually done, that novel has some flaws aswell, but in this aspect it's very good.

Thirdly, the slave thing, they aren't bound by any magic crests or spells that makes them unable to follow their master's command, instead they are brainwashed, you might say that this is groundbreaking f*cking work compaired to other novels in the same genre, but to be honest, it's just another way to avoid talking about emotions and how the slave gradually gets to either respect or love their master compaired to one they may have had before, this again makes the characters shallow.

Fourthly, the general lact of human emotions! Yea, magi in this fantasy world distances themself from regular humans and they're actually harmful to them, but why make them originate from humans in the first place if you're not going to tackle the hard hitting questions about how this impacts them and their lives?! If you want people to relate to the characters, and because of that you make them start off as human, then you have to involve actual human emotions, atleast at first, then they can change over time.

Lastly, how every other chapter you read about how lucky it is that it was at exactly this time he faced this guy, because if he had run into him sooner he wouldn't have been able to handle it, this DOESN'T make the MC calculating or cunning in any way! it's f*cking luck, which the author uses to highlight just how great the MC is for being able to overcome this challenge, but that doesn't change the fact that it was luck, plot armour ftw.

This is a general problem in Chinese novels where the rating of strength is too rigid, if this guy is level 1 and I'm level 2 I'd never lose to him, but if he's level 3 I have no chance of winning, this is an easy concept to create and it doesn't take more than half a brain to write, but it takes away the possibility of the MC winning through calculating or cunning methods. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
December 10, 2018
Status: c261
My first impression of this novel after reading the translated 108 chapters was quite favourable, sadly that changed after reading ahead. The romance, harem, character development and much more started out great, then became half-assed. There will be plenty of spoilers ahead, read at your own discretion.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC is "reincarnated" into a sword and magic world by going through a character selection-ish event, where he, of course, chooses to become a vampire, since it's the most boring and overused trope ever. Yet the MC is able to choose skills that remove the disadvantages of the race, resulting in some new super race with both light and darkness elements, which of course shouldn't coexist. It's the standard "I was playing a mmo, found a hidden race or developed a special spell/skill that broke the game" bullsh*t. This is the first instance of the author's chuuni shining through, but rest assure, we will see plenty of that later.

The MC is supposed to be "born" into some plain somewhere close to human habitation, yet he ends up underground, in what is most likely a dungeon of sorts, and what does our genius MC do? He of course travels downwards, like it's the most logical thing in the world. Be that as it may, the underground arc seems frustrating at first since a desire for him to return to civilization is born, but this actually makes the eventual resolution all the more sweet. After getting the cat follower, learning the spear and a generally pleasant arc the MC sets off for a human town, but on the way he by chance learns about the kidnapping of a princess and gets hunted by an assassin, all of this is there to give the impression that the MC is laid back and care free and that he won't just play the hero, he'll do what he can do while following his own desires, it also gives us the start of a great love story.

We get a couple of decent arcs and a quite enjoyable story while we wish for the reunion of the love-ones, shuuya and yui, we also see the death of a side character, it's one that's fairly new, but still done in a way that it should affect the reader, this is usually done to shift the tempo of a novel and turn it in a more serious direction, or to make the MC face the fact that it's a real world, not a game, but it's just there, with no purpose. And unfortunately we soon arrive at the labyrinth city where we meet Rebecca, the start is fine, yet she's quite the shallow standard elf side character, she feels out of place in general, Eva, on the other hand, who comes later on is a great love interest that's also fairly interesting. We have a rapid introduction of different characters that seems forced and just thrown in there for the fan service, beastmen, lamia and more.

Veene and yui come back and is done in a way where yui is made to be truly missed, mentioned several times over the previous arcs, while veene/vene/vine w/e is seen several times before to build up anticipation. Yet now we're hit with the fact that he spend months underground and then a year training, yet he's lived in 3 cities and done uncountable things in just a month, while dangling the underground auction bait in front of us the entire time to keep us reading despite the introduction of random side characters with paper thin romantic development, the MC putting off things again and again, chapters where half of it is about flirting with his cat, which to be honest, isn't really cute nor heartwarming, you have to be a cat lady to enjoy it and a MC that in general has shown less personality than in the first 30 chapters, everything just becomes hollow. The MC is able to hunt on the 5th floor of the labyrinth, yet he chooses to jump straight to the 20th floor without thinking at all, still a great genius.

The pace of the story is strangely slow in some parts and then shifts to super fast forward at times for no reason what so ever. Then we're hit with the author's annoying chuuni again, the MC is proud of his spearmanship, yet every battle is resolved not by technique but by brute force skills, the author clearly realized that it's insanely boring to just hear about the MC turning on his toes or swinging his spear around in the figure "∞ ", the author clearly lacks skill in describing fighting scenes, and it just becomes about throwing OP skills in, while for some reason that's beyond me, making the MC use 2 or even 3-4 spears at a time, all chuuni, no relation to reality, it's not swords, it's god damn spears, it's supposed to be used with 2 hands for a reason, otherwise it's just a sword on a stick that's slower to swing and you can't guard anymore.

The worst thing is how all the lovers are turned into vampires too, making them worship him, they are not only clingy, but he's a God to them later, it's creepy and kills the romance completely. While we also have an other new follower thrown in for no reason what so ever, it just happens, there's no rules to the skills in this world, making everything feel like it's just deus ex machina, especially how they distribute loot before having it appraised and it funnily turns out that they got and picked items that are perfect for each of them every single time.

[collapse]

To finish off with something I really like about this novel then it's the fact that the author is able to keep the world in general interesting and filled with mysteries even after so long. There always seems to be adventures out there for the taking. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
2Girls1Cupcake
2Girls1Cupcake rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
November 9, 2018
Status: c126
We start off with the typical Korean template where monsters spawn on a modern earth-ish world and the MC kills the demon king, then he's thankfully reincarnated into a different world, it really is the worst template ever, where he's supposed to be an OP lazy young lord, but in reality that's not what we get.

First off I really hate lazy MCs that sleep all the time, especially in a story where it's a grown man that's reincarnated, he should know the feeling of wishing you'd done so much more... more>> while still young, but whatever, it's the premise of the story and I wouldn't hold it against it, that's just my preference.

I can accept that the demon king slaying hero is enjoying his retirement by being lazy, I think it should be more slice of life then, but whatever, what I can't accept however is how he's actually not aware of everything going on around him, there's a time where he's on the second floor of a building while people are being murdered on the first floor, shouldn't he be all over that and just be "taking a step back" as he says? it seems the author is clearly bad at intrigue and instead it just turns into your typical shounen novel.

The MC is mentally crippled after years of everyone looking at him with hope and expectations while being cursed by the people who lost something, either it's the "the reason there are super villains is because they are born as an answer to there being a hero in the first place" or the "why didn't you make it in time like you're supposed to since you're the hero", that's very realistic and something that's used before as a premise for novels or the like, but it's clear that in this new world it's just a misunderstanding as the priestess is told he will do something heroic, not that she's supposed to make him do it, and whenever he does it, it doesn't have the same consequences in this new world, consistency please... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3